Searchlight Pictures | Release Date: July 2, 2021
7.1
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 54 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
40
Mixed:
7
Negative:
7
Watch Now
Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Expand
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
5
FaxthtaxJul 17, 2021
If this gets a DVD release, it should be 2-Disc version. Disc 1 for this documentary.
And crucially a Disc 2 for the whole concert. Missing more from SimoneĀ“s blasting performance like her dynamite version of "I Got Life"
I was disappointed
If this gets a DVD release, it should be 2-Disc version. Disc 1 for this documentary.
And crucially a Disc 2 for the whole concert. Missing more from SimoneĀ“s blasting performance like her dynamite version of "I Got Life"
I was disappointed that much of the festival was left out. Instead it was stuffed with anti-racist material..
So please.. Full festival please..
Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
RatedRexJul 2, 2021
Easily one of the best music documentaries of all time. It's better than "WattStax," which came out in 1973. And it's more culturally relevant than "Woodstock." It's about a moment in time when America was coming to the realization thatEasily one of the best music documentaries of all time. It's better than "WattStax," which came out in 1973. And it's more culturally relevant than "Woodstock." It's about a moment in time when America was coming to the realization that change was inevitable. Expand
1 of 4 users found this helpful13
All this user's reviews
9
bertobellamyNov 30, 2021
"You know, it's funny. You put memories away, and sometimes you don't even know if they're real."

For me, that final quote encompasses the whole documentary, which recovers amazing footage of the Harlem Cultural Festival. Questlove does an
"You know, it's funny. You put memories away, and sometimes you don't even know if they're real."

For me, that final quote encompasses the whole documentary, which recovers amazing footage of the Harlem Cultural Festival. Questlove does an amazing job at assembling a complete view of the historic event, and not just the concerts, but the context around it.

What surprises me more is that this material was almost forgotten, which sustains the discourse in the film about the danger of black history getting erased.

The way the performances are weaved together with interviews and the archive footage feels very organic, and the best thing about it is that the music just doesn't stop; so, in a way, you could see this as a musical.

An Academy Award nomination is incoming.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
spodvollApr 9, 2022
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I would have gladly sat through a 3-hour movie to hear both the commentary and uninterrupted performances. I found it annoying to have that commentary drowning out such great music. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
bkenglandNov 27, 2022
I agree with Faxthtax. I found all the talking heads parts very distracting and overdone. The music should have been front and center with commentary either downplayed or provided on a commentary track that could be toggled on and off. ThisI agree with Faxthtax. I found all the talking heads parts very distracting and overdone. The music should have been front and center with commentary either downplayed or provided on a commentary track that could be toggled on and off. This can easily be resolved by doing a disk rerelease with a second of the music only, as Faxthtax suggested. Given what we have, I can only give this a 5 score. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
JLuis_001Apr 27, 2022
It's an outstanding showcase of African American music as well as a history lesson.
The footage had been canned for decades, Questlove brought it to life, gave it direction and most importantly, the spotlight.

A great documentary.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
DawdlingPoetJul 8, 2022
This is a great musical documentary - it showcases an event not well known of/by, for many and for fans of soul music, its a great find. Lots of energetic, vigorous performances by a wide range of successful performers (Nina Simone and StevieThis is a great musical documentary - it showcases an event not well known of/by, for many and for fans of soul music, its a great find. Lots of energetic, vigorous performances by a wide range of successful performers (Nina Simone and Stevie Wonder, among many others), some of which share their memories of what happened when they performed at this event in Harlem in the 1960s. The sense of hope and optimism is clearly put across - as a white person, I feel frustrated and disappointed that there's such little record of this event. Its a good piece of social history and a good showcase of soul music at that time. I would definitely recommend this to people interested in it, yes. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
0
shumatMar 14, 2023
this is almost a drama and i do not recommended, i think i will see something differe t in the next weeks
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
churchman58Jul 2, 2021
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. One word....WOW! How could this time stay hidden in someone's basement for fifty years? If this has been released in 69 or 70, I cannot imagine how its impact might...just might...have altered the course of cultural relations...in a very positive way. Watch this film soon...you'll be glad you did. Peace Out! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
LuissDtApr 28, 2022
Personally I don't like documentaries but Summer of Soul is a festival and a great and beautiful recognition of music.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
ChanekeCholoJan 22, 2022
"The United States has so much money, but it doesn't have soul"
Seeing this incredible documentary transported me back to when I was a child and used to watch Michael Jackson concerts recorded on DVD, but with the factor that this had not
"The United States has so much money, but it doesn't have soul"
Seeing this incredible documentary transported me back to when I was a child and used to watch Michael Jackson concerts recorded on DVD, but with the factor that this had not been released until now and the fact that it was a historical moment.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
15KRandomMovieMay 24, 2023
An excellent perspective on a historic time in Harlem and in the US in general. As an Irish dude, I would never have known anything about this event. What music and characters were involved! I had never heard of Mavis Staples before and now IAn excellent perspective on a historic time in Harlem and in the US in general. As an Irish dude, I would never have known anything about this event. What music and characters were involved! I had never heard of Mavis Staples before and now I know a lot more about her. Nina Simone what a performer! Listen to our 15K+ Random Movie Reviews Episode 1 podcast for our full and in-depth thoughts. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews