Columbia Pictures | Release Date: June 16, 2017
4.6
USER SCORE
Mixed or average reviews based on 96 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
22
Mixed:
44
Negative:
30
Watch Now
Buy On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
4
EpicLadySpongeJun 16, 2017
Rough Night focuses more on the comedy than on the story. It isn't safe to say that story is more important than comedy, but in a genre that is in the comedy section, a story is arguably needed. Basic instructions of a movie is to make aRough Night focuses more on the comedy than on the story. It isn't safe to say that story is more important than comedy, but in a genre that is in the comedy section, a story is arguably needed. Basic instructions of a movie is to make a story that at least feels like a great ride on a roller coaster. In this case, they failed to give much to the story by giving the comedy more than expected. Great on paper, terrible on screen. Expand
4 of 4 users found this helpful40
All this user's reviews
4
TVJerryJun 16, 2017
This is the female cross between "Weekend at Bernie's" and "The Hangover." Five friends (Scarlett Johansson, Kate McKinnon, Jillian Bell, Ilana Glazer, and Zoë Kravitz) travel to Miami for a wild bachelorette weekend. The hilarity isThis is the female cross between "Weekend at Bernie's" and "The Hangover." Five friends (Scarlett Johansson, Kate McKinnon, Jillian Bell, Ilana Glazer, and Zoë Kravitz) travel to Miami for a wild bachelorette weekend. The hilarity is supposed to get complicated when they accidentally kill a stripper, but that's not the case. Despite the non-stop spunky energy and potentially comic situations, there's not much genuinely funny. McKinnon turns in an enjoyably wacky performance, while Bell is like Melissa McCarthy…a little of her bluster goes a long way…and there's LOTS of it here. The whole night is amusing to watch, but more jokes die than land. NOTE: McKinnon has an amusing song DURING the credits and Bell drops a plot surprise AFTER the credits. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
4
tropicAcesJun 16, 2017
The cast is attractive and dedicated, but only Johansson and Kravitz are consistent. Bell, Glazer and especially McKinnon (sporting a very annoying Australian accent) are very hit and miss, all too often ending a joke too soon or dragging itThe cast is attractive and dedicated, but only Johansson and Kravitz are consistent. Bell, Glazer and especially McKinnon (sporting a very annoying Australian accent) are very hit and miss, all too often ending a joke too soon or dragging it on for too long. The whole film feels like the rough draft of a great black comedy, but it ends up just being a bunch of missed opportunities. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
5
AcaciaJun 20, 2017
Let me be perfectly clear. This is a terrible movie that has a couple of laughs. Some of it is so stupid, I had to laugh at how stupid it was. Everything is way over the top. The performances aren't bad, but the dialogue is middle schoolLet me be perfectly clear. This is a terrible movie that has a couple of laughs. Some of it is so stupid, I had to laugh at how stupid it was. Everything is way over the top. The performances aren't bad, but the dialogue is middle school and the plot is ridiculous. I asked the ladies I was with what they would give this movie on a scale of 1 - 5. Four of them gave it a 1. I gave it a 2 and one other gave it a 3. Usually when critics hate a movie, users like it. But, this one seems to be universally disliked. Be advised. Wait to see it when it comes to Netflix or DVD. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
6
Muskrat147Jun 19, 2017
A slightly boring and highly unoriginal take on the "night out gone wrong" story-line, Rough Night manages to make good use of its talented cast, who deliver countless laughs that help make up for the film's many weak moments.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
Jennyjas21Jun 21, 2017
Starts off great but loses its way a bit, "Rough Night" remains a relatively entertaining night at the movies. The ensemble cast help carry it through some of its more "rougher" moments, and it delivers a few genuine laughs.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
CineAutoctonoJun 29, 2017
"Rough Night" was a very funny feminist film, but a little predictable, and we do not know how Scarlett Johansson has done to get to act, this kind of comedy, rude comedy with alcohol, drugs, and body parts jorks, but in the end, I enjoyed"Rough Night" was a very funny feminist film, but a little predictable, and we do not know how Scarlett Johansson has done to get to act, this kind of comedy, rude comedy with alcohol, drugs, and body parts jorks, but in the end, I enjoyed it, although the pace was not so fluid. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
Q8MarrongGlaceSep 17, 2017
Actually it was above my expectation also its funny and enjoyable you
won't get bored watching it , I wish comedy movies be as good as the
80's where you could easy laugh to rather than just talking bad
words which considered as comedy !
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
LeZeeFeb 4, 2018
Bachelorette gone wrong!

This kind of girls night out flicks are not fun anymore. Yet it is hard to ignore them from watching. So I watched it not expecting anything special out of it. And I did not get any. But... it was okayish. Moreover,
Bachelorette gone wrong!

This kind of girls night out flicks are not fun anymore. Yet it is hard to ignore them from watching. So I watched it not expecting anything special out of it. And I did not get any. But... it was okayish. Moreover, Scarlett Johansson was the main reason I wanted to watch it. You can't always do superhero, action films. This is something offbeat. Often need to take this path, no to fail miserably, but to relax from the mainstream. So this was enjoyable, but not by all.

It is like the female version of 'Hangover'. Five friends go to Miami for one of theirs bachelorette party. It's supposed to be fun without any rules, but a disaster strikes in the early and makes them to cover all the evidence. The night turns their worst nightmare ever. How they manage to come out of it are the remaining film that revealed with a twist at the end.

The reception was as expected, but it was not that bad if you are seeking only a timepass. It ended like there could be a sequel, but now it seems very unlikely. One of the issues with the film is it was so traditional narrative. With so many jokes repeated from other flicks. The majority won't approve that. As far as I think it is watch and forget kind of film. An average film. Disliking it does not change what it is!

6/10
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
ashlynnfrenellFeb 4, 2018
It was certainly a predictable movie. I thought I was going to love it because of the cast, but I was wrong, it wasn't anything like I was expecting. It was also a very feminist movie as well. I am a college student, however, I am married andIt was certainly a predictable movie. I thought I was going to love it because of the cast, but I was wrong, it wasn't anything like I was expecting. It was also a very feminist movie as well. I am a college student, however, I am married and I feel that it gives off the wrong idea for what college students and bachelorette parties should be like. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
marcmyworksMar 6, 2018
Oooh girl, this is a hard one to get through. In the 90 or so minutes of this movie I laughed maybe twice, but overall it was such a horrible mess of a film, clearly made on the popular wave of Bridesmaids.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
CoKronakanApr 7, 2018
Taking into consideration that this movie was a comedy, I can only rate it 6/10. Because it's humor it's mostly hit or miss. Which means there are a lot of great laugh out loud moments but there is also a lot of awful and unnecessary jokes.Taking into consideration that this movie was a comedy, I can only rate it 6/10. Because it's humor it's mostly hit or miss. Which means there are a lot of great laugh out loud moments but there is also a lot of awful and unnecessary jokes. The pacing of the movie is slow, so at the beginning it's boring. But it quickly picks up,but then at the end, it's a **** no good, and basically non existent conclusion, which is also cliche and cheesy at the same time. Which is bad. The actors where OK, and delivered pretty good, but the writing was also lazy. So overall this is an average comedy, and even worse movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
ryu9376Jan 21, 2019
This movie was way over the top... some of things had me dumbfounded... like they all simply lost all common sense & reasoning... it still had it's funny moments but it was more like "wooooow really".
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews