American Broadcasting Company (ABC) | Release Date: July 7, 2006
7.2
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 896 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
619
Mixed:
160
Negative:
117
Watch Now
Buy On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
9
JPKJun 13, 2019
Great Sequel
Dead Man’s Chest once again has a near-flawless performance from Johnny Depp along with other great performances from Bloom, Knightly, Rush, and Nighty, good storytelling, amazing special effects, and an epic music score.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
TyranianApr 12, 2019
Decent step down from first film but still very entertaining, Davy Jones is great.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
DerekReideApr 9, 2019
Why do the critics think the most negative about this movie? It's just as funny as the original and it lives right up to the first's standards.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
CoreGamer1408Jan 4, 2019
Ok they went from fun comedy elements and fun slapstick action in the first movie. To mostly serious boo hoo elements and fun slapstick action in the second movie. Less fun, but still a lot slapstick, so yeah it get's a pass.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
ErikTheCriticSep 25, 2018
Although not as fresh as its predecessor, this sequel still maintains the element of fun. It does not disappoint when its terrific action set pieces and Depp's charismatic performance are on screen.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
gzayas91Jul 21, 2018
This was bigger, better than the first one. I know it panned by critics, but I don't care. This was awesome blockbuster sequel.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
JP32Jun 22, 2018
The entire movie is supercharged with crowd-pleasing energy. This is one big, lovable film. Even with a story that sometimes feels arbitrarily drawn out, Pirates of the Caribbean: Dead Man's Chest is a soaring success because of director GoreThe entire movie is supercharged with crowd-pleasing energy. This is one big, lovable film. Even with a story that sometimes feels arbitrarily drawn out, Pirates of the Caribbean: Dead Man's Chest is a soaring success because of director Gore Verbinski's zest for big budget summer popcorn filmmaking. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
NolanLundgaardJun 8, 2018
While Dead Man’s Chest is not as good as the original, it still succeeds in captivating the audience, especially with Johnny Depp’s performance.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
DarkBeeApr 5, 2018
Give up the moorings, take the left flank, guys! The adventures of Jack Sparrow, yes-Captain Jack Sparrow, continue. After the Captain returned his ship, the Flying Dutchman, led by Davy Jones, recalls that the former had a debt, the priceGive up the moorings, take the left flank, guys! The adventures of Jack Sparrow, yes-Captain Jack Sparrow, continue. After the Captain returned his ship, the Flying Dutchman, led by Davy Jones, recalls that the former had a debt, the price for failure of which was slavery for a hundred years. The problem is that the task will have to be done by Jack himself. A person who does not particularly love to fulfill both his own and other people's errands. Captain Jack Sparrow returned his ship. Happiness, joy and delight reigned around him, but did they leave him? More likely no than yes. No ship, and even the "Pearl" will not help Jack get rid of a distinctive feature - an optimistic attitude, regardless of the situation reigning around. Having received that coveted drawing of the key that Jack was looking for, the Captain managed to calm down his team, so much bored with a truly piratical robbery and robbery. But it is difficult to carry out missions, when enemies are chasing you on the horizon. Davy Jones with his team "Flying Dutchman" wants to take Sparrow. Seated in the sea for eternity, Jones turned into a monster. The once famous and illustrious Captain, who is the object of universal fanaticism, became a monster and a repulsive creature. His team - part of the ship, encroached on a similar fate. "Flying Dutchman" plows on the sea is not at will, because he wants to prey. Destination, prepared by otherworldly forces clearly showed what happens to those who for nothing rushes with words. And after so many years, the question arises: "What is it all Jones?". Torture, pursuing a lifetime, if life can be called so, or granted happiness, one way or another coming on the heels? Tentacles, growing on the face, and introductory vegetation clearly make it clear that no, it is unlikely all this gift. For three years, that the cinema was empty without "Pirates", the film did not lose its cherry on the cake. "Pirates of the Caribbean Sea" is still fun, they have humor, from which the truth is ridiculous. Having dealt with his enemy in the last part, Jack Sparrow does not stop and shows viewers that enemies can be found every day, which he does during the course of the film. Pirate battles, thanks to which the original in 2003 amazed everyone, please also in the sequel. The battles have become bigger, and the adventures are more amazing. The captain, who does not care about the problems of others, once again gets into trouble on an abandoned island. The actor's game, which made the whole last film, makes this moment from nothing, turning it into a fantasy. Mr. Depp deserves praise for the way he played once again. Davey Jones is the famous pirate of the famous ship. Do you smell this smell of confinement? The smell of when death in the seas becomes the most terrible. Tin is that death is by no means the worst thing that can happen to a person. You need to be afraid of further actions. The stage when you need to go into the afterlife, which in general is something not. Davy Jones, to whom this honor was paid (if it can be called so) failed to accomplish its task, because of what was punished by the deformity of the person and the team. Bill Nighy, who played Jones, and subjected to the absolute impact of computer graphics, gloomily and viciously showed his hero. Desperate in his life, the Flying Dutchman plows the seas of the whole world. The only meaning that existed in Jones's life has disappeared. There is only discouragement and a loyal team, which one way or another has nowhere to go. Captain Jack Sparrow is a lucky and truly sarcastic captain. Having found his native "Pearl", Jack goes on a new journey. However, if the last time Jack was confronted by the fierce Captain Barbossa, now the rates are rising. Any obligation is death. Stopping the job or interrupting it is slavery. What will Jack do to accomplish the task? A question that no one will answer. Johnny Depp, who once again played the role of Sparrow, proved that he was not in vain the Captain of his role. Not forgetting about the actor's zest in the game of this character, Depp once again provided us with a hero who can admire. Verdict. The sequel was at times better than the original and provided us with the ideal antagonist. Davey Jones, a fearsome appearance, is remembered for his charisma. His hatred is explained by the past, which was left to the future sequel. Jones can be understood - he lost everything he had, and there is no reason to live. It's just impossible to die - Jones's only problem, for which he really is sorry. "All of you!" I dropped my brains. Enjoy watching! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
TheRussianatorApr 4, 2018
This sequel to the very successful "Curse of the Black Pearl" in my opinion is even better than the first one. With a mind-blowing 230 million budget for a movie released in 2006, this movie looks amazing. All the actors are game and theThis sequel to the very successful "Curse of the Black Pearl" in my opinion is even better than the first one. With a mind-blowing 230 million budget for a movie released in 2006, this movie looks amazing. All the actors are game and the dialog is still very witty. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
SilentTacticianMar 20, 2018
For me, this will always be a guilty pleasure of mine. I can watch this movie again and again and I will always enjoy it. All around great characters and Johhny Depp's performance is stellar. Awesome soundtrack as well. A fun movie thatFor me, this will always be a guilty pleasure of mine. I can watch this movie again and again and I will always enjoy it. All around great characters and Johhny Depp's performance is stellar. Awesome soundtrack as well. A fun movie that always promises a fun time. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
CTHReviewsMar 15, 2018
Pirates of the Caribbean: Dead Man's Chest is a very underrated film in my opinion. So underrated in fact, that I think it's the best out of the franchise. Davy Jones is not only brought to life by chilling CGI, but Bill Nighy (not thePirates of the Caribbean: Dead Man's Chest is a very underrated film in my opinion. So underrated in fact, that I think it's the best out of the franchise. Davy Jones is not only brought to life by chilling CGI, but Bill Nighy (not the Science Guy) gives a very creepy, and at times, sympathetic performance. It's also a nice, not forced-in setup for the finale to come. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
FilipeNetoFeb 19, 2018
This movie continues the story told in "The Curse of the Black Pearl." Prevented from marrying Elizabeth (Keira Knightley) and accused of piracy, Will (Orlando Bloom) leaves Port Royal with Jack Sparrow (Johnny Depp) in order to seek theThis movie continues the story told in "The Curse of the Black Pearl." Prevented from marrying Elizabeth (Keira Knightley) and accused of piracy, Will (Orlando Bloom) leaves Port Royal with Jack Sparrow (Johnny Depp) in order to seek the heart of Davy Jones, the fearsome commander of the "Flying Dutchman". But Sparrow hides that he has more selfish reasons for that search: try to catch the man whom he promised his own soul. Directed by Gore Verbinsky has screenplay by Ted Elliott and Terry Rossio, and other Collaborators.

As often happens with big blockbusters, this is the predictable and awaited sequel to "Pirates of the Caribbean". The cast brings some new faces: Bill Nighy will play Davy Jones, Stellan Skarsgård will play Bill Turner, Tom Hollander will play the villain, Cutler Beckett, and Naomie Harris will give life to Tia Dalma. But the most interesting is the evolution of the central characters, inherited from the previous film. Will reveals himself increasingly a true pirate, as his bride that, in this film, will take part in the action scenes, leaving skirts behind. Jack, on the other hand, is increasingly ambiguous and unpredictable: sometimes a hero, sometimes a villain, liar and deceiver, we never know what he is doing or thinking. The plot is fun and very interesting: each character has its own interests and reasons to find that heart, reasons that may be conflicting. The rivalry comes to the point that it's every man for himself and every fighting and deceiving each other. In technical matters, characterization and computerization deserves a word of congratulations. If they make a great job in the previous movie with the undead, now they surpassed it with the powerful and intimidating visual effect of the "Flying Dutchman" and its eternal crew.

This film is, in my opinion, one of the best sequels I've seen so far, not only managing to maintain the continuity of the story, as becoming it more interesting, thanks to the evolution of characters, making clear the imminence of a third film also.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
SrPepeJan 5, 2018
El mundo pirata se amplia para bien en esta segunda entrega, me gusto más que la primera.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
wiiy71Dec 30, 2017
xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
3
LightsideDec 9, 2017
You know it's a bad sequel when you can't even remember the plot after watching it the night before. Nowhere near as good as the first Pirates. I think the only good to come out of this sequel is a funny meme when Jack is running away from aYou know it's a bad sequel when you can't even remember the plot after watching it the night before. Nowhere near as good as the first Pirates. I think the only good to come out of this sequel is a funny meme when Jack is running away from a crowd of cannibals. Some great cinematography, Jack moments and beautiful Calypso but that's it. Too many characters, long movie and annoying acting from Orlando and Keira. Not as bad as Pirates 3 however. I guess if you're a fan get the whole lot but as a purest.. I'll stick with the first movie. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
9
MonkiReviewsJun 15, 2017
One of my favorite film franchises ever, the first was actually tied for my favorite movie ever. The characters are great, and still funny! The story started slow, but the whole second half was amazing. I didn't mind the length, it actuallyOne of my favorite film franchises ever, the first was actually tied for my favorite movie ever. The characters are great, and still funny! The story started slow, but the whole second half was amazing. I didn't mind the length, it actually felt short. The special effects were super realistic, some of the best I have seen. The first half wasn't interesting enough to give it a 10, but it was amazing overall and worth a watch for sure! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
SonicHD7May 31, 2017
When ghostly pirate Davy Jones (Bill Nighy) comes to collect a blood debt, Capt. Jack Sparrow (Johnny Depp) must find a way to avoid his fate lest his soul be damned for all time. Nevertheless, the wily ghost manages to interrupt the weddingWhen ghostly pirate Davy Jones (Bill Nighy) comes to collect a blood debt, Capt. Jack Sparrow (Johnny Depp) must find a way to avoid his fate lest his soul be damned for all time. Nevertheless, the wily ghost manages to interrupt the wedding plans of Jack's friends Will Turner (Orlando Bloom) and Elizabeth Swann (Keira Knightley). Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
FuturedirectorMay 15, 2017
Pirates of the Caribbean: Dead Man's Chest shows many occulted comparations with its predecessors, specially beacuase of its confusing storytelling and almost originality-free characters. Anyway, the cast is still being depth enogh to satisfyPirates of the Caribbean: Dead Man's Chest shows many occulted comparations with its predecessors, specially beacuase of its confusing storytelling and almost originality-free characters. Anyway, the cast is still being depth enogh to satisfy the audience. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
LinttaFlamingoMar 16, 2017
Jack Sparrow is such a cool character, that it's impossible to resist his charm. Dead Man's Chest has everything a pirate fan would want from a sequel to an excellent pirate movie. High production seafights, comedy and a really cool andJack Sparrow is such a cool character, that it's impossible to resist his charm. Dead Man's Chest has everything a pirate fan would want from a sequel to an excellent pirate movie. High production seafights, comedy and a really cool and interesting villain. But there is a lot of exposition this time and the movie is overlong, but other than that this is definitely the sequel people wanted. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
0
imthenoobJun 14, 2016
After the first one, You expect good things from a sequel but the curse of sequels hits again. Dead Man's Chest's plot just isn't good and doesn't really do a solid job building where the first left off. It's so painfully boring, Not evenAfter the first one, You expect good things from a sequel but the curse of sequels hits again. Dead Man's Chest's plot just isn't good and doesn't really do a solid job building where the first left off. It's so painfully boring, Not even Depp could save this movie despite his fantastic job as Captain Jack. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
8
Aaron_WassermanMay 31, 2016
I know I am in the minority but I really do enjoy this movie, equally with the first one pretty much. I really see no problems with it on a major level that some people would label it as "bad"
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
aadityamudharApr 18, 2016
This second installment continues this heroic franchise as Jack Sparrow and his crew members face a new enemy known as Davy Jones who captains the Flying Dutchman. Feeling like he has no choice, Jack must owe his dept to him, but has to getThis second installment continues this heroic franchise as Jack Sparrow and his crew members face a new enemy known as Davy Jones who captains the Flying Dutchman. Feeling like he has no choice, Jack must owe his dept to him, but has to get help from Will Turner and Elizabeth Swann first, unaware that they are sentenced to be hanged by Lord Cutler Bucket unless they can give him Jack's compass to join him on his quest to defeat Davy Jones.

(sigh) This was the only movie I've missed in theaters in 2006, but thank god I watched it on DVD rental at the library and really enjoyed it. I can't believe I'm saying this, but... this sequel is not as good as the first movie.

The actors from the first movie did very well at their performances, The CGI was cool, The action was even more cooler, and the storyline was well-paced, but the dialogue was bad, the storytelling was rushed, and it has some flaws throughout the whole movie.

Pirates of the Caribbean: Dead's Man's Chest may not be the best movie of all time, but it is in no doubt a worthy follow up to the first with solid performances and even greater action sequences.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
MovieMasterEddyApr 4, 2016
At first glance, it seems like a pretty good deal. You put down your money — still less than $10 in most cities — and in return you get two and a half hours of spirited swashbuckling, with an all-star three-way battle of the cheekbonesAt first glance, it seems like a pretty good deal. You put down your money — still less than $10 in most cities — and in return you get two and a half hours of spirited swashbuckling, with an all-star three-way battle of the cheekbones (Orlando Bloom vs. Keira Knightley vs. Johnny Depp) and some extra-slimy computer-generated imagery thrown in at no additional cost.

But there's a catch, as there usually is. "Pirates of the Caribbean: Dead Man's Chest" is not just a movie. It's a glistening, sushi-grade chunk of franchise entertainment, which means that maximal enjoyment of it comes with certain obligations. It is the second episode in what will be at least a trilogy — the third installment is scheduled for release next summer — and full appreciation of its whirligig plot will depend on thorough acquaintance with the first "Pirates of the Caribbean" picture, conveniently available for purchase on DVD. And since "Dead Man's Chest" brazenly dispenses with the convention of an ending — it's pretty much all middle — you will, by virtue of buying that ticket, have committed yourself to buying another one a year from now if you're the least bit curious about how the whole thing turns out. By then, chances are good that you will have forgotten most of what happened in "Dead Man's Chest," so you'll have another disc to add to the shopping cart.

The question is: Is it worth it? The same thought probably crosses the minds of Disney theme-park vacationers as they endure endless lines for the ride on which the movies are based, but the notion is quickly banished because nobody likes to feel like a sucker. By a rational calculation of time and money — yours and the untold millions invested by Disney, the producer Jerry Bruckheimer and others — the answer is probably no. But hey, this isn't about that, right? It's about fun. You're there to have fun. Fun for the family. Fun for the kids. Fun for everyone. So shut up and have fun.

And you probably will, even if it's hard to shake the feeling that you've been bullied into it. Gore Verbinski, the director, has an appropriate sense of mischief, as a well as a gift, nearly equaling those of Peter Jackson and Steven Spielberg, for integrating CGI seamlessly into his cinematic compositions. What is curious about the recent crop of high-tech blockbusters is how seriously they take themselves, and unlike, say, "Superman Returns," "Dead Man's Chest" cannot be called pretentious. It makes no claims to being about good and evil, the difficulty of saving the world in the modern era, or the inner lives of any of its characters.

Instead, it sends Elizabeth Swann (Ms. Knightley) and Will Turner (Mr. Bloom), their wedding day ruined in an opening sequence that seems to pay tribute to the old Guns N' Roses "November Rain" video, on a search for the pirate captain Jack Sparrow (Mr. Depp). Jack, as usual, finds himself in all kinds of trouble, pursued not only by agents of the British crown, but also by an undead, squid-faced mariner, the famous Davy Jones, who commands a ghoulish crew of half-human, half-aquatic creatures. These sailors are like the cast of "SpongeBob SquarePants" — or the menu at a seafood restaurant —come to life: Night of the Living Bouillabaisse.

One of them, played by Stellan Skarsgard with a starfish embedded in his face, is Will's long-lost father, a development that adds a gelatinous morsel of father-son pathos to the stew of plots and subplots cooked up by the screenwriters, Ted Elliott and Terry Rossio. Davy Jones himself, meanwhile, speaks in the sinister whisper of Bill Nighy, though it is his swaying mass of facial tentacles that most viewers will remember.

And there are other memorable bits and pieces, visual highlights of a movie with no particular interest in coherence, economy or feeling. Ms. Knightley is, once again, a vision of imperial British pluckiness, with an intriguing dash of romantic recklessness that surfaces toward the end. Mr. Bloom, as is his custom, leaps about, trying to overcome his incurable blandness, and is upstaged by special effects, musical cues, octopus tentacles and pieces of wood. Naomie Harris turns up for a few scenes of hammy voodoo, and Mackenzie Crook and David Bailie contribute some proletarian slapstick. Most of the other members of the first movie's cast show up again, sometimes in surprising circumstances.

The franchise, of course, belongs to Jack Sparrow, and to Mr. Depp. Because this is a sequel, the role is no longer the splendid surprise it was in 2003, when "The Curse of the Black Pearl" charmed audiences and disarmed critics on its way to the third-best domestic box-office gross of the year. But the best parts of "Dead Man's Chest" confirm Jack Sparrow as the most viable Disney cartoon character in quite some time, though his anarchic insouciance has more in common with the work of Chuck Jones or Tex Avery.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
FilmBuff94Mar 31, 2016
Even for a sequel, Pirates of the Caribbean: Dead Man's Chest takes the practice of double-dipping to extreme depths, its guiding principle—as was the case with its predecessor's third act—being that once is fun but twice is nicer: in thisEven for a sequel, Pirates of the Caribbean: Dead Man's Chest takes the practice of double-dipping to extreme depths, its guiding principle—as was the case with its predecessor's third act—being that once is fun but twice is nicer: in this case, two villains, two love triangles, two self-sacrificing fathers, two CG centerpieces involving a leviathan, and two bustling sequences in which characters dash down a tropical forest mountainside in/on round contraptions. It's the last of these that most accurately exemplifies Gore Verbinski's follow-up to his 2003 blockbuster, his newest swashbuckler something of an awkwardly constructed Disney World ride that begins listlessly and gradually gains momentum as it dispenses with all non-action-oriented concerns. As with its antecedent, Dead Man's Chest finds Johnny Depp's flamboyantly foppish scoundrel Jack Sparrow being hunted by both human and inhuman foe alike, the former an East India Trading Company heavy named Beckett (Tom Hollander) who desires Sparrow's magical compass, and the latter the legendary locker-keeper Davy Jones (Bill Nighy), who wishes to collect on a soul-debt owed to him by the roguish, dreadlocked pirate.

The film's regurgitating modus operandi extends to its tongue-in-cheek (gallows) humor and set pieces' spirited rowdiness, as well as to the fact that noble Will Turner (Orlando Bloom) and spunky Elizabeth Swann (Keira Knightley)—whose wedding ceremony is rudely postponed by the malevolent forces of the British Crown—remain the leaden anchor of this Mouse House franchise, their spick-and-span goodness a woefully feeble counterpoint to ne'er-do-well Sparrow's deceptiveness. With its narrative course plotted along familiar routes, Dead Man's Chest lacks a needed spark of novelty and inspired, devil-may-care gusto. But even more problematic is that it fails to appreciably expand upon the original's sturdy template, exhibiting only a passing interest in its latent themes—regarding love, honor, patriarchy, and colonialism's taming of the savage world (and the subsequent consequences for iconoclastic rebels like Jack)—and never yielding, with the squid-faced Jones and his barnacled, crustaceous Flying Dutchman crewman, a fantastically magical moment on par with The Curse of the Black Pearl's exquisite first shot of moonlit skeleton swabs.

Verbinski's extravaganza nonetheless reaps modest rewards from rambunctiousness, its skirmishes featuring the many-tentacled Kracken orchestrated with thunderous intensity and a scene (seemingly set on Skull Island) in which a Colonel Kurtz-ish Sparrow flees his stereotypically ooga-booga minions enlivened by giddy pole-vaulting acrobatics. Moreover, for all its duplicative tendencies, Dead Man's Chest ultimately stays just afloat thanks to Depp's uniquely idiosyncratic scalawag, the actor imbuing his preening, loose-limbed pirate with a drunken dancer's grace and a combination of colorful Walt Disney charm and rascally Chuck Jones mischievousness. As befitting his position as this high seas adventure's sashaying center of attention, Sparrow is, at film's cliffhanger conclusion, given one marvelously valiant composition that rightfully elevates the duplicitous, selfish character beyond mere cartoon caricature and into the realm of anti-heroic icon. And thus it comes as little surprise that the story's soggiest element turns out to be its attempted romantic tension between Sparrow, Turner, and Swann, an endeavor doomed by the charisma-imbalance of its three leads and the obvious fact that Sparrow's devious appeal lies, first and foremost, in his boundless self-love.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
FilmClubMar 27, 2016
Disneyland’s “Pirates of the Caribbean” ride may have been improved, but the film franchise has been downgraded with this first of two sequels to the 2003 popcorn smash. As with the two “Matrix” follow-ups, which were shot back-to-back likeDisneyland’s “Pirates of the Caribbean” ride may have been improved, but the film franchise has been downgraded with this first of two sequels to the 2003 popcorn smash. As with the two “Matrix” follow-ups, which were shot back-to-back like the second and third “Pirates” entries, there is a sense of bloat and where-do-we-go-from here aimlessness to this unconscionably protracted undertaking. As with the “Matrix” pictures, however, public anticipation is such that nothing can stop “Dead Man’s Chest” from filling up with B.O. gold; pic is like a slot machine that gobbles up the public’s money while giving little back, and, somehow, people don’t mind.

Even judged strictly as a commercial product, this new effort seems misguided. Producer Jerry Bruckheimer made sure the key players — Johnny Depp, Orlando Bloom and Keira Knightley, as well as director Gore Verbinski and much of the crew — reboarded for the continued voyage, and no expense has been spared in order to make the effects even more spectacular this time around.

But why wear out the film’s welcome with a wearisome two-and-a-half-hour running time when a tight-ship 100 minutes would have insured more constant excitement, not to mention giving exhibitors more showtimes per day?

The first “Pirates,” innocuousness and all, became a $654 million-grossing worldwide phenomenon by virtue of a shrewd blend of old-fashioned storytelling tropes and modern push-button thrill-ride construction. But primary viewer affection stemmed from Depp’s utterly eccentric rendition of a drunken sailor as an inadvertent hero; pic mainstreamed the actor’s appeal to an unprecedented extent while allowing him to keep his cool.

Inevitably, the effect of his wild makeup and costume, mincing manner and carefully calculated unpredictability proves less arresting the second time around. The surprise is gone, but so is the nearly faultless comic timing, not to mention any good lines.

Depp may have been taking risky shots in the dark in creating Jack Sparrow three years ago, but they all felicitously found their mark. This time, the characterization’s haphazard nature becomes transparent; even his best moments trigger only giggles, and the fumbling takes what wind there is out of the picture’s sails.

Scenario by the returning team of Ted Elliott and Terry Rossio consists of too many over-elaborated searches by various parties for three items: a not entirely reliable compass, a treasure chest and the key that will open it.

Dramatic line consists entirely of connecting the dots between extravagant and aspirationally comic action scenes, which prominently include an escape from cannibals by several men who jointly move in a large viney ball; a three-way sword fight choreographed across an entire island and partly conducted as men peddle the slats of a vast mill wheel as it rolls hither and yon (a gag Buster Keaton would have enjoyed — and done better), and multiple attacks by a ferocious giant octopus whose grotesque beaky mouth, when finally seen in close-up, is the stuff of Freudian male nightmares.

Still, the f/x highlight is undoubtedly the mossy gang — Davy Jones’ misshapen sailors doomed to a purgatory of servitude on board the Flying Dutchman, a mildewy craft of astonishing speed that functions like a submarine above and beneath the waves. As in a clever cartoon, these barnacled men are each distinctively conceived, from the mate who resembles a Hammerhead shark to the bloke whose head remains half-hidden within a shell. Best of all is Davy himself, whose remarkable visage is festooned with a beard of moving octopus tentacles and whose strength as a singular villain is heightened by Nighy’s wily performance.

But the problem with the “Pirates” films, and with this one more than the first, is that there’s not a genuine moment in them — no point of human contact (except, perhaps, for the Herculean efforts of Stellan Skarsgard, behind heavy makeup, to provide hints of a tragic dimension as Will’s doomed father); they’re baldly concocted, confected, engineered.

“Dead Man’s Chest” puts the viewer into a bland stupor, willing to be entertained, and maybe audiences will be, up to a point, by the beautiful actors, sumptuous production values and the stray desires the film may stimulate to go to Disneyland or Las Vegas. These are the odd films that succeed by stirring neither the emotions nor the mind.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
Jollyjoe1000Mar 27, 2016
pretty par to the first film and very enjoyable as expected I would not call it underwhelming but very whealming and and very good follow up to a great franchise
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
gameguardian21Mar 24, 2016
While this sequel offers something new, it doesn't have much to offers as this remains a boring, confusion, and not entertaining. At least we got a new villian.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
EpicLadySpongeFeb 4, 2016
This movie felt effortless. Unlike its predecessor, this and its successors are just so poor and did not 'pirate' enough to ARR us out. Instead of ARRing us out, this just left us out.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
SEROJDec 21, 2015
I'm actually surpised that this part has such low scores! I personally like it even better than the first one! Absolutely superb adventure movie! And this is when my all-time favorite villian "Davy Jones" gets in!
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
raciocinioOct 21, 2015
A Underrated great sequel, Deserves 75% in Rotten Tomatoes and 67% here... This sequel have an inprovement in action and CGI without doubts here are the best adventures scenes of the franchise...
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
DanBurritoSep 9, 2015
Not as good as the first but still good. This time, Captain Jack must face Davey Jones, the devil of the sea and the best villain in this franchise, by getting the dead man's chest, which contains Jones' heart. There are some good actionNot as good as the first but still good. This time, Captain Jack must face Davey Jones, the devil of the sea and the best villain in this franchise, by getting the dead man's chest, which contains Jones' heart. There are some good action scenes and Depp is as good as ever. Watch it if you're a fan of this franchise. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
sicranoAug 7, 2015
............................................................................................................................................One of best sequels of al time!!!!!!! Super Underrated for the stupids............................................................................................................................................One of best sequels of al time!!!!!!! Super Underrated for the stupids critics and some dull audiences. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
Zanessa250QIJul 24, 2015
........................................................................................................................................................................................................................a extraodinary second part
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
7
buttonscasperJul 8, 2015
Great second adventure but for me it comes 3rd best of the 4 because i think 1 and 3 have more action and i do miss captain barbossa but dont get me wrong great film and the end of the day.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
LoRevisorApr 29, 2015
O Único ponto fraco é a falta do capitão Hector Barbossa (Geoffrey Rush),Fora isso é uma das melhores sequências da história do cinema,muito subestimada pelos críticos e pelos próprios fãs e audiência,mesmo sem Geoffrey Rush,Johnny DeppO Único ponto fraco é a falta do capitão Hector Barbossa (Geoffrey Rush),Fora isso é uma das melhores sequências da história do cinema,muito subestimada pelos críticos e pelos próprios fãs e audiência,mesmo sem Geoffrey Rush,Johnny Depp segura as pontas dando um show e entreter com seu genial personagem Jack Sparrow,possui ótimas frases,piadas e essa segunda parte da franquia fez 10 a 0 no primeiro no quesito efeitos especiais com cenas incríveis de ação que começa com a parte da tribo ao mesmo instante em que Jack salta amarrado a um tronco de pontes e montanhas Will e a tripulação tenta escapa da gaiola de cordas brilhante sequência de cena,depois Kraken detona o navio em que Will se encontra,depois a genial cena da praia da roda em movimento durante a batalha de Jack,Will e Norrington,E a destruição final do Kraken,Não é a toa que ganhou o Oscar de Melhor Efeitos Visuais em 2006. Excelente aventura!!! excelente filme!!! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
MovieManiac83Apr 23, 2015
Before Pirates of the Caribbean: The Curse of the Black Pearl was released, its arrival was greeted with skepticism. After all, this was a movie based on a theme park ride. The production went on to be one of the best reviewed motion picturesBefore Pirates of the Caribbean: The Curse of the Black Pearl was released, its arrival was greeted with skepticism. After all, this was a movie based on a theme park ride. The production went on to be one of the best reviewed motion pictures of 2003, and "if" questions about a second installment became "when." Because the follow-up story devised by director Gore Verbinski and writers Ted Elliott & Terry Rossio was too big for a single film, the filmmakers decided to make Pirates 2 and Pirates 3 back-to-back (as was done with The Matrix and Back to the Future sequels, and the entire Lord of the Rings trilogy), providing less down time in between episodes. The verdict for the middle movie of the proposed three-film arc: although not as much fun as its predecessor, it nevertheless delivers enough jaunty adventure and derring-do to keep fans entertained. The double-cliffhanger ending assures that audience members will be back for Pirates 3. In fact, if the movie didn't look so good on the big screen, I might be tempted to recommend that viewers wait for the next movie to open, then rent this one and see them as a double-feature.

Pacing is a problem for Pirates of the Caribbean: Dead Man's Chest. The 155-minute long film lurches through about 60 minutes of set-up before launching into its main story in earnest. The amount of time it takes Verbinski to get all the pieces in play makes the plot seem more complicated than it is. Dead Man's Chest is essentially a quest movie: find the key and chest, and use one to open the other. Of course, multiple factions want what's inside the chest, so that sets up the conflict. Once everything is established, the movie offers plenty of what made the first one so popular, but there's a sense that Dead Man's Chest doesn't need to be as long as it is.

The comedy in Dead Man's Chest is more subdued than in The Curse of the Black Pearl, but there's still a strong sense of irreverence. One of the movie's biggest action sequences, which takes place on an island and feature no less than five factions struggling for possession of two items, is heavily influenced not only by Errol Flynn but by Looney Tunes and the Three Stooges. Yes, there's sword action and ship-to-ship cannon action, but there's also a runaway water wheel, characters fleeing hither and fro, and a monster that literally loses its head and keeps shouting orders. The movie isn't as flip as its predecessor, but it avoids the deadly trap of taking itself too seriously. Then again, it's hard to figure how a production with the central character of Captain Jack could ever stumble into that pitfall. As he was in The Curse of the Black Pearl, Jack doesn't know the meaning of the word "serious," even when he's staring into the maw of the Kraken.

If it's the characters that keep film-goers coming back, there's reason to rejoice. Johnny Depp's Captain Jack has lost none of his swishy swagger. Depp is in peak form again, burying himself in the part and making the Captain the most dashing rogue this side of Han Solo. We don't see much of it, but we believe Elizabeth when she asserts there's a heart of gold inside the carefree exterior. For her part, Knightley has grown into Elizabeth. The character feels more integral to the story than in The Curse of the Black Pearl, where she was more often than not the obligatory love interest. Dead Man's Chest takes Elizabeth's romantic life in an unexpected direction, as sparks fly between her and Jack. Knightley and Depp have chemistry; Knightley and Bloom do not. Therefore, this pairing makes sense. Plus, as there's a submerged goodness in Jack, there's a hidden devilish side to Elizabeth.

In essence, Dead Man's Chest gives us an opportunity to join old friends on a new adventure that isn't substantially different from the old one. Many of the same elements are here - ghost ships, the walking dead, hidden treasure - and that's all right because it's part of what we might now refer to as the "Pirates of the Caribbean formula." The slow, uneven beginning is more than compensated for by the rousing climax, and the last scene promises more of the same the next time around, with possibly greater things to come. If I had to choose between the first two films in terms of which provides the more full entertainment experience, I would pick The Curse of the Black Pearl, but Dead Man's Chest isn't far behind.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
homer4presidentMar 16, 2015
This movie is entertaining and solid for fans of the first one. Although there are a few gaps, it will satisfy fans of the first movie. The original actors from the first film return for a acceptable performance, with Depp being the best. TheThis movie is entertaining and solid for fans of the first one. Although there are a few gaps, it will satisfy fans of the first movie. The original actors from the first film return for a acceptable performance, with Depp being the best. The Davy Jones CGI figure is impressive and very realistic. Overall, I found this blockbuster quite entertaining. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
JohnMasterLFeb 27, 2015
Es curioso, disfrute mas la segunda parte que la primera; aunque cuenta con varias tramas, varios personajes, esta segunda parte es un espectáculo visual, mas divertida, mas oscura que la anterior. Una buena secuela
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
SmileATTJan 25, 2015
I can't say i like the "Dead Man's Chest" in first part we saw e good pirate movie now in this part we see a full fantasy with love triangle and ships .In some moments the movie tataly lose the story line and dashed in to unreal fightsI can't say i like the "Dead Man's Chest" in first part we saw e good pirate movie now in this part we see a full fantasy with love triangle and ships .In some moments the movie tataly lose the story line and dashed in to unreal fights between everybody i mean it's too confusing .They all want something and they fight for it in the hole movie no plot no storyline just a GIANT adventure without point .It's still not so bad movie don't miss understand me we see more from Keira Knightley which very good because she is cool fresh and sexy and we see finally some kind of connection between her and Sparrow but that was just a fail attempt of the director to please the audience . The worst thing maybe is that we see more from Orlando Bloom that guys just don't fit but what ever it's not the worst movie it's not the best but ís still Pirate of Caribbean. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
DBPirate1129Jan 11, 2015
Dead Man's Chest doesn't quite live up to its predecessor the way I expected but it's still worth seeing. I actually find Davy Jones to be a better villain than Barbossa and the legendary Kraken is a welcome addition.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
SythusRATINGSOct 18, 2014
Johnny Depp, Orlando Bloom and Keira Knightley reunite this epic tale chronicling the further mis-adventures of Captain Jack Sparrow in his confrontation with Davy Jones.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
beingryanjudeAug 24, 2014
Much like the first installment, we are captivated by excitement and continued shenanigans. Once more, Johnny Depp shines in his underrated stint as Capt. Jack Sparrow.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
goopyGoopJun 17, 2014
It's an amusing movie, but let's face it, if Johnny Depp wasn't acting in this movie, it would suck pretty bad. But since he did act in it, it's an 8/10. :)
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
SpangleJun 12, 2014
The sequel to the very successful "Curse of the Black Pearl" is just ok. It is still very fun and entertaining, but does not reach the heights that its predecessor does. The thrills are there, the laughs are there, the overall enjoyment isThe sequel to the very successful "Curse of the Black Pearl" is just ok. It is still very fun and entertaining, but does not reach the heights that its predecessor does. The thrills are there, the laughs are there, the overall enjoyment is there, but there are enough negatives to hold it back. While Johnny Depp is great once again as Captain Jack Sparrow, Orlando Bloom and Keira Knightley were spotty. At times, they were very good. At others, they were cringe worthy. The length is also a little much as it felt like a lot of scenes dragged on for far too long and would have been more effective and entertaining had they been shorter. The major negative, however, is the plot. If this film was not so darn fun, I would rate it much lower for this damn thing. The plot seemed to be all over the place and while not hard to follow in the least, it made no sense. They seemed to just be going all over the "New World" aimlessly for much of the film, beating around what the real plot is and instead focusing on all these side plots within the main plot. It made the film less enjoyable and somewhat convoluted. If they spent less time on meaningless nonsense, the film would have been a lot sharper and less long. As it stands, the film is entertaining enough for what it is and provides the thrills you come to expect from this franchise, but certainly could have been a lot better. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
AaronWasserman2May 5, 2014
I dont understand peoples' beef with this movie. its just as good as the first one. a bit unbelivable at times but the first one was too. Dead Man's Chest is an enjoyable ride. (no pun intended)
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
DrewtheDude85Apr 25, 2014
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. A lot of people hate the Pirates of the Caribbean sequel films, and while I do have to say that I agree that there are some flaws in these sequels that COTBP doesn't have, I actually have to say that I like Dead Man's Chest a lot and I would even dare say that I think this film does live up to the original. It had an excellent story of course and the great characters we all liked from the first film including Captain Jack, Gibbs, Will Turner and others. The dialogue can be humorous, a little cheesy at times, but pretty good. I also like the action, the action in this film is fantastic. The special effects are mostly good, I think they did an excellent job with the Dutchman's crew and Davy Jones in terms of special effects, however in the end scene when Jack is in front of the mouth of the Kraken, I could kind of see that it looked like Depp was just looking at a green screen. Overall I think that DMC was excellent, I may have not had the wit and charm of the first film, but I still saw this film as equal with the first one and as long as you ignore the naysayers, I would recommend it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
TheApplegnomeFeb 1, 2014
A great and unique movie, but when it comes to the story and the exaggerated comedy, it isn't the best Pirates of the Caribbean movie.

Pirates of The Caribbean: Dead Man's Chest is very well made movie, and it got many exiting and funny
A great and unique movie, but when it comes to the story and the exaggerated comedy, it isn't the best Pirates of the Caribbean movie.

Pirates of The Caribbean: Dead Man's Chest is very well made movie, and it got many exiting and funny scenes which I haven't seen in movies before. The actors couldn't have been more awesome, and I especially admire Bill Nighy's and Johnny Depp's performance, because they played their characters so good! The music is still spectacular as it was in the first movie, but I didn't hear it that often as I did in the first movie, witch I really miss. Another negative thing about this movie is that it's a little lengthy at some places, and that the story is a little confusing, but also that it might have been a little too much un-serious content's which made the movie a little boring at some places.

Overall is Pirates of The Caribbean: Dead Man's Chest a great movie which has a great beginning and ending, but it is a little lengthy and it isn't that good as the first Pirates of The Caribbean movie.

Pirates of The Caribbean: Dead Man's Chest gets a 7/10
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
moonman1994Dec 23, 2013
A big let down after a great first film. I remember seeing this in theaters and walking out almost wanting my money back. Despite the fact that Depp is still great in the lead the film is derivative of the first and is far to long. ActionA big let down after a great first film. I remember seeing this in theaters and walking out almost wanting my money back. Despite the fact that Depp is still great in the lead the film is derivative of the first and is far to long. Action sequences stretch to a point where they are meaninglessly long and boring. I'm not sure what happened with this film but it wasn't good. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
HaitakuDec 10, 2013
As always, never as good as the first, and about on level with the third, this movie lacks in major storyline, but slams back with its great mix of humor (witty and slapstick) and amazing action scenes. Brings back some loved characters (andAs always, never as good as the first, and about on level with the third, this movie lacks in major storyline, but slams back with its great mix of humor (witty and slapstick) and amazing action scenes. Brings back some loved characters (and some not so loved, like Knightly) for a very good move overall! 7/10 for the movie and +1/10 for pirates. XD Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
cag11Nov 30, 2013
I happened to like it. I added more of a story that went darker and deeper into the PotC world. The way Davy Jones was put together wasn't really that good, but overall it was a pretty well put together movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
RayzorMooseNov 13, 2013
Dead Man's Chest is left rotting.
Unlike its high paced prequel, Dead Man's Chest because monotonously boring and directionless with little action or thrills to save its fate.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
OfficialNov 5, 2013
"Pirates of the Caribbean: Dead Man's Chest" is the second movie in the series. Although it's not as good as the original, it's still a worthy sequel. It's slightly overlong, but Johnny Depp's humorous jokes still does keep it going.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
joao1198pedroOct 27, 2013
the second pirates of the caribbean film was the best film of the franchise so far,everyone thinks the first one is the best but for me the second one is better.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
FranzHcriticOct 27, 2013
I admit, the downgrade from 'Black Pearl' is significantly evident from the more intricate (for the worse) plotline and a lack of depth from the characters. The Elizabeth and Will love story gets more sickening to watch. But Johnny Depp makesI admit, the downgrade from 'Black Pearl' is significantly evident from the more intricate (for the worse) plotline and a lack of depth from the characters. The Elizabeth and Will love story gets more sickening to watch. But Johnny Depp makes it all worth it. Of course, he has true talent. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
Rox22Oct 8, 2013
A bit of a let down when compared with the first movie. Visuals are far superior and it's clear they put allot more time and effort into it, but, Dead man's Chest is trying too hard to be another Empire Strikes Back, following a very similarA bit of a let down when compared with the first movie. Visuals are far superior and it's clear they put allot more time and effort into it, but, Dead man's Chest is trying too hard to be another Empire Strikes Back, following a very similar formula. There is plenty of build up, story arc takes a dark turn, and stakes are higher. Yet, at the end it really feels lacking. The story tries to stop at an obvious cliffhanger, but it feels more like a dead end.

Acting is more or less on par, with the last movie, and Bill Nighy is absolutely fantastic as Davy Jones. My hats go off to the concept artists, set designers and CG animation crew. They all did a fantastic job. The writers, should be sent to a corner to think about what they've done. Really weak writing.

Overall:
Dead Man's Chest is a fun movie to watch, and the effect are amazing. But at the end of the day the movie on the whole feels a little too long winded and drawn out, making it a tad boring at times.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
MovieGuysSep 19, 2013
Dead Man's Chest elaborates on the original's story a little bit, and more character backgrounds are established. Plus, the scene with the giant water wheel is a great sight to see, and a fun scene to watch.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
JohnnyStephensAug 30, 2013
Awesome!!! One of the greatest sequels ever!! The ending was very dramatic and suspenseful. Johnny Depp is always fun to watch!!! Do not miss it!!! Better than The Lord Of The Rings!!!
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
JmsbppJul 29, 2013
solo hundiendo barcos y la aparicion de un personaje interesante no basto para la secuela de Piratas del Caribe, sin embargo conserva su excelente tema musical, adrenalina y accion
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
DibbHansenJul 14, 2013
While it is not nearly as good or original as the first film, it is still a great film! It has even more action than the first film and has amazing visual effects (the Kraken and Davy Jones are spectacular CGI creations), Johnny Depp doesWhile it is not nearly as good or original as the first film, it is still a great film! It has even more action than the first film and has amazing visual effects (the Kraken and Davy Jones are spectacular CGI creations), Johnny Depp does fantastic again, the music is great (but not as great as the first film) and the script is creative in some ways and has its moments of witty dialogue. This is a great action/adventure flick. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
GodotIsW8ing4UJul 3, 2013
Dead Man's Chest seems to struggle mightily with what it wants to be. Does it want to be a story about Jack Sparrow's rascally ways coming back to bite him, or does it want to be a story of Will Turner coming to terms with the man his fatherDead Man's Chest seems to struggle mightily with what it wants to be. Does it want to be a story about Jack Sparrow's rascally ways coming back to bite him, or does it want to be a story of Will Turner coming to terms with the man his father was? Does it want to be about Elizabeth Swann becoming a pirate and loving it, or Norrington trying to scrape by after an offscreen passingly-mentioned disgrace? The villain, at least, is clear, but little else is.

Speaking of the villain, Davy Jones is a great one. He's scary, he's one of the best-modeled CG characters ever made, and Bill Nighy acts him beautifully. But he's weighed down by the plodding, meandering movie he's in, that can't seem to decide what it's doing, where it's going, or why it exists. It seems to be just sort of...THERE. Because Eisner wanted a sequel. Or something. Overall, the weakest film in the series. That includes At World's End AND On Stranger Tides.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
StevenFJun 29, 2013
Why so serious Pirates? Dead Man's Chest is equally as explosive and ridiculous as it's predecessor, but the charm and magical aspect of the first has seemingly disappeared, and been replaced with a sombre, lengthy and often pointlessWhy so serious Pirates? Dead Man's Chest is equally as explosive and ridiculous as it's predecessor, but the charm and magical aspect of the first has seemingly disappeared, and been replaced with a sombre, lengthy and often pointless escapade across the sea.
Time seems to have shifted to a much darker and more sadistic tone for Captain Jack Sparrow, played uniquely and more bizarre than ever by Johnny Depp, who finds himself in the company of an array of new faces, amongst them is the mythical Davy Jones, (Bill Nighy), who captains the legendary Flying Dutchman, a man or monster and a ship that Sparrow owes a debt to. Problem is, Will Turner and his almost bride Elizabeth Swan are wanted for aiding Captain Jack, under the new East India Trading Company regime in Port Royal, the two decide to search for Jack in an attempt to benefit one another.and their lives.
With everyone after the same thing, there are plenty of characters to keep up with and many a tale to keep us entertained, but its the vastly different and change of personality that many of these characters have underwent that is the most, well, annoying.
Will Turner is more an insolent child now, he brims with confidence with very little reason to do so, and while his motives are never clear, much like Jack, its fun with Jack and should be left to him, because again he is the master of the house in the film, finding himself in many peculiar situations, with another witty script and plenty of one on one moments with very characters that simply light up the screen with the sparkle of Johnny Depp in pirate form.
But this doesn't stop the film from being about a half hour too long, with various scenes and moments, particularly the whole tribe moment, seemed to just be an excuse to use countless amounts of CGI to wither strut their stuff or to simply clock in the long running time. But there are of course plenty of decent things about this second outing, the set pieces are truly breathtaking, with a particularly massive finale that is sure to please the masses, and it is also nice to see the continuation of pirates being done justice on the screen, everyone is in it for themselves, but it just doesn't suit everyone.
Not the worst sequel, but so much could have been carried over from the excellent first outing to benefit this murky tale, it is always leading to something else that in the end you must settle for the fact that it isn't going to happen in this film, but some shining performances make it worthwhile.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
quaritchMar 31, 2013
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. For me it's the worst POTC film. Great performance by Johnny Depp, cool action scenes, and dark. But i think it's too dark and the story may pretty hard to follow for your children. I also praise its strong visuals and assorted humors. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
Movie1997Mar 24, 2013
This sequel shows that pirates of the carribean has still got the stuff. It's a fun wild ride filled with action and adventure, with some occasional humor by yours truly (Jack Sparrow). Honestly, it's my favorite of all the pirates movies.This sequel shows that pirates of the carribean has still got the stuff. It's a fun wild ride filled with action and adventure, with some occasional humor by yours truly (Jack Sparrow). Honestly, it's my favorite of all the pirates movies. You won't be dissapointed in this swashbuckling sequel. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
SwatiFeb 15, 2013
No where near as good as the first installment. But it had enough laughs and pirate action. I actually liked the character of Commodore, and rooted for him. Davy Jones was a decent villain. If you did not watch the first one, you may actuallyNo where near as good as the first installment. But it had enough laughs and pirate action. I actually liked the character of Commodore, and rooted for him. Davy Jones was a decent villain. If you did not watch the first one, you may actually like it very much. Curse of the Black Pearl set the standard very high. Nonetheless, it's definitely watchable if not re-watchable. I feel that if it shared only the theme with CotBP and had no connection to it in plot, it would have been better. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
RikiegeJan 23, 2013
Not as good as the others, but better than the third.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
gizmawyJan 12, 2013
will what can i say it record for highest opening weekend of all time ($135,600,000) and grossed over $1 billion dollars worldwide
is that worth just ( 6.8 )
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
cameronmorewoodNov 9, 2012
The second dose of pirate mayhem is scattershot and chunky as a whole, but delivers in the moment, and is fueled by some breathtaking storm sequences.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
Jack101Sep 10, 2012
It was fantastic in visual effects and fun through the island of the tribes and the three way swordplay for the chest. Its four star in my book, and it was just as good as the first one
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
jwt7000Aug 6, 2012
One of the most popular movies to date, the movie is full of adventure and some laughs. But the redundant drama keeps me bored and the music sounds more epic than ever.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
Critic2012Jun 11, 2012
Though unequal to the original in plot and character development, the Dead Man's Chest is still extremely fun and enjoyable. Johnny Depp is unbeatable.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
LandFApr 19, 2012
This film is very similar to the first film. I refer to the flaws, the strengths, and in essence, everything that has to do with the first film. This is not good, nor bad. The first movie was an enjoyable rumpus, but it was filled with flawsThis film is very similar to the first film. I refer to the flaws, the strengths, and in essence, everything that has to do with the first film. This is not good, nor bad. The first movie was an enjoyable rumpus, but it was filled with flaws and holes. This film was no different, but it balances out as being nearly as good, if not equal to the first. The first similarity between the two films is the first half hour. The content is different enough, but it starts in the same way as the first. That is, a brilliant first half hour, then an hour and a half of pirates that never is as good as the first bit. This time however, I was entertained a little bit more the rest of the way through. The first half hour wasn't as strong as the first film's beginning, but it makes up for it with a stronger body. The special effects are incredible, even better than the first. The scenes with the legendary Krakken in particular are very good. And this brings up one of "Dead Man's Chest's" biggest strengths; it's action scenes. Unlike the first, much of the action is fun and memorable. There is one elaborate part where a chase for a chest, a moving sword fight, and a clash with Davy Jone's crew all occurs at once on a beach, in a mill, and in a jungle. It's very entertaining, and quite thrilling. It's also quite elaborate, the way everything occurs at once, but I couldn't help but think about how much was just filled in with CGI later, rather than filming simotaneously. This film does, however have some new flaws the first didn't have. One thing is the plot, or more specifically, lack of. I felt like I kept waiting for the plot to kick in. It never really did. Also, the character of Jack Sparrow was one of the most entertaining bits of the first film. Unfortunately, he has a considerably smaller role in this film, and he can't truthfully be considered the star in this episode. This leads to a lot of dull stretches. On the upside, the score is even stronger than that of the first. This time, it's fully composed by Hanz Zimmer and it's not only good, it's incredible. This is a soundtrack you'll want on your iPod. Pirates of the Caribbean: Dead Man's Chest is just as good as the first; with weaknesses and strengths balancing out to create an equal package. One just wishes that there was some kind of reason to all the fighting and action, because frankly, we never get one. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
LavezziApr 8, 2012
This film manages to fuse together both the hilarity and incompetency of Jack Sparrow with the seriousness and fright of Davy Jones. Although some will contest the ending it proves to show that the film isn't simply about the silly exploitsThis film manages to fuse together both the hilarity and incompetency of Jack Sparrow with the seriousness and fright of Davy Jones. Although some will contest the ending it proves to show that the film isn't simply about the silly exploits of Jack but there is a more underlying story beneath it all. Brilliant acting from Johnny Deep who provides a laugh in every scene. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
Trev29Apr 2, 2012
Most certainly not as good as the first one, but it still brings the action, adventure, and silliness. It is pleasant and fast paced. Great visuals and music.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
csw12Mar 25, 2012
This installment is way to long and all the different plots make the film to complicated for itself. Yet the film still survives because of Jack and is marvelous performance.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
7
heyitsmegrif4Dec 30, 2011
The whole story at the heart gets stronger although it isn't told very well.,so basically the second installment is lackluster, but offers some clever camerawork that can be useful to know in the third installment. It still has some greatThe whole story at the heart gets stronger although it isn't told very well.,so basically the second installment is lackluster, but offers some clever camerawork that can be useful to know in the third installment. It still has some great action, clever humor and dazzling visuals. I give this movie 74%. Expand
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
0
asylumspadezNov 23, 2011
It proves how bad things can turn when the first film was so good and the sequel was far worst. The acting is poor, The story isnt interesting at all, and the entire film is simply boring.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
5
grandpajoe6191Sep 24, 2011
"Dead Man's Chest" starts out with a cheerful performance by Johnny Depp and ends with a terrible conclusion. Ultimately the movie is a mindless blockbuster, a movie you would expect.
5 of 12 users found this helpful57
All this user's reviews
7
MovieLonely94Jun 11, 2011
This second installment continues this heroic franchise as Jack Sparrow and his crew members face a new enemy known as Davy Jones who captains the Flying Dutchman. Feeling like he has no choice, Jack must owe his dept to him, but has to getThis second installment continues this heroic franchise as Jack Sparrow and his crew members face a new enemy known as Davy Jones who captains the Flying Dutchman. Feeling like he has no choice, Jack must owe his dept to him, but has to get help from Will Turner and Elizabeth Swann first, unaware that they are sentenced to be hanged by Lord Cutler Bucket unless they can give him Jack's compass to join him on his quest to defeat Davy Jones.

(sigh) This was the only movie I've missed in theaters in 2006, but thank god I watched it on DVD rental at the library and really enjoyed it. I can't believe I'm saying this, but... this sequel is not as good as the first movie.

The actors from the first movie did very well at their performances, The CGI was cool, The action was even more cooler, and the storyline was well-paced, but the dialogue was bad, the storytelling was rushed, and it has some flaws throughout the whole movie.

Pirates of the Caribbean: Dead's Man's Chest may not be the best movie of all time, but it is in no doubt a worthy follow up to the first with solid performances and even greater action sequences.

7/10
Expand
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
9
SeriouslyMay 26, 2011
If you're reading this then you're probably alive. If you're alive then you'd probably like this movie. I personally loved it. It is a sequel to a film that didn't need a sequel, yet adding this movie to the franchise just made it a whole lotIf you're reading this then you're probably alive. If you're alive then you'd probably like this movie. I personally loved it. It is a sequel to a film that didn't need a sequel, yet adding this movie to the franchise just made it a whole lot better. You wouldn't really need to see the first film to understand this one, so don't worry if you haven't watched The Black Pearl just yet. Seriously, get the -blam- off this website and watch this movie. Expand
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
7
coolevMay 18, 2011
Depp is back and better than ever. Loved the scene where the three are fighting for the chest! Not sure about Elisabeth and Davy Jones, though. Regardless, I liked it. I love good Disney movies. I like to wave at them as they pass by.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
gm101Mar 15, 2011
Awesome second chapter to the series. I gotta say, ILM really tricked me with Davy Jones, because I had no idea his face was actually computer generated. Great work!
5 of 7 users found this helpful52
All this user's reviews
8
CritiqueGirlMar 4, 2011
Great premise where the pirates are desperate to put the treasure BACK! I really did like Johnny Depp in this movie. The rest of the cast were so-so. But again, it was the premise that won me over.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
libnoDec 18, 2010
I loved this film! It had wonderful CGI effects, great action, and even some humor here and there. There's nothing to hate, but it isn't perfect though, like this one part where all Jack and Will had to do was stab Davy Jones and all theirI loved this film! It had wonderful CGI effects, great action, and even some humor here and there. There's nothing to hate, but it isn't perfect though, like this one part where all Jack and Will had to do was stab Davy Jones and all their dreams would come true, instead of having a three way duel with Norrington. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
GoldenEye16Aug 22, 2010
A bit too long but very entertaining. I really think though that they should not have made this sequel because the first movie was fantastic and should stand alone.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
0
DonL.Dec 11, 2007
Worst movie of the.....decade.
0 of 2 users found this helpful
5
MelaOct 13, 2007
Elizabeth does just fret me,she is so stupid and spoil and have nothing better to do than just look hard.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
HenryOct 1, 2007
GREAT MOVIE, funny as hell really enjoyed it!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
PatC.Aug 27, 2007
Some really cute quirky action, but overall the continuity was botched. Just because it utilized the construction of an overlong matinee serial doesn't mean it always had to refuse to make sense. But a swordfight on a rogue waterwheel, Some really cute quirky action, but overall the continuity was botched. Just because it utilized the construction of an overlong matinee serial doesn't mean it always had to refuse to make sense. But a swordfight on a rogue waterwheel, that's still something special. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
0
BendikAug 23, 2007
Thanks for destroying a good actor! Johnny Depp was awesome, now I can't even look at him without getting sad. This movie is TERRIBLE!
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
DeannaHAug 3, 2007
Really great movie!!!!!!! I love Johnny Depp!!
1 of 2 users found this helpful
1
KatherineJun 21, 2007
I couldn't follow the story one bit because I couldn't hear a word the characters were saying. Also, way to long.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
JDC.Jun 17, 2007
I think (Pirates of the Caribbean Dead Mans Chest) was great. it had a lot of action, Jonny Depp a.k.a Jack Sparrow was an incredible actor. Also it was very funny. I liked the story where it talked about Davy Jones. I liked the romance I think (Pirates of the Caribbean Dead Mans Chest) was great. it had a lot of action, Jonny Depp a.k.a Jack Sparrow was an incredible actor. Also it was very funny. I liked the story where it talked about Davy Jones. I liked the romance between Will Turner and Elizabeth Swann. I also loved when Will reunited with his farther Bootstrap Bill Turner. It was funny when Elizabeth hit former Commodore Norrington in the head with a rum bottle. It was cool when Jack was chief of the warriors, also when the crew was swinging back and forth in the cages. I like the story that Tia Dalma told of Davy Jones. I thought the fight between the crew of the Black Perl and The Kraken was the best and coolest. I definitely liked how it connected the first movie with the third movie. I liked when Norrrington, Will, Jack fought over the key of Dead Mans Chest. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
BobB.Jun 2, 2007
I think this film is vastly underrated. Sure, some the ideas are just plain ridiculous, and some scenes are impossibly hard to follow, but you can't help but appreciate the sheer quantity of cash and amount of planning in this film. I think this film is vastly underrated. Sure, some the ideas are just plain ridiculous, and some scenes are impossibly hard to follow, but you can't help but appreciate the sheer quantity of cash and amount of planning in this film. Scenes such as the jungle escape in the beginning are so well thought out it plays like an action movie, with each sequence topping the last. And while some of these offend or suspension of disbelief, it more than makes up with it with big-budget effects unlike anything ever seen in a Hollywood movie. The visual design of Davey Jones and his henchmen required hours of creative planning on the part of the art and special effects teams. The only real issue is the ham-fisted and completely unsatisfying ending that serves absolutely no purpose other than ticket sales for the sequel, but in the end it seems worth it to strap along for the ride. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
gsMay 28, 2007
Some great scenes but overall mess. Way too long and too dark for youn children. All ot the fun of the original seems to have been soaked out of this often boring sequel. I enjoyed the original film but I can't understand why this movie Some great scenes but overall mess. Way too long and too dark for youn children. All ot the fun of the original seems to have been soaked out of this often boring sequel. I enjoyed the original film but I can't understand why this movie was such a huge hit and beloved by fans. I guess it's the emperor's new clothes syndrome. I actually heard some critic say that Pirates series was this generations Star Wars. I hope not because i would lose all hope for this generation and the future of the world. Overall fun scenes on the island at the beginning and at the end the last 30 minutes but everything in between is a boring mess which desperately needed to be edited down. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
JamesApr 6, 2007
The biggest problem with this film is that its plot is horrible, falling apart at even the slightest scrutiny. So much of the movie wasted our time with pointless scenes and irrelevant plot lines. On the bright side the characterization was The biggest problem with this film is that its plot is horrible, falling apart at even the slightest scrutiny. So much of the movie wasted our time with pointless scenes and irrelevant plot lines. On the bright side the characterization was well done as was some of the cinematography. But still a film without a plot is extremely flawed. If you're one of the few who haven't seen the film give it a wide birth. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
1
NatMFeb 11, 2007
I personally feel that this movie completely sucked, after watching the first one I thought, maybe, just maybe this movie might be just as good. But no, sadly they used the lamest humour possible, they tried to be too funny, everyone just I personally feel that this movie completely sucked, after watching the first one I thought, maybe, just maybe this movie might be just as good. But no, sadly they used the lamest humour possible, they tried to be too funny, everyone just decided to start totally sucking at acting, and what's worse is that no one can see that. If anyone says that this was a good movie, I'm sorry but they must be completely out of their minds. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
JaredB.Jan 18, 2007
"Pirates of the Carribean: Dead Man's Chest" is a brilliant film, cleverly mixing action with off-the-wall humor. Johnny Depp, once again in the role of Jack Sparrow, is hilarious. The action scenes kept me absolutely riveted to the "Pirates of the Carribean: Dead Man's Chest" is a brilliant film, cleverly mixing action with off-the-wall humor. Johnny Depp, once again in the role of Jack Sparrow, is hilarious. The action scenes kept me absolutely riveted to the screen. A great film, certain to go down as a true Hollywood classic. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
JonA.Jan 12, 2007
Many entertaining and imaginative action sequences, but the story feels aimless and eventually sinks the movie. Not as fun as I hoped it would be.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
3
MikeDec 26, 2006
Amazing special effects, makeup, sets. But thats all it offers. I found the movie intresting for 30 mins and then it became very boring and unintresting. Even though the action was there. It was a bore.
0 of 2 users found this helpful