Columbia Pictures | Release Date: July 23, 2010
6.5
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 492 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
274
Mixed:
166
Negative:
52
Watch Now
Stream On
Buy On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
3
AJackson729Feb 19, 2011
The entire movie builds up to the final twist ending that offers very little payoff. The movie is simply not enjoyable. It started out promising, and had the potential to be so much more, but really falls short. It has a few decent scenes,The entire movie builds up to the final twist ending that offers very little payoff. The movie is simply not enjoyable. It started out promising, and had the potential to be so much more, but really falls short. It has a few decent scenes, but it's definitely not worth your time. Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
0
tonyl.Jul 31, 2010
Movie sucks. Its a Bourne rip off. Angelina was good at action scenes, but the Movie ridiculous and the plot is unbelievable.
4 of 7 users found this helpful
3
ArjunS.Jul 23, 2010
This Movie looks unrealistic in many places, Jolie is awful and the script is bad nothing new though it has some fun in some places, overall it is pathetic,
5 of 10 users found this helpful
0
gunnyartApr 15, 2011
I've not HATED a movie soo much in a long... Strike that... EVER! My intelligence was under as'salt from the first to last frame. I will admit that my inability to supend disbelief when my b.s. meter is pegged is my hang up but, I wasI've not HATED a movie soo much in a long... Strike that... EVER! My intelligence was under as'salt from the first to last frame. I will admit that my inability to supend disbelief when my b.s. meter is pegged is my hang up but, I was insulted for having seen it. What a steaming pile. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
0
parenekauFeb 10, 2011
One of the worst action movies I have ever seen. It was like watching very cheap old Hong Kong made fight "masterpieces". I was laughing at myself at the end that i waisted my time and money for this. No Plot no engaging acting not evenOne of the worst action movies I have ever seen. It was like watching very cheap old Hong Kong made fight "masterpieces". I was laughing at myself at the end that i waisted my time and money for this. No Plot no engaging acting not even little humor absolute rubbish from start till finish. The only puzzling is such a high score in both Critics and Users reviews. For those how actually understand the art of movie making DO NOT BOTHER. Have a good lunch instead. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
1
JerWAug 1, 2010
One of the worst movies I've seen in years. The film doesn't take itself seriously, and doesn't expect the audience to - unfortunately it is so absurd, poorly written, and poorly executed that I feel insulted this made it the One of the worst movies I've seen in years. The film doesn't take itself seriously, and doesn't expect the audience to - unfortunately it is so absurd, poorly written, and poorly executed that I feel insulted this made it the screen. Save yourself the money, don't see this. The underlying plot felt as though it had potential, but the end product is a rushed mess of a film. One of the worst displays of direction of any action film in the past 10 years. Expand
3 of 7 users found this helpful
1
DavidJul 23, 2010
Another stupid action movie that is not believable in the least! At least with Bourne Movies you can somewhat say, yeah, that can happen. This, it is absurd!!
1 of 3 users found this helpful
1
lauriehJul 25, 2010
One of the stupidest movies I've seen in quite a while. Unbelievable that Ms. Salt jumps from truck to truck, gets beat up, fights and kills so many people with nary a scratch on her. But the Brangeloonies will come.
1 of 3 users found this helpful
3
ColossusAug 16, 2010
The worst movie I've seen in a long time. The script isn't well thought out it's extremely sporadic at the end you just dont even end up caring. This movie is poorly executed how can somebody take that much of a beating without a scratch? meThe worst movie I've seen in a long time. The script isn't well thought out it's extremely sporadic at the end you just dont even end up caring. This movie is poorly executed how can somebody take that much of a beating without a scratch? me and my friend were the only people in the movie theater to see this and we both can agree it was a major waste of time and money. Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
0
CuriosoNov 21, 2010
This is the most ridiculous movie of all times, is the worst action movie that I've seen. Simply it is so absurd, so meaningless, so stupid. I wasted my time and my money
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
1
JacquesH.Jul 23, 2010
Below Average Action thriller, this movie offer nothing than the cheap thrills and leaves a salt in your mouth
0 of 3 users found this helpful
1
LilyA.Jul 25, 2010
One of the stupidest movies I've recently seen. Completely and totally implausible and how did the frail Salt jump from truck to truck yadda yadda without barely a scratch? Idiotic. Thank God Inception ruled again at the BO.
0 of 2 users found this helpful
3
HunterHJul 27, 2010
Flat out bad. The stunts were poorly performed , the story was cheesy and clichéd (not to mention stupid), the acting was mediocre, and ultimately a below average action movie.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
3
AttricusAug 26, 2010
A film that in the middle makes you to watch the clock all time does not worth the money or the time.
I was hoping this movie not to be as bad as most movies this year, at least not boring. But it is. Last half of the movie is stupid, I
A film that in the middle makes you to watch the clock all time does not worth the money or the time.
I was hoping this movie not to be as bad as most movies this year, at least not boring. But it is. Last half of the movie is stupid, I would have cut the script just in the middle after the church or a bit later.
Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
2
MovieDocAug 22, 2010
All movies need to be reviewed relative to their prospective audience. If one reviews "White Chicks" for example, one has to be aware of the movie's intended purpose and place in the minds of its audience. With that in mind, even as theAll movies need to be reviewed relative to their prospective audience. If one reviews "White Chicks" for example, one has to be aware of the movie's intended purpose and place in the minds of its audience. With that in mind, even as the archetype summer blockbuster with a shallow plot and enough explosions to run a demolitions company; Salt was deliriously unbelievable verging on the parodistic. There so many better summer movies to see, explosion and shallow plot and everything. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
2
campbell_groupAug 25, 2010
At the very least you can count on Ms Jolie's beauty to get you through a film, right? Sadly as it was with Tomb Raider her looks alone could not do the trick. Instead the close shots of her seemed patronizing with respect to her cardboardAt the very least you can count on Ms Jolie's beauty to get you through a film, right? Sadly as it was with Tomb Raider her looks alone could not do the trick. Instead the close shots of her seemed patronizing with respect to her cardboard acting. Everyone in this film was cut in 2D and I found very little engagement. That's just the acting, the plot and action sequences I thought were even worse. Don't get me wrong, I love suspending my reality for a few hours, but this is best done when they have engaged me in a story where the people's emotions are related to the protagonist's plight. I can turn my brain off like the rest of them and watch a summer popcorn flick and have very little standards in this regards. That said Salt did not even make that mark.

I suspect the studio are angling to start this into a franchise ala the Bourne films. Its a predictable money angle based on Jolie's good name (for now). Be warned.
Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
3
kris2furAug 28, 2010
I did not like this movie. It was unbelievable in so many instances. There was very few parts of this movie I enjoyed. If you want to make an action movie way over the top stop using aging stars a perfect example was Die Hard 4. I read theseI did not like this movie. It was unbelievable in so many instances. There was very few parts of this movie I enjoyed. If you want to make an action movie way over the top stop using aging stars a perfect example was Die Hard 4. I read these reviews but some how don't believe it deserves the score. I like Jolie but believe all her films are rubbish (Except original sin back in the day.) Mindless unbelievable action and that ending.... Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
3
cyclecritSep 6, 2010
Despite Roger Ebert saying that this film has large enough holes in the plot that you could drive the whole movie through them, metacritic assigned his review a score of 100. Maybe this can give you an idea of why this whale of a film hasDespite Roger Ebert saying that this film has large enough holes in the plot that you could drive the whole movie through them, metacritic assigned his review a score of 100. Maybe this can give you an idea of why this whale of a film has achieved its metacriic score of 65.

Unfortunately there are several problems with this film. The first of those is that it is trying to be too many things to too many people, ultimately failing flat on its face as a result. After wasting two hours of my life watching Salt I still couldn't work out if it was an Action film, a suspense drama, a Cold War alternative ending, a story of death and grief and loss and the ways humans react to these, or a film with smarts and brains...

Further hamstringing Jolie's valiant attempts to elevate this film from mediocrity with a determined acting performance is the scripts completely implausible premise and plot, lack of intelligence and utterly underwhelming character development, all of which led me to care little for the outcome of the films central protagonists. In trying to outsmart itself and be too many things to too many people Salt comes off as one of Jolie's more forgettable films in the last few years. Forget the metacritic score of 65 and spend your money on something better.
Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
1
FamousdogJan 30, 2012
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I simply can't believe the favourable reviews for this derivitive Female-Bourne nonsense. The stunts, fights and set pieces are utterly ludicrous, as is the plot - none of which makes ANY sense if you think about it for more than a minute (an example: we are expected to believe that a woman will watch the man she loves die horribly in order to maintain her 'cover' when she has within her power the ability to take apart methodically the men who are holding him hostage and cover her tracks in the process? Another example: Salt displays Bourne's preternatural foresight, but didn't manage to see ANY of this coming until she was 'activated'/set-up?). Obviously the filmakers have circumvented this by simply not giving the audience an opportunity to think about the plot by freneticly jumping from one death-defying cliff-edge punch-up to another for nearly two hours. This is a film that requires you to simply turn off your brain as we are expected to believe that an anorexic-looking waif of woman can outwit the Russians, the Americans and shoot, karate-chop and punch her way through what, at times, seems like the entire US governmental apparatus, intelligence services and military complex. This film is so over-the-top it's dissappeared into the stratosphere - but not in a good way. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
3
OscarPicks2010Nov 29, 2010
Salt's basic and predictable plot really undermines the film's potential to do more with its lead role, Angelina Jolie. Though the star gave it all she got playing a Russian spy, she wasn't enough to save the film from its wrong pacing styleSalt's basic and predictable plot really undermines the film's potential to do more with its lead role, Angelina Jolie. Though the star gave it all she got playing a Russian spy, she wasn't enough to save the film from its wrong pacing style and ridiculously bad plot. Being trained as a Russian spy since she was a little girl, Evenlyn Salt lived a secret second life all this time. She's married and has a dog. But she worked in the CIA, so I guess that's something. Given that Angelina Jolie played the role, we have high expectations that she'd pull it off with lots of dramatic scenes. And that's exactly what we got. From the moment that she was being tortured in North Korea to the moment when she killed her spy partner, she was great. But given the fact that every spy movies starts with an undercover life and being captured at the end, Salt adds nothing new to the genre. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
2
10sne1Jun 6, 2011
Yuck. Ebert says it has holes big enough to fly a 747 through (or something like that) and still loved it? The execution (pun intended) of the plot is so inane it's insane. Jolie (how could anyone that beautiful be less beautiful as aYuck. Ebert says it has holes big enough to fly a 747 through (or something like that) and still loved it? The execution (pun intended) of the plot is so inane it's insane. Jolie (how could anyone that beautiful be less beautiful as a blonde?) is, what, the Terminatrix? The Bionic **** Goddess of Geopolitical Revenge? Please please please let there not be a Salt Two! Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
1
oliver1hMay 4, 2013
Jolie kicks everybody 's ass with her 50kg/110 pounds, while doing totally impossible stunts. That sums it all up...Oh was there a script somewhere? I did not notice.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
1
segullsarcAug 5, 2012
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I tried to enjoy this one, but all I got from this movie was a bunch of questions -- really, a lot of them. (i.e. Wasn't there a better way to "activate" Salt other than Orlov turning himself in and telling the truth to CIA? If Salt was supposedly (as the movie tries to make us believe) set up by this Russian guy, why does she try so hard to get away, making her look even more suspicious? What does her husband have anything to do with the "Russian setup"? Wouldn't it be easier for Salt to "assasinate" Russian president if they kept it a secret? Did the Russian president agree to be killed for the whole plot? Did Salt know that Ted was a sleeping agent like her? If not, what was the whole point of sneaking into the Whitehouse bunker when she changed her mind? Why does Salt go so far to kill Ted when the president is alive? Why would Russia want to bring US down in these days, when cold war has been over for decades?[Let's save this one if I'm bringing in too much reality into movies] Is agnt Peabody the only one who can possibly know that Salt saved the day? Why does Salt have to go through dark knight thing when there is enough evidence --fingerprint at Orlov's-- and she can prove she did what she meant to do?) It seems to me, the story was squeezed and twisted way too much just for the sake of looking cool. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
2
cameronmorewoodNov 7, 2012
Salt is a mess. The plot is confusing and flawed and the characters go undeveloped. In this sort of film, you need to root for the hero, Jolie in this case, and I found myself not caring.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
1
joao1198pedroDec 23, 2013
this is a total piece of crap with one of the worst final ever,how the angelina jolie acept this paper,this movie is a total cliche,at least it isn't a so patriot movie as i thought.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
0
chance111Jan 18, 2015
Mindless generic movie that got more and more annoying with each scene. The plot, characters, acting, stunts and fight scenes were ludicrously stupid and unlikable. Angelina Jolie beats & kills American & Russian agents/police like a T-XMindless generic movie that got more and more annoying with each scene. The plot, characters, acting, stunts and fight scenes were ludicrously stupid and unlikable. Angelina Jolie beats & kills American & Russian agents/police like a T-X character. Nothing in the story is believable or makes sense and Earth to Hollywood, the Cold War ended years ago. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
0
Steven1981Mar 24, 2020
Salt is a 2010 film that stars Angelina Jolie.
She's probably the main character in this mindless action thriller. Salt has many action scenes and violence but the action scenes still make the film feel horrible. Very badly made film and
Salt is a 2010 film that stars Angelina Jolie.
She's probably the main character in this mindless action thriller. Salt has many action scenes and violence but the action scenes still make the film feel horrible. Very badly made film and Angelina Jolie is laughable with over the top and retarded action scenes and laughably bad acting.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews