Magnolia Pictures | Release Date: August 24, 2018
6.8
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 41 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
27
Mixed:
9
Negative:
5
Watch Now
Stream On
Buy On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
8
StevieGJDSep 3, 2018
This film is about characters who are normally the window dressing in most films. It is a wonderful turn that the men in the story are the people we both don't know much about and don't care much about, while the women are the mainThis film is about characters who are normally the window dressing in most films. It is a wonderful turn that the men in the story are the people we both don't know much about and don't care much about, while the women are the main characters and we learn a great deal about their lives and what they have to put up with to survive. Regina Hall is fantastic. She has the perfect emotional tones in different situations. There is a great deal of humor and real life tragedy in this film. It definitely has a low budget production vibe, but that is part of its charm. The supporting characters are all very good. I didn't love where the film went near the end, there are much better ways to resolve the main tension. But, even with that one arguable misstep, "Support the Girls" is a very enjoyable ride. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
Slovenly_MuseSep 1, 2018
Opting for steady optimism and good-heartedness over bite, this dramedy, much like the waitstaff at Double Whammies, gets by on easygoing charm, and only gives you a taste of its true depths. Its most powerful message is about sisterhood, andOpting for steady optimism and good-heartedness over bite, this dramedy, much like the waitstaff at Double Whammies, gets by on easygoing charm, and only gives you a taste of its true depths. Its most powerful message is about sisterhood, and while it has little to offer that's unique on that topic, its point is well-made and it sticks. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
sunsetchasingAug 24, 2018
Feel-good little slice of life comedy buoyed by an excellent performance from Regina Hall and a surprisingly spry outing from Haley Lu Richardson. Don't know why it's rating is so low already.
2 of 5 users found this helpful23
All this user's reviews
10
FelicityFenwickAug 26, 2018
Outstanding and refreshing! Definitely one of the hidden gems of the summer. It's great to see **** in such an original role. Must-see, for sure.
2 of 5 users found this helpful23
All this user's reviews
10
LamontRaymondAug 26, 2018
What a great little movie. I say little because it reminds me of the indie films from the mid-90s, like Clerks. A little rough around the edges, but honest. Also reminds me a bit of Waiting, but without the crude humor. Regina Hall isWhat a great little movie. I say little because it reminds me of the indie films from the mid-90s, like Clerks. A little rough around the edges, but honest. Also reminds me a bit of Waiting, but without the crude humor. Regina Hall is awesome, and Haley Lu Richardson is luminous as usual. It's great to see women support each other in this way. Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
5
tropicAcesNov 30, 2018
Hall is great; that much isn’t up for debate. And for half the runtime the “bunch of random events happening over the course of one day” narrative works. But then the film tries to get weird/indie/irrelevant for the sake of it, and Hall isn’tHall is great; that much isn’t up for debate. And for half the runtime the “bunch of random events happening over the course of one day” narrative works. But then the film tries to get weird/indie/irrelevant for the sake of it, and Hall isn’t there to save the day. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
1
mohamad91hkJul 10, 2019
When I want to watch a movie, I need to enjoy in this 2 hours of my time, "support the Girls" is the real meaning of wasting time, I thought I was watching a boring episode of worst TV show, it was meaningless movie, just showing Regina HallWhen I want to watch a movie, I need to enjoy in this 2 hours of my time, "support the Girls" is the real meaning of wasting time, I thought I was watching a boring episode of worst TV show, it was meaningless movie, just showing Regina Hall as a manager and how she takes care of her girls!!! Really!! I have a message for the producers of this movie "If you are paying money for this level of the story, just call me I can give you something more interesting". Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
6
JLuis_001Aug 30, 2018
Frankly I really wanted this movie to please me more but I couldn't connect with the story at all and I mainly blame the narrative style and rhythm because the story is good, it's attractive but the film has a cadence that becomes to slow forFrankly I really wanted this movie to please me more but I couldn't connect with the story at all and I mainly blame the narrative style and rhythm because the story is good, it's attractive but the film has a cadence that becomes to slow for its own good and the characters with the exception of those of Regina Hall and Haley Lu Richardson feel flat and anodyne.

Recommended for a weekend as an option although it disappointed my expectations.
Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
6
amheretojudgeSep 1, 2018
it may not be glorifying for everyone..

Support The Girls Support The Girls is a character driven drama about a bunch of women surviving literally a week day of their life. Embracing the premise like never before, Bujalski's hands on
it may not be glorifying for everyone..

Support The Girls

Support The Girls is a character driven drama about a bunch of women surviving literally a week day of their life. Embracing the premise like never before, Bujalski's hands on execution of offering the insights with a personal touch of the characters communicates throughout the course of the feature to the audience. It is a subtle take on the marginal community that we all reside in, and so is its repercussions on the audience of its higher concept, it may not be glorifying for everyone. But as much as makers distract the audience and is proud of its ingenious methodology, contrary to popular belief, it is quite louder on repetitive terms. It tosses all possible various situations through character's perspective in order to make its definite point thoroughly clear. In order to do so, it shucks away its somewhat middle act with an arguably redundant sequences. But such compelling storytelling and euphoric energy behind the camera can be and should be given the benefit of doubt. The background may as well be daft with decent cinematography and editing that is saved by the camera work which again, offers personal touch making it more human than ever. The performance by the cast is on full throttle; especially Hall, since they are aware of the opportunity and stage they have marked, can factor a lot. Bujalski's execution is to the point and clearer than ever with a smarter script and even though familiar but not so explored structure makes it gripping and adaptive for the viewers. The three dimensional characters, layered thought provoking policies and fair confessions are the high points of the feature. Support The Girls may not be the game changer but if retold in a glorifying manner, it can be your "Thelma And Louise".
Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
9
AntonioSanAlo99Jun 27, 2019
Support the Girls comes with a really good comedy experience establishing a near perfect combo of performances and drama in a tribute to the kind of comedy that people love from Billy Wilder, but in today.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews