DreamWorks SKG | Release Date: December 21, 2007
7.7
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 650 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
502
Mixed:
92
Negative:
56
Watch Now
Stream On
Stream On
Buy on
Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Expand
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
8
SheenaL.Jan 4, 2008
Tim Burton does an honourable job and taking Sondheim's show and putting it on film. The lighting, sets and make-up paint the screen well however, his choice in casting missed the mark. Depp was too small in stature to play Todd and his Tim Burton does an honourable job and taking Sondheim's show and putting it on film. The lighting, sets and make-up paint the screen well however, his choice in casting missed the mark. Depp was too small in stature to play Todd and his voice was no match for Sondheim's score when he sang in his upper register. Bonham Carter spent most of her time looking beautiful (a beautiful Mrs. Lovette?!) and lacked the timing and punctuation needed to get all of the laughs from her songs. The extra scenes that were written into the movie were superfluous but the movie still entertained. It was the youngest three lesser known actors who delivered the vocals the way they were meant to be. I plan to be the first in line to get the DVD. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful
9
JohnK.Feb 15, 2008
Excellent film, great soundtrack, great story, lovely. Definitely worth your time!
2 of 2 users found this helpful
10
AnneR.Feb 20, 2008
Awesome music, amazing acting, outstanding movie! One of the best films I've ever seen. I honestly was not expecting to like it, but I was pleasantly surprised! Had me singing for weeks afterward!
2 of 2 users found this helpful
8
ZackM.Jan 3, 2010
Not my favorite movie but it is my favorite musical. the reason being is that it is gory bloody and sadistic not like any other movie i've seen. and not to mention johnny depp truly brought out the sympathetic side of a madmen very good Not my favorite movie but it is my favorite musical. the reason being is that it is gory bloody and sadistic not like any other movie i've seen. and not to mention johnny depp truly brought out the sympathetic side of a madmen very good work on burtons part. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful
10
RavenDec 23, 2007
Simply a very good movie. Takes the image musicals have to a whole new level. A must see, and in my opinion the best Johnny Depp movie to date.
2 of 2 users found this helpful
9
AlbinGFeb 3, 2008
Brilliant stuff. I just find it ashame that the ratings around the net are being dragged down by people giving it poor reviews based on the fact that it is a musical. Some people have actual complaints about the music, which i have no Brilliant stuff. I just find it ashame that the ratings around the net are being dragged down by people giving it poor reviews based on the fact that it is a musical. Some people have actual complaints about the music, which i have no problem with. It's just when people give it 0 siting "it's a musical lol so it must sucks obviously". I thought the music was brilliant. I felt that Anthony was a bit weak in the long run. A few too many mushy glazed leers into the middle-distance. I thought everyone else did their job well. Good music, good singing, good entertainment. Some excellent suspense work, as well as lots of (thematically justified) blood. I was gripped after 5 minutes. Good stuff all round. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful
9
Nico.Mar 10, 2008
This film is so cool, i can't forget all the songs and the blood.
2 of 2 users found this helpful
8
GatsbyJ.Mar 7, 2008
-I don't think Burton is a "genius" but contarary to Phil D's passionate tirade against the director, I think Burton's movies are fun to watch and I do like the visual style. But as for those brilliant reviewers who say they -I don't think Burton is a "genius" but contarary to Phil D's passionate tirade against the director, I think Burton's movies are fun to watch and I do like the visual style. But as for those brilliant reviewers who say they hate the movie and list "boring boring boring" or eloquently complain that "nobody dance" during the movie, they're not really giving much detail. -I like the movie because the plot was simple and compelling, the idea of the two lovers who can't be together (Depp's character and the woman he loved), but twisted around slightly by echoing them in a younger generation of lovers who have hope of happiness. I thought the visual style was excellent, and here's an EXAMPLE (people need to give more of these): the moment when Depp's character gets his box of barber-knives back and holds one up to his face, and you see his mad, twisted reflection in the clear silver of the blade, and he says that his arms is once again complete. Anyone want to argue that Burton's directing or Depp's acting or the script was off during that moment? London was also grim and beautifully depicted, as fits the whole Industrial Revolution look of it. -The music was fantastic and the singing was much better than I thought it would be (people tended to cringe when the first line of the movie was sung, but then they started getting into it). -Acting was great, especially Depp and Rickman. My only problem was the ending was rushed and flawed, since we don't really get any info on the young lovers. -Good movie; watch it, then judge it. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful
9
SimonB.Apr 6, 2008
I've been a movie-goer since I was little. I've been watching movies on and off the TV. There isn't much I haven't already seen and there isn't much I can't compare to something else. For once, we get a movie I've been a movie-goer since I was little. I've been watching movies on and off the TV. There isn't much I haven't already seen and there isn't much I can't compare to something else. For once, we get a movie that's quality, that's creative. It's a remake of a play and it shows. I think with all the effort put through this , some people (COUGH PHIL.D COUGH) should have more consideration. Instead of hating the movie just because it's made by Tim Burton, you should try actually watching it. I am a musician and I would say that the camera play was dead-on with the music. It always FIT it was always where it should be. Timing things such as gestures to every beat made it all the more interesting as a musical comedy. The plot was simply revenge involving Judge Turpin and Benjamin (AKA Sweeney Todd) Barker, played by J-Depp. Johnny Depp is a brilliant actor, as Tim Burton said it, the actors weren't meant to be full of life in their movements, because that's what the make-up was for. How contradictory would it be for a "cold, bitter man" to play "lively musical dancer", do you think? The singing I wouldn't find anything "embarrassing" into as some have said. Johnny Depp didn't strike a note wrong and he was singing very well. Everything playing in that movie I found catchy and it's really cruel to pretend that it's nothing but scrap heap. There was TREMENDOUS effort put through this by the actors and the crew. There aren't bad movies: Just bad audiences. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful
10
JoeB.Jul 1, 2008
A Masterpiece, made even moreso by Johnny Depp. I ask, 'is there nothing this man cannot do?'
2 of 2 users found this helpful
7
NicholasGApr 15, 2009
I felt that scenes which did not involve Johnny Depp or Helena Bonham Carter were much more interesting. The exeption to this is the shaving competition which was only good because of Sacha Baron Cohen, who by the way was my favourite I felt that scenes which did not involve Johnny Depp or Helena Bonham Carter were much more interesting. The exeption to this is the shaving competition which was only good because of Sacha Baron Cohen, who by the way was my favourite character and probably sung the best. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful
10
RichardB.Dec 22, 2007
Sweeney Todd is the PERFECT film musical.
2 of 2 users found this helpful
9
DeborahL.Dec 24, 2007
Burton seems to have made every choice correctly, from the intense but unshowy singing to the borderline bizarre art direction, finding the humanity in the inhumane and making you believe the whole ghastly business. And the music is exquisite!
2 of 2 users found this helpful
10
MikeY.Dec 20, 2007
What a HORROR..in a great way. See this movie. It will give you chills, thrills and laughs for a long time to come.
2 of 2 users found this helpful
10
ErynD.Dec 26, 2007
Overall, as a fan of the stage production, I was more than satisfied with this adaptation. It's visually beautiful, the orchestration is magnificent, the acting is fairly good, and the singing really grew on me, especially now that I Overall, as a fan of the stage production, I was more than satisfied with this adaptation. It's visually beautiful, the orchestration is magnificent, the acting is fairly good, and the singing really grew on me, especially now that I see it set against the characters in motion. "Pretty Women" still bugged me the way it always did in the stage show, but I was surprised that Anthony's "Johanna" solo didn't bug me at all since they trimmed it down, I think. I had some issues with it, but I don't think its faults are big enough to really knock off any points with me, personally. Especially after seeing it multiple times, the things that bugged me the first time don't really bug me much at all anymore. Go see it, everyone! Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful
9
ChadS.Dec 27, 2007
Laugh at the man who sings showtunes and he'll slice your throat. "Sweeney Todd: The Demon Barber of Fleet Street" actually made me smile...at blood. It's not the blood itself; it's the blood in juxtaposition with song, and Laugh at the man who sings showtunes and he'll slice your throat. "Sweeney Todd: The Demon Barber of Fleet Street" actually made me smile...at blood. It's not the blood itself; it's the blood in juxtaposition with song, and that is a combination audiences have never seen before. "Sweeney Todd" is unbelievably violent. The filmmaker miraculously finds the right tone for all those slit throats that fall somewhere between graphic and whimsical. Johnny Depp(imagine Nick Cave) and Helena Bonham Carter(imagine Siouxsie Sioux) are brilliant as Sweeney Todd and Mrs. Lovett. They're sociopaths. They don't have an ounce of good in them. The filmmaker had the guts to make both leads completely ruthless and evil. "Sweeney Todd: The Demon Barber of Fleet Street" accomplishes the unthinkable; it's a guy's night out musical. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful
9
TomR.Dec 27, 2007
Visually stunning. Burton does more for black dark hued films than most black and white movies. The singing is a bit thin. Both Depp and Helena Boham Carter have comparatively quiet voices. They make up for it with their acting. If you loved Visually stunning. Burton does more for black dark hued films than most black and white movies. The singing is a bit thin. Both Depp and Helena Boham Carter have comparatively quiet voices. They make up for it with their acting. If you loved the musical you will love the movie. Audience unfamiliar with SWT may find the movie quite a shock. The movie is awash with spurting arterial blood. But then thats what you would expect. The audience we saw the film murmured a lot at the end of the picture. Actually listening to the soundtrack at home after the movie, proved richer. Theater sound systems are built more to deal with explosions and dialogue. So I think the recording does a better job at capturing music. What impressed me about the film was how I understood every lyric sung in the musical dialogue. I heard lyrics much clearer than I have often heard in live theatre. If you like Sweeney Todd the musical...I can't imagine you won't like the movie. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful
10
SoniaA.Jan 1, 2008
I thought this was a really Good movie!! you have Johnny depp and Helena Bothen-cart two good actors and then you have Tim burton The best Director you can't go wrong!!
2 of 2 users found this helpful
9
MaynaJan 1, 2008
I ABSOLUTELY LOVED THIS MOVIE!!! Besides the stupid unneccesary blood that they put in, it was purely wonderful!!
2 of 2 users found this helpful
10
CourtneyE.Jan 4, 2008
This was the best movie ever i mean it really moved and made you just want to see it more and more times.
2 of 2 users found this helpful
10
JenyaP.Jan 5, 2008
I was so impressed with this movie and my husband who doesn't like musicals enjoyed it so much that he asked when we were going to be able to go and get the soundtrack because ever since we saw it he has been singing the songs from it!
2 of 2 users found this helpful
10
AlexQJan 8, 2008
I saw this movie 2xs on consecutive days, first at an AMC, last at a Harkins. The AMC was glorious, strong color and resonant sound. The Harkins viewing was awful--the speakers couldn't handle the higher register so Carter sounded tinny I saw this movie 2xs on consecutive days, first at an AMC, last at a Harkins. The AMC was glorious, strong color and resonant sound. The Harkins viewing was awful--the speakers couldn't handle the higher register so Carter sounded tinny & horrible. Either the film print was bad or the projector bulb weak, but the color was completely desaturated as well. Many times characters were half lost in the shadows. It was very close to a Drive in experience--which makes me wonder if those who did not enjoy the movie saw it under conditions ala Harkins. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful
9
TanmayS.Feb 5, 2008
too operatic to be involving, and the music gets to you after a point. But brilliant, not least for its performances.
2 of 2 users found this helpful
10
JessicaHFeb 9, 2008
Beautiful adaptation of the stage musical. Johnny Depp's and Helena Bonham Carter's singing wasn't that great, but the overall effect was fantastic. The cinematography was stunning, and the acting was equally amazing. I Beautiful adaptation of the stage musical. Johnny Depp's and Helena Bonham Carter's singing wasn't that great, but the overall effect was fantastic. The cinematography was stunning, and the acting was equally amazing. I can't say enough good things about the movie, although it was more gory than I expected. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful
10
keApr 13, 2008
Best Tim Burton film and best johnny depp film. The songs are good and the ending just tragic.
2 of 2 users found this helpful
9
BrandonM.May 10, 2008
One of my favorite films! I love how the music was used to tell the story rather than to overdue the certain topic at hand; as most musical films do. This film reminds me of the old Tim Burton films, with the dark pale skin, sunken eyes, and One of my favorite films! I love how the music was used to tell the story rather than to overdue the certain topic at hand; as most musical films do. This film reminds me of the old Tim Burton films, with the dark pale skin, sunken eyes, and dark backgrounds (even though its day). Johnny Depp was extremely good in this part, even with him singing! I highly recommend this film. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful
10
MatthewK.Dec 20, 2007
Brilliant adaptation of one of the most brilliant pieces of theatre ever written. Wonderful performances, tight direction and writing, genius music and lyrics, and breathtaking visuals. One of the best films of the year, and by far the best Brilliant adaptation of one of the most brilliant pieces of theatre ever written. Wonderful performances, tight direction and writing, genius music and lyrics, and breathtaking visuals. One of the best films of the year, and by far the best movie musical in nearly 40 years (since Oliver!) Just wonderful. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful
10
StarrLightDec 20, 2007
Excellent movie! The most fun I have had watching a bloodbath, ever!
2 of 2 users found this helpful
10
StephenVanG.Dec 22, 2007
Do not let reviews and comments from others help make your mind up. See Sweeney Todd for yourself! Having been a devotee of the musical since seeing the original production - this is a faithful and beautiful production. The much talked about Do not let reviews and comments from others help make your mind up. See Sweeney Todd for yourself! Having been a devotee of the musical since seeing the original production - this is a faithful and beautiful production. The much talked about gore is for this viewer played for comic relief not horror. What I can say is simply - GO make up your own mind. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful
10
JaneB.Dec 23, 2007
I've been a fan of the play/music for over 20 years. Wasn't sure what to expect, but Tim Burton's movie was WAY better then I even imagined it could be! The music stayed true to Sondheim - I was way impressed!!!
2 of 2 users found this helpful
9
DonK.Dec 24, 2007
Tons of grim fun, faithful to the stage play.
2 of 2 users found this helpful
9
MichaelP.Dec 25, 2007
Having grown up in England learning about the gruesome history of London in through the 1700s and 1800s it was good to see a film that was able to depict these dark times perfectly and at the same time be very entertaining. People who Having grown up in England learning about the gruesome history of London in through the 1700s and 1800s it was good to see a film that was able to depict these dark times perfectly and at the same time be very entertaining. People who complain that this isn't as good as the original musical need to come to the realization that this film is not the original musical, and was designed to fit a broader audience. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
JacquesC.Dec 26, 2007
Although I have never read the book nor seen the play, Sweeney Todd surprised me with its dark but fantastic plot, brilliantly-cast acting, and a variety of surprisingly well-executed music. Tim Burton truly was the perfect director for this Although I have never read the book nor seen the play, Sweeney Todd surprised me with its dark but fantastic plot, brilliantly-cast acting, and a variety of surprisingly well-executed music. Tim Burton truly was the perfect director for this film; he managed to realize a darkly humorous and completely captivating masterpiece. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
8
MarcyTDec 26, 2007
Who knew Captain Jack Sparrow, Professor Snape, and Bellatrix Lestrange could sing? Now that they've each played two identical big roles in year, Alan Rickman and Helena Bonham Carter need to worry about being typecast. A satisfyingly Who knew Captain Jack Sparrow, Professor Snape, and Bellatrix Lestrange could sing? Now that they've each played two identical big roles in year, Alan Rickman and Helena Bonham Carter need to worry about being typecast. A satisfyingly weird movie - singing among the gore and filth - but could have been a tad more fun. Still I thoroughly enjoyed it. All the actors were gruesomely great. Never read the book or saw the play. At least now I know why it wasn't showing at the local dinner-and-a-movie theater. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
MattDec 28, 2007
one of the best films i've seen this year. Great music and singing
1 of 1 users found this helpful
9
moonman1994Dec 23, 2013
A bloody success! The music is great and the atmosphere is perfectly creepy. Although more violent and gruesome than the stage version (which is more funny) this film is great. It makes you laugh, smile and a little sick to your stomach soA bloody success! The music is great and the atmosphere is perfectly creepy. Although more violent and gruesome than the stage version (which is more funny) this film is great. It makes you laugh, smile and a little sick to your stomach so you've gotta love it. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
NecromusDec 6, 2012
A story from 1846, turned into a ballet in 1959, then into a Broadway musical in 1979, then into a Hollywood screenplay by Tim Burton in 2007. What I really want to know is what possessed Sir Malcom Arnold in the late 1970's to think "Hey!A story from 1846, turned into a ballet in 1959, then into a Broadway musical in 1979, then into a Hollywood screenplay by Tim Burton in 2007. What I really want to know is what possessed Sir Malcom Arnold in the late 1970's to think "Hey! This horror story would make a great musical!". This was the weirdest and most disturbing musical I have ever seen, but I guess since it's a remake of a Broadway musical it is true to its roots. +10 for Tim Burton having the guts to release Sweeney Todd as a movie. The acting and singing was superb. I'm not sure I ever want to see it again because it is so gory and violent, but it is what it is. BTW: Interesting fact: Johnny Depp was absolutely horrified when he read the script. Because of all of the violence and cannibalism in it? -- Nope. Because for the first few minutes of the film he would have to play a "normal person" - OH THE HORROR!!!! LOL Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
JefersonBarbosaAug 15, 2012
Sweeney Todd, é um dos melhores musicais já produzidos no cinema!
Depp, Burton e Carter estão em sua melhor forma.
A obra é tocante, o visual imersivo e a trilha sonora impecável.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
7
JawsLaxerDramaDec 22, 2012
Bloody and insanely over produced, Sweeney Todd is actually a good movie aside from murders. While it's grim, dirty and just...well, I mean Jesus, look at Johnny Depp. Sweeney Todd is incredibly sad and while there is depth, it went on just aBloody and insanely over produced, Sweeney Todd is actually a good movie aside from murders. While it's grim, dirty and just...well, I mean Jesus, look at Johnny Depp. Sweeney Todd is incredibly sad and while there is depth, it went on just a bit too long. Still a good movie though. B- Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
mpmartinJul 10, 2013
This movie/musical has the distinction of being my favorite movie, even after nearly 6 years after I saw it the first time. What's good about it? Many things. The costumes are superb, the cinematography is beautiful, and yes, everyone canThis movie/musical has the distinction of being my favorite movie, even after nearly 6 years after I saw it the first time. What's good about it? Many things. The costumes are superb, the cinematography is beautiful, and yes, everyone can sing. Johnny Depp, who is always interesting, does what became an Oscar-nominated performance in the title role. It's a reminder that when he is on his game, it's a fabulous ride. This movie is based upon the Stephen Sondheim award-winning musical but is much shorter and the humor is trimmed as well, making this a melodrama instead of a comedy. But, it's still highly entertaining and I would recommend getting a little familiar with the lyrics to the songs before watching because it just makes watching better. Sweeney Todd was Benjamin Barker, a young man with a beautiful family, who is torn apart from them by a lecherous judge, played with appropriate sliminess by Alan Rickman. The New York Times opera critic gave Depp high marks and I think was hoping for more from Helena Bonham Carter (Mrs. Lovett), but she does well enough and shines in songs like A Little Priest, By the Sea, and Not While I'm Around. I do have to admit that I am not a fan of movie musicals, but this one is the exception. One of Tim Burton's best, right up there with Edward Scissorhands and Ed Wood. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
marcmyworksJan 20, 2014
A rather wonderful and original musical film. I found myself loving all the characters despite the evil nature of most of them. I was also glad to see Sasha Baron Cohen prove he is worthy of a blockbuster role.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
Brandy2001Jan 14, 2014
This Is a fantástic film, i just love it
This Is the best film thath i ever atched
This Is art
I love it
And the actors are the best of the world
Is just a perfect film
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
arsheeshMay 9, 2014
Even if you dislike musicals, this film is going to be a perfect treat for you. Full of feels, gore and catchy numbers, Sweeney Todd incorporates every block in the great emotion spectrum, and is undoubtedly one of the best musicalEven if you dislike musicals, this film is going to be a perfect treat for you. Full of feels, gore and catchy numbers, Sweeney Todd incorporates every block in the great emotion spectrum, and is undoubtedly one of the best musical adaptations in history. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
ErinB.Jun 4, 2008
It's official! There is absolutely nothing Johnny Depp can't do! Twisted in a beautiful way!
5 of 6 users found this helpful
10
ConnerSJan 5, 2008
Holy Freaking Crap! this was the most desturbing, amazing movie i have ever seen! The singing in great and the acting is even better! This is not a movie for the light stomached but if you can make it through the gore, it's phenominal! A++!
2 of 3 users found this helpful
10
AllyL.Aug 24, 2008
I just loved this movie. The way it was directed, the way the actors portrayed their characters with convincing emotions, even their voices, which actually were pretty good, appealed to me. Even though I'd first heard of this in I just loved this movie. The way it was directed, the way the actors portrayed their characters with convincing emotions, even their voices, which actually were pretty good, appealed to me. Even though I'd first heard of this in November 2007, it's still the top of my list of all-time favorite movies Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful
9
MaxG.Dec 21, 2007
Absolutely beautiful, but I would have liked the entire repetoire rather than the few they chose for time constraints.
2 of 3 users found this helpful
8
grandpajoe6191Sep 24, 2011
"Sweeney Todd", the remake version directed by Burton, sticks its bloody blade right to the problems of society and mock them with Johnny Depp as the violent Barber. However beware the music; it sucks.
4 of 8 users found this helpful44
All this user's reviews
9
heyitsmegrif4Dec 19, 2011
Scary, crazy, well acted, beautifully filmed and with some great music. Tim Burton's Adaptation is actually my favorite yet and I enjoyed it better than the Broadway version with Patti Lupone and Angela Lansberry. I give this movie 88%.
4 of 8 users found this helpful44
All this user's reviews
3
PhilDFeb 23, 2008
Someone has to say it: Tim Burton is a hasbeen. There, I said it, and I'm glad it's out there. Quell your outrage for a moment and just entertain the idea. You know I'm right. His 'unique visual style' is totally Someone has to say it: Tim Burton is a hasbeen. There, I said it, and I'm glad it's out there. Quell your outrage for a moment and just entertain the idea. You know I'm right. His 'unique visual style' is totally stagnant, he really hasn't got much feeling for pace or character or timing. He's just 'quirky', and his quirks are getting old really fast. I've seen more captivating insights into the nature of man during my little brothers christmas pageants. I can put up with one or two godawful pieces of trash, but Sweeny Todd has confirmed my suspicions that Burton is clueless. The less said about the singing the better. Depp, frankly, is embarrassing. The songs themselves are totally forgettable, and not at all funny. The plot is predictable. Remarkably, the minor characters are the only redeeming feature in this disaster. Old what's-his-name, the short fat guy with the top hat - I liked him. Also, young so-and-so, the one who rescued what's-her-name from wherever. He was intriguing. Carter, too, was excellent as usual. Throw in the towel Burton. Your time is up! ps If anyone starts oozing about what a genius Burton is I want to point out that you are probably still delirious from the poisonous garbage he's been shoveling down your throat and are incapable of judgment. Later. Expand
3 of 6 users found this helpful
6
RiccardoT.Feb 25, 2008
The large number of gruesome scenes prevent a lot of spectators from appreciating this movie.
1 of 2 users found this helpful
7
KarthXLRJan 30, 2011
The only Tim Burton movie post-2000 worth watching. Only issue is with the horrible portrayal of blood in this movie, it looks more like red paint.
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
3
MrPresidentAug 27, 2012
It was dreadful, to be honest. None of the leads can sing and the music is horribly repetitive while still being forgettable. I would no doubt rank it higher if it had actual decent singers (as I know the musical has its fans) but thisIt was dreadful, to be honest. None of the leads can sing and the music is horribly repetitive while still being forgettable. I would no doubt rank it higher if it had actual decent singers (as I know the musical has its fans) but this rendition just made me dislike the musical as a whole. You don't forgo talent to hire your friends if you want artistic integrity and this film is a prime example why. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
10
7dogguyJan 10, 2013
This movie was was brilliant the ending is such a plot twist that i didnt expect the movie is inspirational (not because i want to kill people because no one can make good movies anymore) and well written the acting is really great and theThis movie was was brilliant the ending is such a plot twist that i didnt expect the movie is inspirational (not because i want to kill people because no one can make good movies anymore) and well written the acting is really great and the singing amazing you can really feel for all of the characters in this movie you cant do that with most others but all in all this is one of the best movies in a long time and you should watch it Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
1
bmaster4616Jan 5, 2015
It's a horror movie musical with singing throughout the movie. The story isn't good on it's own. With troupes and characters that are out of every horror movie. The story is unique and the settings are great, but Tim Burton is one the mostIt's a horror movie musical with singing throughout the movie. The story isn't good on it's own. With troupes and characters that are out of every horror movie. The story is unique and the settings are great, but Tim Burton is one the most overrated director of all time. This is one of the most overrated horror movies of all time. Nothing special or unique. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
0
HenryJJan 2, 2008
Boo. Truly terrible. The problem mainly lies in the music, which is trite both melodically and lyrically.
2 of 5 users found this helpful
1
NavdeepS.Aug 8, 2009
To say the least this movie would be the last on the list i would like to watch(even if its a Johny Depp movie).The reason i didn't like this movie was was not made for normal people.....i mean how can a person serve burgers having To say the least this movie would be the last on the list i would like to watch(even if its a Johny Depp movie).The reason i didn't like this movie was was not made for normal people.....i mean how can a person serve burgers having human organs.......and to add to the woes ending of the movie was ridiculous. Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful
2
FM.Jan 3, 2008
I've enjoyed cinema for years ... and even like 'dark' cinema (e.g. Naked Lunch, Tideland). I found this to be barely watchable and unintelligent drivel. I think I'll stay at home and play the BluRay release of I've enjoyed cinema for years ... and even like 'dark' cinema (e.g. Naked Lunch, Tideland). I found this to be barely watchable and unintelligent drivel. I think I'll stay at home and play the BluRay release of BladeRunner again to review art. I really wish that Tim Burton would find his Emo muse and would end up in a meat pie. Nightmare before Christmas was solid and a classic with a wonderful Elfman score ... what happened Mr. Burton? Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful
4
TheDudeJan 4, 2008
Yikes! Am I the only one who didn't like this movie? I wanted to like it, but it just didn't do it for me. The songs didn't grab me. By the end there still just weren't any that I liked, so instead of enjoying the music, Yikes! Am I the only one who didn't like this movie? I wanted to like it, but it just didn't do it for me. The songs didn't grab me. By the end there still just weren't any that I liked, so instead of enjoying the music, it felt more like a musical barrage that I just had to endure through. That was compounded by the darkness of the tale. The whole experience was just too abrasive for me. I expected it to be dark, but I expected it to be more fun. There was some humor(black humor, of course!) but overall it was just too bleak and I frankly just didn't care for the songs, so I couldn't enjoy it. Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful
2
JamesV.Jan 4, 2008
Do not see this movie, it's terrible. Be warned it's a musical, a tongue in check one at that and very bad. I have liked all of the other Burton/ Depp collaborations but this one feels like they are trying to just mess with the Do not see this movie, it's terrible. Be warned it's a musical, a tongue in check one at that and very bad. I have liked all of the other Burton/ Depp collaborations but this one feels like they are trying to just mess with the studios and put out a purposefully bad dud. I have never written a review before and felt compelled to do so because I feel they ripped me off by putting out this "from Dusk Till Dawn" type trash. Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful
4
MichaelE.Feb 12, 2008
No fun at all. To the extent that there is a plot it is transparent and redundant. To the extent that there is a subtext (regarding class warfare) it is brushed aside and stereotyped at every opportunity. To the extent that there are songs No fun at all. To the extent that there is a plot it is transparent and redundant. To the extent that there is a subtext (regarding class warfare) it is brushed aside and stereotyped at every opportunity. To the extent that there are songs they are unmemorable and occasionally tuneless. To the extent that there is a visual design it is unimpressive. One of the least interesting films around. Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful
4
mmApr 20, 2008
lifeless and in the end boring. The lackluster singing of the leads and lack of chemistry doomed this venture. I find Simon B and DJs comments below funny - no bad movies, is that a real statement? And complaining to the editors of lifeless and in the end boring. The lackluster singing of the leads and lack of chemistry doomed this venture. I find Simon B and DJs comments below funny - no bad movies, is that a real statement? And complaining to the editors of metacritic about the 83 score - blame the critics - I see a lot of 90 and 100s up there. Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful
2
DJDannyApr 6, 2008
This is bad. Critics gave this an 83? WTF. Metacritic needs to readjust the critic calculation. [Ed: Sure thing, DJ....]
1 of 4 users found this helpful
3
ArthurXJan 21, 2008
Before the first half of the movie was over, I found myself praying that someone would come along and kill Johnny Depp's character. The songs ranged from mediocre, to banal and extremely trying. I use the "songs" loosely because a Before the first half of the movie was over, I found myself praying that someone would come along and kill Johnny Depp's character. The songs ranged from mediocre, to banal and extremely trying. I use the "songs" loosely because a couple "songs" consisted of the endless repetition of the same two word refrains. The mood is consistently inappropriate, either being too dreary or too lighthearted. I just can't say enough negative things about this movie. The characters were dull and the conclusion was predictable. Expand
1 of 4 users found this helpful
3
RickyQJan 7, 2008
Overall, this is the most over hyped film I have ever seen. If the music was memorable I would understand all the great reviews, but really I don
1 of 4 users found this helpful
2
WhitneyTJan 9, 2008
What happened to the Burton charm of Edward Scissorhands? This movie was over-marketed, over-produced, over-musical. Nothing memorable, except the stupidity that the characters in this dark tale break into ridiculous, unappealing songs every What happened to the Burton charm of Edward Scissorhands? This movie was over-marketed, over-produced, over-musical. Nothing memorable, except the stupidity that the characters in this dark tale break into ridiculous, unappealing songs every five minutes. It made me groan every time I heard the score starting up. Maybe it would've worked better if it weren't a musical. Expand
1 of 4 users found this helpful
0
AlessandroC.Feb 25, 2008
Truly terrible. Boring, boring and... boring!!
1 of 4 users found this helpful
4
LarryR.Jul 4, 2008
The singing is annoying; the songs are mediocre. If the actors would have just not sung, the movie might have been tolerable.
1 of 4 users found this helpful
0
IanK.Jan 2, 2008
Musicals suck this is sooooo over rated crap.
1 of 5 users found this helpful
4
TonyJan 1, 2008
Dark, dull, boring and boring. Did I mention it was boring?
0 of 2 users found this helpful
6
J.K.Jan 3, 2008
Has a case of high expectations pulled the wool over our eyes? The emperor has no clothes with this one. Brilliant set design, inspired casting, flawless performances, and technical mastery all can't make up for the fact that this film Has a case of high expectations pulled the wool over our eyes? The emperor has no clothes with this one. Brilliant set design, inspired casting, flawless performances, and technical mastery all can't make up for the fact that this film has no soul. The bit of audience empathy Burton stirs up for Todd is frozen in minutes by his humorless misanthropy. Soundheim's lyricism does bring needed life to the film. The tunes are good, but not great. They are ultimately forgettable and inadequate supports for the weight of so much mindless gore. With the lack of emotional center, by the time the blood really starts to spurt, each beautiful cut makes me cringe. Somehow the film is much less than the sum of it's parts. Despite truly lovely performances from all, by midway through I don't care anymore, and I'm less enjoying a film than simply waiting for the gore to end. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
4
JesseW.Feb 3, 2008
Amazing movie in all respects except one; the singing was extremely bad... like squirm in your seat and cover your ears bad. Headache bad. It was like sitting through 2 hours of alley cats yowling. I would have scored it higher if it was on mute!
0 of 1 users found this helpful
6
JoM.Jan 1, 2008
How did this get made??? Hollywood has too much money to waste!!! What seemed to be a charming film, turned in to a disturbing blood bath.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
6
mandyg.Jan 27, 2008
Film was good.. but i think that with it being a musical spoiled it...it dragged it on far too long!
0 of 1 users found this helpful
7
Patrickd.Feb 18, 2008
Dark, surprising, fantastic actors, great picture, powerful music by Elfman. Tim Burton still makes great movies. Two things I didn't like: the lyrics are so so, and the movie is sometimes slow. But it is still a great experience.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
8
JoeG.May 13, 2008
Good goryish film but it has a bit of a poor ending.
0 of 2 users found this helpful
6
vidManDec 21, 2007
The film shows occasional brilliance and great dark humor, but overall, is slowed down with passionateless singing.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
4
GlenG.Dec 22, 2007
Ms. Carter's performance ruined what was otherwise a fine film. She was just terrible. Of course, I am jaded by the ghost of Ms. Lansbury's performance in the original version, but surely someone better suited to this role could Ms. Carter's performance ruined what was otherwise a fine film. She was just terrible. Of course, I am jaded by the ghost of Ms. Lansbury's performance in the original version, but surely someone better suited to this role could have been found. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
3
DBDec 28, 2007
Wow. It's amazing how easily people are impressed. This film was not scary, it was not interesting, and while I have not seen the musical on which the film is based, I cannot imagine this tossed-off piece of tripe could have done it Wow. It's amazing how easily people are impressed. This film was not scary, it was not interesting, and while I have not seen the musical on which the film is based, I cannot imagine this tossed-off piece of tripe could have done it justice. It is poorly directed and shot, and plods along like a utilitarian summary of its source material. Helena Bonham Carter is pretty good, and Johnny isn't bad either, but they are chained to one or two grim sets for the whole film, forced to rattle off with straight blank faces music that is obviously meant to underscore a spiral into whirling insanity. And shocking? If this movie made some chilling point about humanity, it must have been hidden at the end of the closing credits. If this movie was somehow disturbing, I guess I'm sort of zombie, cause I am not a watcher of horror movies at all and this didn't even make me squirm. All in all, if you want to see something grim, go see a Todd Solondz movie or something. In any case, a movie with structure, characters, creativity and competence might have been appreciated. As for me? I'm now regretting I wasted more of my time on this tepid Dickensian knockoff. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
4
DavidD.Dec 29, 2007
Most over-rated movie this year.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
5
MikeS.Oct 15, 2008
The film, much like Shakespeare's Hamlet, gets across the point that revenge will bring about a tragic ending and seldom go as planned. Unlike Hamlet, this film seeks to jar your mouth open and pour in as much gore and tasteless The film, much like Shakespeare's Hamlet, gets across the point that revenge will bring about a tragic ending and seldom go as planned. Unlike Hamlet, this film seeks to jar your mouth open and pour in as much gore and tasteless violence as possible, so you're left with indigestion while you're comprehending it afterwards. Take the idea of the forced open throat as you will. This movie neither attracted me, nor repelled me: kind of like the effect of The Rocky Horror Picture Show. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
PooriaDec 30, 2008
The best musical of all Cinema History !
0 of 1 users found this helpful
3
CBoyApr 11, 2008
I'll admit it is full of blood and Johnny was brilliant in it but thats just circumstantial compared to the sheer rubbishness of the story!!!
0 of 3 users found this helpful
10
MadisonF.Oct 11, 2009
If it wasn't the all-star cast, it was the beautiful scenery and music that all contributed to the great success of this film. The Depp and Burton combination was, as usual, fantastic, and Bonham Carter as Mrs. Lovett was an incredible If it wasn't the all-star cast, it was the beautiful scenery and music that all contributed to the great success of this film. The Depp and Burton combination was, as usual, fantastic, and Bonham Carter as Mrs. Lovett was an incredible idea. This is one of my favorite movies of all time. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
8
TubieNov 2, 2010
What a great movie, Tim Burton has the ability to add this charm and style to his movies that I simply love. I did not know about this story or that it was a play but from other peoples account he has done a good job at representing it in theWhat a great movie, Tim Burton has the ability to add this charm and style to his movies that I simply love. I did not know about this story or that it was a play but from other peoples account he has done a good job at representing it in the movie genre. It also has to be said that Johnny Depp is simply amazing, as well as the rest of the cast. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
9
kyle20ellisMar 31, 2022
For starters I like Tim Burton. He has been hit and miss this decade(Planet of the Apes being his worst), but when he is good(Edward Scissorhands, Batman, Ed Wood, Vincent, Beetle Juice and Big Fish) he is good. While not my personalFor starters I like Tim Burton. He has been hit and miss this decade(Planet of the Apes being his worst), but when he is good(Edward Scissorhands, Batman, Ed Wood, Vincent, Beetle Juice and Big Fish) he is good. While not my personal favourite of his films, Sweeney Todd was very well done. Is it as good as the Broadway musical? No, the Broadway musical is a true masterpiece so this movie had a lot to live up to. And is it as good as the 80s stage version with George Hearn and Angela Lansbury? Personally, again I think not. These aside, Burton's take is one of his better works not only this decade but in his career.

Sweeney Todd is a very unique film and very deftly realised. Few musicals have tackled such a dark theme or have boasted such a distinctive look, but this works extremely well. Burton directs wonderfully, and the script is deliciously macabre. The production design won an Oscar, and deservedly so, as it is astounding with all the palette of blacks and greys that contrast perfectly with Sweeney's cut-throat razor. Likewise with the music, Stephen Sondheim's songs and score are simply magnificent though I was disappointed at the omission of Sweeney's ballad which is superlative. The story is just as macabre as the script with a suitably grotesque and over-the-top last act and the murders are very, very bloody.

Last but not least the acting. What can I say? Nothing wrong as far as I can see. Johnny Depp is a wonderful and charismatic presence, and Helen Bonham Carter matches him perfectly as Mrs Lovett. Neither are trained vocalists, but they get into their songs with gusto and also tackle cockney accents and do an above-average job there too. Plus Alan Rickman's(who I love) Judge Terpin is the epitome of evil. All in all, an atmospheric and deliciously dark film and one of Burton's best. 9/10 Bethany Cox
Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
0
PanchogulFeb 12, 2021
Tanto Johnny Depp como Tim Burton apestan en el mundo del cine, por ende, ésta película también.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
LetíciaL.Feb 10, 2008
The best movie I
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
JayH.Mar 27, 2008
This is a tough movie to rate. Johnny Depp is remarkable, the sets, costumes and cinematography are outstanding. Tim Burton's imaginative direction is great. I thought the music wasn't particularly memorable and the story was hard This is a tough movie to rate. Johnny Depp is remarkable, the sets, costumes and cinematography are outstanding. Tim Burton's imaginative direction is great. I thought the music wasn't particularly memorable and the story was hard to stay focused on, and was boring sometimes, But a good effort. Visually it is quite remarkable. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ArmondW.Dec 30, 2007
This isn
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
[Anonymous]Dec 30, 2007
Way better movies, not worth the time, too much blood for my taste.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
StanGDec 30, 2007
I found Sweeney to be enthralling from start to finish. And, yes, I have seen the Broadway productions (still love Angela) but Burton didn't just film the play. He made it a cinematic experience. Bravo!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
KevinL.Jan 1, 2008
Once you swallow the narrative absurdity inherent in practically every musical, this is pretty decent. Burton makes the most of the actors' expressions, even behind the cake of make-up they all wear. Timothy Spall is especially good as Once you swallow the narrative absurdity inherent in practically every musical, this is pretty decent. Burton makes the most of the actors' expressions, even behind the cake of make-up they all wear. Timothy Spall is especially good as Beadle Bamford -- the play of vanity and sadism sweep across his face like dark clouds across a full moon. Burton's best since Mars Attacks! (a classic!), because he doesn't allow himself to get too sappy with his woe-begotten underdogs (who, after all, are psychotic killers). Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
JamesA.Jan 1, 2008
First, the acting of Johnny Depp is too good as usual. This man has all the charming and the looks. This movie is a MUSICAL. So people not interested in MUSICAL can stay back at home, rent the video and watch it. Other than that the story is First, the acting of Johnny Depp is too good as usual. This man has all the charming and the looks. This movie is a MUSICAL. So people not interested in MUSICAL can stay back at home, rent the video and watch it. Other than that the story is really good. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
KevinD.Jan 1, 2008
Sondheim's score and Burton's vision come together perfectly. Visually appealing and aurally entrancing. A masterpiece of stage to screen adaptations.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JohnB.Jan 1, 2008
I'm not much of a fan of musicals. Sitting through things like "The Sound of Music" is sheer torture for me. I was intrigued with the overall plot of Sweeney Todd, but I still had misgivings about the fact that it is still a musical. As I'm not much of a fan of musicals. Sitting through things like "The Sound of Music" is sheer torture for me. I was intrigued with the overall plot of Sweeney Todd, but I still had misgivings about the fact that it is still a musical. As it turns out, seeing this movie was a superb, if uneasy, experience. This is a dark, dark, sardonic movie, with unexpected comic turns. The dreariness of the cinematagraphy is almost numbing, and yet it mostly works given the plot. Depp is astounding in the lead. I saw the movie without any baggage from having seen any previous Broadway versions, and so I am judging the movie on its own merits rather than by comparison. Much of the music does seem to have a rather dated quality to it, which doesn't mean that it's not good. It just took me a while to be immersed in it, and before too long I was able to enjoy it about as much as most contemporary music that I like. The lyrics, in a number of instances, are just brilliantly, comically vicious. In a world in which people are routinely devouring each other, why not do it right and make folks into delicious pies. The idea rings even truer now than decades ago when this musical first hit Broadway. It's a positively Swiftian premise. I heartily recommend this movie for people who can stomach it. The gore, the cutting, the dumping of the bodies with a sickening thud 15 or so feet below Sweeney's establishment - not for the squeamish. But if you are the kind of person who finds a perverse delight in hearing lyrics like, "We all deserve to die," then this is a movie event you should not miss. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
MichaelMJan 18, 2008
I've been the kind of person that reads movie reviews and NEVER says anything myself, but I can't let this one go. This movie had to be one of the most overrated, overhyped two hours of musical boredom. I have been a fan of a lot I've been the kind of person that reads movie reviews and NEVER says anything myself, but I can't let this one go. This movie had to be one of the most overrated, overhyped two hours of musical boredom. I have been a fan of a lot of Depp and Burton's movies, but this one was one of the least entertaining movies I've seen in awhile. The general activity in the theatre seemed to be divided between checking watches and just trying to stay awake. The dreary, lifeless sets and characters were obviously all well crafted to create a dreary and lifeless tale this time. This film was not unsettling, hardly scary and above all else just not interesting. If had to choose one word to sum up this movie it would be "boring," if had two it would be VERY BORING. If you are a lover of musicals, or tim burton just watch one of your own favorites instead of damaging those feelings by watching this tripe. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DavidHEJan 20, 2008
At least 10 to combat the stink of the spammers with low scores which aren't deleted. Powerful film with great cash and although it doesn't capture the musical perfectly the songs are reasonably abridged. A strong 9.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
MattHDec 14, 2008
I didn't entirely dislike the film but I felt there were a lot of plot avenues that were left unexplored which rendered a lot of the motivations of the main characters somewhat ambiguous. I enjoyed the visuals but only the first few I didn't entirely dislike the film but I felt there were a lot of plot avenues that were left unexplored which rendered a lot of the motivations of the main characters somewhat ambiguous. I enjoyed the visuals but only the first few times they were shown! A bit more variety in the depictions of the sets, characters and actions would have gone a long way. I thought the singing performances were great but the songs were structureless and dull which is not a good thing in a musical with more singing than speaking. As the music was already in place it was not a symptom of a poor film but in fact the root cause of a film that misses it's marks - it was an obstacle that the director nor the cast could possibly overcome. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
KennethM.Jan 2, 2008
About 20 minutes worth of dark chuckles mixed in with an hour and a half of eye glazing boredom. Honestly, have you had the wool pulled over your eyes by Burton? This film was awful!
0 of 0 users found this helpful