Lionsgate | Release Date: June 23, 2017
7.0
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 386 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
289
Mixed:
41
Negative:
56
Watch Now
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
6
ScraperAug 14, 2017
The Big Sick is an earnest movie. I just can't help but feel Apatow is cobbling together pieces of his other films. The relationship struggles of Knocked Up, getting over an illness like 50/50, and amateur comedians like Funny People. TheThe Big Sick is an earnest movie. I just can't help but feel Apatow is cobbling together pieces of his other films. The relationship struggles of Knocked Up, getting over an illness like 50/50, and amateur comedians like Funny People. The comedy was very mild and the relationship felt lukewarm. The Pakistani struggling against his culture was interesting but the girl just seemed ordinary. These aforementioned elements have been done more intensely before. Of course they play out with little to no twist. Expand
2 of 4 users found this helpful22
All this user's reviews
5
swingJul 14, 2017
More than a snooze for the first hour until the real stars and pros of the movie show up. Makes the most of every stereotype, Pakistanis, comedy club wannabes, and the stars of the movie. The only reason to see the movie is for Ray Romano andMore than a snooze for the first hour until the real stars and pros of the movie show up. Makes the most of every stereotype, Pakistanis, comedy club wannabes, and the stars of the movie. The only reason to see the movie is for Ray Romano and Holly Hunter. Expand
2 of 4 users found this helpful22
All this user's reviews
6
arunscriptJul 20, 2017
This movie is not as great or amazing as folks are making it out to be. *Spoiler Alert* follows:
The part where he goes up on stage and instead of going ahead with his comedy routine, gets all emotional, is frankly - unbelievable and hammy.
This movie is not as great or amazing as folks are making it out to be. *Spoiler Alert* follows:
The part where he goes up on stage and instead of going ahead with his comedy routine, gets all emotional, is frankly - unbelievable and hammy. It all goes downhill from there.
Expand
2 of 4 users found this helpful22
All this user's reviews
6
moviemitch96Jul 15, 2017
I'm sorry, but I just didn't understand the hype surrounding this rom-com/dramedy. Sure it had a few funny one-liners and jokes here and there, but I never laughed out loud once to be honest. I also personally felt as though most of theI'm sorry, but I just didn't understand the hype surrounding this rom-com/dramedy. Sure it had a few funny one-liners and jokes here and there, but I never laughed out loud once to be honest. I also personally felt as though most of the actors were trying too hard at times. Overall, it made me smile more than a handful of times throughout due to its good heart, but nothing else about the film really stood out to me or made me want to get too excited. Simply put, I really didn't find it too funny or memorable. Expand
2 of 4 users found this helpful22
All this user's reviews
5
GinaKJul 12, 2017
Overall this was not a very witty or perceptive film, but rather self-indulgent and with a passive hero who seemed to take forever to get his act together (literally). It could have been much improved by someone having the discipline to snipOverall this was not a very witty or perceptive film, but rather self-indulgent and with a passive hero who seemed to take forever to get his act together (literally). It could have been much improved by someone having the discipline to snip out at least 30 minutes – it was really not necessary to tell the story in such excruciating detail. Luckily the plot was stolen by Ray Romano and Holly Hunter (was the Romano-Hunter dialogue better or were they just better comic actors?), but when they were not on screen, things dragged. The coma went on much too long until it was suddenly over. For me the biggest disappointment was the clichéd way in which the Pakistani-American family was treated where some insight would have been greatly appreciated and a public service. And why is this film called a romance when the love interest spent most of the film off-screen? Plus the hero seemed more charmed by her parents than the girlfriend. But then he spent a lot more time with them. Expand
2 of 5 users found this helpful23
All this user's reviews
6
TVJerryJul 17, 2017
Comic Kumail Nanjiani and his real-life wife Emily V. Gordon wrote this story from their life experience. He's a Pakistani Muslim who's expected to marry one of his own kind, but his relationship with a white girl (Zoe Kazan) causes concern.Comic Kumail Nanjiani and his real-life wife Emily V. Gordon wrote this story from their life experience. He's a Pakistani Muslim who's expected to marry one of his own kind, but his relationship with a white girl (Zoe Kazan) causes concern. When she becomes extremely ill, this complicates matters with his family and hers. Considering that Nanjaini & Gordon both write comedy for a living, this film isn't very funny. Sure, it's lighthearted and charming, but lacking in laffs. Once the drama kicks in, the pace drags. Sure, it's a sweet story and well-told, but it lacks that extra spark that would have made it a disarming romantic comedy. Expand
1 of 4 users found this helpful13
All this user's reviews
6
postcynicJul 17, 2017
I saw this film because I’m a huge Kumail Nanjiani fan, but I found it disappointing. First of all, everything about it reeks of its producer Judd Apatow. And while I usually like Apatow’s films, his approach doesn’t work with this subjectI saw this film because I’m a huge Kumail Nanjiani fan, but I found it disappointing. First of all, everything about it reeks of its producer Judd Apatow. And while I usually like Apatow’s films, his approach doesn’t work with this subject matter. In addition, Nanjiani’s cerebral brand of humor gets dumbed down. But what bothers me above all is the fact that while the film pretends to be in part about “tolerance” and the way Nanjiani’s character strikes up a relationship with his comatose white girlfriend’s parents (and thus with middle-class white America at large), this is rendered possible only by the fact that his character renounces EVERYTHING about his Pakistani origins. The film’s message seems to be: white Christian Americans can sympathize with Muslims and /or south Asian or middle Eastern types , but only if the latter reject everything about their own culture in order to assimilate completely to ours. This is an empty sort of “tolerance” that allows for no compromise. The Big Sick lets middle class white Americans feel good about their “tolerance” while in reality not asking them to expand their imaginations at all. And I say this as a middle-class white American myself. Expand
1 of 5 users found this helpful14
All this user's reviews
5
section20mi6Feb 13, 2018
While a love story between a minority young man and a white girl seems original, the outcome of the story often seems predictable. Funny at times, Nanjiani does underscore the important racial problems and family dynamics well, but fallsWhile a love story between a minority young man and a white girl seems original, the outcome of the story often seems predictable. Funny at times, Nanjiani does underscore the important racial problems and family dynamics well, but falls short on the actual plot line with his relationship with Emily. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
6
JLuis_001Sep 8, 2017
Considering the barrage of good reviews that this film had received I cannot deny that I expected something incredibly outstanding and although it was not a disappointment, it did turned out to be a very simple film.

Let's be honest,
Considering the barrage of good reviews that this film had received I cannot deny that I expected something incredibly outstanding and although it was not a disappointment, it did turned out to be a very simple film.

Let's be honest, regardless of the culture clash, the film does not bring anything new to the table, the plot is very simple and you realize all its courses incredibly fast, even the ending is quite predictable.

I applaud Kumail Nanjiani's work because he's who practically carries the full weight of the film, although Holly Hunter and Ray Romano also have well interventions.

Zoe Kazan does not show anything that has not been seen in her before, especially because her character is very similar to what she did in What If?, regardless of the plot line of her illness, she does not demands nothing from herself as an actress. not even for a second.

Practical, simple, certainly fun but extremely limited.
A good comedy, nothing more.
Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
6
jsramseyApr 19, 2018
Not sure why the critics have given this film such great reviews, other than the fact that one of the characters is a middle eastern brown Muslim person so gets at least 3 affirmative action bonus points. Otherwise, completely predictable.Not sure why the critics have given this film such great reviews, other than the fact that one of the characters is a middle eastern brown Muslim person so gets at least 3 affirmative action bonus points. Otherwise, completely predictable. "But it was based on a true story!" and "You couldn't make this kind of thing up!" cry the supporters of this film. If that's the case, Kumail Nanjiani is a really terrible person. He constantly lies to everyone in his life. He can't man up enough to inform his parents that it's the 21st century in America and arranged marriages are a relic of outmoded traditions from over a thousand years ago. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews