Wellspring Media | Release Date: August 27, 2004
6.9
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 47 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
30
Mixed:
3
Negative:
14
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
9
ZachC.Sep 20, 2006
I saw the Cannes version and although it was slow, I did not hate it. Recently I purchased the film, being a complete narcissist just as Brown Bunny, Vincent Gallo is. And, I was absolutely floored by how he was able to polish this film into I saw the Cannes version and although it was slow, I did not hate it. Recently I purchased the film, being a complete narcissist just as Brown Bunny, Vincent Gallo is. And, I was absolutely floored by how he was able to polish this film into a gem. Although Chloe Sevigny's part is minimal, she could not have played her role better. The same goes from the young female who played Violet. This film does not have the dimensions that Gallo's other full-length, Buffalo '66 has and therefore I do not think Vincent Gallo was able to give the performance of a lifetime. This being said, he was believable throughout. As a struggling screenwriter, I know how hard it is to keep the viewers' attentions. Vincent Gallo kept me completely enticed throughout the entire film, where 95% of the scenes take place with one man driving crosscountry in a van. Few filmmakers would be able to mimmick this. For that alone, this film was great. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
JasonB.Aug 31, 2006
This movie took off slow, but shook me to my core by the time it was over. I couldn't stop thinking about for over a week. Vincent Gallo did not set out to direct Garden State! I'm sorry if your attention span didn't allow you This movie took off slow, but shook me to my core by the time it was over. I couldn't stop thinking about for over a week. Vincent Gallo did not set out to direct Garden State! I'm sorry if your attention span didn't allow you to sit thru this beautiful film. This film requires a little more thought than the average pop cum indie fair. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
9
893ru8943uMay 26, 2009
For those who didn't enjoy this film, may I suggest Dane Cooke's My Best Friend's Girl or perhaps Seann William Scott's Balls Out. Those films aren't contrived at all and I have a feeling they'll be more up your alley.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
1
LindseyMOct 7, 2005
This movie is about as bad as high school student's film project. Actually, check that, I've seen more interesting film made by teens in their basement with a 8mm and clay. Let's face it, without the BJ scene the film would This movie is about as bad as high school student's film project. Actually, check that, I've seen more interesting film made by teens in their basement with a 8mm and clay. Let's face it, without the BJ scene the film would have been never found a distributor. Watching somebody film themselves driving across country is about as appealing as watch Uncle Bob and Aunt Sally's trip to Disneyland slide show. What a complete and utter bore. I found myself fast forwarding through many of the road scenes. Having enjoyed Buffalo '66 I was immensely disappointed in this Galo project. His ego has blown itself if you ask me. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
2
JasonW.May 24, 2007
This is one of the worst porno films I have ever seen. Period.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
0
MichaelL.Oct 2, 2005
This film--and its fairly positive reviews--only prove how worthless critics are. It's a mind-numbingly boring piece of self-love created by a megalomaniac passing as art. As someone who took a 3 month, solitary road trip--he captured This film--and its fairly positive reviews--only prove how worthless critics are. It's a mind-numbingly boring piece of self-love created by a megalomaniac passing as art. As someone who took a 3 month, solitary road trip--he captured NONE of the power/lonliness/self examination that comes with such a journey. Just masturbatory close ups of his own face. Endlessly. Mumbled dialog, trite and obvious plotting and a ridculous hard-core sex scene that says nothing more than "I really like my penis and want to show it to the world". Chloe Sevegny is a fine actress who literally sucks in this film. I can't imagine what possessed her to take this role. The one moment of interest is seeing how truly lovely Cheryl Tiegs, the original supermodel, still is. That's it. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
0
SebastianL.Sep 12, 2005
For all of the controversy surrounding this movie, it sure was boring! The low budget cinematography has a few good moments that reminded me of a 1970's Redford movie; but mostly it just looks like an amature with a handi cam. The story For all of the controversy surrounding this movie, it sure was boring! The low budget cinematography has a few good moments that reminded me of a 1970's Redford movie; but mostly it just looks like an amature with a handi cam. The story is of a guy who is deeply damaged and his cross country ride in a van. His delusion is sort of played on the audience like a bad joke and the punch line is a gritty imagined oral sex scene that would even make Bill Clinton uncomfortable. My question for Paul Gallo who wrote, directed stared and produced this waste of time is this... Why not just make a real porno with rude sex from start to finish? It would be more interesting! Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
0
JuanitaG.Jul 2, 2006
Incredibly boring act of self-absorbed narcissism without a whit of self-reflection. I'm flumoxed: why was it distributed, why did Chloe Sayer get involved, why were normally responsible critics taken in, and why did my partner and I Incredibly boring act of self-absorbed narcissism without a whit of self-reflection. I'm flumoxed: why was it distributed, why did Chloe Sayer get involved, why were normally responsible critics taken in, and why did my partner and I fastforward through to the ridiculous end instead of yanking it out of the DVD player after 5 minutes. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
9
KenB.Sep 13, 2005
Neva Chonin of the San Francisco Chronicle has totally missed the point. This film is not about sexual obsession and guilt, it's about loneliness. We feel the pain a young man who has lost his lover (we later find out the details) and Neva Chonin of the San Francisco Chronicle has totally missed the point. This film is not about sexual obsession and guilt, it's about loneliness. We feel the pain a young man who has lost his lover (we later find out the details) and who makes lonely trips from one location to the next to race motorbikes. He interacts with several women along the way - not for sex but to reach out and regain the lost companionship. The final episode with his former sweet-heart explains everything. I enjoyed the film. It really brings home the loneliness a man can experience when traveling alone without love. The infamous felatio scene at the end of the movie was I believe faked. What man clamps a fist around the base of his penis and never lets go while his lover performs oral sex? Wouldn't most men surrender his organ completely to the woman's attention? I say only a man who is trying to hide the fact that he is wearing a fake penis would keep such a death grip. And his would not be the first faked penis in films. In "Irreversible," the man who commits the brutal rape in the tunnel turns over and his erect penis is visible temporarily. But in the DVD, the director shows how the scene was originally shot and how a penis was added digitally afterward. In Breillat's film about shooting a porn film, much ado is made over choosing the right fake penis to wear during the porn scenes. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
2
RobinT.Apr 16, 2006
Very slow and pretentious.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
2
DarkCriticAug 31, 2010
The Brown Bunny is one of the worst independent films that Vincent Gallo directed this strange movie. The scenes are too boring to watch,because we see that the character keeps driving around all the way to the road and nothing with the plotThe Brown Bunny is one of the worst independent films that Vincent Gallo directed this strange movie. The scenes are too boring to watch,because we see that the character keeps driving around all the way to the road and nothing with the plot that he's going at the same plot without no explanation of the story. The characters had no speaking louder in the audience and we try to figure it out what they're saying. Chloe Sevigny just arrived and she started to have a sex scene,but very graphic and too controversial with the actress (that it looks like a porn or a sex scandal in this movie that the audience see.) I give this movie a horrible,but amazing horrible film that Gallo did this horrible film that he shows in Cannes and I agree with Roger Ebert that he only gave three stars and thumbs up for saying "amazing horrible film. But it's just a horrible independent adult film and it's seen to believe! Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
6
CraigBOct 24, 2005
Truly a disappointing film. I really enjoyed Gallo's last one, Buffalo '66, so I would like to be able to say that the 10 minutes of exposition that we got at the end of the film justified making us sit through the first 80 minutes Truly a disappointing film. I really enjoyed Gallo's last one, Buffalo '66, so I would like to be able to say that the 10 minutes of exposition that we got at the end of the film justified making us sit through the first 80 minutes which consists mostly of Vincent Gallo driving around looking glum. For me, the "revelation" that we get at the end of this tiresome affair does nothing to make his characters interesting and it comes off felling like a cheap trick to get us to care about a character that he never bothered to develop. Still, he gets points for style: I do like his camera work. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
CablesMar 21, 2007
This is officially the worst excuse for filmmaking I've ever experienced. It's almost unbearable to watch. On several different occasions I actually had to turn my head.. not because of the content, but because of how banal and This is officially the worst excuse for filmmaking I've ever experienced. It's almost unbearable to watch. On several different occasions I actually had to turn my head.. not because of the content, but because of how banal and pretentious the few lines of dialogue are. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
PeteAAug 23, 2005
I neither hated nor loved this film, it was actually much better than I thought it would be, and while some stretches were a bit tedious, I found Gallo's final scene on the bed and his (and our) final realization about Daisy to be quite I neither hated nor loved this film, it was actually much better than I thought it would be, and while some stretches were a bit tedious, I found Gallo's final scene on the bed and his (and our) final realization about Daisy to be quite moving. I didn't find the movie to be particularly pretentious, much of it was hypnotic, but much of it was just plain boring. I think the movie was a series of experiments that sometimes hit and sometimes missed, but no one can say that Gallo didn't try something daring and unique! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
FisherNov 11, 2013
This is the most beautiful, original and brilliant film I have ever seen. Those who disagree are entitled to their opinion. Those who strongly disagree are clearly not reacting to the film. Vincent Gallo is extremely talented in many ways.This is the most beautiful, original and brilliant film I have ever seen. Those who disagree are entitled to their opinion. Those who strongly disagree are clearly not reacting to the film. Vincent Gallo is extremely talented in many ways. He is also complex sensitive, poetic and very funny. The public responses to him vary greatly. He is completely misunderstood and those who misunderstand his intensions and humor will certainly misunderstand his masterful works of art. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
3
SakataOct 6, 2018
A boring, tiring movie that only works in the final moments - and yet, in a controversial scene that that didn't need to be so explicit.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews