Paramount Pictures | Release Date: September 8, 1960
8.8
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 517 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
489
Mixed:
5
Negative:
23
Watch Now
Buy on
Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Expand
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
victorfialhoOct 6, 2020
Whoever says this movie is not perfect is lying. A masterpiece, the best horror movie of all time.
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
10
JPKJul 14, 2019
Completely Perfect
Psycho is suspenseful, scary, and outright f*cking amazing.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
FilipeNetoFeb 24, 2018
This film revolves around a small roadside motel run by Norman Bates, a seemingly nice man who lives under the undisputed authority of his mother. Directed by Alfred Hitchcock, this film, considered by many his "magnum opus", has a screenplayThis film revolves around a small roadside motel run by Norman Bates, a seemingly nice man who lives under the undisputed authority of his mother. Directed by Alfred Hitchcock, this film, considered by many his "magnum opus", has a screenplay by Joseph Stefano and a cast led by Anthony Perkins and Vera Miles.

I don't consider this film a horror movie, although its considered as such by most of people. It doesn't scare me, but let me uncomfortable, holding me to the screen. And I think that's what Hitchcock wanted to achieve. He was the master of suspense and knew how to hold the public, causing shivers of discomfort without putting the audience screaming in fear. The plot is brilliant, but the beginning doesn't show it, is intentionally unattractive in an effort to bring the public completely at ease... until Norman comes in. Norman Bates is one of the most psychologically complex characters I've ever seen, and was developed to the extreme by the director and the artist who gave him life. It looks like a nice guy, who even flirts with the attractive woman he just met. The bathroom scene is perhaps one of the most famous in the film (I read somewhere that liquid chocolate was used to give the color that Hitchcock intended for the blood in the tub), and the incidental soundtrack used in that scene has become an icon for itself. But the end of the film is even better, with an absolutely staggering climax that makes all the audience feel that it was worth seeing the movie (even if you already know the whole story). The photograph, in black and white, makes a decisive contribution to increasing tension in the audience, and I am sure that this was a conscious and deliberate choice of Hitchcock to achieve that, showing again the great quality and talent of this director.

Nominated for four Academy Awards for Best Art Direction in Film Black and White, Best Cinematography in Black and White, Best Direction and Best Supporting Actress, this film didn't win any of them, which shows us that, sometimes, the Academy also makes mistakes. But "Psycho" doesn't need an Oscar to be a tremendous success. It is, and will remain, a milestone in film history, a cult film for Hitchcock lovers, for thriller lovers and for any lover of good movies. Movies like this one never dies, they are art... in its purest form.
Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
Highlander372Jan 20, 2019
Psycho is a timeless classic and it will always be a timeless classic. This is the movie that started the slasher genre.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
OhhaiimarkSep 13, 2018
Phenomenal. Just utterly phenomenal. The suspense, the horror and surprisingly the examination of conscience and mentality. Incredibly well-acted and directed. One of the few movies I have seen with no problems whatsoever.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
zNeverSleepingJun 13, 2020
Absolutamente marcante!

O suspense construído aqui é uma obra de arte. Temos os atores que desempenham um papel fantástico aqui. O roteiro de Joseph Stefano não deixa lacunas e dá um ótimo alicerce para a consistência dos mesmos. Os diálogos
Absolutamente marcante!

O suspense construído aqui é uma obra de arte. Temos os atores que desempenham um papel fantástico aqui. O roteiro de Joseph Stefano não deixa lacunas e dá um ótimo alicerce para a consistência dos mesmos. Os diálogos são interessantíssimos e revelam muita coisa. Somos convidados pelo Hitchcock a investigar e entendermos furos propositais da trama.

A OST é lendária, e sem ela o filme não seria o mesmo, e disso não há duvidas. A fotografia também é muito bem trabalhada, junto com a cenografia do hotel, junto a casa.

E eu não posso deixar de mencionar: Mesmo sabendo da morte da "protagonista", e também que havia um plot twist no final, isso não atrapalhou minha experiencia. Poderia ter sido mais impactante sim, mas eu ainda amei.

Por fim, só não dou 10 por conta de uma das cenas finais, onde há basicamente um monologo onde toda trama é explicada. Eu, particularmente, não acho que seja necessário. E inclusive acredito que o mosteiro saudável é um ótimo fator para que a trama fique na sua cabeça por mais tempo, ou que seja mais atraente de se assistir o filme novamente.
Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
mahdimeshkateeMar 23, 2020
probably one of the greatest movies of all time with such brilliant and innovative plans and scenes and... put together by the beautiful mind of mr.hitchcock. dont miss this for the world
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
cinemabonApr 8, 2018
To understand the art of editing, you must study Hitchcock and this film in particular. No one could take film theory seriously without studying the way George Tomasini and Hitch cut this movie. Then you add a score from Bernard Herrmann andTo understand the art of editing, you must study Hitchcock and this film in particular. No one could take film theory seriously without studying the way George Tomasini and Hitch cut this movie. Then you add a score from Bernard Herrmann and you have one of the important films in cinema history. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
9
daviddelnorte23Jan 18, 2018
Ojo, esta película ya son palabras mayores. Podemos estar ante la mejor película de terror de la historia, o al menos esa es la sensación que me dió al acabar de verla. Los giros y la maestría de cada fotograma que imprime el maestro delOjo, esta película ya son palabras mayores. Podemos estar ante la mejor película de terror de la historia, o al menos esa es la sensación que me dió al acabar de verla. Los giros y la maestría de cada fotograma que imprime el maestro del suspense es digno de admiración por parte de cualquier cinéfilo. Si tuviera que hacer una lista de las 10 mejores de la historia (sí, MEJORES) probablemente esta película estaría dentro del ranking. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
0
Rayman67Oct 26, 2019
I watched this movie for the first time recently and this is the most borring movie ive ever seen
0 of 9 users found this helpful09
All this user's reviews
10
AndremaxFeb 4, 2019
Directing a story so propitious with everything there's genre has in its better, it comprehensive why Hitchcock was called master of thrilling.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
MattBrady99Nov 6, 2020
"Why she wouldn't even hurt a fly." Dude, Anthony Perkins is so good. So so good. So good in fact it's kinda epic. Also, Janet Leigh has such expressive eyes, which explains why the camera is always focus on her face. At one point while"Why she wouldn't even hurt a fly." Dude, Anthony Perkins is so good. So so good. So good in fact it's kinda epic. Also, Janet Leigh has such expressive eyes, which explains why the camera is always focus on her face. At one point while watching the movie, I was reaching for my drink until a certain scene caught me off guard and froze me in place. That scene is where Marion Crane is waiting at the traffic light and sees her boss crossing the street, both locking eyes. It is more effective if you watch it yourself.

Why do I have a feeling Alfred Hitchcock was a serial killer in a past life.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
RalfbergsFeb 2, 2018
I think this is one of my favorite Hitchcock movies. Even though I saw it just recently (I know, I don't know how I have been living without seeing it either) and I knew many of the scenes before so it was a bit spoiled for be beforehand, II think this is one of my favorite Hitchcock movies. Even though I saw it just recently (I know, I don't know how I have been living without seeing it either) and I knew many of the scenes before so it was a bit spoiled for be beforehand, I still enjoyed it and the suspense felt oh so real, even though this movie is made more than 50 years ago. I think this is the masterpiece in sense how you can build up the suspense. Definitely worth a watch. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
kyle20ellisSep 12, 2020
I am a huge fan of Hitchcock, and have really liked all of the movies of his I have seen so far. My top 5 favourites are Vertigo, North By Northwest, Rear Window, Rebecca and this masterpiece. Before I saw this, I considered Vertigo as hisI am a huge fan of Hitchcock, and have really liked all of the movies of his I have seen so far. My top 5 favourites are Vertigo, North By Northwest, Rear Window, Rebecca and this masterpiece. Before I saw this, I considered Vertigo as his masterpiece. After seeing this movie, I think Psycho outshines Vertigo.

Psycho is a film that you see once and never forget, and one of the few movies out there that has left me traumatised. The infamous shower scene is without doubt one of the most terrifying murder scenes in any film. When I first saw that scene on the 100 Greatest American Films, I was so terrified and I admit it I have never recovered. I had a similar experience watching the Disney film Sleeping Beauty with Maleficent enticing Aurora to the spinning wheel, and Mrs Gulch turning into the Wicked Witch in the Wizard of Oz.

The shower scene isn't the only effective or chilling scene in the film- in the events leading up to that scene I was biting my nails. The scene with the old woman in the chair also made me jump out of my skin. The whole of Psycho is terrifying, suspenseful and shocking. Two elements made this so. One was Hitchock's direction. The great director proves how truly great he is by directing Psycho in a masterful way, and manages to deliver the shocks when needed. The other is Bernard Hermann's music. What a creepy score! I loved his score for Vertigo and Miklos Rozsa's for Spellbound, but the high violin motif in the shower scene is the main reason why that scene in particular is so effective. I admit it, when I hear that motif, I start screaming. There is just something about it that makes your blood run cold.

Other pros are a good plot, a well constructed screenplay and beautiful black and white cinematography that is perfect in conveying the creepy mood. And the ending did surprise me. The acting though was exemplary, with Janet Leigh giving one of the deservedly most memorable female performances in a Hitchcock movie, and Vera Miles also giving a stellar performance. Stealing the film is Antony Perkins as Norman Bates, he didn't just play creepy, he WAS creepy, his face, his voice, his mannerisms.. in short it is one of the most chilling performances of all time. All in all, a Hitchcock masterpiece! 10/10 Bethany Cox
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
beettlestewFeb 28, 2022
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. One of Alfred Hitchcock's most shocking and one of his most well done movies ,introducing you to a character, just to kill her off was smart and learning about the killer was "interesting" to say the least. I would recommend watching or re watching ,worth it! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
MasterRileyOct 14, 2017
Psycho is a chilling psychological horror that will disturb you long after you first initially watch it. There is a reason it is such a classic. It has a unique and surprising story that slowly unfolds, keeping you in mystery wondering whatPsycho is a chilling psychological horror that will disturb you long after you first initially watch it. There is a reason it is such a classic. It has a unique and surprising story that slowly unfolds, keeping you in mystery wondering what the truth is. It is backed up by great performances and music that truly make this one of the best movies ever made. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
alejandro970Aug 4, 2019
Welcome to Bates Motel, the only in wide world with room service direct to the shower courtesy of lone, meek owner Norman Bates. Here is where Hitchcock developed a turning pint for suspense genre. Without Psycho maybe would not existWelcome to Bates Motel, the only in wide world with room service direct to the shower courtesy of lone, meek owner Norman Bates. Here is where Hitchcock developed a turning pint for suspense genre. Without Psycho maybe would not exist Halloween. A must to see before you die. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
eva3si0nJan 1, 2021
The standard of the thriller. It is impossible to admit that the film was shot 60 years ago, this is perhaps only a picture. Despite the fact that in those days films on color film were already shot at all, the BW film goes much better. JustThe standard of the thriller. It is impossible to admit that the film was shot 60 years ago, this is perhaps only a picture. Despite the fact that in those days films on color film were already shot at all, the BW film goes much better. Just structurally, the plot relies on fantastic suspense. So it's only right to show him Hitchcock. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
DeanomiteJun 25, 2020
i just realized on this viewing that you can see Norman turn into his mother on screen. When he is peeping on Janet he gets shamed and becomes her, his mother is his shame. Janet also was absolutely amazing, her being Jamie Curtis' momi just realized on this viewing that you can see Norman turn into his mother on screen. When he is peeping on Janet he gets shamed and becomes her, his mother is his shame. Janet also was absolutely amazing, her being Jamie Curtis' mom makes it 2 generations of scream queen headlining. The only difference is by the 70s it had become ok for the girl to be the dominant factor. my favorite shot in the movie is the first time he sits there sipping tea like an old lady, getting worked up to kill. Also, the mom is a liar, she pinned it all on Norman, he got a raw deal. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
PeteOppelNov 7, 2021
This film comes close to being a four or even five-star film, but what keeps it from achieving that status is the Simon Oakland psychiatrist character. His oration is not only a complete waste of time, but it insults the intelligence of theThis film comes close to being a four or even five-star film, but what keeps it from achieving that status is the Simon Oakland psychiatrist character. His oration is not only a complete waste of time, but it insults the intelligence of the rest of the film, preventing it from achieving true greatness. If only his character and his scene had been cut. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
ViniciusBritoJan 17, 2019
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Based in the book Psycho, from Robert Bloch. A woman, Marion Crane, that have a regular life with a hidden boyfriend. In one day, at her job, she steals a large amount of money and decides to run away into a new life. So she got out of the city and during her travel, ended up at the Bates Motel in a rainy night, when she got attended by Norman Bates, a young boy that apparentely lives with his mother and is very sympathethic. Directed by Alfred Hitchcock and written by Joseph Stefano.

The storytelling and the atmosphere in here are everything. The whole set up of this film is really great, since the very begining you just got that some characters really like eachother justifying some actions that are way more ahead in the film, and that works, the dialogues works and the chemistry works for you to believe that Sam would go after Marion in that Motel. The whole sequence from Marion Stealing that money and reaching to the Motel is amazing, it is tense, you can feel the burden with her, she not knowing exactly what to do and being tense of each little thing that can happen. That creepy cop that shows up while she is sleeping is another very tense aspect, he keeps staring to her and making questions and neither you or her know if he knows that she have stolen the money or if he is trying to help or do something bad, after he starts to stalk her and watch her from far away things got even more creepy. The fact that when she arrives at the Bates Motel she is still worried about the money, trying to solve her problems and to accept somethings while we all know that there is something bigger wrong, is really well done. That whole sequence since when she arrives there we can see the atmosphere, the place, how detailed the dialogues are to make we understand the characters and to get into the situation. The giant plot twist, for nowdays i found it very predictable, like, we never get a clear shot of his mother's face, never seeing them moving together, but the fact is that for 1960, it was probably a big hit, at that time people probably got really surprised, so as they killing the apparent protagonist in the middle of the film, so there is some really different things for that time that are great. The turning point of the story from the Marion character, after her death, to focus more in Norman, the turning feels really nice and not forced.
The acting is one giant good point for this film. Anthony Perkins is crazy in here, he does have so many layers that consists in his character that it is really great, he is first very cozy and welcoming, you not sure if he is just trying to be ok with the guests or if he wants some company because he is lonely. During on his conversations we can notice that somethings get him pumped, some principle of rage and insecurity, but small and going each by each you can totally tell that the guy is mad. During the very end with that monologue, the way that he reacts to what is being said and the way that he looks to the camera at the end is for sure one of the creepiest scenes in cinema history, that look and that smile starring right at you, that is really remarkable. Janet Leigh also did a really nice job, before the motel parts, you can totally see that she is distressed and not sure on what to do, her minimal details during dialogues with Norman really did evolve some moments. Vera Miles and John Gavin did a very nice duo, i bought that they really cared about Marion enough to do what they did. Martin Balsam is also really nice, he works like a fine noir detective with intriguing dialogues, going for the details in what people say.
The cinematography in this movie is great. First the great decision to put this film in black and white, it totally makes sense on creating the atmosphere for this film, investigation and thriller moments work perfectly with this, the way you see the castle from down seeing it with the rain and lights on with shadows, that all was so well done. There camera positions and moviments that are realy very nice and it all helps to make the film more immersive. The soundtrack is amazing, the composition by Bernard Herrmann is really intriguin and scary as hell, it is the perfect kind of slasher music, wich, i'm sure, inspired some other great tracks in future.
The film does have a nice dialogue from a psychiatrist about double personalities, how that work and what is happening in the mind of the person, that whole monologue was really intriguing and some good learns came from there.
This is a very paranoic film, with a very nice narrative that will really out you in some thriller moments, very nice noir investigative and atmosphere situations, and a very memorable character.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
BeastJ18Apr 22, 2018
Classic does not always mean great. In this case, Psycho has stood the test of time to be one of the most gripping and chilling films ever made.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
vetorDec 11, 2018
Is a classic of the excellent director Hithcock with a sensational plot Twist.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
user12Dec 25, 2017
Eerie, mysterious, exciting, captivating, thrilling, and disturbing, Psycho is a brilliant film, and a must-watch. I can't say too much about it without giving anything away, it's much better if you watch it without reading anything about it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
sharathegde1995Dec 23, 2017
Hitchcock's finest achievement till date and he wouldn't even harm a fly.
Eerie, suspenseful flick from the Master Of Suspense.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
BeatrixKiddoMar 8, 2020
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Although films like this, they're not my cup of tea, i really enjoyed this one. The atmosphere, the music, the cinematography, Perkin's acting.. all perfect! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
mattkerr494Apr 8, 2018
Watched Feb 23, 2018

A friend once told me this was better than both Vertigo and Rear Window. I hope my strong disagreement with this doesn't stem from some deep-rooted desire to be contrarian.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
Vulf001Jun 14, 2018
This film isn't a slasher film. It's the best horror movie I have ever seen. Nothing can top this. The real horror in this movie is left in our imagination. That's some real horror!
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
mohid1Sep 3, 2018
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I am 13 and I would rate this movie a 9 because psycho is a classic movie and it has a nice story before she gets to bates motel and when she does get there it only gets better. The movie is probably one of Alfred Hitchcock's best movies ever and the way Anthony Perkins plays Norman Bates is absolutely brilliant. I couldn't think of anyone better to play Norman Bates and the shower scene along with the music is absolutely terrifying. This is my favourite horror movie ever and the twist of this movie is in the top 5 greatest twists ever. The end of Psycho where his mother's voice is playing in his head is terrifying and brilliant. I recommend this movie to anyone and everyone(by a 13 year old kid) Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
MartyMcFlyOct 2, 2018
My score 100
Metascore / User score 97 / 94
Tomatometer / Audience score 97 / 94
IMDB 85
(94.5)
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
All_ButTrU4Mar 23, 2022
A flawed classic horror standard. I love the choices it makes and how sinister it's villain is. I'm more impressed than attached to this film.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
MrScallopsJun 19, 2019
In what is arguably Hitchcock's finest film, creepy and unsettling "Psycho", audiences are greeted by timelessly brilliant performances, amazing visual direction and an unforgettable villain.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
TomtagMay 13, 2019
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Psycho was directed by Alfred Hitchcock and was released on June 16th 1960. It was such an iconic scene which made Hitchcock known as a master of making such a horror masterpiece. It wasn’t just a horror movie, it was also a thriller and a mystery which made us really curious about the crimes. We always wanted to know who commited it, who was the victim and what clues were left behind. It was about a Phoenix secretary embezzles forty thousand dollars from her employer's client, goes on the run, and checks into a remote motel run by a young man under the domination of his mother. Hitchcock’s Studio, Paramount Pictures, wasn’t sure enough and disliked the film so they denied him a proper budget and the it was $800,000. The movie was in black and white. They even built a Bates Motel mansion at Universal. Psycho was Hitchcock’s best work while he had done some thrillers and horrors like Rear Window (1954), Vertigo (1958) and The Birds (1963). All of those were one of Hitchcock’s greatest works. Hitchcock also made rules for audiences for watching this film. “You must see PSYCHO from the very beginning. Therefore, do not expect to be admitted into the theatre after the start of each performance of the picture. We say no one -- and we mean no one -- not even the manager's brother, the President of the United States, or the Queen of England (God bless her)!" -Alfred Hitchcock- They were really strict and lucky for me, I’m not a person from the 60s so I can watch whenever I want. The performances were excellent and I mostly like Anthony Perkin’s role of Norman Bates. Perkins was good-looking and that’s exactly how Hitchcock wanted it to be just like that so Bates would look like a very likeable person with a charming character and made audiences believe him. They would think about him. Bates even disguised before he kill so that the victims would think it wasn’t Bates maybe? He could have not dress because the victims would be dead and they wouldn’t know. The way the iconic scene: the shower scene was pretty scary with its noise and when Marion Crane opened her eyes dying made the scene more terrifying and the way she was buried in the swamp was mostly frightening. She was naked and her things were in there. I knew it would be a good idea to bury your victim like that. What a genius! The story was told in a unique way. Even though the movie didn’t have much violence, but the mystery were also dreadful and made us worry about what really had happened. It’s also a great idea to shoot this movie not in technicolor but still remained black and white. That way would make Psycho a horror masterpiece no one could make like that. Psycho was really influential, the greatest work of Alfred Hitchcock and also the greatest horror movie and it still deserved that title until today, it’s still terrifying and scared a lot of audiences. It’s also a combination of horror, terror, violence, mystery and thriller. I would recommend this a must-see for horror fans. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
SantiagoSantosMay 13, 2020
Okay... simply watch this movie, is worth it. Alfred Hitchcock is a genius.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
HorrorseekerAug 29, 2019
Based on the novel Alfred Hitchcock made a wonderful masterpiece here especially the films surprise ending
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
DawdlingPoetNov 23, 2021
I admit this is the first time I've actually seen this classic film and it is indeed a classic. I can imagine how shocking the really very tame yet attempted to be borderline horror scenes appeared to the cinema audiences when it wasI admit this is the first time I've actually seen this classic film and it is indeed a classic. I can imagine how shocking the really very tame yet attempted to be borderline horror scenes appeared to the cinema audiences when it was released. Undoubtedly the musical score adds a lot to the tension and perceived atmosphere of this film - it still seems very effective for that purpose. I wasn't aware of the entire story, apart from the main scene (the shower scene) and one or two other basic plot details, so I thought it was interesting to watch it and learn more about the full context of the plot. On watching, I was surprised that the key scene happened so early on but I did feel it did well at keeping the viewer feeling a bit edgy and tense and keen/curious to learn what might be discovered about the mysterious Mr. Bates and his mother. There are certainly some plot twists present and while I wouldn't say its by any means constantly an edge of your seat watch, I appreciated that there was more of an investigative, crime/mystery side to it. I think this is a good example of a psychological thriller of its time and certainly if your keen on Hitchcock films then this is an obvious must see. By todays standards, its very tame but as an example of a film that slowly compels the viewer to want to know more and that has a chilly atmosphere, this is most definitely a good one. Yes, I would recommend this film. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
MglovesfunJan 8, 2020
The plot, direction, dialogue and Anthony Perkins's performance all contribute to this Hitchcock masterpiece.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
DouglasspompeuJun 10, 2020
Highlight to the amazing creation of suspense and mystery atmosphere with Hitchcock on his best, and a fierce performance by Anthony Perkins and Jenet Leigh makes this film one of the best ever made.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
BruterakeMar 3, 2022
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. O que é de bom desse filme todo mundo sabe, mas, não envelheceu nada bem. Os momentos mais marcantes que são pra dar medo são engraçados, tipo ok ta na vibe de dar medo e talz de ter alguem matando alguém ai quando chega no clímax quando vai pra matar é muito mal feito e como não seria né esse filme é muito antigo. Continua muito bom 8 de 10. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
RobwinzDec 11, 2020
A timeless classic as it always will be.

My ★★★★★ review of Psycho on Letterboxd https://boxd.it/1jhls9
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
AndrewHordMay 29, 2020
Uptight thriller with one of the best villains in cinema ever.Absolutely revolutionary thing,which could not be ignored by true cinema fans!
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
Onlyclassicvg1Sep 17, 2022
This film noir portrait of corruption and morally-compromised obsessions stars Welles as Hank Quinlan, a crooked police chief who frames a Mexican youth as part of an intricate criminal plot. Charlton Heston plays an honorable MexicanThis film noir portrait of corruption and morally-compromised obsessions stars Welles as Hank Quinlan, a crooked police chief who frames a Mexican youth as part of an intricate criminal plot. Charlton Heston plays an honorable Mexican narcotics investigator who clashes with the bigoted Quinlan after probing into his dark past. A memorable Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
HypedLolMay 9, 2021
Hate using the term “masterpiece” since I feel like it gets thrown around too much but that’s what this film is. Among the greatest from Alfred Hitchcock and my favourite horror film of all time.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
akshatmahajanOct 27, 2020
If a movie which is 60 years old effects you, then for sure it is brilliant. Psycho which came in 1960 was ahead of it's time. Each and every scene of this movie is perfect. Not even a single scene was unnecessary.

The acting by all the
If a movie which is 60 years old effects you, then for sure it is brilliant. Psycho which came in 1960 was ahead of it's time. Each and every scene of this movie is perfect. Not even a single scene was unnecessary.

The acting by all the actors especially the role of Bates was perfectly done. The plot was different and had a lot of surprises at the end. The climax was really unpredictable. Movie had a lot of iconic scenes like shower scene and Bate smiling climax. The direction could not be better. Full marks for direction. Even after being a black and white movie, it is none less than coloured one.

Overall, I will recommend this to everyone. A must watch.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
MAX4DNov 16, 2020
A masterpiece by Alfred Hitchcock, an unforgettable and unrepeatable work with excellent and knowledgeable actors
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
geewahJan 23, 2021
On of the most significant movies, technically, the screenplay and character development, etc, ever made.
I just didn't find it as scary as people say.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
NustsutoDec 25, 2020
I'm not into this movie as much as other do. But I can't lies that this movie right here is one of a masterpiece. as a normal person who didn't have much of a film knowledge I pretty enjoying this film.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
Tomtaylor774Dec 20, 2020
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Best Alfred Hitchcock Film Especially the bath sequence with great and daunting music. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
AJ_13Jan 11, 2021
There's really nothing new to say about this film. Anthony Perkins' performance is brilliant as well as Hitchcok's direction.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
shumatNov 27, 2021
classical from albert ask for a remasterization as it is a little bit old but sill really really nice
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
gabacJul 22, 2021
Muito nom e intrigante a historia. Apesar de ser um filme antigo te prende totalmente
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
LiammatherOct 15, 2021
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
lennyiSep 18, 2021
My expectations for a 60's movie were pretty low, but this movie way exceeded them. The writing and acting was pretty great, it was nothing too crazy but i wasn't expecting the quality of marvel movies from some probably low budget 60 yearMy expectations for a 60's movie were pretty low, but this movie way exceeded them. The writing and acting was pretty great, it was nothing too crazy but i wasn't expecting the quality of marvel movies from some probably low budget 60 year old movie :) Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
Daniel2009Jun 2, 2022
What more can I say other than this is a classic among slasher movies from 1960
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
royalguy07Sep 7, 2022
The main them of this was such an instant classic banger for me. Can see all the inspiration this gave to future filmmakers.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
maskedrider29Sep 8, 2022
My favorite horror film of all-time, Anthony Perkins was perfect casting as Norman Bates.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews