Universal Pictures | Release Date: March 31, 2006
4.3
USER SCORE
Mixed or average reviews based on 160 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
64
Mixed:
29
Negative:
67
Watch Now
Buy On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
8
DrewF.Apr 10, 2006
Starts off slow, but once those worms start-a-sliterhin', it's a lot of fun. Not just another pretty face, there's actually some deeper messages hidden here, if you're into that sort of thing. Definitely recommended.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
8
MichaelL.Nov 24, 2006
Tons of fun. Well acted, and unashamedly derivative, with a few original twists and turns. A bunch of good scares, too. It's unusual to find a film in this genre (with the exception of "Tremors" this well directed and acted). And some Tons of fun. Well acted, and unashamedly derivative, with a few original twists and turns. A bunch of good scares, too. It's unusual to find a film in this genre (with the exception of "Tremors" this well directed and acted). And some genuine laughs amid the shivers. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
9
LisaH.Apr 18, 2006
This movie was fun with a capital "F". I would recommend it to anyone who loves a good "tongue in cheek" kind of a movie, which are truly hard to find. Thank you Gunn for a good time.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
8
DevynApr 6, 2006
I actually was very entertained by this movie, it had the modern day take on the "meteor lands on earth and aliens cause havoc" movies of the 50's and 60's. It had some funny 1 liners and kept the audience happy. There were alot of I actually was very entertained by this movie, it had the modern day take on the "meteor lands on earth and aliens cause havoc" movies of the 50's and 60's. It had some funny 1 liners and kept the audience happy. There were alot of gory parts , but it was well done for a newer director. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
8
HéctorB.Jun 4, 2006
This movie is a love letter from an authentic fan of the horror genre. I had a lot of fun recognizing the bits, gags and sights borrowed from another films and directors. That "Slither" works as a B Movie with almost not a single original This movie is a love letter from an authentic fan of the horror genre. I had a lot of fun recognizing the bits, gags and sights borrowed from another films and directors. That "Slither" works as a B Movie with almost not a single original idea is a tribute to the talent and respect mr. Gunn has for the genre. I almost forgive him for writting the "Scooby Doo" movies, and i was very surprised for his "Dawn of the Dead" script (the 2004 remake of G. A. Romero's classic). Like Rob Zombie and Eli Roth, mr. Gunn tries to include all of his influences in a single movie. "Slither" is funny, with heartfelt moments that comes back to back with authentic gore orgies (and several nods to "Animal Planet"!). Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
9
DonnaHJan 6, 2007
Such a fun movie! Nathan Fillion is charming, as always, and Gregg Henry is hilarious as the foul-mouthed mayor. Kudos to James Gunn for hitting all the right notes, and making a wonderfully entertaining little film.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
8
buzz_clikJul 30, 2007
I'm stumped. I just don't understand how people can say this film isn't funny. It's absolutely bloated with humour, be it subtly through character quirks and interactions, great one-liners (mostly from the mayor) or I'm stumped. I just don't understand how people can say this film isn't funny. It's absolutely bloated with humour, be it subtly through character quirks and interactions, great one-liners (mostly from the mayor) or obvious gross-out gags. It's also a skillful homage to all those aliens-taking-over-the-earth movies (and there's a definite 'slug' subgenre in those which it ably echoes). Sure, it's not as brilliant as Shaun of the Dead, but it's still canny enough with its directing and script to easily please true fans of horror. Actually, now I've said that I should amend my opening statement: I actually can see how people don't get it, but I don't understand what those people were doing watching this film in the first place. Bottom line - If you're a horror buff who likes a laugh and appreciates a fellow fan doing it right, this film's right up there. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
7
DawnLJul 7, 2007
If you're looking for amazing and genre defining cinema you do not go to Slither. But, if you're looking for an enjoyable, humorous and overall fun movie then give this a watch. Nothing ground breaking but sometimes you just need If you're looking for amazing and genre defining cinema you do not go to Slither. But, if you're looking for an enjoyable, humorous and overall fun movie then give this a watch. Nothing ground breaking but sometimes you just need to kill the substance with something a little more accesible and light on the mind. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
8
WriteFilmLive21Dec 1, 2012
"Slither" is a quirky, humorous, violent, gross and all-out memorably entertaining horror flick. When an asteroid carrying an alien virus crashes just outside a small town, it infects one woman's husband and starts a series of disgusting"Slither" is a quirky, humorous, violent, gross and all-out memorably entertaining horror flick. When an asteroid carrying an alien virus crashes just outside a small town, it infects one woman's husband and starts a series of disgusting events that put you on a wonderfully fun road to chaos. All the actors put out great, hilarious performances against the increasingly disturbing happenings, and the CGI/makeup effects match the strength of the writing. Anyone who enjoys the odd mix of gruesome horror and character comedy will eat this one up like a zombie. Really quite a find! Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
7
juliankennedy23Oct 26, 2014
Slither: 7 out of 10: Nathan Fillion needs to get more big screen work. He was the captain on Firefly (and its big screen spin-off Serenity) and he brings that same laconic dry humored character to Slither. He is the talented center of anSlither: 7 out of 10: Nathan Fillion needs to get more big screen work. He was the captain on Firefly (and its big screen spin-off Serenity) and he brings that same laconic dry humored character to Slither. He is the talented center of an enjoyable romp.

Slither consists of way to many timeworn cliché's to list here but in general it is an eighties style creature feature. What sets it apart from is brethren is a top notch cast, (Michael Rooker and Tania Saulnier both put in excellent turns), great special effects, (a minimum of bad CGI and a lot of good make-up effects) and a generally funny script.

The only problem with the movie (outside of a tendency to overplay the campy) is that is eminently forgettable. Unlike recent straight horror films such as Saw or Hostel or even recent horror/comedy hybrids such as Shaun of the Dead, Slither doesn't have a single original thought or scene in its pretty little head.

It's like that girl you dated in college that was pretty good looking but boring in and out of the sack. (No I can't remember her name either.) I have to concentrate to recall even a couple of scenes from Slither and heck I just watched the thing. I can remember about every scene from American Werewolf in London and I haven't seen that in many moons (Please pardon the lame stretch for a pun.) One critic called it empty calories and I couldn't agree more. No doubt it is a good time for horror and action fans just don't expect any lasting impression.
Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
JacobparkerMay 18, 2013
Slither was so much better than I expected.
Soooooo gory oh my god!
I really love this movie cause it's very disgusting.
I can unsderstand why some people don't like this movie...
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
7
EdeltraudOct 31, 2013
Family fun day! Come on this was good, silly fun for what it was. I can't say good clean fun 'cause there's a massively phallic aspect to it. Part of the fun.
We watched this for our Halloween flick and it was perfect for that. I could get
Family fun day! Come on this was good, silly fun for what it was. I can't say good clean fun 'cause there's a massively phallic aspect to it. Part of the fun.
We watched this for our Halloween flick and it was perfect for that. I could get up and answer trick or treaters at the door and not miss a thing. Wouldn't ordinarily choose this, but for the occasion I have no complaints. It worked, in part, because the actorsdirector didn't play it for camp, they just let it be camp. From Rosemary's Baby to Jabba the Hut, figuring out the homages was half of the viewing pleasure...all this plus a gooey romance.
Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
4
RyencokeApr 3, 2006
I'm not sure why everyone is giving this movie such good reviews. It really wasn't that good. The first half was just boring. The second half got okay, but nothing special. It was not worth the $10, maybe cheap theater or rental. I'm not sure why everyone is giving this movie such good reviews. It really wasn't that good. The first half was just boring. The second half got okay, but nothing special. It was not worth the $10, maybe cheap theater or rental. It was fairly lame... Also, everyone is saying how gory it was, it wasn't gory at all. If you want gore watch something else, like Hostel (Although that wasn't really gory), or even Evil Dead 2. Expand
1 of 4 users found this helpful
0
AlessandroGNov 4, 2006
It is one of the worst movies I've ever watched. Avoid it at all costs. Better go out for a walk
0 of 1 users found this helpful
0
josephl.Jan 6, 2007
this movie dont diserve any good reviews, it´s was a crapfest from beginning to end, funny, what funny?, horror, look in another movie not here, and idiot group of actors and the worst ending in the story of cinema. I recomend instead this movie dont diserve any good reviews, it´s was a crapfest from beginning to end, funny, what funny?, horror, look in another movie not here, and idiot group of actors and the worst ending in the story of cinema. I recomend instead the movies shaun of the dead and severance both of UK and success in the mix of horror and humor. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
0
hulkh.Jan 6, 2007
watch this movie is like a someone hit you with a jab in the cheen, absolutly painful. a waste of reel film and time
0 of 1 users found this helpful
1
SimonO.Jul 7, 2007
really awful. don't watch under any circumstances! i was willing to give this a go and enjoy it cos i picked it up on the cheap from tesco and was aware it had a surprisingly decent metascore but oh my god it's awful. basically its really awful. don't watch under any circumstances! i was willing to give this a go and enjoy it cos i picked it up on the cheap from tesco and was aware it had a surprisingly decent metascore but oh my god it's awful. basically its meant to be a horror comedy and it doesnt scare or amuse at all Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
2
DeanS.Dec 27, 2006
I was really wanting to like this movie, but it was boring, not funny or scary and just plain bad. It proves my theory if a horror movie gets a good review it will suck.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
0
KyleR.Apr 2, 2006
Worst movie i have ever seen...too bad you cant get refunds for movies.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
0
DelilahJMay 12, 2006
Absolutely rubbish. Not funny at all. I actually fell asleep during watching this.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
1
MaxS.May 13, 2006
The story was pretty cool and it was well produced - way TOO well produced. The trailer really does not do this film justice - it appears to be a kinda gross comedy-horror film, but it was just excessive. It has a sort of "B-movie with a big The story was pretty cool and it was well produced - way TOO well produced. The trailer really does not do this film justice - it appears to be a kinda gross comedy-horror film, but it was just excessive. It has a sort of "B-movie with a big budget" feel - apparently Gunn was going for this, but it doesn't mean I have to like it. Genuinely wanting to vomit repeatedly during a film does not make it good in my book. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
4
TheQuietGamerOct 20, 2011
One thing I can say about this movie is that it's disgusting, I was utterly grossed out through the entire thing, and it's some kind of horror comedy, I can see the comedy part as there is some funny dialog, and the whole plot is justOne thing I can say about this movie is that it's disgusting, I was utterly grossed out through the entire thing, and it's some kind of horror comedy, I can see the comedy part as there is some funny dialog, and the whole plot is just ridiculous, but it's really not a good movie in the least, this is one you can safely pass on watching. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
5
davenbettridgeOct 5, 2011
Last night while working on a project on the computer I watched Slither and found it to be some goofy fun although it is NOT a good movie. I did smirk and laugh a bit at different comedic moments; I had seen similar stories on the TwilightLast night while working on a project on the computer I watched Slither and found it to be some goofy fun although it is NOT a good movie. I did smirk and laugh a bit at different comedic moments; I had seen similar stories on the Twilight Zone while a kid but though the movie did have some fun, the shorter Twilight Zone stories seems to work better having less filler. In the end Slither was meh to ok, a bit of fun in the back ground but was not something that I would praise (at least too highly) Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
8
horcrux2007Sep 2, 2014
"Slither" is a great modern day monster flick. It's a bit too similar to "Shivers" and "Night of the Creeps", which is my biggest problem. Despite that flaw, it's disgusting, funny, well acted, and extremely entertaining.
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
10
YApr 2, 2006
Brilliant! - Loved this movie. More gross than scary and the one liners were hillarious.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BMar 30, 2006
Hilarious and it has Nathan Fillion. How can you go wrong?
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
PrintininjaApr 6, 2006
(Warning - ***spoilers***) Fun & diversive, but the story wasn't much better then a solid "movie of the week" effort. There were a couple of really lame plot devices, which took away from what was generally a smart script (for instance, (Warning - ***spoilers***) Fun & diversive, but the story wasn't much better then a solid "movie of the week" effort. There were a couple of really lame plot devices, which took away from what was generally a smart script (for instance, the grenade should have never made it past the first draft, and the half eaten slug which revealed the alien's plot to Kylie was just plain copied from Independence day.) With movies like this, I usually leave the theater with mixed feelings, unless some scene really sticks in my mind. This film had two. The first was when Grant/Alien slug bisects one of the police officers with a casual whipping of its tentical. The other was Bill comes on to Starla by saying, "I'm tryin to get a buzz on, but it ain't working... prolly too much lean body mass.) That was almost as good as the line in the Wanderer's where the old, fat Italian father hands the HUGE Hawaiian shirt to his future son-in-law, and says, "don't worry, you'll grow into it." Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AdrienneApr 7, 2006
Why is this movie so awesome? Nathan Fillion, plus evil alien slug overlords, plus James Gunn, plus ZOMBIES. Easily the greatest thing I've seen at the theater since Shaun of the Dead or Eternal Sunshine. Hilarious and icky all at once. Why is this movie so awesome? Nathan Fillion, plus evil alien slug overlords, plus James Gunn, plus ZOMBIES. Easily the greatest thing I've seen at the theater since Shaun of the Dead or Eternal Sunshine. Hilarious and icky all at once. Fillion deadpans like no man I've ever seen. The absolutely refreshing lack of horror movie cliches alone makes up for the price of admission. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JakeN.Mar 29, 2006
A spectacular movie very much resembling the hilarious rom-zom-com Shaun of the Dead in style, while at teh same time it take itself to new gross heights that lets it be a favorite of both Shaun fans and Saw fans
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
NashY.Mar 30, 2006
Best movie of the year, bar none! Funny and scary and fantastic!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
MarcD.Apr 1, 2006
Easily one of the funniest movies I've seen in the last couple of years. Great cast. Solid gore. Interesting premise - or good enough to sustain the story. I recommend it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
EricmApr 2, 2006
This movie is great. Funny as hell, gory as hell. It's a great little B grade movie. Reminded me a lot of Shawn of the Dead and Cabin Fever. Go see it if you like dark comedies, you'll love it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
[Anonymous]Apr 5, 2006
Loads of gory fun! Has some of the best one-liners I've ever heard in a movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
ChadS.Apr 5, 2006
Is "Slither" as good as "Critters"? No. The ambitious slugs have nothing over those furry bowling balls. To be a great b-movie, the special effects have to be slightly incompetent, like last year's underrated "A Sound of Thunder". Is "Slither" as good as "Critters"? No. The ambitious slugs have nothing over those furry bowling balls. To be a great b-movie, the special effects have to be slightly incompetent, like last year's underrated "A Sound of Thunder". "Slither" is an accomplished George Romero-knockoff, with a monster, in its final manifestation, that reminded me of "The Mean Green Mother..." from "Little Shop of Horrors". But if we're going to be inundated with more horror entries, it's a lot more fun to see people die by alien possession than from the cunning of a practicing sadist. Of special note, the way these creatures enter its victims has great metaphorical value for men caught in a homosexual panic and young women who wrestle with their virginity. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MattODec 31, 2006
Great special effects, good story, and enough campy humor to make it enjoyable. Those that said it was boring or bad probably think every Friday the 13th movie after the first is the best movie they have ever seen.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AdamH.Mar 29, 2006
Slither was scary and hilarious! To do both is a major feat! Finally! An amazing horror movie with a fresh story to tell!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
TonyB.Apr 15, 2006
This movie was just plain fun. It was funny, it was silly, it was suspensful...it was just all around good. Even if you look past all the comedy in it, it's a half decent monster flick with a pretty good story.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
DirigiblePulpJun 6, 2018
I hadn't seen this since it came out and I had been looking forward to revisiting this ever since James Gunn exploded with the Guardians movies and I had became more familiar with Troma. I enjoyed it more this time around even if it stillI hadn't seen this since it came out and I had been looking forward to revisiting this ever since James Gunn exploded with the Guardians movies and I had became more familiar with Troma. I enjoyed it more this time around even if it still feels a bit slight.

It's an amalgamation of a bunch of different horror movies, Gunn interests and lessons learned with Troma. What should be an explosively great time is more intermittently exhilarating with some of its more interesting edges sanded down by what can only be studio interference. It too often settles for "my first cult horror" movie, mainstreaming and going broad instead of weird.

Michael Rooker is stellar as always, the practical effects fantastic (the CGI is distracting and bad but forgivable) and the creature design "looks like something that fell off my d**k during the war", as they say.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
Christopher_G2Aug 17, 2013
Slither is one of the better examples of its kind from the last ten years or so. That may not say a whole lot because B movies about ugly creepy crawly things that do disgusting things more often than not are not very pleasant to sit through;Slither is one of the better examples of its kind from the last ten years or so. That may not say a whole lot because B movies about ugly creepy crawly things that do disgusting things more often than not are not very pleasant to sit through; not to me anyway. But this one has enough humor, thrills and neat tricks to make it worth sitting through for non-hardcore horror fans, in spite of a somewhat weak ending. Nothing remarkable, just a fun and disgusting good time. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
imthenoobDec 23, 2012
It's not that good of a movie but I guarentee it will become a cult classic due to the memorable scenes through out. Acting is weak, CGI/Special Effects are alright but not well done, and the story is rather generic as well. It's far too longIt's not that good of a movie but I guarentee it will become a cult classic due to the memorable scenes through out. Acting is weak, CGI/Special Effects are alright but not well done, and the story is rather generic as well. It's far too long for my taste as well, Would have been better if it had been shorter (by 10-15 mins) and progress quicker as well. I didn't really care for it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
moonman1994Mar 10, 2014
Funny, campy and just plain fun. Slither isn't particularly innovative but it is extremely entertaining. The entire cast does a fine job. The true thing that can be said about this movie is that it actually knows how to be funny and be aFunny, campy and just plain fun. Slither isn't particularly innovative but it is extremely entertaining. The entire cast does a fine job. The true thing that can be said about this movie is that it actually knows how to be funny and be a monster movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
VideshiJun 5, 2013
I think the reason this movie doesn't have a higher score is that people expected it to be a scary horror movie, rather than what it is. There are horror aspects to it, but it'd be better described as a dark comedy... perhaps "dark horrorI think the reason this movie doesn't have a higher score is that people expected it to be a scary horror movie, rather than what it is. There are horror aspects to it, but it'd be better described as a dark comedy... perhaps "dark horror comedy" would be an apt description.

This movie is meant to be fun, and it has some terrific one-liners delivered by Nathan Filion. It also has a very inventive "monster", if you want to call it that. I thought it was a much more creative idea than you normally see in movies, and it was fun to watch. Don't expect anything deep, just some interesting visuals, some good laughs, and some creature ideas that'll make you exclaim "cool!".

Good times.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
cjm868Apr 1, 2016
A brilliant blend of horror and comedy. It keeps a constant tone that falls between the two genres and rarely if ever favours one over the other which makes for an entertaining and tense ride of a movie.

One of the best Horror/Comedies
A brilliant blend of horror and comedy. It keeps a constant tone that falls between the two genres and rarely if ever favours one over the other which makes for an entertaining and tense ride of a movie.

One of the best Horror/Comedies since Evil Dead II (which is the benchmark for the genre.)
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
MightyPDKDec 21, 2016
The movie's pretty fantastic. So gory and disgusting. Just what the doctor ordered.

There are some cheesy practical effects (*cough* deer) and sub-par CG in places, but it doesn't really hurt the movie. The characters are pretty good. The
The movie's pretty fantastic. So gory and disgusting. Just what the doctor ordered.

There are some cheesy practical effects (*cough* deer) and sub-par CG in places, but it doesn't really hurt the movie.

The characters are pretty good. The only one who really overdoes it is the actor who played the mayor (though I'm pretty sure he did it on purpose and with the full support of the director). Everyone else is reasonably believable.

What would have probably failed as a plain old zombie movie, succeeds as an alien parasite movie.

Well done, sirs and madams.

If you don't like horror or gore, then seek your entertainment elsewhere.

Movie magic.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews