Universal Pictures | Release Date: August 14, 2015
7.6
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 427 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
349
Mixed:
38
Negative:
40
Watch Now
Buy On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
3
csw12Dec 16, 2015
At least the movie gives some reality to the experiences of these people. Interestingly, the rappers made songs about hating the police like "F**k the police" and yet all their problems have nothing to do with the police. Other than making aAt least the movie gives some reality to the experiences of these people. Interestingly, the rappers made songs about hating the police like "F**k the police" and yet all their problems have nothing to do with the police. Other than making a worthless point at the time and now, the movie just isn't very good. Way too long, music is absolutely horrible and unlikable characters. The only brutality taking place is me having to watch this trash. Expand
3 of 4 users found this helpful31
All this user's reviews
3
WhySoSerious54Aug 31, 2015
Average movie with below average acting. I think the hype machine has done a better job convincing people this movie is actually better than it is. The Hollywood fluff is obvious. The movie is missing the grit and reality. This group sufferedAverage movie with below average acting. I think the hype machine has done a better job convincing people this movie is actually better than it is. The Hollywood fluff is obvious. The movie is missing the grit and reality. This group suffered from drug abuse, sexual assault, battery towards woman, and violence. Interesting how they forgot to put those in, making these guys look like heroes. Pioneers in the music scene yes but heroes they are not. Eazy E suffered from drug addiction to Cocaine, X, LSD, Crack, amongst many others including being a drunk 100% of the time. Dr Dre was charged several times with assault including beating up a waitress and getting charged for beating up his ex girlfriend. Ice Cube growing up with strict parents and becoming a dedicated father in the early 90's This truth never came up, was ignored and sadly the people will never experienced the real truth as to why this group fell apart. Watching it was hilarious how they keet ignoring the real truths scene after scene. Showing Eazy E and Dre treating woman so kindly and never once doing drugs. Please I wanted to see the GRIT and the REAL people these men were. Dre is a different man now and Cube grew up faster than all. This would have been a more powerful story showing how they grew up rather than ignoring the pain and trouble they were facing personally. Expand
7 of 10 users found this helpful73
All this user's reviews
0
SIPPIOFeb 17, 2018
STRAIGHT OUTTA OF DR.DRE'S MAKE BELIEVE WORLD MORE LIKE IT.....

~This movie is clearly meant to totally make Dre & IceCube look like the good guys in every possible way.. The same EXACT way "the people VS OJ" make Kardashian look like a
STRAIGHT OUTTA OF DR.DRE'S MAKE BELIEVE WORLD MORE LIKE IT.....

~This movie is clearly meant to totally make Dre & IceCube look like the good guys in every possible way..
The same EXACT way "the people VS OJ" make Kardashian look like a 'good person and not the villain he actually was...

~So now Dr.Dre wasn't aware that they set up Eazy-E to force him to sign the contracts..
GIMMIE A BREAK!!!
~Where's all the stuff about Dre's sexuality?
The BEEF Tupac had w/ Dre over his bi-sexuality?
~Why do they make Suge Knight appear to not care about the music at all?
~Why wasn't it mentioned that Eazy-E got 50% of every dollar Dre earned from TheChrnoic almub cause he broke contract????
~Why was DJ Yella made out to look like a cupcake?

~I remember the day '100 miles & running' came out and my friend started playing it and we're blown away by that..
~ NWA second full album was beyond huuge and it got -0- play in the movie. THIS MOVIE IS A DR.DRE MOCKUMENTARY..
Which would be fine but I'm curious how the EazyE estate feels about it?
~Wonder how SUGE KNIGHT feels about it.
~Wonder how Jerry Heller feels about it.

That's right,,they ALL beefed it so bad that they filed suit.
Suge is in jail on murder charges from trying to run over the people making this movie.
And JerryHeller died trying to dispute it..
And The wife & children of Eazy-E,,,well you should read what they say for yourself..

wHAT GOT MY ATTENTION THE MOST WAS WHEN SUGEKNIGHT SAID TO EAZY "Dre don't even know you're here"".. I knew this was a Dre attempt to make him appear more non ghetto to his new friends..
Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
0
hendrikchipmanDec 30, 2015
You can tell Dr Dre and Ice Cube were behind this movie. The entire plot casts them in a favourable light while dropping advertisements in between for their labels. I also noticed that the movie cast Eazy E as a villain, which I think isYou can tell Dr Dre and Ice Cube were behind this movie. The entire plot casts them in a favourable light while dropping advertisements in between for their labels. I also noticed that the movie cast Eazy E as a villain, which I think is unfair as he is dead and can't defend himself. This movie showed to me that Dr Dre still feels cut by the things Eazy E said about him and wants to rewrite history. Expand
2 of 5 users found this helpful23
All this user's reviews
2
andarial6670Aug 24, 2015
This movie is **** aids. Like, it gave me aids. There was not one minute of this movie that I did like. The ratings for this are only positive because the movie's theme of police brutality against blacks coincides with present day newsThis movie is **** aids. Like, it gave me aids. There was not one minute of this movie that I did like. The ratings for this are only positive because the movie's theme of police brutality against blacks coincides with present day news coverage, which is all about police brutality... There is absolutely no artistic value in this two and a half hour pile of aids. No one will remember this three months from now. Expand
4 of 11 users found this helpful47
All this user's reviews
0
JOHN1941Aug 24, 2015
I was not able to count the numbers of the words **** and **** but I think they came out about even. And the treatment of women? This is a lousy example of successful blacks. Hard working honest blacks should picket this cesspool of ideasI was not able to count the numbers of the words **** and **** but I think they came out about even. And the treatment of women? This is a lousy example of successful blacks. Hard working honest blacks should picket this cesspool of ideas before it spills out onto the streets.

One of my high school kids said that rap was for blacks who could not really sing. Now I see his point.
Expand
4 of 14 users found this helpful410
All this user's reviews
0
DinosalamanderSep 13, 2015
I stepped into the theatre into the theatre with my pumpkin spice moca latte. Once it started my skin was roasted and my pale, see through skin was turned into the most hood thing yo Eva seen, ninja, sorry that was the white in me is stillI stepped into the theatre into the theatre with my pumpkin spice moca latte. Once it started my skin was roasted and my pale, see through skin was turned into the most hood thing yo Eva seen, ninja, sorry that was the white in me is still there.. My purse with a yorkie in it turned into an ak-47. My phone turned into some koosh. 0/10 Expand
2 of 11 users found this helpful29
All this user's reviews
0
TogetherAug 15, 2015
I paid 13$ plus a soda and a drink. 42 minutes into the movie I left. Way too much hype over this movie. The acting was poor and the movie went no where slowly. Save your money and wait for the Redbox DVD.
4 of 25 users found this helpful421
All this user's reviews
0
wigwam69Oct 5, 2015
Rap music is done by people who can't sing, write lyrics, or play an instrument . This movie glosses over the racism of N.W.A., particularly towards Koreans, and tries to lionize them as courageous civil rights heroes being held down by theRap music is done by people who can't sing, write lyrics, or play an instrument . This movie glosses over the racism of N.W.A., particularly towards Koreans, and tries to lionize them as courageous civil rights heroes being held down by the white man. The reality of N.W.A. is that they were a group who conveyed an image of toughness and rebellion to rake in the money from their gullible fans who had no idea the group was faking it. Like modern rap today, it's all an act that's used to glorify criminal activity. Expand
2 of 15 users found this helpful213
All this user's reviews