Universal Pictures | Release Date: January 7, 2022
4.0
USER SCORE
Mixed or average reviews based on 106 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
24
Mixed:
30
Negative:
52
Watch Now
Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
0
OlivierPielMay 15, 2022
You go woke and only woke, you go broke...Hollywood pandering at its finest
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
6
pastor43Jan 11, 2022
Love everyone one of the actresses, if you’ve watch many action films you knew where it was going. How they were getting there started off well until a certain scene redirected the film to feeling like it was being force instead of theLove everyone one of the actresses, if you’ve watch many action films you knew where it was going. How they were getting there started off well until a certain scene redirected the film to feeling like it was being force instead of the organic unfolding. They didn’t pivot very well. My hope is that the movie isn’t seen as uplifting the women at the expense of emasculating the men. All these actresses are extremely talented my favorite being Jessica Chastain. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
6
r96skJan 18, 2022
The cast do great, just a shame the rest of 'The 355' isn't up to their level.

Jessica Chastain, Diane Kruger, Lupita Nyong'o, Penélope Cruz and Fan Bingbing all produce, all of them give enjoyable performances and never became
The cast do great, just a shame the rest of 'The 355' isn't up to their level.

Jessica Chastain, Diane Kruger, Lupita Nyong'o, Penélope Cruz and Fan Bingbing all produce, all of them give enjoyable performances and never became uninteresting, irritating or whatever to me. They are the film's major plus. I'm struggling for other positives, cinematography at a push?

Unfortunately, I came away from watching feeling underwhelmed. The second half really drags, not helped by an extremely lame 'twist'. The first half isn't perfect but does hold potential, once the main bunch eventually team up it's more interesting. The editing is a little iffy, too.

There are quite a few talky scenes that aren't worthwhile at all, especially early on with Chastain and Sebastian Stan. Things improve when the action sequences get underway, not that they are anything extraordinary but what we see is satisfactory; it's the bits in between that let this 2022 release down.

6/10, despite the well performing cast; who almost made me give this 7/10.
Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
1
All_ButTrU4Feb 6, 2022
It's formulaic but no worse than the average action movie. It has a clear agenda that it shoves down your throat,a feminist girlboss commercialism that can only provide low "yass gworl" thrills and impractical action sequences.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
KellybrownJan 24, 2022
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. An amazing movie. Had to watch twice coz one time wasnt enough. I really wish to see sequel for this movie. It definitely able to defeat Mission Impossible series and James Bond series if it given a chance. If Jessica Chastain read this, please produce a sequel!!!! Expand
7 of 9 users found this helpful72
All this user's reviews
7
MarkHReviewsJan 12, 2022
At the 2015 Critics Choice Awards, Jessica Chastain offered an impassioned speech about the lack of roles for women in Hollywood. Deciding to put her money where her mouth is, Chastain founded Freckle Films (see what she did there?!). “TheAt the 2015 Critics Choice Awards, Jessica Chastain offered an impassioned speech about the lack of roles for women in Hollywood. Deciding to put her money where her mouth is, Chastain founded Freckle Films (see what she did there?!). “The 355” is the first film released by her production company.

At many levels, it would be gratifying to be able to describe this initial effort as an unqualified success. After all, when the cast includes Chastain (as CIA agent Mace), Diane Kruger (“Inglourious Basterds,” TV’s “The Bridge”), Lupito Nyong’o (Oscar for “12 Years a Slave”) and Penelope Cruz (Oscar for “Vicky Christina Barcelona”) as sisters in arms, they could probably draw a crowd by reading random entries from a cook book. Unfortunately, the script for “The 355” is a half-baked recipe for tedium. Chastain, Kruger and Nyong’o - agents of the CIA, Germany’s BND intelligence service and Britain’s MI-6, respectively - band together to save the world from imminent disaster. Penelope Cruz – a spy therapist – goes along to provide psychological support. They all come together because a Colombian miscreant has created a computer drive that can backdoor any encrypted device in the world (gasp!). What if this tool falls into the wrong hands? And so on…

The action sequences and general derring-do are quite serviceable (particularly when compared to Roger Moore’s arthritic James Bond). Like so many spy thrillers, the script relies a little too heavily on implausible plot twists. And here, Act I is quite slow to establish the main characters and their interrelationship. At points, some of the clichés invoked are oppressive: “We can do this the easy way or the hard way” could apply both to the agents’ captive and, unfortunately, to the captive audience for this caper. (Spoiler: the scriptwriters chose the hard way.)

The conclusion suggests that this film clearly hopes to start a franchise. I hope so, too. The core actors are wonderful. The bending of gender stereotypes has real potential (being a female spy who has to call in each evening to check on the kids is just great fun). Future installments would benefit from a more thoughtful script, a seasoned action-film director and a little less self-seriousness. Take a look at Ana de Armas’ role in “No Time To Die” – she’s self-deprecating, believable and clearly having a great time – then go and do thou likewise.

Bottom line: Do we need more female-oriented thrillers where the heroines, like Ginger Rogers, do everything the men can do but “backwards and in high heels?” Yes, please!
Expand
10 of 15 users found this helpful105
All this user's reviews
3
neeeeeeiinJan 19, 2022
CIA Propaganda girlboss edition. From the acclaimed director of Xmen Dark Phoenix.
8 of 12 users found this helpful84
All this user's reviews
4
MattyIce34Jan 7, 2022
It’s not the worst thing ever, but it’s sooooo uninspired and wastes the cast
6 of 9 users found this helpful63
All this user's reviews
4
JLuis_001Jan 12, 2022
A more than insipid maelstrom of clichés in a espionaje story that doesn't do justice to any of the women involved in its main cast, which in a way becomes its only attractive element, because its narrative is totally bland and unsatisfying.A more than insipid maelstrom of clichés in a espionaje story that doesn't do justice to any of the women involved in its main cast, which in a way becomes its only attractive element, because its narrative is totally bland and unsatisfying.

I'm especially surprised by Jessica Chastain, who in her last foray into the action genre delivered an equally mediocre film with Ava.
Didn't she learn from that experience?

I'm absolutely thrilled that more women continue to enter this male-dominated genre, but their attempts don't have to be equally irrelevant and meaningless as most action movies tend to be.
Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
8
Jonathan_M_2Jan 11, 2022
I expected a spy action thriller and got a spy action thriller. It was neither revolutionary or terrible; it was good. If one wants to watch a new, good spy action thriller then this is that.
8 of 13 users found this helpful85
All this user's reviews
10
AquaticDegree75Jan 15, 2022
I thought it was amazing jessica and sebastian had such amazing chemistry i would love to see them work together again. Casting was amazing, fight scenes great very happy
9 of 15 users found this helpful96
All this user's reviews
10
ZahmeJan 10, 2022
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I watched this film knowing one of my favourite actors was in it. I loved the cast and loved their acting and performance. A very good action film Expand
8 of 14 users found this helpful86
All this user's reviews
0
mickrussomJan 9, 2022
'the 355' is hackneyed with terrible cinematography and its writing makes for a lifeless world. the cast is supposedly 'great' in that it has the requisite number of hollyweird 'names' but they writing is so bad not even the devil's own'the 355' is hackneyed with terrible cinematography and its writing makes for a lifeless world. the cast is supposedly 'great' in that it has the requisite number of hollyweird 'names' but they writing is so bad not even the devil's own jesters could make this worthwhile or any less dull. its dullness somehow feels worse than grand failure - like movies that suck so hard they get hate watched or a cult following (e.g., plan9, ed wood flics, etc) - its as though it was made to show that even the most 'talented' of the hollyweirdos can make something this dull. 'the 355' has what could be considered a single suspenseful scene which is less than five minutes long and it happens late into the movie when most have walked out or dipped out of the stream. the writing sucks and unlike the bourne series where you could suspend belief and think it was all remotely possible this stuff is just poorly written and constructed crap that is not believable in the least. Expand
9 of 18 users found this helpful99
All this user's reviews
4
TVJerryJan 14, 2022
Jessica Chastain leads a team of women special agents to save the world from the newest tech weapon. Her group includes Diane Kruger (Germany), Lupita Nyong’o (Britian), Penélope Cruz (Columbia) and Bingbing Fan (China). The plot is a yawnJessica Chastain leads a team of women special agents to save the world from the newest tech weapon. Her group includes Diane Kruger (Germany), Lupita Nyong’o (Britian), Penélope Cruz (Columbia) and Bingbing Fan (China). The plot is a yawn and the writing isn't especially clever or interesting, so that just leaves the action. First, there isn't enough of it and second, the fights are essentially useless. The camerawork is so manic and the editing so chaotic that you can't really appreciate what's happening. In the current trend for kickass women in action films, this has to be the worst. At the end, there's an obvious setup for sequels, but based on this outing, it's doubtful. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
2
ScienceAdvisorJan 9, 2022
When the only real selling point is "diversity and representation" you know exactly what you are going to get, disappointment. When the writer/director (Kinberg) shows women with little muscle mass/density tossing around much larger, muscledWhen the only real selling point is "diversity and representation" you know exactly what you are going to get, disappointment. When the writer/director (Kinberg) shows women with little muscle mass/density tossing around much larger, muscled men pretending that is believable due to women power alone, not superior fighting skill (aka the real Black Widow), then you know this was just Hollywood-Bingo, where checking boxes was more important than pesky things like good characterizations, plot, and that ever elusive entertainment. 2/10

Those trying to blame the poor performance of The 355 on the pandemic really need to stop. No Way Home utterly destroys such a laughable claim.
Expand
7 of 15 users found this helpful78
All this user's reviews
0
arostislavnaJan 10, 2022
Quite possibly the worst written & uninspired espionage film. The plot is a travesty.

Watch Atomic Blonde and The Americans for good espionage.
5 of 13 users found this helpful58
All this user's reviews
0
Marco_AGJJan 12, 2022
A disaster. Even movies need a certain amount of common sense, this one throws that out the window along with basically anything that could potentially make it even worthwhile.
3 of 8 users found this helpful35
All this user's reviews
0
LiveFoxJan 11, 2022
So horrible. 100 lbs and 5’4? Sure lady, you can beat all these men up without breaking a sweat.
4 of 11 users found this helpful47
All this user's reviews
0
WayTooBadJan 12, 2022
Dis cos tan, really. When are they going to realize? Who is producing these garbaj? Willing to throw money away.
3 of 9 users found this helpful36
All this user's reviews
1
Mobashir25Jan 13, 2022
I'm being generous with the 1 out of 10, this film was a flaming mess and clearly politically motivated, when will these folks in Hollywood realize that the world doesn't care about their tokenism, wokeism etc..
3 of 9 users found this helpful36
All this user's reviews
0
PTS000Jan 12, 2022
Get Woke, Go Broke……. Terrible movie when will they ever learn and by the way who is wasting their money by backing these horrendous films……..
3 of 10 users found this helpful37
All this user's reviews
5
Garciga2Jan 9, 2022
Great movie! I would watch it a couple of time. The characters acted very well. The action scenes seemed very real.
2 of 8 users found this helpful26
All this user's reviews
3
MetacriticOnurJan 30, 2022
bad
[ bad ]

adjective, worse, worst;(Slang) bad·der, bad·dest for 36.
not good in any manner or degree.
1 of 7 users found this helpful16
All this user's reviews
5
sprtschikjsJan 21, 2022
Movie kept me on my toes, great acting, and overall great story line. Also, female cast was phenomenal
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
6
LisaangryMar 15, 2022
看就完了,动作戏还行,剧情逻辑很多地方说不通,而且那段感情戏呀什么玩意,主要还是喜欢这几个女演员 多给一颗星吧哈哈哈哈
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
1
TomHugJul 16, 2022
This movie is surprisingly, humorously bad. With the names attached to it, I expected a decent action/spy movie. Maybe not "Bourne Identity" but at least "Rambo". The plot and script reads as if a group of high-schoolers were assigned toThis movie is surprisingly, humorously bad. With the names attached to it, I expected a decent action/spy movie. Maybe not "Bourne Identity" but at least "Rambo". The plot and script reads as if a group of high-schoolers were assigned to watch 40 middling spy/action films and then produced the script as a group project. It's one cliche-trope-tired-plot-convention after another. The central characters are all dynamic & empowered women who all have a fatal flow in terms of the role a man plays in their lives. By the time we were 10 minutes in, we were laughing in a "so bad it's good" kinda way. Avoid this unless you're game for a clunker. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
Voodoo123May 5, 2022
Average action thriller combines a great cast with a standard d grade plot. The action is decent, the soundtrack good. It's well produced - looks and sounds great 4k HDR / 5.1 etc. Sadly in such an oversaturated genre 355 does little to standAverage action thriller combines a great cast with a standard d grade plot. The action is decent, the soundtrack good. It's well produced - looks and sounds great 4k HDR / 5.1 etc. Sadly in such an oversaturated genre 355 does little to stand out from the crowd. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
RalfbergsJun 26, 2022
It is so weird that here audience ratings are heavily negative while in tomatoes site it is so positive (only critics ratings are low). Sometimes just makes me feel like one of the sites or both has some bots in it which put ratings that areIt is so weird that here audience ratings are heavily negative while in tomatoes site it is so positive (only critics ratings are low). Sometimes just makes me feel like one of the sites or both has some bots in it which put ratings that are needed in the agenda. Anyway for me it was quite average. It had good moments, nice action parts, at the beginning felt interesting and that there were characters to be introduced and story behind them, but then what I feared happened and the character story arcs werent looked into that much more and became quite generic. I think it had potential to be better, but yet yet again it wasn't bad. Average. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
2
SoulWarfareFeb 20, 2022
Not even a stellar cast can save this generic action movie.

A forgettable plot, unmemorable action sequences, unconvincing fight choreography and bland characters. It is quite boring for an action movie. If you want a good woman led action
Not even a stellar cast can save this generic action movie.

A forgettable plot, unmemorable action sequences, unconvincing fight choreography and bland characters. It is quite boring for an action movie.

If you want a good woman led action movie then go watch Atomic Blonde or even Wonder Woman because this isn't worth your time.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
Mauro_LanariAug 29, 2022
(Mauro Lanari)
It's not a female Bond movie. Exactly on the contrary, it is the specific universe of women's values transferred and applied to a spy story, a universe where emotional bonds are both strengths and vulnerabilities. Even if the
(Mauro Lanari)
It's not a female Bond movie. Exactly on the contrary, it is the specific universe of women's values transferred and applied to a spy story, a universe where emotional bonds are both strengths and vulnerabilities. Even if the action suffers, it was time for it to be shown better than an episode of "Charlie's Angels" (angels which, in fact, are not autonomous but subordinate to their boss Charlie Townsend). Do the men underestimate the 5 protagonists leaving them alive every time? Worse for the men.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
HabibiehakimMar 6, 2022
The 355 is a movie with a bunch of A-List actress and actor that unfortunately fills with uninteresting story, average action packed, and the most surprising main problem is it's badly perform, i saw Jessica Chaistain playing a good role inThe 355 is a movie with a bunch of A-List actress and actor that unfortunately fills with uninteresting story, average action packed, and the most surprising main problem is it's badly perform, i saw Jessica Chaistain playing a good role in The Eyes Of Tammy Faye her latest movie, i saw Diane Kruger playing a good role in Tarantino's Inglorious Basterds, Lupita Nyong'o in Black Panther and Us, so do Penelope Cruz and even Bingbing Fan which is the first time i see her didn't even make a good job too, sure there is some little particular scene when they're performance was better, but mostly it don't, they don't have any chemistry at all and when each of them are bad, i just get so cringed by it because like i mention i've seen all of them (except Bingbing Fan) having a great performances, and it just so cringe to seeing them all the A-List actresses having a B movie performance, the story was again uninteresting but at least i was still into it until the end and the action was averagely entertaining enough, but whoever pick the main cast of the film surely very confident that it's gonna work, well instead of that it's a complete failure. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
justmovietrollFeb 3, 2022
Great film. It's hard to see movies where women perform in James Bond types of action movies as the main character instead of just being either a side character, or the main character's wife or assistant. "The 355" marks as a rare type ofGreat film. It's hard to see movies where women perform in James Bond types of action movies as the main character instead of just being either a side character, or the main character's wife or assistant. "The 355" marks as a rare type of cinematic actioner because of that. It has an easy-to-follow story, great voice acting, and a diverse list of them (british, chinese, german, and latin). Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
royalguy07Jul 25, 2022
Beat me up and tie me down super hot international spies. Decent action flick, bad plot/bad guys.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
RobertHowardAug 21, 2022
Ultimately a disappointingly mediocre standard action movie despite a talented cast.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
2
IntakeCinemaJul 5, 2022
'Technology is the new drug.' New? Where have you been the past 30 years? I think The 355 believes that an all-female team-up is also new, it's not and a movie can't stand on that alone.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
0
CharlescarterJul 29, 2022
This movie sucks. So many crappy characters. Jaded unbelievable story that creates no immersion. So bland
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews