Columbia Pictures | Release Date: July 26, 2019
7.5
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 1771 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
1,362
Mixed:
204
Negative:
205
Watch Now
Buy on
Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Expand
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
1
psychicmuppetJul 29, 2019
This was really disappointing. There was basically no plot. The movie had no momentum. It feels like Tarantino got so wrapped up in the setting he forgot about the story. It was just all so boring. Did we really need to see the trailers forThis was really disappointing. There was basically no plot. The movie had no momentum. It feels like Tarantino got so wrapped up in the setting he forgot about the story. It was just all so boring. Did we really need to see the trailers for movies no one's heard of before Tate watches The Wrecking Crew? Did we need 45 minutes of plot details for Bounty Law and Lancer? I wish I'd skipped this one and just watched Inglourious Basterds again instead. Expand
32 of 61 users found this helpful3229
All this user's reviews
3
Leavemealone2Jul 26, 2019
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I was very excited for this. The acting was superb as one would expect from DiCaprio and Pitt. That said . . . it meanders. It’s plodding and just doesn’t connect. I know why this got such great reviews - it’s an homage to a Hollywood that every film critic is aware of. I like movies, but I have a life. I cannot and will not deep dive into decades old obscure films to justify liking this movie. I know Tarantino doesn’t care. That’s what he does. Some think Jackie Brown is his best movie. I tried to watch it again (on Hulu currently) and couldn't finish it. Maybe the plot of an actor coming to terms with the end of his career connects with some people, but it didn’t with me. Maybe I’ve lost the zeitgeist. When I was 13 and saw Reservoir Dogs it was different, bold. Then I found True Romance and then Pulp Fiction. Kill Bill. Django and even the Hateful Eight (not great but at least things kept moving). Inglorious Basterds was full of dialogue you couldn’t get from other movies. Hollywood . . . was, I’m sorry, just boring. The twist at the end was basically Inglorious Basterds but worse. There is no examination of the era leading to the Manson family. Or, maybe there was and it was “subtext.” I understand that Tarrantino sinks himself in the genre, but this genre went away for a reason: ITS NOT INTERESTING. It just didn’t say anything other than “I like old movies.” That’s great for the critics but not so much for everyone else. I sat in a theater where people laughed at the heady moments and seemed bored at the rest. I would give this a 1 if it wasn’t for the brilliant acting throughout. This is my first and only review, that is how disappointed I was with this movie. Expand
49 of 94 users found this helpful4945
All this user's reviews
1
favor4afavorAug 1, 2019
I love Tarantino, but this film was painfully slow and the payoff at the end of 3 hours was simply not worth it
24 of 54 users found this helpful2430
All this user's reviews
0
glamgirlJul 28, 2019
I honestly don't know what everyone is raving about. Sure there were a couple of funny parts at the end... after a loooong 2.5 hrs of nothing. They made it look just like it did in 1969, but really who cares? Watch a movie filmed back then ifI honestly don't know what everyone is raving about. Sure there were a couple of funny parts at the end... after a loooong 2.5 hrs of nothing. They made it look just like it did in 1969, but really who cares? Watch a movie filmed back then if you want nostalgia and it will actually be good. The acting was well done, but the story sucked so bad that the acting didn't matter. I usually love Quentin Tarantino movies but this was absolutely awful. Expand
34 of 79 users found this helpful3445
All this user's reviews
1
Klove1978Jul 29, 2019
Horrible! We left after almost 2 hours of the most boring film I've ever seen! Total waste of time and money! Do yourself a favor amd save your money! I'd give it 1/2 star out of 5.
21 of 53 users found this helpful2132
All this user's reviews
0
MclmclmclJul 30, 2019
I can't remember ever walking out of a movie....talk about boring....after alost 2 hours of hoping things would get better i walked out...
21 of 54 users found this helpful2133
All this user's reviews
0
raporgiJul 27, 2019
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. foook the shill reviews. this movie is a complete waste of time.its plotless drivel capped by some violence at the end. QT needs to stfu and retire.

Leo beeches about his lame career while Brad Pitt kicks Bruce Lee's ass and tries to talk to an old man. It ends with them beating the crap out of some Manson minions. Margot Robbie just wanders around on screen with no real impact on the movie. Some fools will say this is about the cinematography and a bygone era in Hollywood, its not. Its about a self-important retard named Quentin Tarantino taking a shiitt in a pale and having hordes of his nerd club congregate on sites like this defending this fail of a movie. Dont be a member of the sheep. DId you really enjoy your time with this movie. DId it entertain you? Did it make you feel you got your money's worth? Or did you feel robbed and exploited by the Hollywood hype machine making this movie out to be the golden fleece?
Expand
26 of 67 users found this helpful2641
All this user's reviews
0
marco34laJul 27, 2019
This was most pointless, meandering, ridiculous, mish-mash of a "movie" that i've ever seen. DiCaprio's performance aside, there's no redeeming value in this flick folks. It's 2 hrs and 40 mins of NOTHING. The scenes (that have no meaning orThis was most pointless, meandering, ridiculous, mish-mash of a "movie" that i've ever seen. DiCaprio's performance aside, there's no redeeming value in this flick folks. It's 2 hrs and 40 mins of NOTHING. The scenes (that have no meaning or value) go on endlessly. This is more of a collection of scenes than a movie. I want a REFUND and an apology from the critics. Expand
26 of 68 users found this helpful2642
All this user's reviews
1
Lili327Jul 26, 2019
It’s really slow and boring. The director is “selfish” in the sense that he made this movie for his own self-indulgence, not for the purpose of entertaining the audience. You’ll be sitting there for 3 hours (wasting your time) watching whatIt’s really slow and boring. The director is “selfish” in the sense that he made this movie for his own self-indulgence, not for the purpose of entertaining the audience. You’ll be sitting there for 3 hours (wasting your time) watching what the director likes about old
Hollywood/ classic movie-making (which you may or may not care about). The director twisted the reality in his own fantasy world and injected some ridiculousness into it. You’ll come out of the movie theatre with a weird/ bland taste in your mouth and realized that the past 3 hours left you no resolution, eureka nor epiphany. You’ll feel cheated.
Expand
24 of 64 users found this helpful2440
All this user's reviews
1
RodMagnusonJul 30, 2019
Sets that transport the audience back in time. ++
An interesting buddy relationship. +
Long periods where not much is happening. -- A little ultra violence. -- I can't think of anyone I would recommend this movie to. I was bamboozled into
Sets that transport the audience back in time. ++
An interesting buddy relationship. +
Long periods where not much is happening. --
A little ultra violence. --

I can't think of anyone I would recommend this movie to. I was bamboozled into seeing it myself. I've learned my lesson, I don't like Tarantino films.
Expand
18 of 49 users found this helpful1831
All this user's reviews
0
dallen1244Jul 28, 2019
Ok, so I am way over 50 and that will without doubt eliminate me from any valid consideration by millennial observers of my review. Fine, don't care. Can't speak for final 30 min. because I walked out, however, just want to say this, becauseOk, so I am way over 50 and that will without doubt eliminate me from any valid consideration by millennial observers of my review. Fine, don't care. Can't speak for final 30 min. because I walked out, however, just want to say this, because it's important. No make believe here, Sharon Tate and Bruce lee were real life, caring and unique onto themselves flesh and blood human beings. What they weren't are empty props for Tarantino to render them one dimensional silly people. Sharon appears as some 10 year old none to bright star struck girl outside a movie theatre showing her 1968 film with Dean Martin. By the way, real life bulletin here. she came horribly near to drowning after a parachute jump went very wrong in one scene. She was traumatized by that and still toughed out the movie. That's the Sharon Tate I like to think about. Resolute, determined and one who made this world a little better place for those lucky enough to have known her. A woman of a lot more depth and character than Tarantino supplied her character with, for Damn sure. Bruce Lee? let's see, we have, in this genius martial arts legend, a man who revolutionized the dicipline and sport he mastered and even expanded on, with Jet Kun Do. What does Tarentino do with him? He has him tutoring a studio set cast on martial arts philosophies before lapsing into the reverse mentality by instigating a confrontation with Brad Pitt for no actual tangible cause except to act the bully show off. Ask anyone of his friends and students, all well published interviews over the decades, and they will tell you about this gross fake representation of his true personality. I won't waste time with the rest of the film. It was virtually painful to sit through. Was Decaprio channeling Doc Holliday or something with all the gratuitous spitting, hacking, red eye tearing, and constant over acting, thought for sure he was a congestive. (he's no Val Kilmer) Where did all that come from anyway ? who knows, why waste interminable amounts of time on empty dialogue, who knows? Was there a legitimate movie in there someplace? not that happened by me before catching the exit. Summation: Tarantino dishonored Sharon Tate and Bruce Lee. That is what really matters here. period. Expand
22 of 60 users found this helpful2238
All this user's reviews
1
Jenny134Jul 27, 2019
The emperor has no clothes... that about sums up this movie. It’s too bad that such mega watt talent was wasted on a meandering and boring movie. I’m convinced this is a practical joke that Is being played on us all.
20 of 55 users found this helpful2035
All this user's reviews
2
GreatMartinJul 26, 2019
The only reasons to see Tarantino's latest movie are the really alive performance by Brad Pitt, the red Rottweiler Brandy and a scene where Margot Robbie, playing Sharon Tate, watches herself on the screen in a theatre and enjoying theThe only reasons to see Tarantino's latest movie are the really alive performance by Brad Pitt, the red Rottweiler Brandy and a scene where Margot Robbie, playing Sharon Tate, watches herself on the screen in a theatre and enjoying the audience's reaction plus it is always good seeing Al Pacino, even in a wasted role.

As to be expected in a Tarantino's film there is a lot of very vivid violence, much distortion of history and facts and a lot of extraneous scenes that bring nothing to the film.

I have always been a fan of Leonardo DiCaprio since "What's Eating Gilbert Grape" even in his lesser pictures but in this movie he is just bad and I put the blame on Tarantino's shoulders as director and screenplay writer. There are many cameos but none memorable or even remembered 5 minutes after you see them.

The only reasons to see "Once Upon A Time...In Hollywood" are if you have 2 hours and 41 minutes of your life to waste and/or your electricity has gone out and this is the only theatre that has air conditioning!
Expand
22 of 61 users found this helpful2239
All this user's reviews
1
SteenerJul 26, 2019
It rambles and changes history for no real reason.
It is painfully long with literally nothing to do, I saw more people looking at their phones.
It was like being stuck in traffic in Hollywood for 3 hours.
21 of 59 users found this helpful2138
All this user's reviews
3
CaptainHowdyJul 25, 2019
Let's face it: Quentin Tarantino is just about spent. If this film had not been directed by a legend of cinema who has been making dazzling movies for almost three decades, no one would be as forgiving of two and a half hours of scene afterLet's face it: Quentin Tarantino is just about spent. If this film had not been directed by a legend of cinema who has been making dazzling movies for almost three decades, no one would be as forgiving of two and a half hours of scene after scene with nothing happening, conversation after conversation of weak, uninspired dialogue, and characters with no character arc.

The plot line does little more than shoehorn the Manson family into a film about being a has-been who can't create the magic that he used to, which aptly parallels Tarantino's career over the last few years. You almost wonder if he meant to write it that way, but it's hard to tell when it's bogged down with a million other little subplots that reveal nothing interesting and go nowhere.

People want to keep loving Tarantino, but without his name, this film would not be getting the score it has. Stop reviewing Pulp Fiction and review THIS film for what it is, not for what you imagined it would be before you walked into the movie theater. Had it been made by a first-time director, this bloated snoozefest would have ruined their career.

That said, I will add: Margot Robbie did a great job of capturing the ghost of Sharon Tate. And that dog was a really good dog.
Expand
20 of 60 users found this helpful2040
All this user's reviews
0
carrot-stickSep 15, 2020
Has Quentin Tarantino ever watched a bruce lee film or interview? If so, i wish i could give this movie a negative rating. Zero excuse for this trash
3 of 4 users found this helpful31
All this user's reviews
0
leejohnson222Jan 6, 2020
I just don't get it, it didn't look or feel like a tarentino film. 2 hours of nonsense for a 20 min pay off. What a waste of time, if you enjoyed it great but it was painful to watch
5 of 7 users found this helpful52
All this user's reviews
2
BaronzFeb 2, 2020
Wasted 2,5 hour of life. A movie about people driving around. Just fast forward to the last 10 minutes.
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
1
GerNFeb 1, 2020
There are three types of potential viewers for this movie; I've provided a review for each.
1. people who liked The English Patient - skip OUAT...IH; there is nothing here for you.
2. people are nostalgic about moviemaking and 60's
There are three types of potential viewers for this movie; I've provided a review for each.
1. people who liked The English Patient - skip OUAT...IH; there is nothing here for you.
2. people are nostalgic about moviemaking and 60's Hollywood - watch all but the last 15 minutes.
3. huge fans of Tarentino - watch only the last 15 minutes; it has everything you love.
Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
1
deenshanJan 29, 2020
Practically a complete waste of 2.5 hours of my life. The movie lacked direction and seemed to meander on with no end and no point.
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
0
Amin_rh1992Dec 7, 2019
Worship the feet
There is too many damn foot shots from different angles and it doesn't have any thing related to movie and it's just Tarantino's feet fetish problem
The other thing is that none of characters is actually a character they are
Worship the feet
There is too many damn foot shots from different angles and it doesn't have any thing related to movie and it's just Tarantino's feet fetish problem
The other thing is that none of characters is actually a character they are like dead pictures no story
In one word it's just some unrelated phoney shots gathered together by a phoney"director"
Expand
5 of 8 users found this helpful53
All this user's reviews
3
CuckBowersSep 23, 2019
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I was watching Wim Wender's "Paris Texas" at home when I decided, this movie is great but verrrrrry slowwwww; Like listening to really great sunday morning music, there is a time and a place. On this particular evening I wanted some visual rock and roll; What better that going to see Mr. Tarantino's latest film "Once Upon a Time...", I did not want to spoil it so no trailers/no reviews. Well I was set up, as this film is Mr. Tarantino's exploration of slow banter,space, and time... unfortunately I had no idea, after giving him an hour and a half of my patience, I walked out. SUMMARY: cheeky cool guys, nerdy 60s grown-up, slow witty banter, slow cheeky dialogue, drive here and there in a very cool white Cadillac Coup DeVille, hot hippy girls, one guys rich sad, one guys broke but confident, an homage to the"no-jackie-chan bollocks" viral video with Bruce lee as the but of the joke, famous douche couple, some scorn reject, some hippies, clearly more unneeded ink about the Manson clan, and WALK OUT Expand
3 of 5 users found this helpful32
All this user's reviews
3
JonnyB13Dec 13, 2019
Tarantino's use of shock value needs to be checked. While some historical events with a director's own spin can be interesting, "Once Upon a Time..." Is nothing more than an over expensive 2.5 hour 70's homage christened with 10 minutes ofTarantino's use of shock value needs to be checked. While some historical events with a director's own spin can be interesting, "Once Upon a Time..." Is nothing more than an over expensive 2.5 hour 70's homage christened with 10 minutes of creative spin on a historic event That being said, Rick Dalton's career serves as a perfect parallel to Tarantino's career. Expand
3 of 5 users found this helpful32
All this user's reviews
3
biggbadd66Dec 15, 2019
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I wanted this film to be a masterpiece. I expected it to be. An hour and 15 minutes into this overly hyped pile of crap, I did something I had never done before in a theater. I looked at my watch. It goes nowhere . There is NO personal connection with any of these characters. And why should there be... a washed up vain, self-centered lead character(played by L.D.) and his very odd relationship with his stuntman(played by B.P.) Ms. Robbie play an a bit movie actress named Sharon Tate(shouldn't have to spoil this one). And WTF is up with Q.T.'s obsession with bare feet. Prominently on display more than ever . The least he could have done is have the actress wash her feet. Instead ... BAM...dirty toejam is trusted right in your face. All in all , I give it a 3 , with B.P.,,'s performance elevating it from a 1. Be warned...Its 2 1/2 hours of ho-hum boredom until the last 15 minutes. Expand
3 of 5 users found this helpful32
All this user's reviews
1
MovieangelAug 30, 2019
Oh dear! what was that?I cant believe I spent a couple of hours with this film, did I expect too much and was I therefor dissapointed, or what happened ??? I would not call it a film , more a fragment puzzled together ,with famous actors,Oh dear! what was that?I cant believe I spent a couple of hours with this film, did I expect too much and was I therefor dissapointed, or what happened ??? I would not call it a film , more a fragment puzzled together ,with famous actors, whos acting is amazing but true wasted talent for this film, (this script) we could take a little glimpse into the old westernfilmera,(and the intended humor, which didnt make me laugh though) the hippytime, the spirit of the 60 , ok...but its all mashed up and not making sense for its intended own form...mixed with real Hollywoodera then, but more valuable to watch for filmgoofs and Hollywoodinsiders, before I wrote its a **** movie for me, but as I know how much hard work its to put it all together and to create, I would say, i really really dont like this QT composition of a film :) dissapointing, I couldnt figure out any storyline , nor a plot, nor developing characters, and was this film edited so strong that it lost some valuable scenes?, and you need a looooot of patience for the western scenes, only bearable because of leo, but still, need a hell lot of patience for this sloooowness of the film, (as we are in 3 dimensions living now, maybe I couldnt figure this one out :) ) I loved the costumes and the camera, buut the editing was confusing sometime, aaaand (I must say i liked the end), towards the end as if QT awakened from a long long sleep, we saw his famous signature at last, I liked the idea of changing the past by changing the ending in this film from the real happening ,with the twisted change of the real happened past of then , for none "Insiders" it could be terribly boring, but all in one I must say, If you want to get a nap or to walk outa cinema with a dull , tired dissapointed feeling, go out and watch it, you can earn the money back youve spent for this film, but not your time. Peace & Light Expand
10 of 18 users found this helpful108
All this user's reviews
3
FartdoucheDec 17, 2019
This movie is terrible, plain and simple. Over-long and pointless, the only thing to be enjoyed about this movie is the last 15 minutes, which is typical over-the-top tarantino style violence that's good for a laugh. Other than that, theThis movie is terrible, plain and simple. Over-long and pointless, the only thing to be enjoyed about this movie is the last 15 minutes, which is typical over-the-top tarantino style violence that's good for a laugh. Other than that, the movie drags on and goes nowhere. I seriously am still wondering what the point of the movie was, to be honest. Expand
5 of 9 users found this helpful54
All this user's reviews
2
GoldfingerXLSep 16, 2019
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. A total disappointment for a QT fan...

The movie has a VERY thin plot. Margot's story arc (if you can call it that) didn't advance or contribute to the plot in any way and could easily be left out. The same goes for the most of Brad's, although his character has one or two scenes which contribute to the overal narrative. The most interesting was the story of the aging actor played by leo. In between you see a lot of filler material nodding to the hollywood of the 60's, which in of itself are setting the tone for the movie, but they happen way too often and are incredibly lengthy. I am talking about 10 - 15 minutes here.

Aside from Leo's character, none of the characters develop in any way. The actions taking place in their lives have no significant impact on them whatsoever. For example, Margot is just there to be pretty, parties in every scene and barely has 10 lines of text. Brad is just driving around in his car beating up people. He supposedly killed his wife and got away with it, but apart from a small flashback, where you don't even see the murder!, it is not explained how this has affected him. A huge missed opportunity in my opinion. It could have given his character way more depth. As stated above, the exception is leo and his portayal of Rick Dalton. Rick ´s undergoes some significant chances throughout the movie which affect his actions. The acting by Leo and Brad ist excellent, but these professionals alone can't save these poorly written characters. The dialogues are good as always, but it all seems so meaningless.

And so, the movie drags on and on for about 2 hours and 15 minutes until finally QT decides it is time for his signature filmmaking and storytelling. However! When things finally do get violent it feels extremely out of place considering the rest of the movie and the final scene with the three goons from the manson family is laughable and an extreme mess.

All in all it didn't like this movie and can't recommend it to anyone. While Leo and Brad's acting was very good, the weak character building and plot in combination with the overly long filler material made me want to leave halfway through. I somehow managed to stick around, but at the end of the movie I wish that I had not. It was a total waste of time and money.
Expand
5 of 10 users found this helpful55
All this user's reviews
1
Brent_MarchantDec 27, 2019
When this was initially released, my gut instincts told me not to waste my time. However, with all of the awards buzz it's been receiving, I decided to give it a look on DVD, after which I realized my initial reaction was right: AbsoluteWhen this was initially released, my gut instincts told me not to waste my time. However, with all of the awards buzz it's been receiving, I decided to give it a look on DVD, after which I realized my initial reaction was right: Absolute utter garbage, overrated in virtually every respect (except, perhaps, for Leonardo DiCaprio's fine lead performance). What praise is there to be given for two dragged-out hours of boring, tedious, mundane activity, followed by a gratuitously grotesque conclusion that's supposed to be...funny? My only takeaway from this is that Quentin Tarantino may be a master of nostalgia in his authentic re-creation of past pop culture but little else, which, frankly, makes me wonder, "who cares?" The director has hinted that his next picture will be his last; let's hope he keeps his word. Expand
4 of 8 users found this helpful44
All this user's reviews
0
popartJan 19, 2020
I broke down last night and watched the film to see what everybody is talking about. I cannot believe this movie has earned so much praise. It is absolutely horrid, disjointed, painfully boring. Films that wink at themselves are the mostI broke down last night and watched the film to see what everybody is talking about. I cannot believe this movie has earned so much praise. It is absolutely horrid, disjointed, painfully boring. Films that wink at themselves are the most egregious and so amateur. This film winks at itself, with the background period radio track to the period products highlighted. The film, and, the acting, sadly having to repeat the poorly written script, it's just so stupid and a waste of 2.5 hours. Expand
3 of 6 users found this helpful33
All this user's reviews
2
marklaing1Jan 19, 2020
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Man, I'm a big Tarantino fan and this was a stinker! Never mind rewriting history, which was bad enough but how about a bit of rewriting in the script, or some editing? Lumbering, clanking, overwrought and downright weirdly flat. Anyone else writing this script would never have got past the first reader and anyone else directing it would have been excoriated. Leo and Brad were great and seeing all my favorite olde time Hollwdood haunts kinda fun but what was the point? A Hollywood "down memory lane" trip? Those places weren't integral to the plot and just appear for seconds. Casa Vega, El Coyote? Porque?? I can't believe I managed to sit through the whole thing. Really? You're going to rewrite the Manson story so folks under 30 will think this is what actually happened? Ak. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
2
sandbornDec 31, 2019
Nicely shot but pointless. There're some interesting scenes but no narrative to hold them together. The story (if there's one) plods aimlessly and interest rises and falls too much. I forced myself to watch the whole thing even though thereNicely shot but pointless. There're some interesting scenes but no narrative to hold them together. The story (if there's one) plods aimlessly and interest rises and falls too much. I forced myself to watch the whole thing even though there were times I wanted to pull my hair out. Worst of all, this movie is over 2 1/2 hours long for no good reason. And, I'm getting sick of Tarantino's wordy dialogue. Everybody in his movies sound the same. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
3
qFeb 15, 2020
The movie was odd and difficult to follow, with flashbacks and no discernible plot. I kept watching in vain hope of perceiving a story line about which I could care. The characters were dysfunctional and generally unpleasant. The dialogueThe movie was odd and difficult to follow, with flashbacks and no discernible plot. I kept watching in vain hope of perceiving a story line about which I could care. The characters were dysfunctional and generally unpleasant. The dialogue was laden with gratuitous obscenities. The movie was obviously made for Hollywood about Hollywood by Hollywood, and so I am sure the denizens of that synthetic world believe Tarantino has created an artistic triumph. It was a long, drawn-out self-indulgent waste of a Saturday evening. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
2
paychickAug 30, 2021
3 hours of boring. Clearly a vaniety project for Tarantino. Watched the first hour and got distracted. Some time went by when I looked up and realized I had missed nothing. Turned it off.
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
3
LittlegizmoMar 3, 2020
i really thought this would be a good movie but.... nope its just boring and nothing happens until the end... skip it
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
2
elolugoFeb 18, 2020
Boring movie. Save yourself 2.7 hours of your life. It is a movie made by hollywood for hollywood
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
1
Emmet45Aug 21, 2019
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Horrific revenge fantasy posing as a comedy drama. This takes away from the horrible events of a horrific act perpetrated by truly disturbed people. I have watched Tarantino movies for a long time now but this is disturbing wish fulfillment that I feel should not have been made. Expand
10 of 21 users found this helpful1011
All this user's reviews
2
kirkenderAug 29, 2019
If Tarantino ever had any skill, it has long disappeared. Hollywood is boring, tedious, arrogant, simple, misguided, and catering to dark web incel types. The "Once Upon a Time" tradition deserves better. He should have ended his haplessIf Tarantino ever had any skill, it has long disappeared. Hollywood is boring, tedious, arrogant, simple, misguided, and catering to dark web incel types. The "Once Upon a Time" tradition deserves better. He should have ended his hapless copy/pasting film career after Jackie Brown. Expand
7 of 15 users found this helpful78
All this user's reviews
2
patnianSep 9, 2019
There are some directors that are so lionized {justifiably or not} that the critics will lap up anything they do and ask for more. Tarantino is a prime example. He can make a film as undisciplined and self indulgent as 'Once Upon A Time.. 'There are some directors that are so lionized {justifiably or not} that the critics will lap up anything they do and ask for more. Tarantino is a prime example. He can make a film as undisciplined and self indulgent as 'Once Upon A Time.. ' and get away with it. Expand
6 of 14 users found this helpful68
All this user's reviews
0
Darko019Dec 5, 2019
Quentin Tarantino is “fantastic” writer and director

He managed to make the worst movie I have ever watched, although there was a fantastic crew of actors. Well done. This movie is the best indicator that metacritic was sold and no longer
Quentin Tarantino is “fantastic” writer and director

He managed to make the worst movie I have ever watched, although there was a fantastic crew of actors. Well done.
This movie is the best indicator that metacritic was sold and no longer represents a competent judgement when you are looking for the film ratings.
If you can, check out the film by yourself and you'll be clear.
Many companies have thought they were irreplaceable, but they don't exist any more. If metacritic continues like this, the same future awaits them.
There are many more viewers than directors, writers and producers.
Expand
3 of 7 users found this helpful34
All this user's reviews
1
DcmNov 27, 2019
Utter drivel, a self endurance film with some awesome actors but the film is slower than paint drying, may make some sense in America but in the Uk, this is just contrived nonsense. It's not funny, it's not an action, it's just 140 mins ofUtter drivel, a self endurance film with some awesome actors but the film is slower than paint drying, may make some sense in America but in the Uk, this is just contrived nonsense. It's not funny, it's not an action, it's just 140 mins of wondering what the hell am I watching Expand
3 of 7 users found this helpful34
All this user's reviews
0
PuckachNov 30, 2019
One of the worst, senceless piece of garbage, ever watched. Tarantino, time for retirement.
3 of 7 users found this helpful34
All this user's reviews
2
AnastasijaAug 20, 2019
What a boring boring chore of a movie. All the accolades for a useless change of postcard images. I barely lasted an hour. Pleeeeaaaase! Why so much noise about nothing?
10 of 24 users found this helpful1014
All this user's reviews
1
Terbo49Aug 31, 2019
Really dull, and a shocking waste of talent. Tarantino thinks it is fun getting really good actors to pretend they are acting in rubbish, and therefore act badly. It isn’t. It’s boring. Every scene is too long, some scenes add nothing butReally dull, and a shocking waste of talent. Tarantino thinks it is fun getting really good actors to pretend they are acting in rubbish, and therefore act badly. It isn’t. It’s boring. Every scene is too long, some scenes add nothing but time, and the overall premise is stupid. Expand
5 of 12 users found this helpful57
All this user's reviews
3
Morrigan1487Aug 31, 2019
As boring as watching people walking by the street. La trama no tiene ni pies ni cabeza
4 of 10 users found this helpful46
All this user's reviews
1
Lambo442Sep 19, 2019
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Long, bloated and lacking in a compelling, cohesive plot. Lots of scenes don't really drive the narrative at all. Two stinkers in a row for Tarantino now. The climax at the end couldn't even save it for me. I was hoping they'd save Tate in her own residence, that would have been more cathartic for the audience and made more sense. If real history had been unfolding and through a minor twist of events Brad Pitt wanders over there tripping out and saves the day. Then Bruce Lee could have shown up as Mansen's new recruit, like a boss, and finished his fight with Pitt. Why not, it's all make believe anyway. Great acting from everyone involved though. Expand
2 of 5 users found this helpful23
All this user's reviews
1
dogboyDec 6, 2019
This movie was painful to watch. There is no plot to be found in this boring mess. Took 5 sittings just to get through it and I wished I hadn't wasted my time.
2 of 5 users found this helpful23
All this user's reviews
2
emirbudNov 23, 2019
The movie is boring, but suspenseful since we all know what's coming - explicit and grotesque violence. I like violence as much as the next guy, but this is just ridiculous. And the alternative history was a nice gimmick the first time. NowThe movie is boring, but suspenseful since we all know what's coming - explicit and grotesque violence. I like violence as much as the next guy, but this is just ridiculous. And the alternative history was a nice gimmick the first time. Now it's just pathetic. I guess the whole point of the movie (besides violence) is exacting revenge upon the Manson family and sticking it to them. That's fine, but I have no strong feelings about the whole affair. It all happened before I was born, far away, and to people I have never heard of. I just don't care, and Tarantino failed to make me care. Oh, and that movie within the movie crap also failed big time. Only managed to bore me some more. I used to like some of Tarantino's movies, some I haven't even seen, but I definitely don't like this one. Good acting couldn't save it. The only good part is the end credits scene. I guess I regret the two and a half hours spent watching it, plus 15 minutes writing this review. Expand
2 of 5 users found this helpful23
All this user's reviews
0
Tony90Sep 23, 2019
It's the worst film I've ever seen.
Tarantino have to pay me the ticket and the time
2 of 5 users found this helpful23
All this user's reviews
3
viroodiemNov 29, 2019
About the worst film I have seen this year. Tarentino has long been a hack but this film highlights just how far he has fallen from his Reservoir Dogs days. The first half is boring, the back half is just utter comical goofiness that hasAbout the worst film I have seen this year. Tarentino has long been a hack but this film highlights just how far he has fallen from his Reservoir Dogs days. The first half is boring, the back half is just utter comical goofiness that has never been funny.

About the ONLY good thing about the whole thing is his depiction of Bruce Lee which is by far the most accurate thing in the film.

Its hard to fault the actors for this one because the performances from the cast were mostly solid across the board. They simply could not hold together one of Tarantino lamest visions for a film to date. The whole production would have been at least a 7, but the writing from plot to dialog was so weak it easily drug it down to a 3. By far the worst film Tarentino has put his name on so far and clear illustration its long past time for him to pack it in.
Expand
2 of 5 users found this helpful23
All this user's reviews
3
egoBorderDec 14, 2019
Even as Tarantino has become increasingly self-indulgent in his films, he's always remained entertaining. But with this movie he's gone completely off the deep end, and I doubt most people will appreciate his taking so long to get nowhere.Even as Tarantino has become increasingly self-indulgent in his films, he's always remained entertaining. But with this movie he's gone completely off the deep end, and I doubt most people will appreciate his taking so long to get nowhere. This movie has some interesting ideas about culture and history, sure, but a more direct approach would have been more engaging. Might be a good rental, but keep your phone handy. Expand
2 of 5 users found this helpful23
All this user's reviews
3
BrownevoSep 15, 2019
Bored to death! Worst Tarantino film. No action throughout, poor characters, boring storyline. Not his usual style.
2 of 5 users found this helpful23
All this user's reviews
3
Ang4677Nov 1, 2019
Very disappointing. DiCaprio and Pitt gave great performances, that is the only thing good about this film. The ending was silly and I thought very disrespectful to the death of Sharon Tate. It’s nearly 3 hours long and I can’t get that timeVery disappointing. DiCaprio and Pitt gave great performances, that is the only thing good about this film. The ending was silly and I thought very disrespectful to the death of Sharon Tate. It’s nearly 3 hours long and I can’t get that time back! Expand
2 of 5 users found this helpful23
All this user's reviews
3
CriticonAug 4, 2019
Boring as hell. The only reason you keep watching this movie is on the hopes it will pull a full 180 at some pount. When it does, it feels completely out of place. I wish I could get my money back. This movie sucks!
13 of 33 users found this helpful1320
All this user's reviews
3
Dexter65Aug 2, 2019
The performances from Leonardo DiCaprio and Brad Pitt somewhat redeem this movie. It reminds me of Hal Needham getting together with his buddies and making a movie. It has great attention to detail of the period but unfortunately does notThe performances from Leonardo DiCaprio and Brad Pitt somewhat redeem this movie. It reminds me of Hal Needham getting together with his buddies and making a movie. It has great attention to detail of the period but unfortunately does not have attention to detail when being edited. It is too long and much of it is pointless. QT’s self indulgence is hard to watch. In my mind if I look at my watch during a movie it has failed. I looked at my watch 4 times. I won’t be seeing film #10. Expand
13 of 33 users found this helpful1320
All this user's reviews
2
HeretojudgeAug 4, 2019
Weird and boring. First 2 hours and 30 minutes you’re watching Brad Pit drive around and Leonardo acting in old movies. Last 15 minutes provide a little comedy and action. The end
13 of 33 users found this helpful1320
All this user's reviews
0
FreizelAug 19, 2019
This movie has not plot, and thats enought to give It a 0, people Will consider rate It a 1 or a 2 for leo and Brad acting, they were the only reason i didnt leave , but even their acting didnt save this mess of a movie , nothing happens in 3 hours
9 of 23 users found this helpful914
All this user's reviews
3
Jason0007Aug 20, 2019
I’m not the best critic but I have seen soooo many films and all of Quentins but this was poor.
You expect a good soundtrack, not here. Laughs, it here, a flowing story that kept you interested, not here. The last 15 mins are the best. If
I’m not the best critic but I have seen soooo many films and all of Quentins but this was poor.
You expect a good soundtrack, not here. Laughs, it here, a flowing story that kept you interested, not here. The last 15 mins are the best. If you like long and dull films then be my guest but this was a let down for me personally!
Better luck with the 10th!
Expand
9 of 23 users found this helpful914
All this user's reviews
1
Bob1234567Aug 22, 2019
Like watching paint dry except the paint only drys in the last 15minutes of the movie. So boring I wanted to scratch my eyes out.
9 of 23 users found this helpful914
All this user's reviews
0
Kelly102030Aug 21, 2019
It was so disappointing and way to long..the story line is slow and at times boring
7 of 18 users found this helpful711
All this user's reviews
2
NrthGeorgiaMikeAug 3, 2019
I'm just shocked that a QT movie could move so SLOW. I couldn't tell where this movie was headed for most of it, and I'm still not sure what the real plot line actually was. My advice to anyone considering a watch is to pay attention to theI'm just shocked that a QT movie could move so SLOW. I couldn't tell where this movie was headed for most of it, and I'm still not sure what the real plot line actually was. My advice to anyone considering a watch is to pay attention to the negative reviews... and ignore all the 10 ratings from QT fanboys. I've truly enjoyed his other movies, PF, KB, RD, H8 and the rest- and really looked forward to this one. Except for the final 20 minute signature gore and "weirdness" action, this was a boring snoozefest. Pitt and Leo are very good actors (Robbie not so much, but nice to look at), but the "dog" ended up being the character I enjoyed most. >;-) Expand
12 of 31 users found this helpful1219
All this user's reviews
2
ReelviewerAug 6, 2019
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This movie was BORING! You want to like it because of who's in it and to be honest the acting was good. The storyline sucked! Quentin is trying to hard to be deep and different and leaves you wanting so much more. This should've been great and it only resultwd in confusion and one good last scene ....thats it! Tell the truth people it sucked! Expand
10 of 26 users found this helpful1016
All this user's reviews
2
ZlatanAug 31, 2019
Caracters have 0 developmnet. Stories lead to nothing and movie drags for 2 hours. I apologised to my wife for wasting her time.
5 of 13 users found this helpful58
All this user's reviews
0
ElemakiAug 26, 2019
Absolutely boring. Without any doubts, the worst QT film ever released. Make yourself a favor a spend your money in anything else...
5 of 13 users found this helpful58
All this user's reviews
1
RobynRossJul 30, 2019
This indulgence fest of a movie was like watching a whole bunch of Hollywood friends, get together for a circle jerk. Definitely on my "one of the worst movies I've ever seen" list. Gluttonous and self indulgent to the max. Seriously, did IThis indulgence fest of a movie was like watching a whole bunch of Hollywood friends, get together for a circle jerk. Definitely on my "one of the worst movies I've ever seen" list. Gluttonous and self indulgent to the max. Seriously, did I need to see the dog food slide out of the can and plop into the bowl every time Brad Pitt's character fed his damn dog? Or watch every clip Leo's character, the actor, played? (Maybe that's why it was nearly three hours long. It was like watching this movie and then "Rick Dalton's" movies. A crappy BOGO deal. Where in the world was the editor? An hour could have been deleted from this film and it would still be about nothing! Ridiculously over acted by all of the leads (excluding Margot Robbie but she was mostly just used as a prop anyway) and all were 2 dimensional cliched characters (or shall I say caricatures?). My friend and I were tempted to walk out but stayed in hopes there was a pay off. There was absolutely none. In fact the ending was just all together stupid. But if you love Tarantino camp, gore and violence, you do at least get that pay off I guess. I did give this movie at least a one, because the costumes and sets were amazing (as you would expect with that big of a budget), I loved the soundtrack, and the two youngest female characters (Julia Butters & Margaret Qualley) were the best parts of the entire movie. If you want to waste three hours of your life, then go see this film. If you just want to be educated on current pop culture, save yourself the time and watch the excellent trailer. Rex Reed from the Observer says it best, "Rancid, preposterous and hysterically over the top in ideas and execution, "once upon a time" perfectly describes writer-director Quentin Tarantino's ninth film."
"The movie drags on like a turtle on valium, cramming in the period clichés like concession-stand popcorn."
"They all seem to be guests at some insider wrap party to which the audience is not invited."
*(random quotes from his review)
Expand
13 of 34 users found this helpful1321
All this user's reviews
0
keigbosicAug 4, 2019
This is my number 1 on my list of worst movies. all these people on here talking about how good the movie is are stupid. The entire movie except for the last 20 minutes are horrible. Almost 2 hours of the total movie time have nothing to doThis is my number 1 on my list of worst movies. all these people on here talking about how good the movie is are stupid. The entire movie except for the last 20 minutes are horrible. Almost 2 hours of the total movie time have nothing to do with the end of the movie. Leonardo's character did nothing for the film except his acting in real life. Thankyou and have a good day. Expand
13 of 34 users found this helpful1321
All this user's reviews
2
wingnutzJul 29, 2019
I never thought I would say this about a QT film, but this movie was boring beyond belief. QT seems to occupy the position that Woody Allen held before he fell from Hollywood grace: stars want to be in his films to give themselves "artistI never thought I would say this about a QT film, but this movie was boring beyond belief. QT seems to occupy the position that Woody Allen held before he fell from Hollywood grace: stars want to be in his films to give themselves "artist cred". That can be the only explanation for why this roster of great actors/stars signed up for this non-event.

The worst part was how the dialog was curt and stiff. Until now, there was no better screenwriter in film than QT. Until now.

And poor Margot Robbie. She was left playing a vapid cookie cutter character with virtually nothing to add to the story except to be the historical prop of Sharon Tate.

My expectations were perhaps too high, but this was pablum. I cannot understand the critic reviews except to believe that they, like the actors, fall under QT's "artist director" spell.
Expand
14 of 37 users found this helpful1423
All this user's reviews
3
SWEEPtheLEG175Jul 28, 2019
The Hateful 8, Inglorious Bastards, R Dogs, Pulp Fiction, Kill Bill are a few films on my all time favorite list. This film was terrible. I saw people leaving the theatre after about an hour. I would have done the same, but Brad and LeoThe Hateful 8, Inglorious Bastards, R Dogs, Pulp Fiction, Kill Bill are a few films on my all time favorite list. This film was terrible. I saw people leaving the theatre after about an hour. I would have done the same, but Brad and Leo are unreal and I could watch either of those guys paint or sew and still be entertained. If people didn't know it was a QT film they would have rated it lower, everyone is just scared or blinded by his greatness. Again, the acting was a 10, but there isn't a story. The last 15min are great, that is it. Expand
14 of 37 users found this helpful1423
All this user's reviews
3
LeeleeAug 15, 2019
Leonardo is the only reason this film has any strength whatsoever, disappointing to say the least, first time a Tarantino movie has left me bored and unfocused
9 of 24 users found this helpful915
All this user's reviews
0
asdfghjkl1234Aug 17, 2019
Boring film, bad writing, bad story, bad acting, great as a sleep aid. I'm not sure why the industry wants this film to succeed so much more than others but they paid off the professional reviewers to give this great reviews.
9 of 24 users found this helpful915
All this user's reviews
2
ehstadelJul 28, 2019
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I checked spoiler alert so I don’t spoil the movie for others by saying that the movie is pointless and goes nowhere. Nothing happens. There isn’t much of a plot or a story. The movie feels like a big prank by Tarantino to see if everyone will love the movie because they feel like they have to. I’ve loved every movie he’s done, but this one is a mess. The acting was great, no doubt about it. Leo and Brad still couldn’t save this turd of a movie. Very disappointing. Expand
14 of 38 users found this helpful1424
All this user's reviews
3
RoguewarAug 2, 2019
Loved Django Unchained. This movie was lacking a lot. An hour in, I was still trying to figure out if there was any sort of plot or storyline. If your under 40 and not a Hollywood trivia buff you probably won't understand a lot of theLoved Django Unchained. This movie was lacking a lot. An hour in, I was still trying to figure out if there was any sort of plot or storyline. If your under 40 and not a Hollywood trivia buff you probably won't understand a lot of the references. My son and his friends (all collage students) saw it and said it was okay. When my wife asked them what it was about, they said they had no idea. My wife almost didn't want to see it because she hates violent movies, but other than about 5 minutes towards the end there is almost no violence in the entire movie. The cast was the only thing that even kept it watchable. Expand
11 of 30 users found this helpful1119
All this user's reviews
1
Mot6802Aug 5, 2019
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. We were really looking forward to this new Tarantino movie. Horrible dialogue, acting & tempo. The twist at the end was meh. Very disappointed. Expand
11 of 30 users found this helpful1119
All this user's reviews
1
GoetheJul 28, 2019
Regrettably, Once Upon a Time is yet another morally idiotic, stylistically tired, structurally undisciplined and thematically cliched jerk-off of a film from aging narcissist Tarantino. Overblown accents, overplayed character types,Regrettably, Once Upon a Time is yet another morally idiotic, stylistically tired, structurally undisciplined and thematically cliched jerk-off of a film from aging narcissist Tarantino. Overblown accents, overplayed character types, distasteful violence and disappointingly dull dialogue plague this Death Proof-caliber clunker. Perhaps somebody should tell this man to retire already at flick number 9. One thing’s for sure: the days of Pulp Fiction and Jackie Brown are long gone. Expand
12 of 33 users found this helpful1221
All this user's reviews
0
Chocapic360Aug 4, 2019
It's soooooooooooooooooooo long and boring in 2:40h I laughed twice and I wanted to die for most of the movie.
12 of 33 users found this helpful1221
All this user's reviews
3
AkselisAug 10, 2019
Переоцененная куча голливудских отходов со ставкой на большие имена на постере. Мне одному показалось что сюжета здесь нет? Это фильм с актерами из голливуда про актеров из голливуда со всеми затертыми голливудские клеше и образами крутыхПереоцененная куча голливудских отходов со ставкой на большие имена на постере. Мне одному показалось что сюжета здесь нет? Это фильм с актерами из голливуда про актеров из голливуда со всеми затертыми голливудские клеше и образами крутых парней с сигаретами и пивом от которых уже тошнит. Говоря о юморе это дело конечно субьективное, но "высмеивание" это самый убогий и низкий способ заставить человека рассмеятся, не секрет что люди любят показывать на кого то пальцем и такой юмор проще переносится стадным зрителем но я думаю что сцена с Брюсом Ли была неуместной и оскорбительной. За 240 минут скучного описания повседневной жизни героев, которое до тошноты описывает каждую мелочь я понял что мне интереснее смотреть на потолок чем на фильм. Когда самое интересное в фильме это 10 минут бессмысленной жестокости в конце, то это плохой знак. У меня нет притензий к актерам, но думаю они там только из за громкого имени ибо фильм обязан был завлечь массу на которую жадно таргетируется Тарантино. Да и отыграть в кино роль актера в кино и крутого каскадера с сигаретой слишком концептуально и мало кто бы не справился с такой ролью. Фанаты Тарантино могут плевать в меня желчью и говорить, что они понимают в кинематографе больше меня, но так же есть люди которые считают что понимают в стиле лучше других, нося помойные мешки Гоши Рубчинского, я хочу сказать что всем хочется быть важнее, чем они есть. Поэтому говорите что угодно, но я оцениваю фильм с точки зрения обычного зрителя и считаю что он крайне переоценен. Все чаще замечаю, что любой фильм с популярным продакшеном или актерами внушает своего рода страх в людях, которые боятся критиковать его что бы не получить осуждение стада фанатов. Не бойтесь выражать свое мнение если сочли фильм плохим и не важно кто над ним работал. А другой половине хочу сказать, что не нужно строить из себя знатока кинематографа ссылаясь только на авторитет знаменитостей и слепо защищать их деятельность. Expand
9 of 25 users found this helpful916
All this user's reviews
0
ElsashAug 17, 2019
Boring, no story, no suspense, people were sleeping at the movies, waste of time and money.
9 of 25 users found this helpful916
All this user's reviews
1
KmalenAug 10, 2019
Don't waste your money. Movie is way too long with the only action being in the last few minutes.
9 of 25 users found this helpful916
All this user's reviews
2
SilvurWolfAug 11, 2019
Most boring movie ever! 3 hours just to watch the best part closer to the end. Only thing good about the movie was the acting!
9 of 25 users found this helpful916
All this user's reviews
2
Thewho63Jul 27, 2019
R-Dogs and Pulp Fiction were pure genius. Since then outside of Inglorious Basterds everything he does is an homage to blacksploitation, kung fu, westerns, etc.....This movie was a waste of talented actors. It really seemed like 1969 LosR-Dogs and Pulp Fiction were pure genius. Since then outside of Inglorious Basterds everything he does is an homage to blacksploitation, kung fu, westerns, etc.....This movie was a waste of talented actors. It really seemed like 1969 Los Angeles was the star of this film. Leo's character was like a tip of the hat to Clint Eastwood in a way.
Just came away extremely underwhelmed, yet the critics are fawning over this lackluster outing.
Expand
14 of 39 users found this helpful1425
All this user's reviews
2
Marshall56Aug 6, 2019
The movie was way too long. Very few funny scenes a complete waste of money and time.
10 of 28 users found this helpful1018
All this user's reviews
0
RuxandraMAug 17, 2019
Plain, no action, we walked out the screening, it was too boring and to sit through.
6 of 17 users found this helpful611
All this user's reviews
3
MADRICKY97Aug 9, 2019
Worst movie from Q.T., 2 hours and 15 minutes of nothing, then 15 minutes of Q.T. usual gore action ending ...... that s it !!! 3/10 and i m realy gentle!!! Noting to see or do with his other movies!!! Realy disapointed !!!
9 of 26 users found this helpful917
All this user's reviews
1
psentnAug 15, 2019
What a waste of time this movie is all about Tarintinos ego it is a bore as far as I am concerned!!!!!! I spelled his name wrong g???
9 of 26 users found this helpful917
All this user's reviews
1
DrJimAug 15, 2019
Self indulgent and aimless. Lacking any serious character development, narrative or plotting. The Emperor has no clothes.
9 of 26 users found this helpful917
All this user's reviews
0
RJPinOntAug 6, 2019
I cannot begin to say how bad this movie is. In a full theatre, we heard people chuckle 3 times during the brutal 2 and half hours. In 22 of going to movies together, my wife (the ever patient one) has never asked to leave a movie beforeI cannot begin to say how bad this movie is. In a full theatre, we heard people chuckle 3 times during the brutal 2 and half hours. In 22 of going to movies together, my wife (the ever patient one) has never asked to leave a movie before the end... until this dog. We stayed, thinking it had to get better. Boy were we wrong. As we left the theatre, all we heard were people talking about how bad this movie was... No idea how it got the critic rating it did. Expand
11 of 32 users found this helpful1121
All this user's reviews
3
branflakes4547Jul 26, 2019
This movie accomplishes nothing. Nothing of note happens in the first two hours. Characters show up and drop out like they weren't even there. The film doesn't build on itself. Nothing happens except "woah, wasnt that cool." The onlyThis movie accomplishes nothing. Nothing of note happens in the first two hours. Characters show up and drop out like they weren't even there. The film doesn't build on itself. Nothing happens except "woah, wasnt that cool." The only redeemable thing about the film is Vrad Pitt's character. Other than that it is a total waste of time Expand
13 of 39 users found this helpful1326
All this user's reviews
1
Mhs1987Aug 20, 2019
Wage of time. Spoils your day and mood. Moreover, not recommended to be watched!
6 of 18 users found this helpful612
All this user's reviews
1
RayaStarkAug 22, 2019
It's Tarantino's worst movie. It has nothing similar to those directed by him. This movie has made me get a little bit of **** on my tongue.
I wait for the other movie
6 of 18 users found this helpful612
All this user's reviews
2
mbmartinsSep 4, 2019
2 for last 20 minutes of movie and 0 for everything else. Maybe if you work on movies industry maybe and just maybe you can like a little bit more...
3 of 9 users found this helpful36
All this user's reviews
0
KadirovMay 17, 2020
Overhyped mediocre film. Actually, mediocre films at least are able to entertain a watcher, this one is just a grandiloquent pacifier like Great Gastby. This movie is most likely a result of director's probable mental illness.
2 of 6 users found this helpful24
All this user's reviews
2
wellyoudidaskSep 5, 2019
This movie was slow and pointless with large sections of it seeming like no more than a fill - lame and disjointed story. It did have some captivating moments though with Leonardo and Brad giving great performances but even that couldn’tThis movie was slow and pointless with large sections of it seeming like no more than a fill - lame and disjointed story. It did have some captivating moments though with Leonardo and Brad giving great performances but even that couldn’t save this movie for me. Disappointing. Expand
2 of 6 users found this helpful24
All this user's reviews
0
RLATLSep 8, 2019
Worst movie of 2019. Super slow storylines , bad acting, total lack of humor… the list goes on. A true MUST NOT SEE.
2 of 6 users found this helpful24
All this user's reviews
0
kingmidasApr 12, 2020
It is rare that I do not make it to the end of a movie, but that was the case with this one. Truly a waste of time. Boring, pointless, meandering and tedious just about sums it up. Just goes to show that having a big name director and starsIt is rare that I do not make it to the end of a movie, but that was the case with this one. Truly a waste of time. Boring, pointless, meandering and tedious just about sums it up. Just goes to show that having a big name director and stars cannot make up for character development and plot. Expand
2 of 6 users found this helpful24
All this user's reviews
2
MaxPayneIsGodOct 28, 2019
100% PROOF that Tarantino is a PRETENTIOUS, self indulgent HACK. Its overly LONG, agonizingly SLOW with a completely UNNECESSARY second act. Pitt is MASTERFUL and the ending is simply FANTASTIC, that's where 2 points come in.
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
3
HotelCentralMar 7, 2020
Once upon a time there was a director who said he would only make 10 movies and in the case of Tarantino he should probably have stopped at #8.

The problem, of course, is that #9, "Once Upon a Time in Hollywood," is not actually a movie.
Once upon a time there was a director who said he would only make 10 movies and in the case of Tarantino he should probably have stopped at #8.

The problem, of course, is that #9, "Once Upon a Time in Hollywood," is not actually a movie. I'm not sure what it is. It has characters. It has dialog. It has things that hint at suspense and the possibility of some kind of action happening at some future date. But it doesn't seem to have much of a story. Anecdotes, yes; story, not so much. And frankly it isn't really what I would describe as "entertaining."

It's more like what I would describe as a shaggy dog story, which Dictionary.com defines as "a funny story, traditionally about a talking dog, that, after an often long and involved narration of unimportant incidents, has an absurd or irrelevant punch line."

The key phrase is "long and involved narration of unimportant incidents."

You could skip most of the film and just catch the last 20 or 30 minutes and you'd get as much out of this as I did. Or just imagine walking into a Manhattan art gallery. On one wall is an image resembling Andy Warhol's stack of Campbell's Soup cans. Only instead of soup cans it's cans of Green Giant peas. You stand there staring at those cans of peas for 161 minutes. Do you get anything out of it? Well, I guess that's for you to say.

Personally, if Tarantino ever comes out with #10 I think I'll re-watch I Claudius, or Key Largo, or Wyrmwood: Road of the Dead, or even Scouts Guide to the Zombie Apocalypse. Those were movies (even the mini-series among them), rather than shaggy dog stories or practical jokes.
Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
3
KenRMay 9, 2021
Once Upon a Time In Hollywood – Even The Name is ‘Borrowed’

QT’s latest indulgence is all about his one-way fixation with the ‘60s. At 160+ mins it’s a long trudge but the script probably only had few pages if compared with other movies of
Once Upon a Time In Hollywood – Even The Name is ‘Borrowed’

QT’s latest indulgence is all about his one-way fixation with the ‘60s. At 160+ mins it’s a long trudge but the script probably only had few pages if compared with other movies of this length, why?... So many scenes are made up of shots of bods getting into cars, then long internal shot from back seat (lifted from the far better Gun Crazy’ 50s) then bods get out of car, long shots of feet walking, more bods get into cars, more long internal driving shot, bods again get out of car, more feet walking. This format is repeated from beginning to end –pages of same-- The 60s heralded in a new low for movie making – features like; ‘Beach Blanket Bingo’, ‘How to Stuff a Wild Bikini ’, ‘Sergeant Deadhead’ were playing as main features across the land, el-cheapo’s had become the new norm. What would usually have been a ‘B’ picture were now being sold as an ‘A’. Yes. it may have helped a jaded Hollywood at that time but what about other mainstream audiences?

So, what might have influenced TQs fixation with this downturn in the social morays of movies? Tarantino grew up in the swinging ‘60s/mod‘70s working in a porn cinema (this perhaps explains his addiction to perversity) including a video store - while also watching the endless re-runs of TV shows, along with an overflowing barrage of low budget, Spaghetti westerns that had flooded the market - thank goodness some audiences grew up (well, some did) and demanded better. These endless ‘homage’s to days offering little more than cheap TV-style quickies --now being released to the big screen --- with product that was generally catering for a guideless, acid tripping youth (such as the Manson crew, etc) wanting endless simple-minded partying. Hollywood producers loved it – now, for half the normal budgets, they were getting the same financial returns as quality features. QT has simply revived those days and a new ‘comic book hero’ generation have picked it up. Only this time around, the budgets are BIGGER while the contents remain juvenile, if not ridiculous. Trouble is, too many of today’s producers and art critics also grew up in this overly comfortable, ‘anything goes’ era, so they wrap on about the glorious emptiness that’s making them all rich. Some rave about the cinematography and design - with that much money being thrown about it's simple to ‘copy’ the work of previous Masters. But, no matter how expensively dressed-up and stylishly packaged rubbish maybe, it’s still rubbish (but, GOOD-LOOKING rubbish). Too much you might be saying? Take a look back, revisit many of those poorly scripted, badly acted, TV shows and movies of the 50s-60s – the ones Q.T. tends to dote over...you may be surprised how your memory may have failed you as just how poor most were. Once U.A.T.I.H. looks like several proposed projects that never got off the ground all edited into one, and doesn’t do justice to any of them. One or two characters and situations looked as if they may have been leading to something but simply fizzled out. How long might it take before more look back and ask, how were we so fooled? Or is it just that LESS has now become the new MORE?

So, if this is Q.Ts 9th may there be only one left to go. Please (if we must that is)
Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
3
MindurbidnissSep 11, 2021
Such strong performances from legendary actors! The issue is them having nothing to work with. This flimsy script is a waste of time for both them and the viewer. Simply a film that has no reason for existence. An incredible waste andSuch strong performances from legendary actors! The issue is them having nothing to work with. This flimsy script is a waste of time for both them and the viewer. Simply a film that has no reason for existence. An incredible waste and disappointment. Between Tarantino' foot fetish crap, and his willingness to take liberties with actual history, this film is a slap in the face to those who lived the events or acted in this. Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
3
ysmfOct 26, 2019
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. With only a few captivating scenes, everything else is a bore. It has been a month since I've seen it, and only 3 scenes is memorable: 1. Cliff (Brad Pitt) fighting Bruce Lee, 2. Cliff beating up a Manson Family member for puncturing his tyre, and 3. The final scene where Pitt trips on acid and beats up the Manson Family members in Rick's (Leonardo DiCaprio) house, effectively cancelling the Tate murders. Everything else in the movie is just conversations after conversations that I couldn't appreciate and even link to anything besides understanding that Rick's a washed out sad sack of sh*t actor, Cliff's a loyal lapdog who probably killed his wife, and Sharon's dancing/vanity. All actors acted well, but Margot's Sharon Tate was the most useless--only being a dancing bimbo. DiCaprio's a washed out actor who keeps getting mad and sad at himself, and Pitt's his loyal stunt man. Of all three, only Pitt scenes gives more entertainment as compared to the constant rant and conversations with (all) other characters in the film. The conversations also are extremely boring and a chore to watch and listen as they serve no purpose whatsoever. Or I might be born too late to actually live through and understand this cinema age and lifestyle of the celebs shown in this film--whatever it is, it's a bore. Heck, even the final scene where Cliff (Pitt) defends Rick's (DiCaprio) house was a tad dark and unable to really see the violent and gruesome effects--which is what Tarantino's films is all about. Only the final scene here has that signature scene of Tarantino, and even that's not delivered at it's best to fully appreciate. It's just a grind. You can literally skip most, if not all scenes/conversations in this film and still watch through it not missing anything out. Watching through it all--I wouldn't wish that on my worst enemy. Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
2
tarekaliMay 13, 2020
Tarantino has become iconic and actors salivate to play a role in his films, however he has not transcended beyond the guttural, gratuitous violence and shock factor that put him on the cinematic map. 'Once upon a time in hollywood' is aTarantino has become iconic and actors salivate to play a role in his films, however he has not transcended beyond the guttural, gratuitous violence and shock factor that put him on the cinematic map. 'Once upon a time in hollywood' is a snooze fest wrapped as a love story to glory days. The payoff in the last 20 mins was anti-climatic. None of the characters were memorable, rather washouts and full of self doubt. The biggest proof that this was a weak installment is the fact that not a single meme has entered popular culture from this film, unlike Tarantino's other works. Similar to 'The Last Jedi', the critics are falling over themselves to praise his snooze fest, out of FOMO than anything else. If Tarantino intends to end at film 10, he better knock it out of the park, otherwise unlike Michael Jordan, he will leave too late. Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
2
LynchioMay 2, 2020
To summarise this film in a word... Pointless. Nothing really happens of note until the last 5 minutes, and even then, after 2 hours 30 minutes in, you don't really care. Amazing cast, the most, "meh" film I've think I've ever seen. ITo summarise this film in a word... Pointless. Nothing really happens of note until the last 5 minutes, and even then, after 2 hours 30 minutes in, you don't really care. Amazing cast, the most, "meh" film I've think I've ever seen. I couldn't tell if this entire film was a troll to the audience or not!?

The worst film I've seen Al Pacino in.
The worst film I've seen Brad Pitt in.
The worst film I've seen Leonardo DiCaprio in.
The worst film I've seen Margot Robbie in.

It's simply a film you won't want to watch again, whether you somehow enjoyed it, or not.
Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews