Walt Disney Studios Motion Pictures | Release Date: December 15, 2017
4.1
USER SCORE
Mixed or average reviews based on 10121 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
3,348
Mixed:
1,332
Negative:
5,441
Watch Now
Stream On
Buy on
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
7
Jaredc324Mar 17, 2022
Last Jedi is a cinematic throttle-house ride. It torpedoes you through an array of stories, and comes together (not always the most steady) but in the most orgasmic and unrelenting way. It goes full board with it's flare for dramatics. AndLast Jedi is a cinematic throttle-house ride. It torpedoes you through an array of stories, and comes together (not always the most steady) but in the most orgasmic and unrelenting way. It goes full board with it's flare for dramatics. And it's highly commendable. But where the movie fails is in that approach. It would've greatly benefitted from being more honed in, and less chaotic. But the execution in the end, rivals some of the best sci-fi experiences in recent memory, and I enjoyed it. (it's just not the right vision.) Expand
0 of 24 users found this helpful024
All this user's reviews
0
JuanDaneJun 23, 2022
Mind-numbingly, soul-wrenchingly, arse-clenchingly, dick-shrinkingly, pant-sh*ttingly bad
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
5
AJ_13Jun 22, 2022
I have some mixed feelings with Episode VIII.

On the one side, the script is even worse than in Force Awakens. Rey, Kylo Ren and Luke Skywalker are the only characters I care about. There are too many senseless/ridiculous scenes, plotholes
I have some mixed feelings with Episode VIII.

On the one side, the script is even worse than in Force Awakens. Rey, Kylo Ren and Luke Skywalker are the only characters I care about. There are too many senseless/ridiculous scenes, plotholes and horrible editing. CGI could be better at times.

Nevertheless, as I said before the Kylo Ren-Rey storyline works for me and its also a pretty stunning film to look at. I also admit that the 150 minutes flew by.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
0
rushhour2Dec 18, 2017
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. this will hit Disney come episode 9 with no Luke, they will pay. It was so obvious what the fans wanted, a wise, lightsaber wielding luke. We have waited to see this version of luke since 1983. Expand
36 of 48 users found this helpful3612
All this user's reviews
10
TheExilesStudioJun 17, 2022
this is the best star wars movie since empire hands down. it has amazing cinematography, one of john willaims best scores in years, and a story that left me on the edge of my seat the entire time.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
6
dxrgamer2234Jun 15, 2022
gggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggg
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
PS2187Jun 14, 2022
Amazing movie! Cool action, lots of original ideas, great characters and full of powerful messages! Johnson and his team did a wonderful job!
10/10
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
Mandoade77Jun 14, 2022
Such a phenomenal movie. This film keeps you engaged in the characters and storyline in so many ways. Amazing action sequences, twists, and production. Acting is phenomenal and so many beautiful scenes.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
AmaRavenswoodJun 14, 2022
Saying this movie is perfect would be an overstatement, it has a few quirks here and there. But in the realms of the Star Wars saga, it 100% is. The Last Jedi is everything a Star Wars movie is/should be, and goes even beyond that. Its themesSaying this movie is perfect would be an overstatement, it has a few quirks here and there. But in the realms of the Star Wars saga, it 100% is. The Last Jedi is everything a Star Wars movie is/should be, and goes even beyond that. Its themes are woven into the fabric of the story, so that while the plot moves forwards there isn't a single moment on screen that does not teach our characters a lesson - or shows that they have failed at learning one. Mark Hamill delivers his best performance as Luke in what is, in my opinion, one of the best takes on bringing back a legacy character to a sequel. Even better: the movies takes unexpected turns for the viewer, that yet make perfect sense for the characters. Contrary to what has been said too many times, it follows perfectly and expands upon most of what was set up in The Force Awakens, while pulling the saga forwards in new thematic directions. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
9
Darman1999Feb 3, 2021
The Last Jedi is a special movie in my heart, especially after what TROS showed

Rian Johnson did something truly remarkable, a movie that brings themes and challenges on what do we see in Star Wars, while being respectful of the Lore and the
The Last Jedi is a special movie in my heart, especially after what TROS showed

Rian Johnson did something truly remarkable, a movie that brings themes and challenges on what do we see in Star Wars, while being respectful of the Lore and the Story that came before

Sure it has its issues (The rythm and the humor) but over all one of the few Star Wars movies that belongs to the Kino category, just a little step under ESB,ROTS and ANH
Expand
2 of 7 users found this helpful25
All this user's reviews
5
ElizabethC66Jun 14, 2022
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The Last Jedi incorporates the force lore of the past and expands on it. Luke is shown as a real person with faults to overcome and Mark Hamil acts it well!
Kylo and Rey’s connection is amazing and a great addition. Together they would have been a force to reckon with, but this is Star Wars and it wasn’t meant to be … yet!
Finn, Poe, and Rose find their place in the resistance and in the Galaxy far, far away.
The Last Jedi is my favorite Star Wars film.
Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
HalcyonDazeJun 14, 2022
Gorgeous, moving, complex film that ties deeply into the core of what Star Wars is as a franchise. I agree with Mark Hamill that this is "probably the most sophisticated Star Wars movie since Empire."
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
ObiWaJun 14, 2022
By far the best Star Wars movie outside of the original trilogy. Luke's King Arthur journey is an amazing take on a well known character.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
0
pjthedj79331Jun 11, 2022
It sucks!!!!!!!!!!!! Kathleen Kennedy and Ryan Johnson ruined Star Wars!!! This movie is trash !!!!!!!
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
7
MagikMiceMar 15, 2022
Unexpectedly displays a bombastic approach to storytelling. This flick tries to be so much, it achieves what it needs to in an over the top manner. Rian Johnson's ambition crafted an unusual 2nd act that does get messy with good bits inUnexpectedly displays a bombastic approach to storytelling. This flick tries to be so much, it achieves what it needs to in an over the top manner. Rian Johnson's ambition crafted an unusual 2nd act that does get messy with good bits in between. What I appreciate is a filmmaker with a vision. To see a popcorn movie not done by a timid yes man. Johnson has flare and relishes taking chances cinematically. This is something I wish to see more, a big budget handled by a true artist. Expand
3 of 7 users found this helpful34
All this user's reviews
0
AussieduckJun 11, 2022
Incredible that critics gave such good reviews for this utter garbage. Very difficult to watch. Seems like the makers are not at all familiar with Star Wars. Sickening to think about what a missed opportunity this was.
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
0
JarbushiJun 8, 2022
Such a let down and a disappointment. The actual ‘chosen one’ the ‘hope’ of the galaxy Luke was turned into a joke and to a bad one. Wish I never had watched this but I watched it because of the trailer. One thing Disney knows how to do toSuch a let down and a disappointment. The actual ‘chosen one’ the ‘hope’ of the galaxy Luke was turned into a joke and to a bad one. Wish I never had watched this but I watched it because of the trailer. One thing Disney knows how to do to attract Star Wars fans, are the trailers. And for what? Just so they can vomit on them during the viewing. Expand
4 of 4 users found this helpful40
All this user's reviews
9
Easy_mode123Jun 8, 2022
Mark hamill aka luke skywalker is acting so good in the movie. this is one of the most underated movies ever.
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
1
PikapaloozaJun 7, 2022
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I really wanted to like this movie...I was willing to give TFA a bit of a pass as they were trying to bridge the OT to the ST, there needs to be some intrigue, mystery, etc. And there are some beautifully shot moments in the film. But that's where it ends. The plot makes little to no sense at all in any way whatsoever. Space Gas is the core of the issues here. Somehow the Giant spaceships can't keep up with the rebel ships. But Kylo's fighters can...so why not just send out more fighters? or do you only have 3-5 on the capital ship? The Holdo Maneuver...Looked cool, but so impractical. If that was a real thing, then why just let the rest of your ships just run out of gas and fall to the side? why not just suicide them as well? Why not put a droid in there and have it kamikaze? why not put boosters on giant asteroids and then have droids fly them into the enemies? Luke....oh Luke...The ever present optimist turned into...well, this. They couldn't have ruined Luke's character anymore than they did here. Even Hamill said this isn't how Luke would act but they told him to shut up and color. I don't believe Luke would ever have acted on his thoughts.

Any military leader of any kind would have to disclose their plan of some sort rather than keep it a secret and continue to tell everyone riddles and lines from hallmark cards. Even a 2 second throw away line of "there are imperial spies" would have at least given them some sort of reason for not disclosing the plan all at once. But that's what compartmentalization is for - no one person has all the data except top brass. and last I checked, Commander Poe is only 2 away from admiral and is supposed to be the celebrated hero and best pilot of the resistance (by their own words and lore). but no...he's obviously not trustworthy.

The entire kanto bite scene was unnecessary and silly. screw the shield and stuff, let's rescue the space horses. oh, and we got found out because we parked in the wrong spot? I get what they were trying to say: arms dealers profit off the rebels and imperials the same. War is a business, etc. But it landed with a thud because it was just another punchline. Snoke - no one knows or cares about Snoke cuz he died. Mystery over. he's obviously not important. Big bad over. Finn was easily possibly the most interesting character. He could have talked about the millions of innocent contractors and admin staff just working to make a living for their families. He could have talked about his best friend that died and shook him from his "programming" but instead, he was turned into a punchline/joke. This was just written tying up all the loose ends and wound up ruining the next movie and franchise in general. "Subversion" is just a new buzz word to shield people from failure. This was a multibillion dollar franchise that printed money. Fans were relatively forgiving - look at the PT - it aged well overall with people liking the Clone Wars material. Whatever...I've seen the movie twice and not since it's release week. Meanwhile, I watch episodes 1-6 every year in May. Good job Johnson - you're obviously a master.
Expand
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
10
weirdyodaJun 7, 2022
A gorgeous thematically-rich and thoughtfully directed masterpiece. Rian understands SW better than anyone else who has created SW content and manages to provide us with this incredible gift of the best SW anything since Empire Strikes Back.A gorgeous thematically-rich and thoughtfully directed masterpiece. Rian understands SW better than anyone else who has created SW content and manages to provide us with this incredible gift of the best SW anything since Empire Strikes Back. Thank you, Rian, this is cinematic art! Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
10
SanDiegoJan 6, 2021
The is the Star Wars movie that it’s really fun one. I know everybody hates this movie but I pretty like this. I’m a proud Star Wars fan but I like everything about Star Wars because I’ve watched the original trilogy but it changed my life. IThe is the Star Wars movie that it’s really fun one. I know everybody hates this movie but I pretty like this. I’m a proud Star Wars fan but I like everything about Star Wars because I’ve watched the original trilogy but it changed my life. I give the movie 10/10 Expand
4 of 12 users found this helpful48
All this user's reviews
4
AngryGeekJun 6, 2022
Before the dark times before the empire!! Worst star wars movie ever bruuuuhhhhhhh
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
1
JeremyDebJun 5, 2022
Oh my god this movie was so bad. Star Wars is getting worse and worse with every movie.
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
0
GDsReviewsJun 5, 2022
This movie is so convoluted and confusing. I am spoiling the best and only good part so you don't have to see this ordeal in full. It is the Porgs and Chewie cooking one of them. That scene is a laugh riot.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
2
TimmooreJun 5, 2022
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Pretty awful film that doesn't make much sense in the context of the star wars galaxy or as a stand alone. Don't understand Luke's characterisation and why they included him if he's not going to act and behave like luke. Some nice action sequences though so it gets 2 for that. Expand
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
8
Drizzt-Do-UrdenJun 4, 2022
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I feel like this movie has a lot of interesting themes and characters. I just wish the movie fit the trilogy more cohesively. Some of the highest highs in the series with the Holdo Maneuver and Luke force projecting. But I wish Finn and Rey had more screen time together and more important ties. Do not like the romance between Kylo and Rey at all. that would be my least favorite part. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
0
LokianddadJun 3, 2022
Not star wars if I could erase one thing from my memory it would be the sequels let jon Favreau make a sequel trilogy and pretend these never happened
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
0
Sickboy0138Jun 15, 2019
Movie is crap. We all know that though. Mark hamil does a great job as well as adam driver. Dialogue and plot is awful. Disney just ruins everything
7 of 7 users found this helpful70
All this user's reviews
10
TheComradeJun 3, 2022
Best Star Wars film since Empire. Subverts expectations and takes the franchise to interesting places.
0 of 3 users found this helpful03
All this user's reviews
2
Daedric16Jun 3, 2022
The movie looks good visually, but that is about its only redeeming quality. Poor writing, poor direction, wasted film time on useless side plots, and lack of character development make TLJ a very poorly created film to carry the storyThe movie looks good visually, but that is about its only redeeming quality. Poor writing, poor direction, wasted film time on useless side plots, and lack of character development make TLJ a very poorly created film to carry the story forward from The Force Awakens and be the vital bridge as the middle film in a trilogy. Worse, the film betrays the universe as well as original and new characters alike. Maybe the film might half-work as an independent movie, but as a trilogy set piece within a larger overall fictional universe, it utterly fails. Expand
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
3
danielcostaJun 1, 2022
Every Star Wars movie that has come since 2015 has **** in history. A big disappointment. The most ilogical thing is a girl awakening absurd jedi power and ability quickly, while Luke, Anakin, Yoda, Obi-wan needed training since childhood,Every Star Wars movie that has come since 2015 has **** in history. A big disappointment. The most ilogical thing is a girl awakening absurd jedi power and ability quickly, while Luke, Anakin, Yoda, Obi-wan needed training since childhood, even though they were geniuses. It completely trivialized the logic of history.g Expand
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
8
AgusMatRPSep 10, 2018
I really like this movie. I don't love it but I definitley don't hate it. There are a lot of good things in it but there are other things that just don't work for me but I still have a good time watching it.
1 of 25 users found this helpful124
All this user's reviews
1
AnimaLunaeMay 10, 2022
This is a horrendous movie even without including it in the Star Wars franchise. When comparing this to the other movies, even the prequels were masterpieces compared to this. The fact that it's getting such glowing reviews from critics leadsThis is a horrendous movie even without including it in the Star Wars franchise. When comparing this to the other movies, even the prequels were masterpieces compared to this. The fact that it's getting such glowing reviews from critics leads me to conclude there's just no unbiased movie critic. This is absolute trash and the thought of re-watching it makes me violently throw up. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
3
zach_grechMay 10, 2022
This is a really awful film. Extremely messy. The plot is pretty bad and many of the character moments were extremely anti climatic and wasted. Performances are okay. This film is extremely messy and a huge disappointment for Star Wars fans.
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
6
sugarniteMay 8, 2022
I was surprised by how much I did not hate this movie. Much like the prequels, there are baffling and senseless decisions being made. At the same time, interesting themes are brought up and never mentioned again. Unlike the prequels though,I was surprised by how much I did not hate this movie. Much like the prequels, there are baffling and senseless decisions being made. At the same time, interesting themes are brought up and never mentioned again. Unlike the prequels though, the little things are done right. Characters act like people, scenes look like they were directed by humans, and fights have dimension to them.

Would probably not watch again, but it could be a lot worse.
Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
6
Id1KKMay 6, 2022
it's an OK movie, it took alot of risks and I respect that, but the execution really fell flat. definitely the best of the sequels, but not good either.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
5
AV-Apr 28, 2022
its fine. it dont think its rian johnsons fault for how trash the sequels were.
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
3
NickTheCritickApr 24, 2022
If the first film wasn't great this is much worse. Sad to see the star wars saga at this level of cinematic art.
3 of 4 users found this helpful31
All this user's reviews
10
SimonXCXApr 16, 2022
Insane movie. Incredible. Blown away. Visually stunning, brilliant writing, overall great movie.
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
5
GoofballheroMar 19, 2022
Perforated with plot holes and inconsistencies following the 7th film, “The Last Jedi” is one of the most mediocre Star Wars films only eclipsed by The Phantom Menace in poor pacing, largely uninteresting characters (Kylo Ren remains the bestPerforated with plot holes and inconsistencies following the 7th film, “The Last Jedi” is one of the most mediocre Star Wars films only eclipsed by The Phantom Menace in poor pacing, largely uninteresting characters (Kylo Ren remains the best thing the new series has done - and much of that belongs to Adam Driver’s performance and not the writers who are hellbent on making him some angsty lost teen rather than a proper follow up to Darth Vader) along with incredibly awkward moments that were meant to come across as poignant but instead came off as borderline comedic. Many of the critics are seemingly jubilant to see modern political points being touched on in a Star Wars movie, and thus it is championed as “brave” and “daring”, but don’t let that fool you; this film is as hollow as it is politically pandering. It may forever be remembered as the film that ultimately killed the sequel franchise, as JJ Abrams was left to pick up the pieces and then jam them together in hopeful desperation that they might stick. Whether it truly did or not is ultimately contingent on the eyes of the beholder. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
5
Young_NachoDec 30, 2019
On the list of Star Wars Movies, there are several that I would consider to be "It". A New Hope is it. Empire is It. The Force Awakens is it. This though... this ain't it. It has a completely useless side story with Finn and Rose, essentiallyOn the list of Star Wars Movies, there are several that I would consider to be "It". A New Hope is it. Empire is It. The Force Awakens is it. This though... this ain't it. It has a completely useless side story with Finn and Rose, essentially severing anything interesting that could have happened with Finn's character. Poe gets cucked by a purple haired space lady who was frankly just a d!ckhead general for not actively sharing her plan with everyone else. Phasma...died, so... thanks for doing absolutely nothing with her. Rey, Kylo and Luke were pretty interesting, but they only consisted of like, 1/3 the movie. I was initially on board with the idea of "Subverting Expectations", but not when literally every subplot set up in TFA gets "Subverted" into a dead end. Expand
2 of 5 users found this helpful23
All this user's reviews
9
DarkwingSchmuckMar 2, 2022
Rian Johnson delivers on the most ambitious Star Wars film to-date. Bold, smart, rich with story and character depth, Johnson understands the heart of Star Wars goes beyond its superficial iconography. While a tad overlong and a bit messy atRian Johnson delivers on the most ambitious Star Wars film to-date. Bold, smart, rich with story and character depth, Johnson understands the heart of Star Wars goes beyond its superficial iconography. While a tad overlong and a bit messy at times (though never sloppy), The Last Jedi hits where it counts, and features some of the best material this franchise has seen since The Empire Strikes Back. Expand
0 of 3 users found this helpful03
All this user's reviews
0
AezrelMar 2, 2022
They decapitated the franchise right here and the whole world just stood by and watched helplessly
4 of 5 users found this helpful41
All this user's reviews
0
TrawzFeb 26, 2022
The Minion trilogy was more interesting and had an overall better story than the Star Wars Sequel trilogy did...
4 of 5 users found this helpful41
All this user's reviews
1
willo116Feb 19, 2022
Force Awakens had it’s issues but no movie has ever disappointed me so much as the the Last Jedi did. I had high hopes but upon watching and then re-watching just in case I even asked myself if Star Wars was worth moving forward withForce Awakens had it’s issues but no movie has ever disappointed me so much as the the Last Jedi did. I had high hopes but upon watching and then re-watching just in case I even asked myself if Star Wars was worth moving forward with anymore.

The disrespect to the characters, franchise and fan base is almost unreal. I don’t need to say much that hasn’t been said already but all I can say is…. FU Rian Johnson and FU Kathleen Kennedy you both almost single handed destroyed Star Wars. You both don’t know **** about what we love about Star Wars.

Thank God for Filoni and Favreu, they have restored my faith on this franchise (that I have loved all my life). Also thanks to Respawn Entertainment that did and amazing job with Jedi Fallen Order.

I hope Rian Johnson (or J.J.) never touches Star Wars again, I hope Kathleen Kennedy is let go as Lucas clearly didn’t know what he was doing by given her the blessing to protect this franchise. I don’t even know how they got away with such a horrible movie/plot and disjointed trilogy that doesn’t make sense at all and doesn’t push the franchise forward towards anything interesting or meaningful.

I don’t hate the actors, they all seem genuinely lovely. I wanted to love Rey but her character sucks, Finn had so much potential but nothing interesting ever happened with him. Same with Poe.

The whole trilogy is a serious waste of time that its only purpose is to piss off the fan base that does care for this franchise and are willing to spend money on it, all for the sake of pushing a SJW agenda and teach a lesson no one F’n asked for. Star Wars was for everyone no one ever said it wasn’t but Kathleen Kennedy assumed it only appealed to “males, nerds and geeks”….. now that I do find insulting.
Expand
4 of 5 users found this helpful41
All this user's reviews
1
johndoe43Feb 19, 2022
This film is utterly nonsensical from start (where bombs are dropped in space) to finish (with Finns failed destruction of the enemy). The main story line has the good guy fleet being chased by the bad guy fleet. The bad guys cannot catch upThis film is utterly nonsensical from start (where bombs are dropped in space) to finish (with Finns failed destruction of the enemy). The main story line has the good guy fleet being chased by the bad guy fleet. The bad guys cannot catch up with the good guys but the good guys are running out of fuel. Meanwhile, a group of good guys is able to fly off to another planet, do some silly stuff there, and return and catch up with the bad guys. The film is just schlock stiched together to grab money from those who will see anything with "Star Wars" on it.

(I was going to give this film a slightly higher score because I did not want to be over-the-type review bomber but, as I went through it again and recited its end-to-end stupidity, it I realized I was being too generous.)
Expand
4 of 5 users found this helpful41
All this user's reviews
6
XathiahsFeb 11, 2022
A good movie, but a bad SW movie. What they did with Luke is unforgivable. Kylo Ren development is interesting.
0 of 3 users found this helpful03
All this user's reviews
5
PeteyPirahnaFeb 6, 2022
5/10
This is the most average movie I've ever seen. It's got stuff that would give it a 0 and a 10.
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
10
JORDANJACOBJORDJan 29, 2022
LAST TIME AND LAST AND FINAL 3 ACCOUNT 2 ON MY PHONE AND MY IPAD ! GOOD GOOD GOOD GOOD GOOD GOOD GOOD GOOD GOOD GOOD GOOD GOOD GOOD GOOD GOOD GOOD GOOD GOOD GOOD GOOD GOOD GOOD GOOD GOOD GOOD GOOD GOOD GOOD GOOD GOOD GOOD GOOD GOOD GOOD GOODLAST TIME AND LAST AND FINAL 3 ACCOUNT 2 ON MY PHONE AND MY IPAD ! GOOD GOOD GOOD GOOD GOOD GOOD GOOD GOOD GOOD GOOD GOOD GOOD GOOD GOOD GOOD GOOD GOOD GOOD GOOD GOOD GOOD GOOD GOOD GOOD GOOD GOOD GOOD GOOD GOOD GOOD GOOD GOOD GOOD GOOD GOOD GOOD GOOD GOOD GOOD GOOD GOOD GOOD good Expand
0 of 3 users found this helpful03
All this user's reviews
10
THEENDACCOUNTJan 29, 2022
GOODGOODGOODGOODGOODGOODGOODGOODgoodgoodgoodgoodGOODGOODGOODGOODGOODGOODGOODgood
0 of 3 users found this helpful03
All this user's reviews
8
Agentep99Jan 27, 2022
I actually really enjoyed this movie, it tried to do things that Star Wars hadn't tried, instead of doing the same thing again like TFA
0 of 3 users found this helpful03
All this user's reviews
3
MikhailSoloJan 15, 2022
The second film of the new trilogy.The plot has become much worse than in the seventh episode.There are certainly interesting ideas, but a terrible implementation.Ryan Johnson is certainly good, but the film shows that Star Wars is not forThe second film of the new trilogy.The plot has become much worse than in the seventh episode.There are certainly interesting ideas, but a terrible implementation.Ryan Johnson is certainly good, but the film shows that Star Wars is not for him.In the film, Luke Skywalker is just being **** Turned into a wise and brave Jedi, who saved his father from darkness.In a homeless man and a coward, this is complete **** screenwriters have a conscience?I have never seen such humiliation of a character before.Epic **** phrase "the time of the Jedi has passed."This is a complete insult to the entire franchise.The resistance after the destruction of the Disney Death Star, clamps down on the rebels and the heroes try to escape it's stupidly dull to watch.How useless soldiers are saved from enemies.Finn and Rose's line wasn't interesting at first.When they enter the casino and see here, you can show how rich bigwigs earn money from wars by selling weapons to both countries of the conflict, but the screenwriters have blown everything.I don't want to talk about Mary Sue at all, she kicked Luke.I saw a naked Kylo all about good.The movie is stupid. **** Expand
5 of 6 users found this helpful51
All this user's reviews
1
XelanakJan 17, 2022
Really a mess: Boring, too long and the story is not intresting at all...
The prequel were far better.
4 of 5 users found this helpful41
All this user's reviews
0
DJPelekeFrederiJan 14, 2022
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This movie sucks. How Kathleen Kennedy, JJ Abrams and Risn Johnson treated Mark Hamill, Luke Skywalker, Tom Kane and Admiral Gial Ackbar isn’t cool. The characters were killed off, and Luke was treated like an angry old man.

This film isn’t canon to Star Wars Legends or to George Lucas’s version of Star Wars.
Expand
4 of 5 users found this helpful41
All this user's reviews
0
Razrback16Jan 7, 2022
Not surprising to see the critics loving this woke trash that completely disrespects characters like Luke Skywalker. Very happy to report I watched this at a friend's house and never wasted a cent on it. I'd recommend you don't, either. ThisNot surprising to see the critics loving this woke trash that completely disrespects characters like Luke Skywalker. Very happy to report I watched this at a friend's house and never wasted a cent on it. I'd recommend you don't, either. This isn't Star Wars, and it most certainly isn't canon. Expand
3 of 4 users found this helpful31
All this user's reviews
0
NicoBellicRulesJan 6, 2022
The "Must-See" Metacritic label is an insult to truth and our intelligence. This movie was wretched. All they wanted to do was push a leftist agenda and they could not have cared less about making a good movie. Go look at my game reviews.The "Must-See" Metacritic label is an insult to truth and our intelligence. This movie was wretched. All they wanted to do was push a leftist agenda and they could not have cared less about making a good movie. Go look at my game reviews. I am generally a positive person, but I cannot be on this movie. There is nothing good about this movie. It was awful. Expand
3 of 4 users found this helpful31
All this user's reviews
0
Pedda11Jan 6, 2022
Calling this movie a dumpsterfire is an understatement, Ryan John Johnsen is a man of low talent, his wirting is so bad.
There is a resistance general whos straight up a villian, but is potrait as a hero, Rey is still a Mary Sue, Fin is still
Calling this movie a dumpsterfire is an understatement, Ryan John Johnsen is a man of low talent, his wirting is so bad.
There is a resistance general whos straight up a villian, but is potrait as a hero, Rey is still a Mary Sue, Fin is still anoying, Luke Skywalker is a dick and like TFA the whole plot just works because one fortunate coincidence after another.
Expand
3 of 4 users found this helpful31
All this user's reviews
2
TellGoodStoriesDec 31, 2021
What more can be said? As a long time star wars fan it felt like they threw what we love about the franchise in the trash bin all in the name of subverting expectations. I almost got up and left in the first 15 min of the movie. I regret evenWhat more can be said? As a long time star wars fan it felt like they threw what we love about the franchise in the trash bin all in the name of subverting expectations. I almost got up and left in the first 15 min of the movie. I regret even watching it. Retcon the entire sequel trilogy. Expand
3 of 4 users found this helpful31
All this user's reviews
4
JJ2FAS4UDec 30, 2021
----------------------------------4.3/10-----------------------------------
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
StoneDerganDec 22, 2021
I liked this movie, and now I love it. I am overwhelmed greatly and goodly by the film and will probably watch it again by summer.
0 of 4 users found this helpful04
All this user's reviews
1
yoshi8869Dec 20, 2017
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I have a tremendous amount of stuff to say and not nearly enough characters, even with 5000. Bear with me as I try to quantify my thoughts and prioritize what I deem most important.

To start small, there are plotholes abundant. From the 1.5 hour long pointless space chase to the casino planet subplot, it's all pointless. Vice Admiral Holdo withholds information from Poe simply for dramatic effect and General Hux refuses to send TIE Fighters to intercept Ackbar's capital ship because dramatic effect. The casino planet exists to interweave a theme of animal rights and the entire subplot does nothing, absolutely nothing, to the main plot. It's literally pointless. Then, after about 90 minutes of time wasted, we reach the climax of the film which lasts about 20 minutes and there is no actual battle.

Then there's the lore breakers. For example, we see the Resistance (which I'm still not sure what they're "resisting") is reduced to a handful of starpilots and commanding officers. Why? This is a big galaxy, right? There was a Rebellion but 30 year prior. Where is everyone? That Rebellion was massive; so massive they won. The lore established by the Disney canon recognizes that billions, even trillions of Imperial citizens rose up to topple the Imperial Remnant and the First Order is all that remains. If anything, the First Order should be dwindling at this point. So why is the Resistance so flipping small? The Rebellion had millions of cells, as made clear in the TV series Rebels. It seems more likely all of this was manufactured for dramatic effect.

I am ok with Star Wars going in a bold new direction. That's fine. That's encouraged. I do not want to watch the same trilogy twice. Give me something new. However, and this is a big point, don't undo the previous plot. This seems petty, I know, but then what's the point, story-wise, of the original trilogy? Everything ends up backfiring and failing. In destroying the world created from the original trilogy, you honestly make the original trilogy a waste of time. We have to have a coherent plot from point A to point B: Phantom Menace to Episode IX. This is (hopefully) not a whiny critique from a fanboy, but an honest one from the perspective of all nine episodes. We've now created a world where 1-6 are somewhat less important of a story. If you want to have a good series of movies, then each of the films play off of one another to create one large plotline that tells one big story: the Skywalker Saga, as Lucas put it back in the day. This seems to throw that out the window. 7-9 shouldn't be a new story but a continuation of the bigger plot from 1-6; otherwise make them anthology films. These are no longer episodes in a bigger story, but three films completely separate from the previous 6. I think they did for marketing purposes rather than to maximize story potential.

Then there's Luke. He's received much criticism from the fanbase for being an inaccurate portrayal, even Mark Hamill has made it clear this is not who Luke Skywalker is, however, I'll throw that out the window. We'll disregard that the man who redeemed Darth Vader was about to kill his own sister's son because he was tempted by the dark. We'll manufacture a valid excuse and move on. However, I cannot forgive the fact that he nearly gets his ass beat by Rey, who apparently is the master of the Force despite having no training and they simply write that off because Yoda said "nah, she's an expert already. No training needed. Don't question it." Luke could have been utilized so well, but instead all we get is a mindless, pathetic, whiny old man who doesn't do much of anything and dies in the end for no reason except for, you guessed it, dramatic effect. (Remember Ackbar died so they could use Holdo to sell more toys?) Also what the hell did Chewbacca do?

All in all, this film, while visually stunning, acted perfectly, and has some amazing moments, like Holdo's sacrifice (which could've been Ackbar, but oh well), fails to utilize the potential it had to tie itself in with the first six films and instead chooses to line the characters at the chopping block and throw the entire plot out the window. This along with the long space chase, lack of adventure, and pointless characters seems to be nothing more than a marketing ploy that sacrifices plot for drama.


Production: 23/30
--Acting: 8/10
--Direction: 7/10
--Crew/Effects: 8/10

Story: 11/30
--Plot: 3/10
--Characters: 2/10
--Theme: 6/10

Immersion: 22/30
--Soundtrack: 7/10
--Visuals: 8/10
--Style/Vibe: 7/10

Personal Enjoyment: 1/10

Analytical Score: 57% D
Expand
7 of 45 users found this helpful738
All this user's reviews
0
King-zadehDec 8, 2021
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. It was the worst star wars ,rey journey is suck,and luck was not the luck fan wanted, and fighting with lightsaber was very childish and stupid,does Disney even know how lightsaber work?! Expand
4 of 6 users found this helpful42
All this user's reviews
0
AaronJupiterSep 1, 2020
When you've seen The Last Jedi, you'll never want to watch a Star Wars movie again because Rian Johnson not only made a very bad movie, no, he sucked also the magic out of the saga and let Yoda, Luke, Leia and almost everybody and everythingWhen you've seen The Last Jedi, you'll never want to watch a Star Wars movie again because Rian Johnson not only made a very bad movie, no, he sucked also the magic out of the saga and let Yoda, Luke, Leia and almost everybody and everything in the movie look like travesty. Expand
10 of 13 users found this helpful103
All this user's reviews
4
deanmorrisNov 24, 2021
One of the worst Star Wars movies for sure. Too long, too messy... The cast is great and the visuals are stuning, but the plot is **** and destroys a lot of important elements of the saga.
2 of 5 users found this helpful23
All this user's reviews
5
JACOBJBNov 24, 2021
0 of 3 users found this helpful03
All this user's reviews
9
crstfrNov 22, 2021
I am a lifelong Star Wars fan and I love this movie! It is the most original and interesting instalment of the series since Empire, as well as being one of the best-looking. The story decisions faithfully serve the characters and breathesI am a lifelong Star Wars fan and I love this movie! It is the most original and interesting instalment of the series since Empire, as well as being one of the best-looking. The story decisions faithfully serve the characters and breathes fresh air into the saga. Is it perfect? Of course not. Does it deserve the intense vitriol it has received? Hell no! Some might say "true" fans hate this movie. I firmly reject that! The Last Jedi made me fall in love with Star Wars all over again.... Expand
2 of 6 users found this helpful24
All this user's reviews
4
PotterheadGleekDec 15, 2017
The movie is so long, but I don't know how many time I hold my breath, but sadly the script I think it was poor and plane. I cried in all Leia's scenes.
14 of 63 users found this helpful1449
All this user's reviews
0
MrMudd13Nov 21, 2021
What a horrible and disappointing movie. Worst plot in the star wars franchise by far.
4 of 5 users found this helpful41
All this user's reviews
0
ajoneNov 15, 2021
How do these critics look at themselves in the mirror. Why even have a job like this where you lie and everyone knows this. These critics are like boxing judges, everyone knows there are lying, paid off shills, and yet we all act like this isHow do these critics look at themselves in the mirror. Why even have a job like this where you lie and everyone knows this. These critics are like boxing judges, everyone knows there are lying, paid off shills, and yet we all act like this is an industry that with any modicum of respect. This movie is terrible, complete garbage and an embarrassment. Expand
4 of 5 users found this helpful41
All this user's reviews
9
AcromioOct 29, 2021
Bold, shocking, irreverent and visually striking, The Last Jedi is an incredibly well made adventure movie that asks pointed questions about legacy and identity both to its characters and its audience.

The Last Jedi may not be the movie that
Bold, shocking, irreverent and visually striking, The Last Jedi is an incredibly well made adventure movie that asks pointed questions about legacy and identity both to its characters and its audience.

The Last Jedi may not be the movie that some people wanted, but it is the movie that Star Wars and its audience desperately needed to move forward.
Expand
3 of 7 users found this helpful34
All this user's reviews
6
ValBalOct 27, 2021
I haven't seen Star Wars as a kid so I don't have the same connection to original cast as a lot of fans have so perhaps this is why I really like the new lead characters and especially Adam Driver as Kylo Ren. Everything about them in thisI haven't seen Star Wars as a kid so I don't have the same connection to original cast as a lot of fans have so perhaps this is why I really like the new lead characters and especially Adam Driver as Kylo Ren. Everything about them in this movie is perfect to me. I loved how Luke walks a thin line between good and evil. Grey area is something you don't see in Star Wars and it was great so that being the link between Kylo and Rey was something that I thought was very interesting. The other part of the film is complete rubbish. It felt like they didn't know what to do with other characters. The whole casino sequence and everything that those characters were doing felt like a silly distraction. Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
6
HeroicAge616Oct 25, 2021
The Last Jedi is a plot hole and convenience ridden affair, but if you can accept some of its conveniences it has a powerful tale to tell on the importance of mythology.
0 of 4 users found this helpful04
All this user's reviews
0
SIPPIOOct 13, 2021
This movie is really RTEALLY bad..
Yeah the Left/SJW stuff is overly cringe,
but what they did to Luke Skywalker is a crime.
The EU/Legends books are a 100% more post ROTJ story you and 99% are wanting.
4 of 6 users found this helpful42
All this user's reviews
9
Roguejedi92Sep 22, 2021
The Last Jedi is often a thrilling, surprising, and emotional journey that should resonate with those who are fans of a galaxy far far away. Unfortunately, it just so happens that it doesn’t resonate in the same way to everyone. While TheThe Last Jedi is often a thrilling, surprising, and emotional journey that should resonate with those who are fans of a galaxy far far away. Unfortunately, it just so happens that it doesn’t resonate in the same way to everyone. While The Last Jedi bucks some of the tried and true tropes of the franchise, it arguably does so a way respectful to what was established both The Force Awakens and to themes within the entire saga. Minus a largely panned detour to the “space horse” races and a casino planet, The Last Jedi is perhaps one the most satisfying Star Wars movie from begin to end. Expand
3 of 7 users found this helpful34
All this user's reviews
1
vustarSep 16, 2021
I waited to see this and I'm sorry I saw it at all. The negative reviews are right. It's a dumpster fire. I didn't like it from my own perspective but it's also objectively bad.

I won't bother watching the next one.
3 of 5 users found this helpful32
All this user's reviews
3
SimonMyDudeSep 9, 2021
Worse than all other movies, maybe tied with The rise of Skywalker!I didn't think it could get this bad...
4 of 6 users found this helpful42
All this user's reviews
10
KathleenKenedyAug 29, 2021
The most bold take on Star Wars yet. It will be remembered as the most subversive thing yet. I love the way they handled old characters like Luke and Leia without source material. It adds mythos additions that weren't from source material,The most bold take on Star Wars yet. It will be remembered as the most subversive thing yet. I love the way they handled old characters like Luke and Leia without source material. It adds mythos additions that weren't from source material, but expanded more on the franchise. ...in a good way... It developed them into alternative ways and that's what Star Wars needs. I love the heavy usage of my SJW agenda and some heavy talk on some left-wing politics. I hope the 11 year olds are buying loads of Porgs merchandise. Expand
1 of 7 users found this helpful16
All this user's reviews
1
DiegoLegarretaAug 26, 2021
Pésimo desarrollo de personajes nuevos y antiguos. Pésima dirección en la que encaminaron la historia.
4 of 6 users found this helpful42
All this user's reviews
0
bosrs1Dec 16, 2017
Spoiler free, this installment of Star Wars was in a word, disappointing. The plot has more holes than swiss cheese. The movie neglected the fact it was the second act in a three part trilogy and chose to gloss over just about every mysterySpoiler free, this installment of Star Wars was in a word, disappointing. The plot has more holes than swiss cheese. The movie neglected the fact it was the second act in a three part trilogy and chose to gloss over just about every mystery Episode 7 presented. The characterization of the classic characters was abysmal and the new characters fared little better. Ultimately this will go down as one of the, if not the, worst installment of the Star Wars saga. Expand
66 of 92 users found this helpful6626
All this user's reviews
6
Gamzguy17Aug 21, 2021
There is disappointment to be had with the first third of "The Last Jedi". There is a sense of not caring during this first bit of the film where both the character interactions and plot delivery are performed in a lazy, sometimesThere is disappointment to be had with the first third of "The Last Jedi". There is a sense of not caring during this first bit of the film where both the character interactions and plot delivery are performed in a lazy, sometimes disgraceful, manner. Thankfully, it's a huge relief that two thirds of the film deliver what needed to be delivered from the continuing, beloved franchise: familiar faces, action, unpredictable plot twists, exploitation of character strengths and weaknesses, and even moments that will quicken your pulse and make you sit at the edge of your seat. The film performs just well enough for us to wait in anticipation for the next episode. Overall, "The Last Jedi" is a solid entry and nothing more. Special kudos to Daisy Ridley and Adam Driver for getting most comfortable as their characters since the last episode. On that note, continue to rest in peace Carrie Fisher. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
10
JACOBJORDAN2002Aug 20, 2021
GOOD GOOD GOOD GOOD GOOD GOOD GOOD GOOD GOOD GOOD GOOD GOOD GOOD GOOD GOOD GOOD GOOD GOOD GOOD GOOD GOOD GOOD GOOD GOOD GOOD GOOD GOOD GOOD GOOD GOOD GOOD GOOD GOOD GOOD GOOD GOOD GOOD GOOD GOOD GOOD GOOD GOOD GOOD GOOD GOOD GOOD GOOD GOODGOOD GOOD GOOD GOOD GOOD GOOD GOOD GOOD GOOD GOOD GOOD GOOD GOOD GOOD GOOD GOOD GOOD GOOD GOOD GOOD GOOD GOOD GOOD GOOD GOOD GOOD GOOD GOOD GOOD GOOD GOOD GOOD GOOD GOOD GOOD GOOD GOOD GOOD GOOD GOOD GOOD GOOD GOOD GOOD GOOD GOOD GOOD GOOD GOOD GOOD GOOD GOOD GOOD GOOD GOOD GOOD Expand
1 of 6 users found this helpful15
All this user's reviews
4
robertoiglesiasDec 16, 2017
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Ok, my rant back then was awful. I complained about the film, but then I went off about users needing their voices to be heard, and while that would fit for Rotten Tomatoes, it wouldn't fit here exactly. Let me redo this.
The movie is filled with awful comedy. The jokes get in the way, are awkward, and just drag on. The Porgs are also annoying and unnecessary.
Finn, Poe, BB-8, Phasma, Hux, and the other side characters are mistreated and don't really do anything. And because they barely interact with Rey and Kylo, they come off as unnecessary filler. The Canto Bight part was irritating and long, and Holdo's stupidity was painful to sit through.
I also hated how main plots from TFA were concluded, like the character of Snoke, Finn and Phasma's rivalry, Rey's parents being nobodies, Rey possibly joining the dark side, Kylo posibly joining the light side, etc. With all of those being finished, this trilogy basically became a rip off of the original trilogy. TFA was already so similar to A New Hope, and this just became Empire Strikes Back. A character trains to be a Jedi and learns more about themselves, people need help fighting the bad guys so some of them go to a fancy planet for help, main characters have a personal feud and try to convince the other one to join their side, etc.

I did like the story between Rey, Luke, and Kylo. That kept me interested in what was going to happen next. But this film is bogged down by the new direction and writing.
"EPISODE IX WILL PROBABLY KILL CHEWBACCA, HAVE BAD JOKES, AND WILL BE A RIPOFF OF RETURN OF THE JEDI!"
Me from the future: I got 2 out of 3 of those right. Chewbacca was nearly killed, but Leia took his place instead.
So, 3/10.
Expand
52 of 74 users found this helpful5222
All this user's reviews
6
TheDevilBoxerDec 17, 2017
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I have to say: I was disappointed. This movie manages to stand a bit more on its own than The Force Awakens or Rogue One, but it still riffs pretty heavily on the old trilogy's story beats, and is a mixed bag in terms of characters, story choices, and tone. That last part might be the biggest problem. It pulls a Marvel at times and undercuts serious or important moments with ill-timed humor. The movie does little to develop Finn despite plenty of screen time, and Captain Phasma and Snoke are as lame as ever. Good riddance to both. Kylo Ren is still a compelling villain, and his and Rey's story is the highlight. I think Johnson missed the mark on the character of Luke pretty significantly, making him inconsistent with who he became after ROTJ, and forcing him to arbitrarily backpedal as a character, just to bring him back toward heroism in the end so the movie can pretend he has a story arc. The Last Jedi is less slavish in its callbacks to previous movies than The Force Awakens was, but what this lays bare is that the new stuff has comparatively little to offer, from the world building to the young male leads, to the incredibly corny new character Rose, to the action (awesome throne room fight aside). The movie's latter sections get slightly more interesting than its borderline-boring first half, but I had hoped to be much more impressed by Rian Johnson's take on the Star Wars galaxy than this. Expand
8 of 35 users found this helpful827
All this user's reviews
9
RonbaAug 15, 2021
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Świetny film i trzeba go obejrzeć. Oglądać ten film i można.
Zalety : wszystko
Wady:nic
Expand
1 of 6 users found this helpful15
All this user's reviews
0
3mperorAug 1, 2021
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. What amazes me is not that this is a terrible movie, but that it is such a plainly terrible movie so widely acclaimed by "critics". When I was younger, I had an impression that critics, you know, criticized. I remember so many action and sci-fi movies I thought were pretty good and the reviews would go, "meh, cliche script, gaping plot holes, no character development, meh", even as cult followings formed around them. And that state of affairs seemed natural - they were flawed movies, that we found peculiar and idiosyncratic reasons to love. It's so weird to find the situation reversed now, with armies of critics thrusting laurels upon these truly disembrained amorphous blockbuster heaps, while longtime fans of the franchise seem to be the only ones who care enough to spot the flaws. Something interesting worth investigating has happened in the political economy of film criticism.

The new cast fails to connect, which is not the fault of the actors but of a story which gives them little meaningful to do, little growth, a script that seems plagiarized from kids' joke-books and inspirational workplace posters. Really, there is hardly a story. The central plot device, the space version of the OJ Simpson chase, is both boring and absurd. Why would a ship moving through space slow down because of lack of fuel (an object in motion remains in motion...)? Why can't the Imperials just use hyperdrive? The characters are always running off to do this or that, for reasons that make no sense, and fail to fit into any larger strategy or narrative. Yes, the movie looks good and sounds good, the effects are awesome, but that used to be considered the icing on the cake, not what made something a good movie. The classic cast are irrelevant shadows valued only as captive legitimacy symbols, perverse trophies, like deposed statesmen kept alive long enough to woodenly endorse the new president-for-life before inevitable ignominious doom. Enough has been said about what has been done to the character of Luke Skywalker. But what was more telling was the way Admiral Akbar was treated. This was a better test than Luke as to how the moviemakers really felt about the Star Wars universe - a marginal character easily overlooked by someone whose casual or workmanlike review of the saga films left them cold, but much beloved by those who love the films and universe. They offed him off-screen, and did not skip a beat. The first draft of the line was probably, "General Akbar, Luke, Leia, Lando, the robots, Jeff from accounting, Munchie, and Han Polo is dead. Anyhoo..."

Ok, the movie sucked, a lot of movies suck, that's totally normal, it happens, it's no reflection on the hardworking cast and crew, hopefully they will go on to better things. What leaves me unsettled is the critical acclaim. Another reviewer here said it before me, and they were right, this is the world of the Emperor's New Clothes.
Expand
4 of 6 users found this helpful42
All this user's reviews
8
ChristmasLoverAug 4, 2021
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I know a lot of people hated this movie but I loved it not as good as the force awakens and it’s sad that Like died he was my favorite character Expand
1 of 6 users found this helpful15
All this user's reviews
8
SoloYTDec 26, 2020
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. For all who don't know me I'm a Star Wars fan. I watch the movies/shows, read the books/comics, play the games, and on occasion have been known to write some fan fiction. However going into this movie I knew that some things with this franchise needed to change. Don't get me wrong The Force Awakens is my favorite Star Wars film that has come out of the Disney era, but nonetheless I was conscious of how it stuck to the template of the original Star Wars, for better or worse, and hoped that this film would find a way to break away from that cycle and cover new ground. I say all this because I feel like the audience members reading my review deserve to know where I'm coming from as I write this and with that said I'll continue on to tell you that unlike the internet, I actually enjoy this movie. First off I want to talk or write about what this movie does so well: defining the characters of Rey and Kylo Ren. In the previous film Rey is a orphan who was left on the planet Jakku. Although she knows that they're never coming back for her, she holds on to the hope that they are really right their with her in the form of her mentors Han Solo and now Luke Skywalker. Parallel to that is our villain Kylo Ren, who knows who is family is and feels let down by them with the weight of trying to live up to their legacies. People either expect really great or really terrible things out of him and as a result he's conflicted, being caught in between both the light and the dark side of the force. This causes him to idolize his grandfather, the fearsome Darth Vader, while he misses his parents. In the end he chooses the dark over the light murdering his father, but he is left unsatisfied and broken. Both characters are pulled together and realize that they each have more in common then they think causing them to stand together as Ren kills Snoke to fight off his elite guards. When the dust settles Rey has to confront her greatest fear: that her parents are in fact nobodys who didn't give a crap about her. This revelation is great for the progression of the story as it is accompanied by the theme: you don't have to come from somewhere to be somebody. A real refresher for anyone whose been a fan for a while. We also see how Kylo refuses Rey's invitation to join her on the light side and how she refuses to join him on the dark. They are polar opposites. Kylo killed Snoke since he was the last person in his path for power.

But what caused Ben Solo to become Kylo Ren? It was his uncle Luke who thought he could prevent another Vader by neutralizing his own nephew and now must content with his failures. At the start he is a tragic figure who has made the ultimate mistake. The idealists ideals have failed and so he has given up. This upsets Rey as this is not what she or the audience was expecting out of the legendary Luke Skywalker, but through the arrival of Rey and a nice pep talk from puppet, not cgi, but puppet Yoda he finds his way and reconnects with the force. Distracting the First Order so that the Resistance can escape to fight another day. Now with all that said, typed, let's discuss the Resistance in this movie. We see them on the ropes throughout, however Finn and Rose go on a side quest where they end up saving a few fathiers and because of that, "It's all worth it," while their friends are dying at the other side of the galaxy. Face slap. Hey at least from this we get the introduction of D J who is a great character, but that could have been accomplished with so many better plot points. Finn also seems to take a step back from where we left off with him in the last movie, however I understand that he was just in it to save Rey the last time and that this time around he was committee to the larger cause. Poe for the majority of this movie is stuck aboard the Raddus unable to help which is an interesting position for his character to be in, but he that entire position as well as Canto Bight could have all been avoided if Holdo had just mentioned that they had some kind of plan, ANY kind of plan. I also want to mention that Hux and Phasma especially are wasted in this film before going on to compliment Rian's overall vision, John William's score, the cinematography, and the work of the actors before I go on to give this movie a 7.5/10.
Expand
5 of 12 users found this helpful57
All this user's reviews
0
tipeddzeroJul 31, 2021
It is a bad SJW bullcrap that no one cares about , characters suck and the returning ones are wrecked .
3 of 4 users found this helpful31
All this user's reviews
1
MarklloydartistJul 31, 2021
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This is not Star Wars. Not sure what the studio and rian Johnson were thinking, mind you quite an achievement to create a film to kill a forty year old franchise. Utter drivel, appalling writing, completely inconsistent with the saga, does look pretty, so does a polished turd. Woeful and such a waste Expand
3 of 4 users found this helpful31
All this user's reviews
0
jmlstocksJul 31, 2021
Too much left wing politics. We didn’t get the Luke Skywalker we wanted. This one movie ruined the entire sequel series
3 of 4 users found this helpful31
All this user's reviews
2
renohataJul 27, 2021
Worst Star Wars movie ever made. Lazy script, bad characters and absolutely nothing to fix my atention on the movie.
3 of 4 users found this helpful31
All this user's reviews
1
MarkM17Jul 26, 2021
A movie with a nonsense chase plot line and a Luke Skywalker whose character was turned on its head without any of it been foreshadowed or properly developed. A totally rushed and unbelievable turn of character for him. Finn characterA movie with a nonsense chase plot line and a Luke Skywalker whose character was turned on its head without any of it been foreshadowed or properly developed. A totally rushed and unbelievable turn of character for him. Finn character development potential dreadfully wasted too and Leia seemingly made fun of with that Mary Poppins scene. Any potential that was there from a far from perfect force awakens was totally wasted. Expand
3 of 4 users found this helpful31
All this user's reviews
0
Sofocleous1Jul 14, 2021
The only time I ever wanted to leave midway through a star wars film. Hopefully the new trilogy will be removed from cannon
5 of 6 users found this helpful51
All this user's reviews
2
bainzzsJul 13, 2021
Honestly I don't know what to write. It's bad: bad writing, bad plot, bad CGI, bad continuity, bad Starwars.
5 of 6 users found this helpful51
All this user's reviews
1
Unicron666Jul 3, 2021
Godawful, I can't recommend enough that you skip this film. It has no redeeming features and is one of the only star wars films I would describe as boring. Well done rian Johnson, you suck!
4 of 5 users found this helpful41
All this user's reviews
5
pur__0_0__Jul 1, 2021
Star Wars: Episode VIII seems more like a culmination of all the reasons what is wrong with movies nowadays. A beloved, renowned franchise like Star Wars goes in the hands of a big company which is all into secularism. Sometimes I feel DisneyStar Wars: Episode VIII seems more like a culmination of all the reasons what is wrong with movies nowadays. A beloved, renowned franchise like Star Wars goes in the hands of a big company which is all into secularism. Sometimes I feel Disney movies are not movies. They are festivals. They celebrate diversity. And the worst part is that Disney, the religion which is celebrating this festival, doesn't take very kindly of the "infidels". As a result they are more concerned about the movie doing good in China and Africa than actually telling a good story. They can imagine little girls from Middle East play with Rey Palpatine dolls and porg/fathier stuffed toys, but not giving the fans what they have been asking for all these years.
One thing I really like about this movie is that it is able to deliver the needed impact using its CGI. The way they used the FTL to tear right across the enemy ships was so cool. But yeah, that's the only one thing I like about the movie. To show that one scene they ruined the whole concept of FTL travelling. Luke Skywalker lives between adorable Porgs, but he's only Luke Skywalker for the namesake. He doesn't do anything that makes us feel that he's important to the story. Heck, literally his role in the movie is that he dies!
This is exactly what's wrong with movies today. First they take a popular franchise that doesn't make movies anymore, or has a lot of books/games/TV shows. Then they get the fans hyped to make them realise they are about to make something big for them. In order to do this they sell their merchandise because they know the gullible fans will be absolutely ready to lap it all up. After that they will throw in some secularism - make a white protagonist, a black sidekick, an Asian man/woman who will help them, someone who is being oppressed because there's absolutely no other way a hero can be a hero if he doesn't speak for someone's rights. An important character should also be there who will do nothing other than fan service. An absolutely meaningless plot twist will also do some good. With all that done, just add a big CGI fight and get over with it.
So in conclusion, Star Wars: Episode VIII - The Last Jedi is not a movie. It's a fan service. This wouldn't have been a problem if it DID fan service and not become one. We had watched this movie for a plot about Jedi fighting the Sith, not for seeing Finn free some fathiers. The movie is set a long, long ago in a galaxy far, far away. So all this SJW stuff doesn't make any sense.
Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
1
JACOBJORDANBAJun 23, 2021
I went to go see Star wars episode 8 The last Jedi I liked it but my brother didn't like it and a lot of people didn't like Star wars episode 8 the last year because of the ending of episode 8 The last Jedi
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
0
Marco_AGJJun 19, 2021
Probably the worst movie I've ever seen. There's no redeeming quality whatsoever for this garbage.
5 of 6 users found this helpful51
All this user's reviews
0
CapelliniJun 18, 2021
they destroied the series with the sequels. it's disgusting to this after the prequels
4 of 5 users found this helpful41
All this user's reviews
0
RonnamJun 12, 2021
Worst movie ever. Hateful toward the original characters. Completely disloyal to Star Wars’ themes and philosophy. Treats Luke abysmally. The people who made this foul abomination clearly despise Star Wars fans.
4 of 5 users found this helpful41
All this user's reviews