Buena Vista Pictures | Release Date: June 21, 1985
7.7
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 44 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
36
Mixed:
5
Negative:
3
Watch Now
Stream On
Buy on
Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Expand
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
7
TokyochuchuJan 12, 2013
Return to Oz is a fantastic horror movie for children. Witches that can remove their heads, mutated rollerblading punks, evil rocks that spy on you, ghosts trapped in mirrors, electric shock therapy... This is scary stuff for kids! But notReturn to Oz is a fantastic horror movie for children. Witches that can remove their heads, mutated rollerblading punks, evil rocks that spy on you, ghosts trapped in mirrors, electric shock therapy... This is scary stuff for kids! But not too scary, however, making it an excellent treat come Halloween. Expand
4 of 4 users found this helpful40
All this user's reviews
5
barnet42Oct 5, 2012
The wizard of and Return to Oz are great !!! the Return to oz is more Scary i give a 5 ,the actress Jean Marsh did a great job and this movie is too scary to show to a new younger audience.
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
8
monkeybrainspitMar 3, 2011
â
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
MisterKSFeb 21, 2015
What a masterpiece in visual and storytelling! If you don't mind oz for being darker than the 1939 version, then this is a must-watch. Don't bother the critics!
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
IvoryAngelAug 2, 2013
A wonderful imaginative movie! Amazing special effects for the time, lovable side characters and a lovely soundtrack. Do not try to compare it to the musical. It is its own unique creation. Anyone who thinks that it is too scary for childrenA wonderful imaginative movie! Amazing special effects for the time, lovable side characters and a lovely soundtrack. Do not try to compare it to the musical. It is its own unique creation. Anyone who thinks that it is too scary for children is not giving them (the children) enough credit. My favorite movie when I was three and still one of my favorite movies today. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
EspiocMay 10, 2014
Having read eleven of the fourteen original oz books including the two this movie was based on I found it a perfect and fairly accurate combination of the second and third book in the Oz series. It was never meant to be a sequel to theHaving read eleven of the fourteen original oz books including the two this movie was based on I found it a perfect and fairly accurate combination of the second and third book in the Oz series. It was never meant to be a sequel to the beloved classic but simply a different adaptation of the next books which happen to be a bit darker. Even the Wizard of Oz book was much darker that the movie. Return to Oz strived more for accuracy. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
JPKDec 7, 2019
Pretty Disturbing
Return To Oz is an underrated, creepy, disturbing, and interesting sequel.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
0
ilovemovies1806Aug 8, 2011
this movie has no storyline very scary for younger kids boring as!!! it shames the original! i love disney but they must have been drunk and made this by mistake!!
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
9
GamecubeLoverJul 20, 2016
The characters are still great and the plot is great too. The actors are good but some are strange and not so great. This sequel takes the happiness from the original and shatters it.
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
9
MovieLonely94Nov 1, 2010
Ignore the critics. this movie is beast!
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
8
robertoiglesiasJan 31, 2020
This visually scary 80's film is a sequel to The Wizard of Oz.
I realize that this film can be compared to The Wiz. Both are creepy and are magical.
But where that film really failed in being a good Oz movie (imo check my review), this film
This visually scary 80's film is a sequel to The Wizard of Oz.
I realize that this film can be compared to The Wiz. Both are creepy and are magical.
But where that film really failed in being a good Oz movie (imo check my review), this film succeeds. Because there are nice and kind visuals and imagery and characters between all of the creepy imagery. Plus the performances are good and there aren't an overabundance of annoying songs. I like this
Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
5
Cees_TimmermanOct 18, 2020
Too dark compared to earlier Oz movies, but okay for Halloween. Not as good as Alice in Wonderland or The Neverending Story.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
0
Gamepro3093Mar 15, 2021
Awful sequel to The Wizard Of Oz that was purely an exercise in making money. It is one of the most disappointing sequels to an amazing movie that didn’t even try to wow you. It’s among other crap sequels like Terminator 3, Big Top Pee WeeAwful sequel to The Wizard Of Oz that was purely an exercise in making money. It is one of the most disappointing sequels to an amazing movie that didn’t even try to wow you. It’s among other crap sequels like Terminator 3, Big Top Pee Wee and Tomorrow Never Dies in the club of worst sequels to amazing movies. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
MudokonqueenJun 27, 2020
80s movie effects aside, this movie is as trippy and true to the original works as anyone could ever want. This would make a hell of a remake or mini series, but something tells me losing the 80s animatronics and FX would kill what makes this80s movie effects aside, this movie is as trippy and true to the original works as anyone could ever want. This would make a hell of a remake or mini series, but something tells me losing the 80s animatronics and FX would kill what makes this movie so beloved. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews