Columbia Pictures | Release Date: July 26, 2019
7.5
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 1588 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
1,216
Mixed:
182
Negative:
190
Watch Now
Stream On
Buy On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
1
psychicmuppetJul 29, 2019
This was really disappointing. There was basically no plot. The movie had no momentum. It feels like Tarantino got so wrapped up in the setting he forgot about the story. It was just all so boring. Did we really need to see the trailers forThis was really disappointing. There was basically no plot. The movie had no momentum. It feels like Tarantino got so wrapped up in the setting he forgot about the story. It was just all so boring. Did we really need to see the trailers for movies no one's heard of before Tate watches The Wrecking Crew? Did we need 45 minutes of plot details for Bounty Law and Lancer? I wish I'd skipped this one and just watched Inglourious Basterds again instead. Expand
29 of 57 users found this helpful2928
All this user's reviews
3
Leavemealone2Jul 26, 2019
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I was very excited for this. The acting was superb as one would expect from DiCaprio and Pitt. That said . . . it meanders. It’s plodding and just doesn’t connect. I know why this got such great reviews - it’s an homage to a Hollywood that every film critic is aware of. I like movies, but I have a life. I cannot and will not deep dive into decades old obscure films to justify liking this movie. I know Tarantino doesn’t care. That’s what he does. Some think Jackie Brown is his best movie. I tried to watch it again (on Hulu currently) and couldn't finish it. Maybe the plot of an actor coming to terms with the end of his career connects with some people, but it didn’t with me. Maybe I’ve lost the zeitgeist. When I was 13 and saw Reservoir Dogs it was different, bold. Then I found True Romance and then Pulp Fiction. Kill Bill. Django and even the Hateful Eight (not great but at least things kept moving). Inglorious Basterds was full of dialogue you couldn’t get from other movies. Hollywood . . . was, I’m sorry, just boring. The twist at the end was basically Inglorious Basterds but worse. There is no examination of the era leading to the Manson family. Or, maybe there was and it was “subtext.” I understand that Tarrantino sinks himself in the genre, but this genre went away for a reason: ITS NOT INTERESTING. It just didn’t say anything other than “I like old movies.” That’s great for the critics but not so much for everyone else. I sat in a theater where people laughed at the heady moments and seemed bored at the rest. I would give this a 1 if it wasn’t for the brilliant acting throughout. This is my first and only review, that is how disappointed I was with this movie. Expand
44 of 88 users found this helpful4444
All this user's reviews
10
MarcDoyleJul 25, 2019
This will certainly crack my year-end Top 10 list, and it will likely be in the top half. I don’t remember the last time I laughed that hard (frankly, often in spots when I was the only one laughing… which is all the better) in a film. TheThis will certainly crack my year-end Top 10 list, and it will likely be in the top half. I don’t remember the last time I laughed that hard (frankly, often in spots when I was the only one laughing… which is all the better) in a film. The story is excellent…vintage QT. But it’s truly Brad Pitt’s film. I mean, he should just sign over his movie check to the director for making him look this good. Those lines, those action sequences, the dog? Amazing. Don’t want to spoil anything – just see this one. It delivers. Expand
37 of 75 users found this helpful3738
All this user's reviews
8
JGNYCJul 26, 2019
The reviews don't seem to mention or care that it's essentially plotless. It's a beautiful, long love letter to a very particular place and time. If you know the history, get the references, and especially if you remember them personally it'sThe reviews don't seem to mention or care that it's essentially plotless. It's a beautiful, long love letter to a very particular place and time. If you know the history, get the references, and especially if you remember them personally it's very nice. If you don't, it's a long, somewhat confusing ramble with beautiful shots and good acting and way too many shots of feet. I would say that Inglorious Basterds and Django were much more compelling films. But, if you're a QT fan and/or remember 1969, it shouldn't be missed. Expand
24 of 49 users found this helpful2425
All this user's reviews
4
EeltJul 28, 2019
Non eventful..kept waiting for something to happen..not even worth rental much less movie ticket...hopefully Q will try again
27 of 59 users found this helpful2732
All this user's reviews
5
RoobotJul 26, 2019
This movie could have been 1h30 long and nothing about this movie would have been lost, and it would've been much more enjoyable to watch. The only redeeming factors about this movie are the acting, the setting and the final 15 minutes.This movie could have been 1h30 long and nothing about this movie would have been lost, and it would've been much more enjoyable to watch. The only redeeming factors about this movie are the acting, the setting and the final 15 minutes. Overall the movie is just WAY too long for no good reason. Also theres is no plot, no conflict, no story. It is just a drawn out 2 hour and 45 minutes experience of the 60s in hollywood. Very boring movie. If I were to watch this again, I would skip at least half. Expand
21 of 46 users found this helpful2125
All this user's reviews
1
favor4afavorAug 1, 2019
I love Tarantino, but this film was painfully slow and the payoff at the end of 3 hours was simply not worth it
23 of 51 users found this helpful2328
All this user's reviews
9
defdog99Jul 26, 2019
QT really is amazing. Every movie is so entirely different in plot, sets, and time periods yet so entirely the same at the DNA (talkies with some hyper violence). That’s QT style. He builds historically detailed intricate worlds that topQT really is amazing. Every movie is so entirely different in plot, sets, and time periods yet so entirely the same at the DNA (talkies with some hyper violence). That’s QT style. He builds historically detailed intricate worlds that top flight actors flock too to give performances of their careers. If you are the kind of person who only cares about story, "Once upon a time" might not be for you. QT likes to take a movie and mash it up with another genre. Take for instance Magnificent Eight is a western who-dun-it Canterbury tale. Inglorious Basturds is about WWII and the love of cinema. lol. "Once upon a time" is a fairy tale of living in 1960s california and the 1960s movie making business. It just so happens to also be about the Manson murders. Pitt and DiCaprio were amazing. I'm a fan of Margot Robbies performance -- its all visual. This movie felt like 1969! You can tell the actors loved being in this movie. PS: "Once upon a Time" in the title is part Sergio Leone spaghetti western and part Brothers Grimm w/ the twisted Manson ending. Expand
17 of 38 users found this helpful1721
All this user's reviews
0
glamgirlJul 28, 2019
I honestly don't know what everyone is raving about. Sure there were a couple of funny parts at the end... after a loooong 2.5 hrs of nothing. They made it look just like it did in 1969, but really who cares? Watch a movie filmed back then ifI honestly don't know what everyone is raving about. Sure there were a couple of funny parts at the end... after a loooong 2.5 hrs of nothing. They made it look just like it did in 1969, but really who cares? Watch a movie filmed back then if you want nostalgia and it will actually be good. The acting was well done, but the story sucked so bad that the acting didn't matter. I usually love Quentin Tarantino movies but this was absolutely awful. Expand
33 of 76 users found this helpful3343
All this user's reviews
10
lord_batmanAug 20, 2019
What did you expect? Its got Hollywood top rated actors. That alone is worth a 10.
18 of 42 users found this helpful1824
All this user's reviews
4
fuzzynavolJul 27, 2019
This movie is nowhere near as good as Inglorious or Django. I even thought the Hateful 8 was underrated. This had none of the dramatic tension and too much of the "you're cool if you think Tarantino's funny" anti-humor. I don't recommendThis movie is nowhere near as good as Inglorious or Django. I even thought the Hateful 8 was underrated. This had none of the dramatic tension and too much of the "you're cool if you think Tarantino's funny" anti-humor. I don't recommend seeing it in the theatre. Expand
23 of 54 users found this helpful2331
All this user's reviews
10
msl555Jul 26, 2019
Quentin is back with a masterpiece. I almost gave up hope after his last few films. I'm going to go back for a second viewing, but this may be his best all round film. The Pitt & Dicaprio relationship was oscar worthy.
20 of 47 users found this helpful2027
All this user's reviews
4
fmulhareJul 28, 2019
This is a merry-go-round, pastiche tour of Hollywood in the late sixties with Tarantino's usual alternative history tacked on at the end.Despite all the bells and whistles it is ultimately like a boring museum tour. Plotless, characterlessThis is a merry-go-round, pastiche tour of Hollywood in the late sixties with Tarantino's usual alternative history tacked on at the end.Despite all the bells and whistles it is ultimately like a boring museum tour. Plotless, characterless and at times threatening to be endless you find yourself wondering when is the real movie going to start.The real star of the movie is the dog who becomes the prime agent of the alternative ending! Expand
18 of 44 users found this helpful1826
All this user's reviews
1
Klove1978Jul 29, 2019
Horrible! We left after almost 2 hours of the most boring film I've ever seen! Total waste of time and money! Do yourself a favor amd save your money! I'd give it 1/2 star out of 5.
21 of 52 users found this helpful2131
All this user's reviews
0
MclmclmclJul 30, 2019
I can't remember ever walking out of a movie....talk about boring....after alost 2 hours of hoping things would get better i walked out...
20 of 52 users found this helpful2032
All this user's reviews
1
Lili327Jul 26, 2019
It’s really slow and boring. The director is “selfish” in the sense that he made this movie for his own self-indulgence, not for the purpose of entertaining the audience. You’ll be sitting there for 3 hours (wasting your time) watching whatIt’s really slow and boring. The director is “selfish” in the sense that he made this movie for his own self-indulgence, not for the purpose of entertaining the audience. You’ll be sitting there for 3 hours (wasting your time) watching what the director likes about old
Hollywood/ classic movie-making (which you may or may not care about). The director twisted the reality in his own fantasy world and injected some ridiculousness into it. You’ll come out of the movie theatre with a weird/ bland taste in your mouth and realized that the past 3 hours left you no resolution, eureka nor epiphany. You’ll feel cheated.
Expand
24 of 63 users found this helpful2439
All this user's reviews
0
marco34laJul 27, 2019
This was most pointless, meandering, ridiculous, mish-mash of a "movie" that i've ever seen. DiCaprio's performance aside, there's no redeeming value in this flick folks. It's 2 hrs and 40 mins of NOTHING. The scenes (that have no meaning orThis was most pointless, meandering, ridiculous, mish-mash of a "movie" that i've ever seen. DiCaprio's performance aside, there's no redeeming value in this flick folks. It's 2 hrs and 40 mins of NOTHING. The scenes (that have no meaning or value) go on endlessly. This is more of a collection of scenes than a movie. I want a REFUND and an apology from the critics. Expand
25 of 66 users found this helpful2541
All this user's reviews
0
raporgiJul 27, 2019
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. foook the shill reviews. this movie is a complete waste of time.its plotless drivel capped by some violence at the end. QT needs to stfu and retire.

Leo beeches about his lame career while Brad Pitt kicks Bruce Lee's ass and tries to talk to an old man. It ends with them beating the crap out of some Manson minions. Margot Robbie just wanders around on screen with no real impact on the movie. Some fools will say this is about the cinematography and a bygone era in Hollywood, its not. Its about a self-important retard named Quentin Tarantino taking a shiitt in a pale and having hordes of his nerd club congregate on sites like this defending this fail of a movie. Dont be a member of the sheep. DId you really enjoy your time with this movie. DId it entertain you? Did it make you feel you got your money's worth? Or did you feel robbed and exploited by the Hollywood hype machine making this movie out to be the golden fleece?
Expand
24 of 64 users found this helpful2440
All this user's reviews
1
RodMagnusonJul 30, 2019
Sets that transport the audience back in time. ++
An interesting buddy relationship. +
Long periods where not much is happening. -- A little ultra violence. -- I can't think of anyone I would recommend this movie to. I was bamboozled into
Sets that transport the audience back in time. ++
An interesting buddy relationship. +
Long periods where not much is happening. --
A little ultra violence. --

I can't think of anyone I would recommend this movie to. I was bamboozled into seeing it myself. I've learned my lesson, I don't like Tarantino films.
Expand
18 of 48 users found this helpful1830
All this user's reviews
2
GreatMartinJul 26, 2019
The only reasons to see Tarantino's latest movie are the really alive performance by Brad Pitt, the red Rottweiler Brandy and a scene where Margot Robbie, playing Sharon Tate, watches herself on the screen in a theatre and enjoying theThe only reasons to see Tarantino's latest movie are the really alive performance by Brad Pitt, the red Rottweiler Brandy and a scene where Margot Robbie, playing Sharon Tate, watches herself on the screen in a theatre and enjoying the audience's reaction plus it is always good seeing Al Pacino, even in a wasted role.

As to be expected in a Tarantino's film there is a lot of very vivid violence, much distortion of history and facts and a lot of extraneous scenes that bring nothing to the film.

I have always been a fan of Leonardo DiCaprio since "What's Eating Gilbert Grape" even in his lesser pictures but in this movie he is just bad and I put the blame on Tarantino's shoulders as director and screenplay writer. There are many cameos but none memorable or even remembered 5 minutes after you see them.

The only reasons to see "Once Upon A Time...In Hollywood" are if you have 2 hours and 41 minutes of your life to waste and/or your electricity has gone out and this is the only theatre that has air conditioning!
Expand
22 of 59 users found this helpful2237
All this user's reviews
0
ScraperJul 29, 2019
Tarantino has nothing to say anymore which is why his movies seem to drone on unchanging until a desperate twist or shocking violence happens. It's schizophrenic filmmaking that reveals that substance is injected, not properly built intoTarantino has nothing to say anymore which is why his movies seem to drone on unchanging until a desperate twist or shocking violence happens. It's schizophrenic filmmaking that reveals that substance is injected, not properly built into conclusions and reveals. His concepts are too simple but the budgets are sky-high and the actors AAA list so millions will continue to watch these movies that they don't really like then spend the next year trying to convince themselves that they "got it" and liked it. Expand
20 of 54 users found this helpful2034
All this user's reviews
1
Jenny134Jul 27, 2019
The emperor has no clothes... that about sums up this movie. It’s too bad that such mega watt talent was wasted on a meandering and boring movie. I’m convinced this is a practical joke that Is being played on us all.
20 of 54 users found this helpful2034
All this user's reviews
0
dallen1244Jul 28, 2019
Ok, so I am way over 50 and that will without doubt eliminate me from any valid consideration by millennial observers of my review. Fine, don't care. Can't speak for final 30 min. because I walked out, however, just want to say this, becauseOk, so I am way over 50 and that will without doubt eliminate me from any valid consideration by millennial observers of my review. Fine, don't care. Can't speak for final 30 min. because I walked out, however, just want to say this, because it's important. No make believe here, Sharon Tate and Bruce lee were real life, caring and unique onto themselves flesh and blood human beings. What they weren't are empty props for Tarantino to render them one dimensional silly people. Sharon appears as some 10 year old none to bright star struck girl outside a movie theatre showing her 1968 film with Dean Martin. By the way, real life bulletin here. she came horribly near to drowning after a parachute jump went very wrong in one scene. She was traumatized by that and still toughed out the movie. That's the Sharon Tate I like to think about. Resolute, determined and one who made this world a little better place for those lucky enough to have known her. A woman of a lot more depth and character than Tarantino supplied her character with, for Damn sure. Bruce Lee? let's see, we have, in this genius martial arts legend, a man who revolutionized the dicipline and sport he mastered and even expanded on, with Jet Kun Do. What does Tarentino do with him? He has him tutoring a studio set cast on martial arts philosophies before lapsing into the reverse mentality by instigating a confrontation with Brad Pitt for no actual tangible cause except to act the bully show off. Ask anyone of his friends and students, all well published interviews over the decades, and they will tell you about this gross fake representation of his true personality. I won't waste time with the rest of the film. It was virtually painful to sit through. Was Decaprio channeling Doc Holliday or something with all the gratuitous spitting, hacking, red eye tearing, and constant over acting, thought for sure he was a congestive. (he's no Val Kilmer) Where did all that come from anyway ? who knows, why waste interminable amounts of time on empty dialogue, who knows? Was there a legitimate movie in there someplace? not that happened by me before catching the exit. Summation: Tarantino dishonored Sharon Tate and Bruce Lee. That is what really matters here. period. Expand
21 of 57 users found this helpful2136
All this user's reviews
1
SteenerJul 26, 2019
It rambles and changes history for no real reason.
It is painfully long with literally nothing to do, I saw more people looking at their phones.
It was like being stuck in traffic in Hollywood for 3 hours.
21 of 58 users found this helpful2137
All this user's reviews
3
CaptainHowdyJul 25, 2019
Let's face it: Quentin Tarantino is just about spent. If this film had not been directed by a legend of cinema who has been making dazzling movies for almost three decades, no one would be as forgiving of two and a half hours of scene afterLet's face it: Quentin Tarantino is just about spent. If this film had not been directed by a legend of cinema who has been making dazzling movies for almost three decades, no one would be as forgiving of two and a half hours of scene after scene with nothing happening, conversation after conversation of weak, uninspired dialogue, and characters with no character arc.

The plot line does little more than shoehorn the Manson family into a film about being a has-been who can't create the magic that he used to, which aptly parallels Tarantino's career over the last few years. You almost wonder if he meant to write it that way, but it's hard to tell when it's bogged down with a million other little subplots that reveal nothing interesting and go nowhere.

People want to keep loving Tarantino, but without his name, this film would not be getting the score it has. Stop reviewing Pulp Fiction and review THIS film for what it is, not for what you imagined it would be before you walked into the movie theater. Had it been made by a first-time director, this bloated snoozefest would have ruined their career.

That said, I will add: Margot Robbie did a great job of capturing the ghost of Sharon Tate. And that dog was a really good dog.
Expand
18 of 57 users found this helpful1839
All this user's reviews
6
Voodoo123Dec 4, 2019
Beautiful cinematography, a stellar cast and great soundtrack aren't enough to justify what is basically nigh on 3 hours of Tarantino indulging himself with his A list chums in a game of make believe inside a nostalgia laden trip to theBeautiful cinematography, a stellar cast and great soundtrack aren't enough to justify what is basically nigh on 3 hours of Tarantino indulging himself with his A list chums in a game of make believe inside a nostalgia laden trip to the 1960's hollywood.... Fascinating stuff none the less. Shame there is a gaping plot shaped hole in here! Expand
5 of 5 users found this helpful50
All this user's reviews
0
carrot-stickSep 15, 2020
Has Quentin Tarantino ever watched a bruce lee film or interview? If so, i wish i could give this movie a negative rating. Zero excuse for this trash
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
6
RalfbergsDec 18, 2019
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. While this movie has great cast, great scenes and setting of Hollywood in those years and depicts well how an actor's life could be then plus can feel Tarantino vibes, this movie still is quite weak plot wise - most of the movie nothing really happens just shows random stuff. Yes you can say it shows how it is for actor to do his work, but overall there are too many filler shots of like Brad Pitt randomly driving around etc. The most interesting topic about Manson murders etc is covered only a bit. Basically the last half hour is really great but the rest is lacking. One of the worst Tarantino movies for me and I like all of his movies. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
6
andre27Dec 5, 2019
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Um filme com grandes actores, que tem um enredo engraçado, mas que não me impressionou. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
6
WhiteWolf_1984Dec 14, 2019
I think this is Tarantino's worst movie as director. It's an alright buddy comedy movie, an above average one but for Quentin, it's not very good. The movie focuses mainly on the friendship between Rick and Cliff (DiCaprio and Pitt). TheI think this is Tarantino's worst movie as director. It's an alright buddy comedy movie, an above average one but for Quentin, it's not very good. The movie focuses mainly on the friendship between Rick and Cliff (DiCaprio and Pitt). The friendship though felt awkward and kind of unnatural, Cliff was nothing more than Rick's unpaid chaperone while also being his personal stuntman. Their relationship seemed forced and just as a side effect of their jobs (and plot), not because they really liked each other. It spoilt my immersion into their scenes together and my interest in them as characters. When they aren't together but doing things alone the movie is better and the funny scenarios they get caught up in are amusing but not hilarious moments like in Inglorious and Pulp Fiction. I chuckled a lot but hardly laughed out loud. The big finale is more wtf and exciting than a belly laugh. The dialogue in sharp and gets your attention with wit but the story doesn't really go anywhere. I get Tarantino likes to break up his movies making them non-linear but ultimately every scene compliments the narrative and builds up to a logical conclusion. However, Once Upon... is just a collection of unique moments which our protagonists find themselves in, which although reasonably enjoyable, don't add barely anything to the narrative for much of the runtime. The last third of the movie is much better and meaningful which just is a bit frustrating because if the film was more cohesive like the final third, I personally would have liked it a lot more than i did. Ricks journey gets interesting 90 minutes in and Cliff gets a worthwhile plot. The finale is entertaining but the ending is a let down, it's like they go through a big event and just forget about it like nothing happened, The End. The movie wastes a lot of time on Sharon (Robbie) whose scenes are dull and just feel like filler. They don't go anywhere and eventually here character is just forgotten about. It felt like a tribute to the real Sharon Tate which is probably the case if you know what happened to her in 1969 but apart from being a tribute and a nod to the past, her scenes just feel unnecessary. This movie had real potential and just fell flat, all the cool 1960's Hollywood back drop and nostalgia wasted for a mediocre comedy. I think Tarantino films are more about imagery, quirky characters and honouring classic movies than about telling a gripping story and grabbing your attention these days. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
JoedavidsonDec 30, 2019
Pacing 8 - some slower moments where the energy is slightly dropped byt overall very nice work in holding the audience Script 9 - Margot Robbies character is hardly heard from in this film and this whole movie seemed like it was going to bePacing 8 - some slower moments where the energy is slightly dropped byt overall very nice work in holding the audience Script 9 - Margot Robbies character is hardly heard from in this film and this whole movie seemed like it was going to be centered around her. Brad Pitt does an amazing job and steals the show in numerous places as the laid back anti hero badass helper boy to Leo.
Great to see Leo really shine as a new more broken type of character that we haven't yet seen him play before. Margot is seldom seem, would have been great to utilise her more. Seems like she got lost in her own movie... This said - go watch this film. It's an enjoyable journey and the characters have some very great moments. They really shine in this film and it's clear they are all having fun Too. Congrats I give this movie an 8
Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
FilippoSchisanoJan 6, 2020
Il Maestro Tarantino confeziona una lettera d'amore per Sharon Tate e per la vecchia Hollywood.
Imperdibile la performance di un mostro sacro come Di Caprio, strabiliante l'interpretazione di Brad Pitt. Non ci sono altre parole per
Il Maestro Tarantino confeziona una lettera d'amore per Sharon Tate e per la vecchia Hollywood.
Imperdibile la performance di un mostro sacro come Di Caprio, strabiliante l'interpretazione di Brad Pitt. Non ci sono altre parole per definirlo.
Splendido.
Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
je050501Jan 7, 2020
Really enjoyed this movie. LDC was amazing. He deserves more credit and should win awards for his role. Loved the story. Loved BP as well. This was well written and directed. Really fun to watch.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
Film-ReviewsNov 23, 2019
One of the best movies of the year, it offers a view of the 60's and 70's Hollywood. Leonardo Dicaprio delivered a nice performance. Also nostalgic because it makes you think about the Charles Manson case and the fate the victims thatOne of the best movies of the year, it offers a view of the 60's and 70's Hollywood. Leonardo Dicaprio delivered a nice performance. Also nostalgic because it makes you think about the Charles Manson case and the fate the victims that horrible night. I would have liked if the movie was more accurate at the ending, but I also respect this version because this is something that why all have desired to happen Expand
3 of 4 users found this helpful31
All this user's reviews
8
DMLYxCriticDec 5, 2019
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Positives:
1. The cinematography-- classic Tarantino. If you're a big fan of his previous works, you'll definitely like how he handled the cinematography.
2. The acting, particularly DiCaprio's. In my opinion, he'll be nominated for another Oscar for this role.
3. The music. Make no mistake, the music used for this movie could not be any better. 60's vibes all the way.
4. The writing. Especially the script. The story was a bit dragging, but the script adds color to every scene, no matter who's dialogue it is.

Negatives:
1. Length. The movie is quite long and it could be dragging sometimes, especially in some scenes. Not all, but some. Some scenes are quite unnecessary, and only adds to the length, not the story. 2. Brad Pitt was not well-utilized for my liking. Sure, he had his moments in this film, particularly during the climax part, but not enough.
Expand
3 of 4 users found this helpful31
All this user's reviews
0
leejohnson222Jan 6, 2020
I just don't get it, it didn't look or feel like a tarentino film. 2 hours of nonsense for a 20 min pay off. What a waste of time, if you enjoyed it great but it was painful to watch
3 of 4 users found this helpful31
All this user's reviews
4
p2skaAug 28, 2019
Where to start with this one. Well, i've liked most of Tarantino movies from the past and always enjoyed smart dialog and fun over-the-top scenes. But this last installment is kinda disappointment - it lacks the stuff expected from Tarantino:Where to start with this one. Well, i've liked most of Tarantino movies from the past and always enjoyed smart dialog and fun over-the-top scenes. But this last installment is kinda disappointment - it lacks the stuff expected from Tarantino: to be actually entertained. Instead what is offered is 3h journey to the 1969 which was really well done, alas uneventful. Sure there are few Pitt scenes that stand out but those are it - rest of the film is like forced and mandatory 60s commercial. Tarantino brings all his childhood crushes and influences to the screen - Polanski, Bruce Lee, stuntmen, riding cool cars, moviemaking backstories and business, watching movies in cinema etc - lots of bowing to the past glory days. Actors performances are fine but fail against weak story. 4/10 and never watching it again, any of his previous films are far better. Expand
6 of 9 users found this helpful63
All this user's reviews
6
JoeClay85Aug 16, 2019
While the acting is really good as to be expected, the story drags on for 2 hours and doesn’t get exciting until the very end. Because the acting was good and it was directed by Tarantino I gave it a few stars higher then I would haveWhile the acting is really good as to be expected, the story drags on for 2 hours and doesn’t get exciting until the very end. Because the acting was good and it was directed by Tarantino I gave it a few stars higher then I would have otherwise. Don’t believe everything you hear about this movie being a masterpiece and all that...maybe if you like art house movies you will think it is, but if you are a fan of old school Tarantino films you will probably be disappointed. Expand
6 of 9 users found this helpful63
All this user's reviews
3
FartdoucheDec 17, 2019
This movie is terrible, plain and simple. Over-long and pointless, the only thing to be enjoyed about this movie is the last 15 minutes, which is typical over-the-top tarantino style violence that's good for a laugh. Other than that, theThis movie is terrible, plain and simple. Over-long and pointless, the only thing to be enjoyed about this movie is the last 15 minutes, which is typical over-the-top tarantino style violence that's good for a laugh. Other than that, the movie drags on and goes nowhere. I seriously am still wondering what the point of the movie was, to be honest. Expand
4 of 6 users found this helpful42
All this user's reviews
0
Amin_rh1992Dec 7, 2019
Worship the feet
There is too many damn foot shots from different angles and it doesn't have any thing related to movie and it's just Tarantino's feet fetish problem
The other thing is that none of characters is actually a character they are
Worship the feet
There is too many damn foot shots from different angles and it doesn't have any thing related to movie and it's just Tarantino's feet fetish problem
The other thing is that none of characters is actually a character they are like dead pictures no story
In one word it's just some unrelated phoney shots gathered together by a phoney"director"
Expand
4 of 6 users found this helpful42
All this user's reviews
1
Brent_MarchantDec 27, 2019
When this was initially released, my gut instincts told me not to waste my time. However, with all of the awards buzz it's been receiving, I decided to give it a look on DVD, after which I realized my initial reaction was right: AbsoluteWhen this was initially released, my gut instincts told me not to waste my time. However, with all of the awards buzz it's been receiving, I decided to give it a look on DVD, after which I realized my initial reaction was right: Absolute utter garbage, overrated in virtually every respect (except, perhaps, for Leonardo DiCaprio's fine lead performance). What praise is there to be given for two dragged-out hours of boring, tedious, mundane activity, followed by a gratuitously grotesque conclusion that's supposed to be...funny? My only takeaway from this is that Quentin Tarantino may be a master of nostalgia in his authentic re-creation of past pop culture but little else, which, frankly, makes me wonder, "who cares?" The director has hinted that his next picture will be his last; let's hope he keeps his word. Expand
3 of 5 users found this helpful32
All this user's reviews
6
mhmdvDec 9, 2019
Everyone gave this movie a high score because it has Tarantino's name on it. If it was made by a no name director, highest score would be 65.
3 of 5 users found this helpful32
All this user's reviews
10
DbizzleDec 31, 2019
Sooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooo damn good.
3 of 5 users found this helpful32
All this user's reviews
1
MovieangelAug 30, 2019
Oh dear! what was that?I cant believe I spent a couple of hours with this film, did I expect too much and was I therefor dissapointed, or what happened ??? I would not call it a film , more a fragment puzzled together ,with famous actors,Oh dear! what was that?I cant believe I spent a couple of hours with this film, did I expect too much and was I therefor dissapointed, or what happened ??? I would not call it a film , more a fragment puzzled together ,with famous actors, whos acting is amazing but true wasted talent for this film, (this script) we could take a little glimpse into the old westernfilmera,(and the intended humor, which didnt make me laugh though) the hippytime, the spirit of the 60 , ok...but its all mashed up and not making sense for its intended own form...mixed with real Hollywoodera then, but more valuable to watch for filmgoofs and Hollywoodinsiders, before I wrote its a **** movie for me, but as I know how much hard work its to put it all together and to create, I would say, i really really dont like this QT composition of a film :) dissapointing, I couldnt figure out any storyline , nor a plot, nor developing characters, and was this film edited so strong that it lost some valuable scenes?, and you need a looooot of patience for the western scenes, only bearable because of leo, but still, need a hell lot of patience for this sloooowness of the film, (as we are in 3 dimensions living now, maybe I couldnt figure this one out :) ) I loved the costumes and the camera, buut the editing was confusing sometime, aaaand (I must say i liked the end), towards the end as if QT awakened from a long long sleep, we saw his famous signature at last, I liked the idea of changing the past by changing the ending in this film from the real happening ,with the twisted change of the real happened past of then , for none "Insiders" it could be terribly boring, but all in one I must say, If you want to get a nap or to walk outa cinema with a dull , tired dissapointed feeling, go out and watch it, you can earn the money back youve spent for this film, but not your time. Peace & Light Expand
10 of 17 users found this helpful107
All this user's reviews
8
LellobrigoSep 18, 2019
In questo film la regia e il cast la fanno da padrone, Leonardo e Brad mi hanno emozionato in più occasioni. Purtroppo non penso lo stesso della trama che ho trovato piuttosto marginale e confusionaria.
4 of 7 users found this helpful43
All this user's reviews
9
ZZBEARNov 8, 2019
Loved everything apart from the Kiwi he puts in a lot of movies, goofiest accent on the planet aside from female yorkshire,9 because I enjoyed most everything but unlike Godam dirty hippies I dont have time to watch such a long movie in oneLoved everything apart from the Kiwi he puts in a lot of movies, goofiest accent on the planet aside from female yorkshire,9 because I enjoyed most everything but unlike Godam dirty hippies I dont have time to watch such a long movie in one sitting, took me 3 days to finish but I looked forward to it every evening. Expand
4 of 7 users found this helpful43
All this user's reviews
9
Kevin3Sep 12, 2019
Quentin tarantino lo hace de nuevo una asombrosa propuesta, un gran homenaje al cine de los 60'.
El final me dejo un sabor agridulce
4 of 7 users found this helpful43
All this user's reviews
10
IlovedoritosSep 14, 2019
Minchia bellissimo ma troppo troppo troppo troppo veramente bello bello bello
4 of 7 users found this helpful43
All this user's reviews
5
MattyiceAug 20, 2019
While filmed with great care, acted with fantastic results (from Pitt and especially DiCaprio), and features a very fun (albeit controversial) ending, Once Upon a Time in Hollywood is a very mixed bag for the historically successfulWhile filmed with great care, acted with fantastic results (from Pitt and especially DiCaprio), and features a very fun (albeit controversial) ending, Once Upon a Time in Hollywood is a very mixed bag for the historically successful Tarantino. First off, its themes contrasting the glitz and glamor with the squalor and instability of Los Angeles have been done to death, although the character exploration of DiCaprio's Rick Dalton is pretty great. Furthermore, the film has no sense of direction, as the film goes from place to place with little flow or moments of impact usually found in Tarantino's films, making the overall film feel uneventful and boring. Finally, and most glaringly of all, Tarantino is at his most self-indulgent in this film. The film/actor nods, in-jokes, and references are solely done to serve his own ego and admiration of vintage Hollywood. The extremely stretched out dialogue and pointless scenes serve to be solely stroke his ego and throw ineffective character moments at the audience. This adds up to a painful 2 hour 40 minute run time that feels like it could've been cut down to 2 hours at least if not even shorter. These three problems among others amount to a film that wanes in comparison to the rest of Tarantino's masterpieces. Expand
5 of 9 users found this helpful54
All this user's reviews
2
GoldfingerXLSep 16, 2019
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. A total disappointment for a QT fan...

The movie has a VERY thin plot. Margot's story arc (if you can call it that) didn't advance or contribute to the plot in any way and could easily be left out. The same goes for the most of Brad's, although his character has one or two scenes which contribute to the overal narrative. The most interesting was the story of the aging actor played by leo. In between you see a lot of filler material nodding to the hollywood of the 60's, which in of itself are setting the tone for the movie, but they happen way too often and are incredibly lengthy. I am talking about 10 - 15 minutes here.

Aside from Leo's character, none of the characters develop in any way. The actions taking place in their lives have no significant impact on them whatsoever. For example, Margot is just there to be pretty, parties in every scene and barely has 10 lines of text. Brad is just driving around in his car beating up people. He supposedly killed his wife and got away with it, but apart from a small flashback, where you don't even see the murder!, it is not explained how this has affected him. A huge missed opportunity in my opinion. It could have given his character way more depth. As stated above, the exception is leo and his portayal of Rick Dalton. Rick ´s undergoes some significant chances throughout the movie which affect his actions. The acting by Leo and Brad ist excellent, but these professionals alone can't save these poorly written characters. The dialogues are good as always, but it all seems so meaningless.

And so, the movie drags on and on for about 2 hours and 15 minutes until finally QT decides it is time for his signature filmmaking and storytelling. However! When things finally do get violent it feels extremely out of place considering the rest of the movie and the final scene with the three goons from the manson family is laughable and an extreme mess.

All in all it didn't like this movie and can't recommend it to anyone. While Leo and Brad's acting was very good, the weak character building and plot in combination with the overly long filler material made me want to leave halfway through. I somehow managed to stick around, but at the end of the movie I wish that I had not. It was a total waste of time and money.
Expand
5 of 9 users found this helpful54
All this user's reviews
10
Adam_DavidOct 7, 2019
This is one of Quentin Tarantino's best films. He captures the essence of the 60s so beautifully and mixes humor, sweetness, and violence so effortlessly. The last 15 minutes or so of the movie are the most satisfying of any movie I've seenThis is one of Quentin Tarantino's best films. He captures the essence of the 60s so beautifully and mixes humor, sweetness, and violence so effortlessly. The last 15 minutes or so of the movie are the most satisfying of any movie I've seen this year. Go check it out and be prepared to be blown away. Expand
5 of 9 users found this helpful54
All this user's reviews
8
eldarkoSep 8, 2019
A wonderful movie, I hope that Mr. Quentin can win the Oscar for best director, to fully appreciate it, it is advisable to see it more than twice, this movie uses the base of the characters as his pillar, above the story, the scenes by carA wonderful movie, I hope that Mr. Quentin can win the Oscar for best director, to fully appreciate it, it is advisable to see it more than twice, this movie uses the base of the characters as his pillar, above the story, the scenes by car they are memorable, scenes like this are no longer seen in today's cinema. Expand
6 of 11 users found this helpful65
All this user's reviews
10
RichVernadeauJul 27, 2019
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Tarentino masterfully takes back the 60s and defeats the Manson family by offering an alternate ending to that tragic night. It's a tour de triomphe both psychologically and symbolically. IMO, Tarentino's greatest work, it approaches epic proportions like great classic literature. Look for the plethora of references and allusions, the fantastic attention to detail (even the car radios are playing KHJ Los Angeles with the Real Don Steele on Boss radio)... Eye-popping visuals and incredible stellar performances from a star-studded cast. You can see my video review of this film on the Richard Vernadeau channel on YouTube. Expand
14 of 28 users found this helpful1414
All this user's reviews
9
GreykingJul 29, 2019
Very slow, meandering, and pointless a lot like real life. But the ending of the film is what makes it all worthwhile. 3 days later I'm still thinking about Rick and CLiff and wondering how their real-world lives would have turned out.
12 of 24 users found this helpful1212
All this user's reviews
10
YeetusMcGeetusJul 29, 2019
One of Tarantino's best. This is a masterpiece of film from a master filmmaker. Great performances. Gripping scenes. A deep, thought-provoking story, and a hugely satisfying ending make this movie one I can't wait to see a second time!
10 of 20 users found this helpful1010
All this user's reviews
5
Aman2201Aug 19, 2019
Nothing special tbh. The last 25 minutes was the only real entertaining part, the rest of the movie just dragged. I hope they didn't pay Margot Robbie much because she literally did fa throughout the movie, she may as well have not even been in it.
6 of 12 users found this helpful66
All this user's reviews
4
RighterAug 25, 2019
Tedious and pointless. There's nothing here. It's a big, boring lump of hot air, but it's Tarantino so very few people are willing to tell you that the emperor is butt-naked. If you don't like it, they'll tell you you just didn't 'get it',Tedious and pointless. There's nothing here. It's a big, boring lump of hot air, but it's Tarantino so very few people are willing to tell you that the emperor is butt-naked. If you don't like it, they'll tell you you just didn't 'get it', but there's an offensive lack of anything 'to get'. This is what "Too Big To Fail" looks like in Hollywood. The movie's long, which wouldn't be a problem if it had anything to say, but it doesn't. It's got great actors, great cinematography, and a great soundtrack, and they're all lacking any interesting plot to service and are thus all wasted. Tarantino's always been a bit of a hit and miss director/writer, but even with his more mediocre movies, there have always been one or two wonderfully written scenes that make up for the fluff. This does not have any of that. This is fluff without any genius. I'd have given it even less than a 4 if it hadn't been for the aforementioned actors, cinematography, and music. Expand
5 of 10 users found this helpful55
All this user's reviews
9
NightReviewsSep 15, 2019
Once Upon A Time…In Hollywood is one thing and one thing only; Quentin Tarantino’s beautifully crafted dreamy love letter to cinema!

With his newest feature, the current master of cinema’s vision reminds us why movies are cool again. For the
Once Upon A Time…In Hollywood is one thing and one thing only; Quentin Tarantino’s beautifully crafted dreamy love letter to cinema!

With his newest feature, the current master of cinema’s vision reminds us why movies are cool again. For the first time, in a long time, there’s a film that begs to be seen, not in the comfort of your own home, not on your Netflix cue on an airplane, but in front of a silver screen, with an audience and you damn right…some popcorn. Once Upon A Time is less a film and more an experience; one where the bustling hot summer days are corrected by the high intensity air conditioning of the multiplexes; one where the theatres are a safe haven for summer love and first kisses, an experience where going to the movies is as magical as popping your cherry. That’s what a Tarantino film is like; just like when I first went to go see his Grindhouse experience for the first time, Tarantino is a visionary old soul, hell bent on sharing his memorable cinematic experiences of his past, with us today. If you are a cinephile and don’t know about Quentin Tarantino’s work, most, if not all people will tell you that you should just quit now, but I digress. Tarantino worked at a blockbuster in Hollywood, California in his early years, consuming as much cinema as possible. One of his most revered quotes to date about film is his famous line that “When people asked me if I went to film school I tell them no. I went to films”. Funny enough, this quote captures the essence of Tarantino and his canon; an individual who entered the world of cinema out of the sheer love of watching films, just like myself.

As an artist myself and lover of film, I never went to film school also. Hopefully, as someone who would eventually love to make their own films one day, I feel that this is one of the many reasons why I admire, as well as, so heavily identify with Tarantino. I also learned about films by watching them. Just like myself, the influence in Tarantino films is wide ranging. His largest inspirations draws from the New Wave Gangster pictures of France, crafted by the likes of Jean Pierre Melville, Francois Truffaut and Jean-Luc Godard. All of the names listed are absolute giants in celluloid and contributed in my opinion the most to modern cinema that features, as Godard would say, “A girl and a gun”. According to Godard, that is pretty much all that is necessary to making a good motion picture. Other notable Influences on Tarantino would be essentially any film from the 1970’s because that is the era when he began to understand and study cinema, an era of films by Don Siegel, Sergio Leone and George Roy Hill.

Yet while many are quick to label QT as a scam artist and artistic thief, I feel like it is my duty to rectify that notion. Before continuing on, it has to be said that art copies art, inspiration inspires and according to Mark Twain, there is no such thing as originality, only levels of authenticity. Therefore, it is my extreme pleasure to introduce and name QT a master of authenticity for his cinema. Just like when Sergio Leone remade a Kurosawa picture and developed it into the Dollars trilogy, or when Christopher Nolan gave his interpretation of the Dark Knight recently, or when Martin Scorsese won his first Oscar for remaking a Japanese film and later naming it The Departed, art is not our subject, WE are its subject. Once Upon A Time…In Hollywood is the iconic director’s masterful indulgence in everything that he loves about movies and everything we should love, too! Aside from Taratino, Once Upon A Time…In Hollywood isn’t just one man’s magnum opus, but a collection of so many talented artists, starting with its cast. The film opens with Leonardo DiCaprio and Brad Pitt going for a cruise to a watering hole. Dicaprio stars as Rick Dalton, a good ole’ boy from Missouri who drinks for hydration and smokes for oxygen. Once the leading man in television and film, appearing in western serials, one aptly titled Bounty Law, Dalton is on the tail end of his acting career. The Midwestern-American cowboy style Dalton knew all too well, is being suffocated and changed, no thanks to the foreign influenced, free-loving hippie movement. While DiCaprio’s Dalton emits a certain swagger that charms many, the audience comes to realize that this ‘swagger’ is less a personality trait and more a clearly stubborn, unchangeable style and resilience to the conforming of the times around him. According to Rick, Rick Dalton is still big; it’s the pictures that just got small. While it may be hard to argue this notion, DiCaprio’s riotous as the comedic force of the film. Blending well with Tarantino’s signature writing style for a second time, DiCaprio’s Dalton stutters, stammers and then collectively pulls himself together in front of a camera.
Expand
5 of 10 users found this helpful55
All this user's reviews
10
descantSep 30, 2019
Outstanding in every aspect, exceeded my expectations which were kinda low after Hateful Eight, which is, in my opinion, Tarantino's worst work.
5 of 10 users found this helpful55
All this user's reviews
10
AR95Sep 25, 2019
One of the best movies writtend and directed by Quentin Tarantino. A fairytale with humour, drama and top notch dialogues. I consider it on the same level of Pulp Fiction but the message and the writing make this movie a real work of art.
5 of 10 users found this helpful55
All this user's reviews
7
MegaEikeSep 18, 2019
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. If you don't know what happened in august 1969, you may find a bit misleading some scenes, besides that, its really well made, shows a lot of different genres together and it is mostly centered in the sadness near end of carreer faced by many artists. Expand
4 of 8 users found this helpful44
All this user's reviews
9
Mitya64Sep 19, 2019
Впервые не такой кровавый фильм от Тарантино. В целом история и диалоги на высшем уровне.Экшена в фильме почти нет, кроме как в конце (он получился отличным). Отлична передана атмосфера фильмаВпервые не такой кровавый фильм от Тарантино. В целом история и диалоги на высшем уровне.Экшена в фильме почти нет, кроме как в конце (он получился отличным). Отлична передана атмосфера фильма
4 of 8 users found this helpful44
All this user's reviews
9
DPGSep 15, 2019
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Once Upon time in Hollywood is the best movie of 2019, it´s the movie of anyone tired of watching marvel would like.
With very well developed characters, an attractive environment, and great performances
Expand
4 of 8 users found this helpful44
All this user's reviews
10
Joshua_CohenSep 16, 2019
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Once Upon A Time In Hollywood is a true masterpiece. I have never seen a better movie than this. Dialogues, story, characters, and cinematography are insane. I would say it's an instant classic. Beautiful movie! Expand
4 of 8 users found this helpful44
All this user's reviews
10
hnestlyontheslyOct 7, 2019
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Once Upon a Time is top form Tarantino. Still in our opening weekend, I’ll put up the big spoiler warning for this one right now so that we can talk more openly about the film after the jump. There was some controversy about whether showing his film at Cannes would ruin the twist for future movie goers, which apparently led Friend to investigate and make the friendship-ending decision to share his newfound spoiler with Wife and me before leaving for his European vacation. Since then, we’ve been picking up the pieces and trying not to think too hard about what circle of hell he’s destined for. But if you’re reading this far down, you are aware that we’re looking at an alternate history story in a similar vein to Tarantino’s Inglorious Basterds, but also strangely enough with an indie film, Yesterday, currently enjoying some love.

The film is structured neatly into two parts with a decisive and unexpected time break. Tarantino is enamored with recreating genre television of the 1960s, whether it’s the cowboy Westerns that are Rick Dalton’s main fare or cheesy celebrity cameo commercials, FBI action adventures, or World War II nostalgia. Tarantino’s talent for blurring the lines between the real and the cinematic is at work, ambient music gives unexpected flavor to some of the most tense scenes of both halves of the film.

Little details like the length of Cliff’s drive to his trailer in the sub-suburbs of LA or the little moment of Cliff’s polite decline to pick up the hitchhiking hippies on their second meeting do wonders in fleshing out a friendship with weight and deep loyalty. Both Cliff and Rick are given the requisite nice guy scene with a young child or a cute animal in order to solidify their status as top notch goodies. Likewise, Tarantino’s villains are given a long runway from which to take off: they are equal parts alluring, enigmatic, grotesque, clownish, and damaged. On that last note, Once Upon a Time is stuffed with veiled critiques of Hollywood, wrestling with the unpleasantness of historical facts coupled with contemporary morality.

Tarantino feels to me like someone who has escaped for the most part the baggage of past associations of Harvey Weinstein despite some potential landmines, like the pressure Uma Thurman felt to do dangerous stunts on his set while being manhandled by a powerful executive producer. Thurman’s daughter, Maya Hawke continues a storied partnership between the director and the Thurman into a new generation and seems to validate Tarantino’s character. Tarantino’s other films have always struck me as interesting because of their tendency to elevate strong, fully-considered female protagonists and antagonists. Once Upon a Time has lots of roles for actresses in the springs, summers, and autumns of their careers. Even if the film is a bit of a bromance, it finds ways to tell other stories in the process: Sharon Tate’s storyline is obviously given a lot of attention and Tarantino deals with blending footage from her work with Margot Robbie’s smart, quirky, and apt depiction.

Dana Stevens over at Slate has taken a stab at trying to draw some comparisons to Tarantino’s previous work in a glowing and funny review, but I think I’ll need a second viewing before I have more decisive opinions.

UPDATE (Aug 5): I’ve been reading a lot more about OUATIH and ended up seeing it again by myself on Friday after starting a new job last week. Joelle Monique and Sam Adams have dueling essays about the gendered subjectivity of Tarantinian violence that’ll keep your mind going for a bit. Monique convinced me that I would absolutely hate Jackie Brown and then when I offhandedly mentioned the article and that film as the epitome of Tarantino’s callous fridging of female characters, a friend of mine wrinkled his brow and said it was a classic, which made me think I better go and see it for myself. THR had two takes that I noticed: Richard Newby did a nice close read of the film and its influences and Ciara Wardlow kind of split the difference between Monique and Adams in the feminist debate while placing the film in the context of the amazing trailers that preceded the movie by women directors and directors of color (“Harriet, Jojo Rabbit, Queen & Slim, and A Beautiful Day in the Neighborhood“). To that list, I add the ones that rounded out my second viewing: Knives Out, King’s Man, and Charlie’s Angels’ reboot. Alison Willmore is doing God’s work at Buzzfeed with a diachronic look at women in Tarantino films.
Expand
4 of 8 users found this helpful44
All this user's reviews
5
JoeCoolAug 31, 2019
Tarantino's 9th movie barely has a plot, no climax, no answer to anything, no real story, nothing really. The lead actors perform admirably. There are some good moments, especially near the end and it's not gory like most Tarantino flicks andTarantino's 9th movie barely has a plot, no climax, no answer to anything, no real story, nothing really. The lead actors perform admirably. There are some good moments, especially near the end and it's not gory like most Tarantino flicks and I'm taking that as a plus.

Still, none of that makes this a good movie. It's pretty good, but mostly boring and the only real plus is seeing Leonardo and Brad in action. Without them this would have been a very subpar movie for Tarantino. Nowhere near as good as Inglorious basterds, Django unchained, Reservoir dogs or Pulp fiction.
Expand
3 of 6 users found this helpful33
All this user's reviews
10
RajiwoOct 12, 2019
This is as subjective as subjective can get. This makes me want to review the very concept of what a good movie is. Because I loved it, I would watch it again and again, but frankly, if you think it's the worst film you've ever seen, sufferedThis is as subjective as subjective can get. This makes me want to review the very concept of what a good movie is. Because I loved it, I would watch it again and again, but frankly, if you think it's the worst film you've ever seen, suffered through its three hours, waiting for something to happen, and ended up hating it, I would totally understand you, and wouldn't ever try to change your mind.
But, before loving or hating it, go watch it.
Expand
3 of 6 users found this helpful33
All this user's reviews
8
mp303Nov 8, 2019
I get it why people aren't liking this film enough. The plot isn't the usual one that you can spot from a mile away, its more about the lives of the main characters and how they interact with each other in different through the story. If youI get it why people aren't liking this film enough. The plot isn't the usual one that you can spot from a mile away, its more about the lives of the main characters and how they interact with each other in different through the story. If you can look beyond that you're gonna have a great time, because as usual the acting is incredible, the dialogue is natural as it is well writen and in the end, specially if you know the real story, the ending will let you go out of the theather with a good vibe. Expand
3 of 6 users found this helpful33
All this user's reviews
7
BeatrixKiddoSep 17, 2019
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Generally, it was a good film. I liked all characters, especially Sharon, she was so sweet.. too bad in real life she died that way and so young. Acting was incredible, cast was good, music was nice and the ending was awesome! Good work Quentin! But l am still waiting for a Kill Bill 3 and your Star Trek movie. Expand
3 of 6 users found this helpful33
All this user's reviews
6
XV_Aug 26, 2019
Once Upon a Time... in Hollywood took me by surprise of how bad it was, I mean I consider myself QT fan, I really like all of his films except that Death Proof one.

Getting things straight, I found this movie really boring, with ultra
Once Upon a Time... in Hollywood took me by surprise of how bad it was, I mean I consider myself QT fan, I really like all of his films except that Death Proof one.

Getting things straight, I found this movie really boring, with ultra extensive and useless plots, I really liked Leonardo DiCaprio's and Brad Pitt's characters, quite a lot, but it seems that the movie didn't know what to do with them, instead we have this long scenes where they're supposed to be developing their characters but nothing happens and everything feels pointless and time-wasting. Sure there are some scenes here and there that are not short of brilliant but, their sum doesn't save the overall movie.

It seems that is like a love letter to that era of film making but it felt to me more snobbish than anything, and also it doesn't add anything to the story. As for the Manson plot which is allegedly the main plot, well, maybe it could turn out better without it.
Expand
3 of 6 users found this helpful33
All this user's reviews
10
diorrOct 6, 2019
Tarantino's brilliantly written and fascinating look at the 1960's era of Hollywood. Once Upon a Time in Hollywood includes great performances from Brad Pitt & Leonardo DiCaprio, who are accompanied by a hilarious and meticulously writtenTarantino's brilliantly written and fascinating look at the 1960's era of Hollywood. Once Upon a Time in Hollywood includes great performances from Brad Pitt & Leonardo DiCaprio, who are accompanied by a hilarious and meticulously written script. Tarantino's direction is as one would expect from a director of his caliber, and his flair is evident throughout the film. The set design is stupendous and the details that Tarantino focuses on are ridiculously well crafted and thought out. This film's soundtrack is equally as mesmerizing and adds to the experience as a whole. While not for everyone, this movie is a well-written and acted love letter to the 60s that needs to be experienced at least once. Expand
3 of 6 users found this helpful33
All this user's reviews
8
Emanuel44Oct 16, 2019
Tarantino's way to honor classic Hollywood. One of his best movies, but at the same time his most complicated to understand
3 of 6 users found this helpful33
All this user's reviews
10
Naz34Dec 23, 2019
Best movie of 2019. More detailed review coming soon. By far, Tarantino's best film. I think this may be my favorite Leo film. Cliff Booth and Brandy ftw
3 of 6 users found this helpful33
All this user's reviews
8
maximschneiderOct 22, 2019
great movie...............................................................
3 of 6 users found this helpful33
All this user's reviews
10
JohnnyZippoNov 8, 2019
absolutely a wonderful movie experience. not a cookie cutter hollywood action film like every other movie out there. hes the man
3 of 6 users found this helpful33
All this user's reviews
1
DcmNov 27, 2019
Utter drivel, a self endurance film with some awesome actors but the film is slower than paint drying, may make some sense in America but in the Uk, this is just contrived nonsense. It's not funny, it's not an action, it's just 140 mins ofUtter drivel, a self endurance film with some awesome actors but the film is slower than paint drying, may make some sense in America but in the Uk, this is just contrived nonsense. It's not funny, it's not an action, it's just 140 mins of wondering what the hell am I watching Expand
3 of 6 users found this helpful33
All this user's reviews
0
PuckachNov 30, 2019
One of the worst, senceless piece of garbage, ever watched. Tarantino, time for retirement.
3 of 6 users found this helpful33
All this user's reviews
10
AsHwAtThAmADec 3, 2019
Plotting of the scene were fabulous, Climax of the movie was so good.... Both Leonardo and brad did great job and the dog was outstanding...
3 of 6 users found this helpful33
All this user's reviews
1
dogboyDec 6, 2019
This movie was painful to watch. There is no plot to be found in this boring mess. Took 5 sittings just to get through it and I wished I hadn't wasted my time.
2 of 4 users found this helpful22
All this user's reviews
9
SchnitzelPoofNov 1, 2019
It's movie fun for movie lovers. The biggest downside would be its length. There is a lot of plot, and the story keeps going on and on. I think concentrating for so long can be tiring, since this isn't a mindless film you barely focus on.
I
It's movie fun for movie lovers. The biggest downside would be its length. There is a lot of plot, and the story keeps going on and on. I think concentrating for so long can be tiring, since this isn't a mindless film you barely focus on.
I guess for Tarantino lovers, the lack of gratuitous violence (in most of the film) might be a disappointment. I just enjoyed it for what it is, the clever writing, the clever dialog, the ever-so-human characters and their weaknesses (except for creepy 40 year old in an 8 year old body.)
Perfect? Nope. Ground-breaking? Nope. Several hours of joy for movie lovers? Yes.
Expand
2 of 4 users found this helpful22
All this user's reviews
6
WasptarDec 14, 2019
One of Tarantino’s worst films. All style over substance and you are just waiting for a plot twist or just anything interesting to happen. I usually love his work but I’m left a little shocked at what a non event this movie is. If you want aOne of Tarantino’s worst films. All style over substance and you are just waiting for a plot twist or just anything interesting to happen. I usually love his work but I’m left a little shocked at what a non event this movie is. If you want a documentary of life around this time then you’ll be satisfied with the indulgent subject matter, but if you’re expecting another great entry into Tarantino’s filmography prepare yourself for disappointment. The reason for this failure? I think it was the Manson family plot line that probably seemed a great idea to frame the narrative early in the writing process, but just ended up literally sending the director up a creative cul-de-sac. Expand
2 of 4 users found this helpful22
All this user's reviews
9
REPSAJNov 25, 2019
Loved it, one of my favorite tarantino films so far. He went all out on this one. The cinematography is stunning, the story compelling as well as absurdistic, but always interesting. A very tasty cocktail of genres mixed with a pinch ofLoved it, one of my favorite tarantino films so far. He went all out on this one. The cinematography is stunning, the story compelling as well as absurdistic, but always interesting. A very tasty cocktail of genres mixed with a pinch of mulholland drive, complemented with a lot of 60's and 70's influences. Definetely rewatching this one. Expand
2 of 4 users found this helpful22
All this user's reviews
10
sassymahOct 25, 2019
This movie is a very subversive and multi-layered masterpiece from Tarantino whose cinephile attributes are on full display here. I will write a more comprehensive review later. It would be a cinematic crime if this film were not a top OscarThis movie is a very subversive and multi-layered masterpiece from Tarantino whose cinephile attributes are on full display here. I will write a more comprehensive review later. It would be a cinematic crime if this film were not a top Oscar contender. It deserves nominations across the board. Leo's angsty but darkly comedic depiction of Rick Dalton is probably going to rank among his best performances. The entire ensemble is amazing but Pitt's effortless & cool portrayal of Cliff Booth is a stand out along with his dog Brandy. This film has everything I want in a film about Hollywood's golden age. Expand
2 of 4 users found this helpful22
All this user's reviews
9
PanchogulOct 1, 2019
Opinión sin Spoiler:

Gran parte de la película uno no sabe hacia donde quiere ir debido a su ritmo lento y ligeramente confuso, sin embargo y pese a ello, está muy lejos de ser aburrida, la recomiendo totalmente. Lo bueno: 1) Los diálogos:
Opinión sin Spoiler:

Gran parte de la película uno no sabe hacia donde quiere ir debido a su ritmo lento y ligeramente confuso, sin embargo y pese a ello, está muy lejos de ser aburrida, la recomiendo totalmente.

Lo bueno:

1) Los diálogos: Siendo de Tarantino está a la altura de las expectativas.

2) Ambientación: Uno de verdad siente que esta viendo una película de los años 60'.

3) El reparto: Brad Pitt y Leonardo DiCaprio se lucen, ambos lo hicieron excelente pero DiCaprio tiene más tiempo en pantalla.

Lo malo:

1) La duración: Las películas de Tarantino de por si son extensas, pero creo que esta no daba para tanto (+160 minutos).

2) El ritmo e historia: Es confuso y a ratos no se puede apreciar bien o historia porque se da vueltas y vueltas, el primer acto está muy bien, el segundo acto es algo tedioso y demasiado lento más no aburrido y el tercer acto es la bomba total que compensa la lentitud del segundo acto.

3) El personaje de Margot Robbie (Sharon Tate): Este es a mi juicio el único y principal punto negativo, Margot es una gran actriz, pero su personaje fue un completo desperdicio, relleno absoluto desde el principio hasta el final.

En conclusión, es buenísima, yo no soy seguidor de Tarantino pero su trabajo debe verse si o si, no será la mejor de su filmografía puesto que es imposible que le gane a Pulp Fiction y a Bastardos sin Gloria, pero eso no le quita mérito alguno.

¿De las mejores del año? Tal vez si o tal vez no.
Expand
2 of 4 users found this helpful22
All this user's reviews
3
viroodiemNov 29, 2019
About the worst film I have seen this year. Tarentino has long been a hack but this film highlights just how far he has fallen from his Reservoir Dogs days. The first half is boring, the back half is just utter comical goofiness that hasAbout the worst film I have seen this year. Tarentino has long been a hack but this film highlights just how far he has fallen from his Reservoir Dogs days. The first half is boring, the back half is just utter comical goofiness that has never been funny.

About the ONLY good thing about the whole thing is his depiction of Bruce Lee which is by far the most accurate thing in the film.

Its hard to fault the actors for this one because the performances from the cast were mostly solid across the board. They simply could not hold together one of Tarantino lamest visions for a film to date. The whole production would have been at least a 7, but the writing from plot to dialog was so weak it easily drug it down to a 3. By far the worst film Tarentino has put his name on so far and clear illustration its long past time for him to pack it in.
Expand
2 of 4 users found this helpful22
All this user's reviews
10
CinemaCrushDec 29, 2019
QT's supposed swan-song is probably the only Tarantino I would give a solid as heck 10. I told myself I'd keep it brief on this one, but gosh there's just too much good things to say. For one, it's one of only two QT films (the other beingQT's supposed swan-song is probably the only Tarantino I would give a solid as heck 10. I told myself I'd keep it brief on this one, but gosh there's just too much good things to say. For one, it's one of only two QT films (the other being Jackie Brown) that put an emphasis on compassion. As a whole, and within the relationships of characters. Especially that of the relationship between Leo and Brad. Pitt finding probably the most hand-in-glove character since Se7en. Great homage to QTs truest love, which is Hollywood, set against the backdrop of Cielo Drive circa 69. - We know how much Tarantino loves to break rules in the best way possible, and he does not fail again on this one. A great sub-tribute to Sharon Tate as well. And why does it seem that these Tarantino films are the only things that really work for Kurt Russell anymore. Either way, great ensemble cast, including Russell, great likenesses to all the old stars. This film is really one of a kind and atypical of Tarantino in the most heartwarming and memorable ways. If you're looking for Kill Bill Vol 1 or Deathproof, you may be knocking on the wrong door. This film has a big heart, even with the usual hyper-violent tendencies. With that said, ONE OF THE BEST OF THE YEAR, and possibly Tarantino's best. An magnum-opus, a love letter, a historical document. It serves so many things. Way to go QT! Expand
2 of 4 users found this helpful22
All this user's reviews
3
egoBorderDec 14, 2019
Even as Tarantino has become increasingly self-indulgent in his films, he's always remained entertaining. But with this movie he's gone completely off the deep end, and I doubt most people will appreciate his taking so long to get nowhere.Even as Tarantino has become increasingly self-indulgent in his films, he's always remained entertaining. But with this movie he's gone completely off the deep end, and I doubt most people will appreciate his taking so long to get nowhere. This movie has some interesting ideas about culture and history, sure, but a more direct approach would have been more engaging. Might be a good rental, but keep your phone handy. Expand
2 of 4 users found this helpful22
All this user's reviews
9
KaituneNov 12, 2019
Much slower and more laidback then Tarantino's usual flicks but not in a bad way. Has a lot of heart, and features one of the damn coolest characters in Tarantino's career (which has a lot of cool characters).
2 of 4 users found this helpful22
All this user's reviews
9
ThechinamanSep 10, 2019
nce Upon Time In Hollywood is directed by Quentin Tarantino and starts Leonardo DiCaprio and Brad Pitt, i was very excited for this film, first because it's a Tarantino movie, and second because of the cast, you Have DiCaprio, Brad Pitt andnce Upon Time In Hollywood is directed by Quentin Tarantino and starts Leonardo DiCaprio and Brad Pitt, i was very excited for this film, first because it's a Tarantino movie, and second because of the cast, you Have DiCaprio, Brad Pitt and Margot Robbie, Once you see a movie with this cast and crew , your expectation are astronomically high, Can they deliver ? is it a revolutionary film from a narrative standpoint ? I think not, but does it capture everything Tarantino was going for , Yes it does, I really liked this film, i think it's very similar to Tarantino's Jackie Brown in nature and structure. it's a movie about friendship and it's very funny i didn't expect that from this movie but it worked pretty well and thats also because of how Leo and Pitt nailed their roles, you can see DiCaprio's emotional breakdown and feel it, and he was great and really owned this character, as for Brad Pitt i can say it's my favorite character from this film , he pretty much has the best lines and the best scenes, Margot Robbie as Sharon tate, even if she was not given the biggest part in this movie, but she did good the movie is filled with long scenes that gave an advantage to the actors to really shine,the production design is Phenomenal, you can feel the 60's vibes, the sets and the Hollwood Boulevard are beautifull, the movie it's not about one think, its feels like a collection of moments beautifully directed and very well written and thats exactly what i think of this movie and thats what i liked about it, things i had an issue with is the second act, sometimes a scene could've been shorten but they took a little bit long and sometimes the narrative loses itself but it fixes itself the next scene,i really loved the first and third act, they are GREAT, my major problems is within the second Act that lacks a bit of tension, if you like Tarantino's style of directing and cinematic movie that relies on characters and the performances you're gonna probably enjoy this film. Expand
2 of 4 users found this helpful22
All this user's reviews
8
TheLedPontyNov 3, 2019
Очередная шикарная работа Квентина Тарантино. В этом фильме всё прекрасно: от актёров до монтажа. Не могу, однако, сказать, что большинству зрителей данная кинокартина придётся по вкусу, но всё же, если вы осилите первую половину, то дальшеОчередная шикарная работа Квентина Тарантино. В этом фильме всё прекрасно: от актёров до монтажа. Не могу, однако, сказать, что большинству зрителей данная кинокартина придётся по вкусу, но всё же, если вы осилите первую половину, то дальше просмотр будет настолько увлекательным, что вы не пожалеете о времени, потраченным на данный фильм. 8/10 Expand
2 of 4 users found this helpful22
All this user's reviews
9
ThatFilmGuy20Nov 24, 2019
Once Upon A Time In Hollywood is a trip, filled with Tarantino's trademarks but this time it comes in a subtle way, beautifully delivered by two powerhouse leads with so much flair and talent it's almost overkill, but that's Tarantino forOnce Upon A Time In Hollywood is a trip, filled with Tarantino's trademarks but this time it comes in a subtle way, beautifully delivered by two powerhouse leads with so much flair and talent it's almost overkill, but that's Tarantino for you, he was never one for the easy and predictable.
We are treated to a delicious timepiece so rich in details and excitement, the story goes back to the golden days of Hollywood when actors were idols in every sense of the word, the story itself goes down different paths that all link up at the end in a spectacular manner worthy of the Tarantino's violent ways, and boy was it fun to watch. The two leads, Decaprio and Pitt bring unparalleled charisma to the table, I'll tell you this, it is almost impossible to take your eyes off the screen when they're on, they just possess enough to grip you throughout the film, they capture the true old Hollywood charm so perfectly.

In all honesty, I truly believe that this film wasn't meant to be explained but rather enjoyed and I did just that, Tarantino with a twist but I like it.
Expand
2 of 4 users found this helpful22
All this user's reviews
6
DjakeirAug 16, 2019
This was a rare miss from Tarantino. The movie was well produced and every scene was fully realised. What it had in detail it lacked in immersions despite both being so interwoven. I'm left scratching my head as to what went wrong for me andThis was a rare miss from Tarantino. The movie was well produced and every scene was fully realised. What it had in detail it lacked in immersions despite both being so interwoven. I'm left scratching my head as to what went wrong for me and when I think about the story I struggle find one other than a look into a brief moment of a few people's lives. This wasn't really enough for me to care about the characters and really struggle to answer the question of what was the point of this film. One might say it is to shine a light to the masses about the time period in Hollywood but we know Tarantino isn't interested in replicating history. So what was the point? To tweak events so people can forget what really happened? Even that can't be true because in comparison to the body of work of this great film maker there isn't much to remember in this film. The acting was top class and again the details were really impressive and the devil is in the details. But I would have liked to see more of the devilish sense of fear when dealing with these events. Could this movie be edited in a way to improve the film, absolutely. There is a backbone of a good film here but originality should always be commended but not always rewarded. Expand
2 of 4 users found this helpful22
All this user's reviews
9
chetlySep 13, 2019
One of the best movies of the year. The director knows how to tell a story. Long but worth it. Must see.
2 of 4 users found this helpful22
All this user's reviews
9
Eaj6Oct 8, 2019
I have to say that this is definitely one of Tarantino's most influential work. It has a groovy 60s Hollywood vibe and has its moments. The movie is almost on the same level as Pulp Fiction.It also has an excellent message and is a work ofI have to say that this is definitely one of Tarantino's most influential work. It has a groovy 60s Hollywood vibe and has its moments. The movie is almost on the same level as Pulp Fiction.It also has an excellent message and is a work of art. The movie is almost on the same level as Pulp Fiction. Expand
2 of 4 users found this helpful22
All this user's reviews
8
chaputomOct 30, 2019
Absolutely loved this film and one of my favorite Tarantino movies now. The setting, the mystique and glamour of 1960's Hollywood is VERY well portrayed. I got lost in the fact that this was a movie about something and just awed myself beingAbsolutely loved this film and one of my favorite Tarantino movies now. The setting, the mystique and glamour of 1960's Hollywood is VERY well portrayed. I got lost in the fact that this was a movie about something and just awed myself being transported back in time. The movie has incredible slow-burn humor and the final 20 minutes of the film is absolutely bonkers - as it should be with Tarantino. Great film to sit back and relax at, enjoy a simpler time (everyone chain-smoking was my favorite), and watch a film maker's film with a little twist on the Manson family. Expand
2 of 4 users found this helpful22
All this user's reviews
3
CuckBowersSep 23, 2019
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I was watching Wim Wender's "Paris Texas" at home when I decided, this movie is great but verrrrrry slowwwww; Like listening to really great sunday morning music, there is a time and a place. On this particular evening I wanted some visual rock and roll; What better that going to see Mr. Tarantino's latest film "Once Upon a Time...", I did not want to spoil it so no trailers/no reviews. Well I was set up, as this film is Mr. Tarantino's exploration of slow banter,space, and time... unfortunately I had no idea, after giving him an hour and a half of my patience, I walked out. SUMMARY: cheeky cool guys, nerdy 60s grown-up, slow witty banter, slow cheeky dialogue, drive here and there in a very cool white Cadillac Coup DeVille, hot hippy girls, one guys rich sad, one guys broke but confident, an homage to the"no-jackie-chan bollocks" viral video with Bruce lee as the but of the joke, famous douche couple, some scorn reject, some hippies, clearly more unneeded ink about the Manson clan, and WALK OUT Expand
2 of 4 users found this helpful22
All this user's reviews
9
gustavoriquelmeOct 5, 2019
Despite it's not one of Tarantino's best jobs, Once Upon A Time In Hollywood gives us an adventure full of suspense and emotion in his classic and phenomenal style. I totally love it.
2 of 4 users found this helpful22
All this user's reviews
9
kcjones704Sep 27, 2019
Love his movies. Not his best...but always a cut above other. One of the best working directors today.
2 of 4 users found this helpful22
All this user's reviews
9
Billybob43Oct 1, 2019
As expected which makes it a 9. The stars are stars. Quentin does his thing. Messing with history works.
2 of 4 users found this helpful22
All this user's reviews
8
Richmond95Oct 5, 2019
Tarantino's latest movie gives us a sad yet heartwarming film that tells a good story while being a love letter to classic Hollywood. Brad Pitt and Leonard DiCaprio are fantastic in their roles, and the climax is a fun time. I see why it'sTarantino's latest movie gives us a sad yet heartwarming film that tells a good story while being a love letter to classic Hollywood. Brad Pitt and Leonard DiCaprio are fantastic in their roles, and the climax is a fun time. I see why it's not for everyone but I think it's one of Tarantino's finest. Expand
2 of 4 users found this helpful22
All this user's reviews