Columbia Pictures | Release Date: July 26, 2019
7.5
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 448 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
332
Mixed:
49
Negative:
67
Watch Now
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
MarcDoyleJul 25, 2019
This will certainly crack my year-end Top 10 list, and it will likely be in the top half. I don’t remember the last time I laughed that hard (frankly, often in spots when I was the only one laughing… which is all the better) in a film. TheThis will certainly crack my year-end Top 10 list, and it will likely be in the top half. I don’t remember the last time I laughed that hard (frankly, often in spots when I was the only one laughing… which is all the better) in a film. The story is excellent…vintage QT. But it’s truly Brad Pitt’s film. I mean, he should just sign over his movie check to the director for making him look this good. Those lines, those action sequences, the dog? Amazing. Don’t want to spoil anything – just see this one. It delivers. Expand
20 of 39 users found this helpful2019
All this user's reviews
9
BHBarryAug 10, 2019
“Once Upon a Time…in Hollywood” stars Brad Pitt and Leonardo DiCaprio and was

written and directed by Quentin Tarentino. Imagine trying to rate a dinner cooked by a chef when the oven fails and you have to wait until a later time to finish
“Once Upon a Time…in Hollywood” stars Brad Pitt and Leonardo DiCaprio and was

written and directed by Quentin Tarentino. Imagine trying to rate a dinner cooked by

a chef when the oven fails and you have to wait until a later time to finish the meal.

This is the situation I found myself in when, a week ago and 2/3 into the film, the entire theater complex went dark due to a power failure and I had to catch the last 1/3 of the film 7 days later. So now, with that burden disclosed and acknowledging that I never was really a fan of Mr. DiCaprio, I must confess that I found the film not only entertaining but well written and well acted too. Mr. DiCaprio was thoroughly believable as a “Clint Eastwood type” who, like Clint, goes from Western TV actor (i.e. “Rawhide”) to spaghetti-western star, as his character's life ultimately interwines with his neighbors on Il Cielo Drive in the hills above Sunset Blvd.and, ultimately, the intruding members of the Manson family. Brad Pitt is absolutely superb in his role as the friend of and stunt man for the DiCaprio TV western star.

Having lived and been part of the early days of TV as well as the Tate-LaBianca killings, the film is really a trip along nostalgia lane as the viewer is once again reminded of the many landmarks in Los Angeles in the late 60’s and early 70’s. Perhaps this is why those who have no familiarity with the city or the time in which the film takes place found it less enjoyable to watch. All that being said, this is a movie about Hollywood and those who earned their livelihood in it aided by excellent performances from its to two leading men and a host of major stars in cameo appearances. I give the film a 9 for, despite its almost 3 hours in length, for me, at least, it was a worthwhile and positive theatrical experience.
Expand
2 of 7 users found this helpful25
All this user's reviews
10
LamontRaymondJul 25, 2019
I was hoping this film would deliver in a way that most of Tarantino’s other films did, and I was more than satisfied. I laughed VERY hard on many occasions in this movie, and there are plenty of thrills. Most importantly, Leo and Brad areI was hoping this film would deliver in a way that most of Tarantino’s other films did, and I was more than satisfied. I laughed VERY hard on many occasions in this movie, and there are plenty of thrills. Most importantly, Leo and Brad are just incredible in their roles. The direction and writing are pitch perfect, but it wouldn’t have been the same work without the simple brilliance of its lead actors. I also appreciate Quentin’s willingness to deviate from history when it makes sense. I should also make mention of the always excellent Margaret Qualley (from “The Leftovers”) – she has really good chemistry with Pitt, and she brings the two storylines together. In this era of bullsh*t comic book franchises, it’s so refreshing to get an original, unique film from a singular talent. When will Hollywood have the onions to take risks like this again? I won’t be holding my breath. Expand
10 of 24 users found this helpful1014
All this user's reviews
9
carabethJul 28, 2019
If you LOVE Tarantino, and you want to watch two of the best actors today, run don't walk.
6 of 14 users found this helpful68
All this user's reviews
5
warfieldAug 4, 2019
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Of all the Tarentine movies that I have seen, the least inspired. Weak narrative. Weak character development. And he had already used the alternative history device in the great "Inglorious Basterds." And enough with his foot-fetish fantasies... I get it! I was really looking forward to this movie: a great disappointment Expand
2 of 4 users found this helpful22
All this user's reviews
6
frankiep86Jul 31, 2019
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I wanted to love it - went in expecting to love it. But in the end, it felt half-baked. This tongue-in-cheek imagining of late 60's Hollywood was fun at times, interesting at points, but all in all comes up short. Tarantino puts his signature dialogue and humour to good use but there is no tension - even when there could be tension it adds up to not much. The performances were solid, if not a bit overworked in trying to be appealing. The twist on the Manson plot line felt on the verge of disrespectful to a horrific crime. I am a big Tarantino fan but this was a miss in my book. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
6
jimmypowderJul 31, 2019
I'll give this a C+ ,certainly not at the Pulp Fiction level,which is a classic . My 28 year old son hated it. The acting alone by Brad Pitt redeems the movie enough to give it a C+ .More Manson intertwined with Hollywood would have made thisI'll give this a C+ ,certainly not at the Pulp Fiction level,which is a classic . My 28 year old son hated it. The acting alone by Brad Pitt redeems the movie enough to give it a C+ .More Manson intertwined with Hollywood would have made this a better movie. Too much nostalgia over the westerns ,which i happen to like, made 3/4's of the movie slow and tiresome. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
3
RoguewarAug 2, 2019
Loved Django Unchained. This movie was lacking a lot. An hour in, I was still trying to figure out if there was any sort of plot or storyline. If your under 40 and not a Hollywood trivia buff you probably won't understand a lot of theLoved Django Unchained. This movie was lacking a lot. An hour in, I was still trying to figure out if there was any sort of plot or storyline. If your under 40 and not a Hollywood trivia buff you probably won't understand a lot of the references. My son and his friends (all collage students) saw it and said it was okay. When my wife asked them what it was about, they said they had no idea. My wife almost didn't want to see it because she hates violent movies, but other than about 5 minutes towards the end there is almost no violence in the entire movie. The cast was the only thing that even kept it watchable. Expand
9 of 13 users found this helpful94
All this user's reviews
0
ScraperJul 29, 2019
Tarantino has nothing to say anymore which is why his movies seem to drone on unchanging until a desperate twist or shocking violence happens. It's schizophrenic filmmaking that reveals that substance is injected, not properly built intoTarantino has nothing to say anymore which is why his movies seem to drone on unchanging until a desperate twist or shocking violence happens. It's schizophrenic filmmaking that reveals that substance is injected, not properly built into conclusions and reveals. His concepts are too simple but the budgets are sky-high and the actors AAA list so millions will continue to watch these movies that they don't really like then spend the next year trying to convince themselves that they "got it" and liked it. Expand
14 of 21 users found this helpful147
All this user's reviews
0
marco34laJul 27, 2019
This was most pointless, meandering, ridiculous, mish-mash of a "movie" that i've ever seen. DiCaprio's performance aside, there's no redeeming value in this flick folks. It's 2 hrs and 40 mins of NOTHING. The scenes (that have no meaning orThis was most pointless, meandering, ridiculous, mish-mash of a "movie" that i've ever seen. DiCaprio's performance aside, there's no redeeming value in this flick folks. It's 2 hrs and 40 mins of NOTHING. The scenes (that have no meaning or value) go on endlessly. This is more of a collection of scenes than a movie. I want a REFUND and an apology from the critics. Expand
17 of 31 users found this helpful1714
All this user's reviews
10
MacanoodoughJul 29, 2019
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I think this is a great QT Film. A different genre than he's done previously (3 Crime, 2 Western, 1 WWII, 2 revenge Kung Fu) This is just a Story Driven Drama. Always strong characters aret in his stories and these are even more so. THe whole flick delves deep into these 2 guys and it truly is, IMHO his best on that level. A fitting homage to a legend made so by tragedy (her widower's infamy not withstanding) But Sharon Tate deserved this. A true Fary Tail with a Fairy Tail ending and Brad briegly revisits and old part that fiorst made him famous, allbeit for a single line of dialogue, but it went a long way for me. An amazing movie I will pay to see again. Expand
3 of 9 users found this helpful36
All this user's reviews
10
CrimsonFlushAug 4, 2019
If you're not into late 60s pop culture or music and know nothing or care about that history you should probably skip this one, it'll bore you. This is nothing like Tarantino's last two violent, revenge, blood-fests Django and Inglorius. IfIf you're not into late 60s pop culture or music and know nothing or care about that history you should probably skip this one, it'll bore you. This is nothing like Tarantino's last two violent, revenge, blood-fests Django and Inglorius. If you expect this, look elsewhere. If though, you enjoy quirky humor like The Big Lebowski, you'll enjoy this movie. I'm not saying it's Lebowski, but it's probably as close as you'll find. Expand
2 of 9 users found this helpful27
All this user's reviews
4
fuzzynavolJul 27, 2019
This movie is nowhere near as good as Inglorious or Django. I even thought the Hateful 8 was underrated. This had none of the dramatic tension and too much of the "you're cool if you think Tarantino's funny" anti-humor. I don't recommendThis movie is nowhere near as good as Inglorious or Django. I even thought the Hateful 8 was underrated. This had none of the dramatic tension and too much of the "you're cool if you think Tarantino's funny" anti-humor. I don't recommend seeing it in the theatre. Expand
13 of 22 users found this helpful139
All this user's reviews
2
Thewho63Jul 27, 2019
R-Dogs and Pulp Fiction were pure genius. Since then outside of Inglorious Basterds everything he does is an homage to blacksploitation, kung fu, westerns, etc.....This movie was a waste of talented actors. It really seemed like 1969 LosR-Dogs and Pulp Fiction were pure genius. Since then outside of Inglorious Basterds everything he does is an homage to blacksploitation, kung fu, westerns, etc.....This movie was a waste of talented actors. It really seemed like 1969 Los Angeles was the star of this film. Leo's character was like a tip of the hat to Clint Eastwood in a way.
Just came away extremely underwhelmed, yet the critics are fawning over this lackluster outing.
Expand
13 of 23 users found this helpful1310
All this user's reviews
8
frozen82Aug 1, 2019
First Tarantino movie I liked in a long time. American pulp and pop culture are his ground and if he defers to other subjects its just trash and stupid. Still don't know is he in his own mind satirizing or glamourizing shallowness of AmericanFirst Tarantino movie I liked in a long time. American pulp and pop culture are his ground and if he defers to other subjects its just trash and stupid. Still don't know is he in his own mind satirizing or glamourizing shallowness of American existence, probably both but at the end it doesn't matter. This is a movie about lost culture and time that does not exist anymore, and I guess more personal movie about "paradise lost" of Tarnatino's childhood. That these "good old days" are so banal and soulless just adds to the joke because this at its essence is a fairytale and satirical comedy. I doubt it will have mass success because you have to be at least round 40ish to connect with what it portrays. There is no steering plot to speak of, some things happen-the end. What I like the most about it is that for a Tarantino movie its toned down in all the repetitive things he became known for over time and to me are so boring and stupid- no more "edginess" for self indulgence sake, like he returned focus on subject mater again for the first time since those couple of first movies. For some it may be too long (2:40+) but it didn't felt dragging to me, and the thing I do have issue is portrayal of Sharon Tate in this movie...I don't know that much about her so I don't know was she the type of person movie implies she is. I heard a lot about violence at the end but to me its really nothing special, just a comic element, I expected some over the top gore. DiCaprio and Bread Pitt are great as all other actors but those two carry the movie. I think this is one of the best DiCaprio roles I ever watched, I didn't know he could be so funny and I would rather gave him an Oscar for something like this than calculated callous attempt in "academy likes" roles. There are also some to me unknown very young girls that are so good that i did wonder will we look at this movie in retrospect as a jump off for some big name or is it just a one hit wonder type of situation. In sea of stupidity that is Hollywood of today this movie has something...it may not be the best thing ever but is far better than nothing almost everything else has to offer. Expand
2 of 7 users found this helpful25
All this user's reviews
2
GreatMartinJul 26, 2019
The only reasons to see Tarantino's latest movie are the really alive performance by Brad Pitt, the red Rottweiler Brandy and a scene where Margot Robbie, playing Sharon Tate, watches herself on the screen in a theatre and enjoying theThe only reasons to see Tarantino's latest movie are the really alive performance by Brad Pitt, the red Rottweiler Brandy and a scene where Margot Robbie, playing Sharon Tate, watches herself on the screen in a theatre and enjoying the audience's reaction plus it is always good seeing Al Pacino, even in a wasted role.

As to be expected in a Tarantino's film there is a lot of very vivid violence, much distortion of history and facts and a lot of extraneous scenes that bring nothing to the film.

I have always been a fan of Leonardo DiCaprio since "What's Eating Gilbert Grape" even in his lesser pictures but in this movie he is just bad and I put the blame on Tarantino's shoulders as director and screenplay writer. There are many cameos but none memorable or even remembered 5 minutes after you see them.

The only reasons to see "Once Upon A Time...In Hollywood" are if you have 2 hours and 41 minutes of your life to waste and/or your electricity has gone out and this is the only theatre that has air conditioning!
Expand
13 of 26 users found this helpful1313
All this user's reviews
10
NostalgicAug 8, 2019
Short attention spans be damned. This is a movie for real men and women who enjoy doing a little thinking while viewing. If you have any admiration for nostalgia and immersing yourself in a time better than now, this movie is a must see!
2 of 7 users found this helpful25
All this user's reviews
4
tropicAcesJul 26, 2019
Normally I like Tarantino, and I *love* DiCaprio and old-time Hollywood, but this film meanders to the point of boredom. Gone are the twisty plotlines and sharp QT dialogue, replaced with random scenes that go on too long and expositionNormally I like Tarantino, and I *love* DiCaprio and old-time Hollywood, but this film meanders to the point of boredom. Gone are the twisty plotlines and sharp QT dialogue, replaced with random scenes that go on too long and exposition dumps. A massive letdown. Expand
11 of 22 users found this helpful1111
All this user's reviews
5
RoobotJul 26, 2019
This movie could have been 1h30 long and nothing about this movie would have been lost, and it would've been much more enjoyable to watch. The only redeeming factors about this movie are the acting, the setting and the final 15 minutes.This movie could have been 1h30 long and nothing about this movie would have been lost, and it would've been much more enjoyable to watch. The only redeeming factors about this movie are the acting, the setting and the final 15 minutes. Overall the movie is just WAY too long for no good reason. Also theres is no plot, no conflict, no story. It is just a drawn out 2 hour and 45 minutes experience of the 60s in hollywood. Very boring movie. If I were to watch this again, I would skip at least half. Expand
11 of 18 users found this helpful117
All this user's reviews
10
JohnrieberAug 5, 2019
I interviewed Quentin Tarantino in 1992 at the Cannes Film Festival for "Reservoir Dogs"...his love of films and Hollywood's history was obvious then, and this "love story" to the last innocent time in Hollywood is a brilliant film. TheI interviewed Quentin Tarantino in 1992 at the Cannes Film Festival for "Reservoir Dogs"...his love of films and Hollywood's history was obvious then, and this "love story" to the last innocent time in Hollywood is a brilliant film. The acting is terrific across the board, and as usual, Quentin takes his time to create a world that is nuanced, colorful and fascinating - and you will see no better Bruce Lee moment in film - a masterpiece that will grow in stature over time...don't read anything about the plot - just go see it Expand
2 of 7 users found this helpful25
All this user's reviews
9
GreykingJul 29, 2019
Very slow, meandering, and pointless a lot like real life. But the ending of the film is what makes it all worthwhile. 3 days later I'm still thinking about Rick and CLiff and wondering how their real-world lives would have turned out.
6 of 15 users found this helpful69
All this user's reviews
9
Compi24Jul 29, 2019
Amidst this year of unnecessary remakes, bloated sequels, and pathetic attempts at establishing IP, in comes Quentin Tarantino with a movie so wacky, so audacious, and so out there that you honestly can't help but smile when the creditsAmidst this year of unnecessary remakes, bloated sequels, and pathetic attempts at establishing IP, in comes Quentin Tarantino with a movie so wacky, so audacious, and so out there that you honestly can't help but smile when the credits finally roll. Yes, it's based on true events, but don't be fooled. This is a movie with a whole lot more going on with it than simply retelling certain historical moments. More deliberately paced than most Tarantino flicks, "Once Upon A Time In Hollywood" takes its sweet time building to its eventual climax. But, dear God, what a climax it is. An easy contender for one of the best scenes I've ever seen Tarantino pull off from script to screen (right beside the tavern scene from "Inglourious Basterds" and the pawnshop scene from "Pulp Fiction"), the finale expertly blends terror, dramatic irony, and comedy all into one incredible experience. I'm not sure I can say it's all entirely worth the near-three-hour running time, but once you see where and how everything falls into place, it gets pretty damn close. Expand
4 of 10 users found this helpful46
All this user's reviews
7
GinaKJul 31, 2019
An interesting film with a great cast and one major fault – it is too long, regardless of how appealing the actors are. Many with far less screen time (for example, Margo Robbie) were far more interesting to watch. And this wasn’t a fairyAn interesting film with a great cast and one major fault – it is too long, regardless of how appealing the actors are. Many with far less screen time (for example, Margo Robbie) were far more interesting to watch. And this wasn’t a fairy tale (“once upon a time”) and doesn’t even really qualify as a tragedy, a least in the classic sense. Things just happened. By mixing fiction and reality, Tarantino made me expect something more insightful instead of simply a re-telling of real events with exceptionally good actors. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
stevegroundhogAug 1, 2019
Awesome plot, awesome dialogue! Love the way Tarantino showed us the way hollywood was and should be. Side note, that's the way most hippies should go. ;)
2 of 7 users found this helpful25
All this user's reviews
1
RodMagnusonJul 30, 2019
Sets that transport the audience back in time. ++
An interesting buddy relationship. +
Long periods where not much is happening. -- A little ultra violence. -- I can't think of anyone I would recommend this movie to. I was bamboozled into
Sets that transport the audience back in time. ++
An interesting buddy relationship. +
Long periods where not much is happening. --
A little ultra violence. --

I can't think of anyone I would recommend this movie to. I was bamboozled into seeing it myself. I've learned my lesson, I don't like Tarantino films.
Expand
12 of 17 users found this helpful125
All this user's reviews
6
SergeantSozJul 30, 2019
I’m a big fan of Tarantino but this one was just okay. It ranks towards the bottom of his portfolio but since this is about Hollywood, Hollywood critics will eat that sh** up. Same as La La Land. Usually the user scores are higher than theI’m a big fan of Tarantino but this one was just okay. It ranks towards the bottom of his portfolio but since this is about Hollywood, Hollywood critics will eat that sh** up. Same as La La Land. Usually the user scores are higher than the critic rating but this time it’s the opposite and that says something. I went in expecting more I guess. It just didn’t seem to have any story at all and no development or explanation of anything, just about 3 hours of nostalgia trip. People who lived in that era will probably love this film more than I did but at the end I was like - that’s it? It’s a well-made, well acted movie but most Tarantino films have amazing dialogue scenes that this film lacked. It was mostly just montages of old 60s style movies and TV shows. Overall it was funny and the cast was terrific. I’d recommend seeing it but it won’t blow your mind or anything. it’s Expand
5 of 8 users found this helpful53
All this user's reviews
0
raporgiJul 27, 2019
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. foook the shill reviews. this movie is a complete waste of time.its plotless drivel capped by some violence at the end. QT needs to stfu and retire.

Leo beeches about his lame career while Brad Pitt kicks Bruce Lee's ass and tries to talk to an old man. It ends with them beating the crap out of some Manson minions. Margot Robbie just wanders around on screen with no real impact on the movie. Some fools will say this is about the cinematography and a bygone era in Hollywood, its not. Its about a self-important retard named Quentin Tarantino taking a shiitt in a pale and having hordes of his nerd club congregate on sites like this defending this fail of a movie. Dont be a member of the sheep. DId you really enjoy your time with this movie. DId it entertain you? Did it make you feel you got your money's worth? Or did you feel robbed and exploited by the Hollywood hype machine making this movie out to be the golden fleece?
Expand
13 of 26 users found this helpful1313
All this user's reviews
9
WestenderJul 30, 2019
I really enjoyed the film. definitely in his top 3 in my books. it has it all - laughs, drama, emotion, beautiful cinematography, suspense, and of course some gratuitous violence! no one else makes movies like this.
6 of 14 users found this helpful68
All this user's reviews
9
FranzHcriticJul 25, 2019
Usually I'm not into alternate timeline, revisionist history, but I can safely say, Tarantino does it best with his recipe of wit dialogue and a some Tarantino to give it an extra kick at the end of his violent yet entertaining meal. Brad andUsually I'm not into alternate timeline, revisionist history, but I can safely say, Tarantino does it best with his recipe of wit dialogue and a some Tarantino to give it an extra kick at the end of his violent yet entertaining meal. Brad and Leo are great as a dual lead, and even though I was born in the 90s, it makes me feel somehow nostalgic. It's better than 'Hateful Eight' 'Inglourious', and even 'Django'. To end it, Tarantino can still keep me enthralled and I hope this isn't his last movie. Expand
7 of 19 users found this helpful712
All this user's reviews
8
AndremaxAug 16, 2019
Tarantino's maturest movie ever. Don't you hope a lot of blood and comedy violence but a unusual and suggestive linetime, as always a lot of dialogue and ludicrous characters
0 of 5 users found this helpful05
All this user's reviews
9
marcmyworksAug 17, 2019
Once Upon a Time... truly is a love letter to Hollywood. The film is a slow burn and look at the life of a once famous actor as he finds his career falling apart, he also just happens to be the nextdoor neighbour to Roman Polanski and hisOnce Upon a Time... truly is a love letter to Hollywood. The film is a slow burn and look at the life of a once famous actor as he finds his career falling apart, he also just happens to be the nextdoor neighbour to Roman Polanski and his wife (soon-to-be murder victim) Sharon Tate. Though the film takes a while to get going, it's worth the wait. Tarantino does it once again. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
9
moviemitch96Jul 27, 2019
I'm such an unabashed, die hard Quentin Tarantino fan! As far as I'm concerned, the man's a genius and has never made a single bad film! Every new film of his is like Christmas for me, as I always eagerly await to see what he has in store forI'm such an unabashed, die hard Quentin Tarantino fan! As far as I'm concerned, the man's a genius and has never made a single bad film! Every new film of his is like Christmas for me, as I always eagerly await to see what he has in store for us next with each new film, as his style is just so unique and in-your-face. So you can probably imagine my excitement when I found out that his next film would be set during the golden age of Hollywood during the time of Sharon Tate and Charles Manson, star an amazing ensemble cast headlined by Leonardo DiCaprio and Brad Pitt, and would pay homage to films and Hollywood in general. That's pretty much all of my favorite things wrapped up in one spectacular package! And I'm more than happy to report that it did not disappoint and delivers on virtually every front! Granted, those familiar with Tarantino's style are probably aware of how ultraviolent his films are throughout, so it was a little surprising to see most of the action and gore in the film's final half-hour or so, but he more than makes up for this with an excellent screenplay and dialogue that's come to be expected from him, along with a colorful array of witty characters and moments throughout. DiCaprio and Pitt, two of Hollywood's biggest stars, are paired together perfectly and work off each other hilariously throughout the entire film! I only wish Sharon Tate (played beautifully by Margot Robbie) could've been utilized a little more in the film. Overall, Tarantino may have pumped the brakes a little more on the action and violence for this film, but when the violence finally does kick in in the last half-hour, for me it was well worth it! And like I said before, the always-entertaining characters and dialogue, along with plenty of love nods to other Hollywood films, actors, and icons made it such an enjoyable watch! Expand
4 of 12 users found this helpful48
All this user's reviews
10
corwin84Aug 11, 2019
Great movie! Enjoyed it A LOT! Tarantino is back. Those complaining about boring movie with little action, go to hell and watch some action superhero-marvel-crap. Tarantino is about great dialogues, atmosphere, attention to details.Great movie! Enjoyed it A LOT! Tarantino is back. Those complaining about boring movie with little action, go to hell and watch some action superhero-marvel-crap. Tarantino is about great dialogues, atmosphere, attention to details. Unfortunately not many people understand the genius. Quentin, you are great! Very nice movie. Expand
4 of 9 users found this helpful45
All this user's reviews
8
bfoore90Jul 28, 2019
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Quentin Tarantino tells an interesting fairy tale here with Once Upon A Time In...H-Wood. Brad Pitt and Leonardo DiCaprio are incredible in this, Brad Pitt puts out one of his best performances in a long time in this. Margot Robbie is great but shes kinda just, in the background as Sharon Tate and not really as important to the story as you would think. The film can kinda feel like it can drag a bit as it's heavy on Tarantino's quibby dialogue but the second half is extremely well done. With the ending, obviously Tarantino has twisted history in the past films like Inglorious Bastards and Hitler being assassinated in a movie theater. So Tarantino's adaption of the Manson murders, I feel gives Tate almost an ending she deserved instead of the tragically horrifying one she got. Expand
3 of 9 users found this helpful36
All this user's reviews
8
brohugAug 10, 2019
...and they all lived happily ever. Tarantino's ode to the 1969 Los Angeles of his youth is an alternate history that pretty much everyone can get behind. The end of Sixties innocence is pushed back into a time machine that meanders through...and they all lived happily ever. Tarantino's ode to the 1969 Los Angeles of his youth is an alternate history that pretty much everyone can get behind. The end of Sixties innocence is pushed back into a time machine that meanders through the streets and studio sets of Hollywood, as network television is depicted as a boon and a threat at the same time to the working actor. Some of the scenes are almost excruciatingly long but like Wes and PT Anderson, best just to trust the process.

Pitt and DiCaprio are terrific, but Margot Robbie steals the show without much dialogue. Her Sharon Tate is kind of perfect. A sub-par but beautiful actress who is a beam of light that wants nothing but happiness for herself, Roman, Jay, and her unborn child.

The violence at the climax is satisfying, but upon reflection also deeply troubling. We are voyeurs to an outcome opposite to what history has told us. And yet we are still savagely rooting for payback that never was or will be ever realized.

It's been years since I read "Helter Skelter", one of the great non-fiction crime novels of all time. It was challenging while watching the film trying to recall some of the true details of the book, as Tarantino gleefully tip-toed the historical line right up to the end.
Expand
1 of 6 users found this helpful15
All this user's reviews
3
CriticonAug 4, 2019
Boring as hell. The only reason you keep watching this movie is on the hopes it will pull a full 180 at some pount. When it does, it feels completely out of place. I wish I could get my money back. This movie sucks!
8 of 12 users found this helpful84
All this user's reviews
9
Meth-dudeJul 27, 2019
Tarantino's talent for screenwriting really shines in this masterfully crafted movie. Supported by an impressive cast and excellent acting performances, an interesting story, great cinematography and a satisfyingly Tarantino-esque ending,Tarantino's talent for screenwriting really shines in this masterfully crafted movie. Supported by an impressive cast and excellent acting performances, an interesting story, great cinematography and a satisfyingly Tarantino-esque ending, this is a movie not to miss. Expand
4 of 12 users found this helpful48
All this user's reviews
7
TakoxAug 16, 2019
Movie that screams Tarantino on all four sides, is a good summary of all his filmography, including the best and the worst of it. The characters are very well built, evolve and relate very well to each other. It has some loose ends, such asMovie that screams Tarantino on all four sides, is a good summary of all his filmography, including the best and the worst of it. The characters are very well built, evolve and relate very well to each other. It has some loose ends, such as the character of Margot Robbie who does not contribute much to the film unfortunately. The final scene is INSANE. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
pablo_delReyAug 5, 2019
I love it. Just perfect.
2 of 7 users found this helpful25
All this user's reviews
5
AxeTAug 14, 2019
Typical obscenely over-rated by the jackass critics herd, this is the third less than good movie in a row from Quentin Tarantino. Oh he was a genius no question and that brilliance showed brightly in masterpieces like "Pulp Fiction" andTypical obscenely over-rated by the jackass critics herd, this is the third less than good movie in a row from Quentin Tarantino. Oh he was a genius no question and that brilliance showed brightly in masterpieces like "Pulp Fiction" and "Inglorious Basterds", but this is an example of the quirk, period kitsch, and style over story craft trend exhibited every time out by hacks like PT Anderson, Wes Anderson and their like while this auteur was always well above in his cinematic narrative prowess... was that is. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
10
VillaJul 27, 2019
Really good movie. Not sure what these negatives reviews are talking about at all. Everyone did great in this movie and the story was really interesting. I’m glad they gave a tribute to Sharon Tate. I guess everyone hates Tarantino becauseReally good movie. Not sure what these negatives reviews are talking about at all. Everyone did great in this movie and the story was really interesting. I’m glad they gave a tribute to Sharon Tate. I guess everyone hates Tarantino because he’s different. Expand
8 of 20 users found this helpful812
All this user's reviews
6
SSRAug 14, 2019
Great production and performances, but a rambling story and disjointed ending. You've also got to question whether the ending is offensive to those killed in the Manson Family murders, although patently it's all supposed to be a Hollywood fairy tale.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
LatinCritic13Jul 25, 2019
Once Upon a Time in Hollywood is probably one of those films that you need to see once in a lifetime. And Quentin Tarantino sure knows how to send a love letter properly to the golden age of Hollywood that blends humor and mystery in anOnce Upon a Time in Hollywood is probably one of those films that you need to see once in a lifetime. And Quentin Tarantino sure knows how to send a love letter properly to the golden age of Hollywood that blends humor and mystery in an all-in-one starstudded package. Most people won't buy it, but there is something truly spectacular about it in terms of art and history behind this film. And yes, Leonardo DiCaprio and Brad Pitt were a fantastic acting duo in this QT directed flick and so are the main and supporting A2B-listers. I recommend seeing this twice or in 35mm/70mm at your local Alamo Drafthouse Cinema if you're lucky enough. Ain't gonna lie, but this is one of those movies that will get you talking for a while. Expand
9 of 23 users found this helpful914
All this user's reviews
10
Leonando_souzaAug 17, 2019
It's such a wonderfull movie, that made me realize all the craziest things about a downgrade for an actor who thinks that he was born to conquer the world, DiCaprio made an awesome job
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
superfieldsJul 27, 2019
Tarantino’s masterpiece! His best work in a long time. Pitt and Leonardo are dynamite and Margot Robbie gives a small but memorable performance.
4 of 12 users found this helpful48
All this user's reviews
9
MLRJul 27, 2019
This is an amazing movie, with lovingly drawn characters with intricate back stories, the actor selection is amazing-- a dead ringer for Steve McQueen, Charles Manson, Squeaky Fromm, Tex, the whole Manson family. No expense spared recreatingThis is an amazing movie, with lovingly drawn characters with intricate back stories, the actor selection is amazing-- a dead ringer for Steve McQueen, Charles Manson, Squeaky Fromm, Tex, the whole Manson family. No expense spared recreating Hollywood 1969. Loving details--you could watch it 100 times and catch new details each time. Yes, I saw Samuel L. Jackson playing cards in the corner of the saloon. Expand
7 of 18 users found this helpful711
All this user's reviews
10
albethosJul 29, 2019
Tied with "Reservoir Dogs" as the second best movie Tarantino has ever made.
A masterpiece and the best movie of the year so far. Oscars right now for Pitt and Robbie, please?
3 of 8 users found this helpful35
All this user's reviews
8
ImaginaryCriticJul 28, 2019
One thing for sure is, this is no Pulp Fiction or Django but its still a memorable Tarantino film. I felt like there was a little drag and really slow at points but hey its always worth it at the end.
3 of 8 users found this helpful35
All this user's reviews
7
dafragstaAug 4, 2019
I am a huge Tarantino fan and I don't begrudge him for trying to make a movie that doesn't take you for a non-stop rollercoaster ride like Django, Kill Bill, or Hateful Eight and does try to subvert your expectations a bit. That said, this isI am a huge Tarantino fan and I don't begrudge him for trying to make a movie that doesn't take you for a non-stop rollercoaster ride like Django, Kill Bill, or Hateful Eight and does try to subvert your expectations a bit. That said, this is probably heavier on the character development and lighter on the actual typical story arch, but this movie seemed to lack the signature cool vibes of a Tarantino movie while having pretty much all the coolest people in Hollywood, set in one of the coolest points in history, with a pretty typical cool Tarantino soundtrack.

What I mean is that there aren't as many immediately catchy bits of dialog you commit to memory and become part of your vernacular. There also doesn't seem to be as tight of a story as there usually is in a Tarantino movie. This is more like Tarantino's Inherent Vice or Slacker. Both are good movies that just never really settle into a groove that feels like it fits on a subconscious level. It feels like the events of a few days followed by a few montages to pass the time of 6 months in the middle and you always feel like you're at the beginning of a story that doesn't quite go where you think it will or really pull you in. It's almost like Tarantino deliberately tried to subvert your expectations but doesn't replace them with something better. They just get replaced with something.

Visually, it's spot on. All the classic cars, the crazy driving away from Rick Dalton and Roman Polanski's house, down the switchback road with the hairpin turn. The downtown Hollywood scenes, the look of the mock TV shows, all of the visual aspects of the movie are perfect. That said, I think this is like Jackie Brown in standing alone as a slightly different feeling Tarantino movie. It's not as dry as Jackie Brown, but it feels more sedated in the ways that Jackie Brown does. It seems to explore themes of getting older in the ways Jackie Brown does. The violence, while definitely there, seems a little more turned down throughout the movie like it is in Jackie Brown.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
TrillcosbeyAug 2, 2019
Original content, Original content, Original content, This film is a lackadaisical trip though a fantasy world about a major fulcrum point in Hollywood and Los Angeles that was a loss of innocence that was needed to grow up and face realityOriginal content, Original content, Original content, This film is a lackadaisical trip though a fantasy world about a major fulcrum point in Hollywood and Los Angeles that was a loss of innocence that was needed to grow up and face reality but also plays this all out in a buddy film. Expand
2 of 7 users found this helpful25
All this user's reviews
4
shoulderoforionAug 3, 2019
Not what I expect from a Tarantino flick, but after the awful and drawn out Hateful Eight I don't know why I have any expectations any longer, anyways. OUATH is mostly boring, it's beautiful for sure, the detail of 60's LA painstakinglyNot what I expect from a Tarantino flick, but after the awful and drawn out Hateful Eight I don't know why I have any expectations any longer, anyways. OUATH is mostly boring, it's beautiful for sure, the detail of 60's LA painstakingly brought back to life, minutia of the television/film studio system explained for anyone who came to a QT film for that, but the action is limited to two very quick scenes and as a whole the movie is mostly a let down. Lot's of atmosphere, very little story. Make critics cream themselves, but for fans of Tarantino rough and tumble, grit and action, there's no there, here. Expand
5 of 6 users found this helpful51
All this user's reviews
5
juzzleAug 17, 2019
Easily Tarantino's worst movie, even considering Grindhouse. Boring, mistimed, askward, pointless and uninspired. Not a patch on Inglorious, Django or Pulp Fiction.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
3
MADRICKY97Aug 9, 2019
Worst movie from Q.T., 2 hours and 15 minutes of nothing, then 15 minutes of Q.T. usual gore action ending ...... that s it !!! 3/10 and i m realy gentle!!! Noting to see or do with his other movies!!! Realy disapointed !!!
5 of 8 users found this helpful53
All this user's reviews
10
deansargeAug 14, 2019
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Have just seen this movie and can’t recommend enough! A brilliant cast that absolutely nail this, and the most satisfying ending to a film I’ve seen for years! Bravo 10/10... Expand
1 of 6 users found this helpful15
All this user's reviews
4
yosemiteAug 1, 2019
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Lets try to compare the classic Pulp Fiction to this film. QT follows a lose formula. To begin, all the actors in this movie are good. In Pulp , much of the story revolved around Vince Vega and Jules. In this one, Rick and Cliff are the principles. Loose comparison between Sharon Tate and Mia in Pulp but he gave Uma's character much better lines. Robby looks like Tate but thats where it ends. The Manson family sort of a collection of Marcellus Wallace parts. Bad guys but interesting and then of course, Tarantino's famous cameo roles. With Bruce Willis' Butch, Christopher Walken, Harvey Kietel, Eric Stolze, he hit the mother lode. Pacino, Damian Lewis , Bruce Dern, Kurt Russell's characters not even close. In conclusion. I think he got lucky with Pulp Fiction. Its a top 50 all time movie. One upon a Time in Hollywood is a mess and more indicative of Tarantino's true talent as a director. I alway like DiCaprio but in the this film, I thought Brad stole the show Expand
6 of 9 users found this helpful63
All this user's reviews
4
brettplankJul 26, 2019
Boring, pretentious, filled with worthless subplots, lacking in character, plot, and arc. Nothing about this speaks "accomplished director." Pulp Fiction seems to have been a one-hit-wonder for Tarantino as he hasn't put out a film of thatBoring, pretentious, filled with worthless subplots, lacking in character, plot, and arc. Nothing about this speaks "accomplished director." Pulp Fiction seems to have been a one-hit-wonder for Tarantino as he hasn't put out a film of that caliber since. Overrated director. Expand
17 of 30 users found this helpful1713
All this user's reviews
9
FelicityFenwickJul 26, 2019
Loved the film. I'm sure you've read a million reviews, and I don't want to spoil the story, so I'll just say that Julia Butters, the 8-year-old actor almost steals the show. What a breath of fresh air in a film that's dropping withLoved the film. I'm sure you've read a million reviews, and I don't want to spoil the story, so I'll just say that Julia Butters, the 8-year-old actor almost steals the show. What a breath of fresh air in a film that's dropping with testosterone and machismo. I'm hoping for big things in the future for that ACTOR. Expand
10 of 25 users found this helpful1015
All this user's reviews
9
duckhostAug 16, 2019
God how I love this movie, it's like a love letter to Hollywood and it's SO GOOOOOOOD. My only problem is that the second act drags a little bit and sometimes the story is let loose and some characters are pointless in the story (examplesGod how I love this movie, it's like a love letter to Hollywood and it's SO GOOOOOOOD. My only problem is that the second act drags a little bit and sometimes the story is let loose and some characters are pointless in the story (examples being Al Pacino) but when the movie picks up again you feel hooked. As a nostalgic one of a kind movie, it excels on deliverance, this won't be for everyone and most of all if you don't like dialogue-heavy movies this isn't for you but I loved it. Expand
1 of 5 users found this helpful14
All this user's reviews
10
The3AcademySinsJul 29, 2019
Once Upon is one of the most layered and memorable movies I have seen in 2019. It's easily the best film of the summer, and I want to go see it again to see what things I missed or will view differently. This is a hypnotic, nostalgic, andOnce Upon is one of the most layered and memorable movies I have seen in 2019. It's easily the best film of the summer, and I want to go see it again to see what things I missed or will view differently. This is a hypnotic, nostalgic, and surprisingly accurate love letter to the Golden Age of Hollywood. Setting the movie during the death of the Golden Age only heightens the themes presented by the script.

When speaking of scripts, I mean, this is a masterpiece. A lot of people have been saying this is Quentin Tarantino's take on The Big Lebowski, and in a sense, that's true. It's the story of a stuntman, a starlet, and a has-been, set against a backdrop of larger things, more complex things, such as the Vietnam War and the Manson Family. Really, the characters are self absorbed with their own trials and tribulations, and this film is a character study to it's core. The way the story uses the stages of a stuntman, starlet, and has-been to examine life as an artist is complex and compelling.

Visually, the movie looks beautiful. I was spoiled, as I saw a 70mm screening, but the way colors and light and texture interact is just mesmerizing. All in all, I have nothing other to say than Quentin Tarantino did it again. Watching movies made by a man who loves movies is such a treat. I can't wait to rewatch this one.
Expand
4 of 12 users found this helpful48
All this user's reviews
10
msl555Jul 26, 2019
Quentin is back with a masterpiece. I almost gave up hope after his last few films. I'm going to go back for a second viewing, but this may be his best all round film. The Pitt & Dicaprio relationship was oscar worthy.
10 of 24 users found this helpful1014
All this user's reviews
8
Trineo99Jul 30, 2019
First of all, I will say that the story is an interesting one but Quentin Tarantino told it in a confusing way. What I mean by that is that the movie was all over the place until it finally got its grounding in the middle. Until the middle,First of all, I will say that the story is an interesting one but Quentin Tarantino told it in a confusing way. What I mean by that is that the movie was all over the place until it finally got its grounding in the middle. Until the middle, the movie would cut away to tell a different story at random points instead of just finishing that one person’s story and then transitioning to the next. Because of this the film to me just felt a bit choppy and all over the place. This movie is two-hours and forty-one-minutes long and I feel like it could have been cut down. Some scenes just felt like they dragged on for far too long and there were so many perfect spots for the movie to end but it just kept dragging on and the ending we got comes out of nowhere and doesn’t fit the rest of the film so it should have just been removed. The acting in this film though was great. Leonardo DiCaprio and Brad Pitt easily came off as friends and this seems like such a minor thing but really, it’s a major thing. Sometimes actors can’t act like friends who have known each other but they came across as people who have worked together for years. Now, I’m not the biggest Leonardo Dicaprio fan but this film made me slowly start to appreciate his acting a bit more. For me, he was the stand out in this film because he could easily do both serious and funny scenes. Brad Pitt and Margot Robbie, who play Sharon Tate, also did great jobs. The soundtrack to this film was filled with great songs from that decade. In the end, this film is defiantly for people who are Quentin Tarantino fans or just want to relive the glory days of older Hollywood. Expand
4 of 10 users found this helpful46
All this user's reviews
10
jtmetacriticAug 18, 2019
My actual rating is an 8.5, but giving a 10 to offset the absurd 0's out there. This is a slow movie until the final 15 minutes, which are insane. Though slow, the acting and character development are phenomenal. The soundtrack is excellentMy actual rating is an 8.5, but giving a 10 to offset the absurd 0's out there. This is a slow movie until the final 15 minutes, which are insane. Though slow, the acting and character development are phenomenal. The soundtrack is excellent and the shots of 1960's Hollywood are wonderful to look at. There are many moments that will make you laugh very hard. The pay off at the end makes it all worth it. I would recommend reading about the death of Sharon Tate before watching this. Otherwise, the movie could be very confusing. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
WinstonRLiJul 25, 2019
Would not call “Once Upon” thrilling or deep or for else sakes, anything. Felt like this film’s beyond that. It’s essentially a boiled down novella. Ignore the “self indulgence” comments. Watch it once, watch it twice and it’s still an indieWould not call “Once Upon” thrilling or deep or for else sakes, anything. Felt like this film’s beyond that. It’s essentially a boiled down novella. Ignore the “self indulgence” comments. Watch it once, watch it twice and it’s still an indie film at heart.
Being more Cohen than a Cohen film it’s one of those you either recall from time to time or completely forget about; if it happens to be the later, it only gets better every you come back and think about it.
2nd Time Watching: This film should be a masterclass on Tension Building. The Last 20 mins guarantees pure satisfaction.
Expand
9 of 24 users found this helpful915
All this user's reviews
7
TrevorsViewAug 1, 2019
Years ago, a video rental store worker decided from hours of watching VHS tapes that he wanted to build upon those old movies using his own original movies. Eventually, he wrote and directed a freshman hit, Reservoir Dogs… then two yearsYears ago, a video rental store worker decided from hours of watching VHS tapes that he wanted to build upon those old movies using his own original movies. Eventually, he wrote and directed a freshman hit, Reservoir Dogs… then two years later, his tribute to older cinema trends, Pulp Fiction, struck Oscar gold. Now, Quentin Tarantino’s tenth feature film celebrates the new using old fashioned cowboys and gunfire; it’s… Once Upon a Time… in Hollywood.

First off, Leonardo DiCaprio nails it as a famous TV star who may soon hit dusk point, his tears that stutter between a rough, tough speech could help him achieve a second Oscar win come February! Women in the audience will particularly love Margot Robbie’s portrayal of Sharon Tate, especially when she gets jiggy while listening to her movie’s soundtrack before the mezzanine lights go out. Robbie is just one of the expert actors here who knows how to tell a story through the eyes! Beautiful, loud fashions also explode in a whole party right beside Playboy Mansion’s waterfall pool as the slutty hippies outside are seen hitchhiking on the street! Wow! What a recreation of 1969!

Although here, Tarantino’s biggest filmography problem blares louder than ever before: the movie is too long for its own good. It doesn’t help that the otherwise masterful screenplay must juggle three different subplots. One revolves around the protagonist’s Western TV show, one revolves around his stunt double, and one revolves around Sharon Tate watching herself onscreen. Too many minutes pass between these stories to care, and too much of it goes to the least interesting one of all: that of the stunt double. Continuing the immoral behavior that drags this movie down, there is included for no real reason a presumedly mandatory shot of Brad Pitt shirtless, which disrupts the tone established a couple scenes before by the wonderful usage of the song, “Mrs. Robinson.”

Yet this movie gets some critical concepts about actors correct, including the fact that actors should stop accepting roles to merely sustain their public images. It happens all the time today: Brie Larson undid her talent by playing Captain Marvel, and Michael Keaton did likewise with his fake Dumbo accent. This screenplay’s interweaving stories about stories remind the filmmaking industry that fame is unimportant, but rather- what message to communicate to followers is what’s important. Right now, such humans are being turned into ads with the power of Photoshop, autotuning, and million-dollar makeup jobs to draw followers onto their pedestal.

That reality of the acting business is made transparent by the presence of a young girl who behaves with the professionalism of an adult, while an eighteen-year-old hippie kicks a couple of bare dirty feet all around like a child does. It’s not Kim Kardashian who deserves respect for letting her face get plastered onto every ad, billboard, and magazine cover in sight, but these background actresses who play the hippies in this movie, as they clearly worked well together! Actors such as these really know how to bring out their vulnerability to total strangers!

In creative efforts to help these actors do so well, Quentin Tarantino possesses an incredible superpower behind his typewriter… each word written has many layers of depth to express his colorful characters. Each one is realistic yet an exaggerated stereotype, while their conversations sound natural yet require multiple viewings to appreciate. As for the way he crafts violence, it’s approached a little different here, the borderline NC-17 content remains held back until the climax. Then the satisfying bloodbaths hit in overtly insane ways with the promised shock value, landing on the perfect ending note to complete the film’s perfect starting note.

That’s the cunning power of Quentin Tarantino’s works: At first viewing, you may think, “Ugh, enough talking, I just want to watch these foul-mouthed losers get their heads blown off!” Then from the long runtime, all you remember is one or two graphic moments, which compels a desire for watch-round number two. But then, you somehow end up watching not for a Texan who carves a swastika onto a Nazi’s forehead, you instead watch for the detail present in the lengthy conversations… you would never guess that Jews and Germans have different ways to hold up three fingers! Case in point, the more frequently I watched Pulp Fiction, the more I could let go of any shock value from its foul content, and the more I caught on to its deeper themes about dangerous pop culture pride, and even took it a step further by writing a blog entry about how it aligns to Christianity.

That same type of energy enlightens Once Upon a Time… in Hollywood.
Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
8
MetaflixJul 29, 2019
We’re not going to lie: Quentin Tarantino’s ninth film, ‘Once Upon a Time … in Hollywood’ is not an easy film to review. There are plenty of good, bad, and indifferent parts of the movie to touch on, all further complicated by the fact thatWe’re not going to lie: Quentin Tarantino’s ninth film, ‘Once Upon a Time … in Hollywood’ is not an easy film to review. There are plenty of good, bad, and indifferent parts of the movie to touch on, all further complicated by the fact that the bar for any Tarantino picture is already incredibly high—perhaps unfairly so.

What do we mean by that last part? Well, overall the film has been received quite positively by film critics, though Tarantino acolytes seem to be a little more tepid about it. But what if this film weren’t written and directed by Tarantino, and instead was made by a lesser-known entity? Would it be considered a masterful piece of filmmaking, a breakout success largely unparalleled by anything else released so far this year? There’s no actual answer to this. We simply wonder …

Meanwhile, let’s start with the bad stuff. The middle of the film is somewhat meandering, meaning this is the third film in a row that Tarantino could’ve trimmed some fat to make the movie that much more invigorating. And what do his three most recent movies all have in common? The absence of Tarantino’s long-time editor, Sally Menke, who tragically died at the age of 56 while hiking in Beachwood Canyon during a heat wave.

Furthermore, a key component of Tarantino’s movies is the way he incorporates music into the film, choosing the perfect song to complement what is seen on the screen. Our biggest gripe with ‘Once Upon a Time … in Hollywood’ is that the songs were often abruptly cut short, never being allowed to fully play out and truly meld with the action unfolding on screen.

On the positive side, the film is about 90% less violent than a typical Tarantino flick, meaning it’ll be a lot more accessible to moviegoers who previously avoided the filmmaker due to his penchant for frequently utilizing gory deaths. This makes the film closer to ‘Jackie Brown’ in both substance and style than most of his other works.

Lastly, ‘Once Upon a Time … in Hollywood’ proves once and for all that Leonardo DiCaprio is among the finest and most talented actors of his generation. He is downright captivating in every single scene. And considering he is an actor playing an actor—one of the hardest roles there is to pull off in Hollywood—it makes his performance that much more extraordinary.
Expand
2 of 7 users found this helpful25
All this user's reviews
9
BibliographerJul 28, 2019
One of the best films of the year and of Tarantino's career. This is a valentine to Hollywood, to the western genre and to the power of storytelling. There’s a lot to disagree with, even while appreciating the viewpoint, and digging theOne of the best films of the year and of Tarantino's career. This is a valentine to Hollywood, to the western genre and to the power of storytelling. There’s a lot to disagree with, even while appreciating the viewpoint, and digging the layers. It’s a movie about movies, westerns, Hollywood, fairy tales, and America. Expand
4 of 12 users found this helpful48
All this user's reviews
10
Davrosdaleks1Jul 27, 2019
Tarantino's done it again with a highly entertaining movie.

Once Upon a Time... in Hollywood is a complete ode to sixties films and television, jammed full of nostalgia. The movie looks great, both colored and shot to evoke the era. Costume
Tarantino's done it again with a highly entertaining movie.

Once Upon a Time... in Hollywood is a complete ode to sixties films and television, jammed full of nostalgia. The movie looks great, both colored and shot to evoke the era. Costume and setting is strongly nostalgic.

Yet again Tarantino shows a true mastery of film with inspired editing, music and camera work.

This is the closest the director has gotten to a pure comedy with some strongly crafted bits and dialogue. With his emphasis on more intense action-oriented films these past few years, it's nice to see him returning to a more let's-have-fun-with-this tone that he had in Pulp Fiction and his segment in the anthology film Four Rooms. (That short contribution is tragically underexposed. You should really see it if you get the chance.) As with most Tarantino films, he does a great job of catching you off-guard at moments with the plot.

Needless to say that Leonardo DiCaprio and Brad Pitt are great actors, but they really knock it of the park here with the former as a comically over-the-top insecure actor and the latter as his cool, confident stunt man/chauffer/go-for/friend.

As had been his habit for some of his films, Tarantino succeeds despite his more questionable impulses. This includes but is not limited to frequent use of the b-word in regard to Hispanic Americans, the controversial use of Sharon Tate (Margot Robbie), Jay Sebring (Emile Hirsch), the Manson family, and Roman Polanski (Rafal Zawierucha). (Yeah, Polanski isn't in this or say that much, and his infamous crime doesn't factor into this, but it's hard not to think about it when he's mentioned. It doesn't help that Tarantino has defended him in the past. Yeah, Tarantino recently apologized, but you can't help wondering if he was sincere or did it for self-preservation due to the MeToo movement.)

Running at two hours and forty-one minutes, the second act is longer than it needs to be. A lot of the Sharon Tate scenes don't really add anything and I kind of felt that the role was so light that it wasn't worth an actress of Robbie's caliber.

This movie is an open range for Tarantino to spread his knowledge of film and television history. Some of it is rather interesting, but there is just so much that it feels self-indulgent and awkward.

Yeah, if you're not a fan of Tarantino and thinks he goes too far, I don't think this'll change your mind. For everyone else: I personally think this is one of his top five pictures
Expand
4 of 13 users found this helpful49
All this user's reviews
3
AkselisAug 10, 2019
Переоцененная куча голливудских отходов со ставкой на большие имена на постере. Мне одному показалось что сюжета здесь нет? Это фильм с актерами из голливуда про актеров из голливуда со всеми затертыми голливудские клеше и образами крутыхПереоцененная куча голливудских отходов со ставкой на большие имена на постере. Мне одному показалось что сюжета здесь нет? Это фильм с актерами из голливуда про актеров из голливуда со всеми затертыми голливудские клеше и образами крутых парней с сигаретами и пивом от которых уже тошнит. Говоря о юморе это дело конечно субьективное, но "высмеивание" это самый убогий и низкий способ заставить человека рассмеятся, не секрет что люди любят показывать на кого то пальцем и такой юмор проще переносится стадным зрителем но я думаю что сцена с Брюсом Ли была неуместной и оскорбительной. За 240 минут скучного описания повседневной жизни героев, которое до тошноты описывает каждую мелочь я понял что мне интереснее смотреть на потолок чем на фильм. Когда самое интересное в фильме это 10 минут бессмысленной жестокости в конце, то это плохой знак. У меня нет притензий к актерам, но думаю они там только из за громкого имени ибо фильм обязан был завлечь массу на которую жадно таргетируется Тарантино. Да и отыграть в кино роль актера в кино и крутого каскадера с сигаретой слишком концептуально и мало кто бы не справился с такой ролью. Фанаты Тарантино могут плевать в меня желчью и говорить, что они понимают в кинематографе больше меня, но так же есть люди которые считают что понимают в стиле лучше других, нося помойные мешки Гоши Рубчинского, я хочу сказать что всем хочется быть важнее, чем они есть. Поэтому говорите что угодно, но я оцениваю фильм с точки зрения обычного зрителя и считаю что он крайне переоценен. Все чаще замечаю, что любой фильм с популярным продакшеном или актерами внушает своего рода страх в людях, которые боятся критиковать его что бы не получить осуждение стада фанатов. Не бойтесь выражать свое мнение если сочли фильм плохим и не важно кто над ним работал. А другой половине хочу сказать, что не нужно строить из себя знатока кинематографа ссылаясь только на авторитет знаменитостей и слепо защищать их деятельность. Expand
5 of 8 users found this helpful53
All this user's reviews
9
fifi3Jul 28, 2019
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This movie was a little slow, but the cinematography was awesome. The acting was brilliant. And the final 30 minutes were just absolutely hilarious. There was such a weird mix of emotion seeing all these characters oblivious to deranged psychopaths coming in while they happily listened to music or took acid and walked their dog. It's definitely a must-watch because of the roller coaster, and is a great addition to QT's legendary filmography. Expand
3 of 8 users found this helpful35
All this user's reviews
9
JPKAug 1, 2019
Very Entertaining
Once Upon A Time In Hollywood is terrifically acted, well written, and hilarious.
2 of 7 users found this helpful25
All this user's reviews
5
DrBlahBlahJul 30, 2019
What an indulgent, ridiculous, boring mess. Is it just me, or has each Tarantino film since Pulp Fiction been worse than the last?
6 of 10 users found this helpful64
All this user's reviews
2
NrthGeorgiaMikeAug 3, 2019
I'm just shocked that a QT movie could move so SLOW. I couldn't tell where this movie was headed for most of it, and I'm still not sure what the real plot line actually was. My advice to anyone considering a watch is to pay attention to theI'm just shocked that a QT movie could move so SLOW. I couldn't tell where this movie was headed for most of it, and I'm still not sure what the real plot line actually was. My advice to anyone considering a watch is to pay attention to the negative reviews... and ignore all the 10 ratings from QT fanboys. I've truly enjoyed his other movies, PF, KB, RD, H8 and the rest- and really looked forward to this one. Except for the final 20 minute signature gore and "weirdness" action, this was a boring snoozefest. Pitt and Leo are very good actors (Robbie not so much, but nice to look at), but the "dog" ended up being the character I enjoyed most. >;-) Expand
7 of 10 users found this helpful73
All this user's reviews
7
eli_fjrAug 8, 2019
Kinda meh. Shot great but theres no meat to go with the potatoes really.
This could have been a Netflix original movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
fmulhareJul 28, 2019
This is a merry-go-round, pastiche tour of Hollywood in the late sixties with Tarantino's usual alternative history tacked on at the end.Despite all the bells and whistles it is ultimately like a boring museum tour. Plotless, characterlessThis is a merry-go-round, pastiche tour of Hollywood in the late sixties with Tarantino's usual alternative history tacked on at the end.Despite all the bells and whistles it is ultimately like a boring museum tour. Plotless, characterless and at times threatening to be endless you find yourself wondering when is the real movie going to start.The real star of the movie is the dog who becomes the prime agent of the alternative ending! Expand
11 of 15 users found this helpful114
All this user's reviews
2
wingnutzJul 29, 2019
I never thought I would say this about a QT film, but this movie was boring beyond belief. QT seems to occupy the position that Woody Allen held before he fell from Hollywood grace: stars want to be in his films to give themselves "artistI never thought I would say this about a QT film, but this movie was boring beyond belief. QT seems to occupy the position that Woody Allen held before he fell from Hollywood grace: stars want to be in his films to give themselves "artist cred". That can be the only explanation for why this roster of great actors/stars signed up for this non-event.

The worst part was how the dialog was curt and stiff. Until now, there was no better screenwriter in film than QT. Until now.

And poor Margot Robbie. She was left playing a vapid cookie cutter character with virtually nothing to add to the story except to be the historical prop of Sharon Tate.

My expectations were perhaps too high, but this was pablum. I cannot understand the critic reviews except to believe that they, like the actors, fall under QT's "artist director" spell.
Expand
12 of 17 users found this helpful125
All this user's reviews
8
mixoticJul 31, 2019
I really enjoyed this ride through 1969 Hollywood. This is a love letter to film and entertainment from a different era, with all the over acting and jump cuts one one would expect to see. I found myself laughing out loud many many times, andI really enjoyed this ride through 1969 Hollywood. This is a love letter to film and entertainment from a different era, with all the over acting and jump cuts one one would expect to see. I found myself laughing out loud many many times, and the acting is of course delightful. The buddy-buddy relationship between DiCaprio and Pitt is both adorable and heartbreaking. I found the pacing to be excellent for a movie that's 2:45 long (although I did need a quick bathroom break!). It's amazing how many quintessential Tarantino moments there are to take in, while not being over the top (dare I say absurd?) in the way that Django or Kill Bill are. An amazing look at a classic era in America, through a very specific lens. Expand
4 of 10 users found this helpful46
All this user's reviews
6
JLuis_001Jul 27, 2019
I can't deny it: I'm disappointed. I'm disappointed because beyond my personal expectations I think this is the first Quentin Tarantino film since Jackie Brown that leaves me feeling empty.
I say this for very simple reasons and it's that
I can't deny it: I'm disappointed. I'm disappointed because beyond my personal expectations I think this is the first Quentin Tarantino film since Jackie Brown that leaves me feeling empty.
I say this for very simple reasons and it's that Once Upon a Time in Hollywood is the most simplistic film of the director and it sounds strange to say that about him and his work but it's the truth, at least in my point of view.

I don't know what kind of film he tried to nail down. I don't know what he was trying to say. I don't know where he was pointing but obviously there isn't much to take in. Because if there's something that happens to this film, it's that its plot is practically non-existent and it's just events that are everywhere to try to make this stuff more cohesive.

I must make something very clear and that is that for this story both the Manson family and Sharon Tate are simply collateral elements to reach an end.
I don't know how somebody could try to justify it otherwise, but Margot Robbie is more than useless for the full development of this film. She's only an instrument to construct the conclusion of the narrative and I suppose that this is the reason why she ends up surviving in this story, because it would have been despicable to use her death as a plot resource.

Obviously the film is built on a fairly weak narrative base and there's no way to fix it. That's the way it's built and most of the time you don't know where things are going with either of the two main characters. Both the character of Brad Pitt and DiCaprio are only parts of their environment. They don't have a beginning and obviously they don't have an ending.
Both actors are excellent, I cannot deny that, they're two veteran connoisseurs of their work but their great performances don't justify the whole experience.
As much as I tried to find a meaning, there never was one. The succession of events only occurr to fill the gaps while the climax is being built and when you finally reach that ending, which is a total Tarantino ending, I couldn't help thinking that when it arrived it was already too late and sincerely, as I said in the beginning when that ending comes, the feeling of emptiness begins to make a dent in you.

Once Upon a Time in Hollywood it feels as if I had seen a fable without a moral, without direction and sadly kinda meaningless.
I understand that for many people this film represents a tribute from Tarantino to a completely disappeared era. That is a love letter to Hollywood. A love letter to his industry and I guess that is understandable to some extent, but sincerely analyzing the whole thing, I can't take a small thing out of my head, and is that if this is a love letter... well it's a love letter that pretty much says nothing at all.
Expand
3 of 7 users found this helpful34
All this user's reviews
5
SandyjaffeAug 1, 2019
Good reproduction of era, Brad Pitt is gorgeous otherwise shallow and boring. Not worth the time and money.
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
10
KevinChau5Jul 27, 2019
Saw this tonight!! Really AWESOME Film, First gotta say: Leonardo DiCaprio and Brad Pitt ACED This film! Best Dymantic Duo between DiCaprio and Pitt! This is a MUST SEE film of the year! 10/10!! You'll love this film! Highly Recommend this! 10/10
3 of 8 users found this helpful35
All this user's reviews
3
CaptainHowdyJul 25, 2019
Let's face it: Quentin Tarantino is just about spent. If this film had not been directed by a legend of cinema who has been making dazzling movies for almost three decades, no one would be as forgiving of two and a half hours of scene afterLet's face it: Quentin Tarantino is just about spent. If this film had not been directed by a legend of cinema who has been making dazzling movies for almost three decades, no one would be as forgiving of two and a half hours of scene after scene with nothing happening, conversation after conversation of weak, uninspired dialogue, and characters with no character arc.

The plot line does little more than shoehorn the Manson family into a film about being a has-been who can't create the magic that he used to, which aptly parallels Tarantino's career over the last few years. You almost wonder if he meant to write it that way, but it's hard to tell when it's bogged down with a million other little subplots that reveal nothing interesting and go nowhere.

People want to keep loving Tarantino, but without his name, this film would not be getting the score it has. Stop reviewing Pulp Fiction and review THIS film for what it is, not for what you imagined it would be before you walked into the movie theater. Had it been made by a first-time director, this bloated snoozefest would have ruined their career.

That said, I will add: Margot Robbie did a great job of capturing the ghost of Sharon Tate. And that dog was a really good dog.
Expand
14 of 38 users found this helpful1424
All this user's reviews
10
manningn15Jul 31, 2019
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The lead performances from Leonardo DiCaprio and Brad Pitt were phenomenal and hilarious. The supporting ensemble cast were stupendous especially Julia Butters, Dakota Fanning, Bruce Dern, Margaret Qualley, Austin Butler, Kurt Russell, Mike Moh, Margot Robbie, Al Pacino, Zoe Bell, Mikey Madison, Lorenza Izzo, Timothy Olyphant, and Luke Perry. The screenplay was remarkably well-written and hilarious. The costumes were outstanding especially the ones that Leonardo DiCaprio, Brad Pitt, Margot Robbie, and Julia Butters wore and all of the old west costumes. The hairstyling and makeup were excellent especially on Leonardo DiCaprio, Brad Pitt, Dakota Fanning, Margot Robbie, Austin Butler, Mike Moh, Timothy Olyphant, and Luke Perry. The cinematography was magnificent. I loved the 60s scenery it was terrific and I loved all of the sets they were all really cool looking. The fight scene at the end between Cliff Booth and Brandy against Tex, Susan, and Patricia was awesome. Once Upon A Time In... Hollywood is a A+ movie and is my 2nd favorite comedy of 2019, one of my top 5 favorite dramas of 2019, one of my favorite movies of 2019, and one of my favorite movies of all time. Expand
2 of 8 users found this helpful26
All this user's reviews
9
defdog99Jul 26, 2019
QT really is amazing. Every movie is so entirely different in plot, sets, and time periods yet so entirely the same at the DNA (talkies with some hyper violence). That’s QT style. He builds historically detailed intricate worlds that topQT really is amazing. Every movie is so entirely different in plot, sets, and time periods yet so entirely the same at the DNA (talkies with some hyper violence). That’s QT style. He builds historically detailed intricate worlds that top flight actors flock too to give performances of their careers. If you are the kind of person who only cares about story, "Once upon a time" might not be for you. QT likes to take a movie and mash it up with another genre. Take for instance Magnificent Eight is a western who-dun-it Canterbury tale. Inglorious Basturds is about WWII and the love of cinema. lol. "Once upon a time" is a fairy tale of living in 1960s california and the 1960s movie making business. It just so happens to also be about the Manson murders. Pitt and DiCaprio were amazing. I'm a fan of Margot Robbies performance -- its all visual. This movie felt like 1969! You can tell the actors loved being in this movie. PS: "Once upon a Time" in the title is part Sergio Leone spaghetti western and part Brothers Grimm w/ the twisted Manson ending. Expand
8 of 18 users found this helpful810
All this user's reviews
7
Jaredc324Jul 25, 2019
When it seems QT has the next great hang-out Hollywood movie of our time, he swiftly and surely lets us down and in denial with a movie trying too hard in being an overly-comedic nervous breakdown character study with steady breezes ofWhen it seems QT has the next great hang-out Hollywood movie of our time, he swiftly and surely lets us down and in denial with a movie trying too hard in being an overly-comedic nervous breakdown character study with steady breezes of back-seat wonder in between, but never really the charming wonder it just teases to be. I'm not quite sure what QT was going for here. I have an idea. But it seems like he was stuck between two different sets of ideas or visions that never bridged together well at all. Firstly, DiCaprio and Pitt's relationship seemed completely unorthodox. Instead of portraying Dalton with a quiet sense of restraint, he's moaning and pouting in almost every scene he's in, it's almost impossible to resonate with him. And fortunately Leo is just too good of an actor to screw it up. Making us wonder, why in the world is Cliff Booth, the baddest, coolest and slickest stunt man around hanging out with this insecure whine-boy. It never really clicks. And Dalton's story has really no relevance or significance to where the movie ends up. Sharon Tate's character is not misused, poorly portrayed or carelessly weaved in. She just has no relevance to Dalton's character who is clearly a mirror to her career. But the "Once Upon a Time in Hollywood" is really never quite enlightened like it thinks it is. It brims with a subtle send-off of quiet reserved charm, but the movie really could've been constructed better to deliver it's fantasy fairy tale like conclusion. And having Sharon Tate hardly involved with the concluding tribulations in the case of the Manson Murders, seems kind of mis-written on the behalf of QT. When he makes the killers more human and relatable than his heroes themselves. I get it, it's well crafted, driven by a strong sense of inspiration and you feel it, especially and in particularly in the back-seat moments, driving around L.A. listening to 60s tunes. But for whatever reason, Tarantino found an uncontrollable urge to explore the scenes Dalton is shooting (which no one really cares about), instead of keeping true to the good stuff in between. Had Dalton been a more restrained, human character (perhaps someone who accepted his misplacement of persona in the new age of industry, and rather explore his search for truth in a newer world, rather than some insecure wannabe Steve McQueen appeasing only to QT's obvious fetish for stereotypical animated movie stars) this could've been the all-out 60s Hollywood masterpiece many people are claiming it to be. But aside from all of it's ups and downs, most of Once is lacking significance and it almost always lies on the portrayal and story arch of Rick Dalton. Even though the craft, the music and the tone is hell-of enriching and a joy to watch. It's not Tarantino's finest most profound of tales... but it tries... Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
amheretojudgeJul 26, 2019
Tarantino's humour is dramatically challenged and emotions mocked with silliness, there lies his film in between.

Once Upon A Time In... Hollywood Tarantino's bluff is so smart that the entire film feels stupid. A joke. So now, the question
Tarantino's humour is dramatically challenged and emotions mocked with silliness, there lies his film in between.

Once Upon A Time In... Hollywood

Tarantino's bluff is so smart that the entire film feels stupid. A joke. So now, the question it raises is, Is it funny? Not particularly. It is not a funny joke. It is a joke that you'd wish you had told. It is a joke that filters its audience out and then welcomes you to an open discussion that could last for hours. Good. Productive hours. For the writer-director, Quentin Tarantino is grabbing all the sensitive glasses in one tray and is serving us with an upbeating groovy music and a cautionary manual of "how to" deal with the film. Or more accurately, the final showdown. The entire film is just consuming energy for those last moments. That he exonerates in a big smile.. and not a laugh. This is smart filmmaking.

Up till now, I have been in awe of his writing in all the films. But after this film, I am leaning towards his maturity and confidence as a director. And as an evidence there is a scenario placed in the middle of the film where Cliff Booth played by Brad Pitt enters a red zone. Not only does the cinematography and background score glorifies Tarantino's legacy in that very antic, but as a part of narrative he whispers the secret of the film with utmost honesty and whisk of his signature absurdity.

Bonkers! is your reaction as you leave the screen and to protect that feeling is his bulletproof script that stands tall with him. Tarantino, as a writer has been lately considering himself to be drawn towards the literary art form, subjugates his and his project's place in his creative form just as Shakespeare used to do in his days. Often pitching himself on screen as a metaphor or the state or stage he has been through in his life, Tarantino's penultimate project- swooping in every last drop- sums up his work like a final chapter of a novel.

Ergo, by the time credits starts rolling everything and everyone has left the room, letting the dust settle and satisfaction flood in. Leonardo DiCaprio embodying a persona as Rick Dalton ought to be up for the game giddily considering how bottomless the pit is when it comes to the emotions of his characters. It is a role that anyone would love to have and yet not taking it for granted, DiCaprio's finest moments can be seen on set fumbling and riffing with his co-stars.

But I have been in love with underrated character since the very beginning. And ergo Pitt's Cliff resonates more strongly to me than anyone. Primarily, because it had very less chances to work on screen. Often audience reacts to empathy in a character and for a character that never sees a fall in the film, Pitt has a daunting task to make those half-grins charismatic and also earned. And on that note, Pitt steals the show with a Hawaiian shirt, c***y know-it-all attitude, a loyal dog and pretty standard one-liners; which I think doesn't just signifies the Once Upon A Time In... Hollywood part but the whole lifespan of it.
Expand
4 of 12 users found this helpful48
All this user's reviews
0
ElsashAug 17, 2019
Boring, no story, no suspense, people were sleeping at the movies, waste of time and money.
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
8
JGNYCJul 26, 2019
The reviews don't seem to mention or care that it's essentially plotless. It's a beautiful, long love letter to a very particular place and time. If you know the history, get the references, and especially if you remember them personally it'sThe reviews don't seem to mention or care that it's essentially plotless. It's a beautiful, long love letter to a very particular place and time. If you know the history, get the references, and especially if you remember them personally it's very nice. If you don't, it's a long, somewhat confusing ramble with beautiful shots and good acting and way too many shots of feet. I would say that Inglorious Basterds and Django were much more compelling films. But, if you're a QT fan and/or remember 1969, it shouldn't be missed. Expand
13 of 28 users found this helpful1315
All this user's reviews
8
d0vla11Aug 15, 2019
I had not watched many Tarantino's movies, but this one pleasantly surprised me. Really captures the 60s vibe and acting was nearly perfect.

You should go and see it.
1 of 6 users found this helpful15
All this user's reviews
10
sanyamthereviewJul 25, 2019
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Brilliant is the word I will use for quentin Tarantino and this movie.... History changing done again.. Brilliant performances from Pitt and di caprio especially Pitt. Expand
9 of 22 users found this helpful913
All this user's reviews
3
SWEEPtheLEG175Jul 28, 2019
The Hateful 8, Inglorious Bastards, R Dogs, Pulp Fiction, Kill Bill are a few films on my all time favorite list. This film was terrible. I saw people leaving the theatre after about an hour. I would have done the same, but Brad and LeoThe Hateful 8, Inglorious Bastards, R Dogs, Pulp Fiction, Kill Bill are a few films on my all time favorite list. This film was terrible. I saw people leaving the theatre after about an hour. I would have done the same, but Brad and Leo are unreal and I could watch either of those guys paint or sew and still be entertained. If people didn't know it was a QT film they would have rated it lower, everyone is just scared or blinded by his greatness. Again, the acting was a 10, but there isn't a story. The last 15min are great, that is it. Expand
11 of 18 users found this helpful117
All this user's reviews
9
ABRAug 8, 2019
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I wathced Quentin Tarantino's "Once Upon a Time... in Hollywood" today in the cinema. And it was AWESOME. Expand
2 of 7 users found this helpful25
All this user's reviews
8
mvrtsAug 5, 2019
Not as good as the media says, not as bad as some people say. It's one of those movies you have to sit down and appreciate the filmmaking cinematography and acting aspect of. The plot is free flowing rather than established clearly at anyNot as good as the media says, not as bad as some people say. It's one of those movies you have to sit down and appreciate the filmmaking cinematography and acting aspect of. The plot is free flowing rather than established clearly at any point in the movie. If you enjoyed Wolf of Wall Street I would put this right next to it if not below Expand
0 of 5 users found this helpful05
All this user's reviews
8
GrachechkovskiAug 17, 2019
The great work about 1960th years in Hollywood. This film hasn't many actions, but it has a beautiful old atmosphere, dialogs, actor's playing (DiCaprio is the best, honestly) and impressive end if you know a background of real history
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
ValBalAug 16, 2019
Hollywood's in bad state nowadays, as Dustin Hoffman pointed out several years ago and he's right. Quentin Tarantino is here to show cgi fest people how movies are made. Movies with engaging characters, beautiful cinematography, powerfulHollywood's in bad state nowadays, as Dustin Hoffman pointed out several years ago and he's right. Quentin Tarantino is here to show cgi fest people how movies are made. Movies with engaging characters, beautiful cinematography, powerful performances and twists that are so effective that I just can't help but wanna see this movie again asap. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
10
Patoka-ivanAug 9, 2019
MarcDoyleJul 25, 2019
This will certainly crack my year-end Top 10 list, and it will likely be in the top half. I don’t remember the last time I laughed that hard (frankly, often in spots when I was the only one laughing… which is all the
MarcDoyleJul 25, 2019
This will certainly crack my year-end Top 10 list, and it will likely be in the top half. I don’t remember the last time I laughed that hard (frankly, often in spots when I was the only one laughing… which is all the better) in a film.
Expand
2 of 6 users found this helpful24
All this user's reviews
6
notheguyJul 28, 2019
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Idk about this one, really felt like this movie should’ve been great, it wasn’t bad like some reviews might leave you to believe, but it wasn’t as good as so many are putting it out to be. The Acting, Spectacular; The Setting, extremely warm and nostalgic; But The Plot, Non - Existent. The whole movie just rambled on at times and felt like it was getting nowhere (On a side note: the way the characters at the playboy mansion were introduced felt a little lazy on tarantino’s part). The whole vibe of the movie and the acting throughout was what brought my rating to as high as it did. I honestly expected more and i am, in a way, disappointed. Expand
4 of 7 users found this helpful43
All this user's reviews
10
YeetusMcGeetusJul 29, 2019
One of Tarantino's best. This is a masterpiece of film from a master filmmaker. Great performances. Gripping scenes. A deep, thought-provoking story, and a hugely satisfying ending make this movie one I can't wait to see a second time!
5 of 13 users found this helpful58
All this user's reviews
0
glamgirlJul 28, 2019
I honestly don't know what everyone is raving about. Sure there were a couple of funny parts at the end... after a loooong 2.5 hrs of nothing. They made it look just like it did in 1969, but really who cares? Watch a movie filmed back then ifI honestly don't know what everyone is raving about. Sure there were a couple of funny parts at the end... after a loooong 2.5 hrs of nothing. They made it look just like it did in 1969, but really who cares? Watch a movie filmed back then if you want nostalgia and it will actually be good. The acting was well done, but the story sucked so bad that the acting didn't matter. I usually love Quentin Tarantino movies but this was absolutely awful. Expand
17 of 28 users found this helpful1711
All this user's reviews
7
BulgarianCriticAug 16, 2019
To be fair i did not understood some of the hollywood movie and actor references and the only western movie that i have watched was Back to the Future.But i still enjoyed 75% of the movie and if you have liked the previous movies of QuentinTo be fair i did not understood some of the hollywood movie and actor references and the only western movie that i have watched was Back to the Future.But i still enjoyed 75% of the movie and if you have liked the previous movies of Quentin Tarantino you will definitely enjoy this one Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
10
MR_laiyonAug 12, 2019
Its really and masterpiece from tarantino, one of his best, the entire movie is based on the setup and the payoff if you like when all the action come fast your probably not gonna like much but if you can appreciate the dialogues and handleIts really and masterpiece from tarantino, one of his best, the entire movie is based on the setup and the payoff if you like when all the action come fast your probably not gonna like much but if you can appreciate the dialogues and handle the setup your gonna like it so much and have a really good time. A 10/10 for me Expand
2 of 7 users found this helpful25
All this user's reviews
8
ahmedaiman1999Aug 3, 2019
While The Hateful Eight is neither Tarantino's finest, nor is it my favourite film by him, it's undeniably his most mature. This one is pretty much the exact opposite. Once Upon a Time ... in Hollywood is wild, a bit rough around the edgesWhile The Hateful Eight is neither Tarantino's finest, nor is it my favourite film by him, it's undeniably his most mature. This one is pretty much the exact opposite. Once Upon a Time ... in Hollywood is wild, a bit rough around the edges and choppy (especially at its second act) and unrestrained to a fault. It also may be his most self-indulgent film to date. Nevertheless, all that is in a most engrossing and enthralling way... for the most part.

Quentin Tarantino is one of my top 5 favourite film directors. Add to that a star-studded cast, most notably Brad Pitt, Al Pacino, Margot Robbie and Leonardo DiCaprio (who's one of, if not my favourite actor of all-time). So there's no need to say how much I was exciting to see his latest film. Honestly, this was my most anticipated upcoming film in general. And I enjoyed it... I liked it... I loved it, but that doesn't mean I found it underwhelming!

Tarantino had to capture the zeitgeist of the 60s, and he did. But he didn't stop here. He made a late 60s, or an early 70s, film through and through. Regardless of its advanced technical aspect, this film let us see how a Tarantino film would be like if he made films in the sixties (although I'm positive he would have made a more violent film). Unlike other Tarantino films, this one's plot unfolds in an unbound and kinda spontaneous manner. And I like these kind of films so much. Of course the music and the production design are spot-on, but Tarantino's outstandingly excellent grasp of the time period has surpassed all that.

For what I've said above, complaining about the film's unfocused storytelling is both contradictory and unjust. Besides, Tarantino's films have never been straightforwardly narrated (The thing I adore). What bothered me is that in this film I felt, for the first time in a Tarantino film, that there are many unnecessary and (I hate to say it) pointless. These oddly intriguing scenes that contain dialogue which has nothing to do with the story yet still madly riveting are not as tasteful as usual. The reasons behind that, I assume, are that: the dialogue doesn't feel as refreshing or daring as in the other Tarantino films, and the scenes in themselves aren't very well-put together or well-combined. I'm not sure why I felt that (talking about the later reason), but maybe it's the editing or maybe it's because these scenes needed to be more longer to earn its weight.

The humour also isn't the cunningly witty humour Tarantino is known for, but it still works fairly well nonetheless. The film is also not as violent and brutal as other Tarantino films, but boy the climactic scene! This is not to say Once Upon a Time ... in Hollywood is less engaging than Tarantino's other efforts. Don't worry, my eyes were glued to the screen as they always do while watching any of this brilliant filmmaker's films! What makes this film stand out among the rest of the films in Tarantino's filmography (besides the distinctive way its plot unfolds in) is that this one is undisputedly gentler and actually kinda warm!

Talking about the acting is really unnecessary, but I guess I have to. First and Foremost, Leo and Brad Pitt have a remarkable chemistry that's definitely one of the best I've ever had the pleasure to see in any film. As for each one of them alone, they are both at their peak, but I can't say these are their best performances. I'm not that familiar with Sharon Tate. But for what I know about her style and her manner of speaking, I can say that Margot Robbie nailed it. She is fantastically energetic and innocently charming. It's definitely one of her best supporting performances. Al Pacino doesn't have much screen time, but I enjoyed seeing him. Both Margaret Qualley, who played **** and Julia Butters, who played the little girl, Trudi, are scene-stealers. I think both of them have very promising careers. I also liked the Stranger Things breakout star, Maya Hawk, despite appearing in very, very few scenes.

I need to watch it one more time to decide whether it's my least favourite Tarantino or not, but, overall, Once Upon a Time ... in Hollywood is a blast from start to finish that kept me on the edge of my seat all throughout. Its 161-min runtime just flew by. I mean, it's a Tarantino film at the end of the day!

(8/10)
Expand
2 of 7 users found this helpful25
All this user's reviews