Warner Bros. Pictures | Release Date: July 18, 2008
8.9
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 6542 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
5,911
Mixed:
217
Negative:
414
Watch Now
Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Buy on
Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Expand
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
elliott23Jan 21, 2011
I don't understand why this movie gets bashed so much because it's "overrated." So what? Pretend as though you never heard anyone say how good this film is, then watch it, and then talk to me. And don't even get me started on people saying,I don't understand why this movie gets bashed so much because it's "overrated." So what? Pretend as though you never heard anyone say how good this film is, then watch it, and then talk to me. And don't even get me started on people saying, "People like it just because Heath Ledger died!" Again, pretend as though he didn't die, watch his performance again, and then come talk to me. An outstanding performance by anyone who was ever involved in this film. Expand
147 of 170 users found this helpful14723
All this user's reviews
8
grandpajoe6191Sep 20, 2011
This super hero movie is a rare film that drills deep inside the character and the script more than the action. It may be boring to a few people who despise waiting for 2 hrs; However I promise you, Heath Ledger will keep you amazed the wholeThis super hero movie is a rare film that drills deep inside the character and the script more than the action. It may be boring to a few people who despise waiting for 2 hrs; However I promise you, Heath Ledger will keep you amazed the whole time. Ultimately, Christopher Nolan's "The Dark Knight" is a masterpiece, a film that doesn't just show off the visuals and action, but understands what deep pains and afflictions a superhero suffers. Expand
31 of 37 users found this helpful316
All this user's reviews
10
NikoZguri1997Jun 6, 2014
"The Dark Knight" is proof that Chris Nolan saved the Batman saga. this is literally the best Batman movie we ever had in years! from the mind-blowing action, to the incredible acting, fantastic characters, strong script, layers of character"The Dark Knight" is proof that Chris Nolan saved the Batman saga. this is literally the best Batman movie we ever had in years! from the mind-blowing action, to the incredible acting, fantastic characters, strong script, layers of character depth and development, epic music, awesome special effects... i can't see anything wrong with "The Dark Knight". cause everything's the work of art, of a person who knows how to do the Batman saga justice. it's like if Christopher Nolan was like "Outta the way, **** It's my turn now". and he saved Batman, he brought Batman back to life again, and i thank him so much for that. also, Heath Ledger as the Joker: a phenomenon! other actors can try, but nobody's ever gonna top Heath Ledger's Joker. and Christopher Nolan still stays as one of the best directors we've ever had. "The Dark Knight" is a phenomenon! Expand
9 of 9 users found this helpful90
All this user's reviews
10
libnoJan 12, 2011
THE BEST MOVIE EVER! I just have to say that this movies are awesome, and so is Christopher Nolan. He's never failed us and he has made five movies and I bet all of them are possible contenders for best movie ever. So anyways, I liked howTHE BEST MOVIE EVER! I just have to say that this movies are awesome, and so is Christopher Nolan. He's never failed us and he has made five movies and I bet all of them are possible contenders for best movie ever. So anyways, I liked how Rachel just gives up on Bruce for Harvey Dent, whom everyone deems "The Better Man" or "The White Knight". I also loved how the Joker is just psycho and he doesn't care for anything except bombs, gasoline, and crime. I believe he is just out there to prove a point. That even Gotham's best can fall. He even nearly completed his plan by corrupting Harvey but Batman/Bruce took the blame. I love how, in the end, Harvey's gun is pointed at the men "responsible" for Rachel's death (Batman, Gordon, himself) and how his mind is just twisted into thinking that they were actually responsible. I think Heath Ledger gave an excellent performance, all out, although it hasn't turned out for the best. I'm sure we'd all prefer that this was never made or was never as good for the sake of Heath Ledger but, you got to admit, this is just such a good movie. Expand
7 of 7 users found this helpful70
All this user's reviews
10
SasquatchFelixDec 9, 2010
One of my favorite movies as a huge batman fan I couldn't be happier. The joker was easily the best done joker ever. Can't give this movie enough praise and can't wait for the next.
5 of 5 users found this helpful50
All this user's reviews
10
ImUnavailableApr 1, 2012
The Dark Knight dares to be more than it should be. It transcends the barriers of being labelled a "Batman movie" or "superhero movie" by excelling in all areas: character, plot, action, writing, acting, directing. The Dark Knight is not forThe Dark Knight dares to be more than it should be. It transcends the barriers of being labelled a "Batman movie" or "superhero movie" by excelling in all areas: character, plot, action, writing, acting, directing. The Dark Knight is not for fans of Batman or fans of serious drama. It is a film for everyone and stands as one of the most important films of the decade. Expand
5 of 5 users found this helpful50
All this user's reviews
9
drlowdonOct 30, 2014
Continuing from where Batman Begins ended peerless director Christopher Nolan reunites with Christian Bale for the continuing story of The Dark Knight. With the help of Lieutenant Jim Gordon and District Attorney Harvey Dent Batman sets outContinuing from where Batman Begins ended peerless director Christopher Nolan reunites with Christian Bale for the continuing story of The Dark Knight. With the help of Lieutenant Jim Gordon and District Attorney Harvey Dent Batman sets out to put a halt to the criminal activity that plagues Gotham City. Just as everything seems to be going their way the peace is shattered by a criminal mastermind known as The Joker.

Batman may be on the DVD cover but this is really The Jokers movie. Following the death of Heath Ledger prior to the movies release there was huge hype regarding his performance and he certainly delivers. His portrayal is a far cry from the camp 1960s iteration and as creepy and disturbing as any villain in cinema history. Running at about two and a half hours in length The Dark Knight needed a worthwhile plot to go with the high quality action scenes and on this count the movie again doesn't fail featuring plenty of twists and surprises.

The Dark Knight is without doubt the best super hero movie of all time.
Expand
5 of 5 users found this helpful50
All this user's reviews
10
Tss5078Feb 24, 2013
Regular readers of this blog know that I don't like super heroes, but Batman is the exception. As a kid he was the only one I thought was cool and the only one that i felt could be real. Apparently Christopher Nolan has the same idea. What IRegular readers of this blog know that I don't like super heroes, but Batman is the exception. As a kid he was the only one I thought was cool and the only one that i felt could be real. Apparently Christopher Nolan has the same idea. What I love about his take on Batman is that it's very realistic. Even the joker, as out there as he maybe, was a much more believable and realistic villain than the portrait by Jack Nicholson. As for the movie, it's an amazing story, with one of the best performances ever, by the late Heath Ledger who I really couldn't stand until this movie! As with all Nolan movies, it's a very visually appealing film, with a great story, and cast perfectly. I can honestly say that this is as good as it gets! There will never be a better Batman or super hero movie. Expand
5 of 5 users found this helpful50
All this user's reviews
10
GreenHawk99May 6, 2012
Batman's greatest foe yet is revealed in The Dark Knight. And he is amazing. The combination of Heath Ledger and Christian Bale is magnificent. This is truly the best superhero movie to date. Every little detail leads to something in the end.Batman's greatest foe yet is revealed in The Dark Knight. And he is amazing. The combination of Heath Ledger and Christian Bale is magnificent. This is truly the best superhero movie to date. Every little detail leads to something in the end. The special effects still remain some of the best and this movie was truly advanced for the year it was released. Expand
5 of 5 users found this helpful50
All this user's reviews
10
JohnKristoferDec 21, 2014
This Film is great,Christopher Nolan really knows who is Batman he made this movie one of the best films of all time.The Dark Knight has a good plot a great villain and a good musical score(Hans Zimmer).
5 of 5 users found this helpful50
All this user's reviews
10
ChisoNov 1, 2010
One of only a handful of flawless films I have seen in my lifetime. (To give this movie a 0 (Zero) is morally irresponsible.)
4 of 4 users found this helpful40
All this user's reviews
10
EnesUsluJan 13, 2011
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. i have 5000 character limit for writing my opinion about this movie..is it enough? Absoulately not... The best movie ever...awesome...fantastic...amazing... you can find lot of words like this... you feel every emotion in the movie.Every scene has another feeling.Love, action, humanity, movie gives every feelings to you. i advise all world people to watch this movie. Because you wil not see a film like this for 50 years Expand
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
10
Poopman157Dec 17, 2011
Christopher Nolan is an absolute genius. Batman Begins was a great film, but this just about blows it out of the water. Nolan knows good acting, and some amazing actors are in this one. Bale, Freeman, Oldman, Caine, LEDGER, all greats. TheChristopher Nolan is an absolute genius. Batman Begins was a great film, but this just about blows it out of the water. Nolan knows good acting, and some amazing actors are in this one. Bale, Freeman, Oldman, Caine, LEDGER, all greats. The action scenes are suspenseful and aplenty (with a batmobile scene standing out) . and the script is superb. Seriously, this movie is super quotable. Ledger was born to play the Joker, and everybody that says his acting is "overrated" will never be happy. Aaron Eckhart is also superb. The best superher movie ever. Expand
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
10
TTW107Feb 14, 2012
I was so pumped for this movie to come out for years and then Heath Ledger's passing made it an even bigger event. I went to see it on opening day and I swear during a few of the joker scenes I got chills because it was so good. And any movieI was so pumped for this movie to come out for years and then Heath Ledger's passing made it an even bigger event. I went to see it on opening day and I swear during a few of the joker scenes I got chills because it was so good. And any movie that can have that much of an effect on me deserves a 10/10. Expand
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
10
OfficialMar 8, 2014
Absolutely stunning. This sequel is dark, sophisticated, and is better than its predecessor. It has emotion, powerful and superb acting, and impressive visuals. This film is, beyond any doubt, a must-see. Oh, and the Joker in the movie, isAbsolutely stunning. This sequel is dark, sophisticated, and is better than its predecessor. It has emotion, powerful and superb acting, and impressive visuals. This film is, beyond any doubt, a must-see. Oh, and the Joker in the movie, is beyond fantastic. Expand
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
10
ScreenShadeOct 30, 2012
The script is well-written, the performances are splendid, and the action sequences give the constant thrills. From the colored pages of its comic books to the glorious big screen, The Dark Knight is the greatest adaptation ever made.
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
10
shpreaJun 24, 2013
The Dark Knight is a very tightly woven and smart movie. The plot is engaging, the characters are each unique and well acted (especially the joker) and the action is intense. Really, there is no issue with this movie. It's damn near perfect.The Dark Knight is a very tightly woven and smart movie. The plot is engaging, the characters are each unique and well acted (especially the joker) and the action is intense. Really, there is no issue with this movie. It's damn near perfect. You'll be interested and on the edge of your seat from the beginning to the end of the movie.
The Dark Knight is not only the best Batman movie ever, it is also the greatest super hero based movie ever. Do yourself a favor and go watch it.
Expand
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
10
BrianMcCriticJun 10, 2013
The best of the franchise. A perfect film from start to finish that never gets old. This film is slightly better then the other two because of Heath Ledger his portrayal of the Joker is to me the greatest villain of all time.
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
10
PimpinpakmanMay 6, 2013
One of the best super hero movies of all times. If you havent seen it yet then..just stop reading this review and go see it first. Strong villains against strong super heros usually make the movie and this is no exception.
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
10
MalevolentMay 31, 2013
This is my favorite Batman movie ever! Christian Bale did another great performance as Batman and Heath Ledger was amazing as the Joker. The plot is excellent and the action sequences were great. I cannot understand anyone who doesn't likeThis is my favorite Batman movie ever! Christian Bale did another great performance as Batman and Heath Ledger was amazing as the Joker. The plot is excellent and the action sequences were great. I cannot understand anyone who doesn't like this movie. Expand
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
10
Oliveira_JuniorMay 5, 2014
A single movie, with so many unique particularities and a simple proposal: be original and different at same time. Nolan brings us a mature and surprising Batman´s universe, with characters well made, including the Joker, the most impressiveA single movie, with so many unique particularities and a simple proposal: be original and different at same time. Nolan brings us a mature and surprising Batman´s universe, with characters well made, including the Joker, the most impressive of all. Heath Ledger gives life to a scary, cold, shocking and overwhelming villain, that faces all Batman's limits with an unmerciful psychological game at absolutely flawless and triumphant performance. With a tense, accurate and efficient score by Hans Zimmer and James Newton Howard, led by the realistic and audacious proposal from Christopher Nolan, The Dark Knight is engaging and powerful, being the best adaptation of a comic-book to the cinema. Expand
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
10
XenoWormJul 10, 2014
This is my favorite movie. I like Christopher Nolan movies. This is his best movie. Good plot, fantastic acting. Heath Ledger is genius. Good effects, action, drama.
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
10
DamienDarko777May 6, 2011
This is definitely the best out of all the Batman movies. The plot is engrossing, the action is thrilling, the performances are exciting. Ledger deserved every bit of praise for his portrayal of the Joker; He's one of the greatest villains inThis is definitely the best out of all the Batman movies. The plot is engrossing, the action is thrilling, the performances are exciting. Ledger deserved every bit of praise for his portrayal of the Joker; He's one of the greatest villains in movie history. This is a mature vision of the Batman universe, grounded in a splendid realism, while never losing sight of what made the original characters so engaging. Not only a good "superhero" film, but an enthralling crime drama. Nolan and the actors understand this material perfectly, and have made a movie that transcends the comic book stereotype. An enthralling action movie and a work of art. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
10
Smartine7Sep 6, 2012
The Dark Knight is everything an action movie should be: thrilling, suspenseful, epic and chock-full of action sequences that sometimes are as amusing as they are visually stimulating. But it's also an emotional journey that's so intricatelyThe Dark Knight is everything an action movie should be: thrilling, suspenseful, epic and chock-full of action sequences that sometimes are as amusing as they are visually stimulating. But it's also an emotional journey that's so intricately weaved into the fabric of the movie it doesn't at all seem out of place (or disingenuous). Ledger's chilling (terrifying, nihilistic) portrayal of the Joker is certain to go down in cinematic history as one of the greatest villains of all time and even then it might still be slightly under-appreciated. Nolan has succeeded in creating a genre-defying (and defining) film on such a grandiose scale, and with so little room for error, that he must be praised for what he truly is: a directorial savant. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
10
CaestusMar 13, 2013
The Dark Knight is truly the best batman film to date. It starts with a great intro sequence and keeps the high quality trough the whole film.Dark and gritty the dark knight offers a thrilling plot with great characters, all of whom havingThe Dark Knight is truly the best batman film to date. It starts with a great intro sequence and keeps the high quality trough the whole film.Dark and gritty the dark knight offers a thrilling plot with great characters, all of whom having their own motivations with the greatest villian of the entire batman franchise. Hans Zimmer also did great work with this soundtrack which fits perfect. A must see Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
10
dante_finnDec 15, 2012
A masterpiece
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
10
gzayas91Dec 21, 2014
The Dark Knight is the superior Batman. This is what 1989 Batman should have been.Smart writing, smart direction, and incredible action sequences. Heath Ledger is the true Joker.
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
10
Compi24Nov 28, 2012
Taking, not just mine, but everyone's expectations and flipping them on their heads. Nolan managed to harness everything that was great in "Batman Begins" and augment those qualities to a near epic degree. He even added some newer things ofTaking, not just mine, but everyone's expectations and flipping them on their heads. Nolan managed to harness everything that was great in "Batman Begins" and augment those qualities to a near epic degree. He even added some newer things of his own creation into the mix. I speak, of course, of Heath Ledger's Academy-Award Winning Joker. Virtually every line out of Heath's mouth in this movie is amazing. In fact the entire script of this movie contains these little hidden gems that Nolan just flicks at your head throughout the entire film. However, it's Heath's performance that still reigns surpeme in this film overall. He and Nolan not only created an Oscar-Winning character, but a character that has had a pretty deep impact on pop culture. Aaron Eckhart did a good job as the tragic Harvey Dent character. All of the other actors were fantastic as well - including Bale's continually impressive Bruce Wayne/Batman performance. On a technical level, the production design and set pieces in the film were absolutely magnificant. I also felt Hans Zimmer and James Newton Howard did another wonderful job in crafting the score for this film. Overall, Christopher Nolan manages to create a sequel that is not only better than the original, but he manages to craft my favorite movie of all time. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
10
SwatiOct 30, 2013
This movie has to be viewed in combination with Batman Begins. The two really complement one another. At two and a half hours running time, if they had included more character development for Batman, it would have been too long to beThis movie has to be viewed in combination with Batman Begins. The two really complement one another. At two and a half hours running time, if they had included more character development for Batman, it would have been too long to be watch-able by today's standards. So let me go ahead and say that I understand the decision to give Joker as much time on screen as possible, as this being a sequel some other character had to be focussed on to keep things interesting. However, this left Bruce Wayne with too few scenes without the mask where he wasn't being smug. Batman Begins showed us the human side of the superhero, and that is why I loved it so much. He felt so real and authentic. So the reason I'm giving it such a high score is only because of Joker. If he had not completely blown my mind away, I would have scored it much lower. The supporting cast did a commendable job but nothing which would have earned the movie favourable reviews and critical acclaim. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
9
Rox22Apr 7, 2013
What a breath of fresh air. Such a brilliant step up from the previous movie. Fantastic performances all round. Ledger in particular was just amazing as the Joker. This is what a Batman movie should be. I would love to say more, but I reallyWhat a breath of fresh air. Such a brilliant step up from the previous movie. Fantastic performances all round. Ledger in particular was just amazing as the Joker. This is what a Batman movie should be. I would love to say more, but I really can not falter this movie in any way. As close to perfect as I could hope for a comic to movie film.

Overall:
This is Batman!
Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
9
python2000Aug 16, 2013
One of the best superhero movies of all time. The Dark Knight is much better than Batman Begins, mainly because of Heath Ledgers mesmerising performance as The Joker. I won't go on about just take my word for it that he's amazing. BatmanOne of the best superhero movies of all time. The Dark Knight is much better than Batman Begins, mainly because of Heath Ledgers mesmerising performance as The Joker. I won't go on about just take my word for it that he's amazing. Batman Begins had a weak plot, this has one of the best plots of any movie ever, Christopher Nolan took a risk and made the plot political instead of pointless like Batman Begins, and it worked. The Dark Knight is a very enjoyable and one of the best movies of all time. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
10
Movie1997Apr 12, 2013
After a great start to a new batman trilogy with "Batman Begins", Christopher Nolan goes deeper into the story and has created a true masterpiece. Not only as one of the best superhero movies ever made, but also one of the best superheroAfter a great start to a new batman trilogy with "Batman Begins", Christopher Nolan goes deeper into the story and has created a true masterpiece. Not only as one of the best superhero movies ever made, but also one of the best superhero movies ever made. If one things for sure, not only is the story more thrilling but so are the characters. Especially the Joker and Harvey Dent. But still, the Joker (Heath Ledger) steals the show. It was truly the most villianous portrayl of the Joker I've ever seen. He keeps you on the edge of your seat with his tremendous acitng and his tremendously creepy new look. Plus, Harvey Dent (Aaron Eckhart) was surprisingly outstanding as well. Not so much like the Joker, but still, you got to love his performance. Also, the characters have definitely grown since Batman Begins. They've become more riching and engaging. This trilogy really has a great ensemle of actors, which is something that really works for the trilogy. Overall, this is the batman movie we've all been waiting for. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
10
HoxtonApr 10, 2015
It isn't an overstatement to call The Dark Knight the most sophisticated and ambitious work of its kind. Superior to all three Spider-Man installments and even its amazing predecessor in terms of conceptualization, writing, acting, andIt isn't an overstatement to call The Dark Knight the most sophisticated and ambitious work of its kind. Superior to all three Spider-Man installments and even its amazing predecessor in terms of conceptualization, writing, acting, and direction, Nolan's follow-up to Batman Begins is a dark, complex and disturbing film, not the least of which because it grafts its heroics onto the blueprint of actual reality rather than that of spandex-clad supermen. And while such a distinction may make little difference to those already eagerly anticipating the return of the caped crusader, suffice it to say that The Dark Knight qualifies as the first official comic book adaptation that truly succeeds in being a great artistic achievement in its own right. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
9
iffyguyDec 11, 2013
This movie changed the way I see Batman. This Part 2 of the trilogy was by far the best in the trilogy, and probably the best Batman movie I've ever seen. Sorry, Adam West, Michael Keaton, and George Clooney. And that voice!
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
10
TCTriangleMar 30, 2014
This thing has everything a movie could ask for: a complex set of themes that raise questions about morality and philosophy, but with enough action, memorable dialogue, tight pacing, and character development to not get bogged down by itsThis thing has everything a movie could ask for: a complex set of themes that raise questions about morality and philosophy, but with enough action, memorable dialogue, tight pacing, and character development to not get bogged down by its complexity. Ledger's Joker is, needless to say, one of the greatest movie villains of all time. The whole cast brings its A-game, ultimately creating the best superhero movie and arguably one of the best films of all time. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
10
YoussefSaabDec 5, 2013
The Best action movie ever made, the best crime movie ever made, the best villain performance ever performed by Heath Ledger the Joker, I Think I can watch it 100 times and never get bored, Great work from my idol Director Christopher Nolan,The Best action movie ever made, the best crime movie ever made, the best villain performance ever performed by Heath Ledger the Joker, I Think I can watch it 100 times and never get bored, Great work from my idol Director Christopher Nolan, thank you for this one. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
10
Fabian-GonzaloNov 13, 2014
The Dark knight is definitely one of the best movie of all times, It put a batman on the sky, the performance of Christian Bale and Heath Ledger are OUTSTANDING!, All the characters played a strong role, this movie has everything, amazingThe Dark knight is definitely one of the best movie of all times, It put a batman on the sky, the performance of Christian Bale and Heath Ledger are OUTSTANDING!, All the characters played a strong role, this movie has everything, amazing soundtrack, and story, epic battles, best action fights!, the best movie of christopher nolan!
this will become a classic movie.........
Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
10
EljeroTVDec 22, 2013
Simply the most stunning, exciting and twisting movie ever made combined with a great cast including the best acted figure in any movie I've ever seen with Heath Ledger as the Joker. Never before a film was so cunning making a person feelSimply the most stunning, exciting and twisting movie ever made combined with a great cast including the best acted figure in any movie I've ever seen with Heath Ledger as the Joker. Never before a film was so cunning making a person feel crazy and godlike at the same time with Genius-Like Appearences at the Mafia on a Banquet or in a bank-robbery. Batman himself doesn't feel invincible and Two-Face has an awesome story to become what he is nowadays. Scarecrow has a little guest role (I love the actor), aswell as Morgan Freeman and an awesome Michael Caine.
The Unexpected trick of the Joker, the two ships, everything is perfect. Easily the best film I've ever seen!
Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
10
googolendtimesMar 28, 2015
First of all, there is no doubt that the reputation of this film, and Heath Ledger's performance, were bolstered by his untimely death. That makes no difference. This is an accomplished and subversive work, and the most fully realised ofFirst of all, there is no doubt that the reputation of this film, and Heath Ledger's performance, were bolstered by his untimely death. That makes no difference. This is an accomplished and subversive work, and the most fully realised of Christopher Nolan's Batman trilogy - its predecessor did little more than establish the foundations of this film, whilst its successor lacked focus or a satisfying conclusion.

"The Dark Knight", on the other hand, is an expansive, complex and soulful masterpiece of film, which spearheaded the re-evaluation and acknowledgement of the superhero genre as an art form capable of producing stories as daring, layered and emotive as standard art house fare, or modernist literature and being good for more than just action and special effects. This film is masterfully designed, scored, edited, acted, and shot, reminiscent both stylistically and in terms of storytelling as the classic thrillers of the 1970s. Much like New York City in "Taxi Driver", Nolan's Gotham breathes, and so do the characters, who are understood as real people and compelled to act as such, rather than just vehicles transporting the viewer from one action set piece to the next. Both Gary Oldman and Aaron Eckhart are fantastic, offering nuanced and desperate portraits of virtuous men broken by their own goodness. They deserved Oscar nominations as much as Heath Ledger. As for Heath Ledger, it is an astonishing piece of acting whether he lived to see it on-screen or not. He is explosive, twisted, visceral, and utterly terrifying - and damn near impossible to take your eyes off of.

Is this is a perfect film? There's one too many leaps of logic involved, so it falls short, but only by a minuscule margin. This is certainly one of the best films I've seen - a grand and operatic morality play, breathtakingly colossal, searingly intimate, and unbearably sad. Detractors may try to use Heath Ledger's death to discredit its success as circumstantial. I remind you: nobody from "The Avengers" died.
Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
10
oDjentoJan 4, 2015
So i thought the first film was pretty boring. Definitely not the case with this one. It's gritty, it's dark, brings brilliant character development along with far more interesting characters like The Joker and Two-face, and has the best plotSo i thought the first film was pretty boring. Definitely not the case with this one. It's gritty, it's dark, brings brilliant character development along with far more interesting characters like The Joker and Two-face, and has the best plot out of all 3 films. A performance best by the sadly late Heath Ledger as the Joker, and Aaron Eckart and Christian Bale also bringing excellent performances. This film has a far more film noir feel to it (but obviously isn't film noir). Thr twists are brilliant and Ledgers transformation into the Joker is the best on screen performance to dub our screens yet. Film is filled with great visual effects also, awesome practical effects and great stunts too! A must watch! Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
10
flametail23Jan 31, 2015
This is my favourite movie of all time. It's dark, awesome and has one of the best villain performances of all time, R.I.P Heath Ledger. Also I love Batman,he is my favourite comic book character.
10/10
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
10
ydnar4Nov 23, 2014
This film is the perfect super hero movie. Gotham City is displayed so well visually. It is full of a great cast, and everyone is sharp in this film. I really need to see this movie again. What more can be said about the Dark Knight? HeathThis film is the perfect super hero movie. Gotham City is displayed so well visually. It is full of a great cast, and everyone is sharp in this film. I really need to see this movie again. What more can be said about the Dark Knight? Heath Ledger is dynamite as the joker which every knows by now. If you have not seen this movie yet go out and see it. You won't regret it. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
10
vikesh2206Nov 10, 2014
The Dark Knight is the closest any superhero movie has come to "perfect" with transcendent dialogue, a sturdy plot and marvelous casting including Heath Ledger's iconic portrayal of The Joker all assured under Christopher Nolan's masterful direction.
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
10
RobobobAug 6, 2016
Forget that The Dark Knight is one of the best superhero movies of all time.. it is one of the best MOVIES of all time. In actuality it doesn't even really need to be a superhero movie. It is a tense, intellectual thriller from the masterForget that The Dark Knight is one of the best superhero movies of all time.. it is one of the best MOVIES of all time. In actuality it doesn't even really need to be a superhero movie. It is a tense, intellectual thriller from the master of such movies, Christopher Nolan. Heath Ledger is amazing as the Joker and I think his performance will never be topped. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
10
SammyrexNov 9, 2014
By combining epic action akin to Michael Mann, an endearing cast and a blisteringly psychotic antagonist; Nolan has dropped his hero in the realms of realism and forever changed the superhero genre.
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
10
thomasljoguesNov 13, 2014
Easily the best movie of not only the Nolan batman trilogy, but of his entire career, this is without a doubt the perfect superhero movie. Its hero truly is a hero, not one who does what he does for the glory, but for doing the right thing,Easily the best movie of not only the Nolan batman trilogy, but of his entire career, this is without a doubt the perfect superhero movie. Its hero truly is a hero, not one who does what he does for the glory, but for doing the right thing, regardless of how much those he serves hate him in return. The hero is not perfect, as he does fall, showing even further his immense humanity. The villain is not a stock character who is easily defeated, but a man with a troubled and unclear past, whose genius seems to always win. The battle for Gotham's soul is fought between a strict moral code and nihilism, the immovable object and the unstoppable force. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
10
JetBlackfrostNov 26, 2014
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This film is a beautiful metaphor for the greatest struggles of life itself; I have recently discovered that Nolan's masterpiece seems to address the problems created by a figurative or literal multiple personality disorder. We have three different angles of perspective on life, all grabbing for Rachel, who represents love, in one way or another.

Harvey Dent is essentially a saint, an idyllic hero driven by hope and compassion that has presumably only been able rise up to the challenge of fixing Gotham City due to the changes set in place by Bruce Wayne, who sees the world for what it truly is: a hellish, twisted roller coaster of synthetic euphoria and very real pain. He too, though, is driven by his positive emotions and, because he has hope in his heart that he can "save the day and get the girl," he decides to do what he can to make the ride as comfortable for the rest of us as he possibly can, even at the cost of his own life.

But The Joker sees things differently. He is, if not more so, just as intelligent as the Batman. He understands that at least for him, there is nothing to be enjoyed in life. Selfishly he decides that he must drag everyone else down with him.

It's easy to catch the symbolism here, as it's almost literal (and it somehow harks back to the Green Lantern mythos, though I am unsure of whether this is deliberate): Harvey is the side of a man that represents positivity - hope, compassion, and love, which combine to form "Order." Bruce represents balance between all emotions, with a central focus on will. The Joker represents negativity - fear, avarice and rage, which combine to form "Chaos." Later in the Dark Knight Trilogy a fourth personality is introduced, but that is not what we are discussing here.

The beginning is quite literally the chaotic personality's entry into the world, taking advantage of everything that he can in order to do... nothing in particular. That's what's so excellent about this story! The goons would be his friends in the real life interpretation of it, and when he kills them or has them turn on each other, this is the loss that happens when you "turn to the dark side," or choose to give up on the world, as The Joker has done.

But enough metaphorical interpretation, let's talk about the literal aspects of the film. The first noticeable thing to me was not the direction, the acting, the cinematography nor the editing or action sequences, but Hans Zimmer's score for the film, which was at first deliberately disgusting, with the use of what sounds like a wire being strung for eternity, abused violins and electric guitar, but ultimately beautiful, with the most moving piece of music heard in "Like A Dog Chasing Cars" since Krypton's theme in Superman by John Williams, and until "Time" from Inception - yet another Zimmer theme! Mocked as it may be, his dense string ostinato sequences left me breathless.

But back to the story, I'm going to skip a huge chunk and get right to the meaty part. I wish I could cue Zimmer's "Horn of Doom" here to alert you to the impending spoiler. Don't read if you haven't watched the movie!

Rachel is indirectly killed by Joker. While he is being interrogated, the timer ticks down to the explosion of two buildings, each with one hostage inside: Gotham's White Knight, and Harvey and Bruce's only known love.

Here is the great metaphor of the entire trilogy: Hope. Moving on. Loving more than just one - something both Harvey and Batman are, at the moment, incapable of doing.

The Joker takes advantage of Rachel's death and Harvey's disfigurement (as you may remember, half of his face is burned off in the fire of the explosion), and convinces him to embrace the chaos of the world around him, and essentially, give in to evil.

He accepts this offer.

Skipping ahead to the final acts of this movie (and it has oh so many), we have The Joker about to kill dozens if not hundreds of people on a couple of ferries, who represent the good and bad sides of society, and Harvey, the hero, twisted into wanting vengeance on Commissioner Gordon.

Once again I will take a break from the story. Let's talk about the other aspects.

Is this movie effects-heavy? Surprisingly, no. You'd think it would be, given that, it's Batman. But in fact, it relies on practical effects more than anything else. For example, when the massive truck that the Joker is in gets flipped, it is not done with CGI, but with a spring of all things, that shoots it upwards.

I won't even say anything about the acting - I want you to watch it, because in all honesty, words could not do it justice. In my mortal explanation of one of the various metaphors presented by this film (and believe me, there are other ways to interpret it - mine is just the most literal, emotional example), I have butchered Mr. Nolan's work, so I will just say that you MUST keep an eye on Heath Ledger.

THE VERDICT:

Direction: 9.5

Acting: 10.0

Cinematography: 9.0

Editing: 9.0

Soundtrack: 10.0

Overall: 9.75
Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
10
nielsvb10Dec 7, 2014
This is my #1 movie. Ever since i saw it in theatres i've seen it over 80000000 times. I know every line from this great film. From the acting to the story this movie is solid, thought provoking and totally awesome.
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
10
tjman09Mar 30, 2015
A modern masterpiece of 21st Century Cinema. The Dark Knight combines great direction, with brilliant acting, and beautiful cinematography to create a film that transcends it genres and becomes a great film. It serves as a comic book film,A modern masterpiece of 21st Century Cinema. The Dark Knight combines great direction, with brilliant acting, and beautiful cinematography to create a film that transcends it genres and becomes a great film. It serves as a comic book film, but also a tragedy of Shakespearean quality, with one of the best villains of the last 20 years. On top of that Christopher Nolan's unflinching faith in practical effects create a truly realistic experience. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
10
pratik1511Jan 4, 2015
The Dark Knight that came out in 2008 starring Christian Bale, Heath
Ledger, Aaron Eckhart, Michael Caine, Gary Oldman, Morgan Freeman and
Maggie Gyllenhaal is a superhero movie of Batman. When Batman, Gordon and Harvey Dent tries bring
The Dark Knight that came out in 2008 starring Christian Bale, Heath
Ledger, Aaron Eckhart, Michael Caine, Gary Oldman, Morgan Freeman and
Maggie Gyllenhaal is a superhero movie of Batman. When Batman, Gordon
and Harvey Dent tries bring down the mob, they face a new threat The
Joker, who raises hell in Gotham. What unfolds is a 150 min of high
pace crime thriller.

The story is quite dark, complex and engaging. The cast is just
amazing. Heath Ledger gave legendary outstanding performance in his last
role. His each dialogue is just amazing. I kinda love every sec he is
in on the screen. The Joker can be considered one of the best villains
of all time. Christian Bale is amazing in his best role of Batman.
Though not as screen time as he had in the last movie (Batman Begins),
but still he gave an amazing performance. Aaron Eckhart as Harvey Dent
was quite good. After Joker, Harvey had 2nd best dialogues of the
movie. Pacing of the movie is awesome too. There won't be any part of
the movie which feels slow or boring, mainly because every conversation
is important. Action is kinda different and unique making it amazing .
Overall The Dark knight is an OUTSTANDING movie.

Plot:10/10
Dialogue:10/10
Acting:10/10
Action:10/10
Pace:10/10

Overall:10/10
Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
9
MadMaxFuryRoadJun 9, 2015
Outstanding movie with a great villain. Let me say The Joker is awesome in this film. They need him, and batman was pretty cool. From the first couple of scenes, I knew this movie would be good. This is an all-time superhero movie that youOutstanding movie with a great villain. Let me say The Joker is awesome in this film. They need him, and batman was pretty cool. From the first couple of scenes, I knew this movie would be good. This is an all-time superhero movie that you must see. There is also kind of a twist in the last few scenes that I won't spoil! Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
10
HernanM.Jul 19, 2008
the best superheroe movie in all time, the joker is spectacular.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
JanikousAug 21, 2008
Wow. Ignoring the obvious hype surrounding Ledgers last performance, this really is the best damn acting I've ever seen. Ledger's Joker is phenomenally convincing as a complete psychopath. He's wholly likable though, and you Wow. Ignoring the obvious hype surrounding Ledgers last performance, this really is the best damn acting I've ever seen. Ledger's Joker is phenomenally convincing as a complete psychopath. He's wholly likable though, and you never tire of watching him. So much better than the first - which had forgettable villains. As if the Joker was not enough but Harvey 'Two-Face' Dent is here as well, along with his perfectly justifiable transition from Hero to Nutjob. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
DavidF.Aug 9, 2008
I believe that those who criticise against this film are trying to find weaknesses, rather then look at what is pain-stakingly obvious, the power, the class and awe that this film creates, a must see, and in this reviewers opinion, the best I believe that those who criticise against this film are trying to find weaknesses, rather then look at what is pain-stakingly obvious, the power, the class and awe that this film creates, a must see, and in this reviewers opinion, the best comic to movie ever. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
JacobR.Jul 19, 2008
This movie is simply amazing! I am literally speechless. In my opinion, Heath Ledger is the best Joker! He deserves an Oscar!
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
StephenD.Aug 10, 2008
People who gave this movie 0/10 are pretentious ignorant prigs. Don't go and watch anymore films EVER if you honestly believe this one deserves a 0 your on a different planet to the other 90% of us that loved it.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
ColbySJul 18, 2008
Absolutely fantastic, even more so when one steps back and realizes that this is based on a cartoon character. The philosophical and moral depths plumbed in this film are a strong undercurrent to the disturbing but nevertheless awe-inspiring Absolutely fantastic, even more so when one steps back and realizes that this is based on a cartoon character. The philosophical and moral depths plumbed in this film are a strong undercurrent to the disturbing but nevertheless awe-inspiring actions of the players. The first truly golden (though darkly so) superhero film in quite some time. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
ryancarroll88Aug 26, 2010
The first aspect of this movie that struck me was the fact that director Christopher Nolan decided to counter the trend of giving an eponymous title to his superhero movie, and upon watching it was for good reason. This is no superhero movie,The first aspect of this movie that struck me was the fact that director Christopher Nolan decided to counter the trend of giving an eponymous title to his superhero movie, and upon watching it was for good reason. This is no superhero movie, at least in the sense we have come to expect. Nolan takes a turn for extreme realism and weighted expectation, giving us one of the most gripping and intense action movies to hit the screens in a long while. As far as we ave seen, the caped crusader has never looked so good. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
TheBearOct 18, 2010
A masterpiece. A film which defies all expectation from a belittled genre and instead crosses over to become an epic crime drama which bears some similarities with Michael Mann's 'Heat'. The attention naturally went to the late Heath LedgerA masterpiece. A film which defies all expectation from a belittled genre and instead crosses over to become an epic crime drama which bears some similarities with Michael Mann's 'Heat'. The attention naturally went to the late Heath Ledger who delivered a definitive performance as the Joker but the cast as a whole should never be over looked. Christian Bale carries on the character from Batman Begins and delivers another great performance whilst Aaron Eckhart and Gary Oldman are also superb. The action is top notch as well, the score suits the style. It's hard to criticise the Dark Knight except to say that its dark and intelligence themes doesnt make it the most fun to view. However it is difficult not to be sucked in as the pressure builds and builds thanks to Nolan's storytelling and Ledger's madness. A modern classic. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
jackbauer4everJan 19, 2011
I love Batman. I have for many years. Still have my collections in mint condition. I liked batman begins quite a bit. But this film surpassed all barriers of action/drama and expressionism. Not only a great depicture of a fantastic comic bookI love Batman. I have for many years. Still have my collections in mint condition. I liked batman begins quite a bit. But this film surpassed all barriers of action/drama and expressionism. Not only a great depicture of a fantastic comic book but a colorful and sincere look at the unbridaled (yet predictable) inner environment of the human mind. The acting was incredible. Bale was stellar. Freeman was outstanding. Heath Ledger took the batman symboled cake though. He made me think he was an actual sociopath, his completely even and scary portrayal revitalized a very old villian. The Direction was very good, with well transitions, and good camera shots, with depressionistic lighting. Good choice for a film like this. Favorite movie of all time, the greatest film i have ever seen. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
cal1998Jul 23, 2012
You could call it the best movie of the year i call it the best superhero movie of all time it makes the avengers look like a cheesy cartoon. Instead of going for the explosions and one liners, it hits home and takes its time to carefullyYou could call it the best movie of the year i call it the best superhero movie of all time it makes the avengers look like a cheesy cartoon. Instead of going for the explosions and one liners, it hits home and takes its time to carefully craft a masterpiece of emotion and true human spirit. A must see Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
JapsterFeb 28, 2011
The Dark Knight is greatest film to date, and possibly, of all time. Christopher Nolan has done it again, and proved that a sequel can top the original in every way. An immersive, yet tragic story will keep viewers on the edge of their seatsThe Dark Knight is greatest film to date, and possibly, of all time. Christopher Nolan has done it again, and proved that a sequel can top the original in every way. An immersive, yet tragic story will keep viewers on the edge of their seats for whole two and a half hours of the running time. The film is beautifully shot, with scenes captured in the state-of-the-art IMAX cameras.The Dark Knight is, quite simply, brilliant. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
RJSmooveMar 19, 2011
Where do I begin? The Dark Knight is not only the best sequal, its arguably the best comic book movie ever made. It picks up right where Batman Begins left off with the Joker's card in Gordan's (Oldman) evidence baggie. There's not much thatWhere do I begin? The Dark Knight is not only the best sequal, its arguably the best comic book movie ever made. It picks up right where Batman Begins left off with the Joker's card in Gordan's (Oldman) evidence baggie. There's not much that I can say about this movie that has not been said over and over again. One thing I can say is, if you did not like this movie at all then your taste is a little poor. Perhaps I'm not one to judge because I did like G.I. Joe and Transformers 2. This film has so much more to like than the average comic book adaptation. Rather than focusing on setting up spectacular action set pieces like most movies of the genre, Nolan puts drama at the heart of this one. We've all seen the original Batman, so there's no need for the Joker to run around Gotham with a tommy gun. Without saying too much, I'll say that the Joker has a much bigger agenda in this film than he did the first time. From the start we are introduced to him in the midst of a well planned, and well choreographed bank heist. Definitely cinematography at its absolute best, thanks to Chris Nolan and Wally Pfister. We are meant to see just how intelligent the Joker really is, despite being the most qualified for a life sentence in Arkham Asylum. Never have I seen an actor capture the essence of a character from literature as perfectly as Heath Ledger did with his. There has been much debate as to which actor was the best Joker. In my opinion neither came close to Mark Hamill's voice work for the animated series. All jokes aside, the performances in this movie are beyond amazing. I honestly believe Heath Ledger would not have won Best Supporting Actor if he was still living due to Academy politics, but he more than deserved it, and I'm glad he won it. All of the other actors did phenomenal jobs as well. Especially Aaron Eckhart as Harvey 'Two Face' Dent. My only gripe was Katie Holmes not returning for her role, but over a billion dollars later, thats her problem. The plot of The Dark Knight addressed my only complaint about Batman Begins. There isn't anything I can think of in this movie that was unrealistic in the advanced world we live in today. The premise is believable, and the story draws you in and never lets you go. I also have to mention the composer, Hans Zimmer returning from Batman Begins. The musical score in the two movies was another thing that I thought was damn near flawless. No spoiler intended, but the way it ended left so much to the imagination. It appeared that the Joker would have had a guaranteed spot in the third movie, but now I think they should just leave that character alone. Chris Nolan has a large task on his hands for the third installment. Topping this sequal will be a challenge. Lets just hope what happened with the Spider-Man franchise doesn't happen to this one. The Dark Knight was beyond anything I could have imagined. It's a film that will be talked about for many years to come. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
danielb1982Sep 29, 2011
Firstly, I have to admit that I've never been a fan of the Batman series, but this all changed with 'The Dark Knight' and 'Batman Begins' before that.

Christopher Nolan is quite simply a genius, his take on Batman had me on the edge of my
Firstly, I have to admit that I've never been a fan of the Batman series, but this all changed with 'The Dark Knight' and 'Batman Begins' before that.

Christopher Nolan is quite simply a genius, his take on Batman had me on the edge of my seat through the whole movie, some thing that didn't happen with previous Batman movies.

Christian Bale is cast perfect as Bruce Wayne/Batman, but the man who really steals the show is Heath Ledger as The Joker, he was incredible, and apparently Michael Caine forgot his lines, because he couldn't believe how good Heath's Joker was.

I'm definitely looking forward to the next Batman movie.
Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
marnee96Nov 3, 2011
This is not your typical comic book movie, it's more of a multidimensional crime saga. With great performances, especially Heath Ledger's iconic Joker, and Christopher Nolan's impressive direction and mind-bending script, The Dark Knight is aThis is not your typical comic book movie, it's more of a multidimensional crime saga. With great performances, especially Heath Ledger's iconic Joker, and Christopher Nolan's impressive direction and mind-bending script, The Dark Knight is a modern classic. 4/4 stars. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
Jack101Sep 10, 2012
Theres nothing bad about this film at all. It had awesome technology, a worthy batman, the best joker ever, and intense action. Like one critic said, Its not your ordinary superhero movie, its better
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
oblique15Mar 17, 2013
"Epic" is the word for this movie! This series just keeps getting better. The Joker is exactly how I see him, "Heath Ledger" was going to be legend! No other super her movie even comes close, and I happen to like most of them. This is the"Epic" is the word for this movie! This series just keeps getting better. The Joker is exactly how I see him, "Heath Ledger" was going to be legend! No other super her movie even comes close, and I happen to like most of them. This is the only DC movie I like, but it`s better than all other comic movies. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
WiesyJan 18, 2013
This is the best superhero movie ever made. A masterpiece. Nolan shows again he's one of the greatest directors of al time. Cast is excellent, espyially Heath Ledger, the story is awesome, ..... How can David Denby give this movie a 50, IThis is the best superhero movie ever made. A masterpiece. Nolan shows again he's one of the greatest directors of al time. Cast is excellent, espyially Heath Ledger, the story is awesome, ..... How can David Denby give this movie a 50, I don't understand it. AWESOME MOVIE Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
genericusenameJun 14, 2013
The best of Nolan's Batman Trilogy. The entire cast was solid, but it was Heath Ledger who stole the show as the Joker with one of the best performances I've seen in cinema. It doesn't have as much action as other recent super hero movies,The best of Nolan's Batman Trilogy. The entire cast was solid, but it was Heath Ledger who stole the show as the Joker with one of the best performances I've seen in cinema. It doesn't have as much action as other recent super hero movies, but it more than makes up for that with great writing and intense scenes. This movie deserves all of the praise it has gotten. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
FranzHcriticAug 22, 2013
As a whole, it can exclaim itself as a sophisticated comic book film. Heath Ledger's Joker is what captivates us. He absorbs into this role with a type of noir-like version of the classic comic book character, becoming a murderous andAs a whole, it can exclaim itself as a sophisticated comic book film. Heath Ledger's Joker is what captivates us. He absorbs into this role with a type of noir-like version of the classic comic book character, becoming a murderous and calculating psychopath. The only comic book film that deserved any Oscar, especially for Heath Ledger. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
Christian0205Mar 30, 2014
The best of the trilogy. It manages to keep your attention all the time. And just when you think the day is saved, it all crash down. Ledger plays the role of his life as the Joker, a new and wonderful vision of this batman nemesis
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
keve16Mar 26, 2015
8.8/10................................................................................................................................................
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
SkyrimGuy935Feb 26, 2015
Even though its plot isn't perfect, The Dark Knight succeeds due to gritty, well-made action sequences, strong performances from every cast member (especially Heath Ledger as the Joker), and an overall unique and dark take on the story ofEven though its plot isn't perfect, The Dark Knight succeeds due to gritty, well-made action sequences, strong performances from every cast member (especially Heath Ledger as the Joker), and an overall unique and dark take on the story of Batman. While it isn't entirely deserving of a perfect score, it comes extremely close.

9.9/10
Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
MaxthemcgcriticNov 27, 2014
I prefer the the 1989 film for its comic book dark stile, but I watched it again and it's like a crime action drama. So the film is fantastic and awesome like the original, so yeah, I love this movie for doing some thing different and succeeding:)
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
truxtonJan 1, 2015
Probably one of the best films you will watch today. As Christopher Nolan really pushed the boundaries with this flawless action crime drama. Batman has to deal with many familiar faces and doesn't disappoint with good acting brilliant actionProbably one of the best films you will watch today. As Christopher Nolan really pushed the boundaries with this flawless action crime drama. Batman has to deal with many familiar faces and doesn't disappoint with good acting brilliant action and a nice musical score. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
jlittle1404Jan 8, 2015
Simply one of the best superhero movies of all time! This movie not only has everything a Batman movie should have it has everything you look for in any movie! Heath Ledgers performance as the Joker is jaw dropping and will give you chills!Simply one of the best superhero movies of all time! This movie not only has everything a Batman movie should have it has everything you look for in any movie! Heath Ledgers performance as the Joker is jaw dropping and will give you chills! A+ 10 out of 10 Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
JandB123Feb 17, 2015
There is so many good things that I could say about this movie. Aside from the brilliant acting, fantastic score, and amazing directing, the thing that Dark Knight does really well is the plot and development of the characters. Let's face it.There is so many good things that I could say about this movie. Aside from the brilliant acting, fantastic score, and amazing directing, the thing that Dark Knight does really well is the plot and development of the characters. Let's face it. A majority of super hero movies are terrible. But this film not only manages to be a good super hero movie, but a great movie in general. The characters are realistic and relatable. The villains have a clear purpose and goal. Everything about this movie is perfect. A must watch for any film fan! Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
Watty9923Apr 5, 2015
This is the best batman movie ever. Great cinematography. Great acting. Awesome story. First scene in imax will blow you away. Great ending. I highly recommend owning this flick on blu ray
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
GentM2015Jan 10, 2016
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. BOX OFFICE: $1.05 billion dollars.
$534 million dollars in US.
Second Best of all time at the time of its opening in 2008.Best opening of all time with $158 million.
REVIEWS (critical acclaim): 9.0/10 on IMDb.94% on Rotten Tomatoes.82/100 on Metacritic.
Best Reviewed Superhero Movie of all time.
AWARDS:103 Won-178 Nominated
Also nominated for 8 Oscars and Won 2 including Best Supporting Actor for Heath Ledger.
The Dark Knight it's actually the movie that redefined the Superhero genre and it is even considered as one of the best Crime Dramas also,which is insane for a movie like this.
Christopher Nolan's direction is just impressive and very interesting.He handled the characters so good and made one of the best on-screen villains ever,though Heath Ledger's portrayal totally stands out as the Joker,also making it in my opinion one of the best performances ever.Not to be overlooked are the other performances such as Aaron Eckhart as Harvey Dent who gave a very very good performance and brought charisma and seriousness to Dent and respectively Two Face.Christian Bale in my opinion is the best Batman/Bruce Wayne of all time.Maggie Gyllenhaal is an improvement over Katie Holmes,the likes of Michael Cane and Morgan Freeman give very serious and great performances too.
The action is so well handled and very well shot that keeps you intrigued/excited every time.But what stand out are the dialogue scenes,especially the best scene in the movie which is the Interrogation scene between The Joker and Batman.That scene tells us so much and we get a look/perspective at the Joker's world so well and what makes him scary/intimidating it's that what he says actually makes sense,it's true all of it.
Plus the amazing transformation of Harvey Dent to Two Face it's mesmerizing.Seeing at what point he is at the beginning,fighting for justice in any way he can and how he ends up in the end,willing to kill Gordon's kids it's just insane but realistic and believable too.After that insanely amazing written scene in the Hospital between Dent and The Joker,we see his transformation making sense with the amazingly realistic dialogue.
The Joker just wants to watch the world burn and this movie shows what happens when an unstoppable force meets an immovable object.Every moment that Heath is in it's memorable and insanely good,but the fact of the matter is that even when he is not on-screen the movie is still interesting and just as good because it's smart and rewarding by giving justice to these characters that had not been done rightfully before.
The less prepared you are, the greater will be the experience of Nolan’s masterpiece.
I could go on and on writing about every detail of this amazing movie achievement but I leave it at this because I think I have said enough.If you hate the movie,it's fine because maybe you don't like these sort of movies or you were expecting something else after all I mean every movie has haters.But no one can deny the fact that The Dark Knight is memorable,filled with great performances,action done right and great dialogue.
Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
Epik_NinnjaMay 23, 2015
Simply fantastic! It's my favorite super hero movie and one of my favorite movies! Why? Well ,it's just so well written, with dark humor, intense action, a menacing villain, etc. There are so many memorable moments (the bank robbery, theSimply fantastic! It's my favorite super hero movie and one of my favorite movies! Why? Well ,it's just so well written, with dark humor, intense action, a menacing villain, etc. There are so many memorable moments (the bank robbery, the "you know how I got these scars?" speeches, etc.) and lines ("Whatever doesn't kill you simply makes you...stranger." -Joker, "Do you know how I got these scars?"-Joker "No, but I know how you got these." -Batman, etc.) I could go on forever about my love for this movie, but I have to admit that there are some kind of dull parts that could have been shorter or mixed with less dull material... or something. That's why it's not a ten. Aside form it being a little dull here or there, it's the perfect dark super hero movie and just an all-around outstanding film! Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
kyle20ellisMar 9, 2022
I grew up on the animated series, loved the first two Batman films, sort of liked Batman Forever but disappointed in Batman and Robin. I have yet to re-watch Batman Begins, but I thoroughly enjoyed this film on re-watch having really liked itI grew up on the animated series, loved the first two Batman films, sort of liked Batman Forever but disappointed in Batman and Robin. I have yet to re-watch Batman Begins, but I thoroughly enjoyed this film on re-watch having really liked it first time. It is very well made and gripping with some great performances, but personally I would put Casablanca, Wizard of Oz, Amadeus and It's a Wonderful Life over this.

The film does suffer from being a little too talky, and the plot on occasions can be hard to follow due to a lot going on. Nevertheless it is extremely good, and not only one of the better Batman movies but also one of the better superhero movies. Visually and technically, the film cannot be faulted. The cinematography is superb and the spectacle of Gotham City is dazzling. Christopher Nolan's direction is taut, and ensures that the action is explosive.

The plot is a little bloated, with the Joker bent on destroying organised crime for good and making Batman cross between hero and vigilante, and subplots about Harvey Dent and Rachel Dawes, and Hong Kong. But there are some truly effective scenes that are tightly structured, and the screenplay in general while a little too talky in the first twenty minutes is intelligent and sophisticated. The Joker especially has some very sinister lines that stay with you for a long while afterwards.

The music by none other than maestro Hans Zimmer, who also composed music for The Lion King, Gladiator and the Pirates of the Caribbean movies, is outstanding. Rousing, beautiful, haunting, it is definitely memorable and doesn't become forgettable or generic like the music in The Hurt Locker for example. And I have to say the sound engineering here is phenomenal, particularly on very high volume the explosions sound very authentic as if they are coming from outside rather than from in the film.

And I have to mention the acting, as that was terrific. Christian Bale manages to be dark, brooding and charismatic like Batman should be. Though if I did have a complaint, he does speak in a very hoarse voice as if he's got a sore throat and I somehow did not know what to make of it. It wasn't irritating or anything, just...odd. Anyway, Aaron Eckhart is terrific as Harvey Dent/Two-Face even if his storyline was a tad too rushed, and Maggie Gyllenhaal is very sensitive and caring as Rachel. Morgan Freeman does well in a smaller role, as does the excellent Gary Oldman, and Michael Caine is perfect as the loyal butler Alfred.

There is no doubt in my mind that Heath Ledger gave the best performance of the film. He wasn't just brilliant, he was phenomenal, unpredictable, insane, extremely sinister and corrupt not to mention chillingly psychotic. I am torn on who I prefer over Jack Nicolson or Heath Ledger; it is a very close call. I admit I am more familiar with Nicolson's portrayal and liked his mix of the scary and comical and even tragic Joker, but the Joker here in The Dark Knight is truly sinister and even more of a threat to Batman and in my opinion this Joker has lines that linger longer into the memory.

Overall, not absolutely perfect but it is extremely good thanks to primarily Ledger's performance and the dazzling visual spectacle. 8.5/10 Bethany Cox
Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
YellowKirbyMar 25, 2016
'The Dark Knight' is easily the best 'Batman' story ever told, with stunning performances from all its cast, a dark and intriguing story, and the best incarnation of the Joker on the big screen.

Obviously, the movie does have its flaws,
'The Dark Knight' is easily the best 'Batman' story ever told, with stunning performances from all its cast, a dark and intriguing story, and the best incarnation of the Joker on the big screen.

Obviously, the movie does have its flaws, like Christan Bale's gravelly Batman voice, and that some of the plot points aren't very well thought out.

All in all, I think 'The Dark Knight' is the best Christopher Nolan 'Batman' movie, and one of the best comic book movies of all time.
Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
BenHawkes113Sep 30, 2015
This film is just fantastic, my personal favorite film of all time. Everyone is perfect in their roles, and this is easily the best superhero film of all time, and it shows how Batman can be done brilliantly.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
thatguy123Nov 7, 2015
“The Dark Knight” transcends the comic book genre
Christopher Nolan has created yet another masterpiece this time setting the bar sky-high for comic book based movies in the form of “The Dark Knight”. Lead by and all-star cast with Christian
“The Dark Knight” transcends the comic book genre
Christopher Nolan has created yet another masterpiece this time setting the bar sky-high for comic book based movies in the form of “The Dark Knight”. Lead by and all-star cast with Christian Bale (Batman) , Gary Oldman (Jim Gordon) , and Michael Caine (Alfred Pennyworth) reprising their roles from “Batman Begins”, the star power on its own is enough to make this a movie worth watching. However, it is Heath Ledger’s portrayal as the psychotic tormentor “The Joker” that steals the show. Ledger’s performance earned him the first posthumously awarded Oscar for Best supporting Actor. Ledger justifies the hype around his performance time and time again as Ledger is creepy, darkly humorous, and downright disturbing as the the Joker. As much as the movie is brought to life by the terrific cast, the screenplay and action should not be overlooked. “The Dark Knight” is similar to other superhero movies in that it features big explosions and otherworldly combat. However, the “The Dark Knight” simply outmatches any other comic-book movie ever made even its sequel “The Dark Knight Rises”, due to its elaborate plot and characters. Nolan is masterful in his direction and justifies the two and a half hour running time as he twists the audience around just as they are recovering from the previous turn. Nolan has taken a movie based on a fantasy and turned it into something believable, something real. Batman has never been more human than he is here as he struggles more than ever to be both Bruce Wayne and a savior to the crime-ridden Gotham. Ultimately “The Dark Knight” is worth every penny and is a must-see film. Watch it for the action. Watch it for Heath Ledger’s “Joker”. Watch it because it’s Batman, unless you hate Batman. But, why so serious?
Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
7
BarneyOnMTJun 19, 2016
WHAT I LIKED: This film has a famous reputation for a reason. Primarily, of course, its image is dominated by one of the best movie villains of all time, who not only serves as someone unhinged and terrifying, but helps to illustrate someWHAT I LIKED: This film has a famous reputation for a reason. Primarily, of course, its image is dominated by one of the best movie villains of all time, who not only serves as someone unhinged and terrifying, but helps to illustrate some very interesting themes. Amazingly, every situation played out by the Joker, brings Gotham (and the audience) onto a whole new desperate and frightening playing field, which in turns causes you to genuinely consider and question humanity all the more. In the end, it's this that makes 'The Dark Knight' the truly successful social commentary that it is, but it's not without some fun action either.
WHAT I DIDN'T LIKE: The themes and schemes are all very interesting, but the characters and plots aren't nearly developed enough for me to genuinely connect with the film. Instead, you watch from outside as Nolan uses characters and stories as a tool to portray his ideas; it's not a harmonious partnership between story and narrative, instead the themes exist at the expense of lots else. As a result, you'll be gripped be each scene, but in between you might feel a bit disconnected
VERDICT: A darker, deeper Batman that brings excitement and social commentary to the audience. It'll grip you in the moment, but when you're out of it, you won't particularly connect.
Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
The3AcademySinsJul 21, 2018
The Dark Knight is not only the best superhero movie ever made, but it has truly carved out a place among the great films that have been made through history. This movie is a fun ride and a work of art. Christopher Nolan is at his best as aThe Dark Knight is not only the best superhero movie ever made, but it has truly carved out a place among the great films that have been made through history. This movie is a fun ride and a work of art. Christopher Nolan is at his best as a director here, and the performances, story, and themes on society are great. This is a movie truly everyone can enjoy, and needs to see! Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
MasterRileyJul 22, 2016
The Dark Knight is probably the best superhero movie of all time. The way everything came together; Christopher Nolan back to direct, the choice of casting (Heath Ledger), the performances, the writing, the cinematography, the practicalThe Dark Knight is probably the best superhero movie of all time. The way everything came together; Christopher Nolan back to direct, the choice of casting (Heath Ledger), the performances, the writing, the cinematography, the practical effects, the action, and the music are all at the highest possible level of perfection. Theres a reason this film gets so much praise, its because its undeniably fantastic! If you haven't seen it yet, what are you doing? Go watch it now! Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
GrazhopperJan 4, 2018
A breathtaking performance by the late Heath Ledger and Chistopher Nolan as brilliant as always.
This movie will keep you on the edge of your seat from the first to the last second.
No comic book adaptation, will ever be able to mess with
A breathtaking performance by the late Heath Ledger and Chistopher Nolan as brilliant as always.
This movie will keep you on the edge of your seat from the first to the last second.
No comic book adaptation, will ever be able to mess with this stunning epic.
Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
eva3si0nSep 12, 2021
The Dark Knight is probably the best movie about a superhero. More than 10 years have passed, Marvel has released more than 2 dozen films, and no one has outplayed Nolan's masterpiece. Great cast, great story, great soundtrack. It is rareThe Dark Knight is probably the best movie about a superhero. More than 10 years have passed, Marvel has released more than 2 dozen films, and no one has outplayed Nolan's masterpiece. Great cast, great story, great soundtrack. It is rare when so many things succeed in a film, and it is almost impossible to expect such from the genre of superhero cinema. Great movie with a fantastic cast by Heath Ledger. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
SuchiB14Feb 23, 2019
Quite literally the best hero movie of all time and overall one of the greatest movies of all time. The characters were portrayed so **** well, there's no other way to put it. Heath Ledger played a unrivalled portrayal of the Joker andQuite literally the best hero movie of all time and overall one of the greatest movies of all time. The characters were portrayed so **** well, there's no other way to put it. Heath Ledger played a unrivalled portrayal of the Joker and Christian Bale as always - "nuff said". Every scene was memorable, the action was superb and the plot was immaculate. My favourite line - "Why so serious son!" Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
filmcapsMay 9, 2018
some part of me actually hates this whole trilogy because every new superhero movie that comes out now, i end up hating it because of how groundbreaking this trilogy was. masterpiece. thank you Nolan.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
bertboy93Jun 28, 2020
what can i say about this movie that hasn't been said already. The Joker is next to darth vader the best villain off al time. This movie has such a good story, there is almost not a single moment in this movie where there is no tension.
Joker
what can i say about this movie that hasn't been said already. The Joker is next to darth vader the best villain off al time. This movie has such a good story, there is almost not a single moment in this movie where there is no tension.
Joker alleviates the role of batman himself. From the start,
batman or bruce, seems overconfident about himself. That there really isn't anything out there that could beat him
-JOKER
My score 9,5/10
Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
GWF1987Jul 22, 2019
Greatest comic film of all time

Everything is on the ball. Acting, story, cinematography, score, action. You name it this film knocks it out of the park. Bale gives another killer performance as Batman/Bruce Wayne with a great performance
Greatest comic film of all time

Everything is on the ball. Acting, story, cinematography, score, action. You name it this film knocks it out of the park.

Bale gives another killer performance as Batman/Bruce Wayne with a great performance from Michael Caine as Alfred. Gary Oldman and Aaron Eckhart were stellar as Gordon and Harvey.

The stand out performance is obviously Heath Ledger as The Joker. He's scary, but compelling. Every moment he's on screen in a joy and he steals the show. A much deserved Oscar was given to Ledger post-humously for this performance.

In the years since it's release this type of filmmaking has become taboo for comic movies, with films that put character and story above cringey jokes and a formulaic plot structure being panned because critics have decided that if it's not Disney, it is automatically bad.I honestly believe had this film been released in 2018 instead of 2008 it'd have been panned by critics for being too dark and serious and not having enough humor, and for the "crime" of not being linked to Disney in some way.
Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
glommanApr 16, 2020
A pretty good movie and a must watch for everyone who even remotely likes superhero-movies at all. The story is actually interesting portraying the cat-and-mouse game between the Joker, Batman. the Gotham Police, and even Two Face in the end.A pretty good movie and a must watch for everyone who even remotely likes superhero-movies at all. The story is actually interesting portraying the cat-and-mouse game between the Joker, Batman. the Gotham Police, and even Two Face in the end. It was really fun to watch it and I'd also gladly rewatch it anytime! Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
Cap5677Sep 12, 2019
The Dark Knight in my opinion is the best super hero movie. Acting was superb by Christopher Nolan and the villain(the joker) was easily one of the best villains throughout super hero movies.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
BruceDrakeSep 23, 2019
One of the best movies and the greatest superhero movie of all time. The acting, the direction, the cast, everything was perfect. Especially the interaction between the hero and the villian.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
PeterParker2479Jan 3, 2020
The Dark Knight is not only one of the greatest comic book films ever made, but one of the greatest films ever made. Acting is amazing, writing is amazing, directing is great, it’s everything you want from a movie.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
lofu_agfyNov 11, 2020
Confidently directed, dark, brooding, and packed with impressive action sequences and a complex story, The Dark Knight includes a career-defining turn from Heath Ledger as well as other Oscar worthy performances, TDK remains not only the bestConfidently directed, dark, brooding, and packed with impressive action sequences and a complex story, The Dark Knight includes a career-defining turn from Heath Ledger as well as other Oscar worthy performances, TDK remains not only the best Batman movie, but comic book movie ever created. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
AreegosMar 31, 2022
best batman movie ever, interesing antogonist, very cool Bruce Wayne, beautiful fight scenes
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
BigCheese420Jan 10, 2021
A film with action, tragedy and fallen idols all at the hands of Heath Ledger’s Joker (RIP) emphasised by the visible insanity we see in his character. The tension is always high as you find yourself constantly asking ‘where is the joker’A film with action, tragedy and fallen idols all at the hands of Heath Ledger’s Joker (RIP) emphasised by the visible insanity we see in his character. The tension is always high as you find yourself constantly asking ‘where is the joker’ ‘what will he do next’. Overall great movie, would definitely recommend. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews