American Broadcasting Company (ABC) | Release Date: July 7, 2006
7.2
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 896 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
619
Mixed:
160
Negative:
117
Watch Now
Buy On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
0
AllenT.Jul 20, 2006
Was this movie supposed to be funny? The shishkabob gag, the dog, Keira fake-fainting. Was any of this supposed to bring a smile to my face? Because if so, this is the worst failure in cineplexes this year. It's a total, humorless dud.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
DavidW.Jul 23, 2006
I thought the film achieved it's goal. It's a fun pirate movie, and a worthy follow-up to it's predecessor. Johnny Depp continues his antics that gave the first movie it's charm. Orlando and Keira do fine in their I thought the film achieved it's goal. It's a fun pirate movie, and a worthy follow-up to it's predecessor. Johnny Depp continues his antics that gave the first movie it's charm. Orlando and Keira do fine in their respective roles as well. I don't quite get the comments of the plot being overly complicated. If anything, I was relieved that there is a decent STORY here, and not just a movie that relies on it's action sequences, which, by the way, were well done in my opinion. I loved it, and my 8 year old son loved it as well. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
ShawnaP.Jul 23, 2006
Brilliant! Amazing! Fantastic! Best movie ever!!! None of these things describe this movie. I had read comments stating things like this on this and other website from some superfans. After having seen it though, my rating is Brilliant waste Brilliant! Amazing! Fantastic! Best movie ever!!! None of these things describe this movie. I had read comments stating things like this on this and other website from some superfans. After having seen it though, my rating is Brilliant waste of talent! Amazingly dull! Fantastically overrated! Worst movie ever!! -S Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
EricY.Jul 24, 2006
Very Long! Nothing was really resolved. It was basically designed to set up the next movie. I hope the next one will wrap something up. The effects were awesome and Johnny Depp is awesome.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
CraigR.Jul 24, 2006
Great fun from start to finish.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
JrymyL.Jul 25, 2006
I enjoyed all the fight scenes,the visual effects and the acting,especially Depps but overall the story wasn't very interesting. This movie had to be made just to fill in the space between the first and the third movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
BillC.Jul 25, 2006
This sequel was too long and too special effects based. The movie should be Johny Depps, but he is not in the film enough and his lines are not as clever or as frequent as before. A weak story and too long by 45 minutes.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JohnJul 27, 2006
I loved the film. I think it was too complicated for many American minds.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
JackB.Jul 28, 2006
On one hand you have Knightly and Bloom acting is stiff and predictable. On the other hand you have Depp prancing around and rambling incoherant jiberish to the degree that he can't be taken seriously. You're left with images andOn one hand you have Knightly and Bloom acting is stiff and predictable. On the other hand you have Depp prancing around and rambling incoherant jiberish to the degree that he can't be taken seriously. You're left with images and scenes that you might ooo and ahhhh at. (If you're eight years old or younger) Anyone with a few brain cells still active will be bored to death. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
LangdonJul 29, 2006
After watching this movie, i thought, did we really need this? The first Pirates was great, but this movie didn't add much to the mythology. And next summer's release of 3 feels too soon. Spread them out more! Maybe 2008. I'm After watching this movie, i thought, did we really need this? The first Pirates was great, but this movie didn't add much to the mythology. And next summer's release of 3 feels too soon. Spread them out more! Maybe 2008. I'm not looking forward to seeing 3 next year. I think i will skip it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
PaulK.Jul 6, 2006
Takes a while to get up to speed, but the last hour is a fun filled action packed adventure. The special effects encompassing Davy Jones and crew were fantastic. If you're a fan, definitely check this one out in the theater.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
NickiJul 7, 2006
it was very confussing...hard 2 follow along.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
MattA.Jul 7, 2006
Honestly... it wasn't as bad as the critics are making it out to be. It was thoroughly entertaining throughout, although it was a bit too long.... overall it was good... I was never blown away by the first so, so i felt that this one Honestly... it wasn't as bad as the critics are making it out to be. It was thoroughly entertaining throughout, although it was a bit too long.... overall it was good... I was never blown away by the first so, so i felt that this one lived up to the last one. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
EricJul 7, 2006
The first 2/3 of the movie was just full of exposition. the last act is what saved the flick from total disaster.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
ColbyS.Jul 7, 2006
True, it wasn't as good as the first and yes, it was about a half hour too long for its own good, but overall, most of the critics who reviewed this were either PMSing or so full of sh.. they had to let it spew out of their mouths to True, it wasn't as good as the first and yes, it was about a half hour too long for its own good, but overall, most of the critics who reviewed this were either PMSing or so full of sh.. they had to let it spew out of their mouths to trash this film. It was rousing enough to keep me awake until it finished at 2:30 AM at the midnight showing; in short, although not Oscar material, it's funny, unpredictable, action-packed- a good summer movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
ZackL.Jul 7, 2006
Please don't hesitate to watch this fun, entertaining and compelling film!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
RichK.Jul 7, 2006
The running time is long and there are a few slow points. That being said I found this sequel to be just as enjoyable as the first. I don't understand why so many critics are panning this film. It is not meant to be anything but a The running time is long and there are a few slow points. That being said I found this sequel to be just as enjoyable as the first. I don't understand why so many critics are panning this film. It is not meant to be anything but a summer popcorn flick. I found the look of this movie to be unique and the special effects are phenominal, plus all that was enjoyable about the first movie is still here. There is a great deal of laughs and action. If you are looking for escapism in its purest form then I highly recommend this film. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
StarFoxJul 8, 2006
Unfortunately, it's a mess. Too many over-the-top references to the first one, an overly convoluted story and little memorable except for the effects work. Call it Priates: Reloaded.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
PaulO.Jul 8, 2006
The movie was OK. The special effects were amazing, though. Yes, a little long and definitely NOT as good as the first one. Worth seeing but maybe not more than once. The first one had replay value, unlike this one.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SusanS.Jul 8, 2006
I saw the movie last night and was delighted as was the rest of the audience. I had a hard time believing I was watching the same movie the critics have panned. It was great! I'll probably go see it again at least 5 times. The critic I saw the movie last night and was delighted as was the rest of the audience. I had a hard time believing I was watching the same movie the critics have panned. It was great! I'll probably go see it again at least 5 times. The critic from EW in particular needs to have her glasses examined-her review was nasty and way way out of line. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
CarsonS.Jul 8, 2006
I was camping when the movie came out and i drove 1 and a half hours both ways to go see this and i wasn't disappointed. The action scenes are absolutely spectacular and the story line is quite good. The special effects are superb with I was camping when the movie came out and i drove 1 and a half hours both ways to go see this and i wasn't disappointed. The action scenes are absolutely spectacular and the story line is quite good. The special effects are superb with davy jones and his crew and of course you can never got enough of Jack Sparrows delightful quirkiness. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
SherryB.Jul 8, 2006
Very good speacial effects but I hate movies that leave you hanging.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JimA.Jul 8, 2006
I have no idea what movie the critics saw but it wasn't this one. It was different than the first yeah, but that's to be expected from a sequel because more of the same is boring. This one was darker, creepier, and had more plot I have no idea what movie the critics saw but it wasn't this one. It was different than the first yeah, but that's to be expected from a sequel because more of the same is boring. This one was darker, creepier, and had more plot than the first one and it works gorgeously. To those that believe that CG ruined the movie- would you rather they used puppets and end up making it look like a bad 1970s movie? Didn't think so. The length is fine- bigger tales mean longer screen times, and I was never bored once. All the actors are just as good (even better probably) than they were in the first movie and the dialogue is really good, something that is definitely lacking in movies these days. There was nothing bad about this film at all, don't listen to the haters, go give Gore Verbinski more money. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JeremyJul 8, 2006
Absolutely loved it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
ChanelB.Jul 8, 2006
As much as I loved the first movie, the only thing that I can say to describe "Dead Man's Chest" is that it let me down tremendously. I love Johnny Depp so you can imagine how hard it is for me to say this but, I was getting tired of As much as I loved the first movie, the only thing that I can say to describe "Dead Man's Chest" is that it let me down tremendously. I love Johnny Depp so you can imagine how hard it is for me to say this but, I was getting tired of his character. As well as that, I felt as though I had seen it all before! For instance, when Will goes searching for Jack and there is the sequence where he is asking around Tortuga to see if anyone knows where the famous Capitan Sparrow is, and he meets up with two minor woman roles from the first movie, who smack Will and tell him to send that message to Jack......Hasn't that happened a couple of times already? Do we have to play it out some more? The answer is yes. I also realized that the chemistry between Elizabeth and Will was nothing like the first movie's was. Sure, we had the quick "oh, you're back from Davie Jones Locker!" kiss, but honestly! In Pirates 1, Will and Lizzy were the scandelous, romantic couple, but that was completely gone by this movie. Some people may think that since "the compass that shows what you want most in the world" pointed to Jack, when Lizzy was holding it on the Island where Davie hid his heart, it is another shocking plot point! But seriously, do we need another? This movie was so jam-packed with them that I couldn't get Will's father and Davie Jones strait! Overall, this movie was not what I was looking for at 12:00 at night, or any other time for that matter. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
LanieJ.Jul 9, 2006
A big let down after the first one - illogical plot, no humor or good fun like the first, and unintelligible dialogue at times. I left the theater queasy and uninterested. A shame after how great Pirates 1 was.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
StephS.Jul 9, 2006
I thought that Johnny Depp was the absolutley FANTASTIC. He made the movie. Loved it. :)
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
GeraldB.Jul 9, 2006
Just blobs of colour squiggling onscreen and words shooting back and forth unintelligibly. Sitting in a cinema watching PIRATES 2 was like being wrapped in a triple -length roll of very loud wallpaper.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
AaronF.Jul 9, 2006
I can definitely say this was a great movie. I personally wasn't too excited about seeing it as many people were as despite liking the first movie, I never became some hardcore fan like many did. Like Jack said, it's not the best I can definitely say this was a great movie. I personally wasn't too excited about seeing it as many people were as despite liking the first movie, I never became some hardcore fan like many did. Like Jack said, it's not the best stand-alone movie, but like many trillogies it's there because now there's a continuing story that will end in the third. I'm not going to complain, and PotC actually contained an entertaining plot. Simply put, yeah it could be a better movie, but it's an amazing trilogy. Definately a little darker, but the humor for me hit every time. Great movie and I liked the faster pacing with more things happening in it and a little more action. I honestly think I would rather watch this one again rather than the first. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
JimM.Jul 9, 2006
What a BAD BAD movie! They should have stopped with the first one, which was good. This was was HORRIBLE. The best word I can think of is GROSS. I haven't seen this must gross crap on a movie screen since...I don't remember What a BAD BAD movie! They should have stopped with the first one, which was good. This was was HORRIBLE. The best word I can think of is GROSS. I haven't seen this must gross crap on a movie screen since...I don't remember anything this bad! Too bad so many people wasted their money on this crap, it would have been better spent on the fabulous Superman Returns, a movie with heart and soul, this waste of film has neither. A typical Ameircan summer waste of time... Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
JaclynW.Aug 11, 2006
well, I would've given the first pirates movie a perfect 10, but this movie must sink to an 8. Don't get me wrong, I loved this movie, but it was much grimmer than the first movie and left a lot of question swimming around your well, I would've given the first pirates movie a perfect 10, but this movie must sink to an 8. Don't get me wrong, I loved this movie, but it was much grimmer than the first movie and left a lot of question swimming around your head. It had plenty of gross moments. I thought that the graphics were incredible. So even though this movie had it's share of upsets, it had it's positives. All I can say is it needed a little more Jack Sparrow! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
DanB.Aug 19, 2006
Really, reeeeally tedious. What is horrible is that this made so much money, they're going to think: oh well, this must be what a good movie is so we'll make them all like this.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
MarkC.Aug 23, 2006
I liked this moive a lot it had action and class but it wasnt as good as i wanted it to be it wasnt as good as the first moive but it still was entertaning. But to long.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
KateB.Aug 26, 2006
This isn't the worst film I've ever seen. But, I absolutely adore Johnny Depp and loved the first Pirates movie, but this really isn't very good. It has too many winding plot lines and the story is poor, plus the scrpt writers This isn't the worst film I've ever seen. But, I absolutely adore Johnny Depp and loved the first Pirates movie, but this really isn't very good. It has too many winding plot lines and the story is poor, plus the scrpt writers have crammed a joke into every one of Jack Sparrow's lines, and it doesn't work. Sorry, but it really isn't very good at all. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
DerekR.Aug 28, 2006
everything was great and funny, except 4 the ending-it didnt make sense
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
HenryOct 1, 2007
GREAT MOVIE, funny as hell really enjoyed it!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JDC.Jun 17, 2007
I think (Pirates of the Caribbean Dead Mans Chest) was great. it had a lot of action, Jonny Depp a.k.a Jack Sparrow was an incredible actor. Also it was very funny. I liked the story where it talked about Davy Jones. I liked the romance I think (Pirates of the Caribbean Dead Mans Chest) was great. it had a lot of action, Jonny Depp a.k.a Jack Sparrow was an incredible actor. Also it was very funny. I liked the story where it talked about Davy Jones. I liked the romance between Will Turner and Elizabeth Swann. I also loved when Will reunited with his farther Bootstrap Bill Turner. It was funny when Elizabeth hit former Commodore Norrington in the head with a rum bottle. It was cool when Jack was chief of the warriors, also when the crew was swinging back and forth in the cages. I like the story that Tia Dalma told of Davy Jones. I thought the fight between the crew of the Black Perl and The Kraken was the best and coolest. I definitely liked how it connected the first movie with the third movie. I liked when Norrrington, Will, Jack fought over the key of Dead Mans Chest. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
BobB.Jun 2, 2007
I think this film is vastly underrated. Sure, some the ideas are just plain ridiculous, and some scenes are impossibly hard to follow, but you can't help but appreciate the sheer quantity of cash and amount of planning in this film. I think this film is vastly underrated. Sure, some the ideas are just plain ridiculous, and some scenes are impossibly hard to follow, but you can't help but appreciate the sheer quantity of cash and amount of planning in this film. Scenes such as the jungle escape in the beginning are so well thought out it plays like an action movie, with each sequence topping the last. And while some of these offend or suspension of disbelief, it more than makes up with it with big-budget effects unlike anything ever seen in a Hollywood movie. The visual design of Davey Jones and his henchmen required hours of creative planning on the part of the art and special effects teams. The only real issue is the ham-fisted and completely unsatisfying ending that serves absolutely no purpose other than ticket sales for the sequel, but in the end it seems worth it to strap along for the ride. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
KristinaDNov 24, 2006
Not as good as the first one, but still a very good movie. Johnny Depp is incredible as Captain Jack Sparrow.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
DennisP.Dec 17, 2006
One of the most disappointing sequels in recent memory.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
ElizabethC.Dec 20, 2006
Although I did like the first one better, i loved this movie also.... Johnny Depp is perfect as Jack Sparrow. He is by far my favorite actor!!!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
TraiDepJul 11, 2006
A *very* fast paced roller coaster ride. packs more popcorn fun in one movie that some trilogies lack (some reviewers said, 'difficult to follow plot' or 'too dense'. I personally think they're too old. :)
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
ReidF.Jul 11, 2006
Pretty bad, I like all the actors but the story line was tacked together and struggeling. The visuals were impressive but too many giant squid scenes. A shorter simplified plot with emphasis on Jack Sparrow would have been much more pleasing.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
DrewF.Jul 11, 2006
A tale of two movies: First half is long, dull and incredibly unfunny. Second half is fun, exciting and incredibly funny. Second half of the movie makes the first half worth sitting thru.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
GriffinMillJul 11, 2006
Every component in Pirates I that earned the picture a rating of 7 - was amplified (exagerated) into vulgarity. Metacritic has been a dependable resource. How is it that in assigning numerical ratings from the critics, in the case of this Every component in Pirates I that earned the picture a rating of 7 - was amplified (exagerated) into vulgarity. Metacritic has been a dependable resource. How is it that in assigning numerical ratings from the critics, in the case of this film, deeply negative reviews are given relatively high numerical ratings. Read the reviewers' comments and ask how: "A long, tedious and convoluted follow-up to 2003's rollicking high-seas hit, The Curse of the Black Pearl, this second installment in the promised trilogy lacks the swash and buckle of the original. And then some." this sounds like the writer was giving the film a 5 out of 10 rating? More like 2 (generous) out of ten. [Ed: We don't score the quotations. We score the entire review.] Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
PaulR.Jul 11, 2006
Outstanding summer film. I am not sure what the critics have against this film I found it thouroughly fun and entertaining. Great lead up into the next film.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
AnthonyS.Jul 12, 2006
Too long, Fun at times, confusing at others,what,s the deal with the Pirate and the girl? And the ending stinks.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
HooverH.Jul 12, 2006
The rabid fans are wrong: -This is definitely not the best movie of the year -It DEFINITELY was NOT fast paced -Johnny Depp's acting was NOT impressive as it was in the first. He's got a line of charades worked up that he uses The rabid fans are wrong: -This is definitely not the best movie of the year -It DEFINITELY was NOT fast paced -Johnny Depp's acting was NOT impressive as it was in the first. He's got a line of charades worked up that he uses constantly such as bringing his knees freakishly high while running (haha...no), making squeamish faces etc... Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
SangheeC.Jul 12, 2006
It was overall an amusing movie for a Friday afternoon, but it was tedious. The crew of Davey Jones was too ghostly and ghoulish. While the first one was just the right amount of reature-esque, the octapus and crab and conch thing in this It was overall an amusing movie for a Friday afternoon, but it was tedious. The crew of Davey Jones was too ghostly and ghoulish. While the first one was just the right amount of reature-esque, the octapus and crab and conch thing in this movie was way too stupid. The ending ruined it. At least in the first one, there was the option of seeing the second one, but not in this movie. YOu practically HAVE to see the next one. The characters acted very out-of-character all the time. It was a mix between strange people, and the original characters. It was just not as good as the previous one. Though, as always, the music was excellent. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
RobertM.Jul 12, 2006
Dead Man's Chest is a thrill-seeking adventure that turns toward a dark heading as the story becomes appropriately more grim. The effects make the action sequences breathtaking while the performances are as suprising as it's ending.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
JohnsonD.Jul 12, 2006
Those who give this movie 9 and 10, do you have any standards? This rank pile of drivel accomplishes nothing! It's merely there, for 2 1/2 hrs. People who haven't seen it, save your money. Truly. This one's a video-rental, if Those who give this movie 9 and 10, do you have any standards? This rank pile of drivel accomplishes nothing! It's merely there, for 2 1/2 hrs. People who haven't seen it, save your money. Truly. This one's a video-rental, if that. Pathetically crappy film. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
JPG.Jul 13, 2006
I can't believe this movie beat Spiderman. I only lasted 10 minutes of this movie. It was the worst movie of the summer. I hope the third one is better but I doubt it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
LuisF.Jul 13, 2006
A great summer movie. Although it lacks originality, this is not a bad thing.There were some action scenes and a bit of comedy for fill-in, but over all, fans of the original movie will be satisfied, as well as newcomers.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
PeterN.Jul 13, 2006
The voodoo lady in the movie talks about "Dee End of Dee Eartd". Well, i felt pushed to dee end of my wits by dis filum. Johnny Depp is one of my favorites on the big screen. He was so good in the first Piraes movie and in Charlie and the The voodoo lady in the movie talks about "Dee End of Dee Eartd". Well, i felt pushed to dee end of my wits by dis filum. Johnny Depp is one of my favorites on the big screen. He was so good in the first Piraes movie and in Charlie and the Chocolate Factory. But he, like Orlando and Kiera, were boring this time around. I got a headache about a half hour into the movie, and it didn't feel better until I walked out of the theater. That's what this movie is good for. Giving headaches. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
GeorgeS.Jul 14, 2006
Gone is the fun, the not-taking yourself too seriously, the amazing sword play (with the excpetion of the 'rolling fight' - don't want to spoil the scene for those that haven't seen it), the loveable Captain Jack with the Gone is the fun, the not-taking yourself too seriously, the amazing sword play (with the excpetion of the 'rolling fight' - don't want to spoil the scene for those that haven't seen it), the loveable Captain Jack with the quick witt and supporting cast that ate it up. Enter stunning visual effects, a much darker atmosphere, boring dialogue, a cast that is going through the motions, and a script that is too long and doesn't stand on its own as a movie, but a set up for the sequel. I'd wait till the DVD or go to a matinee. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
JohnT.Jul 15, 2006
Docked a few points for a unnecessarily convoluted plot this nonethless delivers the goods. More sinister and darker than the first one but that helps the characterization too. All in all a rollicking good time in the way of the Indian Jones Docked a few points for a unnecessarily convoluted plot this nonethless delivers the goods. More sinister and darker than the first one but that helps the characterization too. All in all a rollicking good time in the way of the Indian Jones or The Mummy films. I wasn't aware that I would have to wait a year for all of the plot resolutions so be warned going in. I can't wait for the conclusion though. One question: if the rest of the crew of the Black Pearl is no longer cursed why is the Monkey still undead? Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
DarrenF.Jul 15, 2006
Hey everybody, how about this movie WAS good. You all just expect it to be like The Curse of the Black Pearl. I don't want to sit through the same crap (albeit, excellent crap) AGAIN. I want something different. There's nothing Hey everybody, how about this movie WAS good. You all just expect it to be like The Curse of the Black Pearl. I don't want to sit through the same crap (albeit, excellent crap) AGAIN. I want something different. There's nothing wrong with a dark atmosphere, which was not even that dark. There were still plenty of funny, funny scenes. The problem most of you seem to have is the plot. It was fine; if you don't overanalyze like so many people (critics included) seem to do, then it makes sense. And the cliffhanger ending? COME ON, PEOPLE. So many trilogies have ended part 2 like that. LOTR of recent years. STAR WARS: EMPIRE!? COME ON! To be quite honest, I thought it was an excellent movie. People expect so much out of everything now. You all expected these outlandish ideas of what it should be, and are just upset that things could not turn out the way you dreamed. It was a very good, well-made movie. I will agree the first one was better. However, Dead Man's Chest is an excellent movie, as well. First week numbers don't lie, people. Everyone in the theater when I watched loved it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
BrettJul 16, 2006
I didn't the first one. I thought the movie was over the top ridiculous, but entertaining nonetheless. If the ending is not going to be an ending, the audience should be aware of this before the movie begins. As in LOTR and Star Wars.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
BrotherKurtJul 16, 2006
[***spoilers alert***] Pirates was pretty horrible. If they had cut about 45-60 minutes out of that snooze feast, I would have been okay with it. But it was nothing but one special effects set piece after another, some of which were simply[***spoilers alert***] Pirates was pretty horrible. If they had cut about 45-60 minutes out of that snooze feast, I would have been okay with it. But it was nothing but one special effects set piece after another, some of which were simply repeated to lesser effect later in the film (eg. Bone Cage - funny; Big Wheel - redundant). And some of the effects, such as Bill Nighy's tentacle face, just overwhelmed an otherwise good actor. All in all, a major disappointment; nonetheless, they did hook me at the end so I will probably see the third one. Grrrr.... Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
CateW.Jul 17, 2006
Definitely an e-ticket ride, though darker than the first episode. Arrr!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
KevinB.Jul 17, 2006
Enjoyable? Yes. As good as the first? Not quite. While I truly enjoyed seeing this movie with my family, I was a little let down in the presentaion of the characters. It felt to me that everyone was trying too hard to remember what it was Enjoyable? Yes. As good as the first? Not quite. While I truly enjoyed seeing this movie with my family, I was a little let down in the presentaion of the characters. It felt to me that everyone was trying too hard to remember what it was that made his/her character so likable in the first film. The one exception was that of Norrington. If you watch the dvd audio commentary with the cast, Jack Davenport (Norrington) exclaims that he looks like an "ice cream cone" compared to everyone else. Well, he got his chance to dirty it up a little, get your minds out of the gutter, I'm referring to his costuming. He did a splendid job portraying his role as a destitue, decomissioned officer of the British royal navy. I must say I am excited for the third installment because of the reappearance of Barbossa. Geoffrey Rush will not disappoint in his reprise. Yes, many of the jokes were rehashed. Yes, it was long. I hardly noticed the time pass until I left the theater and checked the time. My favorite link to the first film was when we finally get to see what tribe Sparrow was made chief of. Go and enjoy yourselves. You shouldn't be disapointed. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
MohammedR.Jul 17, 2006
This movie kicks butt. The critics as usual do not know what they are talking about. Go and see it. Can not wait for part three.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
WAKOJAKOJul 17, 2006
I saw it twice last weekend. Need I say more? Johnny Depp rocks!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
BarryH.M.Jul 18, 2006
I may have liked it better had I been able to stay until the end, but it became too tedious to watch. I walked out of a film for only the second time in my life -- the first was "Blue Hawaii!" When Johnny Depp was onscreen it was fun; I may have liked it better had I been able to stay until the end, but it became too tedious to watch. I walked out of a film for only the second time in my life -- the first was "Blue Hawaii!" When Johnny Depp was onscreen it was fun; otherwise it was boring, if one can say that of disgusting violence and the promise of cannabilism. Maybe they should have stopped with the first installment. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
RuthD.Jul 18, 2006
One of the worst movies I've seen. Most of conversation so mumbled it was incomprehensible, and ditto the action!!!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
KarnaC.Jul 19, 2006
Stinky! There is good, there is average, and there is Pirates of the Carribbean, which is to say, it's utterly bad. It isn't bad as much as awful. Off the chart suckage. I was bored to tears!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MaryJul 21, 2006
Fantastic movie. Depp is a brilliant. It wasn't long enough!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
E.KooijJul 21, 2006
Astoundedly awful and mindlessly boring rehash of part 1. I felt being treated like a toddler, endlessly repeating jokes and plot twists which on first occurance might have put a smile on your face (if that).
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
RobertC.Jul 22, 2006
I could follow the movie, It was a great laugh it just needed one thing, The rest of the movie >:(
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
BethJul 22, 2006
I'm so disappointed.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
BillyS.Jul 24, 2006
When I saw the first Pirates I was blown away because I was going to a Disney movie based on a theme park ride and had no expectations of what I was about to see- Johnny Depp playing a rock and roll pirate and turning Mickey Mouse ears into When I saw the first Pirates I was blown away because I was going to a Disney movie based on a theme park ride and had no expectations of what I was about to see- Johnny Depp playing a rock and roll pirate and turning Mickey Mouse ears into a skull and crossbones! Dead Mans Chest is every bit as great as the first one but already Jack Sparrow has become a movie icon as familiar to the public as Hannibal Lector, Darth Vador and Indiana Jones and the only negative to this film is we know going in how brilliant Mr. Depp is and we just want more of him. Dead Mans Chest stands alone as a great old fashioned movie and had it been released first, people would be saying Black Pearl would be the inferior sequel. The movie ends as a set-up for the finale of the trilogy but I have a feeling Disney's going to milk atleast another trilogy out of this cash cow before all is over and done and if there as good, no great, as the first two I'll be first in line for as many as they can get Johnny Depp to agree to!! This is the definition of "Movie Magic". Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
KyleS.Jul 25, 2006
I won't lie- I met the first news of a Pirates sequel with a profound lack of enthusiasm. ' Everything's wrapped up- how do you do a sequel? WHY do a sequel?' (Don't answer that, I know why!) Thankfully, my I won't lie- I met the first news of a Pirates sequel with a profound lack of enthusiasm. ' Everything's wrapped up- how do you do a sequel? WHY do a sequel?' (Don't answer that, I know why!) Thankfully, my misgivings were for the most part unfounded. PoTC 2 holds within it's expansive bowels all the crazy fun of it's first incarnation, but has a few special moments to set it apart: 1) Will's reunion with his father. 2) The 3-way sword battle. 3) The Pearl's crew versus the Kraken. These aside, it does borrow a few more gags from CotBP than is perhaps healthy (THREE different refernces to Elizabeth burning the rum!). Almost everything before the Flying Dutchman bursts forth from the dark waters is rather meh, and Depp's Keith Richards routine, while funny, is not quite as inventive the second time. The ending, as a good trilogy cliffhanger should, leaves one hoping PoTC 3 will offer more in the way of new material and personalities along with resolution. Don't watch this if you don't intend to see the 3rd- Dead Man's Chest is only half of an epic story. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
RayR.Jul 25, 2006
Storyline was convoluted, and boring. Tennacles on Davy Jones face were irritatingly overused. Johnny Depp was not as interesting as POC 1. Overall, the movie was too long and boring. Special effects were good, but overuse made them Storyline was convoluted, and boring. Tennacles on Davy Jones face were irritatingly overused. Johnny Depp was not as interesting as POC 1. Overall, the movie was too long and boring. Special effects were good, but overuse made them monotonous. The humor and comedic timing of POC 1 were lost. Bootstrap Bill was the only interesting new character, others were window dressing. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
JoeyK.Aug 26, 2006
People mostly complain about how it goes a long way just to be continued, but it is fun to watch. I expect people will give this film a lot more forgiveness when it's possible to watch the third movie immediately afterwards. As a People mostly complain about how it goes a long way just to be continued, but it is fun to watch. I expect people will give this film a lot more forgiveness when it's possible to watch the third movie immediately afterwards. As a standalone movie, it suffers, due to being mostly a set up for something that doesn't come. But the next movie will enevietably be quite the opposite. People who don't want to see the next film because of this one are idiotic. Each reasonable complaint about this movie increases the likelihood that the next one will be awesome. I wouldn't make any promises, though, just look at the Matrix. Hopefully this series won't suffer the fate of the Matrix. Good Standalone Movie. Movie that is sorta good based on the premise that the next movie will be good. Utter crap. That would be unfortunate. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
JordanG.Sep 24, 2006
It was good. The story line dragged at some parts, and the first movie was better, but it had it's moments. I liked the comedy and story mostly.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JaredB.Jan 18, 2007
"Pirates of the Carribean: Dead Man's Chest" is a brilliant film, cleverly mixing action with off-the-wall humor. Johnny Depp, once again in the role of Jack Sparrow, is hilarious. The action scenes kept me absolutely riveted to the "Pirates of the Carribean: Dead Man's Chest" is a brilliant film, cleverly mixing action with off-the-wall humor. Johnny Depp, once again in the role of Jack Sparrow, is hilarious. The action scenes kept me absolutely riveted to the screen. A great film, certain to go down as a true Hollywood classic. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
gsMay 28, 2007
Some great scenes but overall mess. Way too long and too dark for youn children. All ot the fun of the original seems to have been soaked out of this often boring sequel. I enjoyed the original film but I can't understand why this movie Some great scenes but overall mess. Way too long and too dark for youn children. All ot the fun of the original seems to have been soaked out of this often boring sequel. I enjoyed the original film but I can't understand why this movie was such a huge hit and beloved by fans. I guess it's the emperor's new clothes syndrome. I actually heard some critic say that Pirates series was this generations Star Wars. I hope not because i would lose all hope for this generation and the future of the world. Overall fun scenes on the island at the beginning and at the end the last 30 minutes but everything in between is a boring mess which desperately needed to be edited down. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
JesseT.Dec 12, 2006
Not as good as the first one, but it was way more entertaining. It was hilarious thanks to the antics of Johnny Depp's Jack Sparrow character. A great movie which has a great cliffhanger ending. Can't wait for #3!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
DBScarlettDec 17, 2006
Not as good as the first, a bit more hokum and less realism. Depp his usual self... story needed more work.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
TomM.Dec 21, 2006
Action was good but it's just a set up to another sequel.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JordanF.Dec 23, 2006
I found this movie to be better than the 1st. Had a good story and it drew me in so that when it ended i was instantly craving the next movie. Only negative bit though is that it was a bit long.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
RheaDec 25, 2006
You really must watch these movies in succession to "get it."
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
GoldenEye16Aug 22, 2010
A bit too long but very entertaining. I really think though that they should not have made this sequel because the first movie was fantastic and should stand alone.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
jwt7000Aug 6, 2012
One of the most popular movies to date, the movie is full of adventure and some laughs. But the redundant drama keeps me bored and the music sounds more epic than ever.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
libnoDec 18, 2010
I loved this film! It had wonderful CGI effects, great action, and even some humor here and there. There's nothing to hate, but it isn't perfect though, like this one part where all Jack and Will had to do was stab Davy Jones and all theirI loved this film! It had wonderful CGI effects, great action, and even some humor here and there. There's nothing to hate, but it isn't perfect though, like this one part where all Jack and Will had to do was stab Davy Jones and all their dreams would come true, instead of having a three way duel with Norrington. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
CritiqueGirlMar 4, 2011
Great premise where the pirates are desperate to put the treasure BACK! I really did like Johnny Depp in this movie. The rest of the cast were so-so. But again, it was the premise that won me over.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
coolevMay 18, 2011
Depp is back and better than ever. Loved the scene where the three are fighting for the chest! Not sure about Elisabeth and Davy Jones, though. Regardless, I liked it. I love good Disney movies. I like to wave at them as they pass by.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
TyranianApr 12, 2019
Decent step down from first film but still very entertaining, Davy Jones is great.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
StevenFJun 29, 2013
Why so serious Pirates? Dead Man's Chest is equally as explosive and ridiculous as it's predecessor, but the charm and magical aspect of the first has seemingly disappeared, and been replaced with a sombre, lengthy and often pointlessWhy so serious Pirates? Dead Man's Chest is equally as explosive and ridiculous as it's predecessor, but the charm and magical aspect of the first has seemingly disappeared, and been replaced with a sombre, lengthy and often pointless escapade across the sea.
Time seems to have shifted to a much darker and more sadistic tone for Captain Jack Sparrow, played uniquely and more bizarre than ever by Johnny Depp, who finds himself in the company of an array of new faces, amongst them is the mythical Davy Jones, (Bill Nighy), who captains the legendary Flying Dutchman, a man or monster and a ship that Sparrow owes a debt to. Problem is, Will Turner and his almost bride Elizabeth Swan are wanted for aiding Captain Jack, under the new East India Trading Company regime in Port Royal, the two decide to search for Jack in an attempt to benefit one another.and their lives.
With everyone after the same thing, there are plenty of characters to keep up with and many a tale to keep us entertained, but its the vastly different and change of personality that many of these characters have underwent that is the most, well, annoying.
Will Turner is more an insolent child now, he brims with confidence with very little reason to do so, and while his motives are never clear, much like Jack, its fun with Jack and should be left to him, because again he is the master of the house in the film, finding himself in many peculiar situations, with another witty script and plenty of one on one moments with very characters that simply light up the screen with the sparkle of Johnny Depp in pirate form.
But this doesn't stop the film from being about a half hour too long, with various scenes and moments, particularly the whole tribe moment, seemed to just be an excuse to use countless amounts of CGI to wither strut their stuff or to simply clock in the long running time. But there are of course plenty of decent things about this second outing, the set pieces are truly breathtaking, with a particularly massive finale that is sure to please the masses, and it is also nice to see the continuation of pirates being done justice on the screen, everyone is in it for themselves, but it just doesn't suit everyone.
Not the worst sequel, but so much could have been carried over from the excellent first outing to benefit this murky tale, it is always leading to something else that in the end you must settle for the fact that it isn't going to happen in this film, but some shining performances make it worthwhile.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
LandFApr 19, 2012
This film is very similar to the first film. I refer to the flaws, the strengths, and in essence, everything that has to do with the first film. This is not good, nor bad. The first movie was an enjoyable rumpus, but it was filled with flawsThis film is very similar to the first film. I refer to the flaws, the strengths, and in essence, everything that has to do with the first film. This is not good, nor bad. The first movie was an enjoyable rumpus, but it was filled with flaws and holes. This film was no different, but it balances out as being nearly as good, if not equal to the first. The first similarity between the two films is the first half hour. The content is different enough, but it starts in the same way as the first. That is, a brilliant first half hour, then an hour and a half of pirates that never is as good as the first bit. This time however, I was entertained a little bit more the rest of the way through. The first half hour wasn't as strong as the first film's beginning, but it makes up for it with a stronger body. The special effects are incredible, even better than the first. The scenes with the legendary Krakken in particular are very good. And this brings up one of "Dead Man's Chest's" biggest strengths; it's action scenes. Unlike the first, much of the action is fun and memorable. There is one elaborate part where a chase for a chest, a moving sword fight, and a clash with Davy Jone's crew all occurs at once on a beach, in a mill, and in a jungle. It's very entertaining, and quite thrilling. It's also quite elaborate, the way everything occurs at once, but I couldn't help but think about how much was just filled in with CGI later, rather than filming simotaneously. This film does, however have some new flaws the first didn't have. One thing is the plot, or more specifically, lack of. I felt like I kept waiting for the plot to kick in. It never really did. Also, the character of Jack Sparrow was one of the most entertaining bits of the first film. Unfortunately, he has a considerably smaller role in this film, and he can't truthfully be considered the star in this episode. This leads to a lot of dull stretches. On the upside, the score is even stronger than that of the first. This time, it's fully composed by Hanz Zimmer and it's not only good, it's incredible. This is a soundtrack you'll want on your iPod. Pirates of the Caribbean: Dead Man's Chest is just as good as the first; with weaknesses and strengths balancing out to create an equal package. One just wishes that there was some kind of reason to all the fighting and action, because frankly, we never get one. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
Critic2012Jun 11, 2012
Though unequal to the original in plot and character development, the Dead Man's Chest is still extremely fun and enjoyable. Johnny Depp is unbeatable.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
beingryanjudeAug 24, 2014
Much like the first installment, we are captivated by excitement and continued shenanigans. Once more, Johnny Depp shines in his underrated stint as Capt. Jack Sparrow.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
Trev29Apr 2, 2012
Most certainly not as good as the first one, but it still brings the action, adventure, and silliness. It is pleasant and fast paced. Great visuals and music.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
LavezziApr 8, 2012
This film manages to fuse together both the hilarity and incompetency of Jack Sparrow with the seriousness and fright of Davy Jones. Although some will contest the ending it proves to show that the film isn't simply about the silly exploitsThis film manages to fuse together both the hilarity and incompetency of Jack Sparrow with the seriousness and fright of Davy Jones. Although some will contest the ending it proves to show that the film isn't simply about the silly exploits of Jack but there is a more underlying story beneath it all. Brilliant acting from Johnny Deep who provides a laugh in every scene. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
GodotIsW8ing4UJul 3, 2013
Dead Man's Chest seems to struggle mightily with what it wants to be. Does it want to be a story about Jack Sparrow's rascally ways coming back to bite him, or does it want to be a story of Will Turner coming to terms with the man his fatherDead Man's Chest seems to struggle mightily with what it wants to be. Does it want to be a story about Jack Sparrow's rascally ways coming back to bite him, or does it want to be a story of Will Turner coming to terms with the man his father was? Does it want to be about Elizabeth Swann becoming a pirate and loving it, or Norrington trying to scrape by after an offscreen passingly-mentioned disgrace? The villain, at least, is clear, but little else is.

Speaking of the villain, Davy Jones is a great one. He's scary, he's one of the best-modeled CG characters ever made, and Bill Nighy acts him beautifully. But he's weighed down by the plodding, meandering movie he's in, that can't seem to decide what it's doing, where it's going, or why it exists. It seems to be just sort of...THERE. Because Eisner wanted a sequel. Or something. Overall, the weakest film in the series. That includes At World's End AND On Stranger Tides.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
OfficialNov 5, 2013
"Pirates of the Caribbean: Dead Man's Chest" is the second movie in the series. Although it's not as good as the original, it's still a worthy sequel. It's slightly overlong, but Johnny Depp's humorous jokes still does keep it going.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
moonman1994Dec 23, 2013
A big let down after a great first film. I remember seeing this in theaters and walking out almost wanting my money back. Despite the fact that Depp is still great in the lead the film is derivative of the first and is far to long. ActionA big let down after a great first film. I remember seeing this in theaters and walking out almost wanting my money back. Despite the fact that Depp is still great in the lead the film is derivative of the first and is far to long. Action sequences stretch to a point where they are meaninglessly long and boring. I'm not sure what happened with this film but it wasn't good. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
SpangleJun 12, 2014
The sequel to the very successful "Curse of the Black Pearl" is just ok. It is still very fun and entertaining, but does not reach the heights that its predecessor does. The thrills are there, the laughs are there, the overall enjoyment isThe sequel to the very successful "Curse of the Black Pearl" is just ok. It is still very fun and entertaining, but does not reach the heights that its predecessor does. The thrills are there, the laughs are there, the overall enjoyment is there, but there are enough negatives to hold it back. While Johnny Depp is great once again as Captain Jack Sparrow, Orlando Bloom and Keira Knightley were spotty. At times, they were very good. At others, they were cringe worthy. The length is also a little much as it felt like a lot of scenes dragged on for far too long and would have been more effective and entertaining had they been shorter. The major negative, however, is the plot. If this film was not so darn fun, I would rate it much lower for this damn thing. The plot seemed to be all over the place and while not hard to follow in the least, it made no sense. They seemed to just be going all over the "New World" aimlessly for much of the film, beating around what the real plot is and instead focusing on all these side plots within the main plot. It made the film less enjoyable and somewhat convoluted. If they spent less time on meaningless nonsense, the film would have been a lot sharper and less long. As it stands, the film is entertaining enough for what it is and provides the thrills you come to expect from this franchise, but certainly could have been a lot better. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
Jack101Sep 10, 2012
It was fantastic in visual effects and fun through the island of the tribes and the three way swordplay for the chest. Its four star in my book, and it was just as good as the first one
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
RikiegeJan 23, 2013
Not as good as the others, but better than the third.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews