Now You See Me

Now You See Me Image
Metascore
50

Mixed or average reviews - based on 35 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 684 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 35
  2. Negative: 3 out of 35
  1. Reviewed by: Lawrence Toppman
    May 30, 2013
    91
    Now You See Me can’t quite claim to be the ideal crime drama – that would be “The Usual Suspects,” which justly won an Oscar for its script – but it’s only one level down.
  2. Reviewed by: Owen Gleiberman
    May 30, 2013
    75
    At times, Now You See Me suggests Christopher Nolan's "The Prestige" made with a throwaway wink.
  3. Reviewed by: Stephanie Merry
    May 30, 2013
    63
    The problem is that, in focusing on what makes a good caper, director Louis Leterrier forgot about what makes a good movie: character development, carefully constructed tension and believable plot points.
  4. Reviewed by: Todd McCarthy
    May 30, 2013
    50
    A superficially diverting but substance-free concoction, a would-be thriller as evanescent as a magic trick and one that develops no suspense or rooting interest because the characters possess all the substance of invisible ink.
  5. Reviewed by: Peter Rainer
    May 31, 2013
    50
    There is nothing magical about seeing one’s umpteenth car chase. Mark Ruffalo plays the weirdly scruffy FBI agent on the case, while Morgan Freeman, in super-slow mode, plays a famous magic debunker. He’d make the ideal critic for this movie.
  6. The New Yorker
    Reviewed by: David Denby
    Jun 6, 2013
    40
    It seems that the director, who also made "The Incredible Hulk" and "Clash of the Titans," will do anything to distract us from the emptiness to which he has devoted himself. [10 & 17 June 2013, p.110]
  7. Reviewed by: Richard Roeper
    May 30, 2013
    38
    This is a slick con, all flash and no substance. Now You See Me seems awfully sure of itself, with self-important, intrusive music, sweeping tracking shots and actors chewing up the scenery.

See all 35 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 31 out of 181
  1. Jun 5, 2013
    10
    We thoroughly enjoyed this movie...fun entertainment with a surprising twist at the very end. Not a lot of magic in the film, but enough toWe thoroughly enjoyed this movie...fun entertainment with a surprising twist at the very end. Not a lot of magic in the film, but enough to keep you watching for the next trick. I do not like either Harrelson or Freeman since both seem so arrogant, but the cast just *worked* together. Certainly a far better movie than a lot I have seen lately, but I go to be lost in the magic of movies, not for any deep psychological studies or great social commentary. Expand
  2. Jun 11, 2013
    9
    I was really enjoying the movie at the beginning but then it sort of went downhill and they didn't pull off the final performance as well asI was really enjoying the movie at the beginning but then it sort of went downhill and they didn't pull off the final performance as well as the first one; I was starting to change my mind about this movie until the most mind-blowing, unexpected, and gut-wrenching ending came up that made me recap the whole movie and actually think it was one of the most entertaining movies I've ever seen. Expand
  3. Jun 17, 2013
    8
    Everyone that I've talked to has enjoyed this movie. Could it have been better? Sure. But it was fun, entertaining, and well paced. What'sEveryone that I've talked to has enjoyed this movie. Could it have been better? Sure. But it was fun, entertaining, and well paced. What's more, even though I thought some of the plot was predictable, they did get me at the end. Expand
  4. Nov 9, 2014
    7
    Now You See Me's convoluted third act and one dimensional characters robs the magic it weaves throughout the remainder of the movie and all ofNow You See Me's convoluted third act and one dimensional characters robs the magic it weaves throughout the remainder of the movie and all of its visual splendour. Expand
  5. Nov 1, 2013
    6
    This magician-fuelled attempt at being a thriller constantly reminds the viewer that while something is going on here, the real thing is goingThis magician-fuelled attempt at being a thriller constantly reminds the viewer that while something is going on here, the real thing is going on elsewhere, a distraction if you will. Well this whole film, enjoyable yet shallow, is a constant distraction, it has a lot of flashing lights and booming music to draw the attention away from a plot that is drawn out to be very complex when, it actual fact, is quite straightforward. It always makes a point of blowing every single detail out of proportion to the point where there are intentional moments to throw the viewer of a scent, a scent that is honestly not that difficult to follow. There is a star cast to back up such a colourful show, Jesse Eisenberg, Isla Fisher, Woody Harrelson and Dave Franco call themselves the Four Horsemen, we see them going about their day to day trickery as street hustlers and con artists, until they are mysteriously brought together as a collective group, Atlas is the showman and illusionist (Eisenberg), Merritt (Harrelson) is the mentalist who has quite a funny opening scene with a woman and her cheating husband, Henley (Fisher) is a beautiful escape artist while Jack (Franco) is a pickpocket and quite the entertaining fighter as well. As these four are brought together and financed by the shady Tressler (Michael Caine), they pull off a ban heist from their Las Vegas show, yet the heist happens in France, after they ‘teleported’ a man from their show to the vault of said bank. What then ensues is a race against time for the viewer, to see if they can outsmart the writers and get to the finish line of the whole plot, the illusions continue but no clear or reasonable motives ever seem to be present, the film definitely lacks in cause for these characters, particularly the role of Thaddeus (Morgan Freeman), a man who makes a living out of debunking magicians, who then decides to help out the FBI agent Rhodes (Mark Ruffalo) to bring down these magicians, only problem being they cannot figure out what their next move will be. As often impressive as the film looks and feels, it never seems anything more than just that, a nice shiny car that has no engine, it lacks the proper character direction, these four talented individuals show no real inclination of why they so desperately want to evade the police and put on a good show, no backstory whatsoever. But despite that, the talent playing them are bang on the mark in bringing a unique approach to each performance, confidence and wonderful trickery often ensues, but can get a bit long in the tooth as there is little point to a lot of it. This is certainly a flashy and in your face technique, delivered through a lot of dizzy camera movements and showmanship, yet drag it all away and there is still something worth seeing here, but it gets lost in all the glamour of trying to put on a big show, this ultimately prevents the film from being as enjoyable as it could have been, it has its thrills, but tries too hard to deliver more in the process. Expand
  6. Jun 2, 2013
    5
    It has its moments every so often and it does have a genuine sense of intrigue running throughout it, but "Now You See Me"s inferior characterIt has its moments every so often and it does have a genuine sense of intrigue running throughout it, but "Now You See Me"s inferior character development and shoddy twists will ultimately leave you feeling cold. Expand
  7. Nov 2, 2013
    0
    One of the worst movies I have seen this year, two hours of my life that I will never get back. The entire cast just did this film for aOne of the worst movies I have seen this year, two hours of my life that I will never get back. The entire cast just did this film for a paycheck. The real magic trick was taking my money. Expand

See all 181 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. The 28 Biggest Summer Blockbusters of 2016, Ranked From Worst to Best

    The 28 Biggest Summer Blockbusters of 2016, Ranked From Worst to Best  Image
    Published: August 27, 2016
    We rank this summer's highest-grossing films by Metascore.
  2. Film Friday (5/6): This Week's New Movie Trailers

    Film Friday (5/6): This Week's New Movie Trailers Image
    Published: May 6, 2016
    Watch all of this week's new film trailers, including Bad Moms, Now You See Me 2, The Shallows, Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles: Out of the Shadows, and more. Plus, get a quick update on the latest movie news and release date announcements.
  3. Film Friday (11/20): This Week's New Movie Trailers

    Film Friday (11/20): This Week's New Movie Trailers Image
    Published: November 20, 2015
    Get a quick update on the latest film news and watch all of this week's new film trailers, including new looks at Midnight Special, Zoolander 2, Central Intelligence, Now You See Me 2, The Divergent Series: Allegiant, and much more.
  4. Best of September 2016: Top Albums, Games, Movies & TV

    Best of September 2016: Top Albums, Games, Movies & TV Image
    Published: September 30, 2016
    Browse our handy guide to the best entertainment of the past month, with lists of the highest-scoring albums, video games, TV shows, and films released during September.
  5. Film Friday (9/30): This Week's New Movie Trailers

    Film Friday (9/30): This Week's New Movie Trailers Image
    Published: September 30, 2016
    Watch all of this week's new film trailers, including new looks at Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them and new films from Denzel Washington, Jim Jarmusch, Mike Mills, Warren Beatty, Olivier Assayas, and more. Plus, get a quick update on the latest movie news and release date announcements.
  6. DVD/Blu-ray Release Calendar: October 2016

    DVD/Blu-ray Release Calendar: October 2016 Image
    Published: September 29, 2016
    Find a complete guide to TV and movie titles heading to Blu-ray and DVD throughout the month of October, including The Night Of, Ghostbusters, X-Men: Apocalypse, and more.
  7. What Movie Should I See This Weekend?

    What Movie Should I See This Weekend? Image
    Published: September 28, 2016
    Preview all of this weekend's new theatrical releases (including Deepwater Horizon, Miss Peregrine's Home for Peculiar Children, Masterminds, Queen of Katwe, and more), with Metascores and trailers for each new film.