Columbia Pictures | Release Date: August 17, 2007
8.0
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 607 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
502
Mixed:
48
Negative:
57
Watch Now
Stream On
Buy On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
9
EricK.Sep 3, 2009
I don't see why people think this is a bad movie. its a awesome kickass movie. although the ending sucked, the movie as a whole rocked and made me and my friends laugh and i think that's what counts.
2 of 2 users found this helpful
0
LukeTheDukeAug 22, 2007
This is bad on every level. Awful script. Awful actors. Awful continuity. Awful blocking. Awful scenes. Coming of age, trying to get laid, high school buddy films don't need to be this bad. Jonah Hill is waaaay to old to play a high This is bad on every level. Awful script. Awful actors. Awful continuity. Awful blocking. Awful scenes. Coming of age, trying to get laid, high school buddy films don't need to be this bad. Jonah Hill is waaaay to old to play a high school loser believably any more. Michael Cera was much better when he had good material on Arrested Development. Funny film?? Not at all. I felt ripped off by this half-assed effort, by I have been feeling ripped off a lot lately by the current level of Hollywood's mediocrity. Who allows this drivel to be produced?? Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
7
kingshahidJul 26, 2011
This movie reminded me of when I was young and in high school (even though only 4 years ago). The boy group with contrasting personalities existed in high school (at least in mine). Many pacts they formed (getting laid, being friends fromThis movie reminded me of when I was young and in high school (even though only 4 years ago). The boy group with contrasting personalities existed in high school (at least in mine). Many pacts they formed (getting laid, being friends from necessity) is very common in high school. Not to mention happy endings near prom! I would have enjoyed this more if I was still in high school but I'm not so it was a little less appealing than it would have been. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
7
extextJan 5, 2011
Michael Cera is hilarious in his socially ineptness, while many times Jonah Hill's salacious outbursts are unnecessary or unjustified in the movie's ethos.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
NapW.Sep 7, 2007
The funniest film I've seen in years. I can't remember the last time I laughed so much.
8 of 9 users found this helpful
10
BillSAug 10, 2009
The bottom line is this movie made me laugh out loud and a lot. I really enjoyed it.
2 of 3 users found this helpful
10
UNBJul 31, 2009
The best movie ever! The movie is full of laughs, teen comedy, sex and a true coming-of-age story just like American Pie.
2 of 3 users found this helpful
10
nboley08Aug 16, 2010
Wildly funny, arguably the best "dirty" comedy of the 2000's, which is quite impressive considering how many are made these days ("The Hangover", "Pineapple Express", "Anchorman", etc.). The dialogue is funny almost line by line, that's howWildly funny, arguably the best "dirty" comedy of the 2000's, which is quite impressive considering how many are made these days ("The Hangover", "Pineapple Express", "Anchorman", etc.). The dialogue is funny almost line by line, that's how incredibly funny this movie is. The soundtrack adds a fantastic funky 70's vibe, and the film simply never gets boring or completely ridiculous. Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
8
lovemusicMay 21, 2011
hahahahahahahahahahahahhaahhahahahahahahahahahahahahahaahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahhahahahahahahahahahahahahhahaahahahahahahahahahahahhahah funny as hell. good acting by all the characters. funny script. funny lines.hahahahahahahahahahahahhaahhahahahahahahahahahahahahahaahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahhahahahahahahahahahahahahhahaahahahahahahahahahahahhahah funny as hell. good acting by all the characters. funny script. funny lines. great lines. Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
10
TarintinoCodFanDec 16, 2011
Such a funny film. Way better than the over apprciated 'The Hangover'. It has a great cast and the story between Mclovin and the cops is so great. It's only fault is it shouldn't be watched with parents, trust me...
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
0
amygAug 20, 2007
Superbad is just as it says: Super Bad! Dirty words were just being thrown around as frequently as we breathe air. The plot had no tasteful point and it seems like they were just saying words such as "d**k" and "v***na" as many times as Superbad is just as it says: Super Bad! Dirty words were just being thrown around as frequently as we breathe air. The plot had no tasteful point and it seems like they were just saying words such as "d**k" and "v***na" as many times as possible in a sentence without any sense. There weren't really lines or gestures that was funny, but it appears that people were just laughing in the theater because they feel obligated to get their money's worth. I was so disgusted I walked out of the theater (along with a large number of people). I should've known this movie was going to be super-bad since it shared similar distasteful lines and plot with Knocked Up. Disappointed. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful
0
AnonymousMCDec 22, 2007
This is the single worst movie I've ever seen. Like a train wreck, it was hard to decide when it was the right time to give up and turn off, but I did at about half-way. The idiots that wrote and directed this piece of garbage shouldThis is the single worst movie I've ever seen. Like a train wreck, it was hard to decide when it was the right time to give up and turn off, but I did at about half-way. The idiots that wrote and directed this piece of garbage should be asked to never do anything again... Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful
2
RobJ.Dec 29, 2007
I was very disappointed. This movie sucked. It really did. Just a bunch of cussing. It blew balls
1 of 2 users found this helpful
3
MarkGDec 6, 2007
painful and embarrassing to watch. One reviewer wrote that the films 'charms' are in the way the characters think with their dicks. What's remotely charming about this!? A load of macho American bullshit (witness the antics of painful and embarrassing to watch. One reviewer wrote that the films 'charms' are in the way the characters think with their dicks. What's remotely charming about this!? A load of macho American bullshit (witness the antics of the two cops) and gross moments smothered with an obligatory layer of cheesy sentiment that oozes out at the end of the film ('I love you maaaan'). How can learned critics rate this trash? Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful
0
MikeT.Nov 26, 2007
Superbad is. I didn't laugh once in the first 30 minutes, so this isn't really a comedy at all. Whenever everyone else laughed, I just cringed and wondered why anyone would ever make a movie like this. If Pauly Shore decided to Superbad is. I didn't laugh once in the first 30 minutes, so this isn't really a comedy at all. Whenever everyone else laughed, I just cringed and wondered why anyone would ever make a movie like this. If Pauly Shore decided to remake Fast Times at Ridgemont High, Superbad would likely be the result. One of the worst movies I've ever seen. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful
3
Trev29Feb 16, 2013
It starts off funny, but it is just boring. This is an over-hyped comedy that does nothing but have stupid grotesque jokes. The acting sucked, and practically put me to sleep.
2 of 5 users found this helpful23
All this user's reviews
3
vidManOct 3, 2007
I left the theater in a disgust. It was so vulgar that it wasn't funny.
1 of 3 users found this helpful
3
KarthXLRJan 22, 2011
One of the most overrated comedies I've ever watched. Shame that so many audiences depend on this brand of vulgar humor to deliver laughs. It's disgusting.
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
5
JamesOct 9, 2007
I love Freaks and Geeks, I liked 40-Year Old Virgin, and I actually really liked Knocked Up, but I know enough by now to expect Apatow to be consistent. Seriously, have any of you seen "Life As We Know It," or that awful college show he did? I love Freaks and Geeks, I liked 40-Year Old Virgin, and I actually really liked Knocked Up, but I know enough by now to expect Apatow to be consistent. Seriously, have any of you seen "Life As We Know It," or that awful college show he did? The cast is great, but the jokes just aren't funny if shock humor feels formulaic to you after the first ten or so. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
FrederickSAug 16, 2007
This movie is amazingly well-made. It's entertaining, but it makes you think at the same time. I rarely give movies any score above a 6, but this movie is definitely worth seeing. I was lucky enough to get in to see a screener of it, This movie is amazingly well-made. It's entertaining, but it makes you think at the same time. I rarely give movies any score above a 6, but this movie is definitely worth seeing. I was lucky enough to get in to see a screener of it, and it was definitely worth it! You'll be glad you went to see it. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
SusanAug 20, 2007
Seth Rogen and Evan Goldberg have shown us what real comedy should be. The gags are hilarious and the dialogue is even better...GREAT movie.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
JuanB.Aug 20, 2007
Very funny one of the best comedys i have seen in a long time from the first time seth and evan open there mouths you are laughing and it doesnt stop from there i think most males can relate to those two at some level its a great movie if Very funny one of the best comedys i have seen in a long time from the first time seth and evan open there mouths you are laughing and it doesnt stop from there i think most males can relate to those two at some level its a great movie if you like crude humor you will love this movie. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
ameliaOct 10, 2007
oh my god. fantastic. that's all i can say. LOVED LOVED LOVED it. It was hilarious. Brilliant.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
JGAug 19, 2007
Funniest movie in a long time...laughing the whole 2 hrs.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
AnonumusButtcheeksSep 1, 2007
Simply the funniest comedy movie ive ever seen (except for Borat 8-P). If your lookin' for *** and a good time, you will definitly love this.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
MorganPSep 3, 2007
Vulgar, hilarious, and, like knocked up, one of the most real, true-to-life comedies of the decade. It talks the way high school seniors talk and is hilarious every step of the way.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
RobertB.Nov 8, 2007
I watched this movie 3 times. It was the best comedy this year. I can't wait for it to come on dvd. Everything from Mclovin to the Cops were great.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
MatthewH.Dec 21, 2007
FANTASTIC FILM, had me laughing from start to finish!!!!!!
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
MattTOct 5, 2007
By the way people, being a cop does not elevate you to some godlike status. My neighbor was a cop (he just moved like two days ago) and from that I can certainly tell you that some of them are immature ass hats. He was cool as hell though By the way people, being a cop does not elevate you to some godlike status. My neighbor was a cop (he just moved like two days ago) and from that I can certainly tell you that some of them are immature ass hats. He was cool as hell though but used his badge for fun every chance he could Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
5
MichaelRMar 13, 2008
It had some funny moments but it was almost super bad. American Pie is by far better then this. I saw the unrated edition and I only liked one of the extras which was with two hot naked women making out.That part alone was better then the It had some funny moments but it was almost super bad. American Pie is by far better then this. I saw the unrated edition and I only liked one of the extras which was with two hot naked women making out.That part alone was better then the whole movie. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
3
EdW.Oct 25, 2007
Surprisingly unfunny, too long, and borderline misogynistic. A real disappointment.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
3
PeteH.Mar 24, 2008
I was suckered by the hype. Loved 40 Year Old Virgin (as did my missus); Loved Knocked Up (as did my missus). Bought this full of anticipation after all the stellar reviews, set aside Sunday night (what a loser), settled down for a I was suckered by the hype. Loved 40 Year Old Virgin (as did my missus); Loved Knocked Up (as did my missus). Bought this full of anticipation after all the stellar reviews, set aside Sunday night (what a loser), settled down for a gutbusting laughfest and... er... couldn't believe how badly it sucked. In fact, I was so surprised at my negative reaction that I wondered if I'd been in some kind of dour mood without realising it and got a second opinion from my kid brother who loves the same nonsense (your Liebowskis, Anchormen, Taps etc) and was also massively pumped to watch the movie after the great reviews. His view: he was livid that he'd wasted two hours of his life that he'd never get back. Problems? Okay, here are a few: the main character is a c*ck. Not in a good, geeky, anti-hero kinda way. No, he's just a c*ck, in a fat, crass, thick angry whinging please-smack-me-in-the-mouth dish-it-out-but-can't-take-it-in-return kinda way. He's the thick, angry dude at a party that you just walk away from as fast as you can. And he's waaaaaaay too old for the role. His mate is as dull as a puddle so there's no comedy chemistry, just uninspired swearing met by empty puzzled/guilty looks. The whole McLovin thing was so fiercely try-hard and cynical. The cops' characters changed as the script required (one minute goofing, then psychopathic) but didn't amuse because of the drug-fuelled mood swings - it just seemed fake. The joy of the recent Apatow stuff has been that under the grotesquerie, the characters were oddly credible. This one, however, is nonsense. There's none of the Apatow goofing-around-great-fun-just-hanging-with-these-characters feel. There's none of the amiability of the benchmark for this sort of movie, American Pies 1 and 2 (and nothing to touch the brilliant set-piece gags from those movies); there's none of the inspired insanity of the better frathouse bashes like Animal House. It just doesn't deliver. And the bolt-on ending! WHY would that absolute raging hottie with a sensible head on her beautiful shoulders even look at Mr spiteful whiney aggressive oik, other than because the movie demanded that the two guys sorta "get the gal" at the end? Dude - weak. If I was meant to be rooting for him because he'd followed some long character arc... ah, no. 'Cos he didn't. He woke up hungover and feeling guilty because he'd been such a royal pain in the harris that even he'd spotted it. He inspired such antipathy in me, I would have much preferred it if the movie had ended with him falling in agonising slow motion down the long flight of stairs in that shopping mall. Would have been a two star review, but another star for the McLovin "it's in!" line, a solitary great moment that only underlined how duff the rest of this movie was. Everyone I have spoken to who has seen it agrees - rubbish film. Sorry folks, the critics all jumped a big emperor's clothes bandwagon. Save yourselves, it's too late for me. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
0
T.SherrillAug 17, 2007
This is a sad commentary about back-assward priorities, low class, and a tragic lack of respect for women.
0 of 2 users found this helpful
3
BillC.Aug 29, 2007
Not as funny as it should have been , the story really falls when it becomes obvious that the Police as just as big a baffoons as the teens in the story. The "cops" should have acted like real cops do.It would have added some tension, and Not as funny as it should have been , the story really falls when it becomes obvious that the Police as just as big a baffoons as the teens in the story. The "cops" should have acted like real cops do.It would have added some tension, and thus made the events funnier because they would have made the story more real. INstead , they went cheap on the story and tried to use the cops for half the laughs. It didn't work. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
5
EmanueleR.Sep 18, 2007
American Pie it's a Billy Wilder picture! How it's possible love a flat and boring movie like this?
0 of 1 users found this helpful
5
TatrTotzSep 3, 2011
There is lot's of hype around this movie, I think. Its really not that funny. Lots of penis jokes. It has its moments, but its not something I'd watch over and over again.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
5
Tranquilbez22Mar 22, 2012
Though the movie was enjoyable, I found it extremely over-rated mainly because of Michael Cera. Jonah Hill and Christopher Mintz- Passe do a fine job of being horny outcasts but, I only thought Cera's character was a bit of a drag because I'mThough the movie was enjoyable, I found it extremely over-rated mainly because of Michael Cera. Jonah Hill and Christopher Mintz- Passe do a fine job of being horny outcasts but, I only thought Cera's character was a bit of a drag because I'm sick of cera being type-casted as the shy nerd. Bill Hader and Seth Rogan are hilarious as the cops but I found some of the other jokes to be not funny, this movie is worth at least a rental Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
4
spadenxDec 9, 2011
Overrated, So overrated. It was a little funny but really it was just so stupid and unbelieveable that I couldnt look past it and I generally love comedies like this.
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
8
csw12Sep 8, 2012
Superbad is very crude, very nasty, and very funny. The movie comes across as very random and i believe that is were it thrives. The funniest movie of the year.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
9
bfoore90Feb 26, 2017
Great movie and a timeless comedy film. Wasn't interested in it when it first came out back in 09, my junior year in high school. I finally got to catch it a few summers ago and I instantly fell in love with it. Its funny, smart and originalGreat movie and a timeless comedy film. Wasn't interested in it when it first came out back in 09, my junior year in high school. I finally got to catch it a few summers ago and I instantly fell in love with it. Its funny, smart and original with a good look at those friendships in high school and how awkward and fun they can be. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
4
TeeMDec 10, 2007
After all the hype I really wanted to like this, but it was just okay. Amusing but not funny. While I liked the awkward interplay between the teenage characters, the constant swearing just seemed gratuitous and unrealistic, making the After all the hype I really wanted to like this, but it was just okay. Amusing but not funny. While I liked the awkward interplay between the teenage characters, the constant swearing just seemed gratuitous and unrealistic, making the characters come across as false in a way that's especially damning in a movie that's supposed to feel oh-so authentic. Uh...and the ending, with the girls? Sorry fat kid. Not gonna happen. Talk about unrealistic. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
RickSAug 28, 2007
God damn, yet another comedy about white boys and there yearning to get laid, When will it end. Film-making is getting worst and worst, it's been done and done way better. Same old sh!t about 2 white friends, sex obsessed,drug jokes, God damn, yet another comedy about white boys and there yearning to get laid, When will it end. Film-making is getting worst and worst, it's been done and done way better. Same old sh!t about 2 white friends, sex obsessed,drug jokes, I'm a nerd bla,bla. I wanted to shout out in the theater so hard saying-"don't worry when you reach college you'll be drunk and having Orgys almost everyday, and become a judge,lawyer, or film maker at the same time". Because there is no real issues here, I'm sure everybody dealt with much bigger things than this crap(and yes it can be funny), like race, teachers, music, dreams, growing up etc. But no, again this movie is painting a real sh!t view of American schools and why everyone i meet that went to a school like this has absolutely no personality. So maybe this movie is true, if it is, then it's certainly not funny. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
JewA.Oct 11, 2007
When's the last time there was a flawed female character in a movie? I honestly can't remember. We'll probably have to go back to like 1995 to find one.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
MikeMAug 21, 2007
Judd Apatow is quickly becoming one of the most reliable sources for comedy. "40 Year-Old Virgin" was a terrific success, and it was only continued by what is the funniest movie of 2007, and oddly one of the most touching, "Knocked Up." He Judd Apatow is quickly becoming one of the most reliable sources for comedy. "40 Year-Old Virgin" was a terrific success, and it was only continued by what is the funniest movie of 2007, and oddly one of the most touching, "Knocked Up." He is able to dispense a complete sense of realism in absurd situations and each film has you laughing all the way to the credits. Superbad is no exception. Two kids, Seth and Evan (played by Jonah Hill and Michael Cera respectively), are coming to the end of their high school years, and are facing the fact that they will be separated by college next year. They both are lacking in the love department, and wish to enter college non-virgins. Their friend Fogell (played hilariously by Christopher Mintz-Plasse), gets a fake ID, which sets them up as alcohol-snatchers for a party the upcoming night, with Seths crush hosting, and Evans crush going. The events that follow are hilarious. Although these boys have never known a womans sexual touch, they are still complete perverts, and scenes like the one in the chemistry class will have you bursting your gut. Also, the friendship between Seth and Evan can parallel the best friend kinship many felt during the high school years, where you never noticed how you acted slightly homosexual with your best friend, running by their needs and wants, and having petty arguments with them. Plus, Mclovins trip with the cops is a complete breeze, giving you laughter throughout every scene. Mclovins sense of partying and his blind innocence to finally just enjoying life is endearing, in a very different sort of way. When the two boys get to the party, and hilarities ensue, they are set out to either receive sex, or possibly learn a lesson about what girls really want. Slightly not as funny as Knocked Up, it is still a perfect pick for a great time at the theaters. Go, enjoy, and party with McLovin! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
PaulF.Aug 23, 2007
If you liked "Knocked Up" you'll probably like "Super Bad" starring some of the very same actors. The humor is super raunchy which rarely lets up. The subject matter mostly revolves around sex, drugs, and general bad boy and girl If you liked "Knocked Up" you'll probably like "Super Bad" starring some of the very same actors. The humor is super raunchy which rarely lets up. The subject matter mostly revolves around sex, drugs, and general bad boy and girl adolescent like behavior. There is not a lot of functionality about the characters at first, except maybe Evan who desires something more heartfelt. Yet even he succumbs halfway but does seem to hold true in the end. I would have thought this film to be somewhat nihilistic in overall philosophical outlook but by the end there does seem to be some deeper insights gained by the characters of their valued friendship and respect of the women in which they were tempted to objectify. This took a lot of internal fortitude as it seemingly went against the overarching cultural grain of the movie. Even many of the adults seemed to acts just as bad as the high schoolers, such as the police who seemed to be trying to relive their youth. Some of their stunts were silly and somewhat funny, especially one line with Fogell. However their excessive immaturity did not seem very realistic, though it helps just to go along it. "Mclovin" by the way just about stole the show with his half nerdy/half cool, and mostly lucky antics. However in the end it was he who was still trying to impress the chics with his faked IDs and staged arrests. Not much social redeeming value though I found it funny. "Super Bad" was neither super bad nor super good, though definitely worth a viewing. I did however think the film and many others lately push the envelope by using children to portray adult subject matter. Though I laughed at some of the private parts drawings it did seem to cross a line we rarely seem to question any more. I am concerned society is spinning in a less than wholesome direction. I am conflicted as to whether to support this film in light of this fact however it seems appropriate to deal with society in relation to how it is now and not some idealized moral standard. However it is my hope there will be a push for at least some cinematic restraints. In short "Super Bad" can entertain, offer some insight about friendship and treating others as human beings, but I doubt it will go down in the annals of film as a classic to forever be remembered. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
ChadS.Aug 25, 2007
"Superbad" wasn't written by Judd Apatow, it just seems like it was. In "Knocked Up", Pete(Paul Rudd) would rather engage in fantasy baseball with the guys than hang out with his wife. Seth(Jonah Hill), at eighteen(too young to be "Superbad" wasn't written by Judd Apatow, it just seems like it was. In "Knocked Up", Pete(Paul Rudd) would rather engage in fantasy baseball with the guys than hang out with his wife. Seth(Jonah Hill), at eighteen(too young to be suffering a midlife crisis), is barely five seconds into his burgeoning romance with Jules(Emma Stone) before he starts missing Evan(Michael Cera). Penis life-drawings notwithstanding, I don't think Seth is supposed to be read as gay, he just enjoys homosocial (not homosexual) relationships. "Superbad" is not the uproarious comedy it's purported to be(I think the problem is that Christopher Mintz-Plasse is a little green), but it's a success because of the film's willingness to portray male friendships with a frank ickiness not previously seen in American mainstream cinema. It's as if the screenwriters read William S. Pollack's "Real Boys: Rescuing Our Sons From the Myth of Boyhood". Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
HarrySep 20, 2008
No no no, everyday last year at school all i heard was how hilarious this movie was, how great it was so i finally rented it * wish i could get my 5 bucks back *. Pointless jokes that wernt even strong enough to make me laugh and i laugh at No no no, everyday last year at school all i heard was how hilarious this movie was, how great it was so i finally rented it * wish i could get my 5 bucks back *. Pointless jokes that wernt even strong enough to make me laugh and i laugh at about anything. People stop applauding this movie! The only remotely entertaining part was the cops, and that didn't last long. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
VinnieOct 6, 2007
I don't know what the hell Wade is talking about because Judd Apatow didn't write nor direct this movie so to call it HIS gem is pretty stupid...its an alright movie, but Seth Rogen's (and Judd's) Knoacked up seems to be I don't know what the hell Wade is talking about because Judd Apatow didn't write nor direct this movie so to call it HIS gem is pretty stupid...its an alright movie, but Seth Rogen's (and Judd's) Knoacked up seems to be very much in the shadow of this film considering how much better that one was compared to Super Bad. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
KoryN.Oct 7, 2007
Not very funny. Not very good. By the way, Kevin R, b e's grammar in that sentence is correct (I opted to see the movie and my friends opted to see the movie = I and my friends opted to see the movie).
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RyanP.Aug 16, 2007
this is one of the funniest, smartest, and greatest comedies in years...better than Knocked Up and a true classic. Don't miss the amazing and absolutely gut bustingly funny comedy.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
PamS.Aug 17, 2007
Among all of the Apatow production films, this takes the cake for the most hilarious. Although this may to quite vulgar for some (do not bring anyone under 15), most of the theater was laughing non-stop. The characters are ingenious. Seth Among all of the Apatow production films, this takes the cake for the most hilarious. Although this may to quite vulgar for some (do not bring anyone under 15), most of the theater was laughing non-stop. The characters are ingenious. Seth Rogen has written the funniest film this year. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
AdamSAug 18, 2007
Some of the hardest laughs I've had in a while. I agree with the review that said the movie "loses credibility" with the cops. There was too much of them and they got a little too ridiculous, but all in all I thought it was great.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
EricSAug 19, 2007
I have never written a reveiw of a movie on this site. Most user reviews tend to be rather polarizing and unreliable. But this film deserves the number i bestow upon it. This movie will be remembered next to Ferris Bueller's Day Off. I have never written a reveiw of a movie on this site. Most user reviews tend to be rather polarizing and unreliable. But this film deserves the number i bestow upon it. This movie will be remembered next to Ferris Bueller's Day Off. Absolute classic. Any fans of Arrested Development will be very happy to hear the masses laugh at Michael Cera. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
JaredCAug 19, 2007
It stays focussed but is a big bore of nonsense and crude unfunny content.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
ReelWorldAug 20, 2007
Stupid, vulgar, overlong, cliched and ridiculous film.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
TylerG.Aug 21, 2007
If you're a male teen that loves vulgar movie. See this film. It's the best in it's class. With memorable quotes in every line, loveable characters in every scene, this is the must see comedy of the summer.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
RonnyVAug 20, 2007
makes you laugh the whole way through. i thought this movie was better than Knocked Up.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
KristinHAug 20, 2007
Funny, charming, sweet, and ridiculously (and hilariously) vulgar, Superbad is worth a see to anyone who enjoys dirty jokes with a dash of heartfelt emotion.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JayK.Aug 22, 2007
Extremely crass (I would say to its detriment at the beginning), this movie is nonetheless a classic. I believe it is the best movie in ever made in it's genre. Funny, smart, charming, and the jokes are very clever even if the premise Extremely crass (I would say to its detriment at the beginning), this movie is nonetheless a classic. I believe it is the best movie in ever made in it's genre. Funny, smart, charming, and the jokes are very clever even if the premise isn't. Nice ending. You must be able to enjoy extremely crass language to enjoy the clever humor in this movie. Go see it! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BriankAug 20, 2007
I agree with the San Francisco Chronicle's synopsis the most of what this movie is about, constant hilarity and a laugh a minute sheer fun! This is a a great buddy-adventure movie, it made me feel old and wish I was back in these kids I agree with the San Francisco Chronicle's synopsis the most of what this movie is about, constant hilarity and a laugh a minute sheer fun! This is a a great buddy-adventure movie, it made me feel old and wish I was back in these kids shoes! It has a heart beating amid all the vulgar, raunchy and potty-mouthed fun! Stay for the credits people if you have yet to see this great summer comedy! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AliciaP.Aug 25, 2007
The best movie on the year! I loved the performances, the story and of course, it was funny as hell. I've seen this 3 times already, and still laugh my ass off every time.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JamesR.Aug 26, 2007
Brilliant film. I don't know what movie the negative reviewers saw, but it wasn't the one I saw that had the entire theater crying with laughter. Apart from "Knocked Up" I haven't seen a funnier movie in years. It's Brilliant film. I don't know what movie the negative reviewers saw, but it wasn't the one I saw that had the entire theater crying with laughter. Apart from "Knocked Up" I haven't seen a funnier movie in years. It's raunchy, nuanced, juvenile and deep all at the same time which should be completely impossible. Don't miss it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
FrancisSSep 1, 2007
aside from the dream-like cops, the movie is quite realistic. its a 10 if the cops were more like, well, cops.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
beSep 21, 2007
After reading glowing reviews, I and my friends, all in high school, opted to see the movie. We were sadly disappointed at the crude content, and decided that this is what older people thought high school to be like, not what it was really After reading glowing reviews, I and my friends, all in high school, opted to see the movie. We were sadly disappointed at the crude content, and decided that this is what older people thought high school to be like, not what it was really like. It was awkward sitting through only part of the movie, and the funniest parts were when there was no &*^%%$. The easiest and funniest way to see this movie is on YouTube clips. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MylesSSep 2, 2007
AMAZINGLY funny movie! Don't believe the negative reviews people may post... this movie may be crude and uncouth quite a bit, but it works so well for it! You'll cheer for these guys... and you will laugh- a LOT!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
SimonMSep 3, 2007
The only reason I give it a 9 and not a 10 is because I was told it was comperable to Fast Times at Ridgemont High. I'm sorry this film is no Fast Times, it is still a great picture just not quite Fast Times great.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
[Anonymous]Sep 4, 2007
Really funny. Very different from the average white boys and their yearning to get laid because of the fabulously realistic style and perfect performances by very believable young actors. The cops are pretty funny as over the top slapstick also.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
DrewFSep 4, 2007
Highly overhyped and disappointing. It has it's moments that will make you laugh, but more often then not it falls flat. It's been done before, and much better. Can't stress how disappointed i was.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AaronC.Sep 9, 2007
As a high school senior this movie was the best comedy in my lifetime. That is of course with the exception of Tommy Boy.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
RyanPNov 6, 2008
Definitely a lot of laugh out loud moments. Very amusing, very funny, money well spent.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MichaelM.Jan 20, 2008
You really have to see "American Graffiti" to completely appreciate this movie, it's very reflexive of it. This new style of language and set-ups blows most other comedies out of the water. One of the funniest movies I have ever seen You really have to see "American Graffiti" to completely appreciate this movie, it's very reflexive of it. This new style of language and set-ups blows most other comedies out of the water. One of the funniest movies I have ever seen that also leaves a great feeling after watching it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
StanS.Jan 9, 2008
If you don't enjoy talk of sex or porn or in general high-school-boy discussion then don't see this movie, but if you do then check it out because it is easily the funniest movie of the year.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
AdamC.Feb 2, 2008
I loved this movie. It was like a Friday night out with you buddies as a teenager. Sure, it was a lot more outlandish, but hey, isn't that the point?
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
NigelMar 17, 2008
best movie ever
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BrianM.Mar 25, 2008
Everything about this film was amazing. don't listen to people who rate it lowly. they just think they're great because they didn't like it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
Ja-cog-cobPdudeMar 27, 2008
It was the best movie ever!!! I liked the "superbad" scenes!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
AlexG.Apr 11, 2008
Thank god this film was of pure excellence because the name could have provided critics with an insult, "this film was super...baaad" but its an amazing film, good work Rogen and Golberg.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
GregAMay 25, 2008
It passed the time and provided some hilarious moments particularly in the first 30 minutes, but it dragged on too long, the cop scenes were not really that funny in the end. Compared to "Road Trip" this is comes a poor second.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
seana.May 28, 2008
On most occasions I would not write a review on a movie such as this one, however this movie was different to me, but not amazing. Superbad is one of those movies that has a good amount of jokes in the dialog but isn't outrageously On most occasions I would not write a review on a movie such as this one, however this movie was different to me, but not amazing. Superbad is one of those movies that has a good amount of jokes in the dialog but isn't outrageously stupid. Although the title and trailer would suggest that the movie will be a really stupid movie that any teenager will enjoy, it is not. It actually has a good story and although the movie is filled with foule mouthed humor, the words are strung together in a way that won't offend even the most offend able person on this planet. It was a great pleasure to watch and although I rented it, this will be a movie I will purchase to see as many times as I wish. Superbad isn't really super bad... but it does strike a spot in my heart, and although it can't be compared to "Fast Times At Ridgemont High" or many others I could list, It doesn't need to compare because it isn't the same kind of movie... it's a love story. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ClarkWAug 10, 2008
This is the funniest movie I have ever seen. Michal Cera is at his awkward best, Johnah Hill is hilarious, and Seth Rogen will have you laughing untilt the end. What makes this movie so great is that for it is exactly how high school kids This is the funniest movie I have ever seen. Michal Cera is at his awkward best, Johnah Hill is hilarious, and Seth Rogen will have you laughing untilt the end. What makes this movie so great is that for it is exactly how high school kids act and talk. It is the most quoatable movie ever, and is pure gold. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
bobbyh.May 17, 2009
great movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ToddBJun 13, 2009
One of the funniest movies I have ever seen. Bought the movie, and every time its on Cable I cant turn it off
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AdamH.Nov 10, 2007
I thought this was a documentary of my life for parts of this movie. Oh yes I know what being a loser is like and I think Apatow does too, but he definitely isn't one anymore. This is a comic masterpiece. Such funny dialogue and overall I thought this was a documentary of my life for parts of this movie. Oh yes I know what being a loser is like and I think Apatow does too, but he definitely isn't one anymore. This is a comic masterpiece. Such funny dialogue and overall just incredibly hilarious.... best movie of all time!!! From the first scene on I did not stop laughing! I was actually exhausted from watching a movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
michaelr.Oct 10, 2007
It is the best teenage sex comedy since Porkys. and it is the best teenage comedy since American Graffiti.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
RJM.Nov 9, 2007
seriously, this movie is horrendously bad. the novelty of the crudeness wears off after about 10 minutes, and then you're just inundated with terrible dialogue for another hour and a half. completely worn out stuff. i wanted to like it. seriously, this movie is horrendously bad. the novelty of the crudeness wears off after about 10 minutes, and then you're just inundated with terrible dialogue for another hour and a half. completely worn out stuff. i wanted to like it. but it was so not good. kinda made me depressed that everybody else was cracking up all the time: made me think, oh my god, people are so terribly lame. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
BenF.Dec 14, 2007
Overrated, was expecting something awesome but it seem more of a rip off of super troopers. Not another teen movie was a lot funnier then this. There was nothing smart or clever about this movie. Worse part is, guy's like them never get Overrated, was expecting something awesome but it seem more of a rip off of super troopers. Not another teen movie was a lot funnier then this. There was nothing smart or clever about this movie. Worse part is, guy's like them never get girls like those. If all the girls were nerdy it would be believable. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ButtM.Dec 15, 2007
"Not another teen movie was a lot funnier than this." are you fucking serious!? i don't even know how to begin addressing such a ridiculous statement. Superbad is one of the funniest movies i have ever seen period, but it's "Not another teen movie was a lot funnier than this." are you fucking serious!? i don't even know how to begin addressing such a ridiculous statement. Superbad is one of the funniest movies i have ever seen period, but it's definitely the kind of thing where you either get it or you don't. KEY POINT= IT'S NOT SUPPOSED TO BE BELIEVABLE, at least not in terms of the situations the characters get in. what makes the movie work is that the dialog and characters ARE believable, in and of themselves. Boom. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
AlexDec 10, 2007
A brilliant comedy. It's almost as funny reading some of these reviews. Mark G!!! I think you missed the humor. Macho cops!? Um yeah, thats sort of the joke. And the cheesy sentiment! I think you missed something... I guess this movie A brilliant comedy. It's almost as funny reading some of these reviews. Mark G!!! I think you missed the humor. Macho cops!? Um yeah, thats sort of the joke. And the cheesy sentiment! I think you missed something... I guess this movie really demands a certain sense of humor. Some people just don't have it. Overall a great film for people who are not easily offended. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
SteveKDec 18, 2007
Bill Cosby once famously said that you don't have to swear to be funny. Superbad starts slowly, almost entirely to its insistence in having the most vulgar dialogue in recent movie history. It gets better (much better AND funnier) as Bill Cosby once famously said that you don't have to swear to be funny. Superbad starts slowly, almost entirely to its insistence in having the most vulgar dialogue in recent movie history. It gets better (much better AND funnier) as the movie goes on, when they move on from the obvious and lowbrow humor and actually put the characters through some truly funny scenarios. The cops are hilarious and the dynamic between the two friends is touching. This is a gem of a movie that is dressed up like an unfortunate piece of turd. I just wish more moviemakers would realize that they don't need the "shock" factor of predictable "teen comedy" crap. It's like hearing a dirty joke for the first time. It might make you giggle (when you're 12) because somebody said the "F" word, but after hearing so many of these, the dirty joke stops being funny and just seems dirty. Just like many people grow up from those antics, here's hoping that movie making from Apatow and others grows up as well, because they have the potential to make some truly funny stuff, without the smut. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
StandinDec 2, 2007
The best movie ever if you are male and haven't yet lost your soul
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
SamBOct 22, 2007
Firstly, I loved this movie, mainly because I was expecting something crude (which it was) but stupid, something like the 40-year-old Virgin (which wasn't nearly as clever as it was stupid). Superbad is the opposite in this regard, as Firstly, I loved this movie, mainly because I was expecting something crude (which it was) but stupid, something like the 40-year-old Virgin (which wasn't nearly as clever as it was stupid). Superbad is the opposite in this regard, as while it still contained language that was probably even worse, jokes about terribly "icky" subjects such as periods, penises and penis drawings; it was original. Many people will say it was just like Knocked up, American Pie, etc. but I think it took the teen comedy genre down a much funnier path. I mean, the 40-year-old virgin and American pie relied mainly on "cringe" comedy, putting characters in situations that are funny because they are taboo or sexual (they are teen movies after all). While Superbad does use this type of comedy (hence the 8/10 instead of full marks), the larger laughs and more funny bits of the movie were completely original. I mean, penis drawings?! Mclovin?! It even had a (sort-of) moral at the end! The writing was brilliant, and for that reason, and possibly biased by my complete lack of faith in this movie prior to seeing it, I think it deserves a well earned 8/10. Also, to all reviewers who gave this 0/10 for being childish, vulgar, etc. What were you expecting? If you can't see through that, or can't understand why your cinema is erupting in laughter, then you should have known before you saw this that you wouldn't like it, so do yourself us a favour and don't watch these types of movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AlanA.Dec 30, 2007
Superbad is Supergood Funny as hell the funniest high school movie. Or comedy for that matter. GO Apatow!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
THWAug 16, 2007
Had me laughing from start to finish. Definitely the funniest movie I've seen all summer. And like previous Apatow movies, ends on a very touching note where it shows that the underdog will often triumph. You'll be quoting lines Had me laughing from start to finish. Definitely the funniest movie I've seen all summer. And like previous Apatow movies, ends on a very touching note where it shows that the underdog will often triumph. You'll be quoting lines from it for days afterwards. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
PeterBAug 18, 2007
Unbelievably funny. In my opinion the funniest film of all time. That may be partially because I have had some of these exact conversations with my friends, but I honestly don't understand how anyone could not like it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
JONZOMBIEAug 18, 2007
Hilarious!!! Definitely the funniest movie of this summer. so many priceless lines, and unforgettable moments. this is the kind of movie we will all remember in our senior years. WARNING, really not suitable for young children. but Hilarious!!! Definitely the funniest movie of this summer. so many priceless lines, and unforgettable moments. this is the kind of movie we will all remember in our senior years. WARNING, really not suitable for young children. but definitely for some parents to watch. haha, they will see what high school parties are really like. great movie! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BattleAug 18, 2007
Absolutely hilarious... best comedy I've seen in a long time. Far better then knocked up. The laughs were steady the whole way through and it never got too sappy. Great ending, short and sweet. Epic movie...this is the first movie I Absolutely hilarious... best comedy I've seen in a long time. Far better then knocked up. The laughs were steady the whole way through and it never got too sappy. Great ending, short and sweet. Epic movie...this is the first movie I will see twice in the theatre since sin city. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
travisAug 19, 2007
I enjoyed it although I found it uneven at times and a little longer than needed.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
THATMOVIEGUYAug 19, 2007
Sooo funny. Seth Rogen has brings it (he co-wrote it), and the 2 stars are just as insanely cast as everything Judd Apatow has ever done. Long live the John Hughes/Kevin Smith of the almost over decade. And hopefully, Judd Apatow won't Sooo funny. Seth Rogen has brings it (he co-wrote it), and the 2 stars are just as insanely cast as everything Judd Apatow has ever done. Long live the John Hughes/Kevin Smith of the almost over decade. And hopefully, Judd Apatow won't make a Jersey Girl or Knocked Up 2 to spoil it his reign anytime soon. Oh yeah, and this movie is freaking hilarious to the max! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
yowazupAug 19, 2007
Low brow, but in a smart way, "Superbad" is the comedy for men who thought "Knocked Up," was too much of a chickflick, and for women who can look past the penis talk and find something subtle and smart(a lot more than you'd think). Low brow, but in a smart way, "Superbad" is the comedy for men who thought "Knocked Up," was too much of a chickflick, and for women who can look past the penis talk and find something subtle and smart(a lot more than you'd think). Credited as a producer, Judd Apatow's Midas touch continues to turn to gold everything that sounds flat on paper as it makes its way to the big screen. "Superbad," is a virgin sex comedy about two high schoolers, Seth and Evan (Jonah Hill and Micheal Cera), in their last couple weeks of senior year who have spent a lifetime as the awkward kids who have yet to run the bases. Alchohol seems to be their only answer to get with the girls of their wet dreams, and unlike the normal teen fair, each have a girl in mind, and both are complete in their characterizations. No girls seem to run around like faceless bodies. Its not what you might expect from a teen comedy, all in a good way. Its fun and deep. Its what you want to see before you go back to school. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
StanB.Aug 21, 2007
Typical male humor. Started out good, became increasingly tiresome toward the end.
0 of 0 users found this helpful