Sony Pictures Classics | Release Date: October 12, 2007
5.8
USER SCORE
Mixed or average reviews based on 36 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
15
Mixed:
13
Negative:
8
Watch Now
Buy On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
0
JohnnyA.Nov 21, 2007
nothing spectacular, nothing good, a letdown overall, many flaws make a huge difference, once you find ehm' all, at the theatre, the popcorn, pop, and direction was all that was fun, this is entertaining, but literally it sucks.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
1
DL.Nov 7, 2007
Rancid. The whole unveiling of the mystery inspector was terribly and unconvincingly rotten. The 1972 version had surprise. This version has nothing. Disappointed in Branagh, whose film "Dead Again" showed a good cinematic eye.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
0
MarkC.Nov 21, 2007
A very good original, and a very bad remake, Michael Caine doesn't do anything, a serious bore, way too short and cheesy.
1 of 2 users found this helpful
6
frozenpinkyMay 30, 2012
One of those dialog heavy films that, if you enjoy conversation in film the way I do, you'll enjoy. It's not something that demands repeat viewings like a Lynch, Kubrick or Leigh film, but it'll hold your attention just for the fact that youOne of those dialog heavy films that, if you enjoy conversation in film the way I do, you'll enjoy. It's not something that demands repeat viewings like a Lynch, Kubrick or Leigh film, but it'll hold your attention just for the fact that you will want to see what happens next... and how it will end. It's fun to watch Caine and Law try to "one-up" each other, as the film is pretty much a game or contest. It is almost one of those "day-in-the-life" movies (but actually takes place over two separate days). Good acting, great first and second act but, semi-weak third act. Not bad, not great. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
2
BlueRajaDec 4, 2012
Obviously adapted from a play - the characters stand around and wait, doing nothing until it's their turn to talk. Probably the worst adaption from a play to a movie I've ever seen. And more importantly, as is often the case with plays (forObviously adapted from a play - the characters stand around and wait, doing nothing until it's their turn to talk. Probably the worst adaption from a play to a movie I've ever seen. And more importantly, as is often the case with plays (for whatever reason), the characters talk and behave completely unrealistically. Especially at the end. [EDITED TO ADD] I've never seen the old movie or the play, but I just read the synopsis of the old movie, and it the ending sounds like it makes a LOT more sense than this one. Watch that one instead. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
2
JmsbppJul 11, 2013
Después de todo una película que no deja nada en que pensar sino un revuelto de palabras y "juegos" sin sentido comun, La pelicula deja un vacio ademas de ser aburrida
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
5
JaredC.Oct 28, 2007
You know, I've never really liked Sleuth first of all, but I saw it because I wanted a change of taste from all those boring action/adventure movies. Well, how do I put it, it wasn't that great. It was harshly too short to be true. You know, I've never really liked Sleuth first of all, but I saw it because I wanted a change of taste from all those boring action/adventure movies. Well, how do I put it, it wasn't that great. It was harshly too short to be true. Like, come on, you probably could have added an extra hour if you wanted to. Just, the film itself isn't to go see in the theatres and be really excited to watch a movie at Cineplex. Well, I'd change your movie to Michael Clayton because Sleuth isn't a film worth seeing. So, just for the heads up, rent it when it comes out. Or, watch it on Shaw when it comes out because trust me, it's not worth renting for 3 bucks. Just watch it when it comes and starts playing on Shaw or Cable. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
ChadS.Mar 18, 2008
They're only acting, Andrew(Michael Caine) and Milo(Jude Law); slipping on other skins is how the novelist and actor butter their bread. Both men shoot Harold Pinter's words at each other with cold precision. They duel in rooms They're only acting, Andrew(Michael Caine) and Milo(Jude Law); slipping on other skins is how the novelist and actor butter their bread. Both men shoot Harold Pinter's words at each other with cold precision. They duel in rooms illuminated by a blue light. Their mouths are benign guns. Andrew is just pretending, like a blank pretends to be a bullet, when the novelist aims his pistol at Milo. It's a game. The jewel heist, nothing more than smoke and mirrors. Both robbery attempts are deconstructive and anti-climactic. "Sleuth" is really about identity. In the endgame, the blue light affixes itself to Milo alone, while the sudden appearance of the red light seeks out Andrew in melancholic repose. Perhaps, these are the two men as they really are, finally, in three-dimensions, the truth comes out as the red and blue lights converge and produce a white light; an x-ray light. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
[Anonymous]Oct 15, 2007
Flaccid, pointless remake that often feels like a Pinter parody.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
EmmaG.Oct 17, 2007
Great performances, Law and Caine are brilliant, fantastic dialogues and, last but not least, amazing work by Kenneth Branagh.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
JayH.Feb 27, 2008
It's an interesting twist having Michael Caine in the opposite role he played in the 1972 version, but this film doesn't work nearly as well as that version. I was thoroughly unimpressed with Kenneth Branaugh's direction. It's an interesting twist having Michael Caine in the opposite role he played in the 1972 version, but this film doesn't work nearly as well as that version. I was thoroughly unimpressed with Kenneth Branaugh's direction. It's all show and not enough. Jude law needs to stop remaking films from 30 and 40 years ago. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
eva3si0nApr 1, 2020
Chamber film with 2 magnificent actors. I love this genre of cinema very much, as here it is best to see what acting the actor possesses. And Jude Law shows itself perfectly, the same can be said about the game Michael Caine. Unfortunately,Chamber film with 2 magnificent actors. I love this genre of cinema very much, as here it is best to see what acting the actor possesses. And Jude Law shows itself perfectly, the same can be said about the game Michael Caine. Unfortunately, the story itself is trivial, the decorations of the house in which the action itself takes place are also not surprising. The film should be watched by fans of actors or the genre of chamber cinema. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
OmarAdelJan 11, 2018
This is a great movie, Very well-written script, the story is complicated, great acting, specially by Michael Caine, it had very smooth decoration with great use of lighting, so kudos to the directors. every element in this movie is well pastThis is a great movie, Very well-written script, the story is complicated, great acting, specially by Michael Caine, it had very smooth decoration with great use of lighting, so kudos to the directors. every element in this movie is well past professional. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews