Riddick

Metascore
49

Mixed or average reviews - based on 35 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 35
  2. Negative: 8 out of 35

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On

Critic Reviews

  1. Reviewed by: Ignatiy Vishnevetsky
    Sep 5, 2013
    83
    In an era of high-falutin’ tentpole sci-fi, there’s something to be said for a filmmaker still devoted to crafting plain old genre pleasures.
  2. Reviewed by: Bruce Ingram
    Sep 6, 2013
    75
    It’s nothing new for sure, but writer/director David Twohy...throws in enough entertaining touches to maintain interest — despite an overlong two-hour running time.
  3. Reviewed by: James Berardinelli
    Sep 6, 2013
    75
    Riddick isn't perfect but it's a good high-octane sci-fi tinged action/thriller.
  4. 75
    The quickest and easiest way to humanize an unlikeable movie character is to give him a lovable dog, and so it goes with Riddick.
  5. Reviewed by: Michael Phillips
    Sep 5, 2013
    75
    It's fun! Extremely violent, cleverly managed fun, full of eviscerating aliens.
  6. Reviewed by: Manohla Dargis
    Sep 5, 2013
    70
    There’s one man alone, stranded on a seemingly desolate distant planet with only his wits, his fists and his voice-over. That voice-over is mercifully spare, the landscape atmospherically barren and the action nice and tight.
  7. Reviewed by: Scott Foundas
    Sep 4, 2013
    70
    An improbable but very enjoyable sequel that recaptures much of the stripped-down intensity of Diesel and director David Twohy’s franchise starter "Pitch Black."
  8. Reviewed by: Marc Savlov
    Sep 9, 2013
    67
    While "The Chronicles of Riddick" was an overstuffed melange of CGI and unnecessary subplots, Riddick is a far more streamlined affair, and all the better for it.
  9. Reviewed by: Drew Taylor
    Sep 4, 2013
    67
    Riddick, as a character, is best when he's alone, fighting against insurmountable odds, with narratives that serve his singular nastiness.
  10. Reviewed by: Matt Patches
    Sep 4, 2013
    64
    Riddick is a fractured skeleton of a script, with each distinct installment scratching its own itch.
  11. Reviewed by: Kyle Smith
    Sep 30, 2013
    63
    The movie jogs along nicely without ever getting a case of the stupids; far from being a bloated “John Carter,” it’s just a pared-down yarn of survival: “Die Hard” on a planet.
  12. Reviewed by: Stephanie Merry
    Sep 6, 2013
    63
    Riddick can be cheesy and silly, not to mention excessively violent, but it’s also fun.
  13. Reviewed by: Odie Henderson
    Sep 6, 2013
    63
    Twohy's script contains macho dialogue so ripe it's embarrassing to hear it.
User Score
7.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 385 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 69 out of 112
  2. Negative: 13 out of 112
  1. Sep 6, 2013
    10
    dont believe the critics. They are wrong as often. If u liked part 1 an 2 u will love part 3. Not an academy award candidate but a typical vindont believe the critics. They are wrong as often. If u liked part 1 an 2 u will love part 3. Not an academy award candidate but a typical vin diesel riddick and highly entertaining. I luved the movie. go and watch it! Full Review »
  2. Sep 6, 2013
    10
    I saw this at the 8pm Premiere in RPX Regal Theaters. Firs toff, the uptight, liberal and politically correct critics are very wrong aboutI saw this at the 8pm Premiere in RPX Regal Theaters. Firs toff, the uptight, liberal and politically correct critics are very wrong about this movie. He plays Riddick as Riddick has always been and it shows how wimpy a socidety we have become for this to "offend" so many delicate sensibilities. You can't go to a Riddick movie and fairly judge it if you are a "The Notebook," type of person.

    This is hardcore SCIFI(thankfully as it has been too long since we have had one), it is Adventure, Action, and even has a bit of comedy. I give it a 10 to offset the pathetic people slamming it because it has too much "machismo."

    Put simply, if you enjoyed Pitch Black(especially) as this is more like that) and like the Riddick character, then do yourself a favor and go watch this! If you don't like exciting scenes with monsters, gratuitous violence, men acting like men(hey they even had PC scenes for the feminist crowd- a woman beats a guy down improbably several times, but he really deserved it.

    So it is simply, if you like Pitch black, if you like horror, thrillers, scifi, and action then do yourself a favor and go see this. Don't listen to biased critics whose own reviews impeach themselves as being against this movie before they saw it.

    I would give this an 8.5 btw and Pitch Black a 9.5 were it not for the horrible and FALSE reviews, so I gave it a 1.05+ to tr and even out these BS reviews.

    Thanks to Metacritic though for allowing people to speak out when the critics unfairly target their hated genres/actors, or whatever political beliefs they have that remove all impartiality from their reviews and make it about feminism and such.

    To me, this wasn't as good as Pitch Black, but it was GOOD. Remember this too, Vin put his own money on the line because he wanted his fans to have this movie.

    A tip: this isn't a spoiler, but hopefully will save you some time: there is nothing after the credits so don't feel stupid like I did and sit there until the credits end. :)

    SCIFI IS BACK BABY!!
    Full Review »
  3. Sep 6, 2013
    9
    Wow, what a well crafted movie. My only critique is that I was hoping for an even more dramatic ending. If you liked Pitch Black but notWow, what a well crafted movie. My only critique is that I was hoping for an even more dramatic ending. If you liked Pitch Black but not Chronicles of Riddick, this is more like a direct sequel to the first movie, but don't worry, they acknowledge the continuity from Chronicles of Riddick very well. Karl Urban! Anyway, it was really good, not for younglings though. Good sci-fi. Diesel and his crew are clearly a devoted fan to Riddick and the genre. Full Review »