Paramount Pictures | Release Date: February 14, 2020
8.2
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 1229 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
1,012
Mixed:
148
Negative:
69
Watch Now
Stream On
Buy On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
RockeyXFeb 13, 2020
Definitely THE BEST VIDEO GAME FILM EVER! The hype is real! And has the BEST POST CREDITS SCENE EVER! We need Sonic 2!
53 of 81 users found this helpful5328
All this user's reviews
9
AzurisFeb 15, 2020
It was surprisingly fun. Simple, but well made Fun.
Jim Carrey made an good Antagonist and this Movie is defintive one of the best based on a Videogame.
5 of 5 users found this helpful50
All this user's reviews
10
Vit53Feb 18, 2020
It's a fun film to watch with various axtion senes and entertanig charters.
4 of 4 users found this helpful40
All this user's reviews
10
BlessblessedFeb 19, 2020
This movie fills all your needs for entertaintment and cuteness, from the first scene till the last, whether you're a child or an adult and even if you are not a fan of the games.
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
9
SalaniSFeb 15, 2020
Good movie
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
10
ArhelaerFeb 19, 2020
Its a great family movie. Its realy enjoyable and Sonic felt real the entire movie
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
9
IsaygarciaFeb 16, 2020
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. It could have been the worst disaster for SEGA, but they did manage it very well. I don't give It a 10, because there are a lot of things missing. The addition of Tails and the way Robotnik gets mad totally makes you relive the old games, it may be difficult for someone that hasn't ever played a sonicgame to understand that details but is still good. Expand
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
7
FreeAFeb 17, 2020
Don’t believe the hate! Sonic the Hedgehog is a pleasant movie with some decent jokes and some likeable characters. Jim Carey Steals the show with a role he was born to play. It starts a little slow, but otherwise a good, if unspectacularDon’t believe the hate! Sonic the Hedgehog is a pleasant movie with some decent jokes and some likeable characters. Jim Carey Steals the show with a role he was born to play. It starts a little slow, but otherwise a good, if unspectacular experience. Expand
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
10
Leannah393Feb 19, 2020
It’s was amazing It’s was amazing It’s was amazing It’s was amazing It’s was amazing It’s was amazing
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
10
florargFeb 20, 2020
The movie was very moving for me. It reminds me of my childhood. Jim Carrey is an incredible actor. It worths to go and have a good time!
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
8
tremaultFeb 21, 2020
Really loved it. Was totally on par with the pokemon movie. I laughed and almost cried. sonic is funny and the action is good and the way they introduced video game concepts to a live action movie was clever.
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
10
wakkawakka18Mar 31, 2020
It was everything I wanted it to be. It was nostalgic, had excellent writing, it had a hyper potions song in it for christs sake! Im glad I went to see it alone because I was a sobbing wreck for half of the movie. Absolutely wonderful. IIt was everything I wanted it to be. It was nostalgic, had excellent writing, it had a hyper potions song in it for christs sake! Im glad I went to see it alone because I was a sobbing wreck for half of the movie. Absolutely wonderful. I really wanted to hate it too but it was just so good it changed my mind. Anybody that says otherwise has no idea what they're talking about. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
9
RuthalusFeb 15, 2020
Loved it! Sit back and soak in this fun film, don't think too seriously and look for logic. Just enjoy it for what it is like you would a video game! Loved all the call backs and references. Fans should stay for the secret bonus scene. BringLoved it! Sit back and soak in this fun film, don't think too seriously and look for logic. Just enjoy it for what it is like you would a video game! Loved all the call backs and references. Fans should stay for the secret bonus scene. Bring on Sonic 2! Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
10
Dan_CruiseFeb 19, 2020
Probably the best movie I've seen in a good few years. Jim Carrey is always a win
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
10
JRTMFeb 19, 2020
It's a fast movie super - iper - maximum - mega awsome and incredible ( and good )...
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
9
Awesomeman77Feb 18, 2020
Far and beyond the best video game movie I've ever seen. This take on a younger Sonic is a breath of fresh air whether you're a steadfast fan or a newcomer. Even the side characters, which I was most worried about, are pretty funny. There isFar and beyond the best video game movie I've ever seen. This take on a younger Sonic is a breath of fresh air whether you're a steadfast fan or a newcomer. Even the side characters, which I was most worried about, are pretty funny. There is massive potential in this movie, and we need to see more of it! Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
9
AsclepiusFeb 17, 2020
This is a children’s movie, and a well done one at that. If I had kids, I’d take them to see this — something I can’t say about most movies in the current age. Fun, simple, and a great performance from Jim Carrey: I really hated thisThis is a children’s movie, and a well done one at that. If I had kids, I’d take them to see this — something I can’t say about most movies in the current age. Fun, simple, and a great performance from Jim Carrey: I really hated this character, which is the entire point. Highly recommended for kids, or the adult looking for some simple wholesome fun. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
8
SonicAidanFeb 15, 2020
Possibly one of the best movies I’ve ever seen. Raises the bar by a mile for video game movies. Sonic’s cocky attitude was translated into the movie beautifully. My favorite iteration of Sonic at the moment. Won’t spoil much, but the finalPossibly one of the best movies I’ve ever seen. Raises the bar by a mile for video game movies. Sonic’s cocky attitude was translated into the movie beautifully. My favorite iteration of Sonic at the moment. Won’t spoil much, but the final end credits scene really makes me want another Sonic movies, or at least a follow up game. While the humor at times could be lackluster, there were many hilarious moments in the movie. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
8
RyonDKFeb 20, 2020
One of the best video game movies in a long time, watched the movie together with my brother and we both liked it.

Is not perfect but well worth watching.
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
10
Smokey69Feb 15, 2020
The movie was so fantastic honestly without any lies, I like it its full of comedy especially jim caren role so marvelous That my opinion I hope u see the movie and like it so let's support it
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
8
eaog28Feb 15, 2020
Vale la pena ir a verla, la adaptación y los arreglos hechos a sonic tuvo buenos resultados. La historia es entretenida y para los fans no creo que queden haya decepción.
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
8
El_FezFeb 15, 2020
Okay, that was fun. A legitimately good, entertaining movie. Was it a game changer? No. Did it have flaws? Sure, yes. But did I sit there, the whole movie long, with a big grin on my face? Absolutely. Jim Carrey stole the goddamned show, asOkay, that was fun. A legitimately good, entertaining movie. Was it a game changer? No. Did it have flaws? Sure, yes. But did I sit there, the whole movie long, with a big grin on my face? Absolutely. Jim Carrey stole the goddamned show, as is only right and proper. This was full on 1995 Jim, where you take the goofy, chaotic neutral Trickster/Coyote that is The Mask and go full on sinister evil. That's Dr Robotnick.

Oh, and Raul Julia must now surrender the Overacting As A Video Game Villain belt. Dear god, no scenery escaped chewed. Actually that's very apt - if you liked Street Fighter, then Sonic is RIGHT up your alley!

The sonic redesign was fine, the effects worked. The script is very linear and the characters very broad - but I don't mean that in a pejorative way. They're very basic archetype characters that get the job done and do what they need to do and I found myself caring about them and their fates. That's a win in any book.

Is it flawless? No. Does it reshape cinema forever? No. But it's fun and full of heart and charm and is completely entertaining. The movie is exactly what it needs to be, no more, no less. I absolutely recommend the movie to any and all. It was a fun evening out.
Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
10
jrlawson1997Feb 15, 2020
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. It's a generic kids movie with a few funny jokes, meme-worthy brand deals, and some incredibly sick action scenes. In Sonic 2 let's: let's get more action scenes, refine Tail's design, and tone down Sonic's more annoying traits.

Tyson Hesse is a miracle worker,, god bless.
Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
10
cradikFeb 15, 2020
My Family and I love this movie. We are so thankful for the redesign and how it allowed us to feel immersed with Sonic. Throughout this movie, we had genuine laughs and you could tell the audience and children among them, really liked it. MyMy Family and I love this movie. We are so thankful for the redesign and how it allowed us to feel immersed with Sonic. Throughout this movie, we had genuine laughs and you could tell the audience and children among them, really liked it. My son said, he would be so bummed if they did not make a sequel. This one is great for the family. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
10
DarkyBlack7Feb 15, 2020
Adorei o filme! Um dos melhores que já vi. Adoro o franquia Sonic o que ajuda mais ainda a gostar do filme! NOTA 10!!!
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
10
PolishBallFeb 15, 2020
Very good film( I'm not Sonic fan) Jim Carry was the best. And it's kind of funny.
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
9
Snichols53Feb 15, 2020
First I would like to thank you Paramount Pictures. Other studios need to take a page out of your book. I don't care if that disaster of a reveal was a marketing scheme or not your correction got my butt in the seat opening weekend ratherFirst I would like to thank you Paramount Pictures. Other studios need to take a page out of your book. I don't care if that disaster of a reveal was a marketing scheme or not your correction got my butt in the seat opening weekend rather than a $5 tuesday.

Second, opening weekend every showing was so packed i had trouble getting a good seat at any time. So congrats.

Now to the movie itself. The good the bad the ugly. Ill start rather than end with score. 9/10.

Is it perfect no. But for what it is its the best movie I've seen in a long time. The character(s), that is plural btw stay after the credits to see what i mean, look amazing. Although you did make me think of Weresonic a couple times so that's a negative.

I was laughing and having a great time some based on nostalgia some based on enjoying kids movies. Either way I was happy for about the entire runtime. Was there logical inconsistencies sure. Some made sense cuz it was a kids movie other didn't make sense but it was ok because it was forgivable for a kids movie, i.e. inconsistent power functions, lighting changes to match tone but not time.

My final gripe was the one point off. Robitnik is great. Jim Carrey nails the level of eccentricity. Its a different brand but similar level so good on you. The problem is the San Fran scene. Its not shown but any adult would notice that casual murder is implied. Robitnik lack of care for other humans and the event on screen means people are dying and he has not remorse for it. I am not a parent but i believe that may just be a tad too far for a kids movie and is the only reason i did not give this a 10/10. All having been said, I loved it and you have me ready for a sequel
Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
10
ArtdestroFeb 15, 2020
Maybe it's far from reflecting the game, but still they made a great job to create such simple and delightful new story and friendly to watch scenario with really good actors.
Im waiting impatiently for the second film :D
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
10
DorkansFeb 15, 2020
Excellent movie, so glad they held off releasing it until it was done right. So much nostalgia. I really hope they continue the story!
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
10
MizukiXFeb 15, 2020
The movie was simply the best. If you liked this blue hedgehog when you were a little kid, you will really enjoy the movie. It is packed with references from the games franchise and Easter-eggs. The masterpiece of the movie was Jim Carrey asThe movie was simply the best. If you liked this blue hedgehog when you were a little kid, you will really enjoy the movie. It is packed with references from the games franchise and Easter-eggs. The masterpiece of the movie was Jim Carrey as Dr. Eggman, or should I say, Dr. Eggman as Dr. Eggman, he was really fantastic making The Dr. Eggman from the HQ, Animations and Games real. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
10
RodrigoSenaFeb 15, 2020
A very good movie for all family!
The changes of SONIC are marvelous!
A very faithfull caracter of games, many 'easter eggs', Jim Carrey and James Marsden are very good actors!
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
10
pepsihabbitFeb 15, 2020
This movie is great. Its the best case scenario for bringing sonic into live action. Jim Carey is great and I cant wait to see the sequal!
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
10
ANTONHEFeb 15, 2020
I loved it and I am waiting Sonic 2. The characters, the drama, everything was perfect.
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
10
MseysFeb 15, 2020
I was amazingly surprised on this movie, it was very entertaining, actors were amazing including Ben my absolutely favorite, great sonic choice. Your kids and u will have a great time. I was at a birthday party today and kids were runningI was amazingly surprised on this movie, it was very entertaining, actors were amazing including Ben my absolutely favorite, great sonic choice. Your kids and u will have a great time. I was at a birthday party today and kids were running like crazy trying to be Sonic, haven't seeing this since Elsa on Frozen 1 Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
10
HPizzleFeb 15, 2020
I thought the movie was fantastic. I really wasn't sure what to expect after the whole redesign debacle, but they really nailed the look and feel for Sonic. It was fun, funny, and filled with plenty of little references for fans. My onlyI thought the movie was fantastic. I really wasn't sure what to expect after the whole redesign debacle, but they really nailed the look and feel for Sonic. It was fun, funny, and filled with plenty of little references for fans. My only criticism was they gave Sonic a little too much speed. He is basically the Flash (which is funny cuz there's a reference to the Flash), but it made for some entertaining scenes. If you're a fan of the games you def owe it to yourself to check it out.
ps- I made a mc account just to review this
Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
10
StarnesjFeb 16, 2020
This movie is every sonic fans dream and it is without a doubt the best video game movie
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
9
afkhalisFeb 16, 2020
The movie was a great homage to the original Sega genesis games! Lots of references to various memes about sonic. Was definitely a smart idea for the studio to redesign him
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
10
LauresleiFeb 16, 2020
Graphically it is perfection. Jim carrey is fun and the chemistry between sonic and his new friends is amazing
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
9
S1ay3r051987Feb 16, 2020
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. i just watched the sonic movie. it was well worth the wait! the great mixture of comedy action and emotional scenes made for an experience that i was totally not expecting. needless to say this is a great family movie and i thank jeff fowler for listening to us fans. loved the easter eggs and hints to some of the lore of the actual video game. some scenes were slow and a bit cringey but all in all the movie was a fantastic adaptation and i will be getting it on dvd and seeing the sequel! Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
8
Oweng1982Feb 16, 2020
Funny, has that nostalgic moments from the iconic game, is filled with laughs and just plain old fun.
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
8
Bjork_YoshikagaFeb 16, 2020
Good film to watch. Not the best film ever, but a good film to watch when nothing you have to do. Minus two point for two fart jokes.
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
8
amar5sagaFeb 17, 2020
When you actually listen to fan's feedbacks, a good things happen. the movie was well made, especially sonic's visual remake
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
9
DarioSouzaFeb 17, 2020
The best game-based movie of all time.
Simply epic!
Very funny and full of reference. Very faithful to the games.
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
8
Jaxon1211Feb 17, 2020
A lot better than expected and charmingly funny. Worth it for Carrey alone.
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
9
MasterFoxManFeb 17, 2020
A thrilling ride with Sonic and Eggman. Although the side characters try their hardest. Jim Carry easily... Carries the movie on his back. A bit slow at times but throwing you right back into the action. A fun filled adventure with jokesA thrilling ride with Sonic and Eggman. Although the side characters try their hardest. Jim Carry easily... Carries the movie on his back. A bit slow at times but throwing you right back into the action. A fun filled adventure with jokes adults will enjoy, and lots of laughs for the rest of the group! Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
9
BlackdayFeb 17, 2020
É um ótimo filme, principalmente se o assistirem como um filme infantil, não esperem uma história complexa digna de Oscar, agora se quiserem ver o filme pela proposta tenham um bom filme
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
9
elena94Feb 17, 2020
Nice and funny movie . Not The greatest form of cinematographt but you get what you pay for. Sonic. Enjoyable action comedy which respects the original material. If you are fan of sonic or videogames go for it. If not well this might not beNice and funny movie . Not The greatest form of cinematographt but you get what you pay for. Sonic. Enjoyable action comedy which respects the original material. If you are fan of sonic or videogames go for it. If not well this might not be for you . Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
10
SAPOFeb 17, 2020
This is the best game movie i ever seen,i need to see the second movie :)
the animation is really good,and i apreciate the animation rework,and this probably will be my favorite movie watched
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
10
marcospassosFeb 17, 2020
O filme é muito bom, para a proposta que ele foi feita, fico feliz da produtora ter feito o sonic da forma que a comunidade gostaria.
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
9
HectorARFeb 18, 2020
Una película entretenida tanto para los fans cómo para nuevos conocedores, fiel a los videojuegos, divertida, y si bien una historia que no engancha por completo pero dejando un comienzo para una posible secuela que podría superarla.
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
9
KingBoyUltraFeb 19, 2020
A Worthy starter film to a cinematic Sonic universe. While the story was basically "get the rings and face down Robotnik" not unlike the game. The various references, Jokes, and clever nods to other properties make this a fun, familyA Worthy starter film to a cinematic Sonic universe. While the story was basically "get the rings and face down Robotnik" not unlike the game. The various references, Jokes, and clever nods to other properties make this a fun, family oriented, and excellent game to movie film with any hope i do hope we see more films like this, i for one would love to see a streets of rage film or even a golden axe film if the sega logo at the start of the film is anything to go by. The only real problem i have with the film is the unnecessary floss references that were pretty last minute, but that is the only problem i have with this. Clearly some plot points may be improved by a sequel or 2 and the post credits is well worth the wait. The redesign in general was already worth the wait. Frankly its a genuinely good family film that is worth the 100 minutes. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
9
padzeroFeb 19, 2020
Since I grew up with C64, Amiga and PCs I was never really exposed to Sonic games. It is a great family movie and much better than I expected after seeing the trailers which I didn't like.
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
8
NatejblackFeb 19, 2020
Fun, entertaining movie. Many nods to the Sonic lore! Vintage Jim Carrey was perfect for this movie, and Sonic and the other characters were surprisingly funny as well! Not a masterpiece, but far from the disaster it could have been. Oh, theFun, entertaining movie. Many nods to the Sonic lore! Vintage Jim Carrey was perfect for this movie, and Sonic and the other characters were surprisingly funny as well! Not a masterpiece, but far from the disaster it could have been. Oh, the redesign was definitely worth the wait! Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
8
YanderePanzerFeb 19, 2020
I enjoyed this movie. It had a lot of really dumb moments, but that's okay, because Sonic the Hedgehog should be a bit dumb. It has some weird product placement, but you gotta pay for that Sonic redesign somehow.
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
7
DunuterFeb 27, 2020
The film came out very, very controversial (not to be confused with mediocre) I still objectively do not fully understand whether it is good or bad , but about everything in order. The plot is simple , but working , almost all the charactersThe film came out very, very controversial (not to be confused with mediocre) I still objectively do not fully understand whether it is good or bad , but about everything in order. The plot is simple , but working , almost all the characters are well shown and spelled out (except for Tom's wife) , Jim Carrey as always the fire , but not one he took out the film , it's a shame that a lot of the jokes lost their meaning because of Russian localization of (generally tolerated) , arches not bad , but the same theme with letovym list I liked the film , as it managed to submit the story so I was wondering for all 100 minutes , went twice on it (1 time with my younger sister , 2 times with a friend , sister certainly liked but a friend said that a lot of illogical moments and the friendship between the main characters is not believable , what I strongly disagree with) but at the end of the film when I realized that this is the end, I realized that I was not enough of those 100 minutes , and when I was leaving the hall and the scene began after the credits with Tails, the whole room froze and watched enthusiastically, and this is what it says. This is a good seed for a trilogy, and given the fees in the world, there will definitely be a continuation, but I left the film, humor-unfortunately on 3+ or someone on 4 -, but in his defense I want to say that all the jokes were invented by actors (almost all) Jim - full improvisation, and James Marsden and Ben Schwartz came up with jokes together and for all this they should pay tribute, and if you leave only the funniest and original jokes, then you get such an average super hero film from MARVEL for example , but they also joked like Ozo with all their strength, there were a lot of jokes, but the overall quality failed, Sonic cute, Ben Schwartz gave him a great voice and facial expressions, thank him for this, James Marsden also plays cool, cool actor, waiting for more movies with him. Paramount with its advertising campaign (advertising was everywhere , even in the diary ru full screen) and the incident with the design (by which the film machipisa a little and raised respect in the face of the people when they redid it) and the sequel (and as for me one is not limited to) 1000% was in the plans (given the post-credits scene) and I was just a little, and it seems to me (*put on tin foil hat*) WHAT IS the background of the Paramount , the first was a redesign, and the second is to make a nice movie for the fans and to plant new people in the sonic (FAC new vagi like me) so they went the next film))0) But seriously it was right from the first Paramount film to do a simple and introductory , to attract a lot of people, and finally to deal with Canon (because in games going on some sort of game) the whole backstory left on the second film and rightly so , but I hope the sequel will not disappoint me , because part of the bet I made on him in General the film more than many in it see , but not brilliant masterpiece , have to work on the sequel , and I'm not a Sonic fan (except that little new VAG) and my opinion is completely biased and sometimes objectively , generally not a waste of money))) And I was just freaking out the people who compare the movie with the Smurfs , when it's just not the right comparison , first the Smurfs no character at all , and with them nothing can be done and come up with in the future (this is the main difference) and Sonic is a character , not bad and in games and serielle had a lot of ideas and twists , SEGA just very crooked things are made and any communication between the games is almost there (Boolean sure) , the second is the antagonist in the Smurfs it is completely empty and he is evil because evil and not Navid Smurfs simply because when the Eggman is, before history , has character and is a lot to think of and such as the Smurfs , he was not, as critics in the film to not valued because they do not know the context, and ACCORDINGLY they did not see the simple beauty and meaning of the film , and that's how it should work... Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
8
TjHadesMar 6, 2020
If you're a Sonic lover you will definitely like it. However don't expect any context from games and any backstory.
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
10
CFannin33Mar 19, 2020
10/10 purely because the movie knew what it was supposed to be and stayed true to Sonic. I never once felt the need to check my watch during the film. Jim Carey's performance was a typical one for the once great actor. The animation and the10/10 purely because the movie knew what it was supposed to be and stayed true to Sonic. I never once felt the need to check my watch during the film. Jim Carey's performance was a typical one for the once great actor. The animation and the story behind Sonic is relatable for people who feel lonely or left out. For a movie based off of a video game, and seeing many of them, I have to say that this is the best by far. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
10
Tobster3657Apr 9, 2020
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I loved this movie! It deserves your time! This is what made VG movies amazing! When Tails showed up I knew a sequel was coming soon! Can't wait for Sonic 2! Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
10
FreddoFazbeardoApr 9, 2020
A good movie, funny and cool, It is the best video game movie, very good work.
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
10
FanSonicGamerApr 14, 2020
This is a very good film about Sonic and in general the principle. The plot here is very good, as are the characters. I especially liked Sonic (obviously) and Tom Wachowski. With music, everything is also in order. There is not a singleThis is a very good film about Sonic and in general the principle. The plot here is very good, as are the characters. I especially liked Sonic (obviously) and Tom Wachowski. With music, everything is also in order. There is not a single minus. There is also a seed for the sequel, and if it does, then I am waiting for it. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
10
JedideromeMay 29, 2020
Love this film Jim Carrey is awesome as Dr Robotic. One of the best video game movies out their
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
10
GojflnwsMay 30, 2020
This movie made me feel like a child again. Seeing Sonic in the big screen, alongside Jim was trully a blast.
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
7
AlphaRebelJun 22, 2020
A lot more fun then it really has rights to be, the redone CGI nails the char and Jim Carrey gets to ham it up in 90's Jim Carrey mode.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
7
eagleeyevikingApr 12, 2020
"Sonic the Hedgehog" feels like a film straight out of the early 2000's; a light, campy, fun, and fleeting mix of well paced action, an over-the-top villain, and characters whose relationships and dialogue feel genuine.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
PanchogulMar 1, 2020
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Sonic: La Película (2020)

Sinopsis:

Sonic intenta navegar por las complejidades de la vida en la Tierra con su nuevo mejor amigo, un humano llamado Tom Wachowski. Pronto deben unir fuerzas para evitar que el malvado Dr. Robotnik capture a Sonic y use sus poderes para dominar el mundo.

Opinión:

El año pasado pensaba que esta película sería un desastre ya que los avances no me convencían, hoy se demostró que estuve equivocado.

Tanto el guión como la trama no son una complejidad, pero al ser una película destinada a la familia es algo que no importa. Se nota que los realizadores le pusieron cariño, dedicación y esfuerzo, porque se nota, no se da vueltas y no resulta aburrida o lenta en ningún momento.

Cada personaje tiene su carisma siendo Sonic un verdadero encanto, parlanchín como ninguno, simpático y tierno, además, su diseño está excelente. Por otro lado está Jim Carrey actuando como Jim Carrey, pero lejos de ser algo malo, es para mejor, el tipo es un crack haciendo papeles cómicos y pese a que siempre hace en ese sentido el personaje de loco de patio, cae bien y aún mantiene su esencia.

Contiene dos escenas postcreditos, siendo la segunda una pista demasiado obvia de que habrá una secuela, lo cual me encantaría.

Valoración:

5 ⭐ de 5 ⭐

Si wey, lo pasé increíble esta noche en el cine
Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
ComandanteCobraMay 6, 2020
Well done light-hearted movie based on an iconic 16 bit era videogame. Plot is standard for this kind of movie: Main character is tossed in our universe and must overcome some inner and outer obstacles...with some human help. What I likedWell done light-hearted movie based on an iconic 16 bit era videogame. Plot is standard for this kind of movie: Main character is tossed in our universe and must overcome some inner and outer obstacles...with some human help. What I liked about the movie isn't plot "per se" or dialogues or specials effects...but the fact that this film successfully integrate together many aspects.
For a film based on a Platformer game is a little miracle!! 1) We have lots of things from the games that are well integrated in the movie and make sense (for example... Rings, Spin Dash, Green hill zone, Idle waiting animation, Power Sneakers, Robotnik's robots red "eyes"...) 2) Sonic character design now resemble the original after the notorious trailer (so the production seems to listen to Fans)
3) Sonic and Eggman have a lots of screen time. 4) Human supporting sidekick do not steal screen time to main protagonists and is likable.
5) Lots of Sega easter eggs..even Sanic meme !
6) Great Jim C. Give this a try, it may surprise you
Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
7
superbatApr 2, 2020
Sonic is a solid movie. The best parts of the movie were the performances (especially Jim Carey) and the animation. However, the plot was too predictable.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
miccaelAug 3, 2020
Honestly? I liked this movie and I am not even a sonic fan!
No idea why it is being trashed by critics, I think most people watching it would enjoy it. It has fun moments, Jim Carrey is amazing and in general, movie looks good. Yeah its not
Honestly? I liked this movie and I am not even a sonic fan!
No idea why it is being trashed by critics, I think most people watching it would enjoy it. It has fun moments, Jim Carrey is amazing and in general, movie looks good. Yeah its not perfect and tons of questions here and there, but for a 1-time movie? perfectly enjoyable!
Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
nicholi0901May 8, 2020
Great movie so funny with Jim Carrey in it And I love the new sonic look Please make a sequel!
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
SionFoxFeb 20, 2020
Is amazing the movie, don't read the "critics" in oficial sites every lie, really nice Jim Carrey returns so SO good feel like to "The Mask" times
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
Tohubohu7Mar 6, 2020
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Great movie honestly. It started off slow but it got a lot better as time went on. What really made the movie for me though was my favorite character tails appearing in the end, it was such an amazing after credits scene, and robotnik slowly turning more and more into eggman was genuinly genius. Cannot wait for the sequel. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
DominArsenJun 11, 2020
Sonic issue d'un jeu vidéo auquel on ne peut pas échapper étant de la génération adéquate. La transformation en film est réussie. Il y a certes quelque défaut visuel, mais la lancée est donnée ! J'espère que la ligne d'arrivée est encoreSonic issue d'un jeu vidéo auquel on ne peut pas échapper étant de la génération adéquate. La transformation en film est réussie. Il y a certes quelque défaut visuel, mais la lancée est donnée ! J'espère que la ligne d'arrivée est encore loin, car cette nouvelle licence fait du bien !

Sonic from a video game that you cannot escape being of the right generation. The transformation into a film is successful. There is certainly some visual defect, but the momentum is given! I hope that the finish line is still far away, because this new license is good!
Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
mikehook1Feb 20, 2020
Super fun, super funny. My whole theater laughed so hard that at points I couldn't hear the movie. One of the most entertaining, crowd pleasers I have seen since Endgame.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
KelvinSelimorFeb 24, 2020
Sonic the Hedgehog. Supersonic movie! I was waiting for this film for a very long time and therefore went to it for the second time today and I think I will do it again! This film is special for me because it is an adaptation of the gameSonic the Hedgehog. Supersonic movie! I was waiting for this film for a very long time and therefore went to it for the second time today and I think I will do it again! This film is special for me because it is an adaptation of the game series that you have been playing since 6 years. Sonic is amazing, Donut Lord performed by James Marsden is a cool, kind guy and of course a magnificent Jim Carrey who, with his charisma and humor, shows who the real Dr. Robotnik. I will really hope and wait for the continuation, especially when there are two hints at the end of the film. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
CoreGamer1408Sep 5, 2020
The paid critics must not have any kids to watch with them this for sure. This was a fun family sc-fi movie we enjoyed all together. From the big to the little people in the family. Bad guys vs good guys and no weirdo identity politics. ThatThe paid critics must not have any kids to watch with them this for sure. This was a fun family sc-fi movie we enjoyed all together. From the big to the little people in the family. Bad guys vs good guys and no weirdo identity politics. That the usual paid critics love to clap to like seals. Refreshingly a non devise film that was just family friendly fun. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
mtkkMar 9, 2020
Awesome movie! Rare case of a game to movie adaptation that is actually good. Jim Carrey being actually funny again in a movie too!
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
manningn15May 18, 2020
Sonic the Hedgehog is one of my favorite movies of 2020. The visual effects were phenomenal especially Sonic and Dr. Robotnik's robots. I loved Sonic's design he was so cool and cute and a million times better than the original design. TheSonic the Hedgehog is one of my favorite movies of 2020. The visual effects were phenomenal especially Sonic and Dr. Robotnik's robots. I loved Sonic's design he was so cool and cute and a million times better than the original design. The acting from Jim Carrey and James Marsden was stupendous, Jim Carrey was better as Dr. Robotnik than I could have ever imagined. The writing was excellent, it was funny and touching. This was a great movie and one of my top 5 favorite video game adaption movies of all time. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
Player2-WaterMay 15, 2020
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. E-Value: 8
Acting: 8
Plot: 6

After many years of development hell and jumping from one studio to another, Sonic the Hedgehog is finally coming to the big screen and it is also the latest live-action video game movie after 2019’s Pokémon Detective Pikachu.

Sonic (Schwartz) is an extra-terrestrial blue hedgehog who can run at supersonic speeds. He has been living in Earth for 10 years after he escaped from his home world using a bag of rings that allowed him to travel to another world. During his time on Earth, he has been living alone in the forest of Green Hills, Montana and no one knows of his existence due to using his speed power to avoid being seen when he goes to town to grab supplies, doing some sightseeing and other activities.

Having spent all his life in isolation, Sonic become sad while playing baseball by himself. In the process, he accidently triggers an EMP which cause a huge blackout in Pacific Northwest. The US government reluctantly enlist Doctor Robotnik (Carrey) to handle the situation. While being after by Doctor Robotnik and his high-tech drones, Sonic hides in a garage which belongs to Tom Wachowski (Marsden), a local sheriff. Both of them scare out each when they first meet which leads Tom to shoot Sonic with a tranquilizer, causing him to lose the bag of rings in San Francisco when Sonic attempts to escape.

Once Sonic regain consciousness, Tom reluctantly agrees to protect Sonic from Doctor Robotnik. Both of them escapes immediately when he tracks down Sonic in Tom’s house. Together, they go on a wacky and crazy road trip to San Francisco to regain Sonic’s rings while being pursue by Doctor Robotnik, who has become obsess with hunting down Sonic and wanting to use his power for his own purposes.

Just like Pokémon Detective Pikachu, the movie is great and so much fun. There are many funny moments especially when it comes to Sonic fooling around and the movie does not use any cheap and lame jokes. The movie also stays very faithful to its source materials and made only minor changes in the movie. After an overwhelming negative reaction from fans on Sonic’s design in the first trailer, the studio chose to give Sonic a redesign which is much closer to his video game counterpart. This is a good and wise decision made by the studio because Sonic’s original design would have ruined the movie.

Everyone in the cast are amazing with their performances especially Jim Carrey. Speaking of him, Jim Carrey stole the show in the movie and his acting is very funny and outstanding. His performance is just like in his old days when he played The Mask, Riddler and Ace Ventura. He played the role of Doctor Robotnik perfectly and I could not think of anyone else besides him that can play the character. None of his scenes are boring and in fact, I could tell that his acting will bring some laughter from everyone. Ben Schwartz did a very great job in voicing Sonic perfectly. I am sure that Sonic’s voice actors from TV shows and video games are very proud of him. James Marsden also did a great job too and the chemistry between his character and Sonic worked really well and have great character development. This is also same for Sonic and Doctor Robotnik. Their rivalry is fun to watch on big screen just like in the TV shows.

While the movie is great and fun, there are also minor flaws. I felt the story could have been much better if they explore more of Sonic’s past which would make him more interesting character. His backstory is only shown in the beginning of the movie and then it was forgotten later on. Neal McDonough, who played Major Bennington, was seriously underused. He has only one scene in the movie where he spoke with Doctor Robotnik as seen in the trailer which I thought he was going to have a role in the movie. He is then never seen again after that. It was a waste of his talent for just one scene.

Regardless, it was totally a great live-action video game movie and Sonic fans will definitely love it. I am hoping to see more live-action video game movies in the future. Please do stay back for a mid-credits scene because this is something you cannot afford to miss it.
Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
7
ProfessorfettJun 6, 2020
Video game movies have tried and tried to make an impact on the movie industry and Sonic the Hedgehog is just trying. There is nothing immediately wrong with the film, and for a kids movie it honestly isn't that bad. I can say the story isVideo game movies have tried and tried to make an impact on the movie industry and Sonic the Hedgehog is just trying. There is nothing immediately wrong with the film, and for a kids movie it honestly isn't that bad. I can say the story is more coherent then 90% of the games and unlike Mario Brothers the movie doesn't destroy the mythology of the character. Now by all means is this not that great of a movie. It does what every origin story does when you introduce a character from another world is show us magical cool worlds but have the entire film based on earth. That par for the course and the safest route to take but that's the issue it's so safe that it ends up being boring. Sonic has some funny lines and for the most part is entertaining. When he isn't though he acts like a kid hopped up on PCP and his shtick gets tiring quick. James Marsden is continuing his career with him talking to little furry creatures. He is supposed to be the audience for the film; asking questions for exposition and such. He doesn't his job well and hell they even try to make him assist Sonic so he actually is doing something. Jim Carrey hams up his performance to perfection. He pulls all the stuff you love from early Jim Carrey and turns it from funny to evil. He honestly was great casting for the games villain Dr. Robotnik. Jim Carrey's energy works stupid well with the kids movie. I guarantee you won't be checking your phone while he is on screen. Overall the movie isn't bad and for a rental it is very serviceable. If you have kids this is a no-brainer and a must they will love the hell out of this. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
theanhooMay 4, 2020
Great script, great acting from the cast. The movie seems to be over too quickly (and that's a good movie in my books). Kudos for listening to fans about how Sonic (should) look (I grew up with Sonic on a Sega console). I loved to see how JimGreat script, great acting from the cast. The movie seems to be over too quickly (and that's a good movie in my books). Kudos for listening to fans about how Sonic (should) look (I grew up with Sonic on a Sega console). I loved to see how Jim Carrey relishes his role. I gotta say, though, the final boss fight was a bit underwhelming. Overall, a great family fun movie! Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
OmarBouhlel48Mar 28, 2020
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. this is best video game moive i ever see and it make sonic more popular than ever Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
HenriquedoValleMar 8, 2020
Great Movie! Very funny! Take your kids, they Will Love this adventure!

Ótimo filme para se levar os filhos, super divertido! Me surpreendeu demais! Minha filha amou! Realmente superou minhas expectativas!
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
7
Duckers_McQuackMar 15, 2020
I would give the movie a 9, but those 2 fortnite floss dances made me cringe hard.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
khaledketataMar 30, 2020
This is a great start for Sonic's big-screen debut. By far the best video game adaptation movie ever! There were VERY few screw-ups here and there. But other than those, Well done Paramount!
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
VichexxFeb 26, 2020
Awesome movie! is really fun, it was a great surprise, it can be enjoyed by gamers and also for people that haven´t played any sonic videogame, Finally they nailed it!, it´s a good videogame movie, hope the sequels keep the same way. JimAwesome movie! is really fun, it was a great surprise, it can be enjoyed by gamers and also for people that haven´t played any sonic videogame, Finally they nailed it!, it´s a good videogame movie, hope the sequels keep the same way. Jim Carrey as Robotnik also excellent choice. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
MedozzJun 20, 2020
This movie is more than amazing, it was very fun, and it also contains a lot of good jokes, funny clips and visual effects. It was great and a good sonic design. I enjoyed every moment in the movie.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
rurounilucJul 17, 2020
The movie (along Detective Pikachu) breaks the curse of "bad movies based in videogames".With good characters and funny scènes, Sonic arrives to be a nice journey to bee watched.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
ryanechoMar 12, 2020
Probably, the best movie based off of a video game that I have seen. - ryanecho
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
GabFireAug 11, 2020
Sem dúvidas umas das melhores adaptações de jogo para filme que vi em toda minha vida. Esse filme consegue ser bom e nos apresentar ''Sonic'' de uma forma muito carismática que realmente amei vê-lo.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
FastrMastrJun 27, 2020
As someone who has a history with the Blue Blur, I was pretty sceptical toward the movie, because of everything about the movie, before it released, especially regarding the first trailer.

I'm happy to report that the movie is actually
As someone who has a history with the Blue Blur, I was pretty sceptical toward the movie, because of everything about the movie, before it released, especially regarding the first trailer.

I'm happy to report that the movie is actually pretty good.

The movie luckily doesn't take itself serious at all. On the contrary actually. The movie is just fun and only at some parts does it try to tell a proper story, but most of the time it's just either funny comedy or feel-good moments. And Jim Carrey (who plays Dr. Robotnik) steals the show regarding the comedic aspect of the movie with his insane over the top performance.

What I especially love about the movie is that it not only adapts concepts from the Sonic games, but it reinterprets them to be fit for a movie. That makes the movie strike a good balance between being a faithful adaptation of the source material, but also being a good movie on it's own.

In conclusion, I liked the Sonic movie. It's funny, lighthearted and just a good time in general. My only real problem is that the first act is uneventful. The humor isn't that good nor does the story get along very interestingly in the first act.
Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
7
JP_WildeMar 22, 2020
a fun and well made movie, I thought the special effects wouldn't be much, but in reality, they were incredible!
It is made for a more childlike audience, but you understand a lot of references and tributes to players from the 90s, and it was
a fun and well made movie, I thought the special effects wouldn't be much, but in reality, they were incredible!
It is made for a more childlike audience, but you understand a lot of references and tributes to players from the 90s, and it was great to see Jim Carrey acting again, and he was one of the highlights of the film, Sonic was very beautiful and faithful , I'm glad they changed.
In general, it's the best video game-based movie I've ever seen!
Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
PCGamer1978Feb 27, 2020
Great acting and a lot of fun to watch for both young and old Sonic fans! It is refreshing to see a Hollywood movie that respects the source material and doesn't defecate upon the fans!
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
LucionMar 1, 2020
Just watched it since they went through the trouble to fix sonic. Its a very nice, lighthearted watch, its mostly funny, a little sad and has lots of super cute moments.
There is lots of nostalgia although i wished they would've put in more
Just watched it since they went through the trouble to fix sonic. Its a very nice, lighthearted watch, its mostly funny, a little sad and has lots of super cute moments.
There is lots of nostalgia although i wished they would've put in more of the old music. If your are looking for something deep and mind bending this isn't for you, if you are looking for a good time you can hardly go wrong with this
Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
7
DemonoidAngelFeb 26, 2020
Listen, I'm a life-long Sonic fan, so I have a bit of a biased opinion, so for me...this movie was great! There was never a dull moment, the action, and comedy are on par, and in abundance. The awesome performances of Ben Schwartz, and JimListen, I'm a life-long Sonic fan, so I have a bit of a biased opinion, so for me...this movie was great! There was never a dull moment, the action, and comedy are on par, and in abundance. The awesome performances of Ben Schwartz, and Jim Carrey are definitely worth seeing alone. Would highly reccomend seeing whether you're a kid or not! Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
7
SpacemanGaryFeb 26, 2020
I grew up a sonic fan, loved the games and read a few of the comics. I never had a hankerin' for a live action movie, but this is probably the best it could have turned. THe guy who did the voice for sonic was good (no jaleel white though)I grew up a sonic fan, loved the games and read a few of the comics. I never had a hankerin' for a live action movie, but this is probably the best it could have turned. THe guy who did the voice for sonic was good (no jaleel white though) and cyclops was servicable as boring white guy. Its painful to watch Jim Carrey try to be funny. I liked it when i was 9, now it is painful to watch. I would have given this an 8 if not for that really pointless fart joke. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
KaBobFeb 26, 2020
Is it perfect? No. But it's one of the most fun films I've seen in a long time and has me hyped for the sequel. Biggest disappointment in the film? No classic SEGA intro at the start of the movie.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
RyanholandaFeb 29, 2020
O filme é aqueles filmes de seção da tarde, mas o filme realmente é muito bom para sentar com seu filho/a pequeno para assistir.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
igheaMar 2, 2020
We could call this a one-man show, but luckily they put also a blue hedgehog into the mix to bring in some additional color.

They really do justice to the source material. So many nice and surprising easter eggs. There were no dull
We could call this a one-man show, but luckily they put also a blue hedgehog into the mix to bring in some additional color.

They really do justice to the source material. So many nice and surprising easter eggs.

There were no dull moments.

Nice teasers for stuff to come.

I loved it.

I have always liked Sonic and the friends, but been not so keen on the games.
Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
ShienzoMar 1, 2020
A very fun flic to watch! Very funny, the acting’s on point, emotional story and great special FX. I Don’t get the hate
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
7
WATAGROULMar 1, 2020
The movie is cool has great animations and really cool effects, but it left something to be desired with the very short storyline the movie could be 2 hours long.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews