Universal Pictures | Release Date: December 22, 2017
5.8
USER SCORE
Mixed or average reviews based on 114 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
42
Mixed:
53
Negative:
19
Watch Now
Buy On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
7
cwilliamhudDec 27, 2017
Pitch Perfect 3 Review:
Overall Rating: 7/10
Cons: Storytelling is all over the place. Editing is mediocre and so is the script. Pros: The actors (or the actresses I should say) have an absolute blast with this film. The humor is much better
Pitch Perfect 3 Review:
Overall Rating: 7/10
Cons: Storytelling is all over the place. Editing is mediocre and so is the script. Pros: The actors (or the actresses I should say) have an absolute blast with this film. The humor is much better this time round than Pitch Perfect 2. There are many ad-libs and ridiculous scenes that are silly/stupid, but very amusing. While there are not a lot of sining performances, the movie still features great toe-tapping musical numbers.
Overall consensus: Better than the critics suggest! I would rank this about equal to the second film, as the story falters but the cast really shines. Much more stupid/silly humor than prior installments-- but for the most part-- it really works.
Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
3
amheretojudgeJan 15, 2018
i love cheap thrills.. Pitch Perfect 3

Some flawed tracks and repetitive sub-plotted characters pretty much gives away with in the first 10 minutes of the movie that it is not in good hands. Pitch Perfect 3 works off brilliantly in a
i love cheap thrills.. Pitch Perfect 3

Some flawed tracks and repetitive sub-plotted characters pretty much gives away with in the first 10 minutes of the movie that it is not in good hands. Pitch Perfect 3 works off brilliantly in a semi-comic movie sense where every character is pointing out the plot-holes in order to be funny which works but it sets off the wrong tone considering the previous installments which were based on smart comedy. Rebel Wilson; at the end, is the star of the show as she helps the audience in reaching the climax which is a big disappointment.
Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
5
robbywarren93Jan 24, 2018
An un-needed,uninspired, and dull cash-grab. The first two were fine, often pretty funny and the cast clearly wanted to be there and was having fun, here none of that is present. Super lazy and forgettable.
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
6
TVJerryJan 12, 2018
Fans of the previous films will welcome the old gang, as they hit Europe for songs and thin plots. Every character gets a few quick story beats with Anna Kendrick as the leader. But Rebel Wilson's comic style carries more of the weight (punFans of the previous films will welcome the old gang, as they hit Europe for songs and thin plots. Every character gets a few quick story beats with Anna Kendrick as the leader. But Rebel Wilson's comic style carries more of the weight (pun intended). The commentators (John Michael Higgins & Elizabeth Banks) are following them around to make a documentary, but their comments seem more mean that funny. The Bellas sing their lite pop tunes all over the place with a few numbers getting some staging, but none of it is very elaborate. Even though this sequel isn't original in any way, there's still full of youthful energy and spunky fun . Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
5
marymaebennettDec 28, 2017
Disclaimer: Haven't fully decided what I'm rating it but somewhere in the middle.

I think it was a huge mistake making this is a Christmas release. This is a movie girls see with their gals whether they are 12 or 22. It's immediately harder
Disclaimer: Haven't fully decided what I'm rating it but somewhere in the middle.

I think it was a huge mistake making this is a Christmas release. This is a movie girls see with their gals whether they are 12 or 22. It's immediately harder to get in touch with your own "pitches" when everyone is on holiday. I was lucky that my friend was in town but for every other movie, I saw it in a large group and saw this one with just one very good friend of mine. The reason seeing it with a group was even more critical is this movie's core theme really is sisterhood. I don't know if it executed was that well executed but it was there. You know what you're getting with these movies. If you liked the other two, you'll like this. It's probably the least like the other movies in that it changes plot in the middle but it always has the same tone. There are awkward jokes, jokes based on stereotypes, and then the funny jokes. I think the second one is the funniest but the third is the least offensive.
Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
4
JLuis_001Jan 28, 2018
This thing was always a onetime deal. I’m aware everybody knows why this became a trilogy but it’s quite obvious there isn’t really substance here. This is pretty much the Step-Up franchise of singing. I'm quite glad it’s finally over.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
4
goncalocoutoOct 21, 2018
"Pitch Perfect 3" é divertido e agradável se conseguires ignorar a má escrita e a confusão do enredo do filme. Uma desilusão...
4/10
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
5
tropicAcesDec 22, 2017
How much you enjoy this is going to depend on (1) how much you liked the second film and (2) how forgiving of a filmgoer you are. It is dumb, lazy and has no reason to exist, however if you're like me and are a fanboy/girl of the series thenHow much you enjoy this is going to depend on (1) how much you liked the second film and (2) how forgiving of a filmgoer you are. It is dumb, lazy and has no reason to exist, however if you're like me and are a fanboy/girl of the series then there is enough dorkable charm to carry it. Just don't expect the magic of the first film... Expand
4 of 6 users found this helpful42
All this user's reviews
4
thebombDec 29, 2017
Pitch Perfect 3 is unfortunately the worst part of the trilogy. Little work has been put into the Acapella performances in terms of singing and choreography. The sloppy script leaves the impression that Universal Pictures didn't care aboutPitch Perfect 3 is unfortunately the worst part of the trilogy. Little work has been put into the Acapella performances in terms of singing and choreography. The sloppy script leaves the impression that Universal Pictures didn't care about giving Pitch Perfect a worthy ending but rather planned to make as much money with the smallest amount of effort possible. Even though some parts are heartwarming and funny, PP3 suffers from bad dramaturgy and a often dumb and implausible plot. A real rivaling A capella group was substituted by the spineless, unthreatening girlband "Evermoist" (thumbs up for the creative name though), leaving The Barden Bellas in no danger whatsoever. After an abrupt, unsatisfying ending I found myself asking what it's all been for. I am huge fan of the first two films. This one is a let-down. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
3
EpicLadySpongeDec 22, 2017
How many sequels can we get towards the end of this franchise? Only when they finally recognize their own franchise is going down the drain very quickly because Pitch Perfect 3 is a great example of this situation. I don't even recommend thisHow many sequels can we get towards the end of this franchise? Only when they finally recognize their own franchise is going down the drain very quickly because Pitch Perfect 3 is a great example of this situation. I don't even recommend this franchise, but this installment literally just killed what was supposed to be what it's supposed to be and I don't recommend movie sequels that kill what they are supposed to be. Expand
6 of 13 users found this helpful67
All this user's reviews
10
NETMUSICDec 27, 2017
Pitch Perfect 3 is a great film. It may even be the best one yet. Rebel Wilson remains the best thing about these films.
3 of 9 users found this helpful36
All this user's reviews
10
katycathaizxereDec 22, 2017
xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx
2 of 13 users found this helpful211
All this user's reviews
7
eagleeyevikingJan 6, 2018
Overlong, poorly plotted, and choppily edited, but brimming with non-stop energy and fun, "Pitch Perfect 3" is a thoroughly enjoyable musical that ends the franchise on an a-ca-ppropriately high note.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
traceymadmagpieJan 17, 2018
I loved this movie. I have already seen it twice and going again on weekend as this MAY be their last call. BOO to all you haters. Get with the program, BELLAs are the best..Beka out, ACA awesome
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
8
TheQuietGamerApr 7, 2018
The Bellas are back! To me these movies have always been about friendship, family, and finding your place in the world. The first Pitch Perfect showed the characters coming together to form an unbreakable bond. The second forced them to dealThe Bellas are back! To me these movies have always been about friendship, family, and finding your place in the world. The first Pitch Perfect showed the characters coming together to form an unbreakable bond. The second forced them to deal with going their separate ways. The third... really doesn't have anything like that. Each Bella has already begun carving their way through life. While not entirely happy, they're functioning after college. However, they do miss each other. So with no new emotional ground to cover Pitch Perfect 3 just says to heck with it and reunites everyone for fun. While decidedly less heartfelt this final show is worth watching. The series' tongue is just as sharp as ever.


The musical performances are still delightful. Trish Sie's direction is light, poppy, and fun. Every character's personality comes together to bring a wide variety of laughs. While everyone was able to return for the final outing, the key players are still here. The newcomers fit right in. The plot takes something of a hit. The whole competition aspect isn't as exciting as before and the new foes aren't as memorable as those who came before even with the likes of Ruby Rose leading the opposition. There's also a somewhat ill-advised turn towards an action movie in the final act, complete with an explosion. As dumb as it was to watch Fat Amy kicking crap out of armed guards, we do get an absolutely stunning rendition of Britney Spear's "Toxic" as compensation.


All in all it's probably the weakest of what is now my new favorite film trilogy, but it's just so good to be reunited with the girls one last time. I grew to love these characters over the course of the last two movies and will miss them fiercely. In a lot of ways they're my family too. So despite being sad that my time with The Bellas has come to an end, I'm happy because their last performance didn't disappoint. Okay, I better end this review before I start crying. It's the last call, pitches. Don't miss it.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
kman5473Jan 4, 2018
This movie is entertaining and enjoyable...if you're willing to totally disregard bad writing, a mess of a plot, and the complete lack of an antagonist that makes any sense/one that we even care about "defeating." It definitely feels like theThis movie is entertaining and enjoyable...if you're willing to totally disregard bad writing, a mess of a plot, and the complete lack of an antagonist that makes any sense/one that we even care about "defeating." It definitely feels like the Execs at Universal invited the cast in for lunch and to brainstorm, and rather than cut out all the ideas that make absolutely no sense they just kept everything in. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
2
WaelAug 1, 2018
Nothing describes this film better than the word "forced". It is very rarely funny (in comparison to the first two's many many extremely laughable parts and jokes) and the plotline is very inconsistent and lazy, it hardly feels like there's aNothing describes this film better than the word "forced". It is very rarely funny (in comparison to the first two's many many extremely laughable parts and jokes) and the plotline is very inconsistent and lazy, it hardly feels like there's a plot at all (the screenplay feels like it was written in two hours: just bring in Fat Patricia's evil father and let the Bellas go on a Spy mission, et voilà!). The focus shifts from the great musical performances and the very funny and simple jokes that made the first two feature films sparkle, to cheap laughs and disoriented musical numbers. Sadly, "Pitch Perfect 3" is a strong example of how a sequel can go horribly wrong, seeing it ends the trilogy on such a disappointing, low point. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
marcmyworksMar 13, 2018
Wow this film is spectacularly bad. It's such a shame as the first film was such a breath of fresh air and this installment makes me glad there will be no further sequels. Especially when including a scene where the Bella's sing and thoughWow this film is spectacularly bad. It's such a shame as the first film was such a breath of fresh air and this installment makes me glad there will be no further sequels. Especially when including a scene where the Bella's sing and though only one has a microphone, somehow they are all able to project in a stadium. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
JamesIrish68Jan 4, 2019
Your pre teen daughters will love it.The songs are catchy and Rebel Wilson is pretty funny. It's not the most intellectual movie ever made but so what. It's easy to watch inoffensive fun. I thought there was too many band members though andYour pre teen daughters will love it.The songs are catchy and Rebel Wilson is pretty funny. It's not the most intellectual movie ever made but so what. It's easy to watch inoffensive fun. I thought there was too many band members though and some of them didn't get a fair shake. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
spongeswiftDec 22, 2017
Pitch Perfect 3 was the first not so good movie in the franchise. As it comes together in the end (like the all do) it's 2/3's are just annoying in every way. I really hope this is the last one in the series because it's wildly showing howPitch Perfect 3 was the first not so good movie in the franchise. As it comes together in the end (like the all do) it's 2/3's are just annoying in every way. I really hope this is the last one in the series because it's wildly showing how retired the series is. It's soundtrack is bad, it's riff off is bad. The only good part was the end and for a huge fan like me it was kind of emotional. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
RalfbergsJul 7, 2018
It still had some fun elements and quality singing and performances, but I think they prolonged the series too long and my rating might be a bit generous here.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
poezwoezJan 5, 2018
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Pitch Perfect 3 is the final chapter in the Pitch Perfect series (I think/hope). The movie features all the great characters from the first 2 installments and shares similar humor and jokes.
However, this one felt very different from the others in a good way. It was shorter and faster and jokes didn't get repeated all the time like in the first two.

The movie is mainly about Fat Amy, Beca, Chloe and Aubrey. And I think most viewers can agree that Fat Amy really was the star in this one with all her incredibly funny stunts. However, the one-liners from characters like Lilly/Esther(!), Flo, Stacie and Cynthia are missing.

TL;DR: The movie is a great closure for the franchise. The movie goes quick and fast but in this case, that's a good thing.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
SavageYetiMar 23, 2018
not even close to as good as the first or even second, no great amazing musical numbers, story was all over the place, the only thing redeeming was the comedy. i am pretty disappointed with this installment.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
qMar 24, 2018
I was not expecting high art when I rented it, and so I was not disappointed to discover that it was just a goofy, pleasant diversion. The plot is ridiculous, the jokes often are crude, but the singing and choreography were energetic andI was not expecting high art when I rented it, and so I was not disappointed to discover that it was just a goofy, pleasant diversion. The plot is ridiculous, the jokes often are crude, but the singing and choreography were energetic and polished. I saw the sequel first in a movie theater and the original on the computer a few days later. My original purpose for watching the movies was to learn more about the a cappella pop singing phenomenon that seemed to be sweeping through middle schools, high schools, and colleges. (I'm a classically trained choral conductor.) I can't say I learned a huge amount about the creative process that underlies the arranging of pop songs--especially the mash-ups--but I was very entertained by the movies. Pitch Perfect apparently is going to be the last of the sequels, and it was a worthy finale to the trilogy. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
3
panslabyrinthFeb 16, 2018
Tasteless, rushed and all jokes fall flat. Pitch Perfect 3 is a disappointing entry in a franchise that consecutively became worse and worse, but this is definitely a new low. I say that the Barden bellas must indeed move on, and let us be.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
2
theoldreviewerApr 3, 2018
The singing is the lone highlight of the film but the script is vapid and nonsensical. Just about everything between the musical numbers is a waste of time. There are a few funny parts but the terrible plot drags the entire thing down intoThe singing is the lone highlight of the film but the script is vapid and nonsensical. Just about everything between the musical numbers is a waste of time. There are a few funny parts but the terrible plot drags the entire thing down into the gutter. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
evii1975Jan 27, 2018
On the one hand, this movie is entertaining. Teens will most likely find the humour brilliant, and if you're into music, you should at least enjoy the musical scenes. It also contains a funny yet decent action scene based on a yacht. If youOn the one hand, this movie is entertaining. Teens will most likely find the humour brilliant, and if you're into music, you should at least enjoy the musical scenes. It also contains a funny yet decent action scene based on a yacht. If you can get over the cheesiness and awkward sex jokes, you'll most likely enjoy this film. Their target audience will love it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
CoKronakanFeb 8, 2019
Pitch Perfect was sexy, entertaining, fun had a good message but overall it was awkward. As much as I don't like that word it really was awkward and some sub plots where totally useless and did not fit. The humor was terrible and was veryPitch Perfect was sexy, entertaining, fun had a good message but overall it was awkward. As much as I don't like that word it really was awkward and some sub plots where totally useless and did not fit. The humor was terrible and was very poorly executed. The actors did a good job, at least 2-3 of them. But the rest, they acted just as terrific as their characters. The directing style was poorly executed as well. But the things I mentioned at the beginning are the only things that stands out and help make this movie what it is. The sound effects where amazing to, but that was really expected from them give the fact that it is a musical video. Overall this is an above average movie which could have been a lot better if it was cared a bit more and developed more the characters depth and the plot complexity. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
hannahford231Feb 4, 2018
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Overall, I think the movie had some good and some bad things. The movie was kind of all over the place. I didn't feel like it had a good plot. First the Bella's were in a competition, and then it just went to Fat Amy's dad showing up and kidnapping and holding them hostage. I think it had really good music and that helped not lose as much interest in the movie. The songs were popular and had you singing along. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
3
SovrinaVFeb 14, 2018
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The best thing about this movie was that I was alone in a theater at 1:45 on a Tuesday afternoon which meant I could sing along, check my Facebook, answer a text, and put my feet up on the back of the seat in front of me. Oh, Bellas, you had so much promise. But there are so many things about this trio of films I absolutely hated --- from the gratuitous vomit scenes early in the franchise to the awkward sexual jokes and Chloe singing every part from soprano to bass!!!????!!! and this third installment doesn't make any of the shortcomings any better. From the very beginning, it feels forced -- yeah, they ALL quit their jobs and take off on a moments notice to do a USO tour that Aubrey's dad (isn't that convenient) gets them under contract to do. The "riff off" in the hanger is an embarrassment...these girls clearly have no idea how real musicians behave and having Gail and whatshisname doing a "documentary" makes no sense. It's all forced. There are some sparkling moments...and Fat Amy really is the anchor that ties them all together, but, in general, the script lacks direction and tries to be too many things (i.e. the daddy/daughter storylines, the forced romances, the action/suspense/kidnapping scenes..etc.). It just flounders and moves awkwardly from scene to scene. Of course Becca is a "genius" and gets discovered and "wins" but of course she pulls her girls -- totally unrehearsed on stage for an amazing performance. Riiiiiiight. It could have been brilliant ---but I'm glad is Aca-over. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
blubaeMay 24, 2018
The movie has a good comedy, very sarcastic and funny. The songs and the plot are really very good. the director showed off with the third plot. Sincerely that this film deserved all the success of the world.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
hornysoulSep 22, 2018
Este filme é divertido e agradável se estiveres disposto a ignorar totalmente a má escrita, a confusão do enredo e a falta do antagonismo. Definitivamente, a "Universal Pictures" atravessou uma fase complicada e instável em 2017.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
BitbatAug 3, 2019
This movie, although hated on by most critics, is entertaining for the whole family. I found myself laughing every 10 seconds, and most of the characters are likeable. Acapella performances are really good and you can relate to most of theThis movie, although hated on by most critics, is entertaining for the whole family. I found myself laughing every 10 seconds, and most of the characters are likeable. Acapella performances are really good and you can relate to most of the characters. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
2
DjgomezJan 14, 2019
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Far from being like the first and second movie. The lack of singing by the Bella's and the outrageous story line renders this movie barely watchable Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
Facu26Mar 11, 2019
It was a very funny movie to watch, funny moments, musical numbers you can not miss. The Bellas return better than ever, much better than the second part. The plot is a bit poor but the truth is that this film leaves good messages aboutIt was a very funny movie to watch, funny moments, musical numbers you can not miss. The Bellas return better than ever, much better than the second part. The plot is a bit poor but the truth is that this film leaves good messages about friendship and family. The story of Fat Amy and her father is interesting and I think they could have developed it more. A touching ending for this group of women. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
Fran0226Mar 11, 2019
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I'm a fan of the Pitch Perfect franchise and I really liked the change they made, yes, the only thing, they had not eliminated so many scenes. In the content of the blu ray, there are two musical scenes that did not have to be cut. It is a pity.
Leaving aside that, I really liked the songs, Fat Amy's story is a bit confusing and they would have developed a bit more, the ending seems to me to be on an emotional level like "Pitch Perfect 2" and I hope to return to see Las Bellas. Soon.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
DiptanshuApr 16, 2020
Enjoyed it alot!Music was greatest as always with pitch perfect movies!good story felt something different than prequals finally saw different versions of character funny as always still thinking how great funny jokes are there like area 51Enjoyed it alot!Music was greatest as always with pitch perfect movies!good story felt something different than prequals finally saw different versions of character funny as always still thinking how great funny jokes are there like area 51 birth place and obesity laughed alot but the amy's father thing felt little over the top!overall fun time watching it! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
r96skMar 10, 2021
Almost poor, but 'Pitch Perfect 3' has just enough about it to avoid it being a chore to sit through.

I didn't enjoy it, it's definitely the weakest of the series. With that said, there is somehow still narrowly enough there to stop it
Almost poor, but 'Pitch Perfect 3' has just enough about it to avoid it being a chore to sit through.

I didn't enjoy it, it's definitely the weakest of the series. With that said, there is somehow still narrowly enough there to stop it becoming bad - just. The shorter run time helps, while the musical numbers are a step up on 'Pitch Perfect 2' in my opinion; the Toxic end is fun.

Anna Kendrick (Beca) and Rebel Wilson (Fat Amy) remain the pick of the onscreen talent. None of the other regulars stand out, nor do any of the newcomers - though it's always cool to see John Lithgow (Fergus), albeit with a dodgy accent, while 'Timeless' star Matt Lanter (Chicago) also appears.

The plot is very lame, yet I honestly didn't dislike it - almost, but not quite.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews