Warner Bros. Pictures | Release Date: May 6, 2011
5.3
USER SCORE
Mixed or average reviews based on 50 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
20
Mixed:
16
Negative:
14
Watch Now
Buy On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
8
RegOzJan 19, 2012
I did enjoy it; nevertheless, I understand why some people wouldn't. I am myself not into flick chick's stuff, even though I am a girl myself...but there is something about this movie that kept me watching it... I found it engaging, and easy.I did enjoy it; nevertheless, I understand why some people wouldn't. I am myself not into flick chick's stuff, even though I am a girl myself...but there is something about this movie that kept me watching it... I found it engaging, and easy. They used the typical antagonistic stereotypes of the 'crazy, popular girl' and the 'cute, smart, shy girl'. Darcey (Kate Hudson)was a bit too much for me. Her character is utterly egocentric , loud, cheap, and shallow; at times, however, she shows this loving side with Rachel..(Ginnifer Goodwin). On the other hand, Rachel is soothing, sweet, quiet , conservative, noble and at times frail..she is doing something is not considered 'ethical' and she knows it, but wouldn't her choice- mo matter what that is- hurt someone anyway?. Dex can be frustrating because he appears to be weak and indecisive, yet none of them is 'bad' or 'good' they are just real people facing a big emotional issue and in this case, either if something is done about it or not, they know someone will get hurt. I guess you have to watch this movie taking as it is : a simple, romantic story, with fairly stereotyped characters, and not overly witty. Don't expect a moral lesson, or ethics, because a movie is not meant to teach that, and don't we have all different perspectives about how to deal with things?. You may question the values of the characters of this movie...but remember it is not real life (although, situations like this definitely happen in life...who are we to judge?). Finally, be ready for a bit of that 'corney' stuff that most of romantic American comedies are filled with. Personally, I wouldn't label this as a 'comedy'. I think you will have a good time watching it, if you lower your expectations a bit... and do not expect great rhetoric, moral lessons or philosophical treatises...( I love them, but I do not expect them on this kind of films) Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
audreythomas25Mar 7, 2016
The work of the lead trio keeps the movie from ever becoming something blue.

Watch this movie online http://www.watchfree.to/watch-83455-Something-Borrowed-movie-online-free-putlocker.html
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
0
1234567890Dec 27, 2011
It was so bad. Don't watch it. No no no no no no no no no no no no no no no no no no no no no no no no no no no no no no no no no no no no no no no no no no no no no no no no no no no no no no no no no no no no no no no no no no no no no noIt was so bad. Don't watch it. No no no no no no no no no no no no no no no no no no no no no no no no no no no no no no no no no no no no no no no no no no no no no no no no no no no no no no no no no no no no no no no no no no no no no no no no no no no no no no no no no no no no no no no no no no no. Expand
2 of 4 users found this helpful22
All this user's reviews
2
ShiiraJun 2, 2011
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Three months into rehearsals, indie stalwart Sarah Polley bowed out from "Almost Famous" where she was was set to play the role of a legendary rock groupie. Citing her own personal realization that she wasn't the sort of girl who could light up a room as the reason for quitting on the spot, Kate Hudson(originally slated to play William Miller's sister Anita) took over the role of Penny Lane from the maverick actress, parlaying this piece of manna from heaven into an Academy Award nomination. Polley was wrong, of course. She could be an aurora, if pressed. During the rave scene in "Go", the moviegoer sees what would turn out to be a rare occurrence, the sight of Polley having fun, no less, dancing, which must have convinced Crowe that he had found his main Band Aid. Although the illumination in the warehouse is minimal at best, Polley manages to move above the darkness of the dance floor. You could say she lights it up. While the official record shows that it is Hudson who adroitly demonstrates(in a scene which may have intimidated Polley) the ability to be the center of attention, a life force, when she brightens the natural light in a hotel room hootenanny with her best stewardess imitation("Ladies and gentleman...), the body of work the slumping actress has produced since her 2000 star-turn suggests that the director of "Away From Her" might have been equally up to the task. By some fluke coincidence, in "Desert Blue", Hudson, playing a Hollywood actress who befriends a group of rural outback kids after the two-bit town gets placed under quarantine, asks her newfound friends, while huddled around a campfire, "What if this is our last night? What do you want to do?" Skye promptly kisses Blue. Polley, as Nicole Burnell, sits down with her dysfunctional family for one final disquieting supper, in "The Sweet Hereafter", a movie about the last night on earth,which takes a decidedly anti-Hollywood approach to an impending catastrophic disaster. In retrospect, it's a pity that Hudson couldn't simply borrow Penny Lane, then give the role back to its rightful owner. With each passing year, Hudson seems to be incrementally becoming famous for being famous. If Sarah Polley was a household name, she would be known for good movies, not disposable junk such as "Something Borrowed", yet another forgettable entry in a long line of bad rom-coms for this one-time ingenue. In "Bride Wars", like Rachel, a successful defense attorney, who, at thirty, feels as if she's fast becoming an aging spinster, the best friend, Emma, a schoolteacher, fights back, when a similarly aggressive Hudson character behaves badly. "Something Borrowed" has the slight advantage of being less cartoonish than "Bride Wars", but Hudson, more or less, remains the same. Angry over Emma's disinclination to reschedule her Plaza wedding after an unfortunate same-day double-booking, Liv throws down the gauntlet at the schoolteacher's spray tanning session, whose outcome results in the lawyer's oldest and dearest friend looking either like an Oompa Loompa, or Q-Bert. The association should end right then and there, as it would in real life, but the war escalates to epic proportions, concluding with Liv's original plan to play an incriminating spring break DVD of Emma during the actual ceremony, come to fruition. This time out, it's the best friend who's in the law profession, but Rachel is no more smarter than Emma, as evidenced by her continuing friendship with Darcy, even though she had intervened on a perfect love match. In pertaining to the girlfriend switcheroo at that long ago bar booth, a date which should live in infamy from Rachel's vantage point, the film seems to be under the pretense, however naively, that Darcy unwittingly stole Dex away from her alleged best friend. Rachel, as written, is so stupid, rooting for this willing doormat proves to be a chore. The moviegoer waits in vain for an epiphany in Southampton. Alas, Rachel never figures out, because "Something Borrowed" never admits, that Darcy's poaching was a calculated act. In any other case, nine months of incessant talk about one guy would present itself as an indication to most best friends that their closest confidant is unequivocally in love. Without this knowledge, the affair Rachel has with Dex gets weighed unfairly against her. Morally, it would still be wrong, but not indefensibly so. When Darcy asks Rachel to write her wedding vows, "Something Borrowed" recalls the play "Cyrano de Bergerac", which perhaps reveals the film's problem may lie in its umpteenth presentation of the old "Pygmallion" trope. Whereas Cyrano had a large nose, Rachel wore unflattering glasses back in law school as an explanation for her feelings of inadequacy. Now, as a finished product, a transformed beauty, Rachel should address what went down the night that Darcy asked Dex out, but the torrid argument only covers the second betrayal. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
1
CarnagedMay 17, 2011
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Unfortunately this is a movie about regular people, being DUMB, if I wanted to watch that I could just go to the local mall. There is only one character worth a salt and the rest are all poorly written people that lack basic communication skills, any sort of concept of consequence and selfish jerks. The ending was absolutely awful no catharsis, no conclusion, it is just a bunch of people that are going on to the rest of their lives as stupid selfish people. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
7
Knicksfan7Jun 1, 2011
I don't know what all the negative vibe for this film is for. I'm a 18 years old man and I enjoyed this movie. I work at a movie theatre and I took my mom to see this for mother's day and i thoroughly enjoyed it. If you absolutely hate loveI don't know what all the negative vibe for this film is for. I'm a 18 years old man and I enjoyed this movie. I work at a movie theatre and I took my mom to see this for mother's day and i thoroughly enjoyed it. If you absolutely hate love movies with romanticism and drama then maybe not the movie for you but if you can deal with it a little bit, it is worth seeing, this movie was funny, dramatic, and exciting. I thought some of the acting was a little bad and the writing could've been better but overall a 7/10 for me, this was a good enjoyable film, if you get a chance to see it before it leaves the theatres then its worth a watch, if not, order it on demand or red box it because it is worth your time. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
10
dirtymagAug 19, 2011
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. i feel depressed after watching this. What about Ethan? Why did she end up with a spineless a-hole. I admit Dex is not the devil but he made his choice. Rachel just picked up her best friends leftovers. Ew! Sloppy seconds! Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
0
qwertymtDec 27, 2011
This movie could have been written by a grade 9 drama class (read: exactly the wrong thing happened to everyone) There were continuity errors, awkward unexplained slow motion dances, and is it just me or does time not work in this movie? ItThis movie could have been written by a grade 9 drama class (read: exactly the wrong thing happened to everyone) There were continuity errors, awkward unexplained slow motion dances, and is it just me or does time not work in this movie? It jumped seemingly with out reason through seasons (the first half was before July 4th and the movie ended when it should have been 5 months later, but it was somehow still summer in Manhattan?!?!? ((help))). The lines were laughably predictable but the plot was shockingly wrong, not in a quirky indie way, but in a psychological is-this-going-to-make-me-insane way. I honestly was expecting all of them to take off their human masks and be lizard people and talk to me through the screen by name. All in all it was just so so so so so bad. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
3
IsayannaNov 23, 2012
Great actors. But by far the worst romantic movie ending I've ever seen. I do not believe it is a movie worth seeing, it leads you on but does not give a sufficient ending. Horrible. It just does not end the way it is suppose to. Drives me nuts.
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
2
HfahmyJun 17, 2011
Absolute non-sense, stupid story, non-ethical, no friendship values, bad talking, rude words. Rachel (Ginnifer Goodwin) steals her best friend, Darcey (Ginnifer Goodwin) , fiancee, Dex (Colin Egglesfield), after sleeping with him at the endAbsolute non-sense, stupid story, non-ethical, no friendship values, bad talking, rude words. Rachel (Ginnifer Goodwin) steals her best friend, Darcey (Ginnifer Goodwin) , fiancee, Dex (Colin Egglesfield), after sleeping with him at the end of her 30th birthday party, while the friend, Darcey, cheats her fiancee with another one, Marcus (Steve Howey), and get pregnant!! Two more characters appear to waste more of our time and increase boredom, Ethan (John Krasinski) and Claire (Ashley Williams). If you have nothing to do, go eat some pizza. Expand
2 of 5 users found this helpful23
All this user's reviews
10
Billie16rockerJul 16, 2011
I think that this movie was a romantic comedy. I loved watching this movie i could watch it all day. People say that it was a bad movie but how many or you people could write a movie like that ? It was a wonderful movie that I think she beI think that this movie was a romantic comedy. I loved watching this movie i could watch it all day. People say that it was a bad movie but how many or you people could write a movie like that ? It was a wonderful movie that I think she be rated 10 outta 10. Maybe not the best movie for kids because of the sexual things :) Loved it ! wouldn't mind a part-two to the movie. Expand
2 of 5 users found this helpful23
All this user's reviews
2
RogueGhostJun 20, 2011
Basic premise: Rachel drunkenly sleeps with her best friend's fiancee, a man she's been in love with since law school. Rom-com complications ensue. The two points are for John Krasinkski who is the only funny or likeable character in thisBasic premise: Rachel drunkenly sleeps with her best friend's fiancee, a man she's been in love with since law school. Rom-com complications ensue. The two points are for John Krasinkski who is the only funny or likeable character in this whole mess of a movie. Even the normally charming Ginnifer Goodwin, playing Rachel, whom one assumes is supposed to be the "intelligent everygirl", comes across as just a whiny doormat. Even more obnoxious is Kate Hudson (oh, how long it has been since Almost Famous) as Darcy, her "BFF" (though any symptom of actual friendship between the two of them is completely devoid from this movie) who is so **** and self-centered that it's a wonder she has a fiancee for Rachel to steal. Speaking of whom, Dex the fiancee is so bland, spineless and lacking in any personality what-so-ever that it's hard to believe he has even one girl fighting for him-- let alone two. Best line of the whole movie: "The Hamptons are like a zombie movie directed by Ralph Lauren." There. Now you have not even one excuse to go see this charmless bore of a movie. Expand
1 of 4 users found this helpful13
All this user's reviews
5
NJWolfgangFeb 26, 2012
The only redeeming quality of this film is that the actors are so watchable. Biggest critique someone tell Kate Hudson and Ginnfer Goodwin to not dance in film anymore. They got no rythmn.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
2
SidastaApr 10, 2012
It's not often a film comes along that could have potentially mirrored my own life. A shame, then, that almost every character came across as unlikeable, to the point that I honestly didn't care what happened to any of them. Only JohnIt's not often a film comes along that could have potentially mirrored my own life. A shame, then, that almost every character came across as unlikeable, to the point that I honestly didn't care what happened to any of them. Only John Krasinski provided entertainment in his supporting role. Oh, and some of the shots were well coloured, I suppose. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
5
RikiegeJan 27, 2013
The film in general is bad, bland, but entertaining. The end of the film is depressing.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
presser1949Apr 16, 2017
PLEASE READ ME! This is a great adult rom/com. If you are not mature enough to understand this movie then you will probably give it a bad review which a lot of you have. The break down is Darcy: "borrowed" the love of Rachel's life one nightPLEASE READ ME! This is a great adult rom/com. If you are not mature enough to understand this movie then you will probably give it a bad review which a lot of you have. The break down is Darcy: "borrowed" the love of Rachel's life one night while Rachel was on a date with him (Dex) in college, Dex: thought Rachel wasn't interested & that she had set him up with Darcy, Rachel: the weak, no voice, never stand up to Darcy, best friend that she was walked away that night because she ALWAYS let Darcy win... Darcy was SUPPOSED TO BE the best friend, she knew Rachel had feelings for him, she knew they were on date, but did she care no, not at all, & that had been the story of their friendship since day 1. The day of Rachel's birthday she was blowing up Rachel's phone at 7:30am because she needed something and when she no longer needed her she hung up promising she would call her right back but did she? No, Dex called at 9:30pm & Darcy took the phone, he even had to remind her to tell Rachel happy birthday... So to those of you saying Rachel "stole" her best friends fiance, you are just too immature to see the bigger moral picture of the story. Rachel finally stood up for herself & took what was hers to begin with, Dex. I absolutely LOVE this movie. I watch it at least once a month. I am planning on reading the books & I can't wait for part 2 to come out Something Blue, where Darcy ends up with....ETHAN!!! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews