Walt Disney Studios Motion Pictures | Release Date: March 6, 2020
7.3
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 162 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
121
Mixed:
20
Negative:
21
Watch Now
Sign up for
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
9
SteprockMar 11, 2020
I loved this movie! It's sweet, heartfelt, and funny. It's got a quirky setting and kind of an 80's teen movie vibe. What's not to love?

And of course, Pixar's ability to animate is in top form, as ever.
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
8
BatMiteMar 11, 2020
Disney and Pixar's Onward is a touching story about two brothers who get the power to bring back their late father for a day. But when things go awry and only the bottom half of dad returns, they set out on a journey to complete the spellDisney and Pixar's Onward is a touching story about two brothers who get the power to bring back their late father for a day. But when things go awry and only the bottom half of dad returns, they set out on a journey to complete the spell before time runs out. The film introduces Ian Lightfoot(Tom Holland), the younger of the brothers who is trying to figure out who he is in high school and does all he can to become more like his father whom he never met. And there is Barley Lightfoot(Chris Pratt) who sees everything around him as a quest of great bravery and seemingly lost in his own fantasy world within a fantasy world. Set in a future fairy tale where elves and wizards and dragons exist but once technology was introduced the magic of the world is long-forgotten. It is definitely a fun take on the world of fantasy that Dan Scanlon builds this world that has that special Pixar touch for a story that might find itself a little too serious for a younger crowd. There is plenty of heart and laughs for everyone with a few scenes that seems like the runtime could've been a little longer. The adults in the film also do great in their roles without ever falling into the "dumb parent" trope and gives them plenty to do as well. The movie brings plenty of heart and comedy for all ages, this is another great addition to the Disney/Pixar library that will have you cheering, laughing, and tearful for some. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
9
zmgalen2000Mar 30, 2020
Classically Pixar, "Onward" is a heartwarming film for all ages, with an emotional subplot so deep that it will make all audiences shed a tear. Through a culmination of stunning animation, bold character development, and aClassically Pixar, "Onward" is a heartwarming film for all ages, with an emotional subplot so deep that it will make all audiences shed a tear. Through a culmination of stunning animation, bold character development, and a seemingly-one-dimensional plot that spontaneously sprawls out to reveal a multilayer ecstasy, "Onward" is yet another Disney-Pixar masterpiece and is a film not to be missed. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
eagleeyevikingMar 22, 2020
“Onward” is another Pixar classic; an emotional, imaginative, hilarious, and well-intentioned road-trip quest. As an older brother myself, the film absolutely hits home.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
twall3Mar 16, 2020
Saw this the night before our state shut all movie theaters down due to the coronavirus. From the trailer, I didn't really want to see it, but the reality was this is a very good movie! Quality Pixar movie. Great voice work from the 2 leadSaw this the night before our state shut all movie theaters down due to the coronavirus. From the trailer, I didn't really want to see it, but the reality was this is a very good movie! Quality Pixar movie. Great voice work from the 2 lead characters, creative, emotionally connectable characters and moments, some funny moments. Really loved it! Hopefully the studio will reissue it back into the theaters when the virus passes. If the virus never goes away and theaters become a thing of the past, this was a great final movie to see in a theater. Thank you Pixar/Disney! Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
FyilMar 27, 2020
Amazing movie that focus on brotherhood and the importance of a father. A breath of fresh air in the industry. It's hilarious to see a bunch of right wing people saying this movie is "woke".
This is a male oriented movie all the way. Nothing
Amazing movie that focus on brotherhood and the importance of a father. A breath of fresh air in the industry. It's hilarious to see a bunch of right wing people saying this movie is "woke".
This is a male oriented movie all the way. Nothing woke about it.
Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
VultuRexMar 22, 2020
This movie is amazing, adventurous, fun and really captures the magic of what Pixar animation films should and always have to offer. What a great Pixar film, this movie happens to be my favorite animated film of 2020. Give those film makersThis movie is amazing, adventurous, fun and really captures the magic of what Pixar animation films should and always have to offer. What a great Pixar film, this movie happens to be my favorite animated film of 2020. Give those film makers and animators over at Pixar a big standing ovation for their hard work. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
FordsaMar 21, 2020
Great movie- very creative. The animation was really well done, and there's good humor throughout. I cried 4 times
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
WajihaMar 22, 2020
Was an amazing movie the kids really loved it would definitely recommended it.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
CbabybearMar 27, 2020
Managed to see it just before cinemas shut and I enjoyed it. It’s a heart warming film about coming to terms with loss.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
marvelholicMar 30, 2020
It was a very wholesome movie about brotherhood. It was enjoyable for all, not just kids and is a reflection of how versatile tom holland and chris pratt really are
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
Jp117Mar 11, 2020
Better than some other movies out there love the magic and d&d. Great family movie fathers and sons will love it not to mention brothers.
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
10
R4F43LLMar 11, 2020
This film is simply amazing, I loved your world and its story is exciting. Congratulations Pixar
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
10
Kerby33Mar 10, 2020
As someone who lost their father without getting to say goodbye, this movie of course really struck a nerve. Tears aside I did really love this movie. I'm an avid fantasy fan from LotR to D&D I love it all. This movie did a great job blendingAs someone who lost their father without getting to say goodbye, this movie of course really struck a nerve. Tears aside I did really love this movie. I'm an avid fantasy fan from LotR to D&D I love it all. This movie did a great job blending a modern world with fantasy. Easily a new favorite from Pixar, but obviously I am their exact target audience for this film. Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
9
HankHill4200Mar 10, 2020
I don’t understand why the reviews for this movie are so low. It’s not perfect, but to me, it’s close to it. I’ll get the one gripe I have out of the way. The part between the Tavern and the draw bridge is pretty slow. It’s not bad, but it’sI don’t understand why the reviews for this movie are so low. It’s not perfect, but to me, it’s close to it. I’ll get the one gripe I have out of the way. The part between the Tavern and the draw bridge is pretty slow. It’s not bad, but it’s just okay. It’s the only part of the movie that wasn’t super engaging to me, simply due to characters (the bikers) being fairly boring.

Every other part was great. The humor is there throughout the entire movie. While there are some areas where the humor isn’t original, the amount of original jokes and unique gags far outnumber them. Colt Stallion (boyfriend) was a funny, original portrayal of a Minotaur that consistently made the theatre laugh. Chris Pratt did an amazing job in his role, and never failed to get a laugh.

Not only is the movie funny, it’s also the most emotional Pixar movie since UP (yes I think it’s more emotional than Coco). The ending manages to be something you wouldn’t expect, and that’s not a bad thing at all. I like the approach it took, and it had several people around me in tears. Don’t get me wrong, the ending of Coco was emotional, but I don’t think it came close to what this movie did.

The foreshadowing starts from the very get go of the movie, with the dragon on the school (I won’t go in depth on this to avoid spoilers). Another great thing this movie was able to accomplish was a scene that managed to be funny, epic, and majestic all at the same time. Once again, I won’t go in depth here to avoid spoilers, but it’s definitely my favorite scene in the movie.

It’s not a perfect movie, but it comes close to it. The movie is filled with humor, emotion, lessons, family values, heart wrenching moments, and epic scenes.
Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
8
Compi24Mar 7, 2020
The talks of "B-tier Pixar" rearing its ugly head yet again are lost on me when it comes to "Onward," director Dan Scanlon's second feature-length effort (after the uninspired "Monster University"). This may come off as an entry into the "hotThe talks of "B-tier Pixar" rearing its ugly head yet again are lost on me when it comes to "Onward," director Dan Scanlon's second feature-length effort (after the uninspired "Monster University"). This may come off as an entry into the "hot take Olympics," but I honestly found the film more creative, entertaining and emotionally resonant than Pixar's last effort, "Toy Story 4." It, at the very least, justifies it's own existence better than that film did. There's a genuinely beautiful and original message at the center of this story here that culminates into what's easily the best ending to a Pixar movie I've seen since "Coco." "Toy Story 4" tried this, but ultimately ended up doing the same "saying goodbye because it's the right thing to do" type of ending that "Toy Story 3" did. I don't mean to bag on "Toy Story 4" so much, but I think we all hold these movies to a certain standard. Mine were just about met with "Onward." Each set piece is engaging and memorable, the world feels lived in and different, even the progression of the narrative surprised me with how much it hearkened back to early Pixar. I guess I'm in the minority on this one, but I very much enjoyed this. Expand
5 of 8 users found this helpful53
All this user's reviews
10
Rektnarok91Mar 6, 2020
Really fun and emotional film. It avoided a number of cliché traps and really is one of the best Pixar films in awhile
8 of 13 users found this helpful85
All this user's reviews
10
LuuthianMar 8, 2020
Loved it. This is probably the best D&D film ever made. Pixer did a disservice in failing to market the film as it actually was. This isn’t some cynical fantasy story with an annoying brother. It’s a great coming of age, sibling story wrappedLoved it. This is probably the best D&D film ever made. Pixer did a disservice in failing to market the film as it actually was. This isn’t some cynical fantasy story with an annoying brother. It’s a great coming of age, sibling story wrapped in classic Dungeons and Dragons (quite literally in several scenes and monsters).

See it, it’s worth it. Especially if you love classic fantasy stories
Expand
3 of 5 users found this helpful32
All this user's reviews
9
13freedom13Mar 6, 2020
This pixar film brought in a lot of tears i would totally recommend it to watch
3 of 5 users found this helpful32
All this user's reviews
7
ChrisMizerakMar 7, 2020
This is a strange time to be a Disney fan, isn’t it? Whether you’re into Disney, Pixar, Marvel, Lucasfilm, or even Fox for that matter, this past year has put hardcore Disney fans into something of a state of confusion. A state of confusionThis is a strange time to be a Disney fan, isn’t it? Whether you’re into Disney, Pixar, Marvel, Lucasfilm, or even Fox for that matter, this past year has put hardcore Disney fans into something of a state of confusion. A state of confusion best exemplified before the latest Pixar offering titled “Onward” in the form of a short starring “The Simpsons”. The short itself is fine and all that, coming from someone who hardly watches “The Simpsons”. Nevertheless, it’s a surreal position we’re in to say the least. But more than the weirdness behind their newest studio acquisitions, Disney hasn’t been putting out much genuinely original content in recent years as my rant on their live-action remakes can attest to. As for Pixar, “Onward” is their first wholly original piece since “Coco” from 2017 in a time when sequels like “Toy Story 4” and “Incredibles 2” are all we can expect. So, any chance that Pixar puts out original content, I am eager to encourage them to continue doing so and revisit their glory days of creativity. By now, you’re wondering where “Onward” fits into this puzzle, and to put it simply: it’s a step in the right direction. The caveat to this however is that while it’s entertaining to watch in the moment, overtime the film is vulnerable to fade from memory. A distinction that doesn’t apply with either “Coco” or “Inside Out” which ventured into risky territories yet to be explored in most other kid’s films made today. By contrast, “Onward” definitely plays its safe, but it retains some imagination in certain areas. Many comparisons between “Onward” and other Disney and/or Pixar offerings have been made, in addition to comments of “Onward” following the footsteps taken by “Shrek” from DreamWorks. When watching “Onward”, I too thought of another film that bares many similarities to the film I was watching. Anyone remember “Role Models” from 2008 with Paul Rudd and Seann William Scott? Now while it obviously doesn’t share the same tone or plot to “Onward”, parts of this did at least remind me of that. The spirit behind the subplot in “Role Models” devoted to the medieval live-action role-playing game that the characters participate in that film can be found in notable snippets in “Onward”. The brother voiced by Pratt uses all of his knowledge of this world’s equivalent of a “Dungeons and Dragons”-esque boarding game for the journey he and his younger brother go forth on. Both films involve our leads learning to better get past their struggles or weaknesses. If it wasn’t made clear enough, the foundation of which “Onward” sits takes its inspiration and ideas from many various existing sources to concoct its own creation. In other words, it’s not the most completely original work Pixar has created by a mile, especially in comparison to “Up” and the other films I’ve listed off earlier. For a film such as “Onward” to succeed, it needs to rely on the chemistry between our leads and the random encounters they come across during their quest. On that front, “Onward” fulfills its primary goal. Pratt and Holland do a good job at working off of each other and taking advantage of their character’s primary traits. Pratt gives Holland lessons on how to properly cast spells and dishes out tips on effective techniques and perks to cast various spells, from believing an invisible bridge is really there to growing or shrinking a gasoline holder. “Onward” just manages to become worthy of a recommendation primarily because of Pratt and Holland’s chemistry. As Pixar’s newest work, “Onward” is certainly watchable if not essential. Like last month’s “Birds of Prey”, it’s going to be enjoyable experiencing it even if it doesn’t last in your consciousness. The derivative nature of its plot and world are made up by a couple inventive touches. The animation, music, and other technical qualities are still operating at Pixar standards. If “Onward” is a step in the right direction, then hopefully “Soul” (slated for release in June) can keep Pixar’s baton moving. Expand
3 of 5 users found this helpful32
All this user's reviews
10
PanchogulMar 6, 2020
Unidos (2020)

Sinopsis propia: En un mundo donde la magia es cosa del pasado y donde la gente ya no cree en ella, dos hermanos con personalidades muy distintas se unen en una épica cruzada repleta de aventuras para volver a ver aunque sea
Unidos (2020)

Sinopsis propia:

En un mundo donde la magia es cosa del pasado y donde la gente ya no cree en ella, dos hermanos con personalidades muy distintas se unen en una épica cruzada repleta de aventuras para volver a ver aunque sea un segundo a su difunto padre.

Opinión:

He vivido una bellísima experiencia viendo esta película, la cual está repleta de aventuras, pasiones, emoción, carisma y dedicación abarcando temas de gran importancia como la hermandad y el descubrimiento personal.

Tiene un mensaje y trasfondo muy importante pero no diré nada al respecto porque caería en soltar spoilers, solo puedo decir que la recomiendo al 500%. Gente, lleven a sus hijos, a sus amigos, a sus padres o vayan por su cuenta, pero esta película debe verse, o debo recordar que es de Disney Pixar? Obviamente no.

Valoración:

Un total de 5 ⭐
Expand
4 of 8 users found this helpful44
All this user's reviews
10
JoesMar 6, 2020
Algo diferente a lo habitual, una aventura llena de magia y para toda la familia
4 of 8 users found this helpful44
All this user's reviews
10
Kapitan_NickMar 6, 2020
Lovely cartoon. Excellent development of the main character Ian. Great graphic animation! I like the style of fantasy and technology. I really worried about the main characters. Also in the cartoon there is a big and important moral in our time.
4 of 8 users found this helpful44
All this user's reviews
10
piffsmith15Mar 8, 2020
Touching story, great acting, fun action, just an all around great movie for all.
4 of 8 users found this helpful44
All this user's reviews
10
manningn15Mar 8, 2020
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Onward was so much better than I thought it was going to be, it is my favorite animated movie of 2020, my 3rd favorite movie of 2020, one of my top 10 favorite Pixar movies, one of my favorite animated movies of all time, and one of my favorite movies of all time. The writing and story were exceptional, the story was a funny and heartwarming story about family and the connection between siblings that also tugged at my heartstrings. The story made me cry multiple times towards the end of the movie. The animation was phenomenal and gorgeous. The character designs were stupendous especially the designs of Corey, Ian Lightfoot, Barley Lightfoot, the unicorns, Specter, Grecklin, Dewdrop, Colt Bronco, Wilden Lightfoot and Laurel Lightfoot. The voice acting from Chris Pratt, Tom Holland, Octavia Spencer, Julia Louis-Dreyfus, Mel Rodriguez, Tracey Ullman, Grey Griffin, and Lena Waithe was outstanding. The music was excellent. This was an A+ movie. Expand
3 of 6 users found this helpful33
All this user's reviews
10
EmmaC101Mar 6, 2020
I love this movie so much.It is a must see. I love Ian,Barley and Guinevere so so much.
3 of 6 users found this helpful33
All this user's reviews
10
Metakane33Mar 8, 2020
Truly phenomenal. Funny and heartwarming at the same time. Left me wanting more, but also satisfied. Absolutely brilliant.
3 of 6 users found this helpful33
All this user's reviews
8
BrunoVn00Mar 8, 2020
Finally, after three years, Pixar finally brings us a new "original" movie. By that I mean that it's not a sequel.

Was the wait for more Pixar creativity worth it? I would say: "Kind of". "Onward" ended up being a pretty good movie, with
Finally, after three years, Pixar finally brings us a new "original" movie. By that I mean that it's not a sequel.

Was the wait for more Pixar creativity worth it? I would say: "Kind of".

"Onward" ended up being a pretty good movie, with some creative ideas, some funny moments and some emotional moments. The world the movie is set in has potential, but visually speaking, there's nothing memorable in it. Besides the design of the houses, I guess, the world lacks any style or personality. The voice acting is decent, I guess. Tom Holland was playing himself...I couldn't stop hearing Spider-Man. I guess the director just told him "Act as if you're playing Spider-Man" and that's it. Chris Pratt was annoying at first, but I later got used to his voice. It has some themes and underlying messages that were presented in a nice way. Some of them in an enotional way and others in a funny way.

The story is fun, highly energetic and emotional at times, even if some of the emotional moments were more cheesy than emotional.

I liked it overall but the story just feels so formulaic and familiar. Sure it had some twists I didn't see coming and the movie could've been a lot more predictable and boring but it almost seems like Pixar is stuck in the same plot structure for many its movies. I mean, it was an enjoyable experience, I bursted out laughing many times but I don't feel that it had that "Pixar magic" in it.
Expand
2 of 4 users found this helpful22
All this user's reviews
10
BradMorganMar 9, 2020
Pixar and Disney did it again. What a fantastic movie. An emotional and funny story that touches you, wrapped in a breathtaking world. Visually one of the most beautiful animation films I have ever seen. The characters were human and thePixar and Disney did it again. What a fantastic movie. An emotional and funny story that touches you, wrapped in a breathtaking world. Visually one of the most beautiful animation films I have ever seen. The characters were human and the brothers complemented each other perfectly. This was more than an animation film. This was a journey of discovery about love, sorrow, insecurity, belief in your abilities and achieving your goals. It was amazing. Expand
2 of 4 users found this helpful22
All this user's reviews
8
MadiFarrMar 7, 2020
Alright, so it does suffer from other classic Pixar films, but it does prove that it really stands out on its own formula. With an emotional, action packed and funny adventure with beautiful animation.
2 of 4 users found this helpful22
All this user's reviews
9
kqjrjkrawrMar 11, 2020
Good movie, good message, don't let the trolls deter you from watching this movie!
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
7
fiftywordreviewMar 11, 2020
Onward lacks the charm and originality of Pixar's more beloved properties, but its heartfelt third act makes for an ultimately rewarding viewing. The fantasy elements do little to elevate the story, but the film succeeds as a fun familyOnward lacks the charm and originality of Pixar's more beloved properties, but its heartfelt third act makes for an ultimately rewarding viewing. The fantasy elements do little to elevate the story, but the film succeeds as a fun family adventure with a strong message. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
10
kotgafMar 9, 2020
A brilliant and sincere story about two brothers, family and magic. If you remember, what world was full of magic when you was young, but forget it nowadays, this fils is for you.
3 of 7 users found this helpful34
All this user's reviews
8
Davrosdaleks1Mar 6, 2020
Again, Pixar comes up with a rather fresh concept, fantasy creatures in a modern times world, with some strong emotional moments. It was an excellent idea to make the film about the two brothers Ian (voiced by Tom Holland) and Barley (ChrisAgain, Pixar comes up with a rather fresh concept, fantasy creatures in a modern times world, with some strong emotional moments. It was an excellent idea to make the film about the two brothers Ian (voiced by Tom Holland) and Barley (Chris Pratt) going on a quest to briefly reunite with the the late father they never knew or barely remember. It is a very heartfelt tale: wanting to connect with a relative you never knew. The connection between the two brothers (one's the shy guy who isn't into magic but can do it and the other is the outgoing, immature one who is into magic but can't do it) is handled really well. The ending may be up there with some of Pixar's great moments.

The movie has a fine cast of characters and voice actors. Chris Pratt is the VIP here. Yeah, he is doing a variation of the typical Pratt kind of character, but he is good enough that Barley is distinguishable from his other characters. He especially does a well with Barley's more sympathetic moments.

I was a little at odds at whether I should rate this a little higher. Ultimately I realized that while this is up there with some of Pixar's better films this wasn't in their top tier. Onward is mostly a road trip movie and it had the issues that I felt were in Up or some of Pixar's other road trip movies in that the creators have some great core ideas but feel like they were throwing in whatever they could to fill out the movie. This could've been shorter and the third act in particular feels like the film is stretching. There are also moments where Ian, when he's being shy or angry, is too underwritten or stereotypically portrayed.

I'm not the biggest fan of the character design in this. It feels a little simple compared to other Pixar films almost as if this was designed by a different studio. I know that a lot of animators prefer more simple designs because it makes animating or character expression easier. Personally as a viewer, I prefer when a character looks better defined. I especially don't like the way they made the elves' tragus in their ears. (The part of the outer ear that sort of covers the earhole). They look like quarters.

Criticisms aside when this movie is good it's really good, and I highly recommend it.
Expand
3 of 7 users found this helpful34
All this user's reviews
7
moviemitch96Mar 6, 2020
Pixar's usually pretty reliable, and I thought this looked cute enough to check out. Tom Holland and Chris Pratt voice two elves that embark on a quest to find a magical gemstone in order to briefly summon their late father back to life. ThisPixar's usually pretty reliable, and I thought this looked cute enough to check out. Tom Holland and Chris Pratt voice two elves that embark on a quest to find a magical gemstone in order to briefly summon their late father back to life. This one was actually a little more fun than I anticipated it would be based off the previews I saw for it that personally left me a little underwhelmed. Yes it did feel a little middle-of-the-road in comparison to Pixar's other films. However, it had great charm and humor, Holland and Pratt's voice talents go great together, and as expected of Pixar by now, it's incredibly heartfelt and will likely leave many touched by the end. Overall, the animation and world created in the film is highly entertaining and imaginative, the story is a little straightforward and conventional, but the voice talents, humor, and heart are what really make it worthwhile and fun. Expand
2 of 5 users found this helpful23
All this user's reviews
7
darkbloodshed13Mar 10, 2020
Onward is a Pixar animated film directed by Dan Scanlon and is about 2 elf brothers, Ian voiced by Tom Holland and Barley voiced by Chris Pratt, who on Ian's 16th birthday are given a magic staff that will let them meet there dead father.Onward is a Pixar animated film directed by Dan Scanlon and is about 2 elf brothers, Ian voiced by Tom Holland and Barley voiced by Chris Pratt, who on Ian's 16th birthday are given a magic staff that will let them meet there dead father. However because the spell goes wrong and only the bottom part of there dad is brought back Ian and Barley must go on a quest to get a magic stone so they can meet their dad. This film showcases why we love Pixar so much. The characters make sense given the situation. It can be really difficult to sympathies with characters in fantastical setting at times putting the pressure on the writer to make the charterers fit in with the world as well making them feel real to the audience and this film manages to do it no problem. The story is also very compelling. Fans of D&D will love the not so subtle reverences to R.P.Gs made through out the film, while others will enjoy the family aspects of the film. However this film does have it's fair share of flaws especially with the rules involving it's own magic. There are plenty times when the film fails to explain why it's magic doesn't work in a certain way. Yet This doesn't take away from my overall enjoyment of the film. Also there is the problem that this film though original in concept isn't all that original in execution. Again however, this did not bother me much. In conclusion if your looking for a good animated film that has something for everyone than this is the film for you. Expand
1 of 4 users found this helpful13
All this user's reviews
9
CalDoesDrummingMar 15, 2020
Of all the Pixar films I’ve seen in recent years as a grown man Onward is definitely proving to be my favourite, I can’t really compare it to the classics (Toy Story 1, Monsters Inc, Finding Nemo etc) coz I saw all those movies when I wasOf all the Pixar films I’ve seen in recent years as a grown man Onward is definitely proving to be my favourite, I can’t really compare it to the classics (Toy Story 1, Monsters Inc, Finding Nemo etc) coz I saw all those movies when I was basically just a foot tall and have been with me for as long as I can remember but needless to say if I was to have some kind of Pixar binge night it would happily fit in with them all.

The thing that really elevates Onward for me is it’s cast, Tom Holland & Chris Pratt I thought were brilliant as Ian & Barley, they by far had one of the best chemistries I’ve seen in a movie (which is probably thanks to the friendship they made whilst working on Avengers together) and they voiced them so well and put so much emotion into it that it ended being one of those moments where you forgot it was them and purely saw their characters. As for the rest Julia Louis-Dreyfus was great as Laurel, a determined super mum that wants nothing more for a her 2 boys to be happy and is prepared to go great lengths to make sure they’re safe, Octavia Spencer was brilliant as The Manticore, a character that you thought would be a bit intimidating and villainous that was actually pretty funny and awesome to watch. The animations & sets were gorgeous and I don’t care one bit if they maybe did look a bit too realistic, the fact that Pixar has the power & talent to put that much detail into their movies nowadays I think is really commendable and something I personally think they should definitely keep up.

So overall I’m really happy with this movie, I’m definitely seeing again at some point down the line and if they ever plan to make a sequel it, bringeth it on I say

(Also shoutout to whoever at Pixar had the idea of Barley being a metalhead)
Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
9
danddjosh2000Mar 15, 2020
Went in not expecting anything but it generally surprised me. Pixar has definitely done better movies and this has a really slow start but the ending made it all worthwhile and made me glad I saw the movie.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
9
marcmyworksApr 2, 2020
Onward is a touching and wonderful film by Pixar that not only incorporates magic in a modern Dungeons and Dragon-esque world but also pulls at the heartstrings.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
DubeauMar 22, 2020
Onward was a more predictable movie from Pixar. The story is bit slow to start. I like that they kind of mix modern versus fantasies worlds. Doesn't always work well. The action is very good in my book. And the ending is very touching. I amOnward was a more predictable movie from Pixar. The story is bit slow to start. I like that they kind of mix modern versus fantasies worlds. Doesn't always work well. The action is very good in my book. And the ending is very touching. I am not entirely sure that this is for children. It more for young adults. In that sens some elements of humor and reference are aimed to an older generation, who played D&D. I give it 72%. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
MyOpinionReviewApr 6, 2020
Very fun and emotional movie. Though the start is slightly slow it still entertains you and sets up a very fun second half.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
Sean_The_CriticMar 26, 2020
In all honesty, this was a very good movie and yet another great story brought to us by Pixar. It didn't seem to overwhelming or underwhelming compared to other past Pixar movies, so to look at it independently from the studio seems fair. TheIn all honesty, this was a very good movie and yet another great story brought to us by Pixar. It didn't seem to overwhelming or underwhelming compared to other past Pixar movies, so to look at it independently from the studio seems fair. The movie does display good uses of technical film techniques, it allows character expansion and realization on a broad platform, while also conserving the characters to be consistent throughout the movie. The plot however moved along to fast, personally, as it skipped through major character development in just hours. They describe the "mastery of wizardry" as something incredibly difficult and straining, yet contradict that point as the main protagonist does so in less then a day. If the movie hadn't been part of Pixar, it'd receive a higher rating, but due to it being from Pixar, it doesn't seem to stand out or prove any better than any average film

-With Criticism and Appraisal, Sean
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
LoganSowersApr 3, 2020
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Phenomenal movie! Really loved the modernization portrayal of the mid evil theme. Absolutely loved the story of two brothers bonding to reunite with their father. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
TrumanHicksApr 3, 2020
Onward is an absolute master piece, for the entire family! Yet again Pixar brings another stellar movie to ad to their very accomplished wardrobe! This movie will have you Roaring with laughter! Although the movie is not all a laugh fest it’sOnward is an absolute master piece, for the entire family! Yet again Pixar brings another stellar movie to ad to their very accomplished wardrobe! This movie will have you Roaring with laughter! Although the movie is not all a laugh fest it’s a truly heart wrenching story that will keep you on the end of your seat. It’s a must watch for all ages! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
lela2000Apr 7, 2020
This film is so special: Ian and Barley are awesome; the story is so entertaining because they go for a wonderful QUEST that keeps you smiling until the end (with some tears, of course). Pixar never disappoints!
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
TheMCWhippyApr 7, 2020
Enjoyable family film from Pixar, about two brothers on a magical quest, fun time.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews