Artisan Entertainment | Release Date: July 16, 1999
7.1
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 404 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
280
Mixed:
64
Negative:
60
Watch Now
Stream On
Stream On
Buy on
Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Expand
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
6
alexandreaDec 1, 2021
I liked the movie especially in the begining but when they go full on horror they just lost me.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
5
PolisKaninFeb 7, 2014
This film is painfully slow, and has definitely not aged well, but any horror film fan should watch this, as it is a classic. The whole film is improvised, but it is a good film for an improvised one. However, it is still not great.
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
6
SachiNov 17, 2011
There is a lot of hype about the Blair Witch Project but I'm just not getting it. The movie did not really scare me in any way nor did even entertain me. There were no scares for me and just seemed like a drag on. The plot is not really theThere is a lot of hype about the Blair Witch Project but I'm just not getting it. The movie did not really scare me in any way nor did even entertain me. There were no scares for me and just seemed like a drag on. The plot is not really the best, all I saw it as was some college kids get lost in the woods and they are being hunted by some entity but I didn't feel scared once, well there were some scary moments but not really that scary. I got to give credit to the acting though, it was good but the dialogue was just cursing and cursing and cursing, not good. Overall The Blair Witch Project is an alright movie, maybe you will understand it better than me but I just didn't get any scares and walked off dissapointed. Breakdown for "The Blair Witch Project": Presentation: 6.5, Plot: 7, Acting: 7.5, Dialogue: 4.8, Lasting Appeal: 5. Score: 5.5 out of 10 "Average" Expand
1 of 4 users found this helpful13
All this user's reviews
4
SamGAug 7, 2009
One of the most over rated movies i have ever seen. Some of the night scenes were genuinely chilling and the acting was generally decent but this film left a lot to be desired. The scenes ended up becoming very similar and it felt like the One of the most over rated movies i have ever seen. Some of the night scenes were genuinely chilling and the acting was generally decent but this film left a lot to be desired. The scenes ended up becoming very similar and it felt like the film makers lacked imagination when shooting the final 20 mins of the movie. The film would have been great if they focused more on the mystery element as the ending is really disappointing. A good film for young teenagers or anyone who scares easily. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful
6
JaysserApr 23, 2020
The Blair Witch Project is quite the suspense. I would not say it is the scariest movie out there, but it can surely keep you on the edge at certain points. When a film triggers a set of emotions in you, that's how you know it was well-made.The Blair Witch Project is quite the suspense. I would not say it is the scariest movie out there, but it can surely keep you on the edge at certain points. When a film triggers a set of emotions in you, that's how you know it was well-made. I particularly loved the performance, and I believe most of it was improvised. I did see some over-exaggeration at times, but nothing I was not expecting from a typical horror ambiance. An extra point goes for the actors' handling the cameras themselves. On the other hand, while suspense was the main element in the movie, I would have loved to see more frightening scenes, the ones that make you jump off the couch. Expand
0 of 7 users found this helpful07
All this user's reviews
5
BradySmithOct 5, 2013
It's not terrible. It has one or two creepy moments. It's just that so much of it comes across as stupid and badly improvised that it can't be saved. I like the found footage idea, and the premise is alright, but the camerawork is so shakyIt's not terrible. It has one or two creepy moments. It's just that so much of it comes across as stupid and badly improvised that it can't be saved. I like the found footage idea, and the premise is alright, but the camerawork is so shaky and blurry that half the time you can't tell what's going on. I've seen worse horror movies before, but I think the critics must have all been in a really good mood when they went to see this. That or they were high, cause this was definitely not an 81 in my opinion. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
AndremaxSep 14, 2018
Format was different in its releasing time. Amateur-appearance would be more raw and realistic and should make watcher feeling more immerse on story. But this wasn't enough to make The Blair Witch Project works. Almost entire film is boringFormat was different in its releasing time. Amateur-appearance would be more raw and realistic and should make watcher feeling more immerse on story. But this wasn't enough to make The Blair Witch Project works. Almost entire film is boring and monotone. Only film's final is really scaring and great, but there's no sense only film's epilogue being good and rest of film somnolent uninteresting. Too much marketing for little film. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
ydnar4Jun 9, 2015
The Blair Witch Project is a film that deals with the horrors of what could possibly happen in real life. After watching this film you have a bit of a fear of being in the woods by yourself. The film has such a low budget that in my opinionThe Blair Witch Project is a film that deals with the horrors of what could possibly happen in real life. After watching this film you have a bit of a fear of being in the woods by yourself. The film has such a low budget that in my opinion it just stays a little too basic and cheap if just a bit more cash would have been forked over I probably could've enjoyed the film more. The acting is pretty good considering these people were basically completely unknown until the films release. Another thing I have to applaud is the marketing of this movie. One of the first films to be heavily promoted by the internet and lots debates were sparked on whether or not the film was real or not. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
spencieOct 23, 2017
I understand why The Blair Witch Project is considered a classic, it created an entire new subgenre by itself and was very unique; but after watching all of the modern found footage movies before watching this, I just don't like this movie.I understand why The Blair Witch Project is considered a classic, it created an entire new subgenre by itself and was very unique; but after watching all of the modern found footage movies before watching this, I just don't like this movie. It's loud, it's annoying, and it's not all that scary. I want the characters to die because they are stupid and get on my nerves and the movie is plain boring. We watch a bunch of idiots wander around the woods swearing and yelling at each other, until finally something happens, which was at the end of the movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
HellHoleHorrorApr 17, 2022
Obviously and deliberately bad stylistically. It is meant to look amateurish. It is so bad it is not even amateurish! Still it kept the mood through the 'bad' style but not as well as Quarantine (2008). The sounds were actually quiteObviously and deliberately bad stylistically. It is meant to look amateurish. It is so bad it is not even amateurish! Still it kept the mood through the 'bad' style but not as well as Quarantine (2008). The sounds were actually quite haunting. The music was barely noticeable and excellent because of that. It is actually quite haunting even though nothing happens. It is a perfect length. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews