Columbia Pictures | Release Date: August 22, 1986
8.4
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 85 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
77
Mixed:
6
Negative:
2
Watch Now
Buy On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
kheasApr 12, 2018
I wholeheartedly recommend this film to everyone. It's amazing in every way and, if is the first time you see it, it will surprise you. If it is the twentieth time you've seen it, it still keeps all of it's magic intact. for full review:I wholeheartedly recommend this film to everyone. It's amazing in every way and, if is the first time you see it, it will surprise you. If it is the twentieth time you've seen it, it still keeps all of it's magic intact. for full review: https://latetothegame.blog/2018/04/12/key-movies-of-my-life-stand-by-me-1986/ Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
LamontRaymondJun 12, 2017
In my mind, it suffers when you compare it to other teen flicks of the time such as The Goonies or The Lost Boys, but it's still an example of look-back nostalgia with mature dialogue coming out of teenage boys' mouths, which I can get behind.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
ScraperAug 3, 2017
This is one of the greatest films of all time. A life-affirming tale of going on your own, relying only on friends after family support falls through, and having the courage to face constant disparagement from the world. A rare movie that hasThis is one of the greatest films of all time. A life-affirming tale of going on your own, relying only on friends after family support falls through, and having the courage to face constant disparagement from the world. A rare movie that has stayed with me in the back of my mind my entire life. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
TheQuietGamerJan 26, 2018
Growing up is tough, but somehow magical as well. Stand By Me is about four friends who set out on what is most likely going to be their last adventure together before reaching junior high and going their separate ways. Of course they don'tGrowing up is tough, but somehow magical as well. Stand By Me is about four friends who set out on what is most likely going to be their last adventure together before reaching junior high and going their separate ways. Of course they don't know this at the time. They're just a bunch of kids who want to see a dead body. The trip there is a doozy though, and in more ways than one. On top of finding themselves in some crazy and even dangerous situations, these youngsters must come face-to-face with some of life's hard truths as well as the first taste of their own mortality. It's some pretty heavy stuff. Especially with the likes of the already world-weary at the age of 12 River Phoenix and the forgotten by his own parents Wil Wheaton leading the way.

It's not all gloom and doom though. In fact, Stand By Me much less dreary than the Stephen King novella "The Body" that it's based on. There are plenty of comedic moments stemming from the kind of silly, risky hijinks and vulgar banter that could only come from a group of young males. It's got all of the original story's heart, and none of it's occasional mean-spiritedness. What it doesn't have is good child acting. While I'm sure it was fine for the era, unless people are just watching it now through rose-tinted glasses, nobody is really going to view these youngsters as the crème de la crème at that point in time, despite them all growing up to be much more talented. Luckily, their genuine devotion to the material and strong direction from Rob Reiner ensure that none of the emotion is lost.

It's the kind of movie that will bring back fond memories of childhood friends and the time you spent with them. You'll be nostalgic for the fun, mystery, and even the heartbreak of youth. An effective drama that will reach the kid in you by getting in touch with the adult who more fully understands the real reasons these kids are struggling with their lives in a way one just can't at that age. It has the power to make you laugh and maybe even cry. In a way Rob Reiner has made it possible to feel like you're going along with the kids onscreen. To me, it's worth putting up with the poor acting and low-budget production in order to experience something like that.

8.2/10
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
alejandro970Jul 11, 2020
One of the few occasions that Stephen KIng strays from the horror genre. Never before has the end of innocence been portrayed like this, with a bittersweet but pleasant nostalgic flavor. One of the essentials of the 80s.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
KeithDowSep 7, 2019
The source material, director, and young actors all wondrously caught lightning in a bottle with this timeless ode to adolescence.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
robertoiglesiasJan 13, 2018
Stand By Me was so great! I loved it so much! It was really heart warming and a generous film.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
amheretojudgeSep 1, 2018
its beauty and horror..

Stand By Me Stand By Me is a character driven drama about a group of guys leaving for an adventure without any supervision into the wild nature which changes them through its beauty and horror. As the premise guides
its beauty and horror..

Stand By Me

Stand By Me is a character driven drama about a group of guys leaving for an adventure without any supervision into the wild nature which changes them through its beauty and horror. As the premise guides you, it is layered and has a metaphorical tone that is depicted through a bunch of teenage kids which is pure masterful storytelling. The chemistry among the characters communicates fluently and the credit goes to the writer who installs these little tactics that can easily resonate with each generation. The structure doesn't divide itself into various acts, it's just a big marvelous adventure of love, laugh and life. The writing is adaptive and strong with humorous sketchy bits that never leaves the bridge of practicality. It follows probably the best structure of the script as in, it starts funny and light and then grows a bit sensitive and sensible with a heartfelt ending that echoes through the audience even after one leaves the screen. The background score may not be up to the mark but the cinematography and editing is purely magical in here. Devouring the nature in each aspects, the camera work is beautiful with stunning visuals and mesmerizing location that helps foliate it. Having said that, it also has a poignancy that can be inedible for the viewers and some boldy essential questions are raised too.

The young cast shows some promising skills, if doesn't go as anticipated it certainly works, the performance is in safe hands. Reiner's execution delivers unflinchingly in here and shows tremendous amount of finesse with the help of explicit adaptation. Teenage bonding, stunning visuals and a poetic tone are the high points of the feature. Stand By Me is not one's typical teenager feature, it speaks to all generations and has the potential to walk through decades.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
rswitzMar 9, 2019
"Stand By Me" is the definition of a classic. Wheaton, Phoenix, O'Connell, and Feldman's dynamic, as well as the nostalgic, relaxed setting of the 1950s make it no wonder that Stephen King stated this was his favourite adaptation of any of his works.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
GCOReviewsOct 29, 2018
An iconic 80's film. A film about kids who search for a dead body who knew that it would be an amazing film. I bet most people would say its just kids walking on railroads and talking. So, SCREW THEM!!!
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
Magpie1991Nov 26, 2018
A warm film that stirred memories of growing up. Well acted and well-formed characters represented well by the child actors. A deserved classic.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
Kover4Sep 14, 2019
How any "professional" movie critic gives this film anything less than an 8 is beyond me. It's a classic. Story is phenomenal, characters are great. Demenstrates the relationship/friendships that young boys have growing up accurately.How any "professional" movie critic gives this film anything less than an 8 is beyond me. It's a classic. Story is phenomenal, characters are great. Demenstrates the relationship/friendships that young boys have growing up accurately. Definately recommend Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
DogeGamer2015Jun 14, 2020
Es una corta película, con personajes carismáticos y momentos conmovedores.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
AlimoghniehJun 6, 2020
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. يرتكز هذا الفيلم حول فكرة أساسية : الصداقة في زمن الطفولة. الصداقة الحقيقية والتي تعبث بها السنون كلما تقدم بنا العمر. ولكن يبقى أثرها محفورا في نفوسنا!
قصة أربعة مراهقين في الثانية عشرة من العمر، يخوضون مغامرةً بحماس المراهق المستكشف بحثاً عن جثة طفلٍ مفقود في بلدتهم الصغيرة. الجثة ليست هي محور القصة، بل الصداقة وما تُخبؤه لهم ثنايا رحلتهم العجيبة. هذا المرحُ الكبير الذي يتسلل إلى كل طفلٍ في نفوسنا حينما نشاهد الفيلم. أداءٌ مبهرٌ لتلك الفتية المميزة : غوردي (ويل وايتون) وتيدي - كوري فيلدمان - و ڤيرن - جيري أوكونيل - و كريس - ريفر فونيكس والذي ترشّح لاحقاً لنيل جائزة الأوسكار عن فئة أفضل ممثل ثانوي لدوره في فيلم المعلم العظيم سيدني لاميت Running on Empty ولكنّ الأخ الأكبر للممثل الموهبة جواكين فينيكس لم يحظَ بفرصة جيدة في السينما بسبب وفاته المبكرة المفجعة في العام ١٩٩٣ بجرعة كوكايين زائدة! غوردي فقد أخاه الأكبر قبل شهور خلت. أخوه الذي دعمه في موهبته - الكتابة--وسانده وسطَ عدم اكتراث أبويه لا بل استهزاء والده الدائم وسخريته. يواجه غوردي كابوساً دائمأ حيث يرى أباه يلتفت إليه لحظة دفن أخيه الأكبر ويهمس إليه : كان يجب أن تكون أنت الميت، أنت بلا فائدة!
في البرية، وحينما يصلون إلى الجثة، يقف غوردي شارد المخيلة بالجثة،. هائماً على وجهه. هنا يلتفت كريس إليه، وهو الصديق الأقرب إليه في المجموعة، يتقدم إليه ويسأله : ما بك؟! يسرد عليه غوردي كابوسه المؤرّق قائلاً : كان يجب أن أكون أنا! أبي يقول ذلك دوماً، أبي يكرهني يا صديقي! هنا يرد كريس على خوفه بإجابة مذهلة، فيها الكثير من عبق الصداقة الحقيقية :
لا يا صديقي، أبوك لا يكرهك، أبوك فقط لا يعرفك! بالله عليكم تفكروا في تلك الكلمات المدهشة. هذا المشهد يُسجل ضمن المشاهد الخالدة لروب راينر. التصوير في هذا الفيلم بالكامل هو خارجي.
تتنقل كاميرا المخرج بين أحياء البلدة والمزرعة والبرية وخط سكة القطار، مما ساعده على إضفاء ألوان الحياة على فيلمه. الموسيقى المنتقاة صائبةٌ جداً. أغنية every day لـ Buddy Holly ،
واختتام الفيلم بأغنية stand by me لـ Ben E King والذي انبثق إسم الفيلم منها!
الإخراج كان هادئا رصينا ومتقناً، اعتمد راينر أسلوب السهل الممتنع، وزاد رونق الفيلم جمالاً براعة الممثلين الأطفال... باختصار، هذا الفيلم يدخل ضمن قائمة الأفلام العظيمة...
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
sergenat13Jan 10, 2021
this one is always close to me, River Phoenix such an amazing actor with so much potential, it's an easy movie, flow amazingly with the friendship and journey but also depicted it with instinctive and natural way. The essence of coming of agethis one is always close to me, River Phoenix such an amazing actor with so much potential, it's an easy movie, flow amazingly with the friendship and journey but also depicted it with instinctive and natural way. The essence of coming of age is also near and brought up nicely. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews