Twentieth Century Fox Film Corporation | Release Date: June 12, 1987
8.7
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 626 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
575
Mixed:
41
Negative:
10
Watch Now
Stream On
Buy On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
8
grandpajoe6191Sep 29, 2011
"Predator" is a good action blockbuster movie; it succeeds to consistently maintain its tension and coolly blows it off in the end with Arnold Schwarzenegger.
16 of 17 users found this helpful161
All this user's reviews
10
DalekJun 9, 2012
Are the critics smoking something over there? It may not have the best script in the world but this was an entertaining movie, and great effects on the predator.
11 of 11 users found this helpful110
All this user's reviews
10
TryASummersaultDec 5, 2011
The best alien movie of all time. With classic arnold moments, and stan winston's creature effects, this movie was brilliant ever since I saw it when I was about 4. Classic.
8 of 8 users found this helpful80
All this user's reviews
10
KgnDavelNov 11, 2011
Usually when I look at a movie, like example horror or action or comedy or whatever. Then it depends on how scary it is or how destructive it is. This movie is a action horror. But with Arnold Swachenegger in it was more action than horror.Usually when I look at a movie, like example horror or action or comedy or whatever. Then it depends on how scary it is or how destructive it is. This movie is a action horror. But with Arnold Swachenegger in it was more action than horror. Doesn't matter, it all tied up when Arnold was being hunted by the PREDATOR. The universes best hunter ever, until it met Arnold. They both gave each other hell. Arnold gave the predator hell because he was sent in the middle of the jungle to help a team distress call. But instead he and his team find nothing but skinned soldiers and of course the predator. The PREDATOR gave him hell because its his right of passage to become a "man". All together the movie was awesome. Not the best graphics you ever saw but still what a movie. Thumbs up. Expand
6 of 6 users found this helpful60
All this user's reviews
10
carlosbeatdown8Jun 27, 2014
doesnt matter what 4 critics say, the has spoken and is one of thebest clasics ever, supense action good efects, is one of the best movies and schwarzenegger rocks, awesome movie everybody must have
6 of 6 users found this helpful60
All this user's reviews
9
MovieGuysSep 19, 2013
Hated by critics, loved by users, Predator is one of the best Schwarzenegger movies out there. But as ugly as it is, the actual "predator" isn't very scary, and we barely see it (it is implied most of the movie). But Predator is still a good film.
5 of 5 users found this helpful50
All this user's reviews
9
AceIsCoolProAug 13, 2010
I thought this film was great. Loved some of the taglines such as, " Get to da choppa!! " and " I aint got time to bleed ". I love to watch this film again and again. 9.15/10
4 of 4 users found this helpful40
All this user's reviews
9
ArkonBladeJul 22, 2011
god what movie did the critics see? this is a movie i know alot of people like. granted its 80s cheesey over the top action with even cheesier lines but it holds up. some movies just have that ability to do that while other as they age getgod what movie did the critics see? this is a movie i know alot of people like. granted its 80s cheesey over the top action with even cheesier lines but it holds up. some movies just have that ability to do that while other as they age get old smelly and moldy and unwachable this one how ever aged well. its a great idea for a film having a elite group of special forces go into the jungle to do a mission and run into a alien predator who hunts them down one by one . it has great action and is a fun roller coaster ride from start to finish . wish we could have learned more about the predator race is about my only gripe but other then that its a fun solid sci fi action film. Expand
4 of 4 users found this helpful40
All this user's reviews
9
Andy92Sep 12, 2010
i must say that i really enjoyed this movie. firstly the movie was well performed by its cast and also the alien predator was played well as a hunter stalking its prey. the film delivers in suspense and action for its audience and ii must say that i really enjoyed this movie. firstly the movie was well performed by its cast and also the alien predator was played well as a hunter stalking its prey. the film delivers in suspense and action for its audience and i definitely would recommend it Expand
4 of 4 users found this helpful40
All this user's reviews
10
paulyhJul 20, 2011
Not the greatest film ever, but certainly arnie's best, and a contender for my all time top ten list. A classic that gets better with every view.
4 of 4 users found this helpful40
All this user's reviews
10
KaprawiecDec 7, 2016
Wow I just can't believe the critic score on this one! This is one of the best sci-fi movies I've ever saw, and to this day this movie aged very well - almost 30 years passed (!!) and we rarely see so well made scifi movies. We have 2016 nowWow I just can't believe the critic score on this one! This is one of the best sci-fi movies I've ever saw, and to this day this movie aged very well - almost 30 years passed (!!) and we rarely see so well made scifi movies. We have 2016 now and in december I havent seen anything released this year that would come near this one! After all these years its obvious - this is and will always be remembered as brilliant cult classic! 10 out of 10. Expand
4 of 4 users found this helpful40
All this user's reviews
10
mj22May 11, 2012
memorable film, and easily the most terrifying and unstoppable extraterrestrial ever conceived. the metacritic score makes less sense than this: 8d'@~j843.'#[ewiuo389.
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
10
gstiker5Jul 6, 2013
It's amazing some of the best atomsphere ever pure testorone fueled action shows whats bad about modern action movies Arnold delivers the role and there is a great sense of humour
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
10
darkfox12Feb 21, 2017
Predator, one of the best action movie of all time, this movie has great special effects and great environment, and the story is very nice with some intense moments, some characters quotes are also pretty fun, really enjoy with my family andPredator, one of the best action movie of all time, this movie has great special effects and great environment, and the story is very nice with some intense moments, some characters quotes are also pretty fun, really enjoy with my family and friends, can't still believe that got 36 of score, some people doesn't appreciate gold. Expand
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
9
HumbertB.Oct 26, 2009
C mon professional critcs! It kicks! The movie is awesome, even for this days! Its a good quality production, and its all about action and surviving.. Sometimes that is all!
2 of 2 users found this helpful
9
TheQuietGamerMar 5, 2011
A highly enjoyable movie, with action and a great plot, I had a blast watching this, and it's one I could watch over and over again, if your into this kind of thing it's one you should see.
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
9
TokyochuchuJan 13, 2013
The critic's score for this movie is frankly absurd! Predator is one of the best monster movies ever made, with only the first two Alien movies outperforming it. The setting is perfect, Arnie's squad of soldiers are well defined and memorableThe critic's score for this movie is frankly absurd! Predator is one of the best monster movies ever made, with only the first two Alien movies outperforming it. The setting is perfect, Arnie's squad of soldiers are well defined and memorable (elevating them far beyond monster-fodder) and the creature itself is a bonafide legend. My youth would not have been complete without Predator and the movie has stood the test of time with ease. An outright classic! Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
8
TheMaximalistApr 10, 2013
It surprises me that this amazing action film has such a low metascore. Is it too unintelligent, "dumb" or stupid for you snooty movie critics. It's an amazing witty one-liner filled romp from start to finish
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
7
gamer_dudeOct 1, 2011
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. this is an EPIC movie
Donno y its got only a score of 36
Every action movie fan must watch this
Ma fav scene is the iconic laugh at the end by the predator
Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
10
imthenoobJan 15, 2019
You can't go wrong with an action classic that gave us an amazing sci-fi character in the Predator. It's everything you want in an action blockbuster.
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
8
PrimalHunter70Feb 18, 2012
Why the low score? Although this isn't a cinema masterpiece, it's a classic movie, and one of the few Schwarzenegger movies that isn't terrible. This is a cool film to watch, and I recommend it to any fans of action movies, Schwarzenegger or AVP.
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
9
inferno123cJun 17, 2012
No matter how many times you watch it, this is the only film you'll never ever get bored. Best action/thriller film so far. You wont feel like you are watching a 80's film. Trust me;)
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
8
Compi24Nov 28, 2012
Expertly crafted film with just as many jaw-drop moments as there are seat-jumper moments.
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
9
Eternal409Jul 31, 2013
This movie is definitely underrated by "professional critics" as this movie is awesome it has very different and unique characters that bounce off of each other so well creating some great dialogue sequences. The action in this movie is alsoThis movie is definitely underrated by "professional critics" as this movie is awesome it has very different and unique characters that bounce off of each other so well creating some great dialogue sequences. The action in this movie is also great because it's not too "over the top" but it's also not extremely realistic. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
10
charlie4727Apr 21, 2019
The poor critic reviews for this film are ridiculous. They say the movie is derivative, derivative of what? This, arguably the best Schwarzenegger action film, is what endless sequels and imitations have come from. One of the best films ever made.
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
10
MatchesPevApr 20, 2014
Honestly. You want a film. You get a **** film. This is a brilliant, fast paced, action packed movie, full of twists, surprises, and as you'd expect from an Arnie film: a **** load of violence. Fantastic movie. You want to watch a movie, theHonestly. You want a film. You get a **** film. This is a brilliant, fast paced, action packed movie, full of twists, surprises, and as you'd expect from an Arnie film: a **** load of violence. Fantastic movie. You want to watch a movie, the critics are ****ed up in the head. I mean, Rambo First Blood got a **** 62% METASCORE! **** the critics. Watch this film. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
8
SkyrimGuy935Nov 2, 2014
Wait... the score is negative??? Oh yeah, this was before it got its cult following. Either way, this is one of Arnold's action classics, and, even though the effects have aged pretty badly, it still remains a gripping, suspenseful actionWait... the score is negative??? Oh yeah, this was before it got its cult following. Either way, this is one of Arnold's action classics, and, even though the effects have aged pretty badly, it still remains a gripping, suspenseful action movie, with one of the coolest alien monsters ever put on film. Arnold couldn't have said it better: "One... ugly mother f*cker..."

8/10
Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
8
TenMansTryoutFeb 25, 2015
A Metascore of 36? I can't believe I'm the first to say this: Bunch of slack-jawed ****
At least the late Roger Ebert knew "an effective action movie" when he saw one.
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
9
Muzz_CatDec 23, 2014
Ticks all the boxes for the classic action movie. .
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
9
RyanC.Jun 12, 2010
Excellent movie. Alien and Star Wars surpass it, but if no movies surpassed it, it would probably be a 10. I give it a 9.5/10, but metacritic won't let me score it that.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
9
NDApr 1, 2007
Brillant action movie. Great effects and weapons - the Predator itself is just awesome! Watched this so many times cos it is superb.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
8
GerrickC.Jun 7, 2008
A simple movie in every way, but a superb cinema classic.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
8
AlistairV.Apr 28, 2010
A magnificent exercise in sci-fi horror, only disliked by those who do not understand it. The cinematography is beautiful, and Schwarzenegger delivers a Schwarzenegger-ish performance, which is good for an action movie. It's not meant A magnificent exercise in sci-fi horror, only disliked by those who do not understand it. The cinematography is beautiful, and Schwarzenegger delivers a Schwarzenegger-ish performance, which is good for an action movie. It's not meant to be deep, or thought provoking, it's meant to be a good, scary action sci-fi endeavor. And it succeeds on all counts. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
8
CodyJul 2, 2006
This movie is friggin' awesome! This is an Arnold Swartznegger action movie at its best. The Predator is also pretty freakin' sweet too.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
9
JGDec 28, 2007
Awesome movie, the story and characters are great. Predator rules!
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
JaredC.Aug 14, 2007
Its pretty sweet throughout.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
seancMar 17, 2009
An amazing movie that beats the hell out of alien and aliens. it is the best movie ever made.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
EskimoMay 13, 2007
A documentary on being badass.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
9
seanf.Dec 16, 2009
They go in all balls and bravado, and leave in body bags. Classic action film.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
GeorgeLJun 12, 2009
Pure perfection even to this day.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
Lambo442Jan 23, 2019
This is how the phone call from my friend went before I went over to his to watch Predator, when I was 8 years old...

Friend: Dude, you have to come over, my bro rented me this awesome film with Arnie in, and he has to fight an alien! Me:
This is how the phone call from my friend went before I went over to his to watch Predator, when I was 8 years old...

Friend: Dude, you have to come over, my bro rented me this awesome film with Arnie in, and he has to fight an alien!
Me: Really? I think I know it, my parents wouldn't let me watch it. Does the alien have a laser or something?
Friend. Yeah, he has a big friggin laser on his shoulder. Me: Arnie, Aliens and lasers!? Dude I'll be right over!
Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
WykedEvilMay 15, 2011
This was by far my favorite movie of all time. It is just something about a unstoppable alien going against the guy who has won Mr.Universe three times.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
Koog72Apr 25, 2016
The best movie ever made - Action, soundtrack, story, characters, effects and pace. I've yet to see a better action film. Many have tried to copy but few have come close.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
DuckNationMay 25, 2014
Arnold Schwarzenegger plays Major Dutch Schaeffer the commander of a special forces unit with stars like Sonny Landham (Billy), Jesse Ventura (Blain), Richard Chaves (Poncho), and Bill Duke (Mac). Dutch’s team is called in by Major GeorgeArnold Schwarzenegger plays Major Dutch Schaeffer the commander of a special forces unit with stars like Sonny Landham (Billy), Jesse Ventura (Blain), Richard Chaves (Poncho), and Bill Duke (Mac). Dutch’s team is called in by Major George Dillon (Carl Weathers) for a rescue operation that takes place in the harsh jungles of South America. While the mission goes smoothly for the most part other then a battle with a small army in the jungle. The group quickly finds themselves being hunted down by an unknown enemy and being picked off one by one. Till only Schwarzenegger is the last one left and him and the Predator have a Epic showdown at the end.

Overall i give it a 9.0 such a beast of a film glad i own it on blu ray so i can watch it in all it's glory! A action movie with a sci fi twist whats not to love about it. Everytime i watch this movie though i remember the It's Always Sunny in Philadelphia episode were Mac and Dennis fight about watching Transporter 2 vs Predator.

And to quote Mac "Plus, Jason Statham's physique is nothing like the line-up in Predator."
Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
PvtJacksonJun 16, 2014
Obviously something is seriously wrong with critics' mind as i don't know why they gave Predator such a low Metascore. This action-packed sci-fi movie is original and also very scary to some points. Tension remains constant throughout theObviously something is seriously wrong with critics' mind as i don't know why they gave Predator such a low Metascore. This action-packed sci-fi movie is original and also very scary to some points. Tension remains constant throughout the entire film while simultaneously boasting solid performance from Arnold Schwarzenegger as a leader of a mercenary group fighting for a way out of the jungle in order to escape the invisible, deadly hunter they don't stand a chance of defeating Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
TheRiddler1948Apr 20, 2014
Predator is a thrilling, science-fiction action film, that stars the incomparable action star Arnold Schwarzenegger. Released in 1987, Predator has gone one to be one of the most widely-recognised sci-fi's of all-time. A team ofPredator is a thrilling, science-fiction action film, that stars the incomparable action star Arnold Schwarzenegger. Released in 1987, Predator has gone one to be one of the most widely-recognised sci-fi's of all-time. A team of highly-professional soldiers get dropped off by helicopters in which seems to be an easy mission dealing with guerillas. They're there to take them out but little do the realise the'll be getting picked out, one by-one by an Alien Warrior that's ship had crash-landed in the central-american jungle. Alan "Dutch" Schaefer played by Arnold Schwarzenegger leads the team of soldiers.

This film's unmatchable in every way and still remains the greatest of all three solo Predator films and is far better than both Alien vs Predator films too. Schwarzenegger is the greatest and also, for the add, BIGGEST action star of all-time, so he really makes this film what it is. I love it in every way. The incredible shoot-locations, pretty awesome dialogue, Science-Fiction, violence, plot and more. It's all great. I rate Predator a 10/10 as it's my all-time favourite film. I love so many films, but Predator is definitely my favourite (alongside a few other, non-related films).

A+, 10/10.
Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
MovieManiac83Apr 23, 2015
More than just another dumb '80s Schwarzenegger actioner, Predator has gradually become a sci-fi and action classic. It's not difficult to see why. John McTiernan's direction is claustrophobic, fluid and assured, staging the action withMore than just another dumb '80s Schwarzenegger actioner, Predator has gradually become a sci-fi and action classic. It's not difficult to see why. John McTiernan's direction is claustrophobic, fluid and assured, staging the action with aplomb but concentrating just as much on tension and atmosphere.

It's cheesy as hell, of course, but enormously entertaining and deeply cool, with a ton of quotable lines - 'I ainít got time to bleed' - while The Predator itself is an utterly unforgettable villain. But most bad guys are only as good as their heroes and, long before he became a shambling self-parody, Arnie delivers - and not just in the walking and talking without falling over sense. He's an awesomely indestructible figure here, at the height of his physical powers. He's the archetypal immovable force meeting an irresistible object. Only Arnie at his most iconic could convincingly defeat the Predator (as those who've seen Danny Glover in 'Predator 2' know).

There's also something ironic in the climax, where immigrant Arnie - now fully embraced by the U.S. - kicks the tar out of a real illegal alien. We could go into the sexual subtext, but maybe we're just reading too much into it.

A thumping piece of powerhouse cinema.
Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
kipp73Jul 13, 2015
Wait, Metascore is 36/100? WTF? People are seriously not from this planet if 'critic reviewers' miss the whole point about Arnie movies... Its pure schtick, tongue in cheek machismo. Pred is one of Arnies better flicks, certainly in theWait, Metascore is 36/100? WTF? People are seriously not from this planet if 'critic reviewers' miss the whole point about Arnie movies... Its pure schtick, tongue in cheek machismo. Pred is one of Arnies better flicks, certainly in the top 5. Its not a Terminator, its not Conan the Barbarian, but it is heyday Arnie in his prime. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
gamerx120Mar 19, 2017
Really great effects, acting, action, just the ending could be better, but it really doesn't matter, I really enjoy this film, i'm big fan of this alien.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
PredatorXAug 22, 2018
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Behold!!! what the original expendables should have been. when you think about it, The Expendables was basically the same thing when you get down to the basic skeleton. a bunch of musclebound action stars led by Arnie fighting a threat none of them could be prepared for. the only difference is after all the fighting and ass kicking the team realizes there is a bigger threat out there and one by one they get picked off by an alien hunter with camouflage capabilities and weapons nobody could believe. Arnold ends up defeating it but by surprise he didn't kill it in the end, the predator kills itself when it saw no other way to win. this movie is so awesome that it makes me wish they left it alone and didn't make many sequels, having said that I am looking forward to The Predator this year which i will review after i see it. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
GarethBOct 5, 2018
A great action/horror/scifi flick, intense and good action throughout shot well by the director of die hard. Arnie is great and there are some great one liners!
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
jimm.Oct 8, 2009
The greatest movie ever
10 of 11 users found this helpful
8
MichaelKApr 30, 2010
A score of 36? it's not high cinema but COME ON! one of the best action movies ever.
6 of 7 users found this helpful
7
DeVr33zAug 11, 2010
I really don't know why the Metascore for this one is so low, I found it to be a highly enjoyable action movie. The monster is just awesome, too. Not really a thinking person's film, but it's not supposed to be.
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
7
potatoes351Oct 25, 2012
Predator is one of the great classics of the action genre. When a special forces team are sent in on a rescue mission things turn for the worse when they begin to be picked off one by one by an unseen Predator with superior fighting tactics &Predator is one of the great classics of the action genre. When a special forces team are sent in on a rescue mission things turn for the worse when they begin to be picked off one by one by an unseen Predator with superior fighting tactics & weaponry. Arnie provides a knockout "tough guy" role as ever and the supporting actors are just as good. One of those lazy afternoon action flicks you can really get stuck into. Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
7
MonsieurEamesOct 16, 2012
The editing is choppy at some points and some scenes could have been more fleshed out, but Predator succeeds largely with strong suspense and exciting action.
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
7
AGKDec 31, 2013
most of the critics don't know what they're saying! plain and simple, this movie was a great action blockbuster with NO love stories which is good and the famous "get to da choppa!" the only down side was the action was kind of slow
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
9
bfoore90Aug 11, 2017
Outside of Terminator, Predator is probably one of Arnold's more underrated sci-fi action movies. An interesting premise tops off cool, practical effects with an interesting villain in the Predator.
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
8
Steven1981Mar 22, 2020
Predator is an 1987 action sci-fi directed by John McTiernan and stars Arnold Schwarzenegger... He takes a team of elite commando's to rescue some hostages in this jungle like setting and finds out most of not all have been made a corpse outPredator is an 1987 action sci-fi directed by John McTiernan and stars Arnold Schwarzenegger... He takes a team of elite commando's to rescue some hostages in this jungle like setting and finds out most of not all have been made a corpse out of. He attacks some little village with his team, killing patrol guards and even takes one of he women but whether she's a hostage or member of the villains isn't explained. Anyway the badguy soldiers get killed, there are bullets, bombs and explosions going off and the area is secured. Then Arnold Schwarzenegger and his commando team must make it to the border presumably for pick up/collection by a chopper but is hunted by an extraterrestrial invisible and visible alien creature who has cool firing gadgets lol. The predator slays all of Schwarzenegger's soldier team members one by one using different methods of killing. He can see the heats of human body's and this is how he hunts and the soldiers and Arnold Schwarzenegger are carrying weapons so don't do themselves no favours. Packed with entertainment, suspense, bad language, blood, explosions and the usual violence and special effects I'd say Predator is a classic but certainly not better than earlier films such as Raw Deal made in 1986... Predator also stars Carl Weathers, Bill Duke, Sonny Landham, Jesse Ventura, Kevin Peter Hall as the predator. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
7
SpangleJul 8, 2016
Loud, dumb, and a testosterone fueled excuse to see Arnold Schwarzenegger flex, Predator is a classic in the action sci-fi genre with blends of horror. Exciting, fun, and wholly thrilling, Predator actually works quite well. The characterLoud, dumb, and a testosterone fueled excuse to see Arnold Schwarzenegger flex, Predator is a classic in the action sci-fi genre with blends of horror. Exciting, fun, and wholly thrilling, Predator actually works quite well. The character development is, in a word, poor. However, the action more than makes up for it with the quite pacing and sheer watchability overcoming many of the film's technical faults. The look of the creature and the special effects are quite dated by now. However, even those are no match for this classic piece of 1980s action cheese with the picture of masculinity Arnold Schwarzenegger standing tall and flexing to fight this predator. Overall, Predator hunts and kills its prey with ease and entertains with similar ease. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
NathonasAug 10, 2018
Timeless classic. Action films these days lack this kind of testosterone, humor, and creativity.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
gracjanskiApr 4, 2020
Perfect Aci Fi Action movie with some horror elements, which are working. As a viewer you are even feeling to be hunted by the predator and start to think how to beat him. Arnold fits to this role and the other actors are doing a good jobPerfect Aci Fi Action movie with some horror elements, which are working. As a viewer you are even feeling to be hunted by the predator and start to think how to beat him. Arnold fits to this role and the other actors are doing a good job also. Action is fitting also. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
dyshpoMay 29, 2015
Pretty sweet cheese fest. Campy oh yeah but oh so good . Special effects were decent for the time but it is sort of a parody of meat head porn that was so pervasive in the 80's . The 80's prime Arnold and cast .
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
SandmannSep 23, 2018
Science fiction, terror, suspense, action combined in one movie, and the distinctive touch of a mc tiernan movie, low rated jewell of the crtitics.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
qwerty8883Sep 28, 2018
The greatest movie ever made and this is no joke or overstatement. It is a masterpiece in film making from its SFX to its story telling, drama, cast, obtuse characters and so on. Even the mostly laughable Arnie (who i love) made it out ofThe greatest movie ever made and this is no joke or overstatement. It is a masterpiece in film making from its SFX to its story telling, drama, cast, obtuse characters and so on. Even the mostly laughable Arnie (who i love) made it out of this film with without a scratch (in terms of how his character dutch would be portrayed).

The soundtrack is superb, the action is fantastic, the storytelling flows throughout and the
whole film doesnt age even after 30 years. It is a must watch
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
Meth-dudeSep 26, 2017
"Predator" is your usual 80's action movie. Big guys, big guns, big shootouts, explosions and great one-liners said by the great Schwarzenegger. If you're looking for a good Schwarzenegger action movie, you'll probably like it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
Kai82Jan 20, 2020
It is the quintessential action movie made of adrenaline, action, one liners and testosterone seasoned with horror elements, dread and a small portion of humour. The best description I have heard for this movie is: You have an action movieIt is the quintessential action movie made of adrenaline, action, one liners and testosterone seasoned with horror elements, dread and a small portion of humour. The best description I have heard for this movie is: You have an action movie with a squad of badass soldiers who finished a mission in the jungle of central America. Then the predator invades the movie to hunt them done. This works very well. It is the whole cast that carries this performance. Yes you have Arnold Schwarzenegger who is of cause a badass but his whole squad are also badasses that would do well in every action movie. Their enemies are no match for them as they clearly out gun them with ease. Then comes the Predator who delivers these battle hardened men a feeling of dread, fear and hopelessness. It is a naked battle for survival against a superior enemy that outmanoeuvres them easily. This is the strength of the movie. It delivers this serious threat and the impact perfectly. It gets even more intense the longer the movie goes. Then there is the final battle which I wont spoil. Its a battle of wits. Each one knows the strengths of their enemies and try to outmanoeuvre the other. As far as action movies go this is one of the best if not best and a cult classic. Each sequel tries to recapture this formula but so far all have failed. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
evokingsJul 7, 2017
This movie is amazing, one of Arnold's best movies, it's a great movie, imagine Rambo vs aliens, and you get the picture of what the movie is like I won't ruin the plot for others but it's a great movie vary well done.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
MoneyMaker101Dec 27, 2014
What to say about this movie?It's definitely a classic and one of the best action movies and SCI FI movies of ALL TIME.The plot is really interesting and as it gets to the middle of the plot viewers get stuck by their chairs or couches theyWhat to say about this movie?It's definitely a classic and one of the best action movies and SCI FI movies of ALL TIME.The plot is really interesting and as it gets to the middle of the plot viewers get stuck by their chairs or couches they sit and they watch it with huge temptation of what's going to happen next.Predator costume is absolutely amazing and it's a big plus for a person who made the Predator visuals and sound.In this movie Arnold says "Get to the choppa!" haha nuff said. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
OregonJayBirdJan 8, 2015
Predator never has to worry about unclogging a toilet, or cleaning burned-in cheese off of a steel frying pan, or being in awkward social situations. It just wants to drag every last muffuh down to hell through a hail of blood & bones.Predator never has to worry about unclogging a toilet, or cleaning burned-in cheese off of a steel frying pan, or being in awkward social situations. It just wants to drag every last muffuh down to hell through a hail of blood & bones. It's... it's just so good. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
TheSandiMar 12, 2016
I cant believe the metascore of this movie. This is one of the best Arnold Schwarzenegger movies, with great camera angles and good special effect. An interesting villian, also.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
SuperHyperSTFeb 8, 2016
This movie.is underrated in metacritic,and this movie is considered One of the best movies of all time.The critics were wrong.the fans,however,put the score it had deserved.It has my favorite movie character.one of the best final fights.andThis movie.is underrated in metacritic,and this movie is considered One of the best movies of all time.The critics were wrong.the fans,however,put the score it had deserved.It has my favorite movie character.one of the best final fights.and nothing ws boring of this movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
BorgorosMay 12, 2017
One of the all time action classics. Rough, cool and corny, just the way it should be. Still waiting for a good modern sequel... (Predator 2 is also worth a watch btw)
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
futurespielbergMar 9, 2016
This is the second best Arnold movie ever. The Predator is so much fun, Most of the movie is a lot like Rambo and towards the end is like Alien. My Father and I love watching this movie together, We laugh and we go wow. The final battleThis is the second best Arnold movie ever. The Predator is so much fun, Most of the movie is a lot like Rambo and towards the end is like Alien. My Father and I love watching this movie together, We laugh and we go wow. The final battle between Arnold and the Predator is truly epic, The only problem I have with this movie is I wish they spent some more time on the Characters so we could get to know them more. But in the end Predator is so much fun and truly awesome action movie. So all Of you, GET TO THE CHOPPER!!! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
FanBoyCritic1Mar 24, 2016
One of my most favorite monsters in its first movie with Arnold Schwarzenegger predator. Predator is about an elite commando unit to save some hostages in the jungle but they dont know that there are aliens hunting them down. So they each getOne of my most favorite monsters in its first movie with Arnold Schwarzenegger predator. Predator is about an elite commando unit to save some hostages in the jungle but they dont know that there are aliens hunting them down. So they each get killed one by one. But they try there very best not to die because they have one nonmember of there commando unit that they must protect as she trys to find a way out of the island. There is only one very elite soilder to withstand the alien. Major Alan Dutch aka Arnold Schwarzenegger is the only man to withstand any kind of pain long enough to defeat the Predator. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
Dutch_ShaeferDec 16, 2016
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The movie is perfect at so many different levels that I will try to point most of them:

First: The beginning of the movie is awesome - simple and powerful at the same time. Second: The music of the movie is thrilling, manly and penetrating which makes the atmosphere exactly like to be in a dangerous jungle. Every scene has it's own music which makes suspense even better. Third: The script: to the point and straight forward for the elite squad who are the hunters, until it makes a twist, and when the Predator came they become hunted. Fourth: The characters are simply perfect and there is no other actors who could play these roles as better as them. The general - excellent, with few lines and exact orders. Dutch - the perfect leader, strong, the biggest of the group, muscular as hell, composed and collected. Dillon - a little smaller than Dutch, cunning and determined to fulfill his own mission, after all succeeded until the moment the Predator came. Anna - great as portraying their prisoner. Mac - the best acting in the movie of all the actors in it, first in the scene where he saw the Predator, second after the shooting and third - his monologue about his buddy Blane. Blane - excluding Dutch, the biggest macho in the squad, and in real life the only actor in the movie who actually experienced war and being a real soldier. Billy - the powerful, big, strange, dark and foreboding Indian with his own code of war. Poncho - tough, almost as the big guys and with great lines in the movie, always helps when it counts. Hawkins - the perfect radio soldier with the sexist jokes to cheer up the others, and he would've been distinctive without his glasses. The Predator - great super tall actor who makes Dutch look small.

Fifth - The effects - way ahead of it's time. Great even watching at 2016. May be the best effects an action movie ever made. Sixth - The lines - How can you forget: "Get to the chopper!", "If it bleeds we can kill it!", "Any time.", "I ain't got time to bleed", "Stick around", "You're one ugly mother f&ck&r" and many more. Seventh - The atmosphere of the movie is makes you feel you are one of them or the Predator. Hence: if you're an Action Sci-Fi Horror fan this is the best movie for you. For me it's the best of all time, because I've watched it more than 500-600 times and still watch it today.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
BroyaxJan 25, 2018
Predator sous ses allures de série B -mais avec de gros moyens quand même- est un film de gros bourrin... et de bourrins à l'instar de ses personnages, véritables caricatures tout droit sorties d'une bande dessinée aussi simplette quePredator sous ses allures de série B -mais avec de gros moyens quand même- est un film de gros bourrin... et de bourrins à l'instar de ses personnages, véritables caricatures tout droit sorties d'une bande dessinée aussi simplette que spontanée. On a le gros moustachu avec sa cracheuse qui chique sa saloperie ; on a un gars qui a l'air plutôt "normal" mais qui se trimballe des lunettes de geek plus grandes que lui ; on a l'Amérindien psycho et demeuré en même temps, un vrai chien d'arrêt ; on a bien sûr Apollo Creed qui se fait rembarrer sans arrêt par tout le reste de l'équipe (c'est drôle) et ainsi de suite...

Et on a surtout Schwarzy qui reprend du service dans cette sorte de "Commando 2 : le retour dans la jungle de la revanche". Et il faudra bien un Schwarzenegger au sommet de sa forme pour faire face... à la créature ! Le chasseur alien est en effet et à tout point de vue un magnifique concept, élégant, sophistiqué, intrigant et... mortel.

Ce n'est pas que son apparence, son comportement ou ses gadgets : c'est aussi les étonnants effets sonores qui accompagnent et illustrent son formidable attirail. A propos de son ou plutôt de musique, la bande originale d'Alan Silvestri soutient parfaitement le film, martiale et implacable et décidément très prenante.

Un film qui reprend en somme les codes du premier Alien et se tient aux unités de lieu, de temps et d'action, les trois dimensions axiomatiques de toute narration tragico-dramatique depuis l'invention du théâtre lui-même. La mise en scène de McTiernan est professionnelle et appliquée et se met au service du spectacle et de l'efficacité : pas de chichis inutiles ici.

Evidemment, s'il faut un Schwarzy face au Predator, il faut en supporter les conséquences, à savoir quelques "jokes" de beauf et ses yeux en bille de Loto qui sont censées exprimer... quoi au juste ? l'étonnement, la peur, la colère, la détermination ? (ah non, pour la détermination, c'est les sourcils très froncés). M'enfin bref.

On reste toujours autant captivé en tout cas par ce Predator -au contraire de tous les films de la franchise qui ont suivi- aussi bien par sa créature -fascinante- que par le film lui-même, cette BD grandeur nature qui se trimballe avec ses clichés sans sourciller... mais si rondement menée, si efficace qu'on a rarement vu mieux depuis dans le genre.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
JPKJun 29, 2019
A Masterpiece Of Thriller/Horror
Predator is an all out brilliant film that never gets old.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
robertoiglesiasOct 15, 2017
Predator is an amazing film that has great plot and characters. Going to save people and then getting terrorized by a predator is awesome. My only problem is that it's a thriller film which doesn't really feel like it is a thriller. But IPredator is an amazing film that has great plot and characters. Going to save people and then getting terrorized by a predator is awesome. My only problem is that it's a thriller film which doesn't really feel like it is a thriller. But I still like it a lot. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
Rcavey92212Mar 15, 2020
I really do like this film. It's taken me a while to have a better appreciation for it. I remember seeing it with Aliens on a double feature when I was 7. Aliens scared the crap out of me but i don't remember how I reacted to this film. ForI really do like this film. It's taken me a while to have a better appreciation for it. I remember seeing it with Aliens on a double feature when I was 7. Aliens scared the crap out of me but i don't remember how I reacted to this film. For most of my young life macho stuff was pretty much thrusted down my throat by my father. It wasn't until later in life that I began to find an appreciation for it. Being an out gay man i can certainly appreciate how hunky Schwarzenegger and crew are but it's more than that. I love the brute force of this movie and how raw it is. It's big, it's dumb and it's silly and most of all it's unapologetic. The practical FX and gore are beyond amazing. The plot is pretty much a throwaway. It's pretty much our beast versus a beast from the stars. And on those simplistic limits it delivers a hell of a time.

Budget: $18m
Domestic Box Office: $60m
Worldwide Box Office: $98m

4/5
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
LoletinAlexisFeb 24, 2019
The Predator is a great movie. It has moments that do not work well and a poor script, but his movie direction and the actors are awesome. A great classic action movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
martinruizFeb 21, 2018
Whats't wrong with matacritc giving bad rating in here? 42? are you negatie reviewers kiding me? this movie is near to a classic masterpiece, people always seems to not appreciate the work they put into this film, Stan Winston, John MctiernanWhats't wrong with matacritc giving bad rating in here? 42? are you negatie reviewers kiding me? this movie is near to a classic masterpiece, people always seems to not appreciate the work they put into this film, Stan Winston, John Mctiernan and Kevin Peter Hall did a great job in bringing to life to one of the most iconic aliens on the big screen, not only that but they also had one of the most manliest badass team ever with some of the most memorable quotes of all time, and also the jokes worked really good on this film than the sequels or even modern action films that tries hard to have some comedy on it, and the score is well done by Alan Silvestri, the ending could've been better in my opinion but everything else was amazing. Without debut this is one of my fav films of all time. 9.2/10 Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
theguygamFeb 21, 2018
I enjoyed this movie when I was 12, now I enjoying this even more than ever, well done to the studio, those who gave it bad review probably did't made it to the choppa and got skinned alive.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
seanreneauMay 23, 2018
Predator is a great action movie! I love team aspect and Arnold the most. The Predator is a great villain.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
Cesar3May 19, 2018
la mejor de la saga, una obra maestra del cine que nadie se debería perder
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
Beast409Jul 13, 2019
Another classic in my books. If you are a fan of action movies, find a way to watch this one!
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
FaxthtaxMay 10, 2020
Massively stuffed with macho testosteron-filled commando soldiers, cheesy one-liners, big guns, sweat blood and muscles, and an alien hunting them down for sport.
This is one of the best classic Schwarzenegger movies you can find. All
Massively stuffed with macho testosteron-filled commando soldiers, cheesy one-liners, big guns, sweat blood and muscles, and an alien hunting them down for sport.
This is one of the best classic Schwarzenegger movies you can find. All directed by the mighty action-maestro John McTiernan.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
AsetAbdikhanovOct 9, 2018
My favorite classic sci-fi movie which I looked and the very first movie in this genre which I looked and cool classic action movie with Arnold Schwarzenegger.And one of the best movies that starred Arnold Schwarzenegger,effective story forMy favorite classic sci-fi movie which I looked and the very first movie in this genre which I looked and cool classic action movie with Arnold Schwarzenegger.And one of the best movies that starred Arnold Schwarzenegger,effective story for the film,dangerous and perfect predator who kicks ass one by one and Arnold is trying to confront himand it turns out a classic action movie and John knows how to do it with style.

So I recommend to watch this movie who enjoys movies of this genre,who is not familiar with the Predator,or if you want to watch the classic action movie.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
BerikNov 4, 2018
"Predator" is a relic of the action packed 80's, yet it manages to hold up even in current days due to its lighhearted, exciting and atmospheric deliverance. Arnold Schwarzenegger acts as a mercenary soldier who faces off against the Predator"Predator" is a relic of the action packed 80's, yet it manages to hold up even in current days due to its lighhearted, exciting and atmospheric deliverance. Arnold Schwarzenegger acts as a mercenary soldier who faces off against the Predator while in the jungle of Guatemala. It is exciting and amusing to watch even in 2018. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
JeniaMar 17, 2020
The best sci-fi action movie of all time.
What it 'Predator' does best, is starts off as a mere action flick. you just except explosions and fighting, and then the creepy things start to show.. and camera positions also make you feel as if
The best sci-fi action movie of all time.
What it 'Predator' does best, is starts off as a mere action flick. you just except explosions and fighting, and then the creepy things start to show.. and camera positions also make you feel as if you are there, being followed.
Each character of the team has a different 'color', you get to attached to them a bit as get picked of one by one.
So many epic scenes, the berserk-mode mini-gun blast through the forest, the knife showdown on the bridge, the battle cry at the end of the preparations.
The music is also great and leaves you at suspense.
The predator himself, first the looks, kind of a mix of a old tribal humanoid and a beast that hunts people for trophies - i mean, how epic is that? (and the costume itself has set an industry standard).

10/10
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
Ikereviews1Aug 21, 2019
What are the critics smoking. predator is a great action movie. its easily one of arnolds best movies. it was a very great suspense movie that you should watch.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
CameMay 28, 2019
Predator has an awesome concept of a group of men being hunted one by one in a jungle were no one can escape. Predator mixes well a little bit of horror with action and is one of Arnold Schwarzeneggers best films.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
SpencerACDCJul 12, 2019
The single most greatest film of all time, no questions asked. A timeless classic.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
Predy17Jul 14, 2019
The Movie Of My Life, the Classic of Sci Fi, And The Classic Soundtrack of Alan Silvestri it's Everything... Cult.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
DiptanshuJul 13, 2020
Awesome and entertaining!the punchlines before kill,the action and acting it was amazing,the music was good,the story was decent and the plot it was engaging and entertaining right from the start although it was little slow for build-up atAwesome and entertaining!the punchlines before kill,the action and acting it was amazing,the music was good,the story was decent and the plot it was engaging and entertaining right from the start although it was little slow for build-up at start but it was amazing,all deaths were brutal and bloody the huntings by predator and he's skills was menacing AF,the starting meet and handshake was iconic then the adventure to forest and 1st fight at army camp scene with gory environment it was brutally awesome,the bloody bodies and hinting of predator was amazing the 1st hunt of hawking and from then the little fights between Dutch and mac and then slow hunts and survival it was awesome,the revenge of the team member resulting in brutal death was gross and surprising and then the escape for helicopter i thought that's it but then the ending it was literally awesome the camouflage scene of both predator and dutch and the prep for fight with awesome sequences it was amazing the battle was intense and the 1 to 1 combat was great,the ending full predator look was awesome and the punchline "you're one ugly bad MF" was hilarious and great then the fight and nail-biting end to predator it was amazingly incredible,Overall its the entertaining and awesome movie! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
randomwalk_jcJul 31, 2019
One underrated aspect of this movie is the excellent character development. The movie doesn't waste time and you know all the major players within the first 15 min of the movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
Capitan_CesarOct 26, 2019
La perfeccion hecha película, la mejor de la saga y una de las mejores peliculas de todos los tiempos
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
BoomhauerApr 18, 2020
A near perfect encapsulation of what made Arnold THE top action star of the 90’s. Aside from T2 Judgement day, Predator was his finest work. All the “professional” reviewers who dismissed the movie when it first came out are sycophanticA near perfect encapsulation of what made Arnold THE top action star of the 90’s. Aside from T2 Judgement day, Predator was his finest work. All the “professional” reviewers who dismissed the movie when it first came out are sycophantic navel-gazers who wouldn’t know a good time if it drove up to them in a ruby red sports car and punched them square in the jaw. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
IAmaMovieGeekMay 30, 2020
One of the best action movies ever! One of Arnold Schwarzenegger's best films. A+
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
NeuroNoireJun 20, 2020
Since I was a child it is my favorite movie, I think they all did an excellent job, This movie is the best, I can't stop watching it
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews