Warner Bros. Pictures | Release Date: June 28, 2006
6.5
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 1250 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
727
Mixed:
221
Negative:
302
Watch Now
Buy On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
4
DarynP.Jun 29, 2006
[***SPOILERS***] I have to admit that I was not eager to see this film, especially not on opening day, but a friend bought me a ticket, so I said, "What the hey..." As a writer of fantasy, I have to say that I am a purist when it comes to [***SPOILERS***] I have to admit that I was not eager to see this film, especially not on opening day, but a friend bought me a ticket, so I said, "What the hey..." As a writer of fantasy, I have to say that I am a purist when it comes to mythology. Changes can be made at times, but the overall mythology should remain the same. Bryan Singer really needs to start reading the mythology of the comic book characters he brings to the big screen. I'm sorry, but why is Superman drinking alcohol, having unprotected sex and an illegitimate child, and abandoning the world he swore to protect for five years? Did he just think everything would be OK while he was gone? And why did he leave? Are we to assume that Superman didn't believe Jor'El when he told him that he was the only survivor of the Planet Krypton. Some father/son relationship they have, huh? And if he did go, shouldn't he have died there? After all, isn't kryptonite deadly to Superman? And isn't Krypton made of kryptonite? I know a lot of people liked this film because it gave a human feel to Superman, but c'mon people, Superman is NOT human. He's an alien raised by humans. He's a superhero, not a super human or a mutant. The storyline in this film was weak at best, and the special effects were not worth $7.50. I'm sorry to those of you who don't care about staying true to a story that's entertained audiences for nearly 70 years, but I have to say that if this is the best we can get in a revival of the Superman film franchise, then maybe some franchises are better left dead. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
JasonH.Jun 30, 2006
Why make a movie if there is going to be no dialog and no story? This is the question i would like to anyone who praises this Superman movie. I think the people who gave good reviews are just so excited that Superman is back on the big Why make a movie if there is going to be no dialog and no story? This is the question i would like to anyone who praises this Superman movie. I think the people who gave good reviews are just so excited that Superman is back on the big screen that they didnt notice the lack of story line, or dialog (dialog was replaced by awkward stares between characters like in King Kong, but at least King Kong had a reason for all the awkward stares because of a monkey that cant speak English, not Superman however.) A waste of Kevin Spacey, a waste of Routh, a waste of time other than the grandiose imagery which fit the Superman but there wasn't anything storyline to back in up with or enhance it. I dont know how a movie that cost this much to make can get by without anyone noticing that there was a complete lack of a real story line. And Lex Luthor "Real Estate Agent" didnt qualify as much of a villian to Superman as they tried to make it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
HowCanYouNotGetItJun 30, 2006
I'm not a comic book fan (Sandman excepted). I thoroughly enjoyed this movie. A number of the things observant viewers have noted (at least one dialogue hitch, at least one plot hole, etc.) occurred to me as I watched it, but I was too I'm not a comic book fan (Sandman excepted). I thoroughly enjoyed this movie. A number of the things observant viewers have noted (at least one dialogue hitch, at least one plot hole, etc.) occurred to me as I watched it, but I was too caught up in its positive aspects to notice - and that's RARE for me, so plenty of things seem to have been done right here. I liked everything that was explored in the story and found that pretty much every element "worked." I *enjoyed* the (relatively) slow pace. As a friend of mine observed, Singer is achieving "moments" and themes in his work (from "The Usual Suspects" to "Superman Returns") that are on par with early Spielberg genius -- say, some of the scenes in "Jaws." [*****SPOILERS BELOW****] I've read some intelligent naysaying about the film (in mainstream publications) and then I've read some naysaying from people here who amaze me with their density. Lois' article being evidence that she doesn't love Superman? How much more obvious a symbol of her hurt abandonment do you need? Superman not having family values because he slept with Lois out of wedlock back in II? He thought they were going to stay together, and if you have a problem with the before-the-ceremony thing, take it up with Richard Lester, not Singer. "Lex Luthor as a real estate agent isn't villainous?" Did you even SEE the first movie -- Luthor's "affinity for beachfront property," control of land, and genocidal schemes to get it? "When is this movie supposed to take place?" After II - apparently, all the media explaining that to expectant Superman fans missed your house. "Lois shouldn't live with a guy or sleep with him?" Yes, I suppose the fact that this film is in sync with modern times would offend certain people, even though the entire point of her refusal to marry the guy is to illustrate the torch she's carrying for Superman. Disliking the movie is one thing, but a handful of people here seem to have astoundingly backwards reasons for doing so. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
PBBrownJun 30, 2006
I love Superman and think he is the greatest superhero ever but this Superman movie was a movie about nothing....and one of the most boring films I have seen in years. Just how young does Singer think Superman is supposed to be and I love Superman and think he is the greatest superhero ever but this Superman movie was a movie about nothing....and one of the most boring films I have seen in years. Just how young does Singer think Superman is supposed to be and what's up with the plagiarized lines from Superman 1. And can someone please tell me what was the point of having Lex Luthor in the film. His story line was totally ridiculous and Superman certainly had nothing to do with resolving it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
LadyfingerJun 30, 2006
The one is for Kevin Spacey but even he can't save this boring slow moving poor excuse for a movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
StevenR.Jun 30, 2006
[***SPOILERS***] I guess you can't shoot a Superman movie expecting to create a big twist in the saga when you really don't realize what this hero is all about. A son? A woman who makes believe her boyfriend he has a son? A stalker[***SPOILERS***] I guess you can't shoot a Superman movie expecting to create a big twist in the saga when you really don't realize what this hero is all about. A son? A woman who makes believe her boyfriend he has a son? A stalker hero? A super wuss? A super long movie that really doesn't go anywhere? Where is the real Superman? Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MelanieJun 30, 2006
Great summer movie! Brandon Routh does an excellent job playing Superman.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
WorstOfAllTimeJun 30, 2006
[***SPOILERS***] Let's see JR was "pissed off" with the ending but that didn't stop him from giving it a perfect score of ten? OK JR back on your medicine. As for this Superman flick Kevin Spacey did the best job ever as Lex Luther [***SPOILERS***] Let's see JR was "pissed off" with the ending but that didn't stop him from giving it a perfect score of ten? OK JR back on your medicine. As for this Superman flick Kevin Spacey did the best job ever as Lex Luther and the rest of the cast were wooden indians. The movie wasted about an hour and portrayed Kate Bosworth as a hard nosed bitch who uses Richard White and only cares for her bastard son. By the way, she hates Superman and has won a Pulitizer Prize for her book on why the world does not need Superman. After all, he has only saved her life about a million times and countless others. Deep down she LOVES Superman, hasn't she always? Now they share a son as the director has chosen to humanize Superman even though he is an alien. His uniform has been modified from its bright red cape and S to a dark shadowry crimson/burgundy for the worse. As for the other characters they try their best but there isn't much to work with. The plot has more holes than Swiss Cheese. Once again most of the critics who rave how wonderful this movie is have been bought and paid for. The fact is that this franchise should have remained dead and burried. It is past it's time and this new version is as stale as a typewriter in the here and now computer age. Forget this turkey. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
PieroP.Jun 30, 2006
I think my problem is that i was expecting too much out of this film, i was waiing for it since i saw the superman returns logo 1 year and half ago, since then ive been looking at pics and clips from it hyping myself for the best movie of allI think my problem is that i was expecting too much out of this film, i was waiing for it since i saw the superman returns logo 1 year and half ago, since then ive been looking at pics and clips from it hyping myself for the best movie of all time, dont get me wrong, it was a good movie and people claped, but i just didnt feel it, i felt dissapointed all the flying scenes are computer generated and that made me pissed,,,,, F... U!! brian singer for screwing up my hero on the big screen, today am gonna see it on IMAX hopefully i get a good great out of it , by the way im not a die hard fan of superman but i loved him since i was 7 years old... Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
LenH.Jul 10, 2006
After seeing the film, I would have rated it a 7, but after thinking about it, the more I love what this movie stood for. It was a pleasant blending of old and new. The casting was incredible and the mix of action, romance and fun was brilliant.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
M.LeeJul 1, 2006
This was a fun, and good film. It was very reminiiscient of the originals. The only thing I DIDN"T LIKE was Parker Posey, especially at the end. Brandon Routh IS CHRIS REEVE...PERIOD!!!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
AndyC.Jul 1, 2006
I am very dissappointed with this film. I had to leave with 15 minutes left. I'm a big superman fan and you destroyed this one. Tell me how Lois Lane could be knocked around a jet without a mark on her body. The plot was so bad that I I am very dissappointed with this film. I had to leave with 15 minutes left. I'm a big superman fan and you destroyed this one. Tell me how Lois Lane could be knocked around a jet without a mark on her body. The plot was so bad that I wondered how it made it to the big screen. Gene Hackman was a much better Lex Luther. Opening night and there was 25 people in the theatre that holds about 500. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
EddieB.Jul 1, 2006
NOTE: **I was falling asleep during the first half hour of the film because I was drunk.** [***SPOILER***] I enjoyed seeing Superman return to the big screen, but it didn't take long for me to realize that nothing "big" was actually NOTE: **I was falling asleep during the first half hour of the film because I was drunk.** [***SPOILER***] I enjoyed seeing Superman return to the big screen, but it didn't take long for me to realize that nothing "big" was actually happening in the movie. Perhaps I'm a little jaded by previous superhero films--I couldn't get excited over a guy who can fly, lift heavy objects, leap tall buildings, blow out huge fires, and use his eyes to start fires. He can do everything (kryptonite puts a little bit more strain on his abilities), but unfortunately it's nothing we haven't seen before in other superhero films. I wouldn't have minded the lack of originality so much if the story was compelling. Here's a spoiler: It's not. There was no main hero vs. villain fight and the overall plot was weak. The Superman and Lois Lane here make a boring couple--I really didn't care Lois ended up with Superman or Cyclops (also a bore in the X-Men movies). Kumar was a wasted talent. Special effects were very well done, but again, the special actions themselves were not awe-inspiring. Several lines of dialogue were (intentionally) funny enough to make me chuckle. Still, my good sense of humor and nostalgic feelings toward the legendary Man of Steel wern't enough to keep me interested for the full two and a half hours. I guess drinking before the movie *was* good preparation for such a snoozefest. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
DavetheWaveJul 1, 2006
The right people (cast and director) with the wrong story. The story was a stinker, but there were some great moments, most notably the airplane sequence. Use the same cast with a more elegant script and you've got one for the ages. The right people (cast and director) with the wrong story. The story was a stinker, but there were some great moments, most notably the airplane sequence. Use the same cast with a more elegant script and you've got one for the ages. Better luck next time. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
DwayneW.Jul 12, 2006
I really don't get why people are so vitriolic towards this movie. Clearly, the whole CONCEPT of Superman (or any other action icon, for that matter) is fantastical to begin with! So whats w/all the cries of "stretch of logic"? How can I really don't get why people are so vitriolic towards this movie. Clearly, the whole CONCEPT of Superman (or any other action icon, for that matter) is fantastical to begin with! So whats w/all the cries of "stretch of logic"? How can a movie about a man who can fly and save a plane from crashing and shooting laser beams from his eyes, be "logical"? Come on, people! And also, why are people complaining that Superman looks sad in the film?! His father is dead, his home is destroyed, and the girl he's in love w/is w/someone else! Wouldn't you be sad if you were faced w/all that? Yes, he's SUPER, but if you were really watching the film, you would have noticed how the writers humanised him, which is an aspect of the fim I love! Ironically, as the writers humanize him, Bryan Singer apotheosizes him, which is a bit inevitable, HELLO- HE'S SUPERMAN!! The whole Jesus complex really is inexorable! I really can imagine die-hard fans being disappointed after realizing that the film isn't a rousing, action-packed revisit a la "Batman Begins", but really guys, the dramatic elements work. Sure, Brandon Routh is a bit monosyllabic and one-dimensional, but blame that on the writes. Routh does the best he can w/the material he's given. W/that said, I really think that "Superman Returns" is the first great film of this summer! PURE ESCAPIST FUN! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
ElenaJul 1, 2006
Let's see Lex is asked will millions die? His answer is billions. So this illogical plot is to create a new continent, a new uninhabital island is more like it. But if billions die, who would be around or want to live on a pile of Let's see Lex is asked will millions die? His answer is billions. So this illogical plot is to create a new continent, a new uninhabital island is more like it. But if billions die, who would be around or want to live on a pile of rocks? Why let this little hole in the story stop this incredulous boring movie from continuing on for nearly three hours. Lois Lane played a real bitch and a cheating one at that. Both Richard White, Perry's nephew and Superman deserve better. Run boys run and don't let the door hit you on the way out. This movie is a mess. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
PaulT.Jul 14, 2006
An adequate film, but not particularly memorable. Seriously, is this the reason Bryan Singer had to pass up directing X-Men 3?
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
DanielleT.Jul 15, 2006
Not your comic fan's superman. I love the Christopher Reeve movies but they are quite dated. Nice to see a realistic Superman. Great visuals and acting. Lot's of emotion and intelligence. Doesn't insult the viewer's intelligence.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
SaudefhS.Jul 16, 2006
Pretty Impresive and nostalgic I should say that is the best massive FX movie of all time "NO ERROR FOUND". but now talking about acting I should say that Brandon Routh its quite motionless when we talk about getting hit or trying to make an Pretty Impresive and nostalgic I should say that is the best massive FX movie of all time "NO ERROR FOUND". but now talking about acting I should say that Brandon Routh its quite motionless when we talk about getting hit or trying to make an effort on pulling, hitting ,dragging and blabla bla...... Bryan singer its a good director but I think he abused with " too many superheroe poses" I even thought I was watching Zoolander or Dragon Ball Z anime. Lets hope for the next film to see a little bit of more action something like a pum, clash, bang! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
ShaunC.Jul 1, 2006
Fantastic special effects, slow in places, but a grand beginning for greater things.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
RyanP.Jul 17, 2006
This movie is somewhat enjoyable but i just didnt care for it. for the most expesive movie ever made ($260 million dollar budget. has gone through dozens of scripst in the past dozen years..... thtas gotta mean something.) the actors in thisThis movie is somewhat enjoyable but i just didnt care for it. for the most expesive movie ever made ($260 million dollar budget. has gone through dozens of scripst in the past dozen years..... thtas gotta mean something.) the actors in this movie were way too young for their parts considering this movie takes place 5 years after superman 2 (kevin spacey made a decent lex luthor).superman was just really hollow. its hard not to go into detail about htis movie without ruining the horrible plot. the movie is just ridiculous. for its good parts its worth a sit through but not worth a purchase or even spending $4.50 to see it. if you have one of those blockbuster/hollywood unlimited rentals month pass, just wait to rent the movie to see it. big disappointment, even X3 was better. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
K-DogJul 19, 2006
Unimpressed. X2's action scenes were so much cooler. Also...why follow the formula of the old Superman movies? Should have taken it in a new direction much like Batman Begins did.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
AngieJ.Jul 2, 2006
Great to have Superman back. Great movie !
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
BobbieJul 2, 2006
A snoozefest. Very slow with no plot...
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
AndrewH.Jul 2, 2006
I really enjoyed this movie. Part of the reason why is the number of cues from the original 1978 movie. From the opening credits, the theme tune, the wonderful voice of Marlon Brando, Brandon's similarity to Christopher and even the I really enjoyed this movie. Part of the reason why is the number of cues from the original 1978 movie. From the opening credits, the theme tune, the wonderful voice of Marlon Brando, Brandon's similarity to Christopher and even the dialogue, I was transported back to my childhood, whilst being firmly in the present. True, it doesn't offer much to the Superman story (apart from one new element that I won't mention here) but all in all it's a great remake. Kevin Spacey makes a great Lex but I would love to have seen him used more than they did. He never really looked like he was being stretched in this role when Lex could be such a great baddy. Didn't really enjoy Kate Bosworth as Lois, she didn't offer much at all. The special effects are flawless - great movie! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JudyM.Jul 2, 2006
Great Movie!! I was glued!!!!!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
TamaraJ.Jul 2, 2006
This movie was great. I felt it showed a different side to superman, which I wasn't expecting. I agree with some critics that explanations of what happened, where he went, etc. should of stayed in the movie. I took several young girls This movie was great. I felt it showed a different side to superman, which I wasn't expecting. I agree with some critics that explanations of what happened, where he went, etc. should of stayed in the movie. I took several young girls with me to see it, the lasted generation, have no clue about the orginal story line, etc. None the less, it was a terrific movie, I must go see it again!! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
ErinD.Jul 23, 2006
Wonderful! brings the magic back. no christover reeve, but routh was a smart move.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
SariahK.Jul 27, 2006
i didnt like this movie one bit. It should be called Lois Lane Returns. I mean come on. None of it made sense. The kid? Whats with the floppy hair?
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
SteveS.Jul 27, 2006
Critics complain about this movie because it's not "Super" enough. Well, folks, "super" is more than just special effects - witness X-3, arguably the worst of the lot. And the reason... Singer brings humanity to super heroes. He makes Critics complain about this movie because it's not "Super" enough. Well, folks, "super" is more than just special effects - witness X-3, arguably the worst of the lot. And the reason... Singer brings humanity to super heroes. He makes them one of us. And, he does the same thing with Superman. Despite all his godlike powers, despite all the super heroics, this movie shines because of his human frailties. As far as Routh is concerned, I'll admit I started out as a double nay-sayer. First, Chris Reeve was untouchable. Second, if he was touchable, they already had a super cast in "Smallville." Singer was all wrong. But he wasn't. Not at all. I can't wait until the sequel. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
SteveP.Jul 28, 2006
Brandon Routh was very good in this tribute to Christopher Reeve, although I don't think that was his intention but I was very disappointed that Kevin Spacey wasn't give a smarter Lex Luthor to portray. Lex Luthor is supposed to be Brandon Routh was very good in this tribute to Christopher Reeve, although I don't think that was his intention but I was very disappointed that Kevin Spacey wasn't give a smarter Lex Luthor to portray. Lex Luthor is supposed to be too smart to let his own huberous implicate him in any criminal endeavor. The comics have it right in their treatment of this character and I wish the movie producers would take this character treatment of LL and put him on the big screen. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
BoredJul 3, 2006
Its official holywood ran out of movie ideas in 2002, first it was computer game to film then comic to film then it was remake all the good old movies now its lets try and follow a franchise that was arond 20 years ago and not call it a Its official holywood ran out of movie ideas in 2002, first it was computer game to film then comic to film then it was remake all the good old movies now its lets try and follow a franchise that was arond 20 years ago and not call it a remake. this film would have been better if it had been a proper remake and had gone down the batman begins route, at least then some of us would be able to follow what plot there was. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
ClintM.Jul 4, 2006
Excellent movie!! Brandon Routh completely nails Superman's charm and strength ... and Kent's clumsiness and likability. I absolutely loved it!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
DeepaR.Jul 4, 2006
Superman is my ever green hero.WHen such a moie comes there are high expectations but this movie was not upto the expectations. The relation with Lois is always half understood. Not clearly shown. Most of the scenes are "once seen" in some Superman is my ever green hero.WHen such a moie comes there are high expectations but this movie was not upto the expectations. The relation with Lois is always half understood. Not clearly shown. Most of the scenes are "once seen" in some other movies. The HERO always seemed to be in sorrow instead he should be the one which gives inspiration to kids( atleast). Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
DavidO.Jul 4, 2006
Singer's Superman Returns is a wonderful portrayal of modern myth. It is also a homage to the original Richard Donner Superman film. At times this makes the movie feel as if it never quite gets out from under Donner's shadow, but Singer's Superman Returns is a wonderful portrayal of modern myth. It is also a homage to the original Richard Donner Superman film. At times this makes the movie feel as if it never quite gets out from under Donner's shadow, but this is easily forgiven when the audience realizes how cleverly Singer examines the mythic hero in the modern world. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
JerkyJul 4, 2006
[***SPOILER***] It's a bird alright. The bird is a turkey of super proportion. This movie drags on inevitably for what seems like eternity. The new Superman resembles the old Superman. Other than that fact they have nothing in common. [***SPOILER***] It's a bird alright. The bird is a turkey of super proportion. This movie drags on inevitably for what seems like eternity. The new Superman resembles the old Superman. Other than that fact they have nothing in common. The movie just drags on after a promising opening score. Clark and Supes On have been missing for 5 years but no one pays any attention to that. Lois acts cold to poor old Clark and melts when she sees her SUPE. Which is she: BITCH or TEENY BOPPER? The plot was ridiculous. If you kill billions who will want the rock pile that Lex created. All he did was resolve the overpopulation issue for the planet. Thanks Lex. Seriously other Kevin Spacey the acting was horrible. Some franchises are better off left dead and Superman is no exception. CGI can only go so far before it becomes an irritant. In this case, after 5 minutes of it I wanted to puke. C'mon Hollywood we don't all have ADD. Stop with the flashing lights, bells and whistles and give us crisp storylines, acting and directing. Avoid the BIRD. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
GregJul 4, 2006
Walked into the movie without big expectations then walked out looking for the nearest oven to stick my head into. Terribly boring and unfunny (bar the part with the dog at the start) I can only say Kevin Spacey did a good job, Brandon Routh Walked into the movie without big expectations then walked out looking for the nearest oven to stick my head into. Terribly boring and unfunny (bar the part with the dog at the start) I can only say Kevin Spacey did a good job, Brandon Routh is promising but Kate Bosworth just didn't seem to pull it off. Back to the drawing board guys. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BillW.Jul 5, 2006
The perfect return to superman. It reminded me of why I was such a fan of the earlier movies as a boy. Gave me everything I was looking for from it. Excellent.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
EnzoD.Jul 5, 2006
In a word, terrible. You ask me to suspend my belief just to swallow the whole superman backstory and then you give me a movie with massive plot wholes, horrid acting, poorly developed characters and a single action beat. Sitting through In a word, terrible. You ask me to suspend my belief just to swallow the whole superman backstory and then you give me a movie with massive plot wholes, horrid acting, poorly developed characters and a single action beat. Sitting through this movie was like watching a kitten get thrown against a wall of spikes. Superman Picks Things Up aka Superman Returns is complete trash. How anyone with a brain can give it a good rating is beyond me. Still waiting to see if they give the daily planet globe a credit on IMDB, it was by far the most interesting character here. COMPLETE TRASH. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
MaseJul 5, 2006
For a long definitley big movie, it feels awfully small. I have to admit everytime the fantastic Superman score started, i was startled awake and back into the picture. Just surprisinly vacant at times especially comming from Singer. Routh For a long definitley big movie, it feels awfully small. I have to admit everytime the fantastic Superman score started, i was startled awake and back into the picture. Just surprisinly vacant at times especially comming from Singer. Routh is very handsome, and that's about it. Spacey and Posey just wasted in boring villian roles. Gosh and Bosworth yikes, hardly Lois Lane worthy. I know it seems like i'm ragging there were moments of fun comic book adventure here and visually there was lots to root for. But after X-men 1 & 2 you can't help but feel disappointed in Singer. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
N.G.Jul 5, 2006
Maggie Gyllenhaal should be the next Lois Lane.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
MiguelL.Jul 6, 2006
I really need a rating of 8.5 here... i can understand the common critics about te movie being slow and a little too long on some scenes, but I dont agree in that the acting is bad, or the plot sucks... in fact, even without comparing it to I really need a rating of 8.5 here... i can understand the common critics about te movie being slow and a little too long on some scenes, but I dont agree in that the acting is bad, or the plot sucks... in fact, even without comparing it to the firs movies, this was quite good, far above my expectations! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
DuragoJul 6, 2006
This movie is awful. The sooner it's forgotten the better. It's just a ripoff of the once powerful Superman franchise. Nothing works.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
SalJul 6, 2006
I hated this movie. The characters were hokey and the plot was bland. The dialog was uninteresting. There was an overall lack of subtlety. Maybe it's a movie for kids....
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
KenG.Jul 6, 2006
One things that jumps right out at you is that the film-makers had no confidence in Brandon Routh (Superman). I didn't keep count, but it seem like both Kate Bosworth, and Kevin Spacey were in alot more scenes then Routh, making it seem One things that jumps right out at you is that the film-makers had no confidence in Brandon Routh (Superman). I didn't keep count, but it seem like both Kate Bosworth, and Kevin Spacey were in alot more scenes then Routh, making it seem like he was a supporting character to them. Also, accept for performing Superman like deeds (which has more to due with the stunt and sepcial effects department, Routh wasn't asked to do much other then talk in mono-syllables. It's like they gave him the job because he looked good in the suit, and also because he looked a little like a young Christopher Reeve, and then found out he couldn't act. It also doesn't help that he has less chemistry with Kate Boswell (Lois Lane), then the actor playing Lane's fiancee. Personalty, I've always found Superman to be the least interesting of all super heroes, due to a combination of how wholesome he is, and how unlimitless his super powers are. That is why when you due a Super man movie, you have to get it right. The first two Superman movies with Christopher Reeve did this. But they were done with a good sense of humor, a sense of wonder, great villains, (Spacey was OK, but not great), thrilling action, and strong chemistry between Superman and Lois Lane. All things that are lacking here. I also have my doubts that children under 10 (and maybe some 10 and over) will make much sense out of Spacey's evil plan, and Superman's foiling of it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
JackPotJul 6, 2006
This movie was so bad that it had me wondering when I was going to see Jar Jar Binks.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
TMoneyJul 7, 2006
Sadly, Bryan Singer's film falls far short of the greatness of the original. There are only moments during the two plus hours that approach the majesty of "Superman: The Movie" but those moments are few and very far between. Routh and Sadly, Bryan Singer's film falls far short of the greatness of the original. There are only moments during the two plus hours that approach the majesty of "Superman: The Movie" but those moments are few and very far between. Routh and Spacey are very good given the weak material and uninspired direction. Alas, "Superman Returns" will never be considered a classic. By the way...DO NOT waste your time with the IMAX presentation. The occassional 3D presentation during certain scenes is marketing gimmickry at its worst! Shame on Singer for allowing such a stunt. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
DannyBJul 7, 2006
I've been watching superman and reading the superman coimcs since I was young (22 know) Superman my favorite superhero. I tought the new flim would relate more to the comics ( DC's Superman). Instead WB made something that no one I've been watching superman and reading the superman coimcs since I was young (22 know) Superman my favorite superhero. I tought the new flim would relate more to the comics ( DC's Superman). Instead WB made something that no one real gets, part 2.5. Why oh why could'nt the people at W.B just stick to the comics. And Lois has poor acting skills, at least for this part ( doesnt feel like the real lois lane) She gorgeous but not a lois lane. Lex is nuts and makes no sense with his kid like plots, Lex is supposed to be intellectual genius. he doesnt even have his empire luther crop. To me the movie was a BIG disappointment. The kids under 12 I'm sure liked it. The way the did the movie was just wrong I'm hopeing that they re-make superman again and stick to the comic books for the most part. The doomday series with 4 new superman would make a great movie one day) Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
WyattJul 7, 2006
Woeful would be an understatement.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
GregS.Jul 7, 2006
Gave it a 4 for effects. The writing and story are awful. Can't believe the brutal scene where the thugs kick the here mercilessly, great for the young fans to see. What a terrible mess. It is laughable. Walked out wondering why we Gave it a 4 for effects. The writing and story are awful. Can't believe the brutal scene where the thugs kick the here mercilessly, great for the young fans to see. What a terrible mess. It is laughable. Walked out wondering why we wasted our money on a crap of a picture. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
VinceT.Jul 7, 2006
For a movie viewed by many young children, living together and having children out of wedlock reflecting the sloppy morals of our time seems less than appropriate. That aside, the viuals were great but the story rather "dark". One would For a movie viewed by many young children, living together and having children out of wedlock reflecting the sloppy morals of our time seems less than appropriate. That aside, the viuals were great but the story rather "dark". One would expect to leave the theatre feeling happier after watching a Superman movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JamesOtisJul 7, 2006
Easily the best movie I've seen in a long time. It had thrills, humor, drama, emotion, a maniacaly villain, and a true hero as well as a strong woman who could still show some vulnerbility. Brandon portrayed a strong humble true hero as Easily the best movie I've seen in a long time. It had thrills, humor, drama, emotion, a maniacaly villain, and a true hero as well as a strong woman who could still show some vulnerbility. Brandon portrayed a strong humble true hero as Superman, and a balanced performance of a country boy in the big city as Clark Kent. In other words, some comical moments without being a doofus. He carried the role forward and at the same time showed respect for the past legacy. I did not expect to like the kid and the other artistic differences from the comic book hero we know but they were so well portrayed I didn't mind them, in face I even ended up really liking them. I think Lois and Clark should have a kid in the comics now. I've seen the movie three times so far and I think I'll go see it again this weekend. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
JeffS.Jul 7, 2006
i was so oredm had no emotion for characters, no cliamx or battles in the lastt half hour.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
DougR.Jul 8, 2006
A good comeback for the Superman franchise. Must be seen on the big screen, go see it today. If you didn't like this movie, you just don't like special effects or superhero movies !
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
StefanieA.Jul 8, 2006
There is absolutely nothing redeeming about this movie. Miserable script, heavyhanded imagery, annoying characters (I kept wishing someone would clock Lois Lane hard enough to kill her), no tension, terrible editing, pathetic directing, the There is absolutely nothing redeeming about this movie. Miserable script, heavyhanded imagery, annoying characters (I kept wishing someone would clock Lois Lane hard enough to kill her), no tension, terrible editing, pathetic directing, the CGI looked like it was from the mid-80s, and the use of process shots was so obvious as to be painful to watch - there was nothing stylish about it. Brandon Routh should go back to bartending, and the DP should be excommunicated from Hollywood. Sometimes terrible movies can at least be entertaining, but I was fighting off sleep the whole time. Had my moviegoing companion not been insistent on staying, I would have left halfway through and demanded a refund. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
TYlerH.Jul 9, 2006
Dull, uninspiring and they didn't even keep "Truth, Justice and the American Way"; it was contorted (literally)into "Truth, Justice, and All that other stuff"..don't waste your money
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
PeteRepeatAug 10, 2006
Overlong, overindulgent junk. Really wanted it to end after about 90 minutes for many reasons. Terrible!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
MartinS.Aug 27, 2006
Superman is a flawed character in that he is virtually indestructable. It's just hard to feel sorry for the guy.....I also wonder, with all that's going on in the world, why a so called "super being" would land in metropolis where Superman is a flawed character in that he is virtually indestructable. It's just hard to feel sorry for the guy.....I also wonder, with all that's going on in the world, why a so called "super being" would land in metropolis where his chief goal in life is to protect a news woman in the richest country in the world? Wouldn't his efforts be of more use in Africa or the Middle East? Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
LuisG.Aug 4, 2006
Director Bryan Singer gives superman a heart and for it i love this film... a bi to long but still exact on many levels i was not born until the mid 80s but i did see the first two films thanx to netflix although ancient in comparisons to Director Bryan Singer gives superman a heart and for it i love this film... a bi to long but still exact on many levels i was not born until the mid 80s but i did see the first two films thanx to netflix although ancient in comparisons to fxs now but they both had grace and stood firm... superman returns is continuancy of such although with cliches but then its not singers nor supermans fault we have been marveled by other things spider man, x-men and other super hero like films the have stolen some momentum but the real man is SUPERMAN !!! ... i welcome it and those to come.... Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
MrS.Aug 5, 2006
Overlong and undernourished. It had too few moments I can even remember the next day. Even seeing it in IMAX didnt seem to make much of a difference. The constant rehashing and borrowing from the 1978 movie only served to constantly remind Overlong and undernourished. It had too few moments I can even remember the next day. Even seeing it in IMAX didnt seem to make much of a difference. The constant rehashing and borrowing from the 1978 movie only served to constantly remind me how much more fun the earlier film was. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
DaveK.Aug 7, 2006
Slow boring and nothing like I expected. Spiderman and Batman movies were 10x better than this Superman one.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
KaseyS.Aug 9, 2006
A great popcorn movie. If you expecting something profound, this is not the movie. If you want great summer entertainment, this is it. Routh was a good Superman. However, Kate Bosworth was less than stellar and Kevin Spacey played Kvein A great popcorn movie. If you expecting something profound, this is not the movie. If you want great summer entertainment, this is it. Routh was a good Superman. However, Kate Bosworth was less than stellar and Kevin Spacey played Kvein Spacey. Parker Posey--though she had a small part--was the movie. Hysterical. Overall, a good movie, would have been better if they had cut out 40 minutes and a couple of false endings. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JoshuaP.Sep 11, 2006
I loved the movie because of its length (I love long movies) and because of Routh's acting, which really conveyed the passions and concerns of the Man of Steel
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
ChristinaH.Sep 1, 2006
This was a great one. It wasnt just another sequel. It was new and fresh. Can't wait for another one.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
robertNov 4, 2008
All movies are big big .pride and that's not what god wanted to happen to this world but with modern women and the weak men of Hollywood this world wiil brought down hard because of them and there ways face it //// because Hollywood has All movies are big big .pride and that's not what god wanted to happen to this world but with modern women and the weak men of Hollywood this world wiil brought down hard because of them and there ways face it //// because Hollywood has turned into Hollywood/ the sin den p.s face it there has not been a good movie made since satin took over Hollywood movies. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
MikeNov 30, 2006
What a bad movie! wow.... I still can't believe it and I really wanted to like this movie! Not even worth seeing on DVD. Stay away!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
EliC.Nov 30, 2006
I really want to like this film .. but .. it is a weak attempt. Something obviously went wrong in script development. The producers should have also trusted Brandon Routh more and toned down the time devoted to Kevin Spacey. Maybe the next I really want to like this film .. but .. it is a weak attempt. Something obviously went wrong in script development. The producers should have also trusted Brandon Routh more and toned down the time devoted to Kevin Spacey. Maybe the next one will be the great Superman film we all want. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
ChrisSDec 2, 2006
I love this movie. i'm not sure what it is, but it's like magic to me. i've always liked a little bit of chick flick stuff in a movie and i thought it was great here. sure i'd like more action, but that'll be for the sequal
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JoelW.Dec 2, 2006
I think the film was great. More than that. Fantastic. Singer did a wonderful job. I cant wait for the Sequel.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ArthurOct 22, 2006
A fun summer movie with a little bit of something for everybody.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
AndyG.Dec 25, 2006
Great movie. Had some flaws in it, wasn't worth extreme excitement, but kept me entertained the whole way through.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
MikeHDec 4, 2006
I really didn't want to finish watching this movie. I felt like I was "enduring" the film. Way too long and boring. I really like Superman and other comic book films but this was just tragically hard to watch.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
DianeV.Dec 6, 2006
Singer should have stuck with X-Men. As a result we have two badly made movies...X3 (I liked how Jean Grey only had three lines in the entire movie) and Superman Returns (Kevin Spacey is unbearably obnoxious; Watching Brandon Routh "act" is Singer should have stuck with X-Men. As a result we have two badly made movies...X3 (I liked how Jean Grey only had three lines in the entire movie) and Superman Returns (Kevin Spacey is unbearably obnoxious; Watching Brandon Routh "act" is uncomfortable). I even watched this movie again on IMAX 3D, and it was still boring. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
[Anonymous]Jun 22, 2006
It was a great movie but it needed more villians.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DavidE.Jun 27, 2006
fantastic.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
NicoleG.Jun 27, 2006
Superman has definitely returned. The REAL Superman. A very well shot movie with great effects shots. A must see summer flick and one that will be added to the library when it hits the DVD. I still have goosebumps.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
D.HonourJun 27, 2006
Saw this last night at a pre screening. I had major build up so the movie was a little of a let down. Nice summer Popcorn movie. Superman was good, Luther was a little weak and Lois was a bit flat. I would recommend it but take it for what it is.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
JessL.Jun 28, 2006
I have seen many bad movies in the past 2 years, this is the only one that I actually am willing to tell you how bad it was...I was waiting and waiting and waiting for it to get better, it just never did.... There was no plot, wasnt any I have seen many bad movies in the past 2 years, this is the only one that I actually am willing to tell you how bad it was...I was waiting and waiting and waiting for it to get better, it just never did.... There was no plot, wasnt any super fights, superman didnt even touch the villain. For how long they have waited to make this movie and how long audience have waited to watch this movie...a rating 2 is even overrated.. You can see a good intention in this movie and a HUGE potential to make it a great movie but they came up with a movie like this is very very disappointing. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
JackR.Jun 28, 2006
Technically proficient and structurally sound, but Roger Ebert's review above has it pegged on many an issue (I, too, often wondered why Superman strains to lift anything in this movie-- he's Superman. Shouldn't Superman Technically proficient and structurally sound, but Roger Ebert's review above has it pegged on many an issue (I, too, often wondered why Superman strains to lift anything in this movie-- he's Superman. Shouldn't Superman anticipate Luthor's eventual use of Kryptonite? As for the villain, Luthor's evil agenda is cheesy and preposterous. 'It's only a summer movie,' is no excuse. Too much money and time went into this-- they should have done better with the villain's agenda. Perhaps more problematic, the actors lack chemistry and their performances seem bland. It appears those behind this film wanted to give Superman some angst, but they went too far; he instead appears muted and glum. I preferred Nolan's Batman. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
JoshE.Jun 28, 2006
Superman is not one of my favorite costumed characters but I was really looking forward to this movie anyway. I went to the first show available and I can confidently say that it was good... mostly. The strongest aspect to the movie, to me Superman is not one of my favorite costumed characters but I was really looking forward to this movie anyway. I went to the first show available and I can confidently say that it was good... mostly. The strongest aspect to the movie, to me at least, was that Superman was a relatable character. You really felt for his isolation from the rest of humanity. The story was not the typical doomsday device type of superhero plotline. He wasn't literally saving the world (although in the long term he was) but Metropolis, and Lois, her boyfriend, and the boy. It was a little more personal in that sense. The few problems I saw didn't break the movie by any means but were dragged it down a bit. I could not see how this was possibly the most expensive film ever made. The special effects, while good, were not mind blowing or even excellent. Some of the flying scenes were still a little too green screeny looking. A few times, it was almost like you could see them flip the switch when they went from an image of the real Superman to a cg one. Some of the scenes looked really good, but I was expecting a lot more. Brandon Routh did a pretty good job of carrying emotional weight as Superman and Clark Kent, but Kate Bosworth was really hit or miss. Sometimes she was good and other times just going through the motions. A lot of the other characters just didn't really stand out. So, overall it was a good movie, that was lacking some important elements that would have made it great. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
NathanJun 28, 2006
Awesome! It's definetely the best movie this summer. I recommend seeing it in at the Imax theater for the full experience.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
M.CouncilJun 28, 2006
It has to be the best Superman movie I have ever watched! It was just awesome!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JoshG.Jun 28, 2006
This is without a doubt the best Superhero movie ever made. The audience loved the film so much that there was screaming when the projector stop near the end of the film and needed to be fixed. Felt sorry for the theater workers because some This is without a doubt the best Superhero movie ever made. The audience loved the film so much that there was screaming when the projector stop near the end of the film and needed to be fixed. Felt sorry for the theater workers because some were threatening them LOL. If you don't like this movie, you're either not a fan of Superman or you are a fan of the new generation Superman and not a purist in any sense of the word. There is so much grandness and heart to this film. Those than know the orgins of Superman will eat this up. Unfortunately, creativity and heart and goes along with Superman does not exist anymore, instead replaced by X-Men. Go see this film. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
DrewF.Jun 28, 2006
There are moments where the film really does approach greatness... Some very majestic shots of Supes just flying along, with no sound but the whistle of the wind that just take your breath away.. And there's a really intriguing twist There are moments where the film really does approach greatness... Some very majestic shots of Supes just flying along, with no sound but the whistle of the wind that just take your breath away.. And there's a really intriguing twist about 3/4s of the way thru that seems obvious after the fact, but until it's revealed i REALLY hadn't considered. But the latter portion of the film does get a bit too cheesy for it's own good. It really does come out in a similar vein as Singer's first X-Men film. He just BARELY misses nailing it, but what's on screen is still pretty good. I eagerly anticipate the sequel. As far as where it falls on the comicbook scale: Not quite as good as "Spider-man 2" or "Batman Begins", but better then the first X-film. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
NoelT.Jun 28, 2006
Comic characters every couple of generations are updated to reflect what society they exist in. The best example of this generation gap for the non comic fans is Batman, in the 60's was over the top campy-ness in both the comics and in Comic characters every couple of generations are updated to reflect what society they exist in. The best example of this generation gap for the non comic fans is Batman, in the 60's was over the top campy-ness in both the comics and in the Adam West series, in the 80's he had big muscles and millions of gadgets now he is very intelligent and 2-3 steps ahead of anyone. Yes all those traits have always been there, but they magnify the ones they want to use and which ones help him speak to the people of the era. Of course this re-creation also applies to superman, who has been around just as long as superman both in and out of comics. Sorry to say I was not a fan of the Reeve Supermans, you say you love them now, but really sit down and watch them. Superman Returns is not the Superman that is currently existing in the comics, it's a version of the character that was made back in the 80's. I knew before coming into the theater that Superman Returns was influenced by the previous movies but that did not make this movie any better. Lex is almost as campy as he was in the 80's the character of Kitty Played by Parker Posy has just as much if not more screen time then Lex and she is a horrible character. The scheme that Lex has in this movie bogus and un-luther like in my opinion. The 2nd half is about people saving superman we know he will be fine he's superman so why do this? If you like the Reeve Superman movies then go see it now, because all it is, is a sequel to those old movies. And if you don't stay clear. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
JosephG.Jun 28, 2006
Enough with Lex Luther already. Let's see Superman tackle someone deserving of his strength and abilities. Superman---fighting Lex's useless continent?! BOO-OORING! I found myself daydreaming during much of this film, which is Enough with Lex Luther already. Let's see Superman tackle someone deserving of his strength and abilities. Superman---fighting Lex's useless continent?! BOO-OORING! I found myself daydreaming during much of this film, which is plagued with slow pacing and an inconsistent tone. The intimate moments between Supes and Lois are boring because the two are bland actors (ESPECIALLY when compared to Reeve and Kidder), and the action scenes are boring because, well, we've already seen Superman do all that he did---save a plane, thwart Lex's real estate plot, subside an earthquake. What makes the Spider-man and X-Men films so exciting is that the villians require super abilities to be defeated---they cannot be defeated by conventional methods. I was hoping to see the truly amazing, breathtaking feats Superman is capable of, but alas! I suppose next he'll be thwarting Lex's sabotage of Social Security. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MannyA.Jun 28, 2006
Absolutely loved it! I grew up with the original Superman films, and I didn't think there was any way Superman Returns could be any where near as great as the original Superman film, but after seeing it I think it might actually be Absolutely loved it! I grew up with the original Superman films, and I didn't think there was any way Superman Returns could be any where near as great as the original Superman film, but after seeing it I think it might actually be better. It was just so much fun, had great action sequences and a great story. There was a lot of emotion in this one that the other films didn't have. Overall just a really great film, hopefully we won't have to wait long for the next one. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
MarcoPoloJun 28, 2006
Three hours after leaving the theater, I still cannot believe what I just witnessed. Sure, the effects are first rate (what else could 200 Million dollars buy? Plenty), and the plot is "servicable" and I use that term loosely. But when all Three hours after leaving the theater, I still cannot believe what I just witnessed. Sure, the effects are first rate (what else could 200 Million dollars buy? Plenty), and the plot is "servicable" and I use that term loosely. But when all is said and done, this one comes off as a hackneyed, half-hearted attempt to jump start a long dead film franchise. First, I suggest that the next film (and there will be a sequel as the ending of the film was just too sudden to indicate anything else) feature a beleivable and worthy opponent for ol' Supes. Perhaps Braniac or Doomsday. I long for the days when Hollywood was willing to take a chance and just go nuts with creativity. Instead we get the same tired Luthor, Kryptonite and inept goons to be offed by the big blue boy scout. As for casting, Brandon Routh certainly does the job, looking more like a xerox copy of Christopher Reeve than anything else. He does an okay job, but Reeve he is not. As for Kate Bosworth as Lois Lane, I can only guess that she was picked for her septic charm, nothing else. She is so completely wasted in the role (and thankless it is) that she is on her way to competing with Batman Begins' Katie Holmes as being completely devoid of any real charisma. As for the good points. The special effects are quite good. Suffice to say if you feel like dropping 10-12 bucks to see a special effects demonstration of the first kind, then by all means knock yourself out. The score is by far an improvement on John Williams' original, it's been tweaked just a bit, but is one of the bright spots of this movie. Bryan Singer took lesson to heart in this area, he left perfection well enough alone. Kevin Spacey's Lex Luthor (although at this point cliche'd and predictable) is a hoot as Lex, his acting ability far exceed what is expected out of a film like this. I dare say he's an improvement over Gene Hackman in the way he just hates and loathes Supes. My guess is that this film will be the one to beat (until Pirates of the Carribean 2 comes out), so that means about 100 M in the first week and then it will sputter towards the end of summer. One note: If you have a chance, see this film in IMAX. Not only is the 3D effect put to good use (although at times it can be blurry, don't sit too close!) and there is rumored to be about 3 additional minutes added to the beginning of the film, seeing it in IMAX is definately the way to go. I could only wish that Pirates 2 was in IMAX too, but I guess even we can't all get what we wish for. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
WilliamB.Jun 28, 2006
No cheesy comedy. Good acting. A near replica of the first two, maybe better. Exactly what Superman is supposed to do, make you feel like a kid. Oh, and with no Richard Pryor.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
PaulO.Jun 28, 2006
I suggest going to see it at the IMAX theater, but there are only 4 scenes in 3-D, one being at the very end that lasted maybe a minute. The airplane scene was AWESOME in 3-D though. Not a perfect miovie, but.. I loved it!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
G.AccardoJun 28, 2006
Excellent movie, made with heart and mind. A great tribute to the first two superman movie with an eye to the future ! The 2 hours and an half flied by faster then a bullet. Not to see C. Reeve wearing the red cape was awkward. Brandon makes Excellent movie, made with heart and mind. A great tribute to the first two superman movie with an eye to the future ! The 2 hours and an half flied by faster then a bullet. Not to see C. Reeve wearing the red cape was awkward. Brandon makes a discrete job in mimic Reeve's Clark and a good job when 'S' .... Mr. Spacey did an excellent job in Lutor's role. The special effect are top notch (but I wouldn't have expected less then that). Thanks Mr. Singer for bringing us back this new Superman, more human and always supes ! The only weak spot of the movie is Lutor's "big plan" ( would have expected something different) and the half backed flashback on Supes yought. But oh well !! Looking forward for more Supes movies to come ! I really enjoyed it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
FantasyJun 28, 2006
I have seen every single Superman dating back to the original TV series with George Reeves. The critics have once again blown this movie up to separate us from our hard earned money. It is a slow tedious boring movie with very little action. I have seen every single Superman dating back to the original TV series with George Reeves. The critics have once again blown this movie up to separate us from our hard earned money. It is a slow tedious boring movie with very little action. Keven Spacey as the Evil Lex Luthor is the only bright spot. As for the rest Superman returns after a 5 year absence. Lois has a kid about that age, hates Superman for leaving without saying goodbye, yada, yada, yada. Midway through the movie Lois loves Superman, the kid and Superman saves Lois. Lois saves Superman. See Lois whispers sweet nothings in Superman's ear. To be perfectly honest, this boring flick is much ado about nothing. You have been warned. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
DavidC.Jun 28, 2006
This movie is on par, if not better than, the first Superman. I blends a good story with great action and effects. Really gets to the heart of this lonely hero.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
RODNEYC.Jun 28, 2006
No action! Too much romance!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MichelleC.Jun 28, 2006
My score is actually a 9.5, but that of course isn't an option. I really enjoyed this Superman. I was pleasantly surprised with newcomer Routh and LOVED Spacey as Lex. This movie blends romance and emotion into the action scenes and My score is actually a 9.5, but that of course isn't an option. I really enjoyed this Superman. I was pleasantly surprised with newcomer Routh and LOVED Spacey as Lex. This movie blends romance and emotion into the action scenes and plays at the heart. Special effects were great, but the greatest effect in the whole movie is the new and improved Superman costume complete with rubber cape!!! I for one was glad Superman returned. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DerekC.Jun 28, 2006
I loved The Movie, It was Beter than i thought It was going to be.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
ChadT.Jun 29, 2006
I would seriously consider paying another $12.25 just to watch the space shuttle sequence in 3D again, but the rest of the movie is a looooooooong, kind of boring slog.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
JoeD.Jun 29, 2006
In continuing the original film series with a new cast, this invites, almost requires, viewers to recall and compare the new version with the old. Brandon Routh, in an incredibly sincere performance, is a great Superman, but he does not have In continuing the original film series with a new cast, this invites, almost requires, viewers to recall and compare the new version with the old. Brandon Routh, in an incredibly sincere performance, is a great Superman, but he does not have the presence and gravitas that Christopher Reeve brought (who does?). Same with Kevin Spacey Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
DavidJun 29, 2006
What a PC movie - Hollywood pushing their values on us again! PC#1: Lois isn't married, lives with a guy, and has a child. Is this the message the up and coming generation needs? Is it cool to have a child, live with a guy, and have no What a PC movie - Hollywood pushing their values on us again! PC#1: Lois isn't married, lives with a guy, and has a child. Is this the message the up and coming generation needs? Is it cool to have a child, live with a guy, and have no interest in marriage. This is disappointing to say the least. PC#2: Why was the saying "truth, justice, and the American way" reduced to just "turth and justice"? PC#3: Why has Superman's red been reduced to a dark deep red? PC#4: Superman comes across as a weaker hero and less masculine. Let me qualify that I have always liked the Superman movies and even the majority of the TV show episodes for Smallville. I had high hopes for this movie and was really disappointed - I won't waste my money/time again. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
D.Z.Jun 29, 2006
Brandon Routh was, dare I say it, just as good as Superman (and Clark Kent for that matter) as Chris Reeve was. This movie was infinitely entertaining. I went into the movie having read your stupid reviews and thinking this movie would Brandon Routh was, dare I say it, just as good as Superman (and Clark Kent for that matter) as Chris Reeve was. This movie was infinitely entertaining. I went into the movie having read your stupid reviews and thinking this movie would suck...but it was incredible! One of the best movies I've seen in a while. Heck, Roger Ebert didn't like it...that right there's a good indicator that it's a good flick! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful