Warner Bros. Pictures | Release Date: February 23, 2007
5.6
USER SCORE
Mixed or average reviews based on 33 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
16
Mixed:
6
Negative:
11
Watch Now
Buy On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
4
ChadS.Apr 11, 2007
Comparing "Field of Dreams" to Michael Polish's "The Astronaut Farmer" makes sense only if Kevin Costner's character built the ballpark and the children of the corn showed up to kill his family. As filmmakers of two well-received Comparing "Field of Dreams" to Michael Polish's "The Astronaut Farmer" makes sense only if Kevin Costner's character built the ballpark and the children of the corn showed up to kill his family. As filmmakers of two well-received indies on their resumes ("Twin Falls Idaho" & "Northfork"), The Polish Brothers might very well be pulling a fast one on audiences, and the unsuspecting studio who financed this bizarre movie about a family under siege by their daft patriarch, masquerading as a feel good-film about following your dreams. If you're a sane and rational human being, you're rooting against Charles Farmer (Billy Bob Thornton) from blasting off into outer space. He's endangering his family's lives (a line drive-foul ball is nothing compared to a wayward rocket), and compromising the quality of his children's future(should they escape the path of that wayward rocket). Audrey (Virginia Madsen) appears so nonchalant about her husband's potential for instantaneous incineration, you wonder if there's a million-dollar payoff(in case of accidental death) on some unseen life insurance policy. When she tells Charles that people think his subordinates belong to a cult, that she and the children have been brainwashed; you think(and this is why the film is subversive and perhaps, self-aware), yes, I do agree with the townsfolk's assessment that Audrey's been drinking the farmer's kool-aid for far too long. If the filmmakers' intent were to make an inspirational film about a congenial sociopath, "The Astronaut Farmer" is an unqualified success. What occurs as the end credits roll has the unmistakable appearance of having been tacked on(the extra scene runs contrary to the information we're given), you suspect, after test audiences registered what I registered as "The Astronaut Farmer" faded to black; that Charles Farmer is a manipulative, narcissistic jerk. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
PeniR.Feb 28, 2007
This was such a sweet family movie and holy cow, BRUCE WILLIS is in it!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
ClareK.Mar 3, 2007
OK movie for kids under 10. Over 10 would walk out.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
DWillyMar 3, 2007
Of all of the great stories to be told, true stories of human courage and perseverance, what a shame to throw the money away on this cockamamie drivel. As I was drifting off, listening to the overbearing musical score, it occurred to me that Of all of the great stories to be told, true stories of human courage and perseverance, what a shame to throw the money away on this cockamamie drivel. As I was drifting off, listening to the overbearing musical score, it occurred to me that this is what is talked about as attempting to force unearned sentiment. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
JohnS.Feb 25, 2007
i walked out. Zzzzzzz
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
BR.Feb 25, 2007
A fun movie to watch because of silly humor and unbelievable attempts to launch a rocket into orbit. Nothing special on the attempt of direction or acting...but was fun to watch.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BillyH.Feb 27, 2007
Nothing can really happen the way they do in PG movies. If this movie were rated R, then I'm sure it would be more realistic, but it wouldn't have the same feel good message and I wouldn't have brought my little ones. I Nothing can really happen the way they do in PG movies. If this movie were rated R, then I'm sure it would be more realistic, but it wouldn't have the same feel good message and I wouldn't have brought my little ones. I thought it was a great family movie! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BradJ.Feb 27, 2007
I really loved it. It's a modern day fable with subtle subtext if you know where to look for it. This is a movie that demands to be seen as a movie...not a documentary. It's OK not to be cynical and just enjoy it for what it is, I really loved it. It's a modern day fable with subtle subtext if you know where to look for it. This is a movie that demands to be seen as a movie...not a documentary. It's OK not to be cynical and just enjoy it for what it is, there's a lot more there than meets the eye and it is real pretty to look at. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
AlanS.Mar 1, 2007
Enjoyable, escapist, unusual. Sure, some physical-law and plot disconnects, but no regrets anyway about the time or money spent to see it. For a nice change, something upbeat and non-violent.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
DonaldT.Mar 8, 2007
This film is a great Saturday or Sunday cinema film. The acting and direction is great......overall the film does exactly what it says. Worth seeing just for the scenary alone.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
PnArdyPnArdyMay 13, 2007
It would have been great movie if they kept it real. The idea of the private space travel is brilliant, but no single farmer could possibly accomplish such a huge and challenging task, launch himself into space and then return to Earth successfully.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
Bobbyr.Jul 11, 2007
Disjointed attempt at following dreams. The result is living through a nightmare. Self centered man takes advantage of every one in his life.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
RyanAug 21, 2007
Oh so boring..I could barely sit through this movie. I don't like the comparison of this to field of dreams.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
RagnarOne-ThumbFeb 23, 2007
Absolutely horrible. Swelling strings, long stares into each other's eyes do not a movie make. Add implausibility too. An atlas rocket tipping over would have exploded into 12.7 billion frickin pieces...gasp.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
JamieJ.Feb 25, 2007
A decent family movie. Worth a matinée, and perhaps a DVD for $10, but not full price. lastly... yeah, yeah it's not plausible, but it's a movie remember? This is just good clean fun.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
BibliotechaS.Feb 25, 2007
This was a feel-good family movie. It's about dreaming and fulfilling your dreams. If you can't get up about that, then I don't know what you'd be able to get up about. Go see it. It's good for you. The Astronaut This was a feel-good family movie. It's about dreaming and fulfilling your dreams. If you can't get up about that, then I don't know what you'd be able to get up about. Go see it. It's good for you. The Astronaut Space Farmer works because it's about overcoming all odds, even Bruce Willis, to puncture one's ozone or threshold of chains holding him down. Good on Billy Bob for not letting the naysayers speak. The best "movie" of '06 is Apocalypto, however. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
BillyB.Mar 25, 2007
When watching this movie, you get no sense of imagination that this could really happen. Along with bad acting, this movie has fake mushy moments and doesnt deliver that wow feeling you want to receive when you watch it. And not only does no When watching this movie, you get no sense of imagination that this could really happen. Along with bad acting, this movie has fake mushy moments and doesnt deliver that wow feeling you want to receive when you watch it. And not only does no one (especially his wife) see that this is the stupidest idea ever, but [***SPOILER***] after he crashes the first one, he builds another! What a disgrace of a movie Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
BrendanApr 16, 2007
With a terrible tittle and a boring storyline The Astronaut Farmer has everything to make a terrible drama. The only thing that gets this films a 2/10 is a pretty well off performance from Billy Bob Thornton. He actually makes you smile a With a terrible tittle and a boring storyline The Astronaut Farmer has everything to make a terrible drama. The only thing that gets this films a 2/10 is a pretty well off performance from Billy Bob Thornton. He actually makes you smile a little bit when he finally succeeds. But personally a found myself looking around waiting for something exciting or dramatic to happen and when it does you've been dozing off too long to notice it. I don't think this would appeal to almost any audience it's not good for families, teens, adults or any moviegoers. If I were you I'd rather sit at home. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
MarkB.Apr 19, 2007
Disturbia is only the most current example of a decades-old trend: several times a year (at least), Hollywood tries, with varying degrees of success, to resurrect Alfred Hitchcock. Not surprising; the techniques he invented, polished or Disturbia is only the most current example of a decades-old trend: several times a year (at least), Hollywood tries, with varying degrees of success, to resurrect Alfred Hitchcock. Not surprising; the techniques he invented, polished or perfected aren't THAT hard to learn and replicate, however mechanically...but comparatively speaking, very few moviemakers past or present have tried to do a Frank Capra film. That's just as well: most attempts are either loaded with more unnecessary sugar than Jeff Goldblum filled his coffee cup with in The Fly, or they take the opposite tack, trying to appear hip by overbalancing the necessary sentiment with blatant nastiness masquerading as edge. (Yes, Adam Sandler, I'm talking to you. I've seen Mr. Deeds, Big Daddy and Click. Please stop urinating on the great man's grave.) The Astronaut Farmer gets it almost completely right. Many reviewers and posters have noted would-be astronaut and currently-is farmer Charles's ego- and megalomania, but these are personality characteristics that also comprise part of the makeup of Capra's greatest and most unforgettable heroes: Longfellow Deeds, Jefferson Smith and George Bailey. They're good guys but not always nice guys; the first two are a little too free with a left hook at times, and when you watch It's A Wonderful Life again note just how badly George treats not only his youngest daughter's teacher but also, years before, the guy who was dancing with his future wife. Any viewer over the age of 6 can automatically recognize that Charles Farmer's eagerly, elaborately planned trip through space absolutely cannot happen--scientifically, legally, financially and from hundreds of other standpoints--but then, one could also say the same about a kid finding a cute alien in his backyard, or a lonely bachelor stumbling onto a mermaid who's totally enamored of him, or of Charles Bronson sending the entire criminal population of both New York and Los Angeles to mugger hell. That's why they're called fantasies, folks, and why movies like this are so irresistable for those of us who never went for that degree, tried out for the minor leagues or went to that American Idol audition: if Charles can achieve a literally impossible dream, then there's hope for us, too. Billy Bob Thornton, taking a welcome break from his recent "slimeball trilogy" of Bad Santa, Bad News Bears and School for Scoundrels, is a wonderfully gentle, likable everyman-with-dreams, while Virginia Madsen, as his loyal but not limitlessly patient wife Audrey, provides as warm and real a presence as she did in Sideways...and there's an unbilled guest appearance by an actor who proves himself far more capable of subtlety and nuance than his signature film roles have allowed him to demonstrate. If you're in the market for this kind of hokey-but-irresistable wish fulfillment, The Astronaut Farmer does it beautifully and with great conviction; I loved how filmmakers Mark and Michael Polish carefully included a running reference to a Lucky Charms-like breakfast cereal that later pays off in an unforgettable visual sequence. If you're not a fan, fair enough, but rather than foaming at the mouth too violently about Charles's supposed irresponsibility toward his family and creditors, I'd simply remind you of those four immortal words: It's. Just. A. Movie. And if you prefer to get your minimum cinematic requirements met by indulging in the "realistic', feel free to seek out or reexperience the well-made but pointless breast-beating of Babel, or get pummelled along with Will Smith for two endlessly depressing, disspiriting hours of the fraudulently-titled The Pursuit of Happyness (both now available on DVD). The rest of us (and judging from The Astronaul Farmer's minimal grosses, aren't many) will opt instead for this lovely, vibrant and deeply resonant rocket ride. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
lususgreeneMay 13, 2011
This is a very good movie avtually. It manages to be truely inspring without being over the top and ridiculous about it. Most movies like this go to far and end up being obnoxious. The acting is great, the premise is nice, it has funnyThis is a very good movie avtually. It manages to be truely inspring without being over the top and ridiculous about it. Most movies like this go to far and end up being obnoxious. The acting is great, the premise is nice, it has funny moments and serious moments, and it shows the positives and negatives of whole situation. There is one part in the middle where it spins its wheels but the pay off is nice. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews