New Line Cinema | Release Date: June 14, 2019
6.7
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 68 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
44
Mixed:
13
Negative:
11
Watch Now
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
8
CameJun 29, 2019
Shaft 2019 is a underrated action film in my opinion due to the negative critical reception. But it's a very entertaining action comedy film that should have done better at the box office.
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
10
Subsided16Jun 29, 2019
Actually really funny not to.mention accurate in reality, outside of the bs left wing portrayals of reality and behavior, this is a real movie, good to know there's still movies that aren't to scared of liberal hate to be proper entertainment
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
ModdycriticJul 8, 2019
Complaints of it not being "woke" or being racist or homophobic are some of the most asinine comments one could make. This is shaft bad a** m********kers being tough popping caps taking names and sweet talking ladies is the game. It isComplaints of it not being "woke" or being racist or homophobic are some of the most asinine comments one could make. This is shaft bad a** m********kers being tough popping caps taking names and sweet talking ladies is the game. It is childish dated black action stereotypes turned to 11 but the writing is solid the cast is excellent and it is clearly self aware. If this film hurts your sensitive soul you best stick to Disney. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
LamontRaymondJun 18, 2019
Critics are WAY too hard on this one. It has a fun procedural story (like you're watching a tv episode), and the acting is great across the board. when I say great, most of it's tongue-in-cheek, but everyone in my theater had a great time.Critics are WAY too hard on this one. It has a fun procedural story (like you're watching a tv episode), and the acting is great across the board. when I say great, most of it's tongue-in-cheek, but everyone in my theater had a great time. Junior is solid, his lady-friend is great, and Junior's mom is awesome as usual. Expand
9 of 10 users found this helpful91
All this user's reviews
10
ReudJun 18, 2019
Just a big mother f***ing middle finger to wokeness. 2019? F*** 2019. This is Shaft.
14 of 18 users found this helpful144
All this user's reviews
10
LonzoGOATJun 15, 2019
Fantastic. Loved the father-son aspect, perfect for Father's Day. Hilarious movie. Better then what critics say.
9 of 13 users found this helpful94
All this user's reviews
8
KwasieJun 29, 2019
This latest version of Shaft is better than the critic views would suggest. The banter and chemistry between Shaft (Sam Jackson) and his son is fantastic. Jackson, as usual, has some of the greatest lines ever. His delivery is flawless.

The
This latest version of Shaft is better than the critic views would suggest. The banter and chemistry between Shaft (Sam Jackson) and his son is fantastic. Jackson, as usual, has some of the greatest lines ever. His delivery is flawless.

The plot, however, is lacking. The underlying crime scheme and the villains involved could have used a lot more attention. Treat this movie as a fun, witty, wild action ride and you’ll be happy. The Departed, it is not...
Expand
4 of 6 users found this helpful42
All this user's reviews
10
Natedog81atxJun 14, 2019
Enjoy the comedic aptitudes that Samuel L Jackson the movie star he is. Dont listen to main stream reviewers who are tone deaf to the political pressure of their service they work for. Get an actual review from your basic word of mouth thisEnjoy the comedic aptitudes that Samuel L Jackson the movie star he is. Dont listen to main stream reviewers who are tone deaf to the political pressure of their service they work for. Get an actual review from your basic word of mouth this film is good Expand
9 of 14 users found this helpful95
All this user's reviews
10
mmasilunganJun 14, 2019
Fantastic. Such a blast. Loved the 2000 movie, loved this one as well. Hilarious. A fun action-comedy to enjoy from beginning to end. Sam Jackson did his thing again, and I love seeing him do movies that channel his vulgar ultracool comedicFantastic. Such a blast. Loved the 2000 movie, loved this one as well. Hilarious. A fun action-comedy to enjoy from beginning to end. Sam Jackson did his thing again, and I love seeing him do movies that channel his vulgar ultracool comedic side. Shaft is a must watch Expand
6 of 10 users found this helpful64
All this user's reviews
7
TVJerryJun 28, 2019
Richard Rountree created the role in the titular 1971 blaxploitation classic (directed by Gordon Parks). Samuel L. Jackson revisited the role in 2000 (with the late John Singleton at the helm). In this version, Jessie T. Usher plays the 3rdRichard Rountree created the role in the titular 1971 blaxploitation classic (directed by Gordon Parks). Samuel L. Jackson revisited the role in 2000 (with the late John Singleton at the helm). In this version, Jessie T. Usher plays the 3rd generation badass private detective. Actually, he starts as a whitebread FBI analyst who's had no contact with his dad until the extremely predictable plot gets underway. That's when the fun begins. Although there are a few shootouts, this is more a relationship comedy than an action film. It allows Jackson to showcase his comic chops with sassy street talk and dead-on timing. Anyone expecting the hard-edged approach of the original may be disappointed, but audiences who want to enjoy Jackson at the top of his game will have a good time (the other 2 have a few moments too). Expand
3 of 5 users found this helpful32
All this user's reviews
10
RafaelKaitoJun 21, 2019
Excelente. Finalmente um filme que não "caga regras" pra agradar justiceiros sociais.
3 of 5 users found this helpful32
All this user's reviews
10
Matthew2448Jun 15, 2019
I really love the movie It was very funny Expresly And shaft wonts to have sex can I break it off.
4 of 7 users found this helpful43
All this user's reviews
10
EberhardtJul 3, 2019
Fun from start to the end, showing different manners through time. It was more than I expected
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
10
SmallFry54Jun 24, 2019
This movie presented Samuel L. Jackson doing what he does best: bringing action and comedy at every turn and corner. I found it to be action packed, entertaining & thought this movie was fun and hilarious. It was great seeing threeThis movie presented Samuel L. Jackson doing what he does best: bringing action and comedy at every turn and corner. I found it to be action packed, entertaining & thought this movie was fun and hilarious. It was great seeing three generations of Shaft come together! I honestly hope they do more of these. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
5
Davrosdaleks1Jun 15, 2019
This is one of those films that are becoming more common now-a-days that attempts to be both a sequel and reboot. It kind of fits into the continuity of the 2000 Shaft film while making the shift from an action film to a full comedy. ThisThis is one of those films that are becoming more common now-a-days that attempts to be both a sequel and reboot. It kind of fits into the continuity of the 2000 Shaft film while making the shift from an action film to a full comedy. This movie didn't really work for me.

There are a few funny lines, mostly the ones that made the trailer, but most of the jokes don't land. Shaft and his son's constant sparring because of their generational differences is basically shoved down the audience's throats. Though Samuel L. Jackson and Usher do a good job of playing the two leads as they were meant to, they can't elevate the material. The character of Shaft's ex-wife (Regina Hall) also seems to have some very poorly written dialogue.

The whole plot is fairly predictable. The main villain is so paper thin that he might as well be a prop.

I did think that both the opening intro to Shaft Jr. and his motivations for becoming involved in the plot's criminal investigation are well-handled. Also, the film does look nice.

Overall, I guess that the movie's greatest flaw to me is that it is just too obvious. I had trouble having fun because the movie was too aggressive in insisting that I do.
Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
10
Lullult50Jun 24, 2019
Just going to start this off by saying: It’s OKAY TO BE POLITICALLY INCORRECT when done in good taste and with a purpose. I felt shaft was a Great movie! You can tell a lot of thought was put into the lines and dialogue between Samuel JacksonJust going to start this off by saying: It’s OKAY TO BE POLITICALLY INCORRECT when done in good taste and with a purpose. I felt shaft was a Great movie! You can tell a lot of thought was put into the lines and dialogue between Samuel Jackson and Shaft Jr. You will be laughing the entire time while also deeply invested in the story. Do yourself a favor and ignore the critic and go see this with your friends this weekend. You'll all be in for a treat Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
4
SjworrelsJun 16, 2019
Thoroughly entertaining. Funny, nostalgic and great continuing story line.
1 of 5 users found this helpful14
All this user's reviews
0
toothdocJun 19, 2019
Very disappointed in Shaft number 5. Based on the previous editions, I expected an entertaining good guys vs bad guys experience. Unfortunately this was so over the top crude and rude that I walked out after the first few minutes. Should haveVery disappointed in Shaft number 5. Based on the previous editions, I expected an entertaining good guys vs bad guys experience. Unfortunately this was so over the top crude and rude that I walked out after the first few minutes. Should have asked for my money back. Expand
1 of 11 users found this helpful110
All this user's reviews
6
tropicAcesJun 27, 2019
Samuel L Jackson gives this thing way more effort than it deserves, but his fun attitude rubs off. The action is cut together like a bland PG-13 Tim Story film, but the (somewhat gutsy for 2019?) jokes and performances carry it. My audienceSamuel L Jackson gives this thing way more effort than it deserves, but his fun attitude rubs off. The action is cut together like a bland PG-13 Tim Story film, but the (somewhat gutsy for 2019?) jokes and performances carry it. My audience had a ball. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
hellpittJul 11, 2019
this is how you pass the torch guys...respecting all characters in a funny and entertaining movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
MrBiffJul 1, 2019
The movie isn't anything unique and the story it's self isn't either, but it is still gripping and worth a watch.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
qtmJul 14, 2019
Not good as an action movie and just a little bit better as a comedy. Parts when they tried to put drama in it dont work at all.
The ending was too stupid even by this movie standards.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
LaytonFComedyJul 13, 2019
This movie knew what it was. I did not grow up watching the show or original movie, but I was bored on a Wednesday and thought going to watch Samuel L. Jackson do his thing would be fun. I was not let down. The movie was nothing spectacular,This movie knew what it was. I did not grow up watching the show or original movie, but I was bored on a Wednesday and thought going to watch Samuel L. Jackson do his thing would be fun. I was not let down. The movie was nothing spectacular, but I had a good time. That is all I was really looking for in this movie. I specifically enjoyed the sections of the movie where all three generations of Shaft were together. It was fun and a little bit tongue and cheek. I was a little bit surprised at how terrible this movie did at the box office. Jackson is a phenom who people adore. Especially coming right off of the Marvel wave he has been on this year alone. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews