Searchlight Pictures | Release Date: July 2, 2021
7.4
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 43 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
34
Mixed:
5
Negative:
4
Watch Now
Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Expand
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
RatedRexJul 2, 2021
Easily one of the best music documentaries of all time. It's better than "WattStax," which came out in 1973. And it's more culturally relevant than "Woodstock." It's about a moment in time when America was coming to the realization thatEasily one of the best music documentaries of all time. It's better than "WattStax," which came out in 1973. And it's more culturally relevant than "Woodstock." It's about a moment in time when America was coming to the realization that change was inevitable. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
9
bertobellamyNov 30, 2021
"You know, it's funny. You put memories away, and sometimes you don't even know if they're real."

For me, that final quote encompasses the whole documentary, which recovers amazing footage of the Harlem Cultural Festival. Questlove does an
"You know, it's funny. You put memories away, and sometimes you don't even know if they're real."

For me, that final quote encompasses the whole documentary, which recovers amazing footage of the Harlem Cultural Festival. Questlove does an amazing job at assembling a complete view of the historic event, and not just the concerts, but the context around it.

What surprises me more is that this material was almost forgotten, which sustains the discourse in the film about the danger of black history getting erased.

The way the performances are weaved together with interviews and the archive footage feels very organic, and the best thing about it is that the music just doesn't stop; so, in a way, you could see this as a musical.

An Academy Award nomination is incoming.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
spodvollApr 9, 2022
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I would have gladly sat through a 3-hour movie to hear both the commentary and uninterrupted performances. I found it annoying to have that commentary drowning out such great music. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
JLuis_001Apr 27, 2022
It's an outstanding showcase of African American music as well as a history lesson.
The footage had been canned for decades, Questlove brought it to life, gave it direction and most importantly, the spotlight.

A great documentary.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
FaxthtaxJul 17, 2021
If this gets a DVD release, it should be 2-Disc version. Disc 1 for this documentary.
And crucially a Disc 2 for the whole concert. Missing more from SimoneĀ“s blasting performance like her dynamite version of "I Got Life"
I was disappointed
If this gets a DVD release, it should be 2-Disc version. Disc 1 for this documentary.
And crucially a Disc 2 for the whole concert. Missing more from SimoneĀ“s blasting performance like her dynamite version of "I Got Life"
I was disappointed that much of the festival was left out. Instead it was stuffed with anti-racist material..
So please.. Full festival please..
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
churchman58Jul 2, 2021
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. One word....WOW! How could this time stay hidden in someone's basement for fifty years? If this has been released in 69 or 70, I cannot imagine how its impact might...just might...have altered the course of cultural relations...in a very positive way. Watch this film soon...you'll be glad you did. Peace Out! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
LuissDtApr 28, 2022
Personally I don't like documentaries but Summer of Soul is a festival and a great and beautiful recognition of music.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
ChanekeCholoJan 22, 2022
"The United States has so much money, but it doesn't have soul"
Seeing this incredible documentary transported me back to when I was a child and used to watch Michael Jackson concerts recorded on DVD, but with the factor that this had not
"The United States has so much money, but it doesn't have soul"
Seeing this incredible documentary transported me back to when I was a child and used to watch Michael Jackson concerts recorded on DVD, but with the factor that this had not been released until now and the fact that it was a historical moment.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews