Fox Searchlight Pictures | Release Date: August 21, 2019
6.5
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 73 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
49
Mixed:
15
Negative:
9
Watch Now
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
0
bzagerAug 20, 2019
This dark and violent film draws heavily from other fright movies There is nothing original or even suspenseful to redeem this piece of trash. Save your time and money.
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
7
LamontRaymondAug 21, 2019
I think that Metascore is about right on the money, though I'll give it my bump to 70. Loved the old dude from Revenge, and Weaving is really good - though I would have loved some more depth written into the part. How did she and the groomI think that Metascore is about right on the money, though I'll give it my bump to 70. Loved the old dude from Revenge, and Weaving is really good - though I would have loved some more depth written into the part. How did she and the groom meet? What makes her tick? She's a bit too much of a tabla rasa for my liking. And I'll agree with most of the reviews in that it ends extremely effectively. A friend of mine said he thought it had the same feel of "You're Next," and I agreed going in. But it's not nearly as good as that horror masterpiece. But this film looks amazing, and it's so great seeing Andie McDowell back in the game. On the balance - recommended. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
7
GrantD243Aug 28, 2019
If you watched the trailer for Ready or Not, you know most of the story and you can probably predict how it will end. However, the execution of this seemingly simple story is actually really great. It's funny, it's bloody, and the endingIf you watched the trailer for Ready or Not, you know most of the story and you can probably predict how it will end. However, the execution of this seemingly simple story is actually really great. It's funny, it's bloody, and the ending takes a few twists that make it even more enjoyable. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
1
NotReallyHumanAug 26, 2019
This is what happens if Disney is involved in a "horror comedy thriller". The movie is confused with what it wants to be: social commentary, horror movie, suspense thriller or comedy. Unfortunately it doesn't tick any of those boxes and endsThis is what happens if Disney is involved in a "horror comedy thriller". The movie is confused with what it wants to be: social commentary, horror movie, suspense thriller or comedy. Unfortunately it doesn't tick any of those boxes and ends up as it's own punchline. At best, it's a B-horror movie that should have gone straight to DVD. The jokes are dry, the plot development is painfully obvious, the script reads as if it has been written by a badly trained bot and the characters lack any depth which makes it even harder to take seriously. Some of the actors did their best with the available material but unfortunately there wasn't much to work with. The concept is actually interesting but the execution is severely lacking. I understand horror movies don't have to be deep but this was too surface level, too contrived, had no substance whatsoever. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
9
Davrosdaleks1Aug 22, 2019
In this horror comedy, Grace (Samara Weaving), a bride, on her wedding night, unexpectedly finds herself in a ritualistic deadly game of hide-and-seek orchestrated by her rich in-laws. I found this to be a very well-put together movie.

The
In this horror comedy, Grace (Samara Weaving), a bride, on her wedding night, unexpectedly finds herself in a ritualistic deadly game of hide-and-seek orchestrated by her rich in-laws. I found this to be a very well-put together movie.

The backbone of the film is the dysfunctional Le Domas family. Each member is distinctive and well acted, and they have varying levels of competence and willingness. The ritual isn't a regular occurrence for them, and they act like regular people more than most horror movies featuring groups of killers. Half the fun is seeing the Le Domases try to figure what to do next as much as the heroine. Speaking of her, Grace is a fine lead. Admittedly, her character doesn't differentiate herself much from other movie heroines, but Weaving is good in the role. You do root for her as things get progressively worse.

The actual backstory of why the ritual is taking place is thought-out and interesting.

The movie blends the humor and the horror. Though the violent moments occur sporadically, they are pretty strong when they happen. I was kept tense by what was happening to Grace and what'll happen next.

The design, sets, and costumes all look great. They have a classic haunted house or murder mystery feel to them.

Be forewarned that although the film is generally amusing, I didn't have any laugh-out-loud moments. It's more about the general feel.

Overall, I found this to be a pretty fun time and recommend it.
Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
DavidTovar29Sep 6, 2019
IT'LL GREAT!
HOPE SEE IT AND SCARED 2ME
The actress' has da best in this film
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
7
kirkenderSep 9, 2019
I went into this movie with zero knowledge of what it was, no trailer, no synopsis, no clue. It's a movie that owes a lot to other successful horror - Get Out and the Purge are the most obvious - it borrows heavily from other sources, andI went into this movie with zero knowledge of what it was, no trailer, no synopsis, no clue. It's a movie that owes a lot to other successful horror - Get Out and the Purge are the most obvious - it borrows heavily from other sources, and overall it works well. Samara Weaving is phenomenal at handling the juggling of horror/comedy/exposition. You won't be surprised by anything, but it's one heck of a fun ride. Hail Satan! Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
0
rpefSep 11, 2019
This movie was so bad, I created a Metacritic account for the sole purpose of warning anyone else from wasting their money on this utterly sadistic, seemingly unending, steaming pile of cow manure with zero redeeming qualities to it. TheThis movie was so bad, I created a Metacritic account for the sole purpose of warning anyone else from wasting their money on this utterly sadistic, seemingly unending, steaming pile of cow manure with zero redeeming qualities to it. The trailer gives you all you need to know. The trailer is probably the extent of the actual movie running time that's not filled with dark, grotesque, graphic, gratuitous violence. The characters are completely unlikable, with the sole exception of the heroine, and by the end of the film, you're even rooting for her to die...to put yourself out of the misery that is this waste of celluloid without having to make the "walk of shame" and leave the movie early, like one of the other 2 people watching this movie tonight did (within the first 15 minutes. I so envied her! The person I was with was the one who chose this movie so I couldn't leave). Usually a suspense/horror movie will have at least one high point...it will turn campy, or it will have a somewhat interesting plotline, or funny casting. I got nothing. This movie should never have been made. "Ready or Not," if you buy a ticket to this, you will walk out of the theater wanting your money back...or at the very least, the wasted hour and a half of your life. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
6
tropicAcesAug 20, 2019
I love dark humor horror films, and this has flashes of being campy fun. It’s very self-aware and has some nice jumps and chuckles, but it feels a bit under-baked, like the jokes were first draft and clever kill ideas were limited. It’s noI love dark humor horror films, and this has flashes of being campy fun. It’s very self-aware and has some nice jumps and chuckles, but it feels a bit under-baked, like the jokes were first draft and clever kill ideas were limited. It’s no “Evil Dead” or “You’re Next”, but it’s a fun enough time. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
Compi24Aug 20, 2019
A tantalizing concept is nearly undone by semantics and a persnickety penchant for the specific. I saw this movie for one reason and one reason only -- the simple, yet effective premise. "A newly married woman must literally survive a nightA tantalizing concept is nearly undone by semantics and a persnickety penchant for the specific. I saw this movie for one reason and one reason only -- the simple, yet effective premise. "A newly married woman must literally survive a night with her murderous in-laws in order to become a part of the family." What part of that logline doesn't pique your interest? Apparently a good portion of it if the creators of "Ready Or Not" are to be believed, as the actual finished product tries to jazz things up with drawn out exposition, convoluted backstories, and Satanism. Nothing typifies how badly this movie gets caught up in the "how" and "why" better than the conclusion, which somehow ends up being the most violent and least interesting moment in the film. Still, this sporadically inspired romp is mostly enjoyable overall. I just wish it was more focused on the dynamite idea at the center, and less on trying to sensationalize everything. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
GinaKAug 26, 2019
Ready or Not is a delightful summer surprise -- a beautifully acted and very, very funny comedy about an eccentric family “welcoming” its newest member by marriage. The actors are all very convincing, especially Samara Weaving (the youngReady or Not is a delightful summer surprise -- a beautifully acted and very, very funny comedy about an eccentric family “welcoming” its newest member by marriage. The actors are all very convincing, especially Samara Weaving (the young bride). Sometimes you just take a chance on a film – and get lucky. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
bfoore90Aug 29, 2019
Wasn't expecting much from this movie but upon hearing some positive reviews I decided to give it a try and see it for myself. With an interesting premise, a ton of humor and some violence here and there, Ready or Not was a pleasant surprise.Wasn't expecting much from this movie but upon hearing some positive reviews I decided to give it a try and see it for myself. With an interesting premise, a ton of humor and some violence here and there, Ready or Not was a pleasant surprise. The cast especially Samara Weaving and Adam Brody make this movie Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
moviecritic68Aug 28, 2019
The only thing keeping me from going red was the special effects. Once again I have fell prey to my fellow critics. Some ridiculous outburst of profanity did bring a chuckle to the sparse audience. other than that .. SAVE YOUR MONEY
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
vancityboySep 3, 2019
Samara weaving gives a great performance and the viewer is genuinely interested in how she fairs throughout the film. There is lots of fun and much gore which adds to the story while managing to keep a brisk pace throughout. I was pleasantlySamara weaving gives a great performance and the viewer is genuinely interested in how she fairs throughout the film. There is lots of fun and much gore which adds to the story while managing to keep a brisk pace throughout. I was pleasantly impressed with how the characters acted off each otherr and seewhere the movie goes and everybody does a great job in making the outcome unpredictable. I loved everything this movie had the balls to attempt and was a thrill til the end. High recommended e end. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
PanchogulOct 1, 2019
Comenzaré diciendo que NO es una película de terror sino más bien un frenético thriller que una vez que comienza, no se detiene, la protagonista se luce y demuestra el verdadero instinto de supervivencia a toda costa y te hace que teComenzaré diciendo que NO es una película de terror sino más bien un frenético thriller que una vez que comienza, no se detiene, la protagonista se luce y demuestra el verdadero instinto de supervivencia a toda costa y te hace que te preocupes por ella, quieres que se salve, contiene muchos elementos de comedia y humor negro que sostienen la cinta a la perfección de manera muy inteligente y sarcástica. Tiene una línea argumental que hace un guiño respetuoso y simpático a la franquicia The Purge sin caer en una vil copia de esto y aquello. Para finalizar, no podía faltar el gore, que si bien va de menos a más, no llega a ser excesivo, está en su medida justa y necesaria.

En lo personal la disfruté muchísimo, la mezcla de comedia, thriller y suspenso me fascinaron por completo. Realmente no encuentro nada malo por destacar, fue toda una sorpresa para mi.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
Trineo99Aug 23, 2019
First of all, I wish this film was a bit longer. The film is one hour and thirty-five minutes, with credits, and I feel like if it was longer it would have helped it out a bit more. This is a slight spoiler but it’s the opening scene soFirst of all, I wish this film was a bit longer. The film is one hour and thirty-five minutes, with credits, and I feel like if it was longer it would have helped it out a bit more. This is a slight spoiler but it’s the opening scene so either skip over this or read it but the film just jumps straight into the film. There is no lead up into it, it just jumps right in so not till later in the film do we learn why they are doing this. So, I feel like a couple of extra minutes in this film could have helped it out. The acting starts out cheesy and kind of annoying but as the film goes on and the stakes get higher it takes a sharp turn and becomes pretty good. As the movie progresses you get to see which family members are fully invested into this and which ones would rather not do it. I will say that Grace is one of the most badass characters in horror and I was always cheering her on. I will say the editing in the film is kind of award at times and makes no sense. I say sometimes because most of the time it’s edited just fine but in a couple of scenes it just jumps to a scene that isn’t connected and almost feels like the directors were like, “Shoot we forgot that one scene well let’s just throw it in between these two scenes even though it doesn’t make any sense to.” This film is a horror-comedy and I will say they balance the two well and a couple of scenes had me chuckling. The last thing I want to mention is the score by Brian Tyler is great. In the end, I highly recommend checking out this film at least once because it’s a unique and original story and we don’t have a lot of that now a day. I give Ready or Not a 8/10. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
eli_fjrAug 28, 2019
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Surprisingly fun and FUNNY! I do recommend watching it in theaters as getting crowd reaction is a bonus. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
JLuis_001Sep 2, 2019
It doesn't come to reinvent absolutely anything but damn it's entertaining.
I mean if you fully analyze the plot, it might sound dumb but that's kind of the idea if you really want to set your mind on the game and enjoy it with its black
It doesn't come to reinvent absolutely anything but damn it's entertaining.
I mean if you fully analyze the plot, it might sound dumb but that's kind of the idea if you really want to set your mind on the game and enjoy it with its black humor and violence.

It isn't the analogy of anything, nor about you having some kind of deep talk after seeing it.
I've heard that some critics tried to give the plot a greater meaning, especially what marriage implies within a wealthy family and the pressures of marriage but I didn't see that at all.

For me Ready or Not it's simply a funny film that I can't really catalog as horror but rather a tension and action thriller with elements of horror and comedy that seeks nothing more than entertain its audience and it achieved that with me.

That's its offer and it's successful with it. That was more than enough for me.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
amheretojudgeSep 4, 2019
It is not the game and not the rules, it is just that you are not ready for this, you don't want to be.

Ready Or Not Matt Bettinelli-Olpin and Tyler Gillett, the director and the creator of the film and this incredibly catchy rituals and
It is not the game and not the rules, it is just that you are not ready for this, you don't want to be.

Ready Or Not

Matt Bettinelli-Olpin and Tyler Gillett, the director and the creator of the film and this incredibly catchy rituals and traditions are gathering crowd like a social media site. And the sad news is that it stays exactly that and never anything more than that. And the hard pill to swallow is that the entire film runs on an incredibly apt metaphor in this political correctness era and yet it never grows beyond that very fabric of its core nature. There just isn't enough substance to explore. And they had an incredible amount of space to fill in their blanks with straight sharp bullets and instead they are focusing on the humor.

The absurdity of the premise is mocked thoroughly in the film. Which now puts us in a dangerous position. The information revealed to the lead character Grace played by Samara Weaving is something unfathomable. And hence her reaction to that circumstance is and will always be a surprise to us. If she finds it terrifying or maddening or humorisc or any other emotions, we would always be new to it.

Now the only thing comforting in that stage is, if we are convinced to what she is going through. And the performance takes the heat away from it. Resulting into a dry game show for us, that is malleable but is also too loose to stand on its own generic horror elements that it claims to have. Now, going back to the political correctness aspect, what film does nicely is not endorse it and just speak smoothly about the scenario we and the characters are dealing with. And the proof of that is the randomness and the "fate" aspect of the plot that polishes it neatly. Ready Or Not, they are going to play the game and it is going to end up exactly as you'd think it would, not it should.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
SWEEPtheLEG175Sep 4, 2019
Not bad, I enjoyed this film. Do NOT watch the trailer or read much about it, just watch it. Lead actress is Hugo Weaving's niece, she is good. Checkout The Babysitter which is she is and also not a bad film.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
Bertaut1Oct 13, 2019
An entertaining horror-comedy that takes aim at the decadence and insularity of the 1%

Written by Guy Busick and R. Christoper Murphy, and directed by Matt Bettinelli-Olpin and Tyler Gillett, Ready or Not is a horror-comedy and social satire
An entertaining horror-comedy that takes aim at the decadence and insularity of the 1%

Written by Guy Busick and R. Christoper Murphy, and directed by Matt Bettinelli-Olpin and Tyler Gillett, Ready or Not is a horror-comedy and social satire that comically exaggerates the anxieties attendant with marrying into a wealthy family and mocks the insular nature of such families, so obsessed with their wealth that they've become disconnected from the real world. And whilst the manner in which it presents some of its violence is somewhat problematic, this is a very enjoyable and funny film that's well worth checking out.

It's the wedding day of Grace (Samara Weaving) and Alex Le Domas (Mark O'Brien), whose family earned their fortune making board games and are now decadently wealthy. Shortly after the ceremony, Alex explains to Grace that whenever someone marries into the clan, they must participate in a game, chosen at random by a mechanised box. At an austere ceremony, Grace's game is selected as hide and seek, with Alex's father Tony (Henry Czerny) explaining the only way for her to win is to stay hidden until dawn. And so, Grace hides in the mansion, unaware that the family (sans Alex) are arming themselves with crossbows, axes, hunting rifles, and assorted antique weaponry.

The film's various psychoanalytical/satirical subtexts are fairly obvious – a lampooning of blue blood families clueless as to how the real world works, a savage deconstruction of the institution of marriage, and a gynocentric celebration of a woman fighting back against old-world patriarchy. In relation to these last two themes, nowhere are they more apparent than in Grace's wedding dress, with costume designer Avery Plewes using the dress to show the stages of Grace's symbolic deconstruction of such concepts.

Concerning the film's engagement with wealth, essentially it suggests that the rich are very different, but could it be that not only are they different, maybe they're actually evil? Of course, it's not suggesting this with anything even approaching realism, and much of the humour comes from the Le Domas family's incompetency. For example, they spend a good chunk of the film arguing with one another about the hunt – some want to use modern weapons, but Tony maintains they have to use antique weaponry, but, really, his argument never gets beyond "tradition...reasons". The film gets a lot of laughs out of showing characters trying to get to grips with their weapon – from looking up "how to use a crossbow" videos to accidentally dispatching several maids due to their inability to handle their weapons.

Another theme, although one not developed to the extent of the above, is religion. Le Bail, a mysterious traveller from decades ago who promised the family great wealth, is believed to be a demonic figure, with his name an anagram of Belial, the demon from the Tanakh who formed the basis of the Christian depiction of Satan. On the other hand, Grace's name references Divine grace. Elsewhere, the film depicts a pit of slaughtered goats. Goats are important in Christianity, especially in the practice of scapegoating, whereby a goat takes upon it the sins of the community and is cast into the desert, symbolically removing the taint of those sins (Leviticus 16:8-10). Along the same lines, Grace injures her hand on a nail, in a veiled reference to the Stigmata. However, whether or not we're supposed to interpret her as a Christ figure is hard to say as, although these references are interesting in isolation, they never really coalesce into anything concrete.

Looking at some other problems, the film maintains that the rich are insane and their violence contemptible. However, some of the biggest laughs are reserved for the accidental killing of the maids. And I have to admit, I found these scenes funny. Also funny is that after one of the kills, the family are trying to have a conversation, which is continually interrupted by the gurgling of a mortally wounded maid; until someone takes an axe to her head to finish her off. And again, I laughed a lot at that scene, even though I recognised that the film was essentially asking the audience to see this violence as funny but some of the violence elsewhere as not so much. In this sense, it wants to have its cake and eat it; it takes Grace's stakes seriously but also encourages us to laugh at some (and only some) of the violence elsewhere.

Ready or Not's satirical ire is focused, even if the tendency towards irreverence doesn't always chime with the socio-political agenda. Allegorically skewering inherited wealth, marriage, tradition, and religion, it suggests that with their atavistic rules and sense of entitlement, the Le Domas family embody the concept that old-money can lead to insularity from modernity. Offering us a match, it posits that perhaps the only way to deal with such irrelevancies is to burn them to the ground. And it has a blast showing us why.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
JoesAug 28, 2019
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Excelente película maneja muy bien su humor y gore, es más que entretenida y da para una secuela la verdad me sorprendió y la repetiria Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
chetlySep 13, 2019
Definitely recommended. You can tell where this movie is going from the trailers but it is fun to watch it all unfold. Weaving is marvelous in this role and it's fun to watch her arc. Sort of a surprise ending. Good times.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
0
JaanBaazSep 17, 2019
Pointless Garbage ' ready or not ' you would expect a refund after the movie is over this is the worst movie .
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
sand3rAug 20, 2019
Dark comedy mixed with a little bit of suspense. Maybe some rich families behave like in this movie, who knows?
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
AVGMOVIEGOERAug 20, 2019
The film was entertaining and intense. I did enjoy my time and was on the edge of my seat for most of it. That said, Ready or Not had so many plot holes that the Director can now start a new career making swiss cheese. The bride who needed toThe film was entertaining and intense. I did enjoy my time and was on the edge of my seat for most of it. That said, Ready or Not had so many plot holes that the Director can now start a new career making swiss cheese. The bride who needed to hide from the family killers had the parcour skills of Lara Croft mixed with the fighting skills of freakin’ Jackie Chan. We are given NO context as to her capabilities and relies blindly on our ability to suspend belief. That aspect irked me the most but there were several moments where things made little to no sense unless you don’t feel like thinking about things and were just looking for an escape. Many of the plot points seem to be driven by sheer stupidity on the characters ends and the whole thing basically comes across as just one big joke about crazy rich in-laws. The acting was pretty solid for the most part, but they really needed to tighten up the screws on the plot. Side note: someone brought a baby to our showing... Seriously?!?! WHAT AN IDIOT. Do they live under a rock and not see the fact this film was rated R?!?! What a LOSER. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
BuffynaAug 27, 2019
10 points. It's interesting movie, funny and scary ať the same time. Thank you.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
Clint_StaffordSep 1, 2019
just saw Ready or Not and I don’t think I’ve ever fallen in love with a main character that quickly like grace was a total bad ass.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
asrigyuAug 30, 2019
Filmnya ga disangka seruuu banget. Padahal awalnya ga niat nonton, tapi jadinya malah jauh lebih bagus daripada film2 horror terkenal seperti Annabelle & The Conjuring.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
Cclark96Sep 1, 2019
When I first saw this trailer I thought a interesting idea about a horror movie theme around hide and seek. First thought in my head it wouldn't work because there alot of horror movie that are bad when it based on a game like truth or dare.When I first saw this trailer I thought a interesting idea about a horror movie theme around hide and seek. First thought in my head it wouldn't work because there alot of horror movie that are bad when it based on a game like truth or dare. Overall this movie works and its self aware. Grace our main character is a common horror character type but ends up as a strong lead. She run away from danger but starts to fight back knowing she got a 50/50 chance of leaving. The family of Andy steal the movie completely. Everyone brings something comedic to the film. Not all jokes land and a tiny bit of bad writing. Still I loved this movie. Its better then Crawl which is a normal B horror film. Loved it too, I seen every horror film this year except for midsummer. But if you love a fun horror film I highly recommend watching. If you have AMC A-LIST definitely watch it. Right now this is my favorite horror film of the year. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
BeardedYodaSep 3, 2019
Ready Or Not is an overall enjoyable film with some minor plot inconsistencies. Despite the films small amount of problems it's worth watching.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
JordanJonesYallSep 13, 2019
We can’t all be Drag Me To Hell, but we can sure try. This one came close.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
hnestlyontheslyOct 7, 2019
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Samara Weaving is what makes this film transcend its trashy, cliched components. She is quotable, trendy, lovely, spirited, and pulls every comic gag she can with her expressions. Despite her barnburner of a performance, the film suffers from incurable trailer fatigue. Almost every gruesome death and moment of suspense has been spoiled for you by the last few months of trailers, and the scenes that aren’t ruined are defused by the general premise of the game itself. The fact that the film ends when she’s caught and killed really lowers the stakes, because she’s covered in the world’s toughest plot armor imaginable. Instead of catching her, the story has to sort of half-catch her several times and then find improbable escapes for her.

This film was always working against the tide. Instead of casting Margot Robbie, it found someone who looked like Margot Robbie if you were half paying attention in between handfuls of popcorn down your trash hole during the trailers. It assembled a rag tag band of C-list actors and the legendary Andy MacDowell to hunt her down. The trailer gives us an idea that the large band of seekers is meant to put a comic twist on the horror genre, since its their body count that will rise through a series of unfortunate events, not hers. There’s certainly a space for turned-tables “Hunter Becomes Hunted” horror films where the protagonist finds a way to outsmart the evil consciousness in charge of (usually) her torture: think Green Room, Red Eye, Panic Room. I guess the more popular trope is something like the inverted Final Girl, which I love. I think your tolerance for this film hinges on how tired (or not) you are of the trope after having seen this trailer on heavy rotation.

Two of the things that were either terrible or interesting (Wife really liked this movie and I thought it was meh): the turn with the husband and the ending’s decision about the element of magic that governs the entire world of the movie. The husband plot is a bit of a spoiler, but not one worth hiding: he’s turned native by his family in the course of the film. We get the sense early on that he’s a bit of an amoral figure in the film, because of his unwillingness to have given his fiance much of a choice going into the wedding to begin with. There’s a conversation that the husband has with his mother while chained to a bed that makes for some interesting conversation, where she basically calls him out for acknowledging the curse of those who don’t go through with the game to begin with. One of the weaknesses of the film for me is how much of the decision-making of the husband and the rest of the family hinges on ad hoc exposition of past events that we have no knowledge of and no way of corroborating. We’re told, apropos of nothing, that all of the people who have refused to play a wedding game have inexplicably died. We’re also told that families who have failed to see a Game through to its ritualistic ending have met cruel fates beyond reckoning, but we have no way of knowing if any of it is true, and by the time we learn it, it seems inconsequential since we’ve already made moral judgements about the character’s motivations.

On the ending: it feels a little bit of an overcorrection to Shyamalan-twisty-Village-type endings, and a little too slapdash to work like Joss Whedon’s Cabin in the Woods, which is, along with Tucker and Dale vs Evil, the Gold Standard for modern comic/horror films.

I came across this article that suggests the acquisition of Fox Searchlight by Disney may lead to a new path forward for horror films in the future.

I’m confident in telling you at this point, a month and a half after its release, that you do not need to seek this one out. It will find you when the time is right, probably on a plane, very possibly in the form of a joke DVD gift you receive around X-mas time, but possibly on a treadmill while working out.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews