Fox Searchlight Pictures | Release Date: October 22, 2004
7.1
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 512 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
345
Mixed:
78
Negative:
89
Watch Now
Buy On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
JackOOct 10, 2009
Can't describe how real and awesome this movie is. absolute perfection in every sense of the word.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
TroyP.Oct 17, 2008
This movie is excellent! An amazing script with great acting. It touches on so many real life issues and does so in such a sutly humorous way. I feel that many people will not understand the greatness of this movie, but it is a masterpiece!!!
1 of 1 users found this helpful
6
RodG.Feb 21, 2007
I'm not too retarded that I didn't get the humor. It just wasn't a great movie. It was okay but not one to own. I'm sure people who are uptight and think they are upper class citizens found this movie delightful. Good for you.
5 of 6 users found this helpful
0
djniceyNov 13, 2014
I'm baffled as to why this has such high scores. I could have fallen asleep for the whole film and not missed anything apart from a bit of silly pretentious talking about wine.
3 of 4 users found this helpful31
All this user's reviews
10
JimmySep 8, 2005
Outstanding film, an instant classic. How you could give this movie a negative review is beyond me. The acting is superb. This is an honest film and real as a movie can be-- it wasn't made just to make you laugh. If you missed the Outstanding film, an instant classic. How you could give this movie a negative review is beyond me. The acting is superb. This is an honest film and real as a movie can be-- it wasn't made just to make you laugh. If you missed the point, I guess that's your loss. Go watch American Pie or something. Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful
0
sfarcusFeb 12, 2012
This movie was horrible and the fact that it was billed as a comedy is disgusting. It was dark and disturbing. The only reason people like it because the backdrop was about wineries. How anyone can say that this was an honest film andThis movie was horrible and the fact that it was billed as a comedy is disgusting. It was dark and disturbing. The only reason people like it because the backdrop was about wineries. How anyone can say that this was an honest film and real must be leading a very pathetic and sad life. Expand
3 of 5 users found this helpful32
All this user's reviews
2
awesomenessNov 2, 2010
Boring. Boring. Boring. Boring. Boring. Boring. Boring. Boring. Boring. Boring. Boring. Boring. Boring. Boring. Boring. Boring. Boring. Boring. Boring. Boring. Boring. Boring. Boring. Boring. Boring. Boring. Boring. Boring. Boring. Boring.Boring. Boring. Boring. Boring. Boring. Boring. Boring. Boring. Boring. Boring. Boring. Boring. Boring. Boring. Boring. Boring. Boring. Boring. Boring. Boring. Boring. Boring. Boring. Boring. Boring. Boring. Boring. Boring. Boring. Boring. Boring. Boring. Boring. Boring. Boring. Boring. Boring. Boring. Boring. Boring. Boring. Boring. Boring. Boring. Boring. Boring. Boring. Boring. Boring. Boring. Boring. Boring. Boring. Boring. Boring. Boring. Boring. Boring. Boring. Boring. Boring. Boring. Boring. Boring. Boring. Boring. Boring. Boring. Boring. Boring. Boring. Boring. Boring. Boring. Boring. Boring. Boring. Boring. Boring. Boring. Boring. Boring. Boring. Boring. Boring. Boring. Boring. Expand
5 of 10 users found this helpful55
All this user's reviews
10
ScraperDec 28, 2011
Giamatti's character's dimensions are written with such care that it makes him tangible and engaging. He's both fragile and explosive. When set against Haden Church's aging jock it creates a great story with a Laurel & Hardy quality to it.Giamatti's character's dimensions are written with such care that it makes him tangible and engaging. He's both fragile and explosive. When set against Haden Church's aging jock it creates a great story with a Laurel & Hardy quality to it. What I liked though is that looks at love were highly imperfect but still had real consequences. Jennifer Aniston is not in this film. The actors are believable. I was able to want to believe them, right or wrong, for better or worse. Expand
4 of 8 users found this helpful44
All this user's reviews
10
SchmidtFeb 7, 2011
Absolute perfection - a film in which ever detail is tuned beautifully, but not overdone. The cinematography, the music, the story, the set pieces, the realism, the WINE, the humour, the dialogue... and above all else the finest characterAbsolute perfection - a film in which ever detail is tuned beautifully, but not overdone. The cinematography, the music, the story, the set pieces, the realism, the WINE, the humour, the dialogue... and above all else the finest character performance I've seen from a consistently great character actor, Paul Giamatti. He captures Miles with precision - reading the novel, which is narrated by Miles, you obviously gain great insight into his character, but with every twitch, half-smile, lame comment, heartbreaking expression, he truly becomes Pickett's character, and brings him to life like no other could. Haden Church as Jack is a fantastic antithesis to Miles, and gives the surprise performance of the century, and Madsen offers a strong but scarred woman, who ultimately breathes life into Miles' body. I'm only really talking about performances here, but really, you have to see this movie yourself. For some fantastic camera work look out for the scene in Los Olivos, with a drunken Miles on the phone to his ex-wife, for a beautiful piece of music from Rolfe Kent, listen out for the scene at Mrs Raymond's, where Miles is looked down upon by his family (metaphorically, of course - they are in photographs), and for the best example of just how strong Giamatti is here, watch his stomach turn as Victoria gives him the news after the wedding. He painfully holds onto a smile, and we can see in his hurt, tormented eyes that he just wants to let go. Movie magic until the last second, and after that. Mature filmmaking at its best - as 'Jimmy' says, "an instant classic... an honest film and as real as a movie can be." Couldn't have put it better myself. Expand
2 of 4 users found this helpful22
All this user's reviews
9
J-ShapAug 29, 2011
Mastering the tonal shifts of life with a look at the problems one can face, both serious and trivial, Sideways comes around as simply excellent. It can have scenes of high humor, scenes of sad despair, and scenes to marvel at just howMastering the tonal shifts of life with a look at the problems one can face, both serious and trivial, Sideways comes around as simply excellent. It can have scenes of high humor, scenes of sad despair, and scenes to marvel at just how something managed to end up the way it is, and the director and cast can handle the shifts between these in a way that feels so natural it's almost frightening. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
3
MikeH.Feb 27, 2007
Not to react to other reviewers but: just because you don't like the movie doesn't make you retarded. Thinking your opinion is somehow superior to others is quite retarded. This movie had some interesting humor and WAS clever. It Not to react to other reviewers but: just because you don't like the movie doesn't make you retarded. Thinking your opinion is somehow superior to others is quite retarded. This movie had some interesting humor and WAS clever. It also had interesting characters. The problem is: I disliked the characters. It was like watching a comedy about annoying people. They may be occasionally funny and deep, but they are STILL ANNOYING. Sorry, but this was a terrible movie to live through for me and the three others that watched it with me. Expand
2 of 6 users found this helpful
3
RichardsOct 8, 2005
Wow, were those outstanding reviews all written by family members or what? Not a bad film, but not a great one, or an "instant classic" either. Just an ordinary slice-of-life pic with a few scenes that raise a smile, but no great laughs, and Wow, were those outstanding reviews all written by family members or what? Not a bad film, but not a great one, or an "instant classic" either. Just an ordinary slice-of-life pic with a few scenes that raise a smile, but no great laughs, and some obvious insights into middle-aged men. Overlong, under-written, too little drama and amazingly over-rated. The emotion also veers all over the place, from maudlin pathos, to pornographic, to sappy sentiment. Along with The Station Agent, one of the most over-rated films for years - perhaps they are only suited to an American audience and American "humour"? Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful
0
JeffH.Mar 19, 2007
Honestly one of the worst movies i have ever seen, a complete sham that it has the same rating as pulp fiction, and is actually ahead of Schindler's List.....it is a movie that tries to come off as deep but its really about two losers Honestly one of the worst movies i have ever seen, a complete sham that it has the same rating as pulp fiction, and is actually ahead of Schindler's List.....it is a movie that tries to come off as deep but its really about two losers whose lives are terrible and they have no one to blame but themselves. I would like the two hours of my life back that i sat watching this slow, boring, unfunny, atroscity of a movie....do not even waste your time. Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful
5
DanJan 6, 2008
I really have no idea why this is tauted so highly by critics. I went into this movie with extremely high expectations as I am a fan of both Paul Giamatti and Thomas Haden Church for their past work. There's something about this movie I really have no idea why this is tauted so highly by critics. I went into this movie with extremely high expectations as I am a fan of both Paul Giamatti and Thomas Haden Church for their past work. There's something about this movie that just leaves a terrible taste in my mouth. Maybe it's that both Giamatti and Church's character weren't even likable in the least with both coming off as obnoxious and self-centered. It could be that this movie is just drag out boring with uninteresting situations and dialogue throughout. I know it's in that pseudo category DRAMEDY, but seriously you'll find more laughs in Schindler's' List than this steaming pile. Please don't waste your precious 2 hours on this film and instead go have your pet spade or neutered. Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful
9
HorlanMay 8, 2012
Sideways makes you believe that the story written by Alexander Payne is true. It is fresh, smart and as sophisticated as a good, old wine. All four actors are full of emotions, especially Paul Giamatti gives an unforgettable performance.
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
9
MackeyJan 5, 2013
"Sideways" is a insightful movie about friendship, love, a lot drinking, bad habits and moral weaknesses of man. However it leaves delight after seeing, and chaotic adventure of main characters breathes in us hope that life is much more"Sideways" is a insightful movie about friendship, love, a lot drinking, bad habits and moral weaknesses of man. However it leaves delight after seeing, and chaotic adventure of main characters breathes in us hope that life is much more pleasent that it sounds. Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
2
TrumanOct 8, 2005
A simple review - how did this beat The Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind in so many award ceremonies? Daylight robbery, pure and simple. If you want to see a brilliantly written, directed and acted film about mid-life crisis watch The A simple review - how did this beat The Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind in so many award ceremonies? Daylight robbery, pure and simple. If you want to see a brilliantly written, directed and acted film about mid-life crisis watch The Wonderboys. This is a poor second cousin in comparison. Expand
1 of 4 users found this helpful
10
jcarMay 10, 2011
This movie is phenomenal. It's humor is incredibly consistent and contains a performance from Paul Giamatti that won't be topped for ages. I loved this movie and would recommend it to anyone
1 of 5 users found this helpful14
All this user's reviews
6
SusanL.Mar 1, 2008
Rated above "Apocalypse Now"? Come on!
0 of 1 users found this helpful
4
MackJan 6, 2009
Don't critics give points for movies being enjoyable to watch? This one is not particularly funny or interesting. Seems like a real bandwagon movie.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
5
AlecE.Mar 14, 2008
A clear case of hype elevating a movie to a status it doesnt deserve. Nothing special.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
6
DamirApr 25, 2008
ha ha the critics gave this a 94? tieing it with lord of the rings the return of the king? yeah right.. this is a good movie, well put together, kinda funny, but its not my style.. and i don't agree with giving it a perfect score. id ha ha the critics gave this a 94? tieing it with lord of the rings the return of the king? yeah right.. this is a good movie, well put together, kinda funny, but its not my style.. and i don't agree with giving it a perfect score. id say its more of a 3/4 film just missing a couple of strong marks to be accountable as a masterpiece. sideways is seriously not that great.. i wouldnt recommend it, but i'm glad i saw it. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
8
SImonMJan 11, 2009
Put it like this - if you are an intelligent, witty and astute person, you will LOVE this. If, however, you are not a very bright person, you will say it's boring and unfunny. Take a look at the negative reviews here and you will notice Put it like this - if you are an intelligent, witty and astute person, you will LOVE this. If, however, you are not a very bright person, you will say it's boring and unfunny. Take a look at the negative reviews here and you will notice some terrible spelling, and inarticulate submissions. I think that says it all. For those who didn't enjoy the movie, perhapsMr Bean is more your style?? Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
4
JoaquinGSep 6, 2009
This movie is not funny at all. It's terribly slow and quite boring. Huge disappointment.
0 of 2 users found this helpful
5
MichaelL.Mar 14, 2006
Warning: You may believe you know everything there is to know about wine immediately after this movie. Wine. Why not beer? The main character is also a complete douchebag who steals money from his mom and cannot deal with himself. If you Warning: You may believe you know everything there is to know about wine immediately after this movie. Wine. Why not beer? The main character is also a complete douchebag who steals money from his mom and cannot deal with himself. If you dislike your life so much as to feel better from looking at this guy, then you might like this movie. Like most beta-male oriented movies, it focuses on the "small victories" of the main character. It also did not impress me with its taste in wine. What's wrong with merlot? Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
5
tonys.May 10, 2006
Sweet movie, but highly overrated. Virginia Madsen was awesome.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
2
TimASep 14, 2008
Firstly for a comedy this is not funny. The acting is wooden and somehow makes you feel rather distant from the film. The whole wine tasting theme through the film is so pretentious and psuedo classy. Avoid
0 of 1 users found this helpful
3
ChristopherJ.Mar 17, 2007
Giamatti is awesome. The other acting is acceptable. The movie never seems to go anywhere. It does have some humor.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
1
justicenowAug 16, 2008
This is a perfect example of why Critic's reviews are irrelevant to the public. This movie was is pretty much a waste of time. I have found that user reviews and ratings are far more relevant and consistent than those of the Critics. This is a perfect example of why Critic's reviews are irrelevant to the public. This movie was is pretty much a waste of time. I have found that user reviews and ratings are far more relevant and consistent than those of the Critics. Out of 450 votes this movie's rating is 6.1 out of 10. Though I thought the movie was horrible, a 6.1 gives the public a reasonable idea of what the over all value of the movie is. 94 out of 100 is ridiculous. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
7
rodericrinehartAug 14, 2010
Although I enjoyed the movie, I'm not sure why the critics fawned over it as much as they did. It's solid, but not spectacular. The characters and plot were entertaining and unique.
0 of 3 users found this helpful03
All this user's reviews
10
Christopher_G2Jan 16, 2011
This is in my top 20 movies of the last decade. It has an amazing script, and no less than three terrific performances by Paul Giamatti (one of the worst snubs in Oscar history) Thomas Hadden Church, and Virginia Madsen. It's very funny,This is in my top 20 movies of the last decade. It has an amazing script, and no less than three terrific performances by Paul Giamatti (one of the worst snubs in Oscar history) Thomas Hadden Church, and Virginia Madsen. It's very funny, entertaining, and made wine country a fascinating topic for someone like me who had no interest on the subject. It's purely about life and the choices we make. Expand
0 of 3 users found this helpful03
All this user's reviews
9
pedrostrikNov 28, 2010
Best quotidian movie in the last 20 years, wonderful plot, nice acting Giamatti's performance its sublime.
This movie its not for a general crowd, as wine tour suggest, the movie target's people that loves wine, nature and stereotypes on
Best quotidian movie in the last 20 years, wonderful plot, nice acting Giamatti's performance its sublime.
This movie its not for a general crowd, as wine tour suggest, the movie target's people that loves wine, nature and stereotypes on actual society, for some people to hard to understand the movie's message.
i watch it 2 times already and there's always something new on the plot ...
Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
10
anothercoolguyJun 10, 2012
I really like Paul Giamatti and Thomas Haden Church, I think Thomas should won that oscar this movie is really entertaining, pretty good in my opinion, i specially liked it by the acting but still good
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
10
pkgadersonsJun 10, 2012
I love the acting in this movie, i also like the drama and it has comedy too, that is great, i do not get why people doesnt like it much its of my favorite ones
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
10
john24Jun 25, 2012
I loved it .
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
10
cameronmorewoodNov 18, 2012
Payne directs the film so meticulously that you can't help but be intrigued by what he's showing you. He and Giamatti create and character with vast depth and sneakily subtle idiosyncrasies.
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
10
worleyjamersJun 8, 2013
A special film, the kind that stays with you days after watching it. The word that comes to mind when I think about this movie is, rich. Each scene is so perfectly constructed and full of so much heart and soul; the characters are fullyA special film, the kind that stays with you days after watching it. The word that comes to mind when I think about this movie is, rich. Each scene is so perfectly constructed and full of so much heart and soul; the characters are fully realized, well developed, and perfectly portrayed by an amazing cast. Payne's direction is brilliant, this is easily his best film he's ever done. And the script is fun, charming, interesting, real, and resonant. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
10
pHrfoFeb 17, 2013
A movie that does not underestimate the public, like most of the comedies nowadays. A lot of its drama is undisclosed, but perfectly understood, thanks to the flawless performances of Giamatti and Church. Payne's view of marriage, friendshipA movie that does not underestimate the public, like most of the comedies nowadays. A lot of its drama is undisclosed, but perfectly understood, thanks to the flawless performances of Giamatti and Church. Payne's view of marriage, friendship and life is fascinating. The direction is outstanding: it allow us to enter the story in so many layers that we feel on a road trip, drinking wine. A real masterpiece. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
9
Halo_InsiderNov 16, 2013
The central quartet is fantastic to behold, and this remains one of Alexander Payne's best films. It's a fantastic piece of work aided by an engaging and bittersweet script.
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
10
niaspeedMar 29, 2014
One of my all time favorite movies, and for some people on here to say it was the worst movie ever, watch Lost in space, or the Black Hole. People are so ridiculous. Sideways is a classic.
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
9
OrlandoCuculizaJun 2, 2005
Ok, the movie is highly enjoyable and entertaining but it ain't as great as all the critics picture it!. Of course you enjoy the plot and all, but there aren't many hilarious movies and the humor is not even ironic or such to laughOk, the movie is highly enjoyable and entertaining but it ain't as great as all the critics picture it!. Of course you enjoy the plot and all, but there aren't many hilarious movies and the humor is not even ironic or such to laugh out loud of the circumstances.
It's just an over-the-average dromedy, which you could watch just to watch when you're bored.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
KevinG.Jan 21, 2006
This would have to be the WORST movie I have ever seen in my life. I would only recommend it to those who have trouble sleeping at night, beacuse this is a drug-free sleep enhancer! What a waste of time. I think the credits were the best This would have to be the WORST movie I have ever seen in my life. I would only recommend it to those who have trouble sleeping at night, beacuse this is a drug-free sleep enhancer! What a waste of time. I think the credits were the best part. What a boring ass movie! I kept waiting for it to spark up into something funny... and I'm still waiting for that! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
BlaineH.Apr 1, 2006
I found both leading male characters to be sleezy and more over, not funny. Maybe it's the fact that I would never associate with anyone with the slightest similarities in character, EVER. It was a waste and a bore.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
JesusCMar 30, 2007
Such a disappointment! I was so looking forward to this after having worked in the wine business! & liking comedy. Found the charactors so hard to identify with and deserving of so little compassion & I the wine tasting elements handled with Such a disappointment! I was so looking forward to this after having worked in the wine business! & liking comedy. Found the charactors so hard to identify with and deserving of so little compassion & I the wine tasting elements handled with the subtlety of a sledgehammer, awkward and cliche'd. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
AidanWMar 14, 2008
The worst part is that merlot sales dropped because of this movie. way to go america!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AndreasCOct 19, 2005
Fantastic film. Paul Giamatti is amazing and so is everything from story to soundtrack.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
GlendaS.Dec 6, 2005
There is no likeable characters in this movie, I don't understand why professional reviewers like it so much.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AdamS.Oct 30, 2005
The user comments on this website match the sentiments I get from friends and family. Sideways is hit or miss - you love it or hate it. Simply put, the script and the acting are excellent (seriously... top notch), but the movie is never The user comments on this website match the sentiments I get from friends and family. Sideways is hit or miss - you love it or hate it. Simply put, the script and the acting are excellent (seriously... top notch), but the movie is never exciting or wildly dramatic. If you're the kind of person who gets excited about convincing characters and plots then you shouldn't pass this one up. Otherwise, you've been warned. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
dmhAug 29, 2005
I wasted 123 minutes of my time.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ChrisSep 11, 2005
One of the best comedies i have seen in a long time.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
MollyMOct 18, 2006
I heard all of the hype about this movie and thought, hey, even though the premise sounds really lame, all of these critics can't be wrong, right? Wrong. Sideways is the story about two losers (who you can never quite like or respect) I heard all of the hype about this movie and thought, hey, even though the premise sounds really lame, all of these critics can't be wrong, right? Wrong. Sideways is the story about two losers (who you can never quite like or respect) who go driving around California getting drunk and trying to hook up with sluts they find along the way, all the while trying to deal with their pathetic and self-created issues. Hmm... sounds so interesting doesn't it? Nope, and it wasn't. At first it wasn't so bad, but the more I watched it, the more I felt like my sense of humanity was slowly and methodically being assaulted till, by the end, my friend and I looked at each other and apologized for suggesting we see the movie. Several times throughout the viewing people in the audience would laugh, while my friend and I would look at each other in confusion, wondering if perhaps there was some other reality that we lived in that made it so we didn't think the weasels on screen were funny. The shallowness of this movie seems to be epitomized by the scene when Paul Giamatti and Virginia Madsen's characters are out on the porch talking about their favorite wines and end up having a "deep" conversation. I kept thinking, is this supposed to be some deep, poignant point in the movie? It was nothing big, nothing deep or insightful to anybody who is deep and insightful. Which apparently most of the reviewers are not... I guess deep conversations and "meaningful issues" for a lot of movies are things that I think about and discuss with friends and family on regular basis, so maybe my life is just more complex and deep than I knew, because this movie wasn't impressive to me in the least. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
FRANKJJan 19, 2006
YEARS AGO IN THE 70S THERE MIGHT BE 45 GREAT MOVIES IN A YEAR WELL IN THE 200S THERES ONLY ABOUT 1 A YEAR AND THIS FIM SIDEWAYS WHICH I CAN SEE DAILY TILL I DIE ,HAS EVERYTHING FROM WEDDINGS TO WINE IN IT .......IF U DONT LIKE THIS MOVIEYEARS AGO IN THE 70S THERE MIGHT BE 45 GREAT MOVIES IN A YEAR WELL IN THE 200S THERES ONLY ABOUT 1 A YEAR AND THIS FIM SIDEWAYS WHICH I CAN SEE DAILY TILL I DIE ,HAS EVERYTHING FROM WEDDINGS TO WINE IN IT .......IF U DONT LIKE THIS MOVIE PLEASE DONT GO TO THE MOVIES YOUR NOT A FAN Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
NickRJan 4, 2006
Ok. Some intelligent dialogue and emotion, good performances but really not that special. To rate in top 10 alltime is ridiculous, top 10 of year fine. Realistic in some ways, very unrealistic in others is normal in movies but keeps it from Ok. Some intelligent dialogue and emotion, good performances but really not that special. To rate in top 10 alltime is ridiculous, top 10 of year fine. Realistic in some ways, very unrealistic in others is normal in movies but keeps it from rating higher. The sadness is done pretty well, the laughs didnt make me laugh that much. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
kultgirlJan 5, 2006
I waited a long time to see this so I would not be judging it by the hype. I'm thankful I wasn't holding my breath. I am an independent movie fan, and I still detest this movie. The only thing worth value to me was the end. I I waited a long time to see this so I would not be judging it by the hype. I'm thankful I wasn't holding my breath. I am an independent movie fan, and I still detest this movie. The only thing worth value to me was the end. I suppose the scenery was nice too. I kept wondering, "What did I miss!??!?!" Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
JohnAJan 6, 2006
This film reminded me of classic literature that critics claim is not to be missed. Sure, if you are looking to study character development and then talk about it in your film club later. I was simply looking to be entertained. SidewaysThis film reminded me of classic literature that critics claim is not to be missed. Sure, if you are looking to study character development and then talk about it in your film club later. I was simply looking to be entertained. Sideways provided some very funny moments but was far more work and not enough entertainment. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
KarlB.Jan 6, 2006
Complete crap. what a waste of time. the film was dragging from beginning to end and actually felt tears of joy when it ended.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
FrankieA.Feb 9, 2006
Easily one of my favorite movies. It's the only movie nominated for best picture (Oscars 2004) that I would watch again and again. For some, it may seem boring or uninteresting. I'll admit, it's not a movie for everyone, but Easily one of my favorite movies. It's the only movie nominated for best picture (Oscars 2004) that I would watch again and again. For some, it may seem boring or uninteresting. I'll admit, it's not a movie for everyone, but for me, it was great. Acting, storyline, film techniques, all great. Whatever the movie is, it is not a waste of your time. See this movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RonaldH.Apr 14, 2006
The 94 score on here says it all. If you didn't like it then you didn't get it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
KennethM.Jul 10, 2006
Pretensious drivel.. lol, misspelt.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DanielC.Jul 11, 2006
I think a little life experience is needed to fully appreciate this film. Don't expect any explosions or epiphanies just a beautiful and thoughtful trip through life's ups and downs. Very funny too. People giving this film very low I think a little life experience is needed to fully appreciate this film. Don't expect any explosions or epiphanies just a beautiful and thoughtful trip through life's ups and downs. Very funny too. People giving this film very low scores are Silly. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
FelixQ.Jul 25, 2006
It was alright. Brilliantly cast, with fleshed out characters and unique settings- but somehow lacking the final shove that would have made it great for me. I think this one, more than others, will come down greatly to taste. For me, It was alright. Brilliantly cast, with fleshed out characters and unique settings- but somehow lacking the final shove that would have made it great for me. I think this one, more than others, will come down greatly to taste. For me, although this is set apart from others in the genre, just doesn't grab the niche and own it. If a movie is going to go for the quirk, then it must do so all-in, no apologies and jump. This felt like someone, somewhere was holding back in the production of this film, be it writer, director, actor or producer. But over-all, better than many, if not most, in it's category. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
MasakiO.Oct 5, 2007
I thought it was a depressing. This movie gave sooo many people a wrong impression on everything to do with wine & wine tasting... As soon as you start treating FERMENTED GRAPE JUICE as if it were a person ~ Something is wrong with you. I thought it was a depressing. This movie gave sooo many people a wrong impression on everything to do with wine & wine tasting... As soon as you start treating FERMENTED GRAPE JUICE as if it were a person ~ Something is wrong with you. I'm from Napa... You come here and act like that then you shouldn't be on vacation. That guy - as a friend in this movie - sucks. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
DaveS.Mar 1, 2007
Boring! Smug, middle class nonsense, no laughs at all. you'd be hard pushed to stay awake during this. I can't for the life of me work out why the critics are fawning over it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
DanR.Mar 2, 2007
Are you kidding me? One of the top of all time? This website just dropped to 0 in my critic review. This movie was horrilbe. The only question is are you getting paid to hipe up a flop or what?
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
DrewP.Apr 14, 2007
Unwatchable! Like a lot of others here, I can't understand why this was so critically acclaimed. It's not funny, and it's actually a pretty sad and obnoxious movie. I guess if you're a loser facing a midlife crisis and Unwatchable! Like a lot of others here, I can't understand why this was so critically acclaimed. It's not funny, and it's actually a pretty sad and obnoxious movie. I guess if you're a loser facing a midlife crisis and would like to identify with something, this is your movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
BobE.Apr 8, 2007
This is my first rating, so it gets a 1. Really a pedestrian and trite little flick, but I did laugh a couple of times. Why did it get so many 100's by the critics? They must have been quite drunk at the time. I suggest a good Syrah This is my first rating, so it gets a 1. Really a pedestrian and trite little flick, but I did laugh a couple of times. Why did it get so many 100's by the critics? They must have been quite drunk at the time. I suggest a good Syrah buzz to make this go down a little easier. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
KennyM.Mar 28, 2008
One of the greatest movies of all time. Alexander Payne is a master of his craft. I don't understand why so many people here didn't find it funny...I thought it was hilarious. Anyway, this film kicks ass. Great script, great One of the greatest movies of all time. Alexander Payne is a master of his craft. I don't understand why so many people here didn't find it funny...I thought it was hilarious. Anyway, this film kicks ass. Great script, great shooting, great acting, great directing...everything is perfection. Only American Beauty and a select other few films rate above Sideways in my book. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
RagnarJ.Mar 3, 2008
very clever comedy. You see the hopeless lives of two men, succumbing slowly to their own extinction and aspiring to find a new way to lead their lives. May seem sardonic and obnoxious, at times, but they are portraying realistic emotions very clever comedy. You see the hopeless lives of two men, succumbing slowly to their own extinction and aspiring to find a new way to lead their lives. May seem sardonic and obnoxious, at times, but they are portraying realistic emotions and case-studies. Fabulous wit and clever as f*ck. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
jordanhJul 24, 2008
The only reason for the 1 is because of when the car fell in the ditch. that was the only funny part during the entire movie. other than that it was just annoying. it wasn't funny romantic, or entertaining. dry and excruciatingly boring.The only reason for the 1 is because of when the car fell in the ditch. that was the only funny part during the entire movie. other than that it was just annoying. it wasn't funny romantic, or entertaining. dry and excruciatingly boring. see it if you want to waste your time, but if you'd like to save two hours of your life from being completely wasted, try looking ANYWHERE else. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BrianWApr 3, 2009
this movie is neither a 10 nor a 0, but I'm giving it a 10 to offset all of you who don't have a clue. It is very entertaining and quite refreshing compared to all the formula crap coming out of Hollywood. All you folks who this movie is neither a 10 nor a 0, but I'm giving it a 10 to offset all of you who don't have a clue. It is very entertaining and quite refreshing compared to all the formula crap coming out of Hollywood. All you folks who didn't get it ought to consider staying home to watch something really stimulating, like American Idol. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
DaveJSep 11, 2009
A good film especially due to the fact that there are not any really big name actors. I wouldn't say that its a comedy though nor should it be in the top 100 films of all time list! Still worth a seeing though!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
JimF.Nov 8, 2005
A few interesting moments, but overall a boring waste of time. I don't understand the so-called "critics" rating this move so high - maybe they just want to impress us with their superiority as "experts". I look at the ratings from the A few interesting moments, but overall a boring waste of time. I don't understand the so-called "critics" rating this move so high - maybe they just want to impress us with their superiority as "experts". I look at the ratings from the "Users" rather than the "Critics" for more honesty and good judgement. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
KrisV.Dec 14, 2005
Instead of being unbelievable funny. It is just unbelievable and not funny at all. shame that it gets great reviews. Wasted 20 euros in buying it. Cant even use it as as present.Maybe I give it to someone I really hate. Let him waste two Instead of being unbelievable funny. It is just unbelievable and not funny at all. shame that it gets great reviews. Wasted 20 euros in buying it. Cant even use it as as present.Maybe I give it to someone I really hate. Let him waste two hours of his live. that said the acting was reasonable and the storytelling OK but the story bored me and I didn't relate. (allthough I am 35 and single) Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
JonathanShalfiMar 26, 2005
This is very typical of slow, adult oriented "sophisticated " films which get huge reviews from the papers.. There are very few scenes that'll actually make you smile, and everything seems to follow an "Oscar-formula". Other than that,This is very typical of slow, adult oriented "sophisticated " films which get huge reviews from the papers.. There are very few scenes that'll actually make you smile, and everything seems to follow an "Oscar-formula". Other than that, its a fairly interesting movie, as long as you have some patience. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
RichardR.Apr 25, 2005
Bleahhh! This movie made me want to puke even more than if I'd drunk as much cheap wine as those jerks did. EVERY performance was crap (well, maybe the neglected little girl in the apartment did OK, but she just had one line, I think), Bleahhh! This movie made me want to puke even more than if I'd drunk as much cheap wine as those jerks did. EVERY performance was crap (well, maybe the neglected little girl in the apartment did OK, but she just had one line, I think), the story absurd, the dialogue stilted and unnatural. They couldn't even pronounce "Merlot," for crying out loud! What's more, the idea that any woman in the universe might want to hang with either of these two lame lead characters is way beyond belief. This was one of the worst movies I've EVER seen, and certainly the most over-rated. (Whew! I feel better now...) Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AnthonySJun 6, 2005
Brilliant.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
RyanM.Sep 12, 2005
Good movie, entertaining, but not great. Exceptionally well written, with some genuinely funny and whimsical scenes. The humor is not always obvious, though some people that reviewed this might expect that. Some cheesy scenes but overall Good movie, entertaining, but not great. Exceptionally well written, with some genuinely funny and whimsical scenes. The humor is not always obvious, though some people that reviewed this might expect that. Some cheesy scenes but overall entertaining and odd sometimes. Giamatti is great and the cinemetography makes you want to move to Napa. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
ChuckB.Nov 3, 2006
In short - BORING. The only laugh (more of a titter) was the pathetic attempt to pronounce Cheval Blanc (shevull blonk?) I definitely recommend skipping this one
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ECNov 5, 2006
Possibly one of the smartest comedies thus far in this millenium. Anyone who doesn't like this movie is obviously too retarded to understand it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
ShmittyS.Oct 31, 2006
Yeah, are the critics High? This is the worst movie I have ever seen in the passed year. IT IS SO F.CKING STUPID! It has barely any humor, besides random cussing. All they do is drive around and drink. The critics for once actually gave too Yeah, are the critics High? This is the worst movie I have ever seen in the passed year. IT IS SO F.CKING STUPID! It has barely any humor, besides random cussing. All they do is drive around and drink. The critics for once actually gave too high a rating. This is ridiculous. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
JohnH.Feb 20, 2006
thought this would be my kind of film, I was wrong. It seems to me to be an american attempt at a european style 'slower pace' film but 'slow' does not make it good! The friendship of the 2 main characters was just not thought this would be my kind of film, I was wrong. It seems to me to be an american attempt at a european style 'slower pace' film but 'slow' does not make it good! The friendship of the 2 main characters was just not believable, why the actor puts up with the teacher is beyond me, rather him than me! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
DanielM.Feb 26, 2006
The through and through cinemaphotography, the few moments of very humorous dialogue and facial expressions by the characters, and some intense subtlties and blatant follies make for a nice and amusing film. It may be over-rated indeed, but The through and through cinemaphotography, the few moments of very humorous dialogue and facial expressions by the characters, and some intense subtlties and blatant follies make for a nice and amusing film. It may be over-rated indeed, but it attempts to speak to a person who cannot possibly appreciate it if he/she has not quite ammassed 30 years on this earth. P.S. don't read the "novel" that this film was based on...unless you live in S.B. County there will be nothing for you to recognize or appreciate. Bad stuff. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
ChristosC.Apr 23, 2006
Possibly written and filmed exclusively for movie reviewers.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
AndreW.Apr 23, 2006
I laughed once during the entire movie. Poor story, ok actors but not funny!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
TonyB.May 30, 2006
i loved this movie i didnt see one thing wrong with it. I dont understand why people cant except realizm in movies this has excellent dialouge it was had some very funny moments i am glad i didnt listen to anybody when they told me this i loved this movie i didnt see one thing wrong with it. I dont understand why people cant except realizm in movies this has excellent dialouge it was had some very funny moments i am glad i didnt listen to anybody when they told me this movie was bad, i enjoyed it greatly, deffinatly recommend for a viewing. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
AlexF.Jun 1, 2006
Worst Film Ever. I do believe this was made for critics to go "it shows balance and poise and drama in such a simple way" or some other simnilar rubbish that critics tend to spout to be percieved as different. Awful Awful Awful and Awful in Worst Film Ever. I do believe this was made for critics to go "it shows balance and poise and drama in such a simple way" or some other simnilar rubbish that critics tend to spout to be percieved as different. Awful Awful Awful and Awful in case you didn't get the picture. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
GregC.Jul 18, 2006
Wore thin after a while. I stopped caring about Giamatti's character when he ripped off his Mom's money.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
MWJul 31, 2006
I really enjoyed this film. I found my sympathies switching between all the characters sometimes loathing, laughing at or even finding them slightly lovable. The whole film felt so realistic and it was nice to see relationships that I really enjoyed this film. I found my sympathies switching between all the characters sometimes loathing, laughing at or even finding them slightly lovable. The whole film felt so realistic and it was nice to see relationships that aren't sugar coated between beautiful people in the normal hollywood style. I didn't know that films this good and subtle were made outside of the EU and when I watched it got a buzz to know that not all films from the US have to be big budget, plotless romps. I plan now to see other Payne films and hope that I see more like this coming to the cinema soon. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
NathanT.Aug 12, 2006
"Sideways" is inarguably the best film of our decade; a classic that can stand up to any great film from any era in cinema. [***SPOILERS***] This is film at its most intoxicating, its most poignant, and funniest. Paul Giamatti was screwed "Sideways" is inarguably the best film of our decade; a classic that can stand up to any great film from any era in cinema. [***SPOILERS***] This is film at its most intoxicating, its most poignant, and funniest. Paul Giamatti was screwed out of even being nominated for Best Actor, while Thomas Hayden Church and Virginia Madsen were justly nominated for their parts, even if they didn't win. The real genius of "Sideways" is that director Alexander Payne creates empathy for two guys that when you think about it, aren't really that sympathetic. Miles (Giamatti) is a grump, and usually drunk on wine from the night before. Jack is an aging sex addict. Not a lot of wiggle room to like these characters. But Payne makes us care and by the end of it they've both been through so many experiences that we can only hope they've learned. And the knock that ends the movie is pure bliss. Raise your glasses and treat yourself to a classic that is guaranteed to age better than "Memento" ever will. This is one that you savor. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
MorrisLeCatSep 9, 2006
It always astonishes me that a movie like this can get high review marks. This reminded me of 'Wedding Crashers', in that, once again, we are supposed to find meaning or feeling or poignancy in characters (at least 2 of them) thatIt always astonishes me that a movie like this can get high review marks. This reminded me of 'Wedding Crashers', in that, once again, we are supposed to find meaning or feeling or poignancy in characters (at least 2 of them) that have absolutely zero redeaming value? Take Jack (the one who's getting married), for instance. To watch someone spend the last week before marriage getting laid as often as possible simply doesn't push any comedy 'ha ha' buttons for me.Jack was unbearably tedious within the first 20 minutes of the start. Miles was more a charicature that a character -- his stealing from his mother and his daily drunkeness left no room in my heart to hope for a hapy ending for him. He didn't deserve Maya -- he didn't desrve anything. And his middle school student didn't deserve him.

This movie is basically one in which three out of the four main characters (Miles, Jack, and Maya) get to have a reasonably happy ending when none of them have earned it as human beings. I suppose that would be okay if the movie didn't deliver the story in a way tath seems to condone or celebrate it. Talk about a unredeeming amoral flick, this one's a poster child.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
FreddieL.Dec 1, 2007
To begin, this was a delightfully written and acted film. How anyone could not connect and feel for Paul Giametti's character astounds me. It saddens me how egotistical twerps attack this film, rating it badly simply on the grounds that To begin, this was a delightfully written and acted film. How anyone could not connect and feel for Paul Giametti's character astounds me. It saddens me how egotistical twerps attack this film, rating it badly simply on the grounds that it was rated highly by critics, though a films quality must always be percieved without the presence of a review, in my opinion. Therefore, I am slightly surpirsed by those who didnt enjoy the film for what it was; an intimate, warming tale of a man, whose life it seems can only genuinely be related to and understood by those with a conscious, and those who don't take life for granted. In conclusion, Sideways is a truly uplifting film which i recommend highly, regardless of the critics' reviews. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
ariBJan 24, 2007
Downright stupid and boring. This movie having a rating of 94 is an insult to all other brillaint films ever made in history.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AlexM.Feb 11, 2007
One of the cleverest and funniest films that I have had a pleasure watching. A real delight, how all comedy should be - clever and edgy. All those who did not like this film are obviously lacking in intelligence and sense of humour!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
AngusS.Apr 11, 2007
Superb comedy. Excellent characters. So much more to offer than the average 21st Century comedy.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
CraigP.Apr 30, 2007
Extremely funny movie about wine tasting!! Actually it's about alot more than that....wonderful performances as well.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SvenS.May 16, 2007
One of the best movies I have ever seen...it's so fucking good!!! I don't understand why people dislike this movie... It made me feel very good!! And the humor isn't big like Naked Gun, but it's funny!!!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
KenCJan 8, 2008
It was irritating to watch and I could not finish the movie. The characters are pathetic and the plot was trite. It was very woody allen (without his touch) - you find yourself not caring about the characters and wondering why you are even It was irritating to watch and I could not finish the movie. The characters are pathetic and the plot was trite. It was very woody allen (without his touch) - you find yourself not caring about the characters and wondering why you are even watching the movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
JonSJan 8, 2008
Two repulsive men bagging two gorgeous women . . . no wonder so many movie critics loved it. Really - if you can stand the company of these guys, you need to get some new friends . . .
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
PrinsM.Mar 6, 2008
Awful. Completely unrealistic and not even remotely funny. Did I mention irritating?
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
NeilFOct 19, 2009
Life-affirming. Anyone who doesn't get it has a black hole where their heart should be.
0 of 0 users found this helpful