Universal Pictures | Release Date: May 10, 2019
7.5
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 894 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
660
Mixed:
179
Negative:
55
Watch Now
Buy on
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
7
ValBalMay 10, 2019
Never been a big Pokemon fan. Was never a regular viewer of the show back in the day but I enjoyed this movie. It's fun, funny. Doesn't always makes sense but has fleshed out characters, high quality CGI and a world full of wonderfulNever been a big Pokemon fan. Was never a regular viewer of the show back in the day but I enjoyed this movie. It's fun, funny. Doesn't always makes sense but has fleshed out characters, high quality CGI and a world full of wonderful creatures. A solid adventure. Expand
15 of 19 users found this helpful154
All this user's reviews
10
YakusokuNoJiMay 10, 2019
Preliminary statement: The professional reviews are very questionable. And don't listen to people who say "how can fans of the franchise question critics, opinions rule". That is flawed logic. Which is quite a funny thing, by the way becausePreliminary statement: The professional reviews are very questionable. And don't listen to people who say "how can fans of the franchise question critics, opinions rule". That is flawed logic. Which is quite a funny thing, by the way because now even the fans try to refer to this posting and want to call it the "worst" as if it is spreading "hate". No. It doesn't. Unfair and inappropriate criticism, off-context steming from the lack of information is a non-contribution so it is absolutely legitimate to warn from. Being misinformed is one thing but already knowing that it will influence your rating heavily is a big issue. Do the fans here not point out flaws in the movie just because they know the franchise? They do.
If you already know you give it an unfair treatment through the lack of knowledge then you are criticising inappropriately. And what is this nonsense of "please ignore the 10 reviews"? So trust the other so-called "opinions" but not the 10s, that acknowledge flaws? 10-movies have flaws. And you can integrate the lack of knowledge but less than 5 primarily because you don't know it is just not ok.
___

This movie was absolutely solid.

Is it the most logical movie of all time and does it have a super original story? No. What does, really? Still for the first real theatre-released live-action movie of the Pokémon franchise this has been absolutely fantastic. And the way the story was presented was still quite original in its own way because of how it relies on certain elements that are just not given in similiar stories most of the time.
What can I say about this movie that got me a bit on the negative side? The lore is different. They say stuff like "Pokémon don't understand what we say, they feel it" yadayada. Well, that is definitely not true - in OTHER continuities. But this is a new continuity so who cares. Same goes for some other things like "in old times people caught Pokémon" et cetera and then showing ancient drawings when the game continuity actually has NPCs saying the exact opposite: The trainer stuff is quite new and humans and Pokémon once even lived together, eating on the same table and all (yes, there are people reading NPC dialogue, unbelievable!)
Also the way they treated the strongest Pokémon made by mankind (Mewtwo) in this movie during the finale was a bit something I did not like but that is because I grew up with the first REAL Pokémon movie and the Mewtwo in the original movie (which definitely got them some of their plot details) would never have let a villain do this to "him" - but stuff from before like him being used or how he was caught was a good parallel to how he was originally made in the anime or how Giovanni tried to get him back in the second Mewtwo movie "Mewtwo returns".
What did they do fanservice-wise that I really like how they re-used the Mewtwo stuff, just as mentioned. Also how they used the instrumental version of the Western opening and actually let Ryan Reynolds sing it. I must really say - for a not even 2 hour lasting movie there was a lot happening, especially plot-wise for a movie like Pokémon, I really have no idea what those critics are babbling about because I already watched it twice and yesterday I was justb surprised how far the movie was advanced in such a short time. Is the master plan of the villain cheesy? Yes, it is. But it is supposed to bring the world of Pokémon which is a kid's show on the big screen (as said, live action, Pokémon has enough movies). I am not that fine with how they displayed the humor because it got a bit too extreme for Pokémon. The manga is very dark and aggressive and even the games use words like "kill" and "die" very late in the games, although the theme was already there from the first generation on but constantly bringing up that topic or talking about throwing up, making a drug joke or bed jokes is just a bit too much. Not that I did not find it funny or that it was such an incredible no-go, it is just something displayed a LITTLE bit to extreme for something that is primarily associated with the games and anime instead of the manga. Some Pokémon were really goodlooking, some were a bit too much with the uncanny valley effect. Pokémon like Bulbasaur for example should definitely have been remade. Pikachu, Mewtwo, Jigglypuff, Psyduck, Charizard and Gyarados were top-notch.

Overall it was very entertaining. A good start for what I hope is the first step to more Pokémon movies and children will surely love it. Old veterans/freaks like me will surely enjoy lots of the fanservice during this nostalgia trip even if it is not exactly like the other continuities. Although they already mentioned Kanto, so who know what comes next.

Since most people might be missing me saying this: Ryan Reynolds was great. I think that's a given and does not need to be mentioned. Most people like him so this does not need long paragraphs.
Expand
39 of 54 users found this helpful3915
All this user's reviews
5
ImaginaryCriticJul 28, 2019
Not a big Pokemon so I came in with no expectations. It has its moments and its a cute family friendly film. But what I really felt was this movie felt bland and pretty unnecessary. Its in the era of remakes and it didn't work for me. It hasNot a big Pokemon so I came in with no expectations. It has its moments and its a cute family friendly film. But what I really felt was this movie felt bland and pretty unnecessary. Its in the era of remakes and it didn't work for me. It has three stars cause I can see why people like it and its for everybody. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
8
AtramentiusMay 28, 2019
I never was a big Pokemon fan, but This Movie was still awesome for me. You are not going to see Detective Pikachu because of the story (which actually gets quite crappy in the end), but because Pikachu is sooo cute!!! I really enjoyed thisI never was a big Pokemon fan, but This Movie was still awesome for me. You are not going to see Detective Pikachu because of the story (which actually gets quite crappy in the end), but because Pikachu is sooo cute!!! I really enjoyed this movie and every Pokemon fan will enjoy it as well. If you are just a little bit interested in Pokemon, go and see that movie, it certainly won't be a waste of time. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
7
DubeauJul 26, 2019
Pokemon was a fun movie. Pikachu had the best lines and it's funny, in a light and simple way. The story isn't that bad and got one or two twist. It's aim to the family in general. So there are parts for children and some for adults. I don'tPokemon was a fun movie. Pikachu had the best lines and it's funny, in a light and simple way. The story isn't that bad and got one or two twist. It's aim to the family in general. So there are parts for children and some for adults. I don't think the movie was set to please one or the other, and maybe it's a small problem. The CGI is cartoonist and in no way realistic. I give it a 75%. The performance of Pikachu is worth watching for me. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
TaipeiJoeyMay 20, 2019
I went into this movie expecting your typical video-game-movie type movie, but I was quite wrong. Detective Pikachu has finally cracked the code about how to do a video game adaptation (mostly) correctly. The CG was very impressive, JusticeI went into this movie expecting your typical video-game-movie type movie, but I was quite wrong. Detective Pikachu has finally cracked the code about how to do a video game adaptation (mostly) correctly. The CG was very impressive, Justice Smith and Ryan Reynolds play the leads very well, and the story works well (even if the twist isn't hard to guess). The ending of the movie was weird and parts were very confusing, but a solid climax nonetheless. The movie did something I'd never think it'd do; it made me want to see more. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
7
greenisgoodJul 14, 2019
Glad to say this movie was better than I expected. I am also in complete awe of the movie for having the balls to hold itself back from mentioning anything about Ash or any information from the early days of Pokemon just to evoke nostalgia.Glad to say this movie was better than I expected. I am also in complete awe of the movie for having the balls to hold itself back from mentioning anything about Ash or any information from the early days of Pokemon just to evoke nostalgia.
The story was genuinely interesting and I am happy to say everything I thought it was gonna cheese through actually did not by being refreshing, funny and above average VFX.

Ryan Reynolds seems like he can do no wrong anymore, doesn't it... I bet his choice in scripts have greatly improved after Green lantern almost ended up killing his career. He was the best part of the movie since a quippy Ryan Reynolds and a Yellow Mouse that shoots Electricity is not something that should traditionally work. I tip my hat to you Mr. Reynolds for pulling it off.

The lead was tolerable, but only because Justice Smith in Jurassic Park left a very bad after taste for me... So i was glad he was not as cringe-worthy. The villain's were adequate for the kind of story the movie was telling.

All of the Pokemon action was not Top Class.. But everything was above average enough and used sparingly that it did not overtly attempt action scenes just because.

All in all a good watch.
Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
Patata47May 24, 2019
La película esta muy buena, esta reseña va a tener Spoiler, bueno comienzo.

Bueno, ahora si, es muy buena pero la parte final (Donde el Padre se sale del Pikachu) me parecio bastante predecible, y por eso le doy 8, pero lo de que el viejo
La película esta muy buena, esta reseña va a tener Spoiler, bueno comienzo.



Bueno, ahora si, es muy buena pero la parte final (Donde el Padre se sale del Pikachu) me parecio bastante predecible, y por eso le doy 8, pero lo de que el viejo era el malo y Mewtwo y el hijo los bueno eso si que no me lo imaginaba.
Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
ZackBakasDec 20, 2019
A very nice movie I love to see all my favourite pokemon in the big screen and how they would look like in real life
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
5
JessthespiderJul 29, 2019
It's just a buddy cop movie with pokemon. It's really predictable and nothing all to crazy happens. But It's not really the worst movie I have seen. It feels like a lot of care went into it and like they really wanted it to be good but theyIt's just a buddy cop movie with pokemon. It's really predictable and nothing all to crazy happens. But It's not really the worst movie I have seen. It feels like a lot of care went into it and like they really wanted it to be good but they didn't know how to do it. They did the best they could, it's just there best is not very good. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
7
Sonicfan23Jul 31, 2019
I don't love it or hate it.the story is a bit sloppy but fine. Basically main character parent dies like a disney movie but old old looks good is evil one joke 2 jokes comedy Insues pikachu revealed to be father nothing funny or interestingI don't love it or hate it.the story is a bit sloppy but fine. Basically main character parent dies like a disney movie but old old looks good is evil one joke 2 jokes comedy Insues pikachu revealed to be father nothing funny or interesting happens their just not funny at all it is some bullcrap but my nerdy side likes it Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
GameHillZoneMay 27, 2020
Best Video Game Movie I've ever seen! the movie is extremely faithful to the game. Not only Detective Pikachu but the whole franchise. I 100% Recommend this game, surely Pokémon fans will cry of happiness by seeing this masterpiece

Pros: -
Best Video Game Movie I've ever seen! the movie is extremely faithful to the game. Not only Detective Pikachu but the whole franchise. I 100% Recommend this game, surely Pokémon fans will cry of happiness by seeing this masterpiece

Pros:

- Story creative and epic
- CGI are perfect
- Great plot twists
- Memorable Soundtrack

Mixed:

NOTHING XD

Cons:

"GameHillZone uses Cons opinions! But it failed!"
Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
abcdefgg11Apr 6, 2020
I had really low expectations but was gladly surprised. The movie is fun and well made. I loved the many references for the fans of the franchise to notice.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
charlinina777Apr 20, 2020
OK, so storywise it's not the best movie in the world, but power of nostalgia is stronger than some flaws. Visually it's eyecandy, music fit what we see on the screen, characters are very easy likable, but the most important thing wasOK, so storywise it's not the best movie in the world, but power of nostalgia is stronger than some flaws. Visually it's eyecandy, music fit what we see on the screen, characters are very easy likable, but the most important thing was childhood trip I've got. It's really fun to watch. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
RyGuy1Mar 2, 2021
An amazing way to execute a live action Pokémon movie. I recommend it a lot
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
RexloxSep 28, 2021
For me Detective Pikachu is so far the best pokemon movie and the best video game adaptation.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
yoink2922Dec 9, 2021
I love this movie, it has Ryan Reynolds, the actor that plays Deadpool. Ryan Reynolds plays Pikachu, and I love Pikachu.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
LuNa26May 11, 2019
I love this film so much, it was better than I've ever thought! I will definitly buy this film as bluray. :D I love Pokémon very much! :)
5 of 6 users found this helpful51
All this user's reviews
10
GamingMasterMay 12, 2019
This movie is great I recommend it for everyone Pokemon fans and people who don’t like Pokemon because it’s great the characters are funny the story is Fantastic and this deserves more love
5 of 6 users found this helpful51
All this user's reviews
10
sindrunasMay 13, 2019
I had a smile from ear to ear during the whole movie.
The story is very similar to that of the 3DS video game, the animation is wonderful and the characterization of Ryan Reynolds is outstandingly funny.
Watch the movie, it's just great.
5 of 6 users found this helpful51
All this user's reviews
8
ArmywildMay 12, 2019
Español: Pelicula palomera, soy fan de pokemon desde hace muchos años, y me gusto el diseño de los mismos. La trama es algo sencilla pero interesante, lleve a un par de niños a verla y quedaron fascinados. Los actores muy buenos en su papel yEspañol: Pelicula palomera, soy fan de pokemon desde hace muchos años, y me gusto el diseño de los mismos. La trama es algo sencilla pero interesante, lleve a un par de niños a verla y quedaron fascinados. Los actores muy buenos en su papel y sn duda espero una secuela. Expand
4 of 5 users found this helpful41
All this user's reviews
8
idelbarroMay 12, 2019
Es muy buena para ser de videojuegos y muy bien los Pokémon. Muy entretenida!
4 of 5 users found this helpful41
All this user's reviews
7
dharmaMay 11, 2019
Detective Pikachu may not be a perfect movie, but it is an entertaining romp that will delight fans of the series and ultimately takes the throne as the best adaptation of a video game created so far. Let's get to the good stuff: greatDetective Pikachu may not be a perfect movie, but it is an entertaining romp that will delight fans of the series and ultimately takes the throne as the best adaptation of a video game created so far. Let's get to the good stuff: great rendering of your favorite POKEMON and another superb performance by Ryan Reynolds, who has another franchise in his hands beside Deadpool. The bad stuff: it is a film that is essentially a fan service; it creates this incredible render yet it struggles to do anything to it. The story line is entertaining, yet it offers little surprises. It is a film that is aimed at the kiddies, so you can't expect too much. It is not like the original 'Lego Movie' that elevates the material. It is a good film, but not great in my book. Expand
7 of 9 users found this helpful72
All this user's reviews
10
Sorios565May 10, 2019
Detective Pikachu is a hit for big time pokemon fans, for those just getting acquainted with the series, or returning pokemon veterans. The movie doesn't attempt to bring pokemon into our world like so many other movies have done, instead itDetective Pikachu is a hit for big time pokemon fans, for those just getting acquainted with the series, or returning pokemon veterans. The movie doesn't attempt to bring pokemon into our world like so many other movies have done, instead it brings you into the pokemon world and it is amazingly done, it feels like it was actually shot in a world where pokemon exist as a normal part of people's lives. This movie is a relief for pokemon and video game fans wanting a movie that does service to franchise its representing and I sincerely hope that they continue making video game movies of this quality going forward. Expand
6 of 8 users found this helpful62
All this user's reviews
9
Overload_25May 10, 2019
So this will be my first review on this website and I'm really wanting to make this count. So Detective Pikachu, to begin with this movie is no master piece. The story is not anything to write about, most of the characters are quite blandSo this will be my first review on this website and I'm really wanting to make this count. So Detective Pikachu, to begin with this movie is no master piece. The story is not anything to write about, most of the characters are quite bland other than the two main lead, and I'm sure this is definitely not a movie catered to us adults. Will we still watch anyway? hell yeah!

As somebody who has played pokemon for most of his life, other than Black/White 2 seeing all those Pokemon come to life in the big screen is a sight to behold. Granted the animation will take some time for most viewers to adjust to, but after the 20 minute mark the initial jarring feeling would have been gone by then. There were a scene or two where I could feel my eyes slowly started to water up because of how beautiful of a job the animator had done with the license. I'm not quite sure how the critics rated this movie, but I do feel that they have criticised this movie perhaps too harshly. This is definitely a movie where both newcomer can have a blast watching, and a treat for those of us who have followed this franchise ever since we were young. My advise, watch the movie and come up with your own conclusion.
Expand
6 of 8 users found this helpful62
All this user's reviews
9
CKhoundMay 12, 2019
This movie was just flat out amazing, go see it. The humor that is there for adults as well as kids really made this an enjoyable experience. I would even go as far as saying that if you knew nothing of Pokemon, outside of pop cultureThis movie was just flat out amazing, go see it. The humor that is there for adults as well as kids really made this an enjoyable experience. I would even go as far as saying that if you knew nothing of Pokemon, outside of pop culture references, you would still have a great time in this. I found the fan service to be a huge payoff,and every time a new Pokemon came on the screen, it was just more and more amazingness. I just wish it was even longer! Expand
3 of 4 users found this helpful31
All this user's reviews
10
Raychu150May 13, 2019
The best movie based on a Video Game ever, why?, because it respected the lore its based on, you can tell they put a lot of love into making the Pokemon world believable, the story is both approachable for kids and adults, with some darkThe best movie based on a Video Game ever, why?, because it respected the lore its based on, you can tell they put a lot of love into making the Pokemon world believable, the story is both approachable for kids and adults, with some dark undertone that I'm happy the Pokemon Company approved. Non Pokemon fans can enjoy it, but this movie is specially made FOR THE FANS and that's why is so great, it's not afraid to be a Video Game movie, instead of generic garbage trying to appeal to everyone. Expand
3 of 4 users found this helpful31
All this user's reviews
9
jacob4May 12, 2019
An absolute fun and fantastic adaption of a childhood video game/cartoon! Detective Pikachu brings back all the childhood memories and nostalgia we've experienced growing with pokemon. The movie brings to life the fantastic world of pokemonAn absolute fun and fantastic adaption of a childhood video game/cartoon! Detective Pikachu brings back all the childhood memories and nostalgia we've experienced growing with pokemon. The movie brings to life the fantastic world of pokemon and the pokemon themselves are amazing too. The movie has plenty of laughs and heartfelt moments, even if there might be some plot point twists that come off as weird, dumb, or confusing. But probably like the best video game movie adaptation so far and an absolute thrill ride to watch, makes you feel like a child and believe in magic! Expand
3 of 4 users found this helpful31
All this user's reviews
9
WreckingDanMay 12, 2019
Although this movies villian was absolutely unfitting and the climax was extremely dumb, this movie just oozes with charm. It really emphazises on character developement and world building. Tim and Pikachu a cleverly written and neverAlthough this movies villian was absolutely unfitting and the climax was extremely dumb, this movie just oozes with charm. It really emphazises on character developement and world building. Tim and Pikachu a cleverly written and never disappoint. Some side characters like news reporter Lucy aren't that thought out, but the Pokémon are the real stars here. There's soo much effort put into this and the scene with Mr. Mime as it went on beyond what we saw in the trailer was one of the most creative and funny ideas they had. Other scenes like the fight against charizard were absolutely exciting and great. Everyone who likes Pokémon should go see this movie. Apart from the absolutely unfitting villian along with the weird final showdown this was an absolute joy to watch!

You also should know that the "professional" reviews are absolutely stupid. This is a movie especially for fans who grew up with Pokémon. You quickly notice that the bad reviews come from frumpy old people who never play videogames and simply don't understand the clever use of Pokémon or the fan service, love and care that went into this.
Expand
3 of 4 users found this helpful31
All this user's reviews
7
Trineo99May 12, 2019
First of all, the pacing in this film is really off throughout the entire movie. This movie in one hour and forty-five minutes but really it feels like a two and a half hour long film. This is due to for a majority of the film it felt reallyFirst of all, the pacing in this film is really off throughout the entire movie. This movie in one hour and forty-five minutes but really it feels like a two and a half hour long film. This is due to for a majority of the film it felt really slow and that it needed to pick up the pace. This leads to a very quick paced climax for the film. It felt as if they realized that this film was going on too long and had to quickly wrap it. So while you’re watching the ending it leads to everything happening at rapid speed. If the film took it’s time and organized itself a bit better than it would’ve made for a more enjoyable film. Obviously, I’m going to mention how great the Pokémon look. I mean seriously this movie went all out on them. Each one looked like it was taken straight out of the game and or anime and into our world. Usually, this leads to terrible CGI where it looks like a cartoon or that it isn’t there but for this case, it actually worked. I love Ryan Reynolds as Pikachu and he was definitely a stand out for this film. He brought all of the humour in this film and it was great. The other actors did great jobs having the tough job of interacting with CGI creatures all day. I do love the humour in this movie because it’s a perfect balance of jokes for kids and some for the adults in the audience. This helps because the adults who were dragged to see this movie can enjoy those jokes. Honestly, I know this is a very teeny tiny spoiler thing but there are two plot twists that if you pay attention you can easily figure out. The last thing I want to mention is the music in this film. Henry Jackman, the composer for this film, did an excellent job on the music. In the end, this film is good for people who either just want a fun movie or are casual fans of Pokémon but really this film is for the hardcore fans of Pokémon. I give Pokémon Detective Pikachu a 7.5/10. Expand
3 of 4 users found this helpful31
All this user's reviews
7
AngryShark92May 11, 2019
Quick review, if you are a Pokémon fan, go see this movie, its fun to see all our favourite pocket monsters in a live action format working alongside humans in this fictitious place called Ryme City. I have been a fan of the series since itsQuick review, if you are a Pokémon fan, go see this movie, its fun to see all our favourite pocket monsters in a live action format working alongside humans in this fictitious place called Ryme City. I have been a fan of the series since its inception, and while the plot and acting is nothing spectacular, it was worth it just to see the art design and CGI, as well as feel the familiar feeling of nostalgia. I also have to mention that I actually thought Ryan Reynolds was good as Pikachu's voice in this and it was fun to watch.

Also, movie critics, you are all absolutely terrible. This is a Pokémon movie for Pokémon fans, not an oscar favourite for next year, I cannot believe how seriously some of you took this movie when it was made for fun, of course it won't hold up objectively. I'm surprised how much you are all complaining considering how diverse the casting was... Anyways, my point is to IGNORE THEM, they are an absolute joke nowadays.

+ Fun for all ages
+ Great atmosphere
+ Great CGI
+ Some good comedy
+ Still feels like Pokémon
+ Pikachu is great
+ Excellent world building

- Subpar acting
- Subpar writing
- Plot pacing is all over the place

Overall, same as I said before, if you are a Pokémon fan, then this movie is a fun and entertaining little getaway, if you are not a Pokémon fan, this story will make no sense and you will probably not appreciate it as much. This is an easy 7 for me.
Expand
3 of 4 users found this helpful31
All this user's reviews
8
OokagariMay 12, 2019
Detective Pikachu is shining example of what a video game movie can be. Fulled with nostalgia and references (some subtle, some not) anyone who grew up with these lovable creatures will have a blast. The only complaint I can find is that theDetective Pikachu is shining example of what a video game movie can be. Fulled with nostalgia and references (some subtle, some not) anyone who grew up with these lovable creatures will have a blast. The only complaint I can find is that the plot is vary paint by numbers Detective story, the adults will see the twists coming from a mile away, but the children who see this will find it still thrilling. Good job Universal and Nintendo, I look forward what you come up with next. Expand
3 of 4 users found this helpful31
All this user's reviews
7
yerubandiMay 15, 2019
not sure why this movie does not have a good score. we liked the movie, simple kid friendly. not too long, we enjoyed this movie more than the avengers. if we took reynolds out, the movie would be a ten
3 of 4 users found this helpful31
All this user's reviews
10
ExperienceInHDMay 12, 2019
A fantastic movie for any Pokemon fan. There's a lot of fan service and the CGI Pokemon look amazing and are very fun to watch.
3 of 4 users found this helpful31
All this user's reviews
8
RyanHerofTimeMay 11, 2019
This is a damn good Video Game Movie! To Start I'm a Gen 1 Kid, I was into pokemon until Gen 4. This Movie is so fun, It makes me want to go and play the Games again! The Pokemon are so cool! My one and only gripe they don't use the originalThis is a damn good Video Game Movie! To Start I'm a Gen 1 Kid, I was into pokemon until Gen 4. This Movie is so fun, It makes me want to go and play the Games again! The Pokemon are so cool! My one and only gripe they don't use the original pokemon noises from before, The New sounds are odd. The Cast are amazing! Ryan Reynolds and Justice Smith steal the show! It was a great pair. CGI looked amazing and felt real. The World Building is great and it makes you feel like your in the world of pokemon. It is a Movie Everyone can enjoy Kids and Adults alike. This is a MUST see! Expand
3 of 4 users found this helpful31
All this user's reviews
7
Wavy_YeezyMay 11, 2019
Thus movie is good but not amazing or anything. I wouldn't be interested in watching this if Ryan Reynolds wasn't the voice for Pikachu. I'm not the biggest fan of 6his movie, I was a little suprised I expected a mediocre movie but it wasThus movie is good but not amazing or anything. I wouldn't be interested in watching this if Ryan Reynolds wasn't the voice for Pikachu. I'm not the biggest fan of 6his movie, I was a little suprised I expected a mediocre movie but it was slightly better than that. Expand
3 of 4 users found this helpful31
All this user's reviews
9
VictopediaMay 11, 2019
To everyone complaining about the lack of Pokemon fights in this movie, and it not being about a Pokemon trainer embarking on a journey and catching Pokemon, your argument just shows that you never understood the point of this movie.To everyone complaining about the lack of Pokemon fights in this movie, and it not being about a Pokemon trainer embarking on a journey and catching Pokemon, your argument just shows that you never understood the point of this movie. Detective Pikachu is not based on the main stream Pokemon games, or the Pokemon anime. It is based on the detective Pikachu game. The movie does a great job of bringing the Pokemon world to life. The CGI in this movie is amazing. There were certain times where it looked slightly off, but it did not effect the movie that much. The story is really good, even though it is pretty predictable at times. Ryan Reynolds as Pikachu is probably the best part of this movie. He brings the story to life and each joke feels natural and fitting for the movie. This is not a standard Pokemon movie about a Pokemon trainer embarking on a journey to catch them all and become a Pokemon master. This is a movie about a guy and his detective Pikachu trying to solve the mystery behind his fathers disappearance, and all the trouble they get in trying to unravel this mystery. This is a quality movie for people of all ages. Expand
3 of 4 users found this helpful31
All this user's reviews
8
ProVConReviewsMay 14, 2019
Pokemon Detective Pikachu
Pros vs Cons Review (5/14/19)
Pros: What I loved about this movie was the fact that I could tell that the creators adored the world of Pokemon and wanted to do their best to honor the franchise by giving this
Pokemon Detective Pikachu
Pros vs Cons Review (5/14/19)

Pros:
What I loved about this movie was the fact that I could tell that the creators adored the world of Pokemon and wanted to do their best to honor the franchise by giving this fantasy world a true sense of realism not found in the games or show. I felt like I was there and for the first time, I felt like Pokemon were real. I know that's a common praise among the viewers of the film, but it truly does give that illusion and for that I applaud this film but that's not the only place where it shines. Everything from the colors, the music, the bits of lore taken from the games, it's all so wonderful and it doesn't stray away from getting emotional. Ryan Reynolds delivers too, as odd as his role may of been, he did fantastic. But as much as I could gush about this movie, it does have issues as do all movies.

Cons:
This movie is strange, I didn't expect the strongest story going into this but it does try to tell a complicated story. The attempt for me falls flat, as I stated before the emotion is there and moments genuinely have great pay-off story wise, but overall the story is just kind of, for me at least, a side piece for the greater interest of the world. Relating to that is some of the dialogue, it can be hit or miss especially with the comedy but this is to be expected since you got to have jokes for both kids and adults to have a successful kids movie, but still it was a bit disappointing to not have too many great comedic moments especially since Ryan Reynolds is among the cast. Also in terms of the twists and the villain... It just either doesn't impact or it doesn't make sense, I won't go to in-depth but if you've seen the movie hopefully you'll understand what I mean. Overall: Detective Pikachu is a wonderful, magical movie that has excellent world building but sadly a weak plot that, despite having some truly excellent moments, holds it back from being perceived in excellence. Again, I still loved the movie and I still recommend it to all who are interested because this is a wonderful film that deserves at least a single watch. 7.5/10 rounded to an 8 points
Expand
3 of 4 users found this helpful31
All this user's reviews
9
HeartefeltMay 11, 2019
Detective Pikachu is a huge leap in quality when compared to other video-game based movies. A ton of fun and I absolutely love it.
3 of 4 users found this helpful31
All this user's reviews
8
StilesCloverMay 14, 2019
Ich habe nichts erwartet und wurde Positiv überrascht. Die Story ist zwar nichts besonderes und halt für Kinder ausgelegt aber das ist voll in Ordnung. Der Haupt Plottwist war zwar extrem offensichtlich bevor man den Film überhaupt gesehenIch habe nichts erwartet und wurde Positiv überrascht. Die Story ist zwar nichts besonderes und halt für Kinder ausgelegt aber das ist voll in Ordnung. Der Haupt Plottwist war zwar extrem offensichtlich bevor man den Film überhaupt gesehen hat aber nicht so schlimm. Außerdem gibt es wirklich noch genügend Szenen die einem zum lachen gebracht haben :) Es gab aber eine Sache die ich eeetwas übertrieben fand und wer den Film gesehen hat wird denke ich wissen was man ein wenig übertrieben hat xD. Naja ich kann zumindest sagen es ist bisher mit abstand die beste Videospiel Verfilmung die es gibt :) Expand
3 of 4 users found this helpful31
All this user's reviews
8
Digibutter64May 10, 2019
Movie adaptations of video games are often criticised. Pokémon: Detective Pikachu, however, is an example of such an adaptation done right.

The story is basically this: A guy named Tim Goodman goes to the Pokémon-populated Ryme City after
Movie adaptations of video games are often criticised. Pokémon: Detective Pikachu, however, is an example of such an adaptation done right.

The story is basically this: A guy named Tim Goodman goes to the Pokémon-populated Ryme City after his father is involved in a crash and presumed dead. He later comes across a Pikachu whose speech he can understand, and reluctantly teams up with said Pikachu to look for his father, believing him to actually be alive.

Without going into spoilers, there are a lot of twists throughout the film to keep you guessing. I was a bit apprehensive about the idea of a talking Pikachu at first, but it works and he's pretty funny. The other characters are generally good too, and I appreciate the surprising amount of depth with Tim Goodman. The Pokémon look fantastic too, although they seemed a bit low-resolution sometimes. I also found the climax to be a bit iffy.

On the whole though, a great adaptation and film in general that seems to improve upon the source material. Existing Pokémon fans will get more out of it though.
Expand
11 of 15 users found this helpful114
All this user's reviews
9
SkyPikachuMay 10, 2019
Solid movie with great acting from Ryan Reynolds. The humors was great and the story and twists were good. This is obviously a movie that's suppose to also appeal to older children as well and I feel like it did that very well. Ignore theSolid movie with great acting from Ryan Reynolds. The humors was great and the story and twists were good. This is obviously a movie that's suppose to also appeal to older children as well and I feel like it did that very well. Ignore the critics about Pikachu. Pikachu was an important and amazing asset to the movie and some of the best lines come from Pikachu. There weren't as many different pokemon as I would have hoped for. I wasn't counting but I assume we didn't see more than 100 max. I came out of the cinema really happy and had really enjoyed myself. Must watch if you're a pokemon fan. Decent movie for children as well though there's some scenes that may scare some younger children (hence the PG rating) I also think parents will get a decent amount of enjoyment from the movie since the plot is much deeper than your typical pokemon movie or your typical childrens movie. Expand
11 of 15 users found this helpful114
All this user's reviews
9
dorkainurMay 10, 2019
Very good film ,way better than I expected. Really enjoyable for adults, in some points maybe a little bit complicated for kids.

Critic Reviews s**k... again.
5 of 7 users found this helpful52
All this user's reviews
10
MijdaxMay 11, 2019
This movie is much better than expected. It perfectltly manages to entertain adults, children and people who love pokemon in general. Also its funny how low critics rate this movie. Again a reason for me not to consider movie critics whenThis movie is much better than expected. It perfectltly manages to entertain adults, children and people who love pokemon in general. Also its funny how low critics rate this movie. Again a reason for me not to consider movie critics when deciding whether or not to watch it. Expand
5 of 7 users found this helpful52
All this user's reviews
10
AlepernicoloMay 11, 2019
The visuals for the movie were stunning and it really made me want to live in this world. Granted the Story is not what I came for and it was kind of predictable but to see humans interact with Pokémon made it real for me. Great acting fromThe visuals for the movie were stunning and it really made me want to live in this world. Granted the Story is not what I came for and it was kind of predictable but to see humans interact with Pokémon made it real for me. Great acting from Justice Smith, Ryan Reynolds and Bill Nighy! Expand
5 of 7 users found this helpful52
All this user's reviews
9
MrGameGuyMay 11, 2019
Video game films usually seem like they don't care for the franchise they're based off of, and are only trying to make anything they can with what is given to them or just get the production over with. Luckily, this is not the case forVideo game films usually seem like they don't care for the franchise they're based off of, and are only trying to make anything they can with what is given to them or just get the production over with. Luckily, this is not the case for Pokémon: Detective Pikachu, which is obviously, to any fan of the source material, a film which is made from love for Pokémon. On top of this, the acting from all of its cast is outstanding and brings all of these amazing characters to life. The CGI in this film looks brilliant and at no point did it drop in quality, which really helps when bringing the creatures into live-action. The only negative I can think of is that the pacing in the film sometimes feels off, speeding up or slowing down almost randomly. This is, however, only a minor negative when compared to the feats that the rest of the film achieves.
In conclusion, I would definitely recommend this film even if you're not a fan of Pokémon. It is extremely entertaining and a very thoughtful adaption of the game which, in my opinion, more than deserves all of the praise it is receiving from users.
Expand
5 of 7 users found this helpful52
All this user's reviews
10
AllanP1noMay 11, 2019
It is an excellent film much better than I expected, I thought it was going to be a failure but on the contrary Warner Bros knew how to do it well
5 of 7 users found this helpful52
All this user's reviews
10
ryanreynochuMay 11, 2019
Don't trust the "professional" reviews of this movie. It's by no means a masterpiece of filmmaking, but it absolutely does not deserve a 52 metascore. The CGI was wonderful, the attention to detail was unreal, there were so many referencesDon't trust the "professional" reviews of this movie. It's by no means a masterpiece of filmmaking, but it absolutely does not deserve a 52 metascore. The CGI was wonderful, the attention to detail was unreal, there were so many references and nods to Pokemon, you can truly tell how much love for the franchise was in this movie when it was being made. Sure, the human actors weren't the greatest, but who the hell is watching a Pokemon movie for the humans? My only real complaint is the forced and awkward romance, but otherwise, the humans were what I expected. If you love Pokemon, you should ABSOLUTELY see this movie as soon as you can. If you don't love Pokemon, at least give it a try, and remember that this is not a movie about detectives, this is a movie about Pokemon. And there are a lot of Pokemon to laugh and smile at in this movie. Expand
5 of 7 users found this helpful52
All this user's reviews
10
akatosh001May 10, 2019
I've been a fan of Pokemon for 20 years and this movie really hits the spot for a live action Pokemon film. The plot is a little bit thin so if you aren't a fan of the franchise then you may not like the movie all that much. For those of usI've been a fan of Pokemon for 20 years and this movie really hits the spot for a live action Pokemon film. The plot is a little bit thin so if you aren't a fan of the franchise then you may not like the movie all that much. For those of us who have dreamed of a world filled with Pokemon this is as close as it gets. Expand
14 of 20 users found this helpful146
All this user's reviews
10
DusklegendMay 10, 2019
This movie was awesome. While it might not fit the exact pokemon people know and love with the all of the battling.

What this movie really gives is the potential for upcoming pokemon movies. The effects were awesome, and believable.
7 of 10 users found this helpful73
All this user's reviews
9
MBIIMay 10, 2019
NOTE: The "professional" reviews are complete garbage as always. These people never heard of Pokemon outside the context of Pokemon Go.

Like most kids of my generation, I grew up on Pokémon. I lost interested in the franchise some time after
NOTE: The "professional" reviews are complete garbage as always. These people never heard of Pokemon outside the context of Pokemon Go.

Like most kids of my generation, I grew up on Pokémon. I lost interested in the franchise some time after the second generation of games/anime were released. I've come back to the series occasionally over the years when some new development piqued my interested. However, it was not until the first trailer for #DetectivePikachu dropped that my hype and love for the crazy critters returned in earnest.

I remember reading about the movie being announced some years ago and feeling quite skeptical. My primary thoughts were such: this movie probably won't end up happening and even if it does how the hell is it going to work? Pokémon have always existed solely in the realm of animation and seemed too... otherworldly and fantastical to render in a "realistic" way. Moreover, I was not really familiar with Detective Pikachu for the Nintendo 3DS, a lesser known spin-off of the main series of games, which serves as the basis of the film. The concept of a crime-solving Pikachu working with a human partner seemed goofy to me at best.

After some time had passed, I had forgotten about the movie. Maybe I assumed that my prediction of it never seeing the light of day had come true, like so many video game films announced before it. Even the game adaptations that do get released don't exactly have the best track record when it comes to quality and faithfulness to the source material. There's also the fact there are plenty of other game series that seem to lend themselves to a live-action adaptation much more than the cartoony world of Pokémon (Deus Ex, Bioshock, Metal Gear solid, to name a few).

So imagine my surprise when the first trailer for Detective Pikachu dropped. I was absolutely floored. The designs for the myriad creatures somehow managed to be accurate depictions of their animated forms while also blending it seamlessly into real world environments. Ryan Reynolds seems to play a variation of the same character in every movie (which is more or less himself), it happened to fit with this wise-talking case-cracking version of everyone's favorite electric rodent. The most exciting part is that this movie appeared to take place in a living, breathing, fully-realized Pokémon world.

As for the movie itself, it most certainly delivered on expectations. You can tell the director, writers, and actors took the time to familiarize themselves with the world they are representing. Though I haven't played the particular game that the film is based on, I read up on its plot and was pleasantly surprised at how much was used in the movie - Mewtwo's key role, the presence of the "R" chemical compound, and the main character of Tim Goodman investigating the mysterious death of his father. Speaking of Goodman, not using Ash Ketchum (of the anime series) in the film was probably the best decision the filmmakers ever made. His antics are the main reason I stopped watching the show way back when, and his never-ending quest to be the very best like no one ever was got old after a while.

The overall plot of the film is fairly standard but features some twists and turns along the way, including a very big one near the end. The atmosphere manages to feel like a genuine crime thriller/mystery at times which is surprising giving the colorful CGI creatures walking about and the general kid-oriented nature of the movie. In an interview, director Rob Letterman said the Mr. Mime interrogation scene was inspired by the classic psychological thriller Se7en. Nobody's cranium ends up inside a box but it's good to know the creative team had their heads in the right place (ahem).

As I stated before, the visual effects are absolutely phenomenal and really get their chance to shine in action sequences, including a Pokémon battle or two. Mewtwo looks freaky, as any genetic abomination should, thus making for an appropriately terrifying antagonist. To nobody's surprise, Ryan Reynolds as the titular character supplies a steady stream of jokes along with a healthy dose of heart. His human co-star, Justice Smith carries his weight as well, providing some deadpan humor and emotional depth of his own.

In conclusion, Pokémon: Detective Pikachu was just as great as I hoped it would be. It's a movie that will be appealing to general audiences who are not as familiar with Pokémon (hard to believe such people still exist) but of course will bring deeper satisfaction to long-time fans of the franchise. I exist somewhere in between those two groups, a once die-hard fan in childhood brought back into the fold with a movie that is sure to reignite the Pocket Monsters craze in the hearts of many while also jump-starting a new generation of Poké-fans into existence. With this film on track to being a financial success, I can't wait to see what other live-action Pokémon projects are in store for the future.
Expand
7 of 10 users found this helpful73
All this user's reviews
9
EliittiMay 10, 2019
The attention to detail when it comes to the Pokemon and their behavior is fantastic.
6 of 9 users found this helpful63
All this user's reviews
9
El112119May 10, 2019
This movie is one of one or the Greatest Video Game Adaption Live Action in Forever

They did justice to the Pokemon and for the Fans The only thing that gets this a 9 for me not a 10 is because the Acting of the Human Character is off in
This movie is one of one or the Greatest Video Game Adaption Live Action in Forever

They did justice to the Pokemon and for the Fans
The only thing that gets this a 9 for me not a 10 is because the Acting of the Human Character is off in some scenes ( well that's just for me)
But over-all this is a Must watch

i can't really say if the plot is the same to the Game, because i am just halfway through the game and didn't finish it....so i can tell that from the movies plot to the game, i say they followed the story of the original from what i experienced Half of the game's Story

This movie is a real treat...pika pika
Expand
6 of 9 users found this helpful63
All this user's reviews
10
kensilloMay 10, 2019
Not even a hardcore Pokémon fan, still a very great movie, so much fun in this film, everything is well done here 10/10
6 of 9 users found this helpful63
All this user's reviews
8
siman0May 12, 2019
It was a good movie, the story was well written and enjoyable. The direction and pace of the movie felt slow, then rushed in the last half. The cast besides Ryan Reynolds felt like they where out of place occasionally, but they are newerIt was a good movie, the story was well written and enjoyable. The direction and pace of the movie felt slow, then rushed in the last half. The cast besides Ryan Reynolds felt like they where out of place occasionally, but they are newer actors. I felt the story's end wrapped everything up a bit too nicely and left a few holes in the overall story. Expand
4 of 6 users found this helpful42
All this user's reviews
8
JJTXMay 11, 2019
Detective Pikachu is cute, funny, and sweet. The plot is pretty straightforward, with a few twists and surprises, but it won't knock your socks off. Ryan Reynolds is great as Pikachu, and Justice Smith puts in a solid performance as theDetective Pikachu is cute, funny, and sweet. The plot is pretty straightforward, with a few twists and surprises, but it won't knock your socks off. Ryan Reynolds is great as Pikachu, and Justice Smith puts in a solid performance as the primary human character, Tim Goodman. Kathryn Newton's character, Lucy Stevens, is the movie's biggest weakness, with some cringe-worthy dialogue. There are a few continuity errors that stuck out to me, and the film will be mostly incomprehensible to anyone who is totally unfamiliar with Pokemon, but for the intended audience -- Pokemon fans new and old -- Detective Pikachu is a lot of fun. Expand
4 of 6 users found this helpful42
All this user's reviews
10
ronfar86May 10, 2019
Excelente filme, para um filme baseado em um jogo(detective pikachu 3ds) realmente é um dos melhores considerando essa condição...
4 of 6 users found this helpful42
All this user's reviews
9
LBXZeroMay 11, 2019
For a live-action movie adaptation of a video game franchise, Detective Pikachu does a great job making the pokemon real while trying to fit a more reasonable story in a game-physics-based world. I find only 1 section of the film needed moreFor a live-action movie adaptation of a video game franchise, Detective Pikachu does a great job making the pokemon real while trying to fit a more reasonable story in a game-physics-based world. I find only 1 section of the film needed more writing work, but it doesn't wreck the film if corrected. Overall, it is impressive work, a decent mystery, and a touching story. Expand
4 of 6 users found this helpful42
All this user's reviews
10
Davrosdaleks1May 12, 2019
This was a lot better than I expected.

Detective Pikachu is a movie that knows how to entertain and improves in quality as it progresses. It is such a perfect blend of humor, heart, action and world-building. It also helps that the evil plan
This was a lot better than I expected.

Detective Pikachu is a movie that knows how to entertain and improves in quality as it progresses. It is such a perfect blend of humor, heart, action and world-building. It also helps that the evil plan is a little new and that although some reveals are pretty predictable, there is one that is pretty well done.

A lot of credit should be given to director Rob Letterman, whose previous Goosebumps movie was also a lot better than anyone expected. There were so many ways this film could've gone wrong given the history of video game adaptations. Heck, the movie could've just had some Pokemon characters brought into our world, which is a trend these days. However, Letterman actually managed to adapt the basic structure of the fantasy world of Pokemon into a real world-esque environment. The movie actually cares about the world of Pokemon and should probably please fans. However, it is also mostly accessible to newcomers, by showing how Pokemon work without getting too expositioney. (MOSTLY. I felt the Pokemon's ability to evolve was kept a little vague.)

The amount of computer animation that went into the Pokemon is short of astounding. The entirety of Rhyme City is populated by them. Kids should love them considering how unique and often cute they are. Considering that Pokemon were 2D creations originally, the ability to make them more realistic without losing their qualities was impressive. Although, the texture on the fleshier Pokemon is a little peculiar. It kind of looks like what you'd think a fetus would feel like.

They are also some visually-arresting action scenes. I wasn't a big fan of the constantly grey sky. I mean I know this is supposed to be pseudo-Noirish, but considering how colorful the games were, I would've preferred some more light. Music is distinctive.

The fuzzy mouse-esque Detective Pikachu especially looks good. (And let's be honest, extremely marketable. He's like a teddy bear.) Ryan Reynolds brings on the funny with the character, but he and the script also make you take his deductive skills and more heartfelt moments seriously.

Also, I just want to give props to veteran British actor Bill Nighy appearing in this and treating his role so professionally given the ridiculousness of the film.

Overall, I really enjoyed this.
Expand
4 of 6 users found this helpful42
All this user's reviews
1
BRJacobsFeb 10, 2020
This film was objectively awful. So much of it could have been cut. None of the characters are likeable in the least. Ryan Reynolds was good as Pikachu, though not all of his jokes landed. Though the CGI worked for a lot of the pokemmon, someThis film was objectively awful. So much of it could have been cut. None of the characters are likeable in the least. Ryan Reynolds was good as Pikachu, though not all of his jokes landed. Though the CGI worked for a lot of the pokemmon, some of them were awfully constructed (Gengar, Mewtwo, Mr. Mime). The story was so bad because half of the time it made no sense. The female character was exceptionally awful, terrible actress and she could be written out of the movie with one or two rewrites. The environment doesn't feel lived in in the least. The bad guys plan makes no sense and breaks pokemon logic. Not deserving of praise. Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
10
atgx97May 11, 2019
By far the best video game based movie that's been released. The story is definitely predictable for the most part but its visual effects are the best part and they blow it away with them. Reynolds' character is great and that's what it needsBy far the best video game based movie that's been released. The story is definitely predictable for the most part but its visual effects are the best part and they blow it away with them. Reynolds' character is great and that's what it needs to be for this film. The music is great and references music from the series. A lot of things for fans in this movie like myself so if you're on you'll love it too. I thought the end was great and I hope they make more pokemon movies and hire some better writers because that was the only part lacking in my opinion. The rest of the movie's aspects makes up for it 110% Expand
5 of 8 users found this helpful53
All this user's reviews
10
wellgunMay 10, 2019
Loved the world building and pokemon design.
Characters were all right
Story was lacking but that not the point of the movie.
6 of 10 users found this helpful64
All this user's reviews
10
Will2000May 11, 2019
A great movie and hopefully the first out of many, many live action Pokemon movies. The plot wasn't the most complex, but the visuals were amazing and it's a really special feeling to have your childhood brought to life on the big screen. TheA great movie and hopefully the first out of many, many live action Pokemon movies. The plot wasn't the most complex, but the visuals were amazing and it's a really special feeling to have your childhood brought to life on the big screen. The creators of this movie really did their homework on the series, and there are loads of Easter eggs all throughout it. Expand
3 of 5 users found this helpful32
All this user's reviews
9
Zissou135May 10, 2019
I've been a Pokemon fan since 1997, so please understand that my opinions on this film were formed through a thick lens of nostalgia. With that said, I believe this movie to be the absolute best representation of the Pokemon universe. As aI've been a Pokemon fan since 1997, so please understand that my opinions on this film were formed through a thick lens of nostalgia. With that said, I believe this movie to be the absolute best representation of the Pokemon universe. As a long time fan, being able to sit and watch people and Pokemon interact in a modern setting in exactly the same way I imagined it during my childhood was genuinely magical.

The story was better than I expected but lacked any significant depth. The characters were generally relatable and served the plot well, but didn't do anything to carry the film.

This film is a dream come true for fans of Pokemon and will hopefully serve as an introduction to the property for young people.
Expand
3 of 5 users found this helpful32
All this user's reviews
6
NeighThovenMay 12, 2019
Pays an amazing homage to Pokemon games of all generations and fans of the franchise, but unfortunately fails as a stand-alone film with mediocre acting from majority of the cast and a story that left me predicting every moment three scenes prior.
4 of 7 users found this helpful43
All this user's reviews
10
SnowydayUKMay 11, 2019
OMG Detective Pikachu was awesome I can’t wait for the sequel to come out
6 of 11 users found this helpful65
All this user's reviews
10
sovietprinceMay 11, 2019
very good movie it had all what I came to see the critics as usual don't know what there talking about
4 of 8 users found this helpful44
All this user's reviews
5
SouthernhammerMay 12, 2019
Please ignore the reviews saying this is a 10/10 movie because it definitely isn't. The world itself is fantastic to see. The whole Pokemon and people living side by side aspect is incredible and I spent every scene trying to drink it all inPlease ignore the reviews saying this is a 10/10 movie because it definitely isn't. The world itself is fantastic to see. The whole Pokemon and people living side by side aspect is incredible and I spent every scene trying to drink it all in and had a great time.

However, the plot itself and the general story telling is very poor and it's such a shame that they rush through a lot of immersive world scenes just to have the next generic run of the mill detective scene. Very poor story telling really let this movie down and it's a huge shame because the world they had built deserved better. It is still worth a watch but just know that the story itself will not hook you and you'll see a lot of the same tired cliches done poorly.
Expand
4 of 8 users found this helpful44
All this user's reviews
6
Rej72380May 10, 2019
Detective Pikachu is a film that is good as a Pokemon licensed flick, but as a regular movie it's somewhat mediocre. Ryan Reynolds does an fair job playing as the titular character of the film, with Justice Smith playing as his human partner.Detective Pikachu is a film that is good as a Pokemon licensed flick, but as a regular movie it's somewhat mediocre. Ryan Reynolds does an fair job playing as the titular character of the film, with Justice Smith playing as his human partner. It takes an avid Pokemon fan to fully comprehend the plot to the film, hence the rating of a 6. Expand
3 of 6 users found this helpful33
All this user's reviews
6
ColginatorMay 11, 2019
When they first announced a live action Pokemon movie, there was instantly a concern that the film could end up being a disaster. Largely because it seems like such a difficult thing to translate all of their 2d designs into a 3d environmentWhen they first announced a live action Pokemon movie, there was instantly a concern that the film could end up being a disaster. Largely because it seems like such a difficult thing to translate all of their 2d designs into a 3d environment without having them end up looking incredibly creepy. Just look at the goombas in the Super Mario Bros. or whatever that blue thing was in the trailer for the Sonic the Hedgehog movie and you’ll see how bad these kind of adaptations can go. But here, the VFX team and conceptual designers behind this movie nailed every one of these designs, bringing these Pokemon in to a live action world without losing any of the charm of the original designs. Beyond the visual aesthetic, they do a fantastic job at establishing all of the Pokemon’s personalities. There are so many little touches that show a real appreciation for the franchises lore, like Charizard's weakness being his tail or mentioning Cubone wears his mother's skull. Plus there are so many great gags and moments through seeing the Pokemon interact with the world, like Machop organising traffic around a napping snorlax or a team of squirtles working for the fire department. Seeing the way they adapt their world around these Pokemon is sure to satisfy any long time fan of the franchise. But for people who didn’t grow up with the games, there’s probably not going to be much here. Unlike something like Who Framed Roger Rabbit, where even without all the animated characters there’s still a cool noir inspired mystery, the rest of Detective Pikachu doesn’t really hold up. We have a basic setup where after a detective goes missing, the detective's son arrives in the city to find out what happened. Whilst there he bumps into a Pikachu who is a detective and sets out to help him find out what happened to his father. They quickly uncover your typical conspiracy and realise that they need to save the city.

There’s a lot of inconsistencies throughout the film that don’t really add up and you’ll probably be able to guess most of the plot within the first 20 minutes of the film. Although there is one goofy twist with one Pokemon which I won’t spoil but did get a few great chuckles out of me. As much as I’m still hoping for a Danny Devito dub of the film, Reynolds did a pretty great job as Detective Pikachu. He infuses a lot of his own personality in to the role, but still keeps it distinct enough so it doesn’t just feel like another Deadpool. But whilst all the Pokemon characters are all colourful and memorable, all the humans are just very bland by comparison. Kathryn Newton was pretty funny early on, playing her role as ridiculously over the top as a live action anime character should be, but it felt like her role simmered out as the film went on. Then the rest of the human felt like they were only there to move the story along and didn’t have enough of a personality to leave any real impression. This film is probably going to split audiences into two categories. If you’re a fan of the franchise, there’s enough comedy and fan service that you’ll probably have a good time. But if Pokemon’s never been your thing, this isn’t the film that’s going to change your mind. I guess it may technically be the best movie based on a video game. But when the competition includes the likes of Uwe Boll movies, Max Payne and Assassins Creed, that’s not really much of a compliment.
Expand
2 of 4 users found this helpful22
All this user's reviews
9
ValterMay 10, 2019
I`ll put this really simple: if you`re a pokemon fan, you will love this movie cause it`s pretty much a pokemon animated movie in live-action form. the plot is simple but smart, lots of surprises, laughs , action and the pokemon are asI`ll put this really simple: if you`re a pokemon fan, you will love this movie cause it`s pretty much a pokemon animated movie in live-action form. the plot is simple but smart, lots of surprises, laughs , action and the pokemon are as adorable and funny as they are in the anime. i love it and ready for more!! Expand
2 of 4 users found this helpful22
All this user's reviews
10
zenosmonMay 13, 2019
All Pokemons are cute!! Fantasy!! I like it so much!! I have been saw fifth!!
2 of 4 users found this helpful22
All this user's reviews
6
BulgarianCriticMay 13, 2019
As a guy who only knew the first generation pokemon i think it was a pretty good movie with nice effects.But i also think that they shouldve kept the story more light hearted it had too many serious moments and some pretty predictableAs a guy who only knew the first generation pokemon i think it was a pretty good movie with nice effects.But i also think that they shouldve kept the story more light hearted it had too many serious moments and some pretty predictable twists.I was also expecting more comedy since i mean come on ITS DETECTIVE PIKACHU FFS.Overall pretty ok movie for pokemon and non pokemon fans Expand
2 of 4 users found this helpful22
All this user's reviews
5
GrimStomperMay 13, 2019
Nothing special about this movie. It's easy to get lost in the fact that a live action Pokemon movie was made, but it doesn't hide the fact that the movie is just as mediocre as every other video game movie adaptation out there. One of theNothing special about this movie. It's easy to get lost in the fact that a live action Pokemon movie was made, but it doesn't hide the fact that the movie is just as mediocre as every other video game movie adaptation out there. One of the glaring flaws (and the worst flaw) about the movie is that the dialogue is terrible; it tries way too hard to be funny and if they did it less frequently I would've been able to get through the movie in less pain. If you're a video game fan then this movie will satisfy you enough to get through the cringy dialogue. If not, I would pass on this one. Expand
2 of 4 users found this helpful22
All this user's reviews
10
Leoba1247May 16, 2019
Incrível, me deixou de boca caída com os efeitos especiais, e o Ryan Reynolds transborda carisma
2 of 4 users found this helpful22
All this user's reviews
7
spongeswiftMay 10, 2019
Detective Pikachu is a good movie, but sure it has it's issues. The beginning scene seemed to set up what would be something big, you could simply tell. I still feel that his delivery in the beginning wasn't believable or very sensitive. TheDetective Pikachu is a good movie, but sure it has it's issues. The beginning scene seemed to set up what would be something big, you could simply tell. I still feel that his delivery in the beginning wasn't believable or very sensitive. The weight of the journey that they were going on wasn't apparent until Detective Pikachu showed up, which I think really puts a damper on Justice Smith's performance. Ryan Reynolds on the other hand shows the delicacy of the circumstance with comedy (what he's the best at.) Justice instead comes off in a more negative and immature way which was a script issue. The part where they talk and reflect on what happened gave me chills, Justice's acting really only worked when Ryan Reynolds was there to pump some optimism into him. Kathryn does a great job as Lucy Stevens, she really pushes that small reporter and a big pond brand that's optimism always shines through. Also her Psyduck is perfect and Pikachu and his' interactions are pure gold. Mr Mime was a disgrace though, his scenes may have been funny but his awful and hideous character design had me more nauseous than anything. It's third act is really where things pick up. Mewtwo is so "present" and "bold" that you can feel the fear in some of these characters when he nears. Also this is the act where you can really appreciate the world building, it's so beautiful and gigantic. But the part where I nearly shed a tear was a scene that featured Bulbasaur, it really gave me the chills. Overall I think the script may have been a little flawed, but the Pokemon (why we're at this movie) were fantastic. Ryan Reynolds' Pikachu is really what made this movie so charming and memorable. But not even his character can escape some flaws which all lie in the ending. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
7
SrPepeMay 12, 2019
Pokémon es una de mis sagas de videojuego favoritas y estaba muy emocionado por Detective Pikachu. El mundo creado por Legendary es genial y esta muy bien pensado, el diseño de los Pokémon es perfecto y Pikachu se roba totalmente el film, esPokémon es una de mis sagas de videojuego favoritas y estaba muy emocionado por Detective Pikachu. El mundo creado por Legendary es genial y esta muy bien pensado, el diseño de los Pokémon es perfecto y Pikachu se roba totalmente el film, es un punto muy bueno su personalidad y aspecto, por otra parte todos los detalles y referencias en la trama y en los escenarios es una caricia al corazón de los fans y se agredece, sobre todo el hecho que la peli comparta lugar con los sucesos de los videojuegos. Ahora bien, en que falla? El error más grande de la película es su corta duración, me morí de ganas de ver un poco más de ese universo, que nos muestren más Pokémon, más tipos, más movimientos, y sobre todo más batallas, bueno, por lo menos UNA batalla. Es una pena como un mundo tan bien construido se desaprovecha bastante porque no quisieron agregar 10 minutos más. La trama también es mala pero no creo que influya en la calidad del film para los que somos fans. Espero por favor que salga una secuela, y porque no, nuevas películas de Pokémon que estén más relacionadas a los videojuegos. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
7
The3AcademySinsJun 3, 2019
Easily the best video game film adaptation I have ever seen. Detective Pikachu combines great acting performances, incredible CGI, and a charming story to create an entertaining and delightful movie. Having played Pokemon as a kid, I found itEasily the best video game film adaptation I have ever seen. Detective Pikachu combines great acting performances, incredible CGI, and a charming story to create an entertaining and delightful movie. Having played Pokemon as a kid, I found it very nostalgic, but there is enough fresh things to make this appealing to even a non-Pokemon fan. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
8
DonSerrotMay 11, 2019
You could tell that the people working on this movie were fans of the source material. They put their hearts into this and it really showed. The characters looked great. The story was fun. They included the right references to excite longYou could tell that the people working on this movie were fans of the source material. They put their hearts into this and it really showed. The characters looked great. The story was fun. They included the right references to excite long time fans without being things that would lose people not intimately familiar with the series. There are two instances of light swearing that I think the movie could have done without for younger kids, but overall I was really happy with everything else. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
8
MetaisaacMay 26, 2019
If you seen endgame and need a movie to watch then watch this movie! Also it's good that it's not about a human going to the Pokemon world or a human finding a legendary pokemon (like in most Pokemon movies)!
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
7
chumingtamMay 10, 2019
The 3D models and the environment are superb but the interaction between pokemon and human are sometimes off. The plot, however, is very cheesy and convenient, also the psyduck part is a little bit annoying. Just give us Misty and her psyduckThe 3D models and the environment are superb but the interaction between pokemon and human are sometimes off. The plot, however, is very cheesy and convenient, also the psyduck part is a little bit annoying. Just give us Misty and her psyduck instead (AND the Team Rocket!). You can see the nostalgia power and the 3D technology are there, make it a movie universe please. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
8
PastalavestaMay 10, 2019
The movie is pretty good. I enjoyed what I saw. There are a few cringy moments and the CGI can be weird at some times. But overall a good movie.
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
10
Kyurem91May 17, 2019
Da rasponi a du mani davvero ragazzi dovete guardarlo assolutamente Cristo santo come come avete fatto a dargli una votazione così bassa
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
10
Laughingman87May 19, 2019
A film for all ages, whether a fan of pokemon in general or someone who's paid little attention to it previously, this movie will entertain you up until the credits roll, I have been to watch it twice already.
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
10
AshmeowMay 19, 2019
This movie was everything I could have hoped from a Pokemon movie. It was funny, it was adorable, it was nostalgic. It truly is a love letter to all Pokemon fans and I left that theater wishing Pokemon where real like never before.
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
10
NinMarMay 20, 2019
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This movie touches on a lot of stuff that is great to see from a Pokémon movie. It does seem like a breath of fresh air for the Pokémon franchise as a whole. If they make a Nintendo Cinematic Multiverse, I think it can have a whole new look for all Nintendo I.P. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
7
QualitygamerMay 10, 2019
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. My overall feelings on Detective Pikachu collect into a "7" score, which is by and large the best score of a live-action video game adaptation I have given. Everything else has honestly been 4 or worse, but Detective Pikachu deserves recognition for not being great, but actually succeeding in catering to fans AND ALSO being a watchable movie. Pros:
Pokemon are animated beautifully and I was immersed
They lightly touch on the PKMN trainer thing, make it seem like they are manchildren which was funny
Ryan Reynolds almost carries the movie with his presence as a yellow, electric furball
The main lead is a pretty good actor for someone I've never heard of or seen before
Tons and tons of references, easter eggs everywhere in scenery or dialogue making this movie an absolute treat for Pokemon fans

The Mehs:
The Pokemon are animated beautifully BUT the variety runs out halfway through. I think their budget only allowed for 50 or so Pokemon to be rendered and animated, and when most of your movie takes place in a gigantic city, this really sticks out. There's nearly a thousand in the universe today.
The reason for Rime Citys existence is that it allows humans and Pokemon to co-exist and leave peacefully, with no trainers and no battles. Ok, so basically the whole premise of Pokemon, sans the trainers and battles? It seems like they overlooked something on their part, because there are so many instances in the anime, movies and games where people describe pokemon battles are something they can use to bond with their Pokemon stronger. Traits of loyalty, determination and feelings of love and protection for one another, the Pokemon AND its trainer, come from battles. Just seems like they missed the reasoning for this one thing.
And finally for the Mehs, the story. It's nothing new. You've seen the same twists and turns in other media before. It moves along briskly, but you have past experience.

The Bad:
God damn does the female lead bring forth a bad performance. Her introduction scene was almost cringeworthy, and for the rest of the film, her performance never felt genuine. I know that the actress is probably the most avid Pokemon fan out of the cast, but her acting really wasn't great, felt like she was reading lines. Very big misfire. And a personal nitpick I'd like to make: where was all the downtime? Did it all get cut in post-production? Part of why this movie is pretty watchable is the brisk pace, but there is almost no downtime between scenes! I wanted to see more shots of Pokemon living with their daily lives of people, casually and in business, even communicating with each other, but sometimes they only give off a presence as if they are decorations or pets. There is a scene late in the movie where the lead tries to communicate with wild Bulbasaur. Pokemon don't know human language, but they can read and feel you accurately, which this entire scene tried to convey. This needed to be a theme recurring through the whole movie! Especially considering Pikachu can actually be heard by the male lead. Well, now that I think about it, if Pokemon can only feel and understand you through emotion and body language, and even if the male lead can understand Pikachu for some reason, why is the Pikachu able to understand the male leads English? That's a can of worms.
Expand
3 of 7 users found this helpful34
All this user's reviews
10
SkeptecMay 10, 2019
Go see it. This movie is amazing. Pikachu is adorable. The storys decent. What more do ya need?
6 of 15 users found this helpful69
All this user's reviews
6
CyberRobotnixMay 11, 2019
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Well, I must say I kinda expected this movie to be as good as any other movie from Hollywood that tries to cater to a younger demographic (or about 60% of their movies for that matter).

I'll start with the least problematic con (consider that as a nitpick), the protagonist in the game is a white guy, but in the movie he was replaced by a black guy for the sake of inclusivity. I honestly could care less, you could replace the protagonist by the green dude from "Dame Tu Cosita" and it would still be enjoyable if the movie was good to begin with. As a fun fact, Pixels did the same **** by putting in a midget for the sake of inclusivity.

Now the real kicker, the story is bad. It is very erratic and it doesn't know how to progress so basically sometimes the flow of the story is slow, sometimes it is as fast as all hell and in the meantime you don't learn anything meaningful, like wow the Mr Mime interrogation is the best example to point that out, that's just wasting the viewer's time and the protagonist goes to several places not knowing where to go to progress the investigation.

On the same subject, the movie doesn't know who to choose as the main antagonist, first you think it's the whamen with the Psyduck because she harasses the protagonist, then you think it's the son of Clifford, Roger Clifford (he was the main antagonist in the game after all), then you think it's that guy with the Charizard since he had those drugs that made Pokemons go bat**** crazy on him, then you think it's Mewtwo as an ode to the first movie (you could imagine he was a side villain, but like not the main villain at the very beginning of the movie) and finally plot twist, plot twist, it was actually Howard Clifford. Damn, choose your main villain within the first half of the movie goddamnit, atleast Pixels did that correctly!

Overall, a mediocre movie. I am so hyped to see how awful will be Paramount's Sonic movie and the rumoured upcoming Mario movie, I'll expect the same subpar quality that this movie had.
Expand
2 of 5 users found this helpful23
All this user's reviews
2
The_LightMay 12, 2019
It's just an attempt to capitalize on nostalgia. On place of pokemon can be normal animals.
7 of 18 users found this helpful711
All this user's reviews
3
MoviebuffreviewMay 11, 2019
Even as someone who is not all that invested in Pokemon as a franchise (which admittedly would hinder my enjoyment regardless), this feels like another classic case of Americans trying to adapt a Japanese property and having no clue what isEven as someone who is not all that invested in Pokemon as a franchise (which admittedly would hinder my enjoyment regardless), this feels like another classic case of Americans trying to adapt a Japanese property and having no clue what is appealing about it.

The two leads are fairly charming, and there are one or two amusing scenes. Otherwise, this script is a mess. It takes itself far too seriously, it is painfully predictable, it does not do a good job in fleshing out its characters, and it is a tonal disaster. The biggest issue for me is that it fails to deliver on two essential elements that fans seem to like about this property: the Pokemon battles and the relationship between a Pokemon and their master.

This is a waste of a potentially promising premise. That said, I can definitely see a younger generation of fans enjoying it for the thrill of seeing their favorite characters adapted to live action. Furthermore, bigger fans will definitely get some appreciation out of the lore. But as a movie, it just doesn't work.
Expand
9 of 24 users found this helpful915
All this user's reviews
10
ChrnoToddMay 10, 2019
The first live action Pokémon movie is awesome. POKÉMON GETTO DAZEEEEEEEEEE
3 of 8 users found this helpful35
All this user's reviews
5
Niles2K14May 10, 2019
The movie was average to say the least. It has pacing issues whereas the plot goes by way too quickly, it's not able to flow naturally. The characters especially seem like plot devices than anything else. They just spew out their data dump orThe movie was average to say the least. It has pacing issues whereas the plot goes by way too quickly, it's not able to flow naturally. The characters especially seem like plot devices than anything else. They just spew out their data dump or make long-winded speeches about the plot and Tim drifts along from one part of the plot to the next in a frantic manner. Ryan Reynolds as Pikachu is definitely one of the saving graces of this film because of how snarky and charismatic he can be. There are moments though when Pikachu talks way too much and it gets annoying when Tim's talking with somebody and Pikachu keeps adding in his two cents about what's going on which distracts me sometimes. I also find that the movie tries so hard to juggle being an action movie, a noir story and a comedy, it takes away from the mystery of the plot since it's extremely predictable. The plot twists suffer as a result of how predictable the plot is. I won't go into too much detail about that though. As for the main villain, I can't say much about him since he's extremely forgettable. In fact, he behaves like a villain from a Saturday morning cartoon. Despite all of these issues I have with the movie, the Pokemon look excellent in CGI live action. Their designs are near-perfect recreations of their video game designs though Mr. Mime and Ditto can be utterly creepy. I also like the graphical effects of the Pokemon's moves. Ryme City especially looks magical because of the diversity of Pokemon that inhabit the city while cooperating with the humans. It gives a sense of world-building though in actuality, the movie severely lacks world-building because of how insubstantial the plot is. This movie is pure fan service for Pokemon fans though it's mainly aimed towards the kids. It's not a bad movie at all, but it's extremely far from being the "best video game-movie". I would like a sequel to this and if there ends up being one, hopefully it improves upon this movie's pacing issues since that's the biggest problem I have with it. Expand
3 of 9 users found this helpful36
All this user's reviews
9
Masterplanner64May 10, 2019
Haven't seen the movie yet this is just based of the trailers atm. But I submit this as response to ignorant prejudiced reviews from critics that be better suited for any and all adult non fiction dramas than a film of this nature. So manyHaven't seen the movie yet this is just based of the trailers atm. But I submit this as response to ignorant prejudiced reviews from critics that be better suited for any and all adult non fiction dramas than a film of this nature. So many miss the point of film as primarily being a source of entertainment nowadays and sweep aside the the entertainment value and primary audience-(regular real people) appeal for a bare bones nuts and bolts review which negatively associates it's true entertainment value- also known as the audience score. A sequel is already in the works, so it would seem if they didn't enjoy this iteration they should ( if they could) focus on where the concept could use improvement to appeal to the widest consumer palate and best way possible. The best reviews are centered on what the peice of entertainment was trying to do and be for it's audience, not foced on technical misgivings that a general audience wouldn't notice in the first place Expand
3 of 9 users found this helpful36
All this user's reviews
4
FurryEskimoMay 11, 2019
This was hard to watch..
The plot was, confusing.. The dad's dead, he isn't, he is, he isn't, he is,,,, on and on..
There's a pointless and confusing villain twist at the end.. The acting is so cringy, reminding me of disney child movies
This was hard to watch..
The plot was, confusing.. The dad's dead, he isn't, he is, he isn't, he is,,,, on and on..
There's a pointless and confusing villain twist at the end..
The acting is so cringy, reminding me of disney child movies from years ago..
Pikachu won't stop talking, and kind of ruins a lot of what should be cute, tender, or serious moments.
There's way too much bathroom humor.
The 8-12 pokemon you see in the trailer are all that exist in the entire film.
It's not a detective film, at all. They ask a question, and within minutes to seconds the answer is shoved in our face.
The male & female lead characters have NO chemistry, yet they're shoved together as a couple for some reason..
The main protagonist doesn't undergo any kind of meaningful character arc. He starts out shy, defensive, and moody, and he stays that way. He's mad at his dad for prioritizing work, but it's revealed his dad has been asking him to come live with him for years! Maybe even a decade!
I'm sorry to say I didn't laugh at this film.. The kids in front of me liked the bathroom humor, but I was excited for the plot and world building, and these both fell flat. You'd be better off rewatching the First Pokemon Movie.
Oh, and there seems to be an underlying message that GMOs are evil? I'm personally not against people voicing an opinion on this, but it seems a bit like fear mongering to me..
Expand
2 of 6 users found this helpful24
All this user's reviews
6
BrianMcCriticMay 11, 2019
As someone who knows little about the source material I will still say it was a pretty fun movie. Ryan Reynolds is the best part as he adds so much humor and heart to Pikachu. Overall a mid 6 a B-.
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
8
SmashEBradaMay 11, 2019
Sure, it's a bit fast, the mystery elements are either nonexistent or super predictable, and most of the good jokes were already in the trailer, but this movie is great in world building, fan service, and humor, which makes it phenomenalSure, it's a bit fast, the mystery elements are either nonexistent or super predictable, and most of the good jokes were already in the trailer, but this movie is great in world building, fan service, and humor, which makes it phenomenal cultural impact well worth it. Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
7
fordagameMay 11, 2019
For sure this is movie targeting more kids. In this day even some animation has more adult romance and darker theme than Pokemon movie. The movie begin with a lot of not needed drama about main character family... which somehow wanted to makeFor sure this is movie targeting more kids. In this day even some animation has more adult romance and darker theme than Pokemon movie. The movie begin with a lot of not needed drama about main character family... which somehow wanted to make you sympathize him, but it is so childish and out of context, so it actually doesnt matter. But the most important thing for me is that movie never pretended to be something much more than it is. Yup it is childish romance, with some childish drama and a lot of pokemons... but this is what it wanted to be. There aren't any real character development, but the movie wasn't about that anyway. Unfortunately for me CGI pokemons really is not looking natural near people, but if you get over this it is fun 90-100 minute film, which by no way put any pressure on you to understand it or to think too much. Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
8
scsalMay 11, 2019
The plot isn't that great nor how it folds out, but it's a very very enjoyable movie, many funny moments, great pokemon 3D models which will make your eyes entertained.
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
4
JeffB4125May 10, 2019
Funny to watch this film without much poke-knowledge, but I guess the fan base is so big it doesnt matter if the film is incoherent to everyone else? I love how when people like something their first instinct to "question" critics. EveryoneFunny to watch this film without much poke-knowledge, but I guess the fan base is so big it doesnt matter if the film is incoherent to everyone else? I love how when people like something their first instinct to "question" critics. Everyone is entitled to their opinions, critics included, and I for one agree with most of them. This whole enterprise of a film just felt too much like a corporate product, like story and character development were just aped from better movies and ultimately played second fiddle to Pokemon! Cuteness! PG Deadpool! These cinematic franchise attempts are dragging on me, after Endgame Im spent. Now Im just looking forward movies that are movies, not more, and in the unfortunate case of pikachu, not less Expand
3 of 10 users found this helpful37
All this user's reviews