American Broadcasting Company (ABC) | Release Date: July 7, 2006
7.2
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 896 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
619
Mixed:
160
Negative:
117
Watch Now
Buy On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
3
BrianA.Jul 8, 2006
I liked the first film enough, but I feel like this movie is just a crude, overlengthy, and boring sequel that was written in a few minutes, and filmed in about as many. Nothing in the film is that impressive, the characters don't I liked the first film enough, but I feel like this movie is just a crude, overlengthy, and boring sequel that was written in a few minutes, and filmed in about as many. Nothing in the film is that impressive, the characters don't really grow or flesh out, and the CGI is second rate. Reminds me of another trilogy of films that started out really great, and then got worse and worse as they went on (Matrix anyone?) Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
0
JasmineJ.Jul 11, 2006
I can't believe anyone would call this their favorite movie of all time. It was loud, obnoxious and pointless. Best movie of the year? Try most annoying disappointment of the year. Pirates 1 was great. This chapter was on the other I can't believe anyone would call this their favorite movie of all time. It was loud, obnoxious and pointless. Best movie of the year? Try most annoying disappointment of the year. Pirates 1 was great. This chapter was on the other hand, a great bore. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful
1
JohnnyB.Jul 10, 2006
I had a very hard time sitting through this movie. It was all over the place, frenzied, but not fun. I gave it a 1 because the visuals were sometimes good, but if not for that i would give it a zero. Painful to sit through once, and i I had a very hard time sitting through this movie. It was all over the place, frenzied, but not fun. I gave it a 1 because the visuals were sometimes good, but if not for that i would give it a zero. Painful to sit through once, and i won't subject myself to Pirates3. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
9
MichaelC.Jul 10, 2006
I Agree totally with Jack H. who states wisely that this movie cannot stand alone! it is the 2nd movie of a trilogy, and does just what it is supposed to do...keep you entertained and build up to the 3rd. Of course its not better than the I Agree totally with Jack H. who states wisely that this movie cannot stand alone! it is the 2nd movie of a trilogy, and does just what it is supposed to do...keep you entertained and build up to the 3rd. Of course its not better than the 1st because the first is fresh and new. Though it is lacking plot, and gets a whole lot of nowhere for its 2 1/2 hours...Its FUN! no 2nd movie has ever been the best of the trilogy...all it does is build up to the 3rd, and give a lot of action and laughs to get you there. A Great Film! Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
5
CharlesL.Jul 10, 2006
I love the way all the dissenting opinions for this movie appear to be well thought out critiques, where as the positive votes read like PR-cookie-cutter-praise-em-post-em notes. I never was into the whole POTC thing. I never went to see the I love the way all the dissenting opinions for this movie appear to be well thought out critiques, where as the positive votes read like PR-cookie-cutter-praise-em-post-em notes. I never was into the whole POTC thing. I never went to see the first movie. Not interested. That said, I saw it on cable eventually some lazy Sunday afternoon and was wonderfully entertained. "Wow" was the word that came to mind. I had misjudged the movie, and was pleasantly surprised at how fun the movie was. So, now we have a sequel. I went to a later showing tonight to help avoid most of the youngsters in the crowd, and still the movie was jam packed with patrons. And so began our next ride on Disney's flagship voyage. 2 1/2 hours later I am so bored, I left the theatre as soon as the first credit rolled. I understand there are 10 extra seconds at the end. Who cares is all I can say. The movie is one incredibly long overbloated setup for the third installment. Characters seem to be out of touch with their characters from the first movie, I cared more for the villian than I did our heroes, the Kraken was used too many times. The beach scene was 10 min too long. Have no idea what the heck was up with the cannibal Sparrow scene? (I mean why would you possibly think cannabilism could be utilized as a crude joke is beyond me.) There were some great action sequences, although I agree with one reviewer who stated that so much action was present on screen that you felt as though you were wrapped in psychadelic wallpaper. (And I don't think he meant that as a compliment ;-) I also perceived the dialog as difficult to make out at times. Whether that was a function of the mix or extreme dialect slurring I am not sure. But I found myself several times wishing I could back up the movie with my remote to catch what was just stated. CGI effects were pretty amazing on Davy Jones! The kraken was pretty cool as well. I found the villian to be the most compelling character. At least he was honorable and true to self. Overall though, I still have to stick to my main points. Laboriously long, weak script, horrible plot elements and character asassinations. You know..Jack Sparrow won our hearts in the first movie. Why would you now seek to cause audiences to re-evaluate that opinion? Tasting a toe?? Obstensibly throwing away peoples lives he had already saved? Being forced to take the higher road by a deceitful womanly misdirection? Preferring to root for the villian than the so called "heroes" is not a good idea Hollywood. Ehh. Spend your money. Perhaps you will like it. Ultimately I felt let down and a bit irritated with the whole experience. The pacing was all off for me. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
2
[Anonymous]Jul 7, 2006
Too long, and with no plot to speak of. It wasn't even laughably bad.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
2
DaniA.Jul 9, 2006
Coming into the movie theater I was ready for another spine tingling beginning like the first, hearing a little girls quiet voice over the waves, singing the song that you would most likely hear at a bar, in an innocent, almost dreamy Coming into the movie theater I was ready for another spine tingling beginning like the first, hearing a little girls quiet voice over the waves, singing the song that you would most likely hear at a bar, in an innocent, almost dreamy manner, "Yo, ho, Yo, ho a pirates life for me...." Instead, we start off with Elizabeth, standing sopping wet in the pouring rain, at what we almost instantly know is a wedding, her wedding. At first I'm thinking, "where are all the guests?", then, "has she been stood up at the alter?" then, "...what? But what jolted me out of my confusion, and into pure dumbfoundment was a mob of English soldiers storming through the large doors with Will, and I'm still not sure whats happening! The entire movie draged on for WAYY longer than it should, and then at the end I came out wondering what the heck everyone had said! The dialouge was completely incoherent, I literally could not understand a word that some of the pirates uttered! All I have to say is that this was a catastrophy and that (unlike Pirates 1) I would not go see it again. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
1
SorenS.Aug 9, 2006
I dislike the movie very much. I expect lot more than this, but in return got nothing! Very nonoriginal. The kind of thing I wish Hollywood doesn't make anymore. Because I look for moves that is smart. Which this movie is dumb. I am sorry.
0 of 2 users found this helpful
2
NathanJul 10, 2006
One of the worst movies I've seen so far this summer. It was slow, boring, and overly long. This movie was a huge dissappointment. Don't go to the theater to see it. Wait til dvd, or better yet don't see it at all.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
7
BitBurnJul 10, 2006
It was aiight I guess, although not worth the huge media blitz thrown about it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
TheCriticJul 10, 2006
God AWFUL!!!! Whoever liked the first won't like this piece of crap that has WAY to many corny jokes and a confusing plotline. The only plus for it was Johnny Depp's awesome performance as Sparrow.
1 of 3 users found this helpful
5
TravisM.Jul 13, 2006
The original stands alone with some good classic-style swashbuckling sword fighting scenes, whitty humour, and an awesome storyline. This second movie was too long, and mainly tries to cash in on the original movie's success. More The original stands alone with some good classic-style swashbuckling sword fighting scenes, whitty humour, and an awesome storyline. This second movie was too long, and mainly tries to cash in on the original movie's success. More slapstick humour without a decent fight scene unless you're looking for a 'Clash of the Titans' creature which apparently can crush one ship in a matter of 3 seconds but takes 10 minutes to devour The Black Pearl. Anyways if the 3rd movie makes up for all the 2nd's shortcomings then we'll look back at this film as meerly a springboard in the storyline for the last movie; otherwise it'll be another waste of 3 hours (once you add in trailers and if you decide to stay for the unnecessary scene after the credits). Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
0
LeighJul 13, 2006
After enduring meandering, tedious subplot after meandering, tedious subplot the film finally reveals the actual plot, just in time to roll the credits. Too many dull distractions serve only to litter and confuse the otherwise stale and After enduring meandering, tedious subplot after meandering, tedious subplot the film finally reveals the actual plot, just in time to roll the credits. Too many dull distractions serve only to litter and confuse the otherwise stale and overused pirate puns and the acting-by-numbers performances. Apparently the cinema manager isn't able to give me back my 2 1/2 hours...be warned. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
RickDangerousJul 15, 2006
10 out of 10. This movie beyond delivered. This is the best movie of the summer, if not year. Keira Knightley, Johnny, and Orlando all gave timeless performances in the tradition of Indiana Jones and LOTR. The critics really missed the point 10 out of 10. This movie beyond delivered. This is the best movie of the summer, if not year. Keira Knightley, Johnny, and Orlando all gave timeless performances in the tradition of Indiana Jones and LOTR. The critics really missed the point on this one. Don't listen to em', don't be a critic, and just watch and enjoy the best damn movie out! Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
3
BeciyW.Jul 10, 2006
Great effects, just too much of them. This very long half of a movie (the other half will be coming along soon) could have used a clearer plotline and been an hour shorter. I hope the island witch-doctor lady isn't back for the third Great effects, just too much of them. This very long half of a movie (the other half will be coming along soon) could have used a clearer plotline and been an hour shorter. I hope the island witch-doctor lady isn't back for the third movie, or that they give her subtitles; I couldn't understand a word she said in her island accent. Next time, more Depp, less schlep! Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
JonnyBoyJul 10, 2006
Awesome movie. Not as good as the first.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
3
larryK.Jul 19, 2006
Loved the first Pirates. What a wonderfully original and entertaining movie it was and how enjoyable Johnny Depp was in that film. Therefore, it deeply saddens me to say that the sequel was nothing but a bunch of boring nonsense! And most Loved the first Pirates. What a wonderfully original and entertaining movie it was and how enjoyable Johnny Depp was in that film. Therefore, it deeply saddens me to say that the sequel was nothing but a bunch of boring nonsense! And most unfortunately, Johnny Depp wasn't able to recreate the magic that made Captain Jack Sparrow so lovable. I couldn't figure out if Cap'n Jack was supposed to be drugged, drunk, or gay. Depp apparently couldn't decide how to define Sparrow. But then I realized that he was just desperately trying to recapture the brilliance of his first performace Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
JimJul 20, 2006
"Surely, the public will think a sequel is just as good. All we have to do is make it look similar and fill it's extra long running time with pointless special effect battles! It worked for the Matrix films...right?" Seriously, I "Surely, the public will think a sequel is just as good. All we have to do is make it look similar and fill it's extra long running time with pointless special effect battles! It worked for the Matrix films...right?" Seriously, I don't think they had a clue what made the first film a hit. Even Johnny Depp is merely a weak charicature of himself from the first film. Like Matrix Reloaded, if there's no real substance behind the action, I don't give a damn about the action itself. If it's 5 minutes of action or 2.5 hours, the fact is I've seen computer effects before! It's just not thrilling watching action for actions sake, action is only thrilling if it has a purpose (ie, like in the first film). What in the world happened to all that other stuff that PotC got so right? A plot? Humor that isn't predictable and forced? Caring about the characters? You need the audience to want a certain outcome! All we're left with is a wait for the ending (and what a loooonng wait it is), which only blatantly reveals the justification for turning this into a trilogy: if you have a hit, milk it! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MichaelP.Jul 6, 2006
I LOVED THIS MOVIE! Better than the first in most way, I cannot wait for the final installment!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
StelP.Jul 6, 2006
I wanted to love this sequel SO BADLY, but unfortunately, it's a ponderous 2-1/2 hours that left me feeling flat and uninspired at the end. Weak screenplay, inconsistent cinematography, very little emotional attachment to any of the I wanted to love this sequel SO BADLY, but unfortunately, it's a ponderous 2-1/2 hours that left me feeling flat and uninspired at the end. Weak screenplay, inconsistent cinematography, very little emotional attachment to any of the main characters, and most importantly, not enough of the witty and sly side of Jack Sparrow. Did I mention that it's WAY too long?! After seeing the first one multiple times in theaters, I was waiting eagerly for that one on DVD. I have no such desire this time around, I'm sorry to say. Once was enough. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
PujaN.Jul 7, 2006
I don't know why people are going all crazy trying to judge and ridicule an a mere action flick. It keeps your eyes relatively pleased, yet storyline is somewhat predictable..but who can't fall in love with Johnny Dep's silly I don't know why people are going all crazy trying to judge and ridicule an a mere action flick. It keeps your eyes relatively pleased, yet storyline is somewhat predictable..but who can't fall in love with Johnny Dep's silly character? Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
NickJul 7, 2006
Just came back from seeing it, and I enjoyed this a lot more than the first one. :)
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BryceE.Jul 8, 2006
Davy Jones is awesome! Jack Sparrow seemed more goofy than cool, and the movie takes its time to get going, but the scenes featuring Davy Jones are just rad. Best "summer" movie by far. people taking this movie too seriously just need to chill.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
RaoG.Jul 8, 2006
The first movie was a revivial of the swashbuckling genre, bringing the right combination of action, comedy, drama, and characters making it a masterpiece. This movie need more time in development before it's release. The action The first movie was a revivial of the swashbuckling genre, bringing the right combination of action, comedy, drama, and characters making it a masterpiece. This movie need more time in development before it's release. The action sequences are silly and poorly shot, with over the top action in which characters are never in any real peral. The reliance of computer animated action sequences watered down the movie more dramatic moments. The entire movie was a simple set-up for the next, while at the same time doing absolutely no justice to the fantastic cast of characters established by the brilliant cast. The script lacked the magic of the original with dialogue that seemed to make a pale attempt to copy the original. The positives are the new charcters, who seem to all overshadow the main cast, the revival of the supporting cast of pirates, and the final shot of the movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MarkA.Jul 9, 2006
This movie was so GOOD! Ive seen it twice and cant wait for a third! Like others have said, I dont know what movie the critics saw because it wasnt this one...it might be too long for some people but I didnt feel it, its the most fun This movie was so GOOD! Ive seen it twice and cant wait for a third! Like others have said, I dont know what movie the critics saw because it wasnt this one...it might be too long for some people but I didnt feel it, its the most fun you'll have at the theater this summer...and the last minute will blow you away! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
PaulB.Jul 9, 2006
Long and boring. Not a funny as the first one and much darker.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
9
JackH.Jul 9, 2006
A terrific film simply in its change from the original. Rather than using the formula of many film series by making it just Curse of the Black Pearl with a different villain and more characters (which it seems at first), the film instead A terrific film simply in its change from the original. Rather than using the formula of many film series by making it just Curse of the Black Pearl with a different villain and more characters (which it seems at first), the film instead reinvents every element used in the original and simply adds to it. I have already seen it twice, and like the first, it can't be viewed just once. The main flaw in this film is the same as any second film in a planned trilogy: it cannot stand alone eg. Back to the Future Part II, The Empire Strikes Back. That said, it works brilliantly in the way it was intended: it gives us a more in depth look at the characters in play to prepare us for the final film. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
6
TyeN.Jul 9, 2006
I'm so very disappointed by this film. Before I went to see it, I re-watched the original. Even though I've seen the first 'Pirates' many times, I still laughed and found some of the set pieces exciting. However, "Dead I'm so very disappointed by this film. Before I went to see it, I re-watched the original. Even though I've seen the first 'Pirates' many times, I still laughed and found some of the set pieces exciting. However, "Dead Man's Chest" tries to do too much while not doing enough at the same time. It sounds confusing, but here's what I mean: Too much pointless action sequences (the ones that really bothered me were the many Kraken ones), too many split plot lines, too long of a running time. And there wasn't enough plot or character development (especially for Bootstrap Bill, Will Turner, Elizabeth Swan, Davy Jones, and the new character Lord Bennington), not enough laughs (it tries, but many jokes come off as lame), not enough fun (much of the film actually feels like work to watch.) Although there are enjoyable moments (the cannibal island, just looking at the awesome CG, the big fight near the end of the film for the chest) there just weren't enough. I wanted to love, but I only ended up kinda liking it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AaronJul 9, 2006
In a single word: Fantastic.
2 of 3 users found this helpful
9
TheoL.Jul 9, 2006
Don't buy into all the negative and lukewarm reviews the "professional" critics are giving this film. Dead Man's Chest is an absolute blast!
2 of 2 users found this helpful
4
RyanJ.Aug 23, 2006
in most of my reviews i have praised movies but this is one of the worst, i was so dissapointed with this movie after the brilliance of the first movie, i must say if johnny depp wasn't in the movie the movie would be pathetic. He was in most of my reviews i have praised movies but this is one of the worst, i was so dissapointed with this movie after the brilliance of the first movie, i must say if johnny depp wasn't in the movie the movie would be pathetic. He was the most lively part of the film and as usual was comical and interresting, the part that let the film down the most was the story line, it had no direction and never really showed any chance of ending or evn really hitting that 'wow' factor like the first film, overall dissapointing and hopefully if they make the first it will be more like the first film and nothing like this film! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
CalTranAug 27, 2006
It was so bad i went to the bathroom twice, and the second time i didn't even need to. I just needed a break from the rediculousness. I didn't fall asleep but I wish I had. It would have made the time pass faster. Save your money. It was so bad i went to the bathroom twice, and the second time i didn't even need to. I just needed a break from the rediculousness. I didn't fall asleep but I wish I had. It would have made the time pass faster. Save your money. This ones a turkey. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
1
DuayneJ.Sep 6, 2006
Very boring and lame. Lots of effects, if you care about that.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
5
JPPaxtonNov 6, 2006
Usually sequels don't surpass the greatness and originality their predecessors establish. 'Pirates of the Caribbean: Dead Man's Chest' doesn't fail to follow suit. From the trailers it appears to be an exciting Usually sequels don't surpass the greatness and originality their predecessors establish. 'Pirates of the Caribbean: Dead Man's Chest' doesn't fail to follow suit. From the trailers it appears to be an exciting thrill ride loaded with tons of merriment. But in reality its a two hour and thirty five minute foreseeable film filled with humdrum antics and sleep inducing banter. The first 'Pirates' was absolutely one hundred percent far more delightful. Before it, a character with humor and essence such as Captain Jack Sparrow hadn't been seen in cinema. A once amusing and engaging Jack is now just plain annoying. Here in 'Dead Man's Chest' his foolhardy, joker demeanor only halts the story as it attempts to progress. In addition, average acting and direction are dishearteningly unveiled. The only pleasing aspects presented are the outstanding visuals and devilishly good villain Davy Jones. I'm afraid neither of these ingredients are able to save this mess of a film from sinking though. The bottom line is, 'Dead Man's Chest' is nothing more than a film built on hype and in the end has no real substance. "I think the second movie is strong and clever and has a lot going on", said director Gore Verbinski in an October interview last year when speaking about 'Pirates'. Apparently this version of the film didn't make the final cut. Even so, 'Dead Man's Chest' will without a doubt continue to dominate at the movies and make other summer releases walk the plank at the box office. I don't think even Colin Farrell and Jamie Foxx's big screen adaptation of 'Miami Vice' will be able to decimate it when released this Friday. I guess I can give Verbinski some credit though. It's pretty amazing to see a film with video-game logic that's created from zip do so tremendous. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
JaredJul 11, 2006
To sum it up in a sentence: Contained within the movie is a great movie but its buried or more appropriately drowned in subplots, excessive action sequences, terrible pacing, and silly fish pirates.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
4
JuniorL.Jul 10, 2006
A complete waste of Johnny Depp's talent and he's the only reason to see, although Orlando Bloom has potential. When your characters have to explain what is going on in the movie, you know you're in over your head. They could A complete waste of Johnny Depp's talent and he's the only reason to see, although Orlando Bloom has potential. When your characters have to explain what is going on in the movie, you know you're in over your head. They could have easily deleted about a 1/3 of this movie and it would have been barely entertaining. I was a big fan of the first Pirate's and the first to see this on Friday and I will definitely tell everyone I know, not to waste their time and $10. They can rent it and do laundry while they have it on in the background and they won't miss much. At least the popcorn was good. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
PhilipW.Jul 10, 2006
This was a pathetic attempt at Adventure for Adventure's sake. Anyone who likes this film is a vacuous imp. Do us a favor, film-makers, please spare us from the inevitable roasted feces that one should expect in the final installment.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
8
FantasyJul 11, 2006
Pirates 2 was a bit long and dragged at some points but still was great fun. The trilogy is no more as by breaking all the records they have changed it into two more flicks. Keith Richards has already signed on to play Captain Jack's Pirates 2 was a bit long and dragged at some points but still was great fun. The trilogy is no more as by breaking all the records they have changed it into two more flicks. Keith Richards has already signed on to play Captain Jack's father which should be a hoot. But for now this Pirates is very long and some of it should have been left on the cutting room floor. But for those of you who hated it, don't take this movie too seriously, because it is nothing more than an amusement ride. Just bring the popcorn, sit back and enjoy. Johnny Depp steals the show. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
HayleyC.Jul 11, 2006
Phillip W.. if you didnt like it.. fine, say what it is you didnt like and leave it at that no need to diss the movie, or those that like(ed) it, it was very much a set up for the last in the trilogy and more script would have been nice. but Phillip W.. if you didnt like it.. fine, say what it is you didnt like and leave it at that no need to diss the movie, or those that like(ed) it, it was very much a set up for the last in the trilogy and more script would have been nice. but it was FUN.. stop expecting this movie to have been all deep and meaningful...it was supposed to be exciting, fun, eye candy.. and it WAS. sheesh enjoy yourself for a change - cant wait for the 3rd. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
GrantB.Jul 10, 2006
Confusing/Slow Moving/Orlando Bloom can't act.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JoanJul 10, 2006
How much more bang for your buck could you ask for? In 2+ hours you get some action, some comedy, lots of adventure, and 3 very beautiful people playing pirates. It's not Shakespeare, but it's not Battlefield Earth either.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
PurseyH.Jul 11, 2006
I thought it was very entertaining, as you can see by the customer reviews alot of people agree. The point is its a movie that is definitely worth seeing and who knows, if you can put all these bad reviews out of your head and get your own I thought it was very entertaining, as you can see by the customer reviews alot of people agree. The point is its a movie that is definitely worth seeing and who knows, if you can put all these bad reviews out of your head and get your own oppinion on it, mabey you'll really like it. I did. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
TanyaJ.Jul 12, 2006
Frankly, while i didnt really expect this movie to surpass the first one, it still appalled me. out of all the sequels ive seen, this has got to be one of the worst. cheap, overused puns, a lame storyline and no originality whatsoever madeFrankly, while i didnt really expect this movie to surpass the first one, it still appalled me. out of all the sequels ive seen, this has got to be one of the worst. cheap, overused puns, a lame storyline and no originality whatsoever made this movie completely unwatchable. this film should come with a "May cause cerebral bleeding!" warning. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
TonyL.Jul 12, 2006
Reasons why this film didn't work for me. 1) I loved Johnny Depp's take on Capt. Sparrow in the first film. Now it is old hat. 2) Kiera K. was a fresh new face in the first film, but she really didn't add anything new to the Reasons why this film didn't work for me. 1) I loved Johnny Depp's take on Capt. Sparrow in the first film. Now it is old hat. 2) Kiera K. was a fresh new face in the first film, but she really didn't add anything new to the role this time. 3) Norrington worked much better as a starchy British officer. 4) Directors must really figure out when to say when there is enough special effects. 5) You really cared about Capt. Barbosa and the rest of the crew in the last film, not so much in this one 6) Can't anybody edit anymore? This type of movie doesn't need to be over 2+30 hours! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
LorileeO.Jul 10, 2006
I don't know why so many are harping on the 2 1/2 hour run time - this seems to be in line with other blockbusters (Superman Returns, King Kong, Lord of the Rings, Star Wars, Titanic etc.) - I didn't notice all the complaining I don't know why so many are harping on the 2 1/2 hour run time - this seems to be in line with other blockbusters (Superman Returns, King Kong, Lord of the Rings, Star Wars, Titanic etc.) - I didn't notice all the complaining then! The movie provides exactly what viewers want from this sort of story - fascinating venues, high intensity special effects, loads of action, solid humor, romance, and a touch of horror. What more could you want of a action/adveture pirate movie? Johnny Depp is spectacular, as are the witch lady, Kiera and Orlando. The wait to see #3 is going to kill me! No, it didn't have any serious, life changing subplots or morals, but it was not meant to. All the key players stayed true to their character. The effects were amazing. For me, the 2 1/2 hours whizzed by. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
DanF.Jul 12, 2006
[***SPOILER***] I be a pirate, and I think this film be ye accurate representation of the day to day life of ye average deckhand. Therefore, a 9 I give this documentary about the life, and apparent greusome death, of my captain, jack sparrow.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
CraigAaen-S.Jul 12, 2006
Overly complex and 'epic'. WAAYYY too scary for a PG-13. Several families had to leave the cinema I was in after kids were terrified by birds pecking out eyeballs, faceless corpses and all other manner of grotesque images. Made ME Overly complex and 'epic'. WAAYYY too scary for a PG-13. Several families had to leave the cinema I was in after kids were terrified by birds pecking out eyeballs, faceless corpses and all other manner of grotesque images. Made ME feel slightly sick. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JeffW.Jul 10, 2006
Whoaaa! Give me a break p-l-e-a-s-e-! Okay, it's not as good as the first (10) but they never are. It is a close second however and definitely does not deserve anything less than that. I watched it last night, came home and seen that Whoaaa! Give me a break p-l-e-a-s-e-! Okay, it's not as good as the first (10) but they never are. It is a close second however and definitely does not deserve anything less than that. I watched it last night, came home and seen that this movie broke the record three-day take for any movie ever. The people have voiced their opinion. The critics and their ilk need to lighten up! :) Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
JohnP.Jul 13, 2006
Sattles viewers to their seats with big budget action yet seemingly fails to satisfy in any way.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
GaryS.Jul 13, 2006
Interesting special effects, but we walked out after an hour. Very confusing plot or no plot.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
DeezerD.Jul 14, 2006
I'm really not sure how people are -that- confused about this plot. Sure, it's a little sloppy, but come on people.... this isn't very difficult to understand. In fact, it's not even that important to understand every I'm really not sure how people are -that- confused about this plot. Sure, it's a little sloppy, but come on people.... this isn't very difficult to understand. In fact, it's not even that important to understand every detail of the story to enjoy the movie. Take this film for what it is -- mindless, meaningless? Sure. Entertaining and fun? Yep. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
4345Jul 15, 2006
The movie felt long. Given the many plots and subplots going about it is a bit overwhelming to digest all of the information you're given in one sitting. While the action is entertaining and the special effects are very well done, it The movie felt long. Given the many plots and subplots going about it is a bit overwhelming to digest all of the information you're given in one sitting. While the action is entertaining and the special effects are very well done, it also begins to wear a bit thin by movie's end. Quantity over quality pervades much of the movie. Davy Jones was very well done, as were repeat performances from previous characters of the first pirates.. but stitching together all of the old characters felt a bit convoluted at times. Entertaining, worth seeing, a bit long and some nonsense. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
HadenJul 10, 2006
I thought it hit the spot not like that boring Superman Returns with its wooden indian acting and no plot. Pirates is great all around fun and the action is non stop. Johnny Depp as Captain Jack Sparrow steals the screen each and every time I thought it hit the spot not like that boring Superman Returns with its wooden indian acting and no plot. Pirates is great all around fun and the action is non stop. Johnny Depp as Captain Jack Sparrow steals the screen each and every time he appears. The rest of the cast is essentially worthless. I wish it had gone on and on as the audience I watched it with loved it. Great popcorn fun. Don't miss it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
ClintM.Jul 15, 2006
Absolutely loved this one! the special f/x were incredible, Johnny Depp proves again that he earned that Oscar nomination for Sparrow, and the action is great!! Go see it!!!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
KarenS.Jul 16, 2006
"Take what you can. Give nothing back." This sequel is the worst kind of movie making. To betray your audience's anticipation of a second entertaining and well-crafted movie by giving them one with no plot, no character development, and "Take what you can. Give nothing back." This sequel is the worst kind of movie making. To betray your audience's anticipation of a second entertaining and well-crafted movie by giving them one with no plot, no character development, and the witless rehash of previous jokes, simply to make a buck, is itself an act of piracy. Disney isn't going to profit on my dollar again unless I benefit from the exchange, too. When they make another Pirates movie that is smart, funny, and well-written, I'll go see it. Until then, I'm sticking with Pixar. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
BrianK.Jul 17, 2006
John T. to answer your question, Jack the Monkey was seen stealing a gold coin and re-turning Undead after the credits rolled in the first movie... Okay, Hard to say that this was an action movie, inaction was more like it, and the fact this John T. to answer your question, Jack the Monkey was seen stealing a gold coin and re-turning Undead after the credits rolled in the first movie... Okay, Hard to say that this was an action movie, inaction was more like it, and the fact this movie dragged so much is what hurt it the most I think. What made the first so great was it was dumb, fast, funny, shiny good fun the sequel was shiny but just dumb, I can't say I outright disliked this movie, I enjoyed moments, the story at times was good and the FX were Special. But I was yawning quite a bit during the Movie... lets hope the third installment is quite a bit better (I digged the surprise cliff hanger) ...despite So-So reviews this is the top grossing movie of all time it looks like, so Bruckheimer and Gore have nothing to be ashamed about, and Johnny Depp is now the biggest draw in the Universe. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
BenS.Jul 18, 2006
Don't get me wrong, Curse of the Black Pearl is one of my favorite movies, but this sequel was abysmal. First of all, the movie was all over the place. They kept jumping between plot lines, and in one case (can't specify without Don't get me wrong, Curse of the Black Pearl is one of my favorite movies, but this sequel was abysmal. First of all, the movie was all over the place. They kept jumping between plot lines, and in one case (can't specify without spoilers) they seem to totally forget a plot element. The movie did not feel like the first. It's true it had the same characters and setting as the first film, but you need more than that for a good sequel. I was expecting more of a good thing, and I came out terribly disappointed. Disney has a chance to redeem themselves with the third movie, here's hoping they don't screw that one up too. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
MarkB.Jul 18, 2006
Remember the 1970s, when most movie sequels, like Jaws 2, Walking Tall and the Dirty Harry followup Magnum Force, were faint echoes of the originals, usually made by clock-punchers with nowhere near the skill or imagination of the original Remember the 1970s, when most movie sequels, like Jaws 2, Walking Tall and the Dirty Harry followup Magnum Force, were faint echoes of the originals, usually made by clock-punchers with nowhere near the skill or imagination of the original directors? Nowadays, movie sequels couldn't be any farther removed; they're part of franchises now, and so they crank up the budget and production values to give the audience more of the same, only much more, in large part because stock values and jobs are so heavily dependent on their success at topping the originals. The fact that Pirates of the Caribbean: Dead Man's Chest scored a now-legendary record-smashing debut weekend definitely promises more of the same in summers to come: Jerry Bruckheimer and Gore Verbinski have certainly ratcheted up the action set pieces (the three-man water-wheel duel IS a standout), and the CGI denizens of the deep, including the vengeful gigantic squid and Davy Jones' fishy navy are effectively detailed, gooey and gross enough to turn many of us seafood lovers into strict followers of Hebrew dietary laws. However, two elements that have conversely (and curiously) been reduced from the original are the plot, which in POTC1 managed to be refreshingly challenging and complex especially for a summer popcorn movie, and here is merely an excuse to jump from one big special effects sequence to another, and, ironically, the presence of Jack Sparrow himself (excuse me, CAPTAIN Jack Sparrow). This is peculiar because Johnny Depp's interpretation of the character (NOT the action, effects, or ANY of the costars, as a cursory look at the box office of Keira Knightley's or Orlando Bloom's other films will readily reveal) is what MADE the original THE definitive summer flick of 2003: Depp's work was so simultaneously bizarre, original and yet totally accessible that millions of moviegoers simultaneously claimed it as their own original discovery. Part of Depp's genius was that the made Sparrow both the comic relief AND the hero; he appeared to be a foppish, clueless buffoon, but he was in control at every turn. Here, Sparrow seems too often to be merely peripheral to the action, and his intelligence is noticeably diminished; watching such bits as this installment's cannibal sequence, I found myself being reminded too often of Wile E. Coyote. I enjoyed POTC2 enough on a big, dumb special effects movie level (and truly appreciated that they brought back my favorite supporting character from the original, the genuinely classy Disposable Fiance Norrington, even if I wasn't entirely thrilled by what they have his character do here) that these reservations are more observations than actual criticisms...but there's no real excuse to have the ending turn into the most shameless, blatant plug for Numero THree-O since Back to the Future 2 back in 1989. Shouldn't moviegoers with even more mixed responses to POTC2 than I had, and therefore DON'T plan to partake of POTC3 be entitled to get at least 20% of their money back? Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
GrifterW.Jul 18, 2006
Truly a high seas adventure with plenty of great twists and turns in the plot, great comedic devices and a great set of actors I truly enjoyed Dead Man's Chest and I am surprised that many critics did not. Johnny Depp has created his on Truly a high seas adventure with plenty of great twists and turns in the plot, great comedic devices and a great set of actors I truly enjoyed Dead Man's Chest and I am surprised that many critics did not. Johnny Depp has created his on persona as Jack Sparrow whose crude, slurred remarks and facial expressions alone try to stand to make him the center point of the movie which is how this edition should be. But as comedic as he is, Orlando Bloom and Kiera Knightly actually compete in his misadventurous comedy in this one as opposed to the first one. Decorated with the numerous side actors of the film I enjoyed watching it, and during most of the scenes I was laughing so hard I was almost on the floor. The comedy may seem to be 'Over the top' to most, but in my opinion I think that's how they designed Jack Sparrow to be. The villians are excellently designed, especially Davey Jones whose octopus face is excellent and creepy at the same time. I saw from other reviews I wasn't the only one to note that his eyes stood out from the character in fact making a character of themselves! The plot seems to be a bit rushed when introducing Elizabeth and Will in the beginning, but if they spent twenty minutes explaining what was happening before the rain started to fall it would have probably tipped the tide of the movie opinions. Truly their sense of timing was excellent and by the ratings of 250M$ in a full week it must be saying they've done something right! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
SteveE.Jul 20, 2006
Just a long commerical for the next movie (of course there will be one)
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
JakobK.Jul 20, 2006
I didn't expect too much of this movie, seeing as how I wasn't particularly impressed by the first one, but it turned out to be a lot better than I thought. The action scenes are exciting, intelligent, and funny, the characters are I didn't expect too much of this movie, seeing as how I wasn't particularly impressed by the first one, but it turned out to be a lot better than I thought. The action scenes are exciting, intelligent, and funny, the characters are well-written as well as well-acted, and the film is visually very impressive. Some of the story is a bit confusing Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ClydeM>Jul 21, 2006
It was awesome. Although it didnt have the spark the first one did it hall allot of other things to make up for it!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
KathyP.Jul 21, 2006
Perfect summer escapism. Depp is right on target!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
MaryG.Jul 21, 2006
A fun and hilarious romp, perfect summer entertainment for the whole family. Can't wait for the grand finale next summer! Depp, Knightley, Nighy, Harris - all gave engaging performances. The only problems with it: not enough Capt. Jack A fun and hilarious romp, perfect summer entertainment for the whole family. Can't wait for the grand finale next summer! Depp, Knightley, Nighy, Harris - all gave engaging performances. The only problems with it: not enough Capt. Jack and too much Will. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
KevinK.Jul 20, 2006
Some people seem to really hate this movie, but I don't see what all the hubub is about. It's supposed to be a summer blockbuster, not an arthouse treatise on the pirate-loot dynamics of the final years of sea exploration (which Some people seem to really hate this movie, but I don't see what all the hubub is about. It's supposed to be a summer blockbuster, not an arthouse treatise on the pirate-loot dynamics of the final years of sea exploration (which probably wouldn't have been a very different movie, anyway). No one will be winning any awards for dramatic acting, but everyone makes their roles entertaining, despite having to watch them play their simple archetypes (Bloom is good guy pirate, Depp is dashing rogue pirate, Knightley is damsel not-so-much-in-distress, etc.) for more than two hours. The start is sloooooow, but once the action starts its a fun ride until the end. It shouldn't be expected to be or considered anything more than an attempt to make a fun movie. See it if you want a fun little puff piece to fill an afternoon, not because you want to see Citizen Cane with pirates. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
AngM.Jul 22, 2006
"Dead Man's Chest" was dumbed-down yet hard to follow. Hardly any of the plot elements made sense, the monstrous characters' (including Capt. Jack) accents were at times impossible to understand, and the lull in excitement in the "Dead Man's Chest" was dumbed-down yet hard to follow. Hardly any of the plot elements made sense, the monstrous characters' (including Capt. Jack) accents were at times impossible to understand, and the lull in excitement in the film's middle hour was unbearable. I can't believe this mess was the best Verbinski could do with this unique franchise. I feel ripped off. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
1
ArmenS.Jul 23, 2006
Interesting, sometimes beautiful, sometimes distracting visuals. I give it a one due to the times the visuals did look good. But other than that, i disliked just about everything else about this Pirates movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
CharlotteH.Jul 27, 2006
This movie delivers more great, tongue-in-cheek, swashbuckling action in the same vein as "Black Pearl", and has even more spectacular visuals! Sure, I felt a little cheated by the cliff-hanger ending, but I'm not so indignant that I This movie delivers more great, tongue-in-cheek, swashbuckling action in the same vein as "Black Pearl", and has even more spectacular visuals! Sure, I felt a little cheated by the cliff-hanger ending, but I'm not so indignant that I won't shell out my money to see "Pirates III" next year. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
KyleC.Jul 27, 2006
I was not the least bit impressed. This lacks any of the freshness or inventiveness of the first. Purely derivative stuff.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
ShawnJul 28, 2006
C'mon people - it's a summer movie and you were forewarned (from how the last movie played) that this movie is heavy on the visuals, effects, etc. and not as big on plot. Keep in mind to that this really more Part 2a, with Part 2b C'mon people - it's a summer movie and you were forewarned (from how the last movie played) that this movie is heavy on the visuals, effects, etc. and not as big on plot. Keep in mind to that this really more Part 2a, with Part 2b coming out next summer, than it is a stand alone sequel. [***SPOILERS***] OK - onto the review: this movie gives you everything you expected from a "Pirates of the Carribean" sequel: fierce battles, intrigue, plot twists, unrequited love, great sailing scenes...I could go on. Johnny Depp returns as our favorite pirate captain and he does not disappoint. He maintains his character's odd habits and mysterious ways and you are always trying to guess which side he is really on. The biggest character development is Keira Knightley's Elizabeth Swan. In the first "Pirates", she hints at the tough as nails "take-no-prisoners" woman her character wants to be - in the second movie, we see it come to the forefront. The only character who really remains the same is Will Turner, who is once again ably played by Orlando Bloom. Admittedly, Bloom's character experiences one of the major plot twists, but he continues to play Turner as a highly resourceful man of principle who will not allow convention to get in the way of doing what he believes is right. All in all, I found Dead Man's Chest to be a highly satisfying follow up to the first "Pirates" and I am eagerly anticipating next summer's finale. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
SarahJul 29, 2006
The only reason i really enjoyed this movie at all was because it was the sequel to pirates 1. watching it i was kind of disappointing. the story got a little lost throughout the movie and i sortof forgot what was happening with the movie atThe only reason i really enjoyed this movie at all was because it was the sequel to pirates 1. watching it i was kind of disappointing. the story got a little lost throughout the movie and i sortof forgot what was happening with the movie at some parts. the ending to me was one of the best parts. and i think that the third movie is going to be better than the second. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
TannerR.Jul 6, 2006
Bloody brilliant. I am going to see it for a third time tonight!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
BrockL.Jul 6, 2006
It was endlessly entertaining,more entertaining and fun than anything all year.Not even the Man of Steel could pull this off. With all the cast returning and more,this is a joy ride that you have to pay twice to fully experience it and feel It was endlessly entertaining,more entertaining and fun than anything all year.Not even the Man of Steel could pull this off. With all the cast returning and more,this is a joy ride that you have to pay twice to fully experience it and feel it.I was astounded and rocked.This film was awesome. The film begins after seeing Jack Sparow settling down with his ship and crew,while Elizabeth and Will Turner have settled down as well.But things of course can't be well for a damn Pirate,when a squid like pirate Davvy Jones reminds Jack that he has a debt to pay.So,of course ,the dishonestly honest Jack must seek help from Elizabeth and Will Turner and there we go again.Another wild ride that will simply leave you speechless. There's everything here for everyone.The thing that Superman Slightly lacked.Colorful ,fun Characters,smart dialogues,great epic-sized action.And of course,some really ,really awe-inspiring CGI effects. There are twists and surprising turns,especially towards the end ,where the fun gets even better ,scene after scene.Something great is always popping up. A far superior sequel than its already splendid first installment,we all loved the first one.And it concludes with a cliffhanger to leave you thirsty for the third.It's the kind of cliffhanger that Reloaded gave us,but its final installment didn't live up to expectations.But I can say this much that ,this films finale,or final installment will rock the world. The Production designs,the sets were unbelievable!They were breath taking.They were so elaborate and detailed that they meet the standards of LORD OF THE RINGS films.It gives the film an other-worldly look.As if the characters were in some kind of a fantasy world. Thank someone,that we have a versatile actor like Johnny Depp.The only actor who I would thank.Having his presence throughout the film was like having a magician constantly pulling out tricks that are all satisfying.Depp,is the first and best reason to watch this film,just like the first one.Knightley is a surprise here.The first one didn't develop her character much,but here she elevates and pushes the boundaries.She really has a lot to do here.Bloom was just like he was in the first one.But his character discovers something that will leave the audience surprised.That is his father.What a surprise it was to finally see the legendary Bootstrap Bill,and Sarsgard was perfection.And then there is the always fabulous Billy Nighy.Where the first one had Geoffrey Rush,here we have Nighy to give you a great baddie.Who never had disappointed me with his performance.So goes for the rest of the cast with a few new additions,such as Naomi Harris. Kudos,to Director Gore Verbinski,and Producer Bruckheimer and Ted Elliot& Terry Rosio for their smart,witty writing.They all give you the very definition of "sequels better than the original".They give you a grand spectacle.They really give you everything you deserve to get from a summer Blockbuster.It's a film that we deserve after numerous Blockbusters that didn't fully satisfied us.This film boosts a better score than the first one too. This one is purely fantasy.The Squid looking Pirates are hardly believable,I mean did they ever existed in really world?Whereas the first one had a more believable Bad Pirates.In this film,the Pirates are more Fantasy-like.And somehow detaches itself from reality.It doesn't occur to you that this might've happened.I mean Pirates that look like squids can hardly be bought.It features a lot more weird creatures,that are actually pirates and more.Giant sea monsters and creatures that are very well created with CGI.And that's one of the few big flaws this film has.It doesn't make itself realistic,nor does it take itself too seriously.When there's something dramatic and serious is suppose to happen.And yes,it's a lot more darker than the first one. Way dark.Don't bring those kids of yours,or they'll hate pirates and their misadventures. Yet,this is a splendid entertainer.It's funny,exciting,fast-paced even with 2 hours plus length.It's simply great.This film features more than you could ask for.Those 2 and a half hours in the dark will keep you thrilled throughout.This year's greatest entertainment is here and will knock you flat.I've seen many Blockbusters, from V for Vendetta,to MI3,Da Vinci to X3 to Superman returns.But none could achieve the satisfaction as this Pirates sequel did.So,it's not all that risky to trust the bloody Pirates after all. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
LukeM.Jul 7, 2006
Reading the reviews of POTC:DMC left me weary as I left for the theater. Aside from Apocalypto and The Fountain, this was the first film of the year I had been looking forward too. I am happy to say it does not disappoint. POTC:DMC is full Reading the reviews of POTC:DMC left me weary as I left for the theater. Aside from Apocalypto and The Fountain, this was the first film of the year I had been looking forward too. I am happy to say it does not disappoint. POTC:DMC is full of the humor that made the first film so appealing, doubles the action, and delivers better performances all around. One of the main complaints is concerned with the films running time. Yes, Pirates runs two and a half hours, but after watching it, I was hungry for more. This is one of those films that should not be judged on it's intellect, but on it's ability to deliver entertainment. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
CherryJul 7, 2006
the characters were cool...but they spent 2 much time making the characters cool..that they forgot the plot!! i think the first one was better..the second one was pretty good but could of been better!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
TonydannieJul 7, 2006
[***SPOILERS***] Oh Jack Sparrow. You have come back once again to grace the screen with all your rum loving attitude. But why oh why did you have to go to that island where the natives think you are a god? The film starts out like any [***SPOILERS***] Oh Jack Sparrow. You have come back once again to grace the screen with all your rum loving attitude. But why oh why did you have to go to that island where the natives think you are a god? The film starts out like any sequel does. You get re-united(not re-introduced) With the characters from the previous swashbuckling adventure and alot of this and alot of that happens and the movie continues to(you only hope)move forward. Aside from seeng Depp as the rum loving pirate The first quarter of the movie tries desperately to be funny.That's whats hurting it at this point. The natives in this island think that Sparrow is a god but they have to cook him and eat him to release him from his human shell. Well That sounds fine and good but it just draggs for quite a bit too long. overfilled with jokes making it a bit too (here i go using this word that many pepole have thrown around a little too much this past week with another summer blockbuster release) CAMPY! It is to this point where we see Jack Sparrow not as the greatest Pirate that ever lived..but the most idiotic! Lucky for us Our heroes leave this Island and it's natives behind and we get our good ol' pal Jack just as we remember him. Cunning, Mischievious, and yes..Drunk. Aside from the Island sequence. I was affraid I was going to hate this movie. But as soon as discussions of Davey Jones kick in and the Dead Man's chest is out and about. The movie picks up with the same energy that made the original so much fun to watch. Lots Of Special Effects filled action and Davey JOnes Alone is worth a look. which he is played by none other the Bill "VIKTOR" Nighy. The man is one of the greats in my book. and There is this amazing scene with a sea monster that swallows boats whole. I know what it is called i just don't want to spell it right now. So if you are looking for a good time. I say yes..go see. Pirates 2. But remember it will take a bit of time for the movie to get there. And you are going to love the Ending. Like The Lord of the rings, Back to the future and yes, even the matrix. This ending is going to make you say "WHAT?" Have fun! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
DrSnugglesJul 7, 2006
It took a while to get going and could have done with some editing but I thought this was smashing fun and the Kraken was wicked. Cars and SR haven't come out in the UK yet but this is the best blockbuster so far this Summer (although It took a while to get going and could have done with some editing but I thought this was smashing fun and the Kraken was wicked. Cars and SR haven't come out in the UK yet but this is the best blockbuster so far this Summer (although admittedly that is not saying much) Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
MartyJ.Jul 7, 2006
A Bigger Version of The First Film, I Didnt like the love triangle between Jack,Elizabeth and Will. Otherwise Just As Enjoyable As the first... And After the Ending I Cant wait for No.3.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
VladimirG.Jul 7, 2006
Poor writing, some poor CGI, poor plot structure and arch, but if I told you I didn't enjoy it I would be lying. Listen, this is a movie based on a theme park ride, so if you're going there to see anything more than cheap yet funny Poor writing, some poor CGI, poor plot structure and arch, but if I told you I didn't enjoy it I would be lying. Listen, this is a movie based on a theme park ride, so if you're going there to see anything more than cheap yet funny jokes and silly action sequences you're probably a moron. I had a great time. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
JohnB.Jul 7, 2006
Dead Man's Chest was a movie I really tried to like but after two and a half hours in the theater I found this to be no more than mediocre. We are supposed to like Jack Sparrow right? That's why we came to see the movie right? Dead Man's Chest was a movie I really tried to like but after two and a half hours in the theater I found this to be no more than mediocre. We are supposed to like Jack Sparrow right? That's why we came to see the movie right? Well, it was unfortunate to see Depp's character slip towards the endless gags and while the infamous captain we all came to love still brings some great moments I couldn't help but feel like it was stale. Orlando Bloom has yet to impress me as an actor. Perhaps a really nice hat might have been the trick. Keira Kightley brings us everything we had expected in Elizabeth Swann. It's too bad the chemistry between the characters that seemed to work in the first one seems to have been overdone in Dead Man's Chest. There were more awkward moments in this film than there should have been. I enjoyed the salty sea creatures of Davy Jones and the monster they enjoy to unleash, but the action in this movie was far too relentless. The pacing really started to veer off course too much. Also, is it too much to ask for more additions to the score? I would prefer to not to hear a rehash of the same music from the previous movie. Overall, there are enough decent lines to create a new book of pirate phrases with the same wit that made the first movie interesting, but with too much action, unclear character motivations and running gags, Dead Man's Chest verges far too close to collapsing on itself. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AshleyJul 7, 2006
If I could give this movie any rating (not just 1-10) it would still be off the charts. I went to the midnight premiere and it was a blast. You don't get that kind of energy in a room unless it's at a midnight show. It was a crazy If I could give this movie any rating (not just 1-10) it would still be off the charts. I went to the midnight premiere and it was a blast. You don't get that kind of energy in a room unless it's at a midnight show. It was a crazy theater full of people who are just in love with Pirates: amazing. People wildly cheered the new grand entrance of Captain Jack Sparrow, weren't afraid to let loose laughing, and just totally enjoyed the ride from stop to finish. I'll admit the beginning was a bit disorientating, and I found myself longing for a clear day on the horizon instead of being below decks for the entire film. It was only in the first 20 minutes when I actually doubted the plotline of the film. Imagine that: doubting two of the greatest writers in Hollywood, not to mention some of the best actors. Now there's a laugh. But as soon as Depp appeared, everyone was in high spirits. The stunts and swordfights were all amazing, as they should be. This sequel includes a host of new characters, most notably a wacky fortune-teller, a colonial lord intent on "justice", and old Bootstrap Turner. We find one character from the previous film in Tortuga, definitely worse for wear, and his character's personality has undergone a complete development stage. It makes for one very interesting clash onscreen, let me tell you. And the Kraken.... oh man, if there's ever been a granddaddy of sea monsters, this is it. That monstrosity rips ships apart in nigh ten seconds. We can truly see why they say Davy Jones rules the seas with a beast like that at his command. Jack Sparrow actually stays a good man to the end (with some assistance from Elizabeth of course), and the twist at the end is enough to rock you until Memorial Day weekend 2007. With all these twists and turns, that means you have to keep up with the story as you're going through all of the different plots. It's one helluva ride though, and better than the first. Cheers. And remember: Hide the rum!! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
AaronE.Jul 7, 2006
Too long, not funny, no plot, and it makes no sense unless you've seen the first one.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
ChuckyoJul 8, 2006
The first half of the film drags, but the second half is great. The film definitely could have been cut down to a shorter running time.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BlackA.Jul 8, 2006
I saw POTC:DMC this evening and I loved the film. I left the theatre wanting more and ready for the next installment. . .immediately. It's funny, I didn't go into the theatre with high expectations, somewhat mindful of the the I saw POTC:DMC this evening and I loved the film. I left the theatre wanting more and ready for the next installment. . .immediately. It's funny, I didn't go into the theatre with high expectations, somewhat mindful of the the lackluster movie reviews in the press. Having said that, I have no idea what crawled up the collective a**es of the majority of the movie critics and got caught in their sphincters. I guess some of them have no sense of fun or something. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
DavidG.Jul 8, 2006
In my opinion the first quarter of the movie lacked the PoTC finesse which the first movie showed so brilliantly, but it was still interesting albeit it was a little confusing here and there. The rest of the movie was sheer brilliance as it In my opinion the first quarter of the movie lacked the PoTC finesse which the first movie showed so brilliantly, but it was still interesting albeit it was a little confusing here and there. The rest of the movie was sheer brilliance as it was polished all around. It had action perhpas better than any movies so far this year, an excellent atmosphere, some nicely thrown in humor, and an overall pleasing storyline. So if you were a fan of PoTC 1, do yourself a favour, and go see this movie. PS: Hahah hey Carson, camping was awesome! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
ShellyN.Jul 8, 2006
Yes, it was long, but I was thrilled to be watching this entertaining movie the entire time. Movies like this are as essential to summer as a trip to Dairy Queen -- you know it's not the best quality, but for pure fun and escapism it Yes, it was long, but I was thrilled to be watching this entertaining movie the entire time. Movies like this are as essential to summer as a trip to Dairy Queen -- you know it's not the best quality, but for pure fun and escapism it can't be beat. Johnny Depp is excellent, Bill Nighy somehow manages to show his great personality through the craziest prostheic ever and the the supporting pirates are gleefully fun to watch. This isn't trying to be high art, I don't think people should judge it as such. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
J.LohmannJul 8, 2006
Great Movir. Depp is fantastic and funny. Finally, a great summer movie!!!!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
PrattJul 8, 2006
I can't believe i'm hearing all this whining...anyone who claimed to have had a boring time watching this movie must have drunk a fifth of nyquil before sitting down in the theatre. As far as a plot goes yes the story arc is weak, I can't believe i'm hearing all this whining...anyone who claimed to have had a boring time watching this movie must have drunk a fifth of nyquil before sitting down in the theatre. As far as a plot goes yes the story arc is weak, and yes the characters are underdeveloped, but the first one wasn't made famous for script depth...it was made famous because it was so fun to watch. And, you now what, as a sequel it more than delivers back twice of the enjoyment of the first one. Seeing Johnny Depp prancing around and finding himself a new scapegoat is hilarious simply because he plays the part so well. Also anyone who said the CGI was bad surely must need eyeglasses...i found myself fascinated by Davey jones and his nautical cohorts. Also, the Jones character was made even better for me thanks to some spot on voice acting by Bill Nighy. Also, i noticed many complaining about the length of the film, the two plus hours was fine with me, because unlike some bloated superhero film I watched two weeks ago, the pacing was great and I had fun all the way up to Barbosa's second coming. Anyone who enjoyed Supertrash over this needs their head checked. 8 out of 10 Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
CamdenS.Jul 8, 2006
A liitle long but entertaining and fun. some moments of belly aching laughter including a great sequence involving a large mill wheel. The villians are slimy, sleezy, gooey and funny -- the best of all worlds - beneath and above the sea!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BrettC.Jul 8, 2006
I don't get all the critics on this one... since when is it not enough to be a fun summer movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
JoeAverageJul 9, 2006
A welcome way to escape the heat on a Saturday afternoon, just don't expect to remember much of the film the following morning. Despite all its wasted potential, X-men 3 had at least some resonant scenes.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
GeneW.Jul 9, 2006
Overly long, overly noisy, this sequel is nothing more than a two and a half hour trailer for the third installment of the franchise. Dead Man's Chest has a slow beginning, a bloated middle and no end. It's the worst kind of movie Overly long, overly noisy, this sequel is nothing more than a two and a half hour trailer for the third installment of the franchise. Dead Man's Chest has a slow beginning, a bloated middle and no end. It's the worst kind of movie making, a crass ploy to get us back for No. 3. A waste of time and money. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
KyleH.Jul 9, 2006
Just watched the first movie last week and saw Dead Man's Chest tonight and I loved it. It's going down as one of my favorites!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
MichelleC.Jul 9, 2006
Not as good as the first, but this is a fun and entertaining movie. Johnny Depp is amazing as always and has incredible chemistry with Kiera Knightly. I would caution parents with young children as this can be gross and graphic. Special Not as good as the first, but this is a fun and entertaining movie. Johnny Depp is amazing as always and has incredible chemistry with Kiera Knightly. I would caution parents with young children as this can be gross and graphic. Special effects are delightful and action sequences very satisfying. For those of you who like movies to have a clear cut ending it does not come here. I get that there is another sequel coming, but still thought this one deserved a better finish. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
AlexI.Jul 9, 2006
For all the ecstatic reviews on this site, I can only offer the following anecdote. I saw this movie at midnight on Thursday. The theater was packed, people were dressed up in costume, 80% of the audience hardcore fans of the movie. Maybe For all the ecstatic reviews on this site, I can only offer the following anecdote. I saw this movie at midnight on Thursday. The theater was packed, people were dressed up in costume, 80% of the audience hardcore fans of the movie. Maybe three people clapped at the end of it out of over 150 in the audience and everyone filed out as quickly as possible. There wasn't the kind of excited buzz that follows the opening of a good/fun movie, just a lot of discontented grumbling about how late it was. I can't even claim it was entertaining. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
KevinM.Jul 9, 2006
This movie is way too long for what it is. I was so looking forward to it but walked away with a "so what" attitude. The dialogue was, at times, very hard to understand. The movie relied a lot on the first one, which I haven't seen for This movie is way too long for what it is. I was so looking forward to it but walked away with a "so what" attitude. The dialogue was, at times, very hard to understand. The movie relied a lot on the first one, which I haven't seen for several years, so many of the "surprises" left me dumbfounded. I'm sure the ending was provocative if you knew who the guy coming down the steps is. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BritneyB.Jul 9, 2006
IMO, this movie actually deserves a 9, but I think a lot of people were too hard on it. I found Dead Man's Chest to be everything I hoped it would be. There are plenty of laughs, and amazing quotes. Like Pirates 1, having Johnny Depp IMO, this movie actually deserves a 9, but I think a lot of people were too hard on it. I found Dead Man's Chest to be everything I hoped it would be. There are plenty of laughs, and amazing quotes. Like Pirates 1, having Johnny Depp could most likely make or break the movie (at least at the box office). However, I found Orlando's acting to be a big improvement over his decent, but not outstanding, performance in the first film, especially in the scenes with 'Bootstrap' Bill. The plot and character development was impressive, and the feeling of randomness that you get from skipping around from character to character adds to the film, as long as you're paying attention and can keep up. I have seen the movie twice already (once at midnight on the 7th) and can't wait to see it a few more times in theatres! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
JorgeS.Jul 9, 2006
THE most unintelligible and completely cofusing plot ever, the whole movie felt like it was thrown together with various dandy action sequences. Granted, they were fantastic, but at least the ones in Black Pearl served a purpose (did we THE most unintelligible and completely cofusing plot ever, the whole movie felt like it was thrown together with various dandy action sequences. Granted, they were fantastic, but at least the ones in Black Pearl served a purpose (did we realy have to see the octopus more than twice?) All in all, the only reason to see this movie is for the amazing action sequences and Johnny Depp's awesome role as Jack Sparrow, which were enough to propel my score to a six. If none of these things interest you, i suggest you skip it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JamesG.Jul 9, 2006
It does what it is supposed to do and is honorable in its pursuit.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
ScottN.Jul 9, 2006
Not as good as the first and too many tangled plot points, but action-packed (after the first 20 minutes) and satisfying eye-candy.
0 of 0 users found this helpful