New Line Cinema | Release Date: September 22, 1995
8.9
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 1095 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
1,038
Mixed:
39
Negative:
18
Watch Now
Buy On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
1
gmateuszSep 1, 2015
'Seven' is one of the most self-defeating movies I have ever seen. Despite its pretentious attempt at pseudo-philosophy, it is remarkably shallow upon closer examination, and quickly degenerates into a quagmire of bleak nihilism and'Seven' is one of the most self-defeating movies I have ever seen. Despite its pretentious attempt at pseudo-philosophy, it is remarkably shallow upon closer examination, and quickly degenerates into a quagmire of bleak nihilism and self-serving darkness which do nothing to carry the film. Main characters have redeeming qualities and are a bright spot in an otherwise extremely bleak landscape, but the ending mercilessly puts out even that tiny spark of hope in the most cruel way imaginable. In this sense, it make one wonder why that film was made in the first place and for whom - after all, its relentlessly nihilistic orientation and exploitation of vile brutality are of the soul-sucking, wearisome quality which I find difficult to believe anyone would enjoy. That's what this movie truly is - a relentless, pitiless march into the dark with no variety and no redemption. As such, we might coin a new term to describe 'Seven' and its ilk - 'cynsploitation' - stories which are dark, futile and edgy not in order to make a halfway intelligent point about anything, but to use those tropes for shock value. Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
0
realcriticsFeb 1, 2011
One of the best films of the 90s.Thrilling,outstanding with beautiful perfomances by Brad Pitt and Morgan Freeman.It's really disgusting,blood packed but it doesn't fail to impress with its well crafted and clever plot.A real classic!
1 of 14 users found this helpful113
All this user's reviews
2
JaredC.Sep 9, 2007
Who's writing all those sparkling reviews, come on like seriously give me a break. I rated Se7en a good 2 because really, I don't see the point to all of these grisly and disturbing murders, it just doesn't make any sense. Who's writing all those sparkling reviews, come on like seriously give me a break. I rated Se7en a good 2 because really, I don't see the point to all of these grisly and disturbing murders, it just doesn't make any sense. Morgan Freeman always gives a good hint of magnificence in his stellar performances and roles, but in Se7en he doesn't even try. Didn't get very much out of him. And Brad Pitt, whoa!!! Too fast and too furious with his minor act as his character flew out the window and got me flying in the sky feeling very comfortable for about a second until I lost it, right when the lightning smashed into the white and dull sky. I was hit with disappointment and totally heartbroken. Nobody really actually acts in this movie, they just go with the flow what David Fincher, the Director, tells them to do. And as you're reading this review, you're going to be wondering why I rated Se7en a good 2 instead of a fat 0. I'll tell you why, because truly it was a film to like but not to enjoy for sure. I liked it, just watch it once and don't watch it again because after watching the film you read all these dazzling reviews thinking that it wasn't that bad. Well, that's why you say you liked it, but seriously, you wouldn't enjoy it what so ever. It's so boring. I fell asleep the second time watching it. Although the film gave a huge amount of detail and material that was so fascinating. I couldn't breathe for moments. All the gory murders and suspenseful grisly afterview tapes got your spine tingling. That was really the only entertaining part about the movie. It's one of those teenager violent/horror films to laugh to in a group type of film. But since I've overgrown that stage and matured, I think of it quite differently. A nasty film may be funny to some, but gruesomely dull for those who care to notice. Expand
0 of 4 users found this helpful
0
CharlieS.Jan 30, 2008
Lousy and vile.
0 of 2 users found this helpful
0
AlexLJan 17, 2009
The movie is so self indulgent and preachy that it forgets to even name the place it takes place, let alone develop its cliche characters. The people who gave it a 10 were too busy enjoying the blood and Brad Pitts bad acting to notice the The movie is so self indulgent and preachy that it forgets to even name the place it takes place, let alone develop its cliche characters. The people who gave it a 10 were too busy enjoying the blood and Brad Pitts bad acting to notice the lack of story. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful
3
KentC.Jan 14, 2008
I don't mind the blood, gore, or language. The reason I gave this movie such a low score is because it was BORING. It was very hard to sit through and I got tired of watching it right away. Skip this and watch "Zodiac", the superior of I don't mind the blood, gore, or language. The reason I gave this movie such a low score is because it was BORING. It was very hard to sit through and I got tired of watching it right away. Skip this and watch "Zodiac", the superior of Fincher's two serial killer movies. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful
1
bachelorpodSep 26, 2016
Prepare yourself for an up-close-and-personal wallow in the most brutally repugnant murders imaginable. Sadists, masochists and necromancers should love it. For me it was about as enjoyable as a dive into a sewer.
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
0
UnchartedheroAug 19, 2020
Know the ending from begging so bad. It’s kinda cliche thriller movie . Only like the Brad Pitt’s Position
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews