Twentieth Century Fox Film Corporation | Release Date: March 2, 2018
5.4
USER SCORE
Mixed or average reviews based on 308 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
127
Mixed:
100
Negative:
81
Watch Now
Buy On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
5
Rebecca31Mar 8, 2018
Jennifer Lawrence is all grown up, graduated from the Hunger Games and is now attending Sparrow School. Seducing men and getting everyone killed in the process.

Dominika Egorova (Jennifer Lawrence) is a witness to a crime she shouldn't have
Jennifer Lawrence is all grown up, graduated from the Hunger Games and is now attending Sparrow School. Seducing men and getting everyone killed in the process.

Dominika Egorova (Jennifer Lawrence) is a witness to a crime she shouldn't have seen, so her only option is to become a Sparrow. A secret Russian intelligence service who specialise in training young agents to use their bodies as weapons. Not the fighty action James Bond kind of way but more in the seductive and manipulative kind of way. They can also pick locks so as far as the training goes that's about it. Dominika finishes Sparrow school as perhaps the most deadly of all the sparrows. Capable of using her mind and body as a weapon, her mission now is to get information from American CIA agent Joel Edgerton. The plot gives you all the information you need to figure out what exactly is going to happen before it happens. The twists and turns don't offer much in the way of surprises and at 2 hours and 20 minutes you can bet there's a lot of them. What it does offer is a good enough espionage movie packed full of violence and torture to peak your interest. At the very least it got my attention, so although the story is dragged out for much too long it manages to pull itself together into an "only gonna watch it once" popcorn flick. Much darker than I expected which is enough to separate it from the usual generic stuff. This is probably the best performance from Jennifer Lawrence in a while, not enough to get the bad taste left behind by Mother! but it's a start. Recommended if you've seen all the Oscar movies and looking for something a little different.
Expand
5 of 5 users found this helpful50
All this user's reviews
0
Arthur_RevanJul 13, 2018
**** **** ****!!!!
Anyone who likes this piece of **** is a deranged idiot!!!
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
3
bigscreen454Mar 11, 2018
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Red sparrow made an attempt at flying, fluttered for a little bit, but then belly flopped into the pool of the local Russian YMCA. She walks thru the rest of the film as a cold wet bird struggling to find herself.

I have no doubt that this film, which netted J Law unprecedented millions of Denaro for just showing up and talking in a concocted Russian accent will get the Oscar nod during award season.

The plot is mostly about loss, yet at times I am at a loss for words. She breaks her leg in a freak ballet accident (who knew ballet could be so dangerous?) and then things just keep getting worse for her along the way, including a couple rape scenes.

Spoiler Alert: J Law couldnt hit a golf ball inside of a steam room of the local Russian YMCA to save her life. She should definately stick to being a ballerina.

The film was formidably watchable for the most part only until the end where a plot twist that makes absolutely zero sense occurs. The confused little bird tries to make out with her uncle and then strangely gets him shot just to upset her American lover. If this moment was important then the director certainly failed to build it up. Makes me think Rian Johnson rewrote this script it’s so bad. Go see it, but only if you like torture (literally).
Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
0
NeronFStyleJul 13, 2018
I can describe this only as an "insulting" film. Characters have no motivation, poor acting. This anti-soviet/anti-russian propaganda would be nice back in 50's. Feels bad it's 2018.
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
2
imthenoobJan 19, 2019
The performances are ok but the characters are pretty stereotypical and the plot is nothing to write home about. The overuse of sex throughout the movie was clearly used in an attempt to mask any shortcomings and they do a poor job of doingThe performances are ok but the characters are pretty stereotypical and the plot is nothing to write home about. The overuse of sex throughout the movie was clearly used in an attempt to mask any shortcomings and they do a poor job of doing just that. It's watchable but that's about the only good thing I can say about it. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
3
paulraisedFeb 3, 2019
Hollywood keeps mashing the cold war concept with current times, and that doesn't work. The movie feels out of place, it can't shake the feeling that something is not right. That makes it a failure, like The Sum of All Fears. Also LawrenceHollywood keeps mashing the cold war concept with current times, and that doesn't work. The movie feels out of place, it can't shake the feeling that something is not right. That makes it a failure, like The Sum of All Fears. Also Lawrence doesn't help with her blank face void of emotion. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
5
temptershellMay 13, 2018
Given the large marketing of this production, only after a few months I had the opportunity to see the latest film from Jennifer Lawrence. This is not a production that could be a super hit, but it's not a bad movie either. A spy intrigue andGiven the large marketing of this production, only after a few months I had the opportunity to see the latest film from Jennifer Lawrence. This is not a production that could be a super hit, but it's not a bad movie either. A spy intrigue and boring scenario allows me to rate this film as an average movie with a good cast. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
5
MattBrady99Dec 29, 2018
'Red Sparrow' is a massive dud not as a spy movie, but as a thriller. The theme of psychological warfare could've been riveting with a better director, because I was struggling to find any engagement in the story. The cinematography and'Red Sparrow' is a massive dud not as a spy movie, but as a thriller. The theme of psychological warfare could've been riveting with a better director, because I was struggling to find any engagement in the story. The cinematography and performances is the only merit in the movie.

I mean, it's worth checking out to watch every actor screw up their Russian accents, especially Jeremy Irons.
Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
4
DavidWasHereSep 15, 2018
Red Sparrow is a lot like last year's Atomic Blonde. Both films are about femme fatales, both films take place largely in Russia, both films have twist and turns in their spy thrillers, both films use some bold colors (Atomic Blonde blue, RedRed Sparrow is a lot like last year's Atomic Blonde. Both films are about femme fatales, both films take place largely in Russia, both films have twist and turns in their spy thrillers, both films use some bold colors (Atomic Blonde blue, Red Sparrow red), and both films are by the number spy thrillers that are not interesting. The only different is that Atomic Blonde was at least fun and did not have really uncomfortable undertones like Red Sparrow does!

One thing that I can absolutely give Red Sparrow credit is that it is a technical well made spy thriller. Francis Lawrence, most known for directing three of the four Hunger Games films, as well as I am Legend, isn't exactly an interesting or stylish director, has definitely stepped up his game, making a visually striking film with some great use of red color hues. I won't call this movie stylized really and there's not a lot of subtly and substance to really analyze, but there is certainly a lot of interesting shots that does feel pretty cool. The score is also pretty great too, being done by James Newton Howard. It's largely classical inspired and even using classical pieces, that both fit the film and adds a bit of tension and even beauty to what is going on. And that's about it for the positives really.

I mean the acting is alright really, but these characters are so bland and by the numbers they just feel like carbon copies of characters you've already seen before in spy thrillers. This is very much true for Jennifer Lawrence's character, Dominika or as she is referred to "Sparrow." J-Law has proven to be a great actress, and she goes as far as she can with her role, even with her fake Russian accent, but her character is so flat that her natural charisma does not elevate her role as far as we really want. Add to some stale chemistry with Joel Edgerton, who is shockingly bad in this film, and any sex appeal from this movie is gone down the drain.

Speaking of bland, this story is just so dull! It's nothing you have not seen before, the plot is convoluted and hard to follow at times, and it's just so long and the film drags! Like I was so bored by this dull movie. It's not a constant fun, action-packed spy film and more in the vein of Tinker Tailor Soldier Spy, a spy film more about wit and intrigue instead of being action oriented, which I can respect. But like I have to care about what I am seeing, which I do not! It's just so uninteresting.

And not to mention really uncomfortable! Like this movie is super graphic with it's violence and sexual imagery. Like there is a scene in the film that basically was going to full blown rape, I am not kidding. This is to add to some feminist subtext with the film, but with how needlessly graphic the film gets, and really analyzing this movie in a feminist critique it is incredibly shallow. Sparrow doesn't do much work on her own as she basically has to be told what to do, including having a man forced upon her! Yuck! I can somewhat respect this movie if it was at all handled the touchy subject respectfully, or just full blown exploitative and unapologetic, but it never goes that extra step and just feels like a tepid mix of Tinker Tailor and Girl With the Dragon Tattoo. Maybe the book did it better but I have no interest in picking up the source material after watching this.

I can't hate this film too much because it is a well shot movie and the score is good, but it's just a long, boring, and uncomfortable slog to sit through. It's too boring for a spy film, too shallow for a feminist movie, and too scummy for J-Law fans. Just skip it altogether!
Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
2
tcoph2020Mar 28, 2018
This movie had unnecessary gory violence. I was looking to have an enjoyable time but had to put my hand over my eyes several times. I almost walked out three times but held in there. Would not recommend this movie.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
4
BroyaxDec 6, 2018
Un film d'espionnage bien léché qui jouit d'une belle réalisation ; on sent également un souci de réalisme dans ces tours de passe-passe entre les services russes et américains via leurs agents respectifs... des tours qui laissent un peuUn film d'espionnage bien léché qui jouit d'une belle réalisation ; on sent également un souci de réalisme dans ces tours de passe-passe entre les services russes et américains via leurs agents respectifs... des tours qui laissent un peu dubitatif, voire incrédule pour tout dire. Non seulement au niveau de nombreux détails mais aussi du scénario en lui-même. En conséquence, on a bien du mal à croire à tout ce merdier, même avec toute l'imagination du monde.

Mais c'est tout de même bien présenté, parfois assez cruel et on ne s'ennuie jamais malgré la longueur bien pesée du métrage et il est bien agréable de retrouver Jeremy Irons ou Charlotte Rampling, toujours impressionants de talent et d'aisance. Par contre, en ce qui concerne l'actrice principale, cette Jennifer quelque chose... ça ne va pas du tout. Elle joue mal, tellement mal qu'elle fait de la peine... franchement mais qu'est-ce qu'elle fout là ?

On me dira qu'elle donne de sa personne (pour une fois) mais ça ne change pas vraiment la donne. Elle a un visage bizarre, on dirait une mongolienne ; et elle a un gros cul. Et des cuisses comme des jambons. Non franchement, c'est une jambonneuse bien fardée et maquillée mais certainement pas bien foutue. Et quel vide dans son regard de poisson mort !

Et puis tout de même, si le film semble réaliste, je ne suis pas sûr qu'il le soit vraiment, surtout lorsqu'on copie des documents confidentiels sur... des disquettes 3,5 (?!). Des putains de disquettes, vous êtes sûrs ? ça se passe pourtant de nos jours, toutes les BMW sont les derniers modèles... bah, on est peut-être sur Pluton finalement. Ou dans une réalité alternative.

Autre détail : à part utiliser son cul, on ne lui apprend pas les arts martiaux ? parce qu'en Russie, ils sont réputés pour ça (pas le cul, mais les arts martiaux militaires où tous les coups sont permis...). Mais bon, ce qui semble réaliste, car bien présenté et bien emballé, n'est forcément très réaliste finalement.

On ressort de ce film avec la sensation d'avoir été pris pour un dindon. Oui, un dindon de la farce. Non franchement, arrêtez vos conneries à Hollywood parce que le copain Poutine doit sûrement en rigoler encore...
Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
4
DubeauMar 2, 2019
I couldn't finish the movie. The first 45 minutes are bearable, but after that it becomes painfully slow. The dialogues are just boring and there isn't enough tension for that kind of movie. I don't really blame the actors. It just wasn'tI couldn't finish the movie. The first 45 minutes are bearable, but after that it becomes painfully slow. The dialogues are just boring and there isn't enough tension for that kind of movie. I don't really blame the actors. It just wasn't appropriate for a movie. I give it 40%. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
1
ch1pKaJan 24, 2019
Nonsense impersonating history. Endless holes in the plot and his despondency do not give the right to this video to be called a film. For complete idiocy there are not enough drunken bears driving around on the red square, on unicycle.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
2
Mr_FMar 10, 2018
A terrible, deeply disturbing movie. It tries to shock you but for no other reason than shocking itself. It's empty and the plot is primitive, it has cliche over cliche multiplied by violence. I must admit, camera work is pretty great, andA terrible, deeply disturbing movie. It tries to shock you but for no other reason than shocking itself. It's empty and the plot is primitive, it has cliche over cliche multiplied by violence. I must admit, camera work is pretty great, and that makes for a great trailer, but not enough for a good movie. Expand
5 of 6 users found this helpful51
All this user's reviews
4
JugmonkeyMar 13, 2018
Not very good. Disjointed. Sloppy. Gets better towards the end but ugh. I am a J Law fan but I have to say her accent was terrible. Have a Russian ex and have spent time there, and it's bad. Some good moments, some laughable moments thoughNot very good. Disjointed. Sloppy. Gets better towards the end but ugh. I am a J Law fan but I have to say her accent was terrible. Have a Russian ex and have spent time there, and it's bad. Some good moments, some laughable moments though unintentional I'm sure. Couldn't wait for it to be over. Expand
4 of 5 users found this helpful41
All this user's reviews
0
supemoneylifeApr 17, 2018
really boring and slow movie. acting is wooden imo. the whole thing is predictable
4 of 5 users found this helpful41
All this user's reviews
4
robbywarren93Mar 5, 2018
There's some solid performances and intense moments, but this is mostly just a messy, over-long, predictable, and over the top movie with very little to enjoy. I don't know was going through the screen-writers minds when they were writingThere's some solid performances and intense moments, but this is mostly just a messy, over-long, predictable, and over the top movie with very little to enjoy. I don't know was going through the screen-writers minds when they were writing this but they probably need some help... Expand
4 of 5 users found this helpful41
All this user's reviews
3
just_whyMay 13, 2018
If you enjoy flicks where you can guess accurately:
(a) the ending in the first 15 minutes
(b) the characters nationality by their penchant for inhumanity and want to be surprised by the amount of crass rape/gore/torture scenes, you'll really
If you enjoy flicks where you can guess accurately:
(a) the ending in the first 15 minutes
(b) the characters nationality by their penchant for inhumanity
and want to be surprised by the amount of crass rape/gore/torture scenes, you'll really love the experience.
For everyone else, do yourself a solid one and stay away.

The movie dons a pseudo-dark exterior to swindle the spy thriller masses, but what you get out of it are one too many "seen that one coming", usually followed by "I wish I could unsee that".
Expand
4 of 5 users found this helpful41
All this user's reviews
5
mrdr4gonMar 26, 2018
The first hour is full of shock value setpieces which feels blatantly exploitative for little to no real artistic reason but get past that rather slow first half and the story is a good slow burning spy drama. Nothing special but definitelyThe first hour is full of shock value setpieces which feels blatantly exploitative for little to no real artistic reason but get past that rather slow first half and the story is a good slow burning spy drama. Nothing special but definitely watchable. Expand
3 of 4 users found this helpful31
All this user's reviews
3
amheretojudgeMar 3, 2018
what have you done..

Red Sparrow Being rich and clean visually, the feature endorses intensity and practicality capturing some indigestible brutal scenes depicting the clear genuine effort and hard work that went behind the stage which
what have you done..

Red Sparrow

Being rich and clean visually, the feature endorses intensity and practicality capturing some indigestible brutal scenes depicting the clear genuine effort and hard work that went behind the stage which unfortunately makes it more sad in the end as it nullifies everything to zero. A common mistake while creating such character driven feature is that if the characters and the offered environment to the audience isn't intriguing enough to invest in it, the movie starts to fade off slowly but surely in front of their eyes. Francis Lawrence is definitely not short on execution but what lacks is enough material to feed the audience for more than 2 hours and hence fails to offer any lose thread to hold them. Jennifer Lawrence aces on her side of the act and is supported too with a great cast like Joel Edgerton and Jeremy Irons saving the 'performance' objective of the feature. Red Sparrow is a slow pill whose attempt may be admirable but won't connect to the viewers in any tone for it fails on offering gripping content, better editing and a genuine reason or soul.
Expand
3 of 4 users found this helpful31
All this user's reviews
3
BooyahMediaMar 10, 2018
the first half is basically just a porno and it was so painfully slow! cut off the graphic sex scenes as well speed it up a bit and would have been a much better movie! shame, not her best work.
3 of 4 users found this helpful31
All this user's reviews
2
GreatMartinMar 2, 2018
Usually, the best thing about a movie Jennifer Lawrence is in is her being in it and she is the best thing in “Red Sparrow”.

The set up is simple with a Russian ballerina suffering a career-ending accident during a performance and is forced,
Usually, the best thing about a movie Jennifer Lawrence is in is her being in it and she is the best thing in “Red Sparrow”.

The set up is simple with a Russian ballerina suffering a career-ending accident during a performance and is forced, by her pedophile uncle, to go to a Russian intelligence school referred to “Sparrow School”, where sex and body are used as weapons, in order to continue taking care of her sick mother.

From then on we are watching a convoluted screenplay by Justin Haythe that is even more confusing when tried to explain at the end and, in my opinion, does or doesn’t point a finger at the mother.

The sex, of which there is plenty, and a lot of nudity, is gratuitous and worse, boring. The violence is almost to the point of the audience vomiting along with some of the movie’s characters. The British Board of Film Classifications had the film to take out parts of a particular scene—I wish they had taken it out completely!—to get a less certification for strong, sadistic violence. Rated is “R” in the USA for ‘strong violence, torture, sexual content, language and, yes, smoking’!

The direction by Francis Lawrence is haphazard and very slow moving for what is a spy thriller. The ‘love story’ is far from believable and there doesn’t seem to be any ‘heat’ by the two stars.

Jennifer Lawrence has a couple of striking scenes, one as the ballerina and one of her in a sparkling red dress that is more interesting than anything that happens in this movie.

Her co-stars do their best but with a bad script, a very talky, slow-moving 139 minutes spy thriller that doesn’t really thrill, “Red Sparrow” a book trilogy should start and end with this one.
Expand
8 of 11 users found this helpful83
All this user's reviews
5
sfjcgMar 6, 2018
The movie was too violent and had too many horrific torture scenes. Parts of it were unbelievable. The main character brutally attacks two ballet dancers and later we find out she broke the dancer’s toe? I thought both dancers would haveThe movie was too violent and had too many horrific torture scenes. Parts of it were unbelievable. The main character brutally attacks two ballet dancers and later we find out she broke the dancer’s toe? I thought both dancers would have been dead after the beating. The main character is tortured and her head is whacked hard and yet she’s fine a day later? In real life she would have been dead. I didn’t really care about her after the first ten minutes because of her brutal attack on the ballet dancers. Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
4
HuraxdaxMar 5, 2018
I get where the movie was going, but I don't consider the idea well executed. Everything was so cryptic that I eventually stopped caring who is helping who. I'm also disappointed in the cast, although I think their performances were mainlyI get where the movie was going, but I don't consider the idea well executed. Everything was so cryptic that I eventually stopped caring who is helping who. I'm also disappointed in the cast, although I think their performances were mainly worsened by the script and directing. Cringe-inducing, long sex scenes, gory torture scenes that make you wonder what the movie is trying to be: A classic spy thriller, Fifty Shades of Grey, some gory shocker? I don't know, It seems to be a mixture of all three where no part is really thought through. All in all, a pretty disappointing flick. Had hopes in the cast that were shattered by the horrid writing. 4 Points go to a few decent acting moments (in the not-cringy scenes), a good score and fairly decent cinematography and editing.

Oh and by the way: Is this what female empowerment in "me-too"-Hollywood looks like? The female protagonist seducing, having sex and getting raped on screen? Oh come on...
Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
6
arielprimeMar 2, 2018
Red Sparrow, Directed by Francis Lawrence and starring the eccentric Jennifer Lawrence. This film wasn’t terrible, but it also wasn’t that great. The middle ground where this lies is an okay movie about a ballerina that becomes recruited toRed Sparrow, Directed by Francis Lawrence and starring the eccentric Jennifer Lawrence. This film wasn’t terrible, but it also wasn’t that great. The middle ground where this lies is an okay movie about a ballerina that becomes recruited to be a spy for the Russian government. Sounds pretty “meh” right? Yeah I thought so at first too. There was no style or flare to it at all either, there was just more focus on its character moments that were overdrawn to highlight some plot details that were missable. The film was marketed in a way that could be mistaken for a spy action thriller, but there was barely any of that too. The action that did happen was brutal and quick but really at times served as plot devices to move the characters’ story along for the sake of the film, and at a certain point for the sake of runtime, this **** was long.

Overall, Jennifer Lawrence doing a Russian accent for over 2 hours is pretty interesting, but the rest of it didn’t deliver like the music of the film thought it did. Great acting, great score, uneven story.

6/10. P.S. Go see Black Panther
Expand
5 of 8 users found this helpful53
All this user's reviews
3
JonnyMentholMar 11, 2018
Absolutely horrible and not in the way it wants to be, simply a bad film. Acting by Lawrence was pretty decent everything else...just bad. I can't believe critics are giving films like this positive reviews when they Bomb films with anyAbsolutely horrible and not in the way it wants to be, simply a bad film. Acting by Lawrence was pretty decent everything else...just bad. I can't believe critics are giving films like this positive reviews when they Bomb films with any funding by Netflix which in general are much better than this trash. Do yourself a favour, save the money and give this a skip. Expand
3 of 5 users found this helpful32
All this user's reviews
0
AlexsaysMar 16, 2018
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This movie is the first movie that made me to leave the cinema before the end. I was trying to enjoy it but I don't know where to start, I was there for 40 mins, hoping that something was going to be at least better than the previous scene, but nope, so finally I decided that if they took my money, they were not going to steal my time.

Acting was wrong, awfully wrong, but it wasn't the worst, in fact it was the less wrong stuff of all this ""movie"" (because is not a movie, is just more anti-russian propaganda), what about Jennifer Lawrence being raped because... I still don't know the reason?, I guess the director just wanted to see her nude and in that manner, so that brings me to -> is this casting (director, plot writer, etc) a casting of criminals? I don't know if that STRONG word would fit them, but definitely something is wrong with them, the hate that they show (on purpouse) on this movie, is just aaaaawful.

Don't go to watch this... THING, you will completely spoil your time on it.
Expand
4 of 7 users found this helpful43
All this user's reviews
1
clifbarMar 9, 2018
One of the worst movies I have seen in a long time. Amateurish plot was hard to follow. Hard to understand what was being said. Two great actors were wasted on this movie.
5 of 9 users found this helpful54
All this user's reviews
4
mcindoe-jordanMar 4, 2018
Besides Jennifer Lawrence's boobs there is nothing special about this film.
5 of 10 users found this helpful55
All this user's reviews
0
namelessJun 11, 2018
This film is unwatchable. I waited to see it on the plane. I tried 3 times and had to turn it off each time it was so bad. The fake accent, the same expression, the one dimensional characters she plays. So I fast forwarded to the end; herThis film is unwatchable. I waited to see it on the plane. I tried 3 times and had to turn it off each time it was so bad. The fake accent, the same expression, the one dimensional characters she plays. So I fast forwarded to the end; her expression was still the same. So if you think the movie might get better when it reaches cable, I'm sorry to tell you it doesn't, but at least you can turn it off. Expand
2 of 4 users found this helpful22
All this user's reviews
4
tigawayneMar 5, 2018
Red Sparrow is a spy thriller that attempts to build tension in its narrative. However, the tension falls flat throughout most of the film. The slow pacing aiming for genuine tension is unsuccessful with little emotional or narrative payoffRed Sparrow is a spy thriller that attempts to build tension in its narrative. However, the tension falls flat throughout most of the film. The slow pacing aiming for genuine tension is unsuccessful with little emotional or narrative payoff and lack of thrill in this psychological thriller. Most of the character developments are thin and flawed, except for the main character Dominika, played by Jennifer Lawrence, who is given enough backstory to be invested in. However, Dominika’s character doesn't feel believable, as the development of her skills as a spy is only briefly explained and shown in the film, which makes it difficult to fully believe that she is a competent spy, which is also what the film is mainly about. The film does show solid cinematography and production design. It is also full of great acting performances, and very obvious dedication to the film by the actors are shown, especially in sexual scenes. The ending of the film is slightly more satisfying than the rest of the film as well. Nevertheless, the film is ultimately boring and bland, failing in creating the emotional weight and narrative coherence it needs.
4/10
Expand
2 of 4 users found this helpful22
All this user's reviews
1
DarkArtJun 6, 2018
The russians were again shown as villains. Again this primitive! Writers and director russophobes who do not have any clever ideas.
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
3
section20mi6Jun 14, 2018
An artistically boring storyline accompanied with cliche character narratives, Red Sparrow is simply awful in its direction, making the film one of the most atrocious representation of espionage.
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
0
AlextheamazingRJul 15, 2018
Awful and sexist movie, the acting and direction very basic, the plot confusing and stupid.
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
1
CandsMar 3, 2018
This is an R rated film, but in fact it should be X rated! To say that the director went too far would be an under statement. Scenes of violence, explicit sex and sex crimes have left me feeling violated! My husband and I went to watch theThis is an R rated film, but in fact it should be X rated! To say that the director went too far would be an under statement. Scenes of violence, explicit sex and sex crimes have left me feeling violated! My husband and I went to watch the movie for our date night last night, expecting an exciting action thriller. Instead we were met with an indecent pornographic film. At one point I really wanted to leave the cinema, but the cinema was packed and I didn't want to cause a scene. If this is the type of movie we have resorted to calling entertainment, then I am deeply saddened for humanity. Anyone with any sense of decency will simply find this movie a violation of all that they are. Not to mention the fact that the Russian accents were so poor and many of the actors would even slip out of their accent! Expand
8 of 17 users found this helpful89
All this user's reviews
8
Jess_HillMar 2, 2018
A gripping and uncomfortable experience, this is a film exploring female power not to take lightly. Lawrence is utterly mesmerising, and the savagery she brings to the brutal action sequences, coupled with the cultivated vulnerability of herA gripping and uncomfortable experience, this is a film exploring female power not to take lightly. Lawrence is utterly mesmerising, and the savagery she brings to the brutal action sequences, coupled with the cultivated vulnerability of her appearance is breathtaking. The pacing is slower than one might expect, though it quickens in the third act, but the true pleasure is to be gained from the twisted plot which truly keeps the audience guessing even in the final moments. There is a raw edge to this film, which makes the violence more visceral and disturbing than other recent genre pieces, resulting in a film which is more affecting than anticipated. 8.43/10 Expand
5 of 12 users found this helpful57
All this user's reviews
8
FatalBrushMar 3, 2018
Red Sparrow is what I'd expect from a good thriller: Watching this movie was an exciting experience and sometimes even borderline uncomfortable - in a good way though. The story evolved quite unexpectedly and the movie overall had goodRed Sparrow is what I'd expect from a good thriller: Watching this movie was an exciting experience and sometimes even borderline uncomfortable - in a good way though. The story evolved quite unexpectedly and the movie overall had good cinematic too it. One thing I didn't like at all was the "Russian accent" which seemed way too exaggerated and thus made it harder to focus on what's really important. Otherwise it's a movie I'd recommend. Expand
5 of 12 users found this helpful57
All this user's reviews
9
yellowatlasMar 2, 2018
Director Francis Lawrence, DP Jo Willems and composer James Newton Howard are at the top of their game in this; I applaud them for never holding any punches. This is an unapologetic brutal film, a rare find for a big release nowadays. I feltDirector Francis Lawrence, DP Jo Willems and composer James Newton Howard are at the top of their game in this; I applaud them for never holding any punches. This is an unapologetic brutal film, a rare find for a big release nowadays. I felt a very Fincher-esque vibe with this, and I think that was the intention.
If you enjoy a slow burn, old-fashioned spy thriller; this is a must-see.
Expand
5 of 14 users found this helpful59
All this user's reviews
6
JPKMar 3, 2018
This Was Maybe A Little "Too Intense"
Don't Get Me Wrong, There's A lot To Like About Red Sparrow Like The Visuals, Performances, And Action Scenes, But This Film Is NOT For The Faint Of Heart.
2 of 6 users found this helpful24
All this user's reviews
5
yosemiteMar 4, 2018
Any film with a naked Jennifer Lawrence automatically gets a five. The plot had potential but got muddled with heavily accented dialogues and a lack of consistency. The background scenes were overall dark and bleak and the violence had anAny film with a naked Jennifer Lawrence automatically gets a five. The plot had potential but got muddled with heavily accented dialogues and a lack of consistency. The background scenes were overall dark and bleak and the violence had an overkill aspect. As good as Jennifer always is, the violent scenes might have been better with a lesser known actress. I'd still see the movie but wouldn't have expected so much. Its o.k...... Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
10
CraigcasslerMar 3, 2018
I went in not knowing much about the film. I thought it was a great thriller which kept you guessing the entire movie. I thought the acting was great throughout too. A unique storyline to a spy movie.
7 of 26 users found this helpful719
All this user's reviews
10
Thomas94Mar 9, 2018
Brilliant, thrilling, unique spy movie. Jennifer Lawrence is sensational, the best actress of her generation.
2 of 8 users found this helpful26
All this user's reviews
8
robtastic84Mar 10, 2018
It's not best picture quality, but there are some astounding performances and uniquely dark material that make for an entertaining and interesting film.
2 of 8 users found this helpful26
All this user's reviews
10
ariesta12Mar 8, 2018
Watch Red Sparrow Full Movie - Online Free [ HD ] Streaming .
Watch here : http://qn.telemovie.pw/movie/401981/red-sparrow.html
2 of 8 users found this helpful26
All this user's reviews
6
TVJerryMar 6, 2018
Jennifer Lawrence teams up again with her director from the "Hunger Games" series, but this time they're playing down the action and ramping up the intrigue. She plays a Russian ballerina who becomes a ramped-up spy. There are almost noJennifer Lawrence teams up again with her director from the "Hunger Games" series, but this time they're playing down the action and ramping up the intrigue. She plays a Russian ballerina who becomes a ramped-up spy. There are almost no moments of action and a few sadistic torture scenes, but most of the film relies on a complex web of seduction, maneuvering and deception. Lawrence brings a steely coldness to her character (and some ferocious bangs). She seldom smiles or even gets to enjoy her deceptions or victories. The intrigue usually keeps you guessing, but there are some plot points that strain credibility. If you're expecting kick-ass action like last year's ATOMIC BLONDE, you'll find this espionage thriller more somber and serious than exciting. Expand
1 of 4 users found this helpful13
All this user's reviews
5
JLuis_001Mar 22, 2018
The script lacks direction and therefore the suspense is null and that is a huge problem when we are talking about a thriller about spies and considering all the patriotic and moral ambiguity of all the people involved, very soon it no longerThe script lacks direction and therefore the suspense is null and that is a huge problem when we are talking about a thriller about spies and considering all the patriotic and moral ambiguity of all the people involved, very soon it no longer matters which side ended up taking the best part.

Jennifer Lawrence manages to act in a good way when needed but she practically spends the whole film with a cold and empty look that could be considered necessary because of the nature of her character but it ends up playing against her because her fate ceases to be relevant most of the time, especially in the final part.

Francis Lawrence tried to make a dark thriller for adults and I admit that he tried, but he really needed a better story and also he needed to step up his filmmaking skills to get a better rhythm to his narrative and especially to know where to cut because with 140 minutes, Red Sparrow feels incredibly excessive

It wasn't so bad but it will be an irrelevant movie in the career of everyone involved.
Expand
1 of 4 users found this helpful13
All this user's reviews
8
bbrmoraesApr 15, 2018
The movie and it script make me think that's a R version of Mission: Impossible. It's good, well acted, but the development is kind of confusing, but don't make the spectator lost. Unfortunately, i believe we are passing in a time that allThe movie and it script make me think that's a R version of Mission: Impossible. It's good, well acted, but the development is kind of confusing, but don't make the spectator lost. Unfortunately, i believe we are passing in a time that all movie will be forgot it soon, and thats's the case of Red Sparrow. However, i hope we can see Jennifer and Francis together again in a possible sequel. Expand
1 of 4 users found this helpful13
All this user's reviews
9
p_reinMar 14, 2018
Her fake accent did not bother me at all.
She did it very subtle and believable.
The plot was alright. Entertaining movie.
2 of 9 users found this helpful27
All this user's reviews
8
LamontRaymondMar 2, 2018
No idea what some of these critics are smokin' because I had a lot of fun with this film. Sure, a couple of the sequences and transitions were rushed, but 6 red scores for this movie? Nah. Well made.
4 of 19 users found this helpful415
All this user's reviews
10
dramaxandraMar 2, 2018
It is true that Red Sparrow without Jennifer Lawrence would just be half as good. She is the center of the movie and with minimal acting she tells us everything we need to know. Just outstanding - one of her best performances and movies toIt is true that Red Sparrow without Jennifer Lawrence would just be half as good. She is the center of the movie and with minimal acting she tells us everything we need to know. Just outstanding - one of her best performances and movies to date! It´s just a look into her eyes and you are inside everything she has to experience or endure. In the middle of a truly haunting story which will stay with you for a very long time. And which you´ll want to rewatch to catch all the twists and turns!
From the first scene on you are seated in a roller coaster which goes on and on and you don´t know how to leave - but that is all meant in a positive way! You never want to leave it, you want to know what happens next! You experience one hell of a ride and yes it´s violent and there are some sex scenes but it is a movie for grown-up people and they should not have a problem with that. Everything happening in Red Sparrow is for a cause and not violence and explosions with no sense at all. We see this way too often in movies nowadays so this one should be highly appreciated.
Alongside Jennifer Lawrence´s wonderful performance there is a really good supporting cast, especially Matthias Schoenaerts as her uncle Vanya. Joel Edgerton, Charlotte Rampling, Jeremy Irons and all the others were fine as well.
I loved the wonderful cinematography and the truly brillant score from James Newton Howard. it is definitely one of his best! You have to check this out as well!
Francis Lawrence and author Justin Haythe did a great job bringing Jason Matthew´s novel to life for the big screen. It is different from the book in some ways but this is good and the movie really keeps you guessing like the trailer announced.
Red Sparrow gives you insight into a world of its own, we are allowed to witness for 2 1/2 hours. You feel like being strangled at moments because there is no choice at all for the leading lady, but in the end you can really understand what being empowered means! It is a spy movie masterpiece! And Dominika is one of the brave, fearless, deep woman characters we need nowadays! I hope for the other books of Jason Matthews to become movies as well since we really need more of this powerful woman character. So go see this movie! It´s excellent!
Expand
3 of 15 users found this helpful312
All this user's reviews
7
kcsimmsMar 6, 2018
Like many others, I didn't know much about the film prior to seeing it. I was expecting a female driven James Bond espionage movie, but to my pleasure what I got was something entirely different. Red Sparrow is not an action-packed spy movie,Like many others, I didn't know much about the film prior to seeing it. I was expecting a female driven James Bond espionage movie, but to my pleasure what I got was something entirely different. Red Sparrow is not an action-packed spy movie, but that doesn't mean it shies away from intense and brutal scenes. The typical spy movie action that I'm referring to consists of chase scenes, drawn-out fight scenes, improbable stunts, and so on. This movie doesn't really possess any of those qualities. I know there was some controversy surrounding this movie. Some were upset and under the impression that it was politically charged, while others thought the movie was misrepresented through advertisements. The movie was unexpected, but not in a bad way. I think that for people that expected and looked forward to a typical spy thriller were let down. Also, I understand why some people thought the violence and nudity was gratuitous considering they were expecting something more appropriate. Personally, I didn't think the violence or nudity in this film was gratuitous by any means. But I am someone who sees a lot of films from a broad spectrum, so it's hard for me to be offended by what I'm seeing. As far as the actual film goes, it was good. There were definitely some problems with the film as far as character development goes. You have a hard time really understanding the protagonist, whether that's by design or not is unknown. The relationship between Jennifer Lawrence's character and Joel Egerton's character will create a lot of questions; it doesn't seem natural, and the chemistry just wasn't there. The twist at the end is pretty good though, and was definitely the best part of the film. Well, that and Jennifer Lawrence's amazing acting yet again. I would recommend seeing this film. Expand
1 of 5 users found this helpful14
All this user's reviews
7
thedaywalkerMar 3, 2018
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. It was a pretty good movie. Jennifer Lawrence was really good in this, but unfortunately her co-stars didn't have the same presence. I liked the opening sequence, it was really in tune with the movie. Now, she starts the movie as a ballerina, just because... there is no other reason for it, sometime into it, you even forget she used to be a dancer. It get's really disturbing in the second act, and a bit of a drag. This is where the lack presence of the actors plays a hard part. She learns a lot of new seductive tricks, which they spent some time in, but she didn't actually do any of those once she left the "whore house".

The third act though gets really interesting, she really pulls off, a great plan that I personally didn't see coming, the good twists that the "spy" genre should have were well executed in my opinion

So i think a better director could have made a way better spy thriller, but Jennifer Lawrence makes this movie half decent
Expand
1 of 6 users found this helpful15
All this user's reviews
7
CharlieSGMar 5, 2018
Jennifer Lawrence actually can act and this demonstrates a little of that talent. The movie itself could have been a bit more suspenseful and seemed a little too much of an 'OK your going to go that way with this - eh' but it still kept meJennifer Lawrence actually can act and this demonstrates a little of that talent. The movie itself could have been a bit more suspenseful and seemed a little too much of an 'OK your going to go that way with this - eh' but it still kept me very interested. It did not need all the graphic stuff to make it good, as the story was well developed. Expand
1 of 6 users found this helpful15
All this user's reviews
8
SileSixEchoMar 20, 2018
Very good movie with interesting storyline. Some scenes are a bit over the top though. Nevertheless, I found it to be a great movie to watch, especially for the great performances and images.
1 of 7 users found this helpful16
All this user's reviews
10
Mike_HunterMar 2, 2018
Taut suspenseful thriller. The story may be too slow for some, but I love these kinds of movies. The sex and violence have been greatly exaggerated, but if you're triggered by such things avoid it. It's a little cringe worthy a couple ofTaut suspenseful thriller. The story may be too slow for some, but I love these kinds of movies. The sex and violence have been greatly exaggerated, but if you're triggered by such things avoid it. It's a little cringe worthy a couple of times. I recommend it. Expand
2 of 15 users found this helpful213
All this user's reviews
10
BLADErunner2018Mar 15, 2018
Great film with a stunnig performance of Jennifer Lawrence and Matthias Schoenaerts. Jennifer Lawrence gets better and more exciting with every film she makes. I am definetely a fan and love this film
1 of 9 users found this helpful18
All this user's reviews
9
RicardoFuriosoMar 18, 2018
When you watch Red Sparrow, you're often watching a closeup of its star—the woman whose vehicle this movie was built to be—Jennifer Lawrence. Which is fine, because this is a predictably lovely face. But, what are unexpected are both herWhen you watch Red Sparrow, you're often watching a closeup of its star—the woman whose vehicle this movie was built to be—Jennifer Lawrence. Which is fine, because this is a predictably lovely face. But, what are unexpected are both her excellent portrayal of a double- and triple-crossing unwilling-yet-unrepentant Russian agent AND the plot twists that keep you on the edge of your seat from a few minutes into the film to its surprise climax. Both toasted—and denigrated—by quite a few critics for its graphic violence, this film deserves a serious look, because it pulls no punches pulling back the curtain on the lying, thieving, torture, and murder of the clandestine world of spy vs. spy. Blood, guts, guns, and gore are what you sign up for in the double-crossing life of an agent. And that's what you get when you buy your ticket to see Red Sparrow. If that's not what you're looking for, no problem. Disney has lots of G-Rated offerings in the multiplex. Stunned that this spy thriller barely broke 50 on Metacritic, it deserves better, my vote is for the cinematography, the score, and the acting in this cinematic tour-de-force. Expand
1 of 10 users found this helpful19
All this user's reviews
8
c17roxMar 3, 2018
Please do not assume based on these reviews that claim this is a bad film. It's not. It's frankly disappointing to see a movie like this being given such poor marks, especially from audience members. The main complaints seem to be that thePlease do not assume based on these reviews that claim this is a bad film. It's not. It's frankly disappointing to see a movie like this being given such poor marks, especially from audience members. The main complaints seem to be that the film is slow, boring, and poorly written. Those who are voicing these complaints probably worship Marvel films and need a gratuitous action sequence every 3 seconds. On the contrary, the character development of Red Sparrow is spot on. The film is gorgeously shot. James Newton Howard's score adds tension in just the right areas. The action scenes are spread out, making the film more dialogue-centric; but that's what makes it so gripping. Those with small attention spans should wait for the next Mission Impossible or Thor sequel 32... while others should go and appreciate the true slow-burn thriller that Red Sparrow has to offer. Expand
1 of 11 users found this helpful110
All this user's reviews
7
istanbulMar 27, 2018
it is not the sexiest spy movie ever done. nor is it the smartest - (latter for sure!) yet it still holds its own, mostly thanks to an experienced and awfully underused supporting cast. It is mostly a vehicle for Jennifer Lawrence, and sheit is not the sexiest spy movie ever done. nor is it the smartest - (latter for sure!) yet it still holds its own, mostly thanks to an experienced and awfully underused supporting cast. It is mostly a vehicle for Jennifer Lawrence, and she bares her body more so than her soul in an underwhelming role that is not serving her well. Side note - Interesting to see that Hollywood began using the binary morality codes of the cold war era once again. Corrupt and ruthless comrades versus the humanitarian yet jaded Americans. I guess Cold War is not over after all. Expand
0 of 5 users found this helpful05
All this user's reviews
7
EludiumQ36May 31, 2018
Geez, reviews are all over the place. This is a good film, not great, not poor, it's not a waste of time. I think the underlying problem is with JLaw's casting, she's just not right for the part. In fact, a rising unknown would've worked outGeez, reviews are all over the place. This is a good film, not great, not poor, it's not a waste of time. I think the underlying problem is with JLaw's casting, she's just not right for the part. In fact, a rising unknown would've worked out best. I think JLaw brings certain baggage/expectations that hurt this story; she's more of a distraction than attraction. Otherwise, the story is engaging and the double-cross isn't as evident as some say, though it's understandable - I think some mistake that for predictable. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
6
GinaKMar 5, 2018
Red Sparrow is a very difficult movie to pass judgement on for one big reason – it is much too long. It goes on and on and on and on until you want to scream “enough already” and beg for mercy. Jennifer Lawrence was very good, as was the restRed Sparrow is a very difficult movie to pass judgement on for one big reason – it is much too long. It goes on and on and on and on until you want to scream “enough already” and beg for mercy. Jennifer Lawrence was very good, as was the rest of the cast, which included interesting actors like Jeremy Irons, Charlotte Rampling, Ciaran Hinds, Joely Richardson, and Matthias Schoenaerts. I wouldn’t even say it was badly edited, but the film needed a firm hand to trim out at least 15 minutes and perhaps even a half hour. Expand
0 of 3 users found this helpful03
All this user's reviews
7
BrianMcCriticJun 16, 2018
A film I admire while wanting more intrigue and a little more punch. One has to admire the performances and the story kept my interest. This is a solid film worthy of a one time watch. B
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
5
marcmyworksMay 9, 2018
Red Sparrow is one of those films that keeps going and going and going with no end in site. The bad Russian accents don't help either. The whole movie I sat there going, 'Everyone in Moscow speaks English?'
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
7
eagleeyevikingSep 18, 2018
More interesting and deep than your average spy-thriller, but hampered by a dense plot, "Red Sparrow" is a mostly effective film by Francis Lawrence and Jennifer Lawrence.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
0
EliOli123May 13, 2019
My wife and I saw the previews for this movie while watching another one. It looked like it was going to be a pretty decent movie in the Spy genre from what we saw, so we picked up a copy. It started out well, but the graphic rape scenes,My wife and I saw the previews for this movie while watching another one. It looked like it was going to be a pretty decent movie in the Spy genre from what we saw, so we picked up a copy. It started out well, but the graphic rape scenes, nudity and just the subject matter of training these young people to be whores was absolutely disgusting. When we saw the naked lead actress obeying orders to spread her legs for the man that just tried to rape her earlier, that was enough for us. The blue ray disc was popped out, broken in half and tossed into the trash. Absolutely disgusting. We watch movies to be entertained, not to feel violated. They could have gotten their points across without these graphic scenes. We just couldn't take it any more. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
8
Casas9425Mar 12, 2018
Do not listen to the critics. For me, this film was better than Atomic Bomb. It's a thriller, with no kick ass action, violent, sexual, and brutal. Lawrence delivers a good performance as usual. I was impressed with the supporting cast asDo not listen to the critics. For me, this film was better than Atomic Bomb. It's a thriller, with no kick ass action, violent, sexual, and brutal. Lawrence delivers a good performance as usual. I was impressed with the supporting cast as well. The twist at the end was fantastic. It's not perfect, but it's enjoyable if you like spy films. Expand
0 of 6 users found this helpful06
All this user's reviews
6
CineAutoctonoMar 10, 2018
"Red Sparrow" was a good movie, the story is wild and catchy although it was a bit boring, and Jennifer Lawrence made another good performance, no doubt another in the track record, maybe they did not adapt the story well but we have achieved"Red Sparrow" was a good movie, the story is wild and catchy although it was a bit boring, and Jennifer Lawrence made another good performance, no doubt another in the track record, maybe they did not adapt the story well but we have achieved a unique version. Expand
0 of 3 users found this helpful03
All this user's reviews
8
RobotoMrMay 12, 2018
I cannot believe what I've read in these bad reviews. "Too difficult to watch"... are you kidding me? That's like watching a horror film and saying "It's too scary!".
0 of 7 users found this helpful07
All this user's reviews
7
Nathan1423Mar 4, 2018
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. It's worth a watch. Worth a stream. Jennifer does a great job. Plot is a little too rapey. Three different dudes want or try to rape her. Her character handles it well by beating their asses, generally, but still. I feel like the training scenes could've handled the sexual aspect of her training better. That part felt kinda forced and empty. Overall not too shabby. Expand
0 of 5 users found this helpful05
All this user's reviews
7
megudyehMar 6, 2018
The best thing in Red Sparrow is Jennifer Lawrence's portrayal of a smart independent woman. Red Sparrow is an interesting mystery-thriller that attempts to be stylish by adding lots of suspense and noir elements but it's dragged down byThe best thing in Red Sparrow is Jennifer Lawrence's portrayal of a smart independent woman. Red Sparrow is an interesting mystery-thriller that attempts to be stylish by adding lots of suspense and noir elements but it's dragged down by several things. Firstly the torture scenes were unnecessarily explicit, much too brutal and blunt for this mystery genre I believe. Secondly for a heavy foreign accent like Russian, English subtitles should've accompanied the film. Instead half of the dialogue fell on deaf ears which made it very difficult to understand what the hell is going on. Thirdly the whore school sex scenes destroyed any sense of possible intimacy later on. I would've given it an 8.5 or 9 if those 3 negatives were taken out. Expand
0 of 6 users found this helpful06
All this user's reviews
6
MetaflixMar 10, 2018
'Red Sparrow' is a familiar U.S.-Russian spy thriller based on the 2013 novel of the same name.

Jennifer Lawrence and Joel Edgerton both excel in their roles, with Lawrence playing a ballerina turned state sponsored seductress tasked with
'Red Sparrow' is a familiar U.S.-Russian spy thriller based on the 2013 novel of the same name.

Jennifer Lawrence and Joel Edgerton both excel in their roles, with Lawrence playing a ballerina turned state sponsored seductress tasked with prying information out of CIA agent Edgerton. At this point, no amount of intensity or nuance is beyond their acting range, which should come as no surprise to anyone following their careers. The problem with 'Red Sparrow' lay in its plot, most notably in the complete lack of subtlety when unfurling certain plot points in an attempt to ramp up the drama. Perhaps it works better in the novel, where the actions of the spymasters are confined to the boundaries of one's own imagination. Regardless, a keen eye for editorial discretion is key. Case in point: the ending flirted with sheer brilliance, and audience members might've actually been able to appreciate it had they not been shell-shocked by a bizarre and completely nonsensical incestuous kiss leading up to the finale.
Expand
0 of 4 users found this helpful04
All this user's reviews
6
ViniciusBritoJul 27, 2018
A russian young girl that trained to be a ballet dancer wich was her purpose in life, which made her special at that time, but after a injury her carreer is over and impossibility she to dance again. Then in order to help she and her mom toA russian young girl that trained to be a ballet dancer wich was her purpose in life, which made her special at that time, but after a injury her carreer is over and impossibility she to dance again. Then in order to help she and her mom to have a decent life, she got a invitation to get in a school to become a sparrow by her uncle, that school trained her to be a sparrow, agents that work for someone in favor of get information with the sensuality, approaching of targets using her body. Based on a book and directed by Francis Lawrence.
The story of this movie goes in a slow rhythm, it does have a dark aspect and emotionless. I liked the tension that was in the story, and it made me believe that pretty much everyone was in dangerous, not exactly made care about them, but did me believe that anyone could go any time, by any stumbling. The core of the movie is very interesting, and the way that they explored it was very good, showing her training, and demonstrating how did she learn those things was very good. The big problem is that the movie tries to imply a confidence and assurance that really comes out of nowhere, things that happened to fast and didn't felt organic or natural, it felt rushed and even senseless, wich is curious considering that the movie have 150 minutes, that's a lot of time and still things felt out of palce, crucial things, a character that was supose to be rival with the other and just start to believe in the other out of nothing felt really wrong and took me out of the movie. The story goes in a way that during it a lot of things happens that doesn't make sense at all and feel dislocated, but at the very end it is explained and combined it does, wich i like. It does have some plot twists, and the movie kind of tried to make the viewer not to be sure if the character was in one side or other, wich i also liked.
The acting wasn't a high point in this movie, even considering that the film was indeed with a purpose of emotionless, but i really don't buy it in every moment. Jennifer Lawrence character was the perfect example of emotionless, she didn't had much faces in this movie other than that poker face, she could show fear in some moments, but normally, in moments that she should pass me a woman that is looking to care of someone, in her eyes or voice tones, she didn't delievery this other part, just seemed to be a wall. Joel Edgerton also didn't had much expressions, but i could buy him caring about other characters, and his devotion into a purpose, it didn't convinced me 100% but it wasn't bad. Matthias Schoenaerts was kind of the older relative, that always had advice, he was a little threatening and i believe that he did a good job. Charlotte Rampling, showed confidence and was certain about she was talking, i completely bought what she was talking, she did very well. Jeremy Irons doesn't have a lot of screen time, but the little he convinced me, he was cautious and it convinced me.
The cinematography of the movie don't talk much to us and isn't the most pretty neither, but is worked in some moments and helped to creat this emotionless scenario. There are some moments that the character are explaining what they are going to do and are already showing the thing happening, that was very nice. The soundtrack isn't memorable and doesn't call much attention neither.
The movie makes everybody talk english with a russian accent, sometimes that didn't worked out, it was like if they just forgot about it in some scenes. The movie also forgets some characters that they had. The movie have problems of continuity, it does have sequences that doesn't take nothing to nowhere, comes with some really uninteresting things, and that took me out of the movie sometimes as well. The character does not have layers, taking away one or two. There is the villain and there is the hero, and you needed to choose between them.
The movie also in some moments have a nice mystery, it does have some sequences that are really entertaining, it does have some nice twists and tense moments, it does have a nice editing. The intensity of what happens is really high, it is brutal, it can be gore or even make you want to turn your head in some moments, it does have some triggers that keeped me interested in it, and have a nice ending connecting things that happened before, even if some are a little forced.
This is a thriller of espionage that doesn't have much new, and have a bunch of flaws, but definely have some good things right there.
Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
6
EricgriffinloveMar 25, 2018
With the cast giving all around good performances; and a intriguing premise- Red sparrow is watchable, but lacks direction, focus, and layers to a story that does not feel satisfying.
0 of 6 users found this helpful06
All this user's reviews
7
CoKronakanMar 23, 2019
This felt like a too serious movie, with a to complex plot that still had small elements mission. Anyhow the acting was amazing, Jennifer really delivered on this intense and emotional role. The raw emotion that is showcased in this movie isThis felt like a too serious movie, with a to complex plot that still had small elements mission. Anyhow the acting was amazing, Jennifer really delivered on this intense and emotional role. The raw emotion that is showcased in this movie is amazing, also the events unfold in a very realistic fashion. But sadly the plot faults the movie, because of it's complex nature it does not feel that it delivered, also the message of the movie was really shallow. The ending though was really good with a really fresh twist. The directing style was average at best and nothing out of the ordinary sadly. The script however was really weak. Did not give a lot of explanations on the unfolding of certain plot points. Also the character development had a really big pacing issue, because the time spent and invested in most of the characters was not enough by far, when it was present it was repetitive. The visuals where great and practical, and the sound and audio effects where average but good quality as expected. Overall it was a good movie that had a lot more potential and budget, and it felt like it was rushed at the end and missed a couple of key moments that could have been developed more in detail and length. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
7
wevertonaguiiarMay 22, 2018
"Red Sparrow" é um thriller de espionagem que tem uma ótima protagonista. Muito disso se deve ao trabalho da Jennifer Lawrence que está fantástica aqui: é um atuação minimalista com alguns tons de de exagero que servem perfeitamente para o"Red Sparrow" é um thriller de espionagem que tem uma ótima protagonista. Muito disso se deve ao trabalho da Jennifer Lawrence que está fantástica aqui: é um atuação minimalista com alguns tons de de exagero que servem perfeitamente para o desenvolvimento da personagem e do filme. A direção do Francis Lawrence é extremamente elegante na composição das cenas, e brutal quando precisa ser. A trilha do James Newton Hard se encaixa de forma sensacional a direção, ao roteiro e aos personagens. O elenco de apoio é um problema do filme: ninguém consegue fazer metade do que a Jennifer Lawrence faz. Todos eles estão limitados pelo roteiro problemático, mas mesmo assim dava pra fazer mais. Um dos problemas do filme é falta de imparcialidade: ficou óbvio que os americanos são certos e lutam pela individualidade, enquanto os russos são seres desprezíveis. Enfim, "Red Sparrow" é um thriller ousado, desconfortável, e também é bom: Jennifer Lawrence faz valer a pena. Expand
0 of 3 users found this helpful03
All this user's reviews
7
MaxJadueApr 3, 2018
"Red Sparrow" is a film which deserves recognition for its realism and nail-biting sequences. with a great cast, particularly Jennifer Lawrence, "Red Sparrow" makes for an entertaining thriller. But unfortunately, the film does slightly fall"Red Sparrow" is a film which deserves recognition for its realism and nail-biting sequences. with a great cast, particularly Jennifer Lawrence, "Red Sparrow" makes for an entertaining thriller. But unfortunately, the film does slightly fall apart due to a very muddled plot. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
10
NewshoundMar 25, 2018
Adapted from the best-selling novel, which, in turn was inspired by the work of John LeCarré, this is one of the best spy Thrillers to come along since the original British mini-series of "Tinker Tailor Soldier Spy" and its sequel, "Smiley'sAdapted from the best-selling novel, which, in turn was inspired by the work of John LeCarré, this is one of the best spy Thrillers to come along since the original British mini-series of "Tinker Tailor Soldier Spy" and its sequel, "Smiley's People." The marvelous twists and turns will keep most viewers guessing right up until the end. Jennifer Lawrence is dazzling and is given great support by a wonderful cast including Joel Edgerton, Jeremy Irons, Mary-Louise Parker, Charlotte Rampling, and Joely Richardson. A must-see. Expand
0 of 8 users found this helpful08
All this user's reviews
9
Esskandar85Mar 5, 2019
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I think this movie Deserved to get more score because shows a lot of facts in most of military systems in the world. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
7
DaniLoud123Jan 14, 2019
Una cinta cruda con un reflexión profunda y que introduce un mundo narcisista donde la mujer tiene una posición social irreverente. Sin duda un film que se disfraza de thriller, mientras que es un drama con conflicto interno de por medio.Una cinta cruda con un reflexión profunda y que introduce un mundo narcisista donde la mujer tiene una posición social irreverente. Sin duda un film que se disfraza de thriller, mientras que es un drama con conflicto interno de por medio. Lawrence no tiene un papel igual a los otros, esta vez es inolvidable y potente. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
5
Voodoo123Jul 24, 2019
+ Beautiful 4k HDR presentation
+ Great cast
+ Excellent cinematography - Lacklustre screenplay - Characters/Story seem uncanny - Production misses opportunity to localise a russian cast here While Red Sparrow certainly held my attention, it
+ Beautiful 4k HDR presentation
+ Great cast
+ Excellent cinematography
- Lacklustre screenplay
- Characters/Story seem uncanny
- Production misses opportunity to localise a russian cast here

While Red Sparrow certainly held my attention, it never really commits to any one idea long enough to succeed in casting a true meaning to the events that unfold... In a lot of ways it felt like an episode of chuck if you took chuck away and just watched a dull spy game played too seriously. I honestly feel an all russian cast could've changed the authenticity of the characters, hearing those western actors faking the accent was just keanu reeves dracula level excruciating at times! Despite these flaws, it sure looks nice in 4k HDR!
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
superfieldsJul 9, 2019
unlike many others here, i did enjoy this razor sharp thriller, and its twists and turns. The music adds another appealing layer to the engrossing film.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
miccaelMay 21, 2019
Really strange movie. I like that Jennifer Lawrence is not afraid to take roles like this but movie is just confusing for me. I saw the ending coming, has been foreshadowing for some time, some weird twists made no sense (the torture scene)Really strange movie. I like that Jennifer Lawrence is not afraid to take roles like this but movie is just confusing for me. I saw the ending coming, has been foreshadowing for some time, some weird twists made no sense (the torture scene) and overall, so much blood in it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
MrScallopsJun 19, 2019
This violent and gritty spy thriller features a wonderful Jennifer Lawrence with a faulty Russian accent. The chemistry between her and co-star Taron Edgerton is almost non-existent. After a promising beginning the films starts losing steamThis violent and gritty spy thriller features a wonderful Jennifer Lawrence with a faulty Russian accent. The chemistry between her and co-star Taron Edgerton is almost non-existent. After a promising beginning the films starts losing steam in the middle part before picking up speed again for the end. Even though the story makes a good attempt at being dark and inventive it gets nothing done before the final twist. I did expect more from director Francis Lawrence, now it feels just generic and bland. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews