Twentieth Century Fox Film Corporation | Release Date: May 19, 2005
7.6
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 1722 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
1,325
Mixed:
248
Negative:
149
Watch Now
Buy On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
8
grandpajoe6191Sep 24, 2011
Finally Lucas manages to create the final epic conclusion to his SF saga with a dark morale and splendid acting from Mcgregor with high tech CGI.
18 of 20 users found this helpful182
All this user's reviews
9
BasquillyMay 10, 2015
Ignore all the bad things you hear about this movie. Any negative reviews are mostly star wars fan boys (or more likely 30-40 year old men) who are too nostalgic about the original trilogy from their childhood, and are still bitter about howIgnore all the bad things you hear about this movie. Any negative reviews are mostly star wars fan boys (or more likely 30-40 year old men) who are too nostalgic about the original trilogy from their childhood, and are still bitter about how awful the phantom menace was. This is a fantastic movie, arguably the best in the franchise (at least on par with Return of the Jedi) and you should not let it's reputation put you off. Expand
10 of 10 users found this helpful100
All this user's reviews
10
dopencheseDec 15, 2017
I come away from "The Last Jedi" feeling much the same way I felt about "The Force Awakens," but a little more. These movies aren't for me, anymore. The spectacle is great, the special effects are great, the performances are mostly great, butI come away from "The Last Jedi" feeling much the same way I felt about "The Force Awakens," but a little more. These movies aren't for me, anymore. The spectacle is great, the special effects are great, the performances are mostly great, but the written material doesn't work for me. The humour, the use of characters, even basic narrative structure. Every single creative decision, big and small, felt wrong, to me. Every part of this film is the opposite of what I find dramatically satisfying. It left me feeling somehow empty. Without hope for the future. Expand
9 of 9 users found this helpful90
All this user's reviews
10
ObbiePR18Apr 2, 2012
Lucas logra con el Episodio III mejorar grandemente el desastre cometido en The Phantom Menace. Tiene esa escencia de las anteriores y es satisfactoria. La verdad es que es digna la mejoria que ha hecho, pero ni siquiera se puede explicar queLucas logra con el Episodio III mejorar grandemente el desastre cometido en The Phantom Menace. Tiene esa escencia de las anteriores y es satisfactoria. La verdad es que es digna la mejoria que ha hecho, pero ni siquiera se puede explicar que le paso por la cabeza cuando escribio The Phantom Menace. Revenge of the Sith tiene grandes momentos de accion, un mejor guion y mejor conclusion que la anterior y es se puede comparar con la trilogia anterior. Expand
8 of 8 users found this helpful80
All this user's reviews
10
darthsoloDec 15, 2017
revenge of the sith is my favorite star wars movie of all time. people give it crap but this film deserves an oscar compared to that piece of crap TLJ
8 of 8 users found this helpful80
All this user's reviews
10
gzayas91Dec 21, 2014
The best and final chapter of the prequel trilogy. A sequel that is darker than Return of the Jedi. The acting is good, action is great, the cg, the story, and the direction.
7 of 7 users found this helpful70
All this user's reviews
10
epicdude12302Nov 5, 2013
this is my favorite star wars movie because it shows how a anakin becomes darth vader. also great special effects and 5 different light saber battles. Epic!
7 of 7 users found this helpful70
All this user's reviews
10
DrunkenJedi92Dec 22, 2015
By far one of my all time favorite movies, and the movie that sealed my fate as a die hard star wars fan and introduced me to the treasured original trilogy. Excellent film!
7 of 7 users found this helpful70
All this user's reviews
10
meowsedaiDec 20, 2015
Sorry, Episode III. I liked you. You were several orders more interesting than Episode VII. You didn't deserve the hate. Here, you get some stars to balance out all the haters.
7 of 7 users found this helpful70
All this user's reviews
10
PurerayMar 1, 2013
Best Movie, I have got to say that this has got to be my favorite, it contains humor, action, love, suspense, and so much more. Awesome prequel to the series, a must watch for anyone.
6 of 6 users found this helpful60
All this user's reviews
10
RecantoFeb 21, 2013
The very best Episode from the prequels with a lot of revelations and stunning moments.
An epic conclusion with splendid acting performances of Ewan Mcgregor and Hayden Christensen.
6 of 6 users found this helpful60
All this user's reviews
10
billyr0bninjaApr 21, 2015
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This movie will be a classic in ten years. However, I didn't like jar jar binks at padme's funeral. But other than that, perfect movie made by George Lucas. Expand
6 of 6 users found this helpful60
All this user's reviews
9
UrbanlistenerJan 12, 2016
My third favorite Star Wars film after V and IV, this movie is a huge improvement over I and II. The story is intriguing, emotionally resonant and linked with the original trilogy, the dialogue is much better, Hayden's bland and emotionlessMy third favorite Star Wars film after V and IV, this movie is a huge improvement over I and II. The story is intriguing, emotionally resonant and linked with the original trilogy, the dialogue is much better, Hayden's bland and emotionless acting works as he turns in Vader and for once you feel involved and that the stakes are high. The SFX are also improved and still look decent today. A surprisingly more than satisfying ending for the prequels trilogy. Expand
6 of 6 users found this helpful60
All this user's reviews
9
jammasterjDec 18, 2015
This movie isn't that bad! I love the lightsaber battles! Sure the movie is bad in some places, but this is a decent movie. In my opinion my favorite star wars movie behind empire strikes back.
6 of 6 users found this helpful60
All this user's reviews
9
AntorinDec 16, 2017
One of the best movies in the entire franchise and succeeds where the Sequel trilogy is currently failing: delivering a good story and evoking emotions while expanding the universe.
6 of 6 users found this helpful60
All this user's reviews
8
PaxsterSep 19, 2010
This movie is my favourite in the prequel trilogy. It reaches the emotional level the others fail to get near and the added dark 12 Rating element is exactly what was needed. Every base is covered to lead into Episode 4 and this is sure toThis movie is my favourite in the prequel trilogy. It reaches the emotional level the others fail to get near and the added dark 12 Rating element is exactly what was needed. Every base is covered to lead into Episode 4 and this is sure to give satisfaction to Star Wars fanatics. Expand
5 of 5 users found this helpful50
All this user's reviews
7
kotteiAug 15, 2011
I watched all Star Wars movies. I like SF movie. I like Yoda. Yoda is very strong. I want to be a je dai.
This movie is great and strong. æ
5 of 5 users found this helpful50
All this user's reviews
8
MovieGuysApr 22, 2014
Revenge of the Sith is a great conclusion to the series, but also works as an independent movie. Lucas is a genius here, and it shows. A thing of admiration it is.
5 of 5 users found this helpful50
All this user's reviews
8
Aidon_mNov 18, 2013
Revenge of the sith took the inevitable story and made it heart wrenchingly sad. By far not a flawless film, but not an insult to the standard of the original trilogy. Although reliant on special effects, the characters emotional journeys andRevenge of the sith took the inevitable story and made it heart wrenchingly sad. By far not a flawless film, but not an insult to the standard of the original trilogy. Although reliant on special effects, the characters emotional journeys and the performance of the actors really bring the tragedy of Anakin Skywalker to life. A film that does justice to just how sad it ought to be. 8/10 Expand
5 of 5 users found this helpful50
All this user's reviews
9
AndanteOct 31, 2016
The most mature Star Wars film along with Episode 2....enough said. World Class acting by Ian McDiarmid in one of the most 'beautiful' bad roles ever portrayed on a fantasy film. Hayden Christiansen and Evan McGregor deliver some fantasticThe most mature Star Wars film along with Episode 2....enough said. World Class acting by Ian McDiarmid in one of the most 'beautiful' bad roles ever portrayed on a fantasy film. Hayden Christiansen and Evan McGregor deliver some fantastic moments. The meeting of Anakin and Palpatine in the Theater is masterfully directed and perhaps one of the greatest scenes of the entire Star Wars saga. Dialogues are priceless throughout the movie. To summarize it, AAA+ acting and a fantastic conclusion to the prequel trilogy. Certainly very dark and not suited for younger audiences. The old trilogy doesnt even come close to this one in terms of direction, dialogues and actors.... Expand
5 of 5 users found this helpful50
All this user's reviews
10
BernolsvenJan 26, 2015
[Portuguese] É o melhor filme de Star Wars , na minha opinião, pois mostra a "aparição" de Darth Vader, e mostra bastante sobre o lado Sith da série.
5 of 5 users found this helpful50
All this user's reviews
8
waronassermanMay 5, 2015
YES FINALLY! one of the prequel movies gets most of it right! a very strong and fun movie! the performances arnt great and neither is the script somewhat, but it is a fun movie and very reminiscent of the original trilogy
5 of 5 users found this helpful50
All this user's reviews
8
AtTheMoviesJun 17, 2011
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Overall, a very good movie. A huge improvement over Attack of the Clones. This movie succeeds visually, as have all Star Wars, but this one also succeeds dramatically. Hayden Christensen was still bad, but Natalie Portman began to shine. Although having a very short appearance, Christopher Lee stole the show, with his villainous Count Dooku. Ian McDiarmind is graceful as Palpatine, showing how truly evil that character is. The writing marked an improvement over Attack, as there were less romantic scenes. You even started to feel bad for the Jedi, something unheard of in Attack. Portman makes Padme a tragic character, something very crucial to the film. The constant allegory to events such as Hitler's rise to power mirroring Palpatine's was unexpected, but great. And of course, the final battle on Mustafar was magnificent. Light saber battling has never looked so very real. Overall, a good film that marks an improvement over the past 3 installments. Revenge of the Sith is for all those who want to see a good movie, not just Star Wars fans. Expand
4 of 4 users found this helpful40
All this user's reviews
8
skyminsterMay 21, 2012
Star wars: episode III: revenge of the sith is a great action/sci-fi movie, it's a big improvement on attack of the clones and an even bigger improvement on the phantom menace. Its got epic and exciting action sequences, only a bit of boringStar wars: episode III: revenge of the sith is a great action/sci-fi movie, it's a big improvement on attack of the clones and an even bigger improvement on the phantom menace. Its got epic and exciting action sequences, only a bit of boring politics, a great and thought out well plot, awesome music, almost no jar jar binks, and great special effects. Well done, George Lucas, you've made a good film again (after 28 whole years!) Expand
4 of 4 users found this helpful40
All this user's reviews
7
diogomendesNov 29, 2015
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Episode III - Revenge of the Sith.... the strongest Star Wars prequel, in my opinion. What I liked about the film the most wasn't the action or the special effects (though those aspects remained spectacular as ever), but rather the character development, which was lacking in the previous two films. This movie was truly about Anakin and his transformation into to the Dark Side of the Force, and the movie consistently built up to the classic final showdown between him and his former master Obi-Wan, as well to the born of Darth Vader. "Attack of the Clones" was already quietly setting up that big plot point. We saw Anakin frustrated for not being elected as a Jedi master by the Council, and his dilemma on the nightmares he's been having about Padmé's death. From that, he becomes easily manipulated by Palpatine who puts the former against the Jedi.

Now, there's some things I found myself disliking. The acting for instance was mostly bad. I didn't buy Hayden Christensen's performance when Padmé told Anakin she was pregnant. It was also really hard not to notice the over-the-top acting from some characters such as Senator Palpatine, when he killed Samuel Jackson's character, and screamed excessively, way longer than he should have.

Of course, with all of this we had action, pretty nice action sequences combined with eye candy visuals, and sweet color palette. The lightsaber never gets old, and the sound effects were really great. While I'm not a Star Wars fan (at least not yet), I enjoyed much more the story arc around this time, and all that mythology paid off.

Final Score: 7.5/10
Expand
4 of 4 users found this helpful40
All this user's reviews
8
YellowKirbyOct 25, 2015
After two disappointments, George Lucas finally captured the brilliance of the original trilogy. Apart from Hayden Christensen's slightly wooden performance, this proves to be the third best film in the franchise!
4 of 4 users found this helpful40
All this user's reviews
7
DanBurritoSep 25, 2015
Just as we were giving up hope of ever seeing another decent Star Wars film, Revenge of the Sith comes along. And it finally satisfies us. It's not as good as 4,5 and even 6 but it comes close. Grevious is really epic and ALMOST comes closeJust as we were giving up hope of ever seeing another decent Star Wars film, Revenge of the Sith comes along. And it finally satisfies us. It's not as good as 4,5 and even 6 but it comes close. Grevious is really epic and ALMOST comes close to being as cool as Darth Vader. The Palpatine-v-Yoda battle was EPIC. It really makes you anticipate The Force Awakens without worry. Still, there could have been a Han Solo character. And here's my biggest complaint-if R2D2 had all those guns and gadgets built into him all along, why on earth couldn't he use them in the originals? That was rather forced Expand
4 of 4 users found this helpful40
All this user's reviews
10
JoroAMar 21, 2016
Great conclusion to the prequel saga! It has improved on everything from the previous two films. It has the best Star Wars action to date, best visuals if you don't care about CGI and the best story. You see the villain at work as he succeedsGreat conclusion to the prequel saga! It has improved on everything from the previous two films. It has the best Star Wars action to date, best visuals if you don't care about CGI and the best story. You see the villain at work as he succeeds with his master plans. The cast did an excellent job and the music score is fantastic. It connects perfectly with the originals. The romance dialogue at times is awkward but there is hardly any relationship that is not a little awkward at times. Expand
4 of 4 users found this helpful40
All this user's reviews
8
SrPepeNov 29, 2017
El hate a esta pelicula la verdad que no lo entiendo. Es simplemente genial. El origen de Vader es algo que me parece crucial para los fans. La música, efectos y peleas son geniales.
4 of 4 users found this helpful40
All this user's reviews
10
UNARMED_JORDFeb 26, 2017
Emotionally powerful and utterly pleasing, Revenge of the sith remains my second favourite star wars film and for good reason as we see right before our eyes the transformation into Darth Vader
4 of 4 users found this helpful40
All this user's reviews
10
cforthewinNov 13, 2016
An underrated movie in the star wars saga, this movie with great acting, intense action, and the darkest moments in the entire star wars series thus far ranks among the franchises best.
4 of 4 users found this helpful40
All this user's reviews
8
beingryanjudeAug 28, 2014
The Revenge of the Sith is a brilliant conclusion to an epic saga. Not only are we offered answers we've been longing since the dawn of Star Wars, but we are extensively entertained on all fronts. Yes, the visuals continue their spectacularThe Revenge of the Sith is a brilliant conclusion to an epic saga. Not only are we offered answers we've been longing since the dawn of Star Wars, but we are extensively entertained on all fronts. Yes, the visuals continue their spectacular prowess, but it's the story the gets us. It'll stick with us forever. Expand
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
9
JonathanJun 5, 2008
this movie was the best out of the new trilogy, but i think the only major flaw was how padme dies after giving birth and in episode 6 leia says she remembers her mom as a sad but beautiful woman. WTF is that?? great job george lucas, its this movie was the best out of the new trilogy, but i think the only major flaw was how padme dies after giving birth and in episode 6 leia says she remembers her mom as a sad but beautiful woman. WTF is that?? great job george lucas, its your own story and you add obvious holes in it. other than that i think it was cool how it ties in to episodes 4-6. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful
10
ElenaR.Dec 26, 2007
The movie's great, the casting is great, it's all great.
2 of 2 users found this helpful
8
AlexG.Apr 15, 2008
Best one ever...what i've been waiting to find out for years now how he went to the darkside, brilliant, superb, electryfying.
2 of 2 users found this helpful
10
TonyM.May 30, 2008
Ok, this movie was one of the greatest movies I've seen. Now i understand that episodes I and II weren't up to snuff, to put it softly, but, to say that the second trilogy had little or no plot or character development, is to Ok, this movie was one of the greatest movies I've seen. Now i understand that episodes I and II weren't up to snuff, to put it softly, but, to say that the second trilogy had little or no plot or character development, is to discredit yourself of all intelligence. Anakin begins in epsiode one as a boy, wanting to do good. As he gets older, he becomes disillusioned with how the jedi council is treating him; he thinks he deserves more, and instead of keeping him from turing, they only make it worse. There is no need for breaking ANakin, because he is already broken. He wants his love to survive, but he knows she might not. Since he trusts Palpatine, he belives in his words, that there may be a way to save her. He's not bad, his misguided, and to say that is not true plot or character development, is just crazy! Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful
10
OliverL.Oct 3, 2008
This is the best film of the year and the best Star Wars film yet, even surpassing The Empire Strikes Back.
2 of 2 users found this helpful
10
BobthebuilderthatscarecrowguyApr 15, 2008
Insanly good movie. Good acting and graphics all around. Should buy it even if you're not a star wars fan.
2 of 2 users found this helpful
10
MorganFJul 16, 2008
Pure brilliance. Leaves you in awe.
2 of 2 users found this helpful
8
GregC.Dec 24, 2009
I have seen all the Star Wars pictures(hey, I'm from North America, folks) even though I'm not particularly a Star Wars buff. Of all the Star Wars pictures, this is the only one with any serious emotional resonance for me. In the I have seen all the Star Wars pictures(hey, I'm from North America, folks) even though I'm not particularly a Star Wars buff. Of all the Star Wars pictures, this is the only one with any serious emotional resonance for me. In the all the early Star Wars pictures, George Lucas was trying to recapture the old Flash Gordon serials in high tech terms with an overlay of New Age mysticism. Sometimes it worked, sometimes it didn't. This is the only movie, to be blunt, where I think George Lucas is doing some serious thinking. He's contemplating why someone might turn to (if one might use an old-fashioned term here) evil. This gives the whole thing a gravitas that the rest of the series simply doesn't have. While I suppose this film gives the viewer (to use a degraded bit of modern-day post-modern jargon) closure in respect to the character of Darth Vader, and the film ties up various plot and thematic odds and ends, it cuts much deeper. George, who has clearly read Oscar Wilde's "The Picture of Dorian Gray", depicts how Anakin Skywalker's outer deformity grows out of his inner deformity. And George's perceptions here are on a higher level than the rest of the films. He appreciates that Evil (if, again, I may use the term) is often a strange combination of bad intentions and good intentions. That is a very 21st century perception, miles away from the original "Star Wars." And, surprisingly, there is even some wit here. At one point, a character arrives at a planet, proclaiming,'I have come in regards to the War." The alien replies,"There is no War here. Perhaps you brought one with you?" Ho, ho! Leave aside the whole question of highbrow and lowbrow. This is a great shaft of wit, period. If George had only written this one line, he'd deserve to live forever. This is, figuratively and literally, the darkest Star Wars picture and quite rightly so. The sadness and the sense of dark inevitability are oddly haunting in their way here. It is said that Japanese popular culture is obsessed with the Star Wars mythos. This is the film, in my opinion, that justifies the fascinationg. If I had to have only one Star Wars picture, this would be it. Greg Cameron, Surrey, B.C., Canada. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful
10
VulcanDec 24, 2017
The best of the prequels. Better than TFA and most certainly better than TLJ (which was just so hideous it makes me angry).
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
8
SEROJDec 21, 2015
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This is the best movie in the prequel of the original trilogy "Star Wars". Anakin Skywalker is now officialy called Darth Vader and the best is yet to come! Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
7
Muskrat147May 31, 2016
Considered to be the best of the Prequel Trilogy, Revenge of the Sith is still smothered in political talk, but with compelling action and a predictable, but overall nice ending, the film turned out to be a good send off to the spin-off ofConsidered to be the best of the Prequel Trilogy, Revenge of the Sith is still smothered in political talk, but with compelling action and a predictable, but overall nice ending, the film turned out to be a good send off to the spin-off of the epic saga. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
10
SheidcraftApr 11, 2018
My third favorite Star Wars film after V and IV, this movie is a huge improvement over I and II. The story is intriguing, emotionally resonant and linked with the original trilogy, the dialogue is much better, Hayden's bland and emotionlessMy third favorite Star Wars film after V and IV, this movie is a huge improvement over I and II. The story is intriguing, emotionally resonant and linked with the original trilogy, the dialogue is much better, Hayden's bland and emotionless acting works as he turns in Vader and for once you feel involved and that the stakes are high. The SFX are also improved and still look decent today. A surprisingly more than satisfying ending for the prequels trilogy. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
10
Movie-BuffDec 29, 2017
While The Phantom Menace is my personal favorite, it is clear that Revenge of the Sith is the peak of everything Star Wars. Both the darkest and deepest chapter of the Saga. ROTS brings the circle to it's full and complete conclusion, closingWhile The Phantom Menace is my personal favorite, it is clear that Revenge of the Sith is the peak of everything Star Wars. Both the darkest and deepest chapter of the Saga. ROTS brings the circle to it's full and complete conclusion, closing off one of the greatest Sagas in the history of film with a finale so unforgettable it will be remembered as long as film exists. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
10
EdsilP.Oct 20, 2005
Very Vivid Special Effects and Sounds is Great! Congrats!
1 of 1 users found this helpful
7
marshallmOct 20, 2005
Eh, i've seen better. it was very entertaining but and the acting from hayden christansen was terrible, he should be nominated for a razzie, but the other actors did a fine job,christansen was the wrong guy to play anakin... i think Eh, i've seen better. it was very entertaining but and the acting from hayden christansen was terrible, he should be nominated for a razzie, but the other actors did a fine job,christansen was the wrong guy to play anakin... i think this was better then the second one, but not as good as the phantom menace, and none of the prequals will ever match up with the originals. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
7
matta.Oct 20, 2005
Without a doubt the best in new trilogy (which isn't saying much) and probably better than Return of the Jedi (despite the duel between Luke and Darth being sweet, the ewoks are dreadful). The Dialogue is still terrible but finally some Without a doubt the best in new trilogy (which isn't saying much) and probably better than Return of the Jedi (despite the duel between Luke and Darth being sweet, the ewoks are dreadful). The Dialogue is still terrible but finally some decent acting, the effects look better, and the story is obviously better. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
T.S.Sep 25, 2005
How could anybody think that was a bad movie?
1 of 1 users found this helpful
7
JimboAug 16, 2008
Has the same issues as the other prequels: bad dialogue, bad acting, bad story. It has a few memorable moments and a satisfying ending, but it still doesn't come close to the original trilogy.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
RonR.Nov 1, 2005
Of the new Trilogy AND the movie to tie all 6 together, great job Lucas, thanks for waiting for the technology on these three, too bad people forget they are a Family Fantasy Series based around the classic Good vs. Evil concept. I'm Of the new Trilogy AND the movie to tie all 6 together, great job Lucas, thanks for waiting for the technology on these three, too bad people forget they are a Family Fantasy Series based around the classic Good vs. Evil concept. I'm not sure what these morons were expecting, but thanks for giving ME more incredible Star Wars content. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
EricO.Aug 28, 2005
Definately the best movie of the year.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
Ezio_TraditoreDec 2, 2018
i don't understand the peoples who dont likes this movie. prequels are made to show you what happened before 4-5-6. what were you waiting for? another death star?
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
JPKJul 1, 2018
WHAT AN IMPROVEMENT!
This Film Is WAY Better Than The Previous 2 Prequels With Powerful Writing, Great Performances, Terrific Effects, And A Brilliant Score.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
7
KonlinerJul 16, 2018
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Revenge of the Sith carries the same problems as Episode 1 and Episode 2 : Poor dialogue, poor acting performance, unnecessary and naive scenes, and in some cases, a humiliation to the continuity of the SW universe. However, this is the best of the trilogy and it has some strong points that save its rating from getting 6 out of 10.

First of all, Anakin in this movie is more likable than in Episode 1 and 2. In Episode 1, he was very annoying with his naive, meaningless dialogue. Episode 2 Anakin is a whiny, lousy teenager who keeps complaining and has a creepy way of approaching a girl he had admired since he was a kid. Anakin in Episode 3 is more worthy to be considered as a hero and his fall for the dark side is even more interesting. I think part of the charm of this movie is the darker theme compared to the previous 2 movies. There's the hero turning into the villain, massacre of children and the jedi, Anakin losing his handsome face from the burn, and the victory of the antagonists. They add up to the emotion of the movie.

Anakin's steady transformation to the dark side is very well executed and Lucas did a great job in connecting the Prequel Trilogy to the Original Trilogy. The Republic's transformation into an empire is also very well-thought by Lucas and it suddenly makes the 2 previous movies seem to make sense. It's never too late to impress the fans.
Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
tacothiefNov 15, 2018
A bit better than people give it credit for I think. Anakin's decision between Windu and Palpatine is a mirror to Anakin's decision between Palpatine and Luke in RotJ, and creates a very strong connection between these scenes. The moment heA bit better than people give it credit for I think. Anakin's decision between Windu and Palpatine is a mirror to Anakin's decision between Palpatine and Luke in RotJ, and creates a very strong connection between these scenes. The moment he solidifies himself as evil, and then in RotJ, the moment he tries to redeem himself. It's good writing. The movie has some weak points and some details were silly, but if you take a step back and see the overall trilogy as conveying Darth Vader's fall to the dark side, this is a compelling story and the films portray it well. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
RevanM.Jan 25, 2010
Seriously, I don't understand all those bad ratings. This film is like the incarnation of the word "epic". The final fight scene is among the best ever created, filled with epic dialogues, awesome music composed by Mr. Williams and a Seriously, I don't understand all those bad ratings. This film is like the incarnation of the word "epic". The final fight scene is among the best ever created, filled with epic dialogues, awesome music composed by Mr. Williams and a fight with speed, power and energy. That's how a fight is supposed to be. And yet the film has more to offer than just action. It has a very dark atmosphere and a quite deep story for an action movie. Palpatine's corruption is well written and you even can see the movie as a metaphor to our real life in a few ways. This movie is just one of the best movies ever made, and it's even better than the original Star Wars a new hope. Why? Because it grew up, it's not just about good vs. uberevil, but it's a story of the chosen one, Anakin, who falls to the dark side because of love, and you can see what people are willing to do because of love. Tragic story and awesome movie, hands down. Expand
14 of 15 users found this helpful
10
smashbro1999Mar 19, 2013
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Utapau is rocky and barren, like Tatooine and Geonosis, but the sinkholes make it distinguishable from the other planets that are of arid climate. Mustafar is one of the most unique planets in the saga, being a volcanic hotbed of fire, not only setting the stage of the final battle, but representing the psychological state of one of the main characters. The opening sequence is amazing; I felt like I was being whisked through a massive space battle-this was an amazing feeling. The additional CGI action sequences also look very good. Complimenting these battles are 5 lightsaber duels-the most in an individual Star Wars episode. Each features its own intriguing and interesting aspects, but, of course, the most iconic is the duel between Obi-Wan Kenobi and Anakin Skywalker/Darth Vader on Mustafar. The duel's combatants are both lightning fast-in fact, the duelists are the fastest in lightsaber use than any other duel in the saga-not only that, but the duel takes place in the most hazardous environment, which increases the tension. The emotional impact of the duel cannot be overstated; best friends/brothers fighting each other is undeniably a tragedy. Speaking of which, Anakin is the tragic/fallen hero in the film, while Palpatine is a devious mastermind who acts as a twisted father figure to Anakin. Obi-Wan, meanwhile, completes his transition from a High Jedi General-a commander in the Grand Army of the Republic, and a Jedi Master-to a hermit on Tatooine. Finally, the children of Anakin and Padmé are born, symbolizing the birth of hope. George Lucas' writing is still very good; the scene where Palpatine declares himself Galactic Emperor is one of the most chilling moments ever in a non-horror movie. The interactions between characters are well-done, and the dialogue makes sense, in those scenes. Episode III is the most tragic film of the saga-that is undeniable. The feeling of impending doom during the first half of the film is nearly palpable. When the second half begins, so does all the tragedy. I really felt for the 3 main characters as their worlds came undone around them, especially Anakin-during the entire prequel trilogy, he endures so much hardship and loss; he, in my opinion, is one of the most tragic protagonists in film history. Star Wars: Episode III: Revenge of the Sith is an immensely satisfying conclusion to the prequel trilogy-the first half of the Star Wars saga-and perfectly sets up the original trilogy. What more could a Star Wars fan ask for? Expand
12 of 13 users found this helpful121
All this user's reviews
10
ZilcellNov 16, 2011
Episode III is the best of the Star Wars prequel trilogy, which reveals the story behind Anakin Skywalker's transformation into Darth Vader and a couple other surprises.
10 of 11 users found this helpful101
All this user's reviews
8
ryflemanJan 7, 2012
Albeit flawed, Revenge of the Sith brings Star Wars to a satisfying close, is able to rectify George Lucas into a good film maker and draw many lost fans back into the universe. Don't expect another Empire, but also don't get into the mindsetAlbeit flawed, Revenge of the Sith brings Star Wars to a satisfying close, is able to rectify George Lucas into a good film maker and draw many lost fans back into the universe. Don't expect another Empire, but also don't get into the mindset of it being as bad as the previous. All things considered, Revenge of the Sith is well filmed, well thought out and with a fantastic performance by Ewan McGregor and a substantially improved performance from Hayden Christensen, Revenge is a pretty great film and worthy conclusion. Expand
7 of 8 users found this helpful71
All this user's reviews
10
AndrewBFeb 26, 2009
Episode III is by far the greatest film in the new trilogy, and it stands against the original 3 in epic awesomeness. An incredible conclusion to the greatest saga ever told.
6 of 7 users found this helpful
8
libnoJan 10, 2011
Even with the cheesy lines it still makes it as one of the best movies ever.
6 of 7 users found this helpful61
All this user's reviews
9
TheQuietGamerMar 10, 2016
George Lucas caps off the prequel trilogy with a stunning finale. One brimming with spectacle, excitement, and emotion. Even now in 2016 this is still a phenomenal looking movie. It blows away just about every modern movie in the specialGeorge Lucas caps off the prequel trilogy with a stunning finale. One brimming with spectacle, excitement, and emotion. Even now in 2016 this is still a phenomenal looking movie. It blows away just about every modern movie in the special effects department. The world of Star Wars has never looked more alive.

I've said it once and I'll say it again, George Lucas can craft an action scene like no other. The fights here are probably his best work. They're intense, powerful, and incredible to behold. Whether it's an all out war or a more personal one-on-one duel, Lucas delivers on all fronts. The action is a sight to behold.

So how's that writing? For starters Lucas gives the "romantic" dialog from Attack of the Clones a lot of much needed improvement. There's no cringe worthy dialog shared between Anakin and Padme here (some goofier lines are present, but incredibly rare). Not only that, but the politics so many hated listening too in the previous two movies of the prequel trilogy have once again been mercifully toned down. Without going into too much detail let me just say that everything that needed to be done to tie up the trilogy before moving into A New Hope has been handled masterfully.

This is an emotional, powerful ending that gives more depth to the original Star Wars films in ways I won't dare spoil. On top of all that, the movie is just really darn funny. The chemistry between McGregor (Obi-Wan) and Christensen (Anakin) is great. The relationship between the two characters is expanded upon and they have tons of dialog together that really only two close individuals could have. I leads to quite a few laughs. That's not to say those two are the only sources of humor. Lucas has provided many amusing moments throughout the course of the film. At least until it's time for things to get serious.

Diving a little bit deeper into Christensen's role as Anakin, I can thankfully say that actor has upped his game. Gone is the wooden, awkward performance from Episode II. He gives a respectable performance here and really does the character justice. Part of that is also due to improved writing for the character. The same can be said for the rest of the cast as well.

It's an exciting, emotion, dark, and enchanting close to the prequel trilogy. Lucas pulled out all of the stops to deliver a finale that could please even the most devoted prequel hater. Everything is wrapped up and we get the conclusion we deserve. Only a few minor quibbles here and there keep it from reaching perfection. I was amazed all the way though.

9.9/10
Expand
5 of 6 users found this helpful51
All this user's reviews
7
EddieD.Sep 9, 2008
An improvement. I think that people liked this movie WAAAAYYYY better than 1 and 2 because everyone was expecting crap. And I don't think we got crap.
4 of 5 users found this helpful
10
bfoore90Nov 18, 2015
A gripping tale culminating the end of the prequel trilogy, Anakin's fall to the darkside of the force, the fall of the Jedi and to Republic and the rise of the Empire.
4 of 5 users found this helpful41
All this user's reviews
10
MovieLonely94Nov 2, 2010
the best of the prequels
6 of 8 users found this helpful62
All this user's reviews
10
mikekMay 27, 2009
Amazing the best of the prequels ...the darkness that was not seen in attack of the clones showers through in revenge of the sith and the movie gave me more than i was expecting to get plus they killed the worst character to me count dooku Amazing the best of the prequels ...the darkness that was not seen in attack of the clones showers through in revenge of the sith and the movie gave me more than i was expecting to get plus they killed the worst character to me count dooku who is played by the great christopher lee who i loved in lord of the rings but hated in attack of the clones so his death was a great thing to me..plus brutle made it better for me....the clone war scenes are just what fans had been waiting for since the 70's when it was briefly talked about. Expand
3 of 4 users found this helpful
8
dharmaJun 9, 2012
Revenge of the Sith is the best of the prequel trilogy. At least, Lucas fulfills his promise of making a film that 'replicates' the spark of the original trilogy. Nevertheless, something is always missing. The problem lies with Lucas himself.Revenge of the Sith is the best of the prequel trilogy. At least, Lucas fulfills his promise of making a film that 'replicates' the spark of the original trilogy. Nevertheless, something is always missing. The problem lies with Lucas himself. He is more of a great businessman / producer than a director. He pays more attention to his CGI creations than his actors. That's why 'younger' directors such as James Cameron and Peter Jackson have exceeded him at this point. They always bring the 'best' from their actors, making their blockbusters more emotionally resonant. AVATAR has a very simple storyline for instance, but it works because of its actors (and golly gee, they're not even A listers). Revenge of the Sith works in some way because of the nostalgia factor. But it never, ever reach the same heights achieved by the original three. Game over man! Game over!! Expand
3 of 4 users found this helpful31
All this user's reviews
8
devo-ncSep 1, 2015
The 2nd best Star Wars movie to date, and follows through on what Lucas promised us, but imagine if the writing and storyboarding wasn't so lazy how much more powerful this movie would've been, there are tears aplenty, and it's definitely oneThe 2nd best Star Wars movie to date, and follows through on what Lucas promised us, but imagine if the writing and storyboarding wasn't so lazy how much more powerful this movie would've been, there are tears aplenty, and it's definitely one of the most entertaining Sci-Fi's ever made. In the end the Star Wars prequels paid off and I like them. Expand
3 of 4 users found this helpful31
All this user's reviews
7
MonsieurEamesJul 12, 2012
The greatest of the Star Wars prequels. The opening sequence is lame but after that it becomes a dark, depressing and often sad movie, exactly as it should be. The special effects are once again impressive.
3 of 4 users found this helpful31
All this user's reviews
10
Ozon58Apr 23, 2017
For me, this is the best Star Wars film. A great story with powerful drama. Very well choreographed fights with a lightsaber. Good acting. And the ending is just the best.
3 of 4 users found this helpful31
All this user's reviews
8
powermad80Dec 16, 2015
Only one of the prequels that's worth watching, unlike its predecessors it has a point and does its job well. Ignore Phantom Menace and Attack of the Clones, the Star Wars story starts here.
3 of 4 users found this helpful31
All this user's reviews
7
TheDude-Mar 26, 2016
Revenge Of The Sith is a good film unlike its predecessors it has characters that feel as if they are human and the tragedy that befalls them is truly enthralling, the action in this film is some of the best of the series with some truly epicRevenge Of The Sith is a good film unlike its predecessors it has characters that feel as if they are human and the tragedy that befalls them is truly enthralling, the action in this film is some of the best of the series with some truly epic set pieces and choreography, the movie does improve upon the dialogue from the previous two films but still has its moments of awkwardness in the writing and delivery of such dialogue and for the most part The Emperor's plan to overthrow the Jedi is littered with a multitude of illogical decisions and plot holes. Expand
3 of 4 users found this helpful31
All this user's reviews
10
SheevNov 11, 2015
A modern day master piece. The main problem with the Star Wars prequels are that they have a pretty surprising lack of Palpatine who by all respects is the main villain. This one brings him right to the forefront, no longer is he schemingA modern day master piece. The main problem with the Star Wars prequels are that they have a pretty surprising lack of Palpatine who by all respects is the main villain. This one brings him right to the forefront, no longer is he scheming he's now putting his plan into action. Palpatine is unarguably the best character in the saga and when this new movie comes out I just know it'll be hurt by his absence, that is assuming he's not controlling Supreme Leader Snoke. But enough about the upcoming movie, there's a great scene about halfway through where Mace Windu confronts Palpatine saying that the senate will decide his fate, Palpatine clears his throat and says "I AM THE SENATE", then he does a good spinning trick and lets out the most terrifying sound I've heard outside a horror film. Apparently the actor Ian McDiarmid (hugely underrated actor by the way) wasn't meant to scream out like he did but he improvised that brilliant screech and when you hear it you really feel the power of the dark side. You see moments like this are what make Star Wars. Oh and Anakin and Obi-Wan fight on a volcano planet, it's cool because they fight for like a whole hour its so tense and it's so dense. Expand
4 of 6 users found this helpful42
All this user's reviews
7
TokyochuchuApr 30, 2013
After a couple of middling efforts, Star Wars: Episode III Revenge of the Sith finally delivers the goods. There's a lot of pay-off in this film, with all the threads tied off to satisfying ends. The actions scenes are plentiful and excitingAfter a couple of middling efforts, Star Wars: Episode III Revenge of the Sith finally delivers the goods. There's a lot of pay-off in this film, with all the threads tied off to satisfying ends. The actions scenes are plentiful and exciting (except the climactic duel lasting a bit longer than it should've), and the drama runs high. Despite one monumental, unforgivable fail ("Noooooooooo"), Revenge of the Sith makes for a great conclusion to the prequel trilogy. Expand
3 of 5 users found this helpful32
All this user's reviews
10
MagesticLeanAug 17, 2015
amazing movie best prequal 2nd best star wars well done george weldone temuera morrison temuera morrison temuera morrison temuera morrison temuera morrison temuera morrison temuera morrison temuera morrison temuera morrison temuera morrison
3 of 5 users found this helpful32
All this user's reviews
10
MacrovJan 10, 2016
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Easily my favorite Star Wars in the series. The amount of emotion you have in this movie between Anakin and Obi Wan, and the ramifications of every action is felt the whole way through. This movie blends together great lightsaber fighting, a good story, and amazing characters. To think of how powerful Vader would have been had he not lost the duel to Obi Wan, alone is enough to make this movie a 10/10.

If you like action, swordplay, or just all around good space opera, this is the movie for you.
Expand
3 of 5 users found this helpful32
All this user's reviews
7
NestriReviewsJan 1, 2016
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Wow. Just wow. I didn't expect to be so blown away by this episode after I watcher the two first episode which seemed lackluster. This is how you should make Star Wars. Epic, engaging, surprising, dark- Star Wars: Episode III- Revenge of the Sith is a masterpiece and definitely a gigantic improvement over it's predecessors. Anakin is not annoying anymore, he has cool lines, the actor plays him well. Actually, these aspects are improved for all the characters of this movie. They're not as bland anymore. Watching Anakin going to the dark side was dramatic and perfectly done, although a little too bit dark for me, but it doesn't matter too much. He's actually a **** **** in this movie, I hate him. But he is meant to be hated in this movie. Also, in this move all the Jedi masters die except Obi One and Yoda. It was so shocking to watch those scenes and they were so dramatic. The battles here are beautiful, just beautiful. The CGI looks wonderful and impressive. The antagonists are amazing and badass. Especially one that uses 4 lightsabers to fight against Obi One. And their design is wonderful. So, basically, in this movie, everything is improved to perfection. While I don't think this movie Is better than Empire Strikes Back, it's still a masterpiece. Maybe the prequel trilogy started horribly, but it's also good to know that it ended beautifully. Expand
3 of 5 users found this helpful32
All this user's reviews
8
PrivataDec 16, 2016
I would argue that EpIII is the best of the prequels. its not perfect however (in my opinion)

The movie has a better tone than the other prequels , for example it never stops to play random ''humour'' with C3pO like in AoTC. However they
I would argue that EpIII is the best of the prequels. its not perfect however (in my opinion)

The movie has a better tone than the other prequels , for example it never stops to play random ''humour'' with C3pO like in AoTC.

However they made the B-1s into full blown clowns. there is a lore reason for that , so I will let it slide but I dont like it very much (same issue with TCW) There is a lot of slapstick with the B-1s , something I dont care for , but it does not ruin my immersion , its just something that bothers me from time to time but not to the point that it hurts the movie.

The plot however is very fun , its darker and is so close to being amazing. But the bits it gets right , it nails on the head

The acting has improved -a lot.
Anakin and obi-wan actualy act like brothers in RoTS , padme seems very worried and scared in the movie.

All in all I think RoTS is a good movie.

I have issues with the movie , but unlike in TPM or ATC none of them are stand-out moments just ''bits''
Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
8
ThunderklapJun 23, 2018
Revenge of the Sith is the hidden gem of the Star Wars franchise. Whilst it doesn't step up to the prowess of Empire Strikes Back, the 3rd and final prequel feels much more genuine and thought out than the previous installments (possiblyRevenge of the Sith is the hidden gem of the Star Wars franchise. Whilst it doesn't step up to the prowess of Empire Strikes Back, the 3rd and final prequel feels much more genuine and thought out than the previous installments (possibly because it had the most story to cover).

Technological advancements in CGI (which is oft thrown around carelessly in the Prequels) has much improved and sparks a great deal of colour and life into the film; Lucas' ability to create worlds and aliens makes for breathtaking scenes and fun battlescapes.

Similarly, characters feel much more developed and authentic. Hayden Christensen's Anakin is better written and it shows that he is a more talented actor than most people will have you believe. Many scenes feel more emotional with the stakes higher and the theme darker. A host of other astounding actors (Ewan McGregor, Christopher Lee, Samuel L Jackson etc) are better utilized with the stronger story. New characters such as General Grievous liven up the story without detracting from it too.

The dialogue is still somewhat archaic, but many lines are memorable and hilarious (Thanks R/Prequelmemes) as well as carrying the story much better dropping the stakes for a quick laugh. However, its not perfect and does hold the movie back from its full potential.

Personally, I rank this film tied 2nd with A New Hope and just behind the Empire Strikes back. Despite its flaws, it is a lovable and emotional adventure.
Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
8
hassallNov 27, 2016
OK this movie made up for the prequels because something Occasionally happen.The fight scenes were amazing Especially the fight between Obi and Anakin. The thing i didnt like about this movie is when order 66 happen the jedi just went downOK this movie made up for the prequels because something Occasionally happen.The fight scenes were amazing Especially the fight between Obi and Anakin. The thing i didnt like about this movie is when order 66 happen the jedi just went down like total punks and lets not forget the romance between Anakin and Padme, Still gives me the creeps. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
9
samsterJan 21, 2018
The most action-packed movie by far, however not the best acting and the story could have been better.

Plot: 4.5/5
Action/ Entertainment: 5/5
Music/ Visuals: 5/5
Acting: 4/5
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
8
GrantD243Apr 25, 2018
Revenge of the Sith was a step in the right direction for the prequels, except it was a little too late for a step in the right direction considering it was the final film in the prequel trilogy. Nonetheless, it was nice to get a lot less ofRevenge of the Sith was a step in the right direction for the prequels, except it was a little too late for a step in the right direction considering it was the final film in the prequel trilogy. Nonetheless, it was nice to get a lot less of the cringy Anakin/Padme love story, a less annoying Anakin, and of course it was cool to see how the Republic fell and the Empire began. Plus, seeing Anakin and Obi-Wan finally go at it was extremely satisfying. RoTS is by far the best prequel, and while it may not be an amazing film, I think it's one of the most enjoyable in the saga. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
10
ZentroSep 12, 2018
Honestly the best movie out of all the prequels, and is up there with the original squeal trilogy. Last Star Wars film that feels like a Star Wars film.
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
10
MaxCarnage99Nov 24, 2014
The new trilogy is over! I really liked it and I also think it's superior to the original one, although most people disagree. Episode III was epic and showed us Anakin's fall to the dark side perfectcly with excelent action scenes and specialThe new trilogy is over! I really liked it and I also think it's superior to the original one, although most people disagree. Episode III was epic and showed us Anakin's fall to the dark side perfectcly with excelent action scenes and special efects. I know that the dialogue scenes are quite boring, but is very better than the ones in Episodes I and II. The characters are good and the vilains are perfect (Lord Sidious is cruel and intelligent as a true Lord Sith must be and the rise of Darth Vader and the Jedi massacre is one of the best moments I ever saw in movie history). The lightsaber battles are intense, especially the final battle between Obi-Wan and Darth Vader. The final dialogue between Anakin and his old master is incredible, and Ewan MacGreggor does an excelent work showing Obi-Wan's pain when he cuts Darth Vader's legs and arm.
So, it's an excelent movie and must see for Star Wars fans
Expand
4 of 9 users found this helpful45
All this user's reviews
6
saamundvgNov 1, 2010
The Revenge of The Sith is definitely the best of the "new episodes", but the third episode also contains the same comprehensive failure of making a Star Wars movie for Star Wars fans...Three short reasons: 1) The storyline is tooThe Revenge of The Sith is definitely the best of the "new episodes", but the third episode also contains the same comprehensive failure of making a Star Wars movie for Star Wars fans...Three short reasons: 1) The storyline is too comprehensive for one movie, or at least, things are moving too fast. You don't feel that you're part of the same amazing and well told story as you have in IV,V & VI at any time 2) The storyline is tailored together by a George Lucas who clearly care more about the visual effects than basic dialogues or monologues - they are in fact horrible at times. 3) Enough is said about Hayden Christensen as Anakin Skywalker - but once more I have to say that that may one of the biggest casting-failures ever. Expand
2 of 5 users found this helpful23
All this user's reviews
4
hoops2448Oct 21, 2011
While not as bad as Attack of the Clones, Revenge of the Sith is still dire because of Lucasâ
2 of 6 users found this helpful24
All this user's reviews
6
oDjentoJan 2, 2015
YES. This is the only film of the prequels to get it right: fully right. It's far darker and has many great scenes. Anakin still whines a bit in this film but it's far more bearable in this film. This film starts of excellently and remainsYES. This is the only film of the prequels to get it right: fully right. It's far darker and has many great scenes. Anakin still whines a bit in this film but it's far more bearable in this film. This film starts of excellently and remains great all the way through, showing off Lucas' best visuals of the franchise. Also, this film has the best Jedi fight of the franchise at the end. IT IS AMAZING. It's also pretty brutal for a 12 rated film too, but helps set up for the darkness off the original trilogy. Performances overall are great, other than Hayden Christensens okay performance, but he has improved a lot since episode 2. Great film really. Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
4
YorkManJul 1, 2016
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. RotS is a definite improvement over the first two prequels (well, it couldn't be as bad as the epically awful AotC), but it is still a monumental disappointment.
The plot revolves around the finale of the Clone Wars, the destruction of the Jedi Order, Anakin Skywalker's reluctant embracing of the Dark Side of The Force, Obi-Wan and Yoda's forced exile, and the 'birth' of Darth Vader, Luke Skywalker and Leia Organa.

The film ties up the relevant plot points adequately but, as a movie, it's just so incredibly lazily directed and ineptly written..... Throw in some (now expected) terrible acting, enough CGI to make you wonder why they bothered hiring any real actors at all, and it all comes together into a well organised mess.

There are some good points.... But not many. Some of the actors in the film (notably Ewan McGregor, as Obi-Wan, and Natalie Portman, as Senator Amidala) are trying to rise above the unbelievably bad script, but are simply unable to. As I mentioned in my review for AotC it's almost as if George Lucas can't imagine any actor in his film(s) being able to express the emotions of their character, so he has to actually have them say what emotional state they're in. And it's so patronising as to be borderline offensive.
Other bad things? Well, Hayden Christensen drags the movie down even more than he did in AotC, mainly because the central crux of the narrative (his 'turning' to the Dark Side) just becomes unintentionally hilarious. He isn't helped by very strange performance by Ian McDiarmid (as Palpatine/Darth Sideous) who turns the evil Sith Lord mastermind into an almost camp parody, with his vocal inflections and over the top mannerisms.
Both Christopher Lee and Sam L. Jackson are both wasted, and the less said about the terrible CGI Yoda the better.

Is there anything good? Not really.... The long awaited reveal of Darth Sideous is quite frankly lame, leading up to the duel between him and Mace Windu which is also very badly put together.
Anakin's turn to the Dark Side is cemented with his revelation 'What have I done?'... A line delivered much better (and with a lot more class and conviction) by the 'original Obi-Wan actor Alec Guinness in Bridge on the River Kwai... And even the destruction of the Jedi, the real emotional set-piece of the movie is terrible... Jesus... Having some cute, chubby kid deliver the line 'Master Skywalker, there are too many of them' before we see Anakin's 'evil' yellow eyes (which makes no sense by the way), and the inference of Anakin killing all the 'Younglings', is just ineptly done....

I could simply go on, but I won't.

The bottom line is that this film is awful but, because it's rounding off several story arcs, it has to include some narrative plot points (and some action scenes) that make it better (if that's a compliment) than the first two prequels....
Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
4
Longbottom94Apr 27, 2013
All of the positive reviews that I have read keep repeating the same statement, "Its the best of the prequels". This statement may be correct, it still does not count as a positive aspect of the film because, it is almost the definition ofAll of the positive reviews that I have read keep repeating the same statement, "Its the best of the prequels". This statement may be correct, it still does not count as a positive aspect of the film because, it is almost the definition of dampening a film with false praise. Revenge of the Sith has some enjoyable scenes for sure, it also contains; a platitude of monotonous scenes, bad pacing, piss-poor acting, and some of the worst dialogue of the entire prequel trilogy. It can be so disastrous at times its laughable "NOOOOOO!". For the people who liked the previous films you'll like this, however the only positive aspect of the film that comes to mind is the fact that it finally ends the prequel trilogy. Expand
4 of 13 users found this helpful49
All this user's reviews
3
SenselockeFeb 20, 2008
Abysmal. Pretty, yes, as to be expected, but Lucas thin and simplistic attempts at "plot" are pathetic. Here I was expecting the mindf.ck of the century, to twist Annakin into Vader, and instead it's like the character walked through Abysmal. Pretty, yes, as to be expected, but Lucas thin and simplistic attempts at "plot" are pathetic. Here I was expecting the mindf.ck of the century, to twist Annakin into Vader, and instead it's like the character walked through the revolving door of morality. No twenty minutes of psychological twisting to break him, nothing just "la-di-da, I'm good! I must uphold goodness!" "la di-da, I'm evil, let's kill some kids". And that's not even an exaggeration. This is the worst Star Wars movie ever made, hands down, and one of the worst movies PERIOD. NO amount of flash can take that away. In addition, Haden has the acting talent of my left testicle. He couldn't pull off a convincing CADAVER. In my mind, there are three star wars movies, only. The last three were pathetic attempts to leach money from fanboys and the unaware, with zero effort or skill put into dialogue, plot, or character development, and Lucas should be ashamed for prostituting his own creations so completely. Expand
3 of 10 users found this helpful
0
EvIlnIcESep 23, 2009
After writing a huge rant here I've chose to delete it all and replace it with something that is decent, relevent, amusing and that neatly sums everything up (Lucas take note) We watched the first 3 films. We cared about a mysterious After writing a huge rant here I've chose to delete it all and replace it with something that is decent, relevent, amusing and that neatly sums everything up (Lucas take note) We watched the first 3 films. We cared about a mysterious force without explanation. We enjoyed hating Darth Vaders weezing. Harrison Ford was cool. We all wanted Liea in THAT bikini. We all wanted to own a light sabre. We all thought the cute fluffy things we're cute and fluffy. We watched 3 more films. We didn't care about some fandangled unexplainable force. We all hated General Grievousnesses wheezing. Harrison Ford didn't continue his decade long trend of appearing in bad films. We all wanted Padme to slap Hannakin. We all got a light sabre for christmas. We all thought the clumsy, jokey characters were clumsy and jokey. But that's not why this film is bad. It's the final fight scene of the final Star Wars film. Good vs Evil, we've watched 6 films just to see how one of our favourite film baddies turns from a whimsical, indecisive, unemotional freak into an all powerful, unforgiving yet emotional freak. And what do we get? Handbags at dawn....... "You're evil" "No! You're evil!" "Well you're eviler!" "Well you're evilererer!!!" We then realise that all along we actually know all the story and that we're watching a pointless cash-in. Still our light sabers and all that merchandise was pretty cool huh? Expand
2 of 7 users found this helpful
6
J42HmusicDec 9, 2011
'Star Wars Episode 3: Revenge of the Sith' is certainly the best film in the prequel trilogy, and this time, George Lucas has created a film with plenty of dark ideas and substance. It is a satisfying end to the prequel trilogy, which'Star Wars Episode 3: Revenge of the Sith' is certainly the best film in the prequel trilogy, and this time, George Lucas has created a film with plenty of dark ideas and substance. It is a satisfying end to the prequel trilogy, which connects adequately with Episode 4. The mutiny within the republic is portrayed brilliantly and despite a boring prolonged light-saber battle at the end, (the music for which is excellent), the film is generally very good. Expand
1 of 4 users found this helpful13
All this user's reviews
4
flamed_steakFeb 22, 2011
Good god I wish I could enjoy this with all the rapture that the users do here. I can't even watch it anymore so terrible is the dissapointment of what could have been, as opposed to what we recieved. CG is a toy that Lucas was unable toGood god I wish I could enjoy this with all the rapture that the users do here. I can't even watch it anymore so terrible is the dissapointment of what could have been, as opposed to what we recieved. CG is a toy that Lucas was unable to handle and with no-one to reign him in he went at it with so much reckless abandon that all three movies have all the charm of a computer game intro. This however is the most infuriating of the 3, Anakins turn to the darkside was the most hamfisted fall of a charachter that has ever been devoted to film. "What have I done?" is a repentent statement, not one that immediately proceeds a lifelong devotion to evil. The worst of it though is that Anakin still remains a petulant whiny teen that no-one likes, not even the audience, so when Vader appears on screen it's not as a all encompassing bad-ass but as a **** weepy pinhead in a black suit. Noooooooo indeed. Expand
1 of 4 users found this helpful13
All this user's reviews
6
HalfwelshmanOct 10, 2011
Unlike The Phantom Menace and Attack of the Clones, which both have a damp squib of an opening sequence, Revenge of the Sith glues you to the screen right from the off, with a jaw-dropping scope of a huge battle raging in space above theUnlike The Phantom Menace and Attack of the Clones, which both have a damp squib of an opening sequence, Revenge of the Sith glues you to the screen right from the off, with a jaw-dropping scope of a huge battle raging in space above the glittering planet Coruscant. There are plenty of other moments that will etch themselves into your brain, from the fan-boy-pleasing (if a little brief) trip to the Wookie homeworld of Kashyyyk, to the beautifully executed, yet heartbreaking "Order 66" sequence, and of course the climactic lightsabre battle between Anakin and Obi-Wan on the volcanic planet Mustafar. George Lucas still can't do dialogue, and forces his poor actors to utter some of the most unintentionally hilarious lines in movie history (I'd have to say Obi-Wan's "younglings" line is the most offensive). The actors do their best with the material they have been given, but there is only so much verbal hamminess one can take. Hayden Christiansen is still awful, and Natalie Portman isn't much better. At least Ewan MacGregor attempts to channel a bit of Alec Guinness into his performance, but still has the tendency to fall back on generic "camp" when the script lets him down. The only actor who really impresses is the always excellent Ian McDiarmid, who takes his portrayal of Emperor Palpatine to Shakespearean villain extremes, and is an absolute joy to watch. The main thing that frustrates me about Revenge of the Sith, and about the Star Wars prequels in general though, is not that they aren't as good as the original trilogy. What really annoys me is the extent to which Lucas involved himself. I understand that Star Wars is his baby, and he'll never quite be able to let it go out into the real world without holding its hand. The thing is, Lucas isn't a great director. He doesn't have the charisma or the technical brilliance to be one. He's an ideas man. He really should have done what he did with Empire and Jedi - jotted down the story and left the front-of-house stuff to a more accomplished filmmaker. While i can still get some sort of enjoyment out of all the Star Wars prequels (even the very-nearly awful Attack of the Clones), I'm left annoyed that they could be so much better if Lucas had taken a step back from his baby and hired a script writer and a director. But when all's said and done, it may not be in the same league as any of the original trilogy, but Revenge of the Sith is the best of the prequels by quite a margin, and provides just what you want from a Star Wars film - fantastic entertainment. Expand
1 of 4 users found this helpful13
All this user's reviews
6
ReubenIsAGodDec 17, 2015
NOW, this is the best of the prequel films, but that's NOT saying much. This film is dark, very dark, some of the subject matter in the film is downright melancholy and is just haunting. BUT, that in mind, the biggest problem this film has isNOW, this is the best of the prequel films, but that's NOT saying much. This film is dark, very dark, some of the subject matter in the film is downright melancholy and is just haunting. BUT, that in mind, the biggest problem this film has is just the godawful dialog, it is cheesy as all hell *but very quotable* I loved the end fight, it was amazing but again these prequel films suffer from having this issue where the acting can be so unbelievable forced that it is laughable and cheesy. Its AMAZING HOW TERRIBLE THE ACTING CAN BE IN THIS OVER WISE ABOVE AVERAGE FILM. If your gonna watch any of the prequel films just watch this one, its the best. Expand
1 of 4 users found this helpful13
All this user's reviews
4
ballpark_frankNov 25, 2012
As a fan of the first trilogy, I'm still forced to call this episode the 'best' of the second trilogy. Which doesn't help it much. A feeble attempt to 'bring things full circle ("The circle is now complete."???). Even the special effectsAs a fan of the first trilogy, I'm still forced to call this episode the 'best' of the second trilogy. Which doesn't help it much. A feeble attempt to 'bring things full circle ("The circle is now complete."???). Even the special effects seem hokey compared to the original 3 films. The only good thing I can say about this is that it's the last film in this set. Expand
2 of 9 users found this helpful27
All this user's reviews
3
SnodogJan 4, 2014
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. It was worth a watch, that is the only good thing I'll say about it. Even then, only watch it when it's on T.V. and you have nothing better to do. Masturbation is a better use of your time.

The most disappointing aspect of the 3 prequels is the lack of artistic integrity. The original 3 were works of imagination, initiative, clever writing, and wonderful story telling with a hint of special effects. The 3 new Star Wars movies are only special effects mixed with bad acting and simple story telling. There were no surprise twists or turns in the story line, it was utterly predictable and uninteresting. Anakin (Hayden Christensen) seemed to be a completely week minded, morally confused, hormonal teen-age girl. Coupled with Haydens terrible acting, it was almost embarrassing to watch. I feel like he got an acting certificate from a community college, or more accurate, Lucas pulled the first semi-decent looking man off the street with no previous acting experience and threw him in as the man who turned into Darth Vader. The Jedi were laughably powerful in some aspects and the actual power of the force was laughably feeble. Light saber duels were overly complicated and literally just a dance with pretty lights. So many questions that this movie doesn't answer and so many questions it raises. Why can Yoda move amazingly dextrous when fighting, yet so crotchety anywhere else? Why, with a council of 10 or so JEDI MASTERS not see this coming when I, a simple watcher of events, knew what was coming, even had I not watched the first films? Why, devoting his ENTIRE life to the Jedi order, did Anakin decide to turn against it with little more than 2 conversations with the emperor? Why was master Windu able to defeat Darth Citius(?) so easily yet Yoda, seemingly the Jedi leader, fall so easily to him? Why would you move to a lava filled, dangerous mining facility with magma splashing around to sword fight? Why is it that NOT ONE person said 'Hey, killing all the Jedi seems wrong.'? Why would the Jedi council put Anakin in charge of watching the emperor if he was obviously close and friendly with him, knowing that he was wildly impressionable? These are just a few of the questions that either needed to not be asked or could have been answered with some basic story telling. The Emperor has been working for YEARS building his power, planning out his take over, conserving his power, yet the plan was laughably feeble and relied far too heavily on events that were, in all realistically, EXTREMELY unlikely to happen. So many holes in the plot and unrealistic events. Bottom line, this movie seemed to be written by 14 year old boys saying "You know what would be cool? um... um... um... if they had a sword fight on lava! Or if um... all the clones were actually really mean instead of the valiant army of level headed clones!" The acting... oh the acting. Natalie Portman, with her disturbing attempt at loving and crying. Hayden was overly dramatic and switched from a dark, twisted lord to a lovey dovey husband and future father, both grossly different emotions for one character. There should have been come carry over but it was a terrible switch in roles. The only decent actor Ewan McGregor. Even Samuel L. Jacksons acting seemed forced. Its as if they did one take for every scene and said "Good enough!" and left it at that.

All in all, doesn't deserve the title of Star Wars by any means, but its still a watchable moving if all you're expecting is flashy special effects.
Expand
1 of 5 users found this helpful14
All this user's reviews
0
effyouAug 16, 2017
This movie is a pile of **** I'm Serious. Please don't watch it. I would rather have my tongue ripped out than watch this. My God. I HATE IT. Just...
WHY GEORGE LUCAS? WHY?!
1 of 5 users found this helpful14
All this user's reviews
3
Jack97Jan 1, 2014
The best of the prequel trilogy undoubtedly but still in the disappointment zone when compared to the original trilogy. It has a good ending though I'll give it that.
1 of 6 users found this helpful15
All this user's reviews