Netflix | Release Date: November 21, 2018
7.8
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 731 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
580
Mixed:
67
Negative:
84
Watch Now
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
6
LynJan 27, 2019
Everyone has mad respect for Alfonso Cuaron, for good reason ... and I think that's part of the critics' love for this film. It is his very personal, touching memoir of his own childhood, filled with evocative details and oh-so-arty in blackEveryone has mad respect for Alfonso Cuaron, for good reason ... and I think that's part of the critics' love for this film. It is his very personal, touching memoir of his own childhood, filled with evocative details and oh-so-arty in black and white. I enjoyed the slice-of-life aspect of it, but was distracted by the fact that the lead actress can't act. At all. It's a completely wooden performance, and it really stretches credulity that she was nominated for an Oscar! Expand
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
5
mshawlyFeb 7, 2019
Despite the good directing and the good acting (not amazing !) The movie is very poor when it came to the plot, there was almost no story ! the Film just show the Normal life of any above midlevel Family and their daily routine life, wakingDespite the good directing and the good acting (not amazing !) The movie is very poor when it came to the plot, there was almost no story ! the Film just show the Normal life of any above midlevel Family and their daily routine life, waking up kids for School, absent Father and little Brothers fight ! I can’t believe that such a Movie can be nominated to any kind of Trophies. Expand
5 of 6 users found this helpful51
All this user's reviews
6
JLuis_001Dec 26, 2018
The technical and visual aspects are just impeccable. Nothing bad to say about that at all.
But and the story...?
Any mexican people could tell me that this was the story of any Mexican soup opera and I would believe it with absolute
The technical and visual aspects are just impeccable. Nothing bad to say about that at all.
But and the story...?

Any mexican people could tell me that this was the story of any Mexican soup opera and I would believe it with absolute certainty and that's devastatingly alarming coming from Alfonso Cuarón.

I'm not really disappointed because my expectations about this film were not into that side, but to call this film a masterpiece, is simply a scandal.
Expand
9 of 12 users found this helpful93
All this user's reviews
6
BHBarryDec 18, 2018
“Roma” is a film written and directed by Alfonso Cuaron and is his attempt to pay homage and acknowledge his childhood in the Roma section of Mexico City as well as the housekeepers that cared for him and his siblings. Filmed in black and“Roma” is a film written and directed by Alfonso Cuaron and is his attempt to pay homage and acknowledge his childhood in the Roma section of Mexico City as well as the housekeepers that cared for him and his siblings. Filmed in black and white this film has become the choice of so many critics and award entities so I find myself again at odds with the so called pros for this film, as good as it is, is not great, nor in my opinion is it worthy of the accolades being heaped upon it. This is the story of a family, a marriage and those who kept house for them…..and that is where it all really begins and ends.
So, like a fly on a wall, we watch the residents and servants interact in a really not too exciting series of mundane events as they go about their assigned chores and fulfill their designated roles. I give the film a 6 rating as I continue to wonder what the excitement regarding it is all about..Perhaps the highest award should go to the distributor’s PR firm for being able to generate such unwarranted hype and activity..
Expand
8 of 14 users found this helpful86
All this user's reviews
4
foxgroveDec 14, 2018
This Critics darling will find its nemesis with the general public. I mean, really , what is their to love. It's long, slow and largely uneventful. The baby scene and the swimming scene, which come towards the end of the film is as good asThis Critics darling will find its nemesis with the general public. I mean, really , what is their to love. It's long, slow and largely uneventful. The baby scene and the swimming scene, which come towards the end of the film is as good as the drama gets. The most over rated film of this year which underlines how pretentious a lot of film critics are. Come back Bohemian Rhapsody their was nothing to forgive! Expand
9 of 19 users found this helpful910
All this user's reviews
4
marklaing1Jan 26, 2019
Static camera and self-indulgent reminiscing? Some bits were great but it kinda seemed like one of those Film School student films but longer. Much longer.
2 of 5 users found this helpful23
All this user's reviews
6
IzagoDec 21, 2018
Roma em minha opinião é parecido com o filme boyhood e lady bird que mostra a vida do protagonista e termina finalizando uma parte de sua história de uma forma lenta, sem chamar atenção, sem deixar você curioso, motivados, ou qualquer outraRoma em minha opinião é parecido com o filme boyhood e lady bird que mostra a vida do protagonista e termina finalizando uma parte de sua história de uma forma lenta, sem chamar atenção, sem deixar você curioso, motivados, ou qualquer outra emoção, o filme segue essa linha. Fotografia e as câmeras ficaram muito bons, me agrada muito se filmam de um ângulo ou jeito diferente e nesse ele mantém o mesmo jeito. Trilha sonora? Não tem, e eu acho que isso poderia deixar algumas cenas mais tensas e deixa las mais excitantes. Talvez para quem viveu no Mexico nessa época ou fez parte de alguma história próxima tenha se emocionado mais, pois para mim foi somente mais um filme. Expand
0 of 4 users found this helpful04
All this user's reviews
4
abdiespinozaJan 3, 2019
México no es así del todo, solo un sector, nos hace ver a todos como unos mestizos con vida muy pobre y noooo, México tiene muchas caras
0 of 7 users found this helpful07
All this user's reviews
6
5hutupJan 21, 2019
For those of you who don't speak Spanish, WTH did you read? Whole sentences were LEFT OUT; others were poorly translated as if 1/2 by Zellenial TEXTING-IT-IN w/ his/her counterpart at the office using google translate. WTF to the MAX. NEVER.For those of you who don't speak Spanish, WTH did you read? Whole sentences were LEFT OUT; others were poorly translated as if 1/2 by Zellenial TEXTING-IT-IN w/ his/her counterpart at the office using google translate. WTF to the MAX. NEVER. EVER. Have I read such appalling and lacking translation. Black and white worked to emphasize an otherwise over-stylized piece of UPPER-MIDDLE-CLASS this is my NANNY STORY. Yes, I like much of it, but some of it was HEAVY-HANDED e.g. the opening scene of endless washing. And the ZERO translation of the native dialogue? Of the head-dress man at the fire scene? It was all ironically ahistorical, too in leaving out the geopolitics of the US at the time, which is reduced to TV watching, i.e. cinema. If this is the best you have, please take GIRLS creator Lena with you- overrated, self-important, smug as cool, in-crowd. I don't see a masterpiece. I just see another Coppola-esque production, i.e. well-connected, well-produced, well-heeled, but underwhelming and overrated. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
6
QuijoteJan 23, 2019
Cuarón es un grande y lo vuelve a demostrar con una película muy sencilla y que amerita a veces un cierto conocimiento de su vida y su obra, como por ejemplo el fragmento de Marooned (1969) que nos pone, y que nos transmite sin ningúnCuarón es un grande y lo vuelve a demostrar con una película muy sencilla y que amerita a veces un cierto conocimiento de su vida y su obra, como por ejemplo el fragmento de Marooned (1969) que nos pone, y que nos transmite sin ningún obstáculo todo lo determinante que debió ser lo que le causó, y que conecta en nuestro recuerdo con toda la atmósfera que vivimos en Gravity. Fuera de eso, la base del film es una historia más de criadas como hemos visto miles en todos los países de Latinoamérica. Con una materia prima tan gastada cuesta hacer algo mejor, aunque esto es una película muy íntima de Cuarón y a esa realidad que vimos era a lo que él aspiraba llegar con Roma. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
5
PanchogulJan 29, 2019
Cuarón es un genio, la película es visualmente atrayente pero es demasiado lenta.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
5
27mh28Feb 19, 2019
I began to watch Roma and couldn't believe how slow and boring it was. I knew I was going to have a problem due to having to watch it on tv, in black and white, with subtitles. This director just doesn't do it for me. His subjects are tooI began to watch Roma and couldn't believe how slow and boring it was. I knew I was going to have a problem due to having to watch it on tv, in black and white, with subtitles. This director just doesn't do it for me. His subjects are too heavy and I am really more in need of entertainment. I really don't understand his broad appeal. It seems to stem from the political correctness movement. That's fine,but please step it up a bit! Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
4
vesperizerFeb 24, 2019
I wanted to like "Roma", I really did. But, ultimately, the plot is predominately uneventful and, ultimately, not incredibly entertaining. As a fan of realism in film, perhaps "Roma" was a just a little TOO real for my tastes. I found myselfI wanted to like "Roma", I really did. But, ultimately, the plot is predominately uneventful and, ultimately, not incredibly entertaining. As a fan of realism in film, perhaps "Roma" was a just a little TOO real for my tastes. I found myself looking at the clock throughout the film as elongated scenes of washing clothing or characters ruminating and contemplating life dragged on throughout this already-lengthy film. Presumably incredibly personal and meaningful for the director of this autobiographical film, the story, to me, was underwhelming and blasé. Expand
0 of 3 users found this helpful03
All this user's reviews
6
jgzegerMar 3, 2019
Although I acknowledge that Roma is a well-made film, is this a story worth making a movie about?
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
JoeDeckardApr 8, 2019
Beautifully shot, edited and all the rest - but is this a film? Felt like a loose study with not a lot to propel it forward other than the - admittedly - beautiful camerawork. I'm not sure that a man trying to park a car is what constitutes aBeautifully shot, edited and all the rest - but is this a film? Felt like a loose study with not a lot to propel it forward other than the - admittedly - beautiful camerawork. I'm not sure that a man trying to park a car is what constitutes a scene...but, I realize I'm in a minority. Kind of left me cold. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
m15964May 25, 2019
This movie suffers from lots of problems in the senario and I can't understand the characters ans why they do this madness behavior. It really needs to describe more about what the f*** is happening in the city and inside the characters.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
Saki2502Jul 13, 2019
What an amazing piece of art. While watching Roma, you never know what’s going to happen next.. it’s like watching a REAL family life of the 70s from Mexico. REALISTIC BREATHTAKING TRUTHFUL CREATIVE BEAUTIFUL HONEST... movie. IT SHOWS WHATSWhat an amazing piece of art. While watching Roma, you never know what’s going to happen next.. it’s like watching a REAL family life of the 70s from Mexico. REALISTIC BREATHTAKING TRUTHFUL CREATIVE BEAUTIFUL HONEST... movie. IT SHOWS WHATS LIFE/ the difference between social status and REAL DIFFICULTIES. THE LANDSCAPE MAKES YOU A SPECTATOR TRULLY IMMERSED.. like a part of it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
JParisiAug 31, 2019
If you're reading reviews you already know Cuarón's direction is remarkable. Single shot scenes contain so much that is so real, they place you squarely in Mexico City in 1971 next to the director himself. What's missing is character depth.If you're reading reviews you already know Cuarón's direction is remarkable. Single shot scenes contain so much that is so real, they place you squarely in Mexico City in 1971 next to the director himself. What's missing is character depth. Does Cleo have dreams or regrets? Could she love that young man? Is she aware that women like her are second class citizens, a fact we in the audience are constantly reminded of. Cleo was Cuarón's housemaid in his youth, and she is written as such. He clearly loved her, and still appreciates her to this day -- but he didn't really know her. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
ELquejasMar 31, 2020
The most OVERRATED movie ever
The photography and scenary is excellent but the actations and story is so boring, have the depth of a piece of paper
you wait great surpises but you have a great deception
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
yaeltamex93Apr 22, 2020
Roma es una de las peliculas mas aburridas que he visto, fuera de su ambientacion de la epoca y su filmacion, la pelicula realmente se me hace mala. Las actuaciones no se me hacen la gran cosa, la historia se me hace como un capitulo alargadoRoma es una de las peliculas mas aburridas que he visto, fuera de su ambientacion de la epoca y su filmacion, la pelicula realmente se me hace mala. Las actuaciones no se me hacen la gran cosa, la historia se me hace como un capitulo alargado de la rosa de Guadalupe pero de mayor presupuesto, tiene escenas incomodas e innecesariamente estupidas como en la cual la pareja sexual de la protagonista empieza a hacer una especie de arte marcial completamente desnudo y otra donde detienen un incendio. Ademas de que se siente demasiado lenta y con muchas escenas sin chiste.
Ha sido una de las pocas peliculas que estuve de punto de dejar de ver de lo mala que se me hizo, ademas pienso que la calificacion de la critica esta realmente inflada y solo apoyada porque el director es de renombre, al igual la nota de los usuarios se me hace muy alta.
Sin duda esta fue la pelicula mas sobrevalorada de su respectivo año de estreno.
personalmente y bajo mi propia opinion yo le doy a esta pelicula una puntuacion de 4, ya que lo unico bueno que tiene es la ambientacion y su filmacion, todo lo demas se me hace de regular a malo
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews