MGM/UA Distribution Company | Release Date: November 16, 1990
5.6
USER SCORE
Mixed or average reviews based on 138 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
41
Mixed:
70
Negative:
27
Watch Now
Stream On
Buy on
Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Expand
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
pick70Sep 28, 2013
For true Rocky fans I feel they get it. Yes its hard to compare to Rocky 4 but in my opinion that is the best in the franchise. Now I know everyone wanted to see Rocky traing then in tue ring which could have easily beendone but they decidedFor true Rocky fans I feel they get it. Yes its hard to compare to Rocky 4 but in my opinion that is the best in the franchise. Now I know everyone wanted to see Rocky traing then in tue ring which could have easily beendone but they decided to go in a differnt direction. In Rocky one he was a loan shark with no money this movie returns Rocky to his roots and "the Duke" even says Rocky is a street fighter which he was. The point of the movie was what Adrian says in the street he's not Mickey and Tommy is not Rocky because he doesn't hhave his heart. The best line is when pauly gets knocked downbin the bar and Rocky says You knocked him down why dont you try and knock me down!" And Mickey telling him he has one more round and he didn't hear a bell speaks to Rocky's heart and it gives me goose bumps. This movie was panned by critics but what do they know? In closing if you dont watch every previous film then it wont have the same impact. Expand
3 of 5 users found this helpful32
All this user's reviews
7
UnorusJancoDec 24, 2015
This may not be a great film, but unlike all other sequels it feels like Rocky and is fairly entertaining, and still miles ahead of terrible movies like Rocky IV.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
9
NerijusDOct 4, 2009
Rocky getting back to his roots and learning to appreciate life.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JimmyP.Dec 27, 2007
Great performance by all the cast, along with a good storyline. Why doesn't Metacritic review the other Rocky films?
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
leofromthedarkDec 27, 2016
Though the cheesiest of the franchise, Rocky V has a lot more heart and interesting dialogue than previous entries. With a really strong performance by Richard Gant as George Washington Duke.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
KelvinSelimorOct 6, 2020
Rocky V. Fighter of the ring and street. Controversial film. On the one hand, it is quite boring almost all the time. On the other hand, it is very atmospheric and effective at the end compared to the previous parts.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
DiptanshuJun 24, 2020
the best in franchise after 1st one its underrated gem!it was emotionally and mentally brilliant and satisfying,it was unique and fresh and new take on Rocky's journey rather than same plot another level fights,it was heart-breaking,touchingthe best in franchise after 1st one its underrated gem!it was emotionally and mentally brilliant and satisfying,it was unique and fresh and new take on Rocky's journey rather than same plot another level fights,it was heart-breaking,touching and brilliant.the music was phenomenal,the story was brilliant so does screenplay,the acting was iconic the new characters were amazing with there politics and the family was great,the starting comeback from Russia and the new challenge for rocky from new Manager it was like here we go again it felt like its going same way as prequels but it was surprising,the whole bankrupt thing and the cause for it the Paul he's like it just happened it was over the top and miss-fortunate thing,the reunion of old house and the streets were amazing the flashbacks of Mickey's were emotionally touching and great,the back in business for Rocky as trainer and the new Guy Tommy and there friendship at start was amazingly developed although in between it the Rocky jr's thing was heart-breaking and sad his arc throughout the story was brilliant and full of life lessons,the little and small details to society and parenthood it was brilliantly showcased.the Tommy's training and winning scenes were amazing,the main twist with brilliant play by manager brainwashing Tommy and using against Rocky it was heart-breaking and emotional the street scene it was strong and brilliant then the later match wining speech of Tommy not mentioning Rocky and him watching in TV was literally Emotional and strikingly sad,then the Rocky's Realization of whats good for everyone and all it was pure brilliant then the whole ending the people telling Rocky as real champion and Tommy's obsession to defeat Rocky and the manager's tactic to letting them fight then the whole ending emotional conversation and street fight it was pure mind-blowing and amazing it was emotionally great,the last punch to Manager was satisfying as hell.the Rocky throughout the movie is literally the Man of heart he's dedication and heart-breaks with his morals he was pure brilliant,the whole movie was emotionally,dramatically entertaining and satisfying arc for Rocky it's a underrated Masterpiece! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
Everybody-Jun 9, 2020
Very underrated film, it has always been my favourite of the series, it tried something different for the ending that I feel worked really well, I will always defend this movie against the ignorant masses.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
AbeFilettiNov 10, 2020
I know it's controversial, but I believe Rocky V is the best Rocky movie since Rocky II. They tried a lot of new things, and payed off a lot of things from the previous movies. If they were to do another Rocky fights someone in the ring movieI know it's controversial, but I believe Rocky V is the best Rocky movie since Rocky II. They tried a lot of new things, and payed off a lot of things from the previous movies. If they were to do another Rocky fights someone in the ring movie it would have been what we already have seen. Instead they try something new and give us a movie were he trains someone instead of Rocky being trained. I won't spoil anything, but it doesn't go the way you think. The end fight was original and something we haven't seen in the series. Although that's were I will start with my negatives about the movie. I like what the did at the end, but I thought it was drawn out for way too long, and it got to the point of being unrealistic. There was also some really weird editing choices at the end. Also some of the acting was not good at all. Other than that I really enjoy Rocky V, and believe it's a good way to close the main series. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews