Focus Features | Release Date: June 14, 2019
5.4
USER SCORE
Mixed or average reviews based on 152 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
66
Mixed:
41
Negative:
45
Watch Now
Stream On
Buy On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
2
HillelJul 2, 2019
I've enjoyed many of Jarmusch's films over the years and so looked forward to watching this one too. I know to expect quirky, underplayed scenes and ultra-dry humour. But this film really disappointed me. The script was lazy, with Tom WaitsI've enjoyed many of Jarmusch's films over the years and so looked forward to watching this one too. I know to expect quirky, underplayed scenes and ultra-dry humour. But this film really disappointed me. The script was lazy, with Tom Waits skulking around in the forest like he was method-cosplaying a David Lynch character, Tilda Swinton deployed to do nothing much other than look odd, and Driver, Murray and Buscemi were all criminally underused. Sevigny's was surprisingly the strongest character in the cast. Overall the film had a "hmm, gotta clear up my back taxes" sort of feel to it for most of those involved. Expand
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
3
alfredhess36Jun 27, 2019
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I still have no idea what I just watched. The entire movie was painfully slow, interjecting what felt like the opening of The Shining, pretty cinematic with groaning music, between every scene of the movie. And just when I figured they'd tie the movie up with some sort of message, the message simply was, "Well isn't that just F***ed up." Movie over. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
0
geometricalSep 4, 2019
If the filmmaker's intention was to create a movie in which every single bit of dialogue and character interaction is equally as awkward as it is cringe-worthy, then they definitely succeeded. "Genre(s): Fantasy, Horror, Comedy". Well, thisIf the filmmaker's intention was to create a movie in which every single bit of dialogue and character interaction is equally as awkward as it is cringe-worthy, then they definitely succeeded. "Genre(s): Fantasy, Horror, Comedy". Well, this movie was neither fantastic, horrific, or comedic. It just kind of wasn't... it wasn't anything at all. Most of all, it was not worth the time I spent watching it. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
0
raodonnell1Jul 22, 2019
This reviewer awarded a zero, not because the movie is bad, but because it is deliberately so. The impression is that the creators are having a somewhat smug laugh at the audiences expense. Doubtless unconcerned about poor box office returnsThis reviewer awarded a zero, not because the movie is bad, but because it is deliberately so. The impression is that the creators are having a somewhat smug laugh at the audiences expense. Doubtless unconcerned about poor box office returns (because its art you know, and they don’t need the money) they subject us to a boring, unfunny catalogue of in-jokes that may very possibly be de-rigeur among the great of Hollywood but leave the ordinary punter feeling cheated out of the 11 euro ticket price and the 100 odd minutes of life that they will never get back. From the languid, irritating score, to the trademark jaded star performance by Bill Murray this movie puts the die in dire.
Not since The Killing of a Sacred Deer vomited onto our screens has this reviewer been so utterly repulsed by a movie.
Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
2
RentawilJun 25, 2019
Maybe I'm too dense to recognize political/social satire when I see it, or maybe I was too underwhelmed by the slow but steady pace of this hollow, seriously underwritten knockoff of the whole genre to get into it. I mean, how many headsMaybe I'm too dense to recognize political/social satire when I see it, or maybe I was too underwhelmed by the slow but steady pace of this hollow, seriously underwritten knockoff of the whole genre to get into it. I mean, how many heads have to come off for me to get the point that ya gotta Kill The Head to win this war, with half of those scenes blatantly pulled off with old school cutaway shots at the critical moment?

Just shooting a zombie flick inherently gives the director some free reign in satirizing fear of death, special FX and the medium itself, or just having a little fun with the concept. It shouldn't be an excuse to hire two of Hollywood's most deadpan actors and hope that somehow it will transcribe into biting social comment or rolling-in-the-aisles laughter. My attention WAS snagged by the milk toast layout and casually interesting story line, but only until the middle of the "action" when there was no denying this empty sucker is going nowhere.

Towards the very end I felt a tingle of ecstatic anticipation as Driver reveals to Murray how he knew that everything "was going to end badly", that this would signal a creative and worthwhile climax, making the whole film experience at least worth the price of admission. It was anything but.
Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
0
Upset2Jun 30, 2019
I've never rated a movie before, but this movie is the worst movie I've ever seen shame on you for putting it in theaters
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
0
bestrobinSep 1, 2019
This movie was trash. Not even worth to watch..............................
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
0
xXGoldenknifeXxSep 6, 2019
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Avoid this movie it is a boring, slow, politically oriented crap shoot. I originally saw the trailer and thought 'A-listers doing a zomcom this is gonna be great!' To my disappointment the trailer was all the semi-decent scenes in the entire movie and the rest of the movie was god-awful and boring both my sister and step-dad had fallen asleep within 10 minutes of the movie we turned it off halfway through as the movie was a tremendous waste of time. So avoid this movie. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
3
Gojira54Jun 22, 2019
Overall the movie was underwhelming. Most of the films high points are in the trailer. Sadly a lackluster zombie movie.
3 of 4 users found this helpful31
All this user's reviews
7
MovieRiffingJun 19, 2019
The Dead Don't Die runs far with its bleak premise and dry humor, but it can't outrun the heavy handed mess lurking within the finale. Any Bill Murray or Jim Jarmusch fan should see this and I recommend the film as a whole, but it is notThe Dead Don't Die runs far with its bleak premise and dry humor, but it can't outrun the heavy handed mess lurking within the finale. Any Bill Murray or Jim Jarmusch fan should see this and I recommend the film as a whole, but it is not priority viewing. Expand
3 of 4 users found this helpful31
All this user's reviews
10
wheredowegoJun 14, 2019
the gore wasnt over the top and it was genuine fun to watch even if the pace was a bit slow, still enjoyable
10 of 15 users found this helpful105
All this user's reviews
10
wales7388Jun 14, 2019
really nuiance performances with a deeper and meaningful send off, selena and bill were standouts!! love them!!!
8 of 12 users found this helpful84
All this user's reviews
10
BlockearJun 15, 2019
I just saw this movie three times just in two days and the all time i laugh like a lot. The Adam Driver is awsome and with Bill they just killed it, and all the cast are funny group of the society who to kill the zombies or die.
4 of 6 users found this helpful42
All this user's reviews
5
Brent_MarchantJun 15, 2019
The filmography of director Jim Jarmusch is characterized by hits and misses. Unfortunately, his latest offering is more the latter than the former. This social/political satire, wrapped up in an homage to George Romero's horror classicThe filmography of director Jim Jarmusch is characterized by hits and misses. Unfortunately, his latest offering is more the latter than the former. This social/political satire, wrapped up in an homage to George Romero's horror classic "Night of the Living Dead," frequently falls flat, playing like an unedited first cut of an unedited first draft screenplay. Jarmusch's latest seems like an attempt to imitate Jordan Peele but lacks the airtight narrative foundation to effectively pull it off. That's too bad, too, given the stellar cast here, most of whom (except for Tilda Swinton) are underutilized and given precious little to work with. What's more, the story takes far too long to find traction, something that it finally starts to do in the second half but never quite catches fire due to some of the same pacing, editing and lackluster writing issues that plague the entire first half. A very big missed opportunity here. Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
8
GinaKJun 17, 2019
Jim Jarmusch films are an acquired taste that I acquired from the very first film of his I saw near Lincoln Center in NYC decades ago. Frankly I never expected to see him at AMC in the ‘burbs although this film seemed a bit more commercialJim Jarmusch films are an acquired taste that I acquired from the very first film of his I saw near Lincoln Center in NYC decades ago. Frankly I never expected to see him at AMC in the ‘burbs although this film seemed a bit more commercial than usual, even though it still had that special, slightly askew Jarmusch style. His idea of apocalypse is like no other – and yet very familiar. But the most amazing thing about Jarmusch’s films is how comfortable and natural his actors seem, even when the weirdest things happen. Jarmusch films are also very, very funny – and a great change from everyday life (and everyday films). You have to relax and “go with” his films, whatever happens, and then his films quickly become fun to watch. They are both real – and not real. Expand
3 of 5 users found this helpful32
All this user's reviews
0
KlebartJun 21, 2019
Ignore the fake positive reviews for this movie. There are too many saying it was so funny to be real. I'm warning you. This movie was painfully SLOW. This movie had maybe one funny line in the entire movie. This movie tries to be artsy orIgnore the fake positive reviews for this movie. There are too many saying it was so funny to be real. I'm warning you. This movie was painfully SLOW. This movie had maybe one funny line in the entire movie. This movie tries to be artsy or tongue-in-cheek but fails at being an oddball film. It's barely even trying. There's no plot. There's no point to it. The zombies are worthless. The actors are all bit players. There's a lame plot twist with a female lead that is pointless and stupid. I watched this movie not expecting much, but hoping to be entertained at least a little bit. I went in with zero expectations and left feeling cheated. That's how bad the film was. The movie failed in almost every way. I kept watching it waiting to be surprised and also to have time to finish my popcorn. Be warned. There is no way that people have watched this movie several times because there is absolutely nothing to it! For all those who said they laughed throughout the entire movie they are either bots, working for the companies, or high. Perhaps all three. Such a terrible movie that I wish I could rate it lower than a ZERO. Let me repeat that. ZERO. Expand
2 of 4 users found this helpful22
All this user's reviews
10
loverxselenaJun 23, 2019
The all star cast delivers a great movie filled with comedy, gore, and a look at society. Great performances by Adam Driver, Bill , and Selena Gomez.
2 of 4 users found this helpful22
All this user's reviews
0
TwiTuOct 11, 2019
When I saw this movie I was pretty sure the director/writer must be an autist.
It is exactly as I have experienced many autists.
Maybe funny for certain types of autists, but creates 3 question marks over everyone elses head. Honestly, one of
When I saw this movie I was pretty sure the director/writer must be an autist.
It is exactly as I have experienced many autists.
Maybe funny for certain types of autists, but creates 3 question marks over everyone elses head.
Honestly, one of the worst wastes of time in my life.
Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
0
HammersfallJun 24, 2019
The trailer has everything you need to see from this movie, two hours I can never get back.
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
10
DrBlahBlahMar 4, 2020
One of Jim's most underrated films, this odd-ball dark comedy, which is deeply nihilistic beneath its charming surface, is also one of the best films of 2019.
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
0
0007Jun 27, 2019
Incredibly painful to watch. I didn't expect much, but I had no idea that a movie in this day and age this horrible could have a theatrical release. Horrible acting and devastatingly slow pace.
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
0
dr_spokchildJun 23, 2019
Look no further for not only one of THE WORST MOVIES OF YOUR LIFETIME, but a movie that's emblematic of WHAT'S WRONG WITH THE WORLD TODAY.

Leaving Adam Driver's talentless one-trick-pony "acting" out of the equation, we're left the brilliant
Look no further for not only one of THE WORST MOVIES OF YOUR LIFETIME, but a movie that's emblematic of WHAT'S WRONG WITH THE WORLD TODAY.

Leaving Adam Driver's talentless one-trick-pony "acting" out of the equation, we're left the brilliant Bill Murray, Chloe Sevigny, and Tilda Swinton whose combined casting and power could lift ANY film - with a real script and plot.

This movie is a played-out, self-referential and post-literate attempt at hipster irony. The cheesy and corny humor are all together flat, repetitive, and predictable. In borrowing or "paying homage" to zombie flicks of yesteryear, you're simply left with shoplifted, grifted, and lifted tropes, passe passages, & hollow characters.

It's tantamount to watching a rich kid's USC senior short film project go to the big screen 60 minutes too long (KNOWING that their parents "got them in to USC" via connections.

Spare me your Rust Belt bulls#*t. This film is 100% crap except for a few funny moments from Tilda. There's nothing redeemable about this film whatsoever.

It shows you, it's never been truer: WHO YOU KNOW IS MORE IMPORTANT THAN WHAT YOU KNOW.

Clearly, you knew all the right ppl to get cast, but you couldn't write a script to save your a$@, or even direct an improv-script to save your a$@. The film is worse than any hangover, bad one night stand, or large regret you may have had. This movie is worse than sh#t because at least **** is waste leaving. This is sh#t.
Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
4
Experiment626Jun 14, 2019
Jokes fall flat. The story goes nowhere. Given the actors involved, it was a big disappointment.
4 of 9 users found this helpful45
All this user's reviews
4
OminutsuJun 14, 2019
Surprisingly boring. A few good parts are there because of the great cast but, man, this director spends half the movie bouncing between flexing his contact list and making obscure jokes.
3 of 7 users found this helpful34
All this user's reviews
2
Rebecca31Jul 23, 2019
The moment The Dead Don’t Die started the couple sitting in front of me left the screen, now it’s possible they got a very strong inclination that they would not enjoy this film but it’s much more likely they were actually in the wrongThe moment The Dead Don’t Die started the couple sitting in front of me left the screen, now it’s possible they got a very strong inclination that they would not enjoy this film but it’s much more likely they were actually in the wrong screen. Either way they made the right decision and I’m sure whatever film they ended up in was presumably a lot more fun than the brainless The Dead Don’t Die.

Polar fracking has thrown the earth off its axis (yes it could happen you never know) and strange occurrences keep happening all over the world, daylight for much longer than usual, a weird glowing moon and animals literally fleeing the vicinity so you know **** about to go down. The setup is all this tension building, working its way towards inevitable disaster, and in case you didn’t pick up on that you’ve even got Adam Driver to remind you every once in a while, “this is definitely going to end badly” etc. I don’t think I’ve ever been this bored watching a zombie movie and that can’t have been easy to do, I mean its zombies they basically sell themselves. Fair play to anyone who didn’t die of boredom watching The Dead Don’t Die I am honestly having a hard time writing this review, I’m so disappointed I can only blame the trailers for essentially lying to me. It’s sold as a horror/comedy with a great cast, (not you Selena Gomez) well it’s got the horror, it’s got the cast but that’s about it. The Dead Don’t Die is perfect example of a great cast not being enough, if the story’s not there then what’s the point? It’s constantly trying to make you think about society today and how we’ve all basically turned into mindless zombies ourselves and in case you’re so bored and haven’t picked up on this thankfully Tom Waits will crop up in between Adam Driver telling us how bad things will end and give some narration as to the state of the world we live in. Tedious, dull and it got more annoying by the minute. I struggled to stay engaged with this film and I was exhausted by the time it finally ended. It’s incredibly quirky and might be to some people’s tastes but there’s just not enough in The Dead Don’t Die to keep you interested, not recommended, avoid at all costs.
Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
0
asskittenJun 14, 2019
Save your weekend. Watch anything else. This is so lazy, so sloppy, so awful. I hate to see Bill Murray working so hard for a futile result. The director probably never watched Zombieland. And probably not Shawn the Dead either. NoSave your weekend. Watch anything else. This is so lazy, so sloppy, so awful. I hate to see Bill Murray working so hard for a futile result. The director probably never watched Zombieland. And probably not Shawn the Dead either. No wonder watching TV is better than a trip to the movies. Expand
3 of 10 users found this helpful37
All this user's reviews
5
TVJerryJun 18, 2019
When it was advertised that treasured indie filmmaker Jim Jarmusch was jumping on the zombie bandwagon, hopes were high. Sadly, they were dashed after about 30 minutes. Bill Murray and Adam Driver star as 2 cops dealing with the undeadWhen it was advertised that treasured indie filmmaker Jim Jarmusch was jumping on the zombie bandwagon, hopes were high. Sadly, they were dashed after about 30 minutes. Bill Murray and Adam Driver star as 2 cops dealing with the undead outbreak in their small town. There's plenty of the deadpan style that Jarmusch is famous for, but it happens too often without comic effect (and often repeats the same jokes making them even less funny). The gory stuff happens off camera (so there goes any opportunity for hilarious over-the-top violence) and the killing scenes aren't especially inventive (although the smoke residue is a nice concept). I kept wanting to like this film, but as it dragged on, it became less amusing and more tedious. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
1
Riddlebox2003Mar 11, 2020
Congratulations, Bill Murray, Garfield is no longer the stain on your career, The Dead Don't Die is now the worst pile of trash you've ever participated in, good job. A 5.5 seems far too high for this movie. I've actually never seen a worseCongratulations, Bill Murray, Garfield is no longer the stain on your career, The Dead Don't Die is now the worst pile of trash you've ever participated in, good job. A 5.5 seems far too high for this movie. I've actually never seen a worse movie in my entire life, horror or otherwise. Not only does the director try to copy George Romero's style of subtle storytelling that showcases real-world problems, he straight **** on it. Throughout the entire movie we see this hobo who is watching from a distance informing us that the dead have been dead long before they were dead... cuz consumerism, thanks guy, I couldn't have picked up on that and I'm happy they have him tell us this on multiple occasions. My best friend and I chose to rent this over The Joker because of the star cast, how can you go wrong with Bill and Adam? Well, they did it, and they constantly try to make the audience feel stupid throughout the movie, they treat us like 6 years old by feeling a need to constantly explain the hidden meanings. None of the jokes land and what makes that so painful is the fact that they just keep trying and trying and trying with the same joke, they try to make running jokes that aren't even good for a simple "ha", it's just bad. The movie also struggles with its characters. There are multiple plot lines that literally never come to fruition or have a sway over the story. Selena Gomez's group being one, where there's minimal character development. We follow around kids in a juvenile detention center and their story also never does much to drive the plot. The Dead Don't Die isn't even a competitor for "Best Worst Movie" because unlike movies like The Room, Trolls 2, or the other countless "so bad it's hilarious" movies, it has no charm or moments where you can laugh at how bad the movie is, you're stuck in your seat thinking "Who read this and agreed to be on this project?" Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
6
CrosisDePurgerJun 17, 2019
2/3s of this movie is quite good, it is a zom com infused with a surreal minimalism and plays like "scream" where the film is self aware as a zombie genre film. However, the film falls apart in the 3rd act as the 4th wall breaking is taken2/3s of this movie is quite good, it is a zom com infused with a surreal minimalism and plays like "scream" where the film is self aware as a zombie genre film. However, the film falls apart in the 3rd act as the 4th wall breaking is taken too far and plot threads are just dropped or end in ludicrous ways. The film also chooses to lecture the audience in case the themes were too sophisticated for us to pick up on. These things dragged down my enjoyment of the film and as such I can't whole heatedly endorse it. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
7
Bertaut1Jul 28, 2019
Very funny, very peculiar, somewhat didactic

Writer/director Jim Jarmusch making a zombie comedy? Who saw that coming? He's certainly made genre films in the past – Down By Law (1986), Dead Man (1995), Ghost Dog: Way of the Samurai (1999),
Very funny, very peculiar, somewhat didactic

Writer/director Jim Jarmusch making a zombie comedy? Who saw that coming? He's certainly made genre films in the past – Down By Law (1986), Dead Man (1995), Ghost Dog: Way of the Samurai (1999), Only Lovers Left Alive (2013) - and usually, he's very successful at grafting his worldview onto the generic tropes. With The Dead Don't Die, however, he doesn't do quite as well; this is very much a Jarmusch film before a zombie movie. However, I enjoyed it nonetheless, and although it shifts into didacticism in the last scene, nothing that Jarmusch says is incorrect, even if he says it a little inelegantly.

In the town of Centerville (pop. 738), strange things are afoot; the sun is still shining at 8pm, people's watches have stopped, no one can get a signal on their phone, and the dead are rising from the grave. Very much an ensemble piece, the residents of Centerville include police chief Cliff Robertson (Bill Murray); deputies Ronnie Peterson (Adam Driver) and Mindy Morrison (Chloë Sevigny); undertaker Zelda Winston (Tilda Swinton); farmer Frank Miller (Steve Buscemi); vagrant Hermit Bob (Tom Waits); hardware store owner Hank Thompson (Danny Glover); gas station owner Bobby Wiggins (Caleb Landry Jones); delivery man Dean (RZA); recently deceased town drunk Mallory O'Brien (Carol Kane); motel owner Danny Perkins (Larry Fessenden); journalist Posie Juarez (Rosie Perez); and a pair of coffee loving ghouls (Sara Driver and Iggy Pop).

If The Dead Don't Die has a single salient theme, it's apathy; the zombies represent us, sleepwalking our way towards our own extinction. Jarmusch suggests that as a society, we've become lazy, instinctual, addicted to things that don't matter (the zombies hunt for coffee, WiFi, Siri, Chardonnay, Xanax, and "Fashion"). Indeed, in this sense, one of the film's more subtle (and interesting) points is that the best way to remain outside such societal stagnation is to remain on the edges of the social contract – the characters who do best against the zombies are the socially ostracised Zelda, three kids in a juvenile detention centre, and the philosophical Hermit Bob.

Of course, using zombies as vehicles for social satire isn't exactly new; George A. Romero did it as far back as Night of the Living Dead (1968), which is more about endemic racism than zombies. He did it to even greater effect in Dawn of the Dead (1978), where he targeted materialistic vapidity. In this tradition, The Dead Don't Die has its eye very much on the climate change-denying administration in Washington; for example, Frank is introduced wearing a MAGA-style baseball cap with a "Keep America White Again" logo, whilst his dog is called Rumsfeld. And whilst it remains a comedy, much of what The Dead Don't Die says is deadly serious – the planet is dying; the polar ice caps are melting, and with them, the future of our species; universal scientific guarantees of impending extinction are largely ignored, whilst the idiots in power discard the warnings of their own people, strip away environmental protections, and continually confuse weather and climate.

One element of the film that's especially interesting is the Pirandellian self-reflexivity, with some of the characters aware that they're in a movie. For example, Ronnie refers to Sturgill Simpson's "The Dead Don't Die" as "the theme song" (which it is), and later assures Cliff he knows that things will end badly because he's read the script. This upsets Cliff because he was only allowed to read the scenes in which he appeared. And the point of all this self-reflexivity? I'd say that Jarmusch is using it in the Brechtian sense to ensure the audience remains consciously critical, more engaged with the narrative on an intellectual level than an emotional level.

However, there are problems. In last ten minutes, Jarmusch abandons all semblance of narrative, becoming very preachy and didactic. Another issue is the humour, which is very Jarmuschian – all awkward stilted dialogue, deadpan one-liners, and subtle winking at the audience. Some of the political themes are also underexplored. For example, Frank's MAGA hat is a pointed critique of Trump, but to what end? Also, as Jarmusch himself is aware, the film isn't really saying anything that Romero hasn't already said.

Nevertheless, I enjoyed The Dead Don't Die. It's certainly nowhere near Jarmusch's best, and I can understand people who dislike it; a lot of the themes have been explored before, a lot of the jokes have been made before, and it's neither a terrifying thriller nor a self-conscious meta-comedy. Having said that, however, the socio-political commentary is undeniably relevant and the cast is universally impressive. And ultimately, you may have a problem with the manner with which the film communicates its message, but that doesn't alter the fact that that message is absolutely legitimate.
Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
8
thatdannerJun 28, 2019
Probably one of the best comedies I've seen this year. Found it to be very deadpan, making it very funny. The acting from most cast members is amazing, especially Bill Murray, Adam Driver and Tilda Swinton. The movie is definitely veryProbably one of the best comedies I've seen this year. Found it to be very deadpan, making it very funny. The acting from most cast members is amazing, especially Bill Murray, Adam Driver and Tilda Swinton. The movie is definitely very strange and the characters are fresh and quirky. This is exactly what you would want out of an indie movie. Aside from some of the good, the plot-holes make it slightly less enjoyable. The movie suffers from unfinished plot lines, but it does a fantastic job of switching in-between the 5-6 different groups of characters in the movie. The action is well-done also, for a B-movie. Overall, if you don't mind the endless cliffhanger that some of the groups of characters get, you will love the movie. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
8
moonliteJun 25, 2019
This was really unique to see a movie of the horror zombie genre to have many undertones and messages underlined subtly and covertly. I actually liked it alot!!!!!!
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
10
selenatoroneJul 17, 2019
the whole cast is very charismatic, we need more movies like this tht make the audience laugh
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
0
LoucetiosApr 10, 2020
A 2 deep 4 u movie. Completely content to wear it's political agenda on the sleeve.

Unfortunately Jarmusch wrangled in Adam Driver and Bill Murray likely through name recognition, which has caused what would normally be a terrible idea to
A 2 deep 4 u movie. Completely content to wear it's political agenda on the sleeve.

Unfortunately Jarmusch wrangled in Adam Driver and Bill Murray likely through name recognition, which has caused what would normally be a terrible idea to become a movie.

If you ever wondered how pretentious this guy is I'll explain it. This is a middle class director who has made multi-million dollar movies, pissing on middle America and capitalism. (I'd have to imagine the irony is completely lost on him)

The intent here is to make the dialogue as unnatural and as stiff as possible to reflect what I'd imagine Jarmusch feels are awkward times in our society. He reduces our entire society to stereotypes.

The cinema is woefully bad. Shot as an action movie with again, stiff action.

The lesson as always is that we don't deserve to live with badass strong independent but quirky women for whom super advanced aliens will come and allow them to ascend from the mere mortals.

So yeh, it's just sucking off feminists with nothing particularly new or interesting to say beyond, "there is only nihilism".
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
marcmyworksSep 21, 2019
The Dead Don't Die isn't a bad film, but it doesn't really go anywhere and its strange for strange sake. Overall a great cast but very little script.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
bfoore90Apr 20, 2020
Adam Driver and Bill Murray are quite fantastic in this as well as Tilda Swinton, the rest of the cast are quite underutilized. It's a funny movie at times but could have been alot better had Jarmusch contained himself a bit.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
Kai82Dec 28, 2019
Overall this is a unique movie you must rate for yourself. No review can help you. Its like an exotic meal you have to try for yourself because no one can describe the taste in an understandable manner. Everyone in the cinema after the movie:Overall this is a unique movie you must rate for yourself. No review can help you. Its like an exotic meal you have to try for yourself because no one can describe the taste in an understandable manner. Everyone in the cinema after the movie: What did I just watch? Was this a good or bad movie? How can I compare this to other movies? This one is hard to rate or to do justice. I have never seen a movie like this and I can defend a 1/10, 5/10 and 10/10 rating at the same time. The vision and style of the director is clear and his message also (but it is too much hammered in at the end). The actors deliver their roles but some characters are wasted (You can remove them and nothing is lost). The story is (purposely?) slow but overall the pace is fitting for me (Other had problems). There are a few huge WTF moments and some of the 4th wall breaks are puzzling. I still don't know what rating I should give this movie at the time of writing this review. Many other would give a 5/10 because the movie is awesome and awful at the same time. I will give 7/10 because I like more parts of the movie than I hate. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
3
HotelCentralOct 1, 2019
The short version: Go watch "Wyrmwood: Road of the Dead" which is a really entertaining Australian zombie flick and forget that "The Dead Don't Die" ever existed.

The long version: Had I known that the guy who directed "Coffee and
The short version: Go watch "Wyrmwood: Road of the Dead" which is a really entertaining Australian zombie flick and forget that "The Dead Don't Die" ever existed.

The long version: Had I known that the guy who directed "Coffee and Cigarettes" was responsible for "The Dead Don't Die" I would not have wasted my time. This is a film that is devoid of life and no I'm not making a pun. Bill Murray and Adam Driver spend most of the film mimicking the Bill Murray Deadpan Thing and that's about all there is to say regarding characterization. OK, there's a woman with a samurai sword and that's supposed to be wild and crazy and totally hilarious because this is small town Pennsylvania. Yawn. The story goes as follows: the dead climb out of their graves and set about killing people. The cops wander around not doing much. Hey, look, it's Iggy Pop playing a zombie. Ho-hum.

I don't know who actually thought that this mish-mosh of schlock might be a movie but I suspect it's the same school of thought that led to the theatrical release of "Swiss Army Guy" or whatever that steaming pile of maggot-ridden offal was called.

Don't waste your time on this limp excuse for a film.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
2
vancityboyOct 10, 2019
Boring, tedious, wasted story that does not have any impact, unfunny and very bland. Very disappointing after seeing the trailers and expected a completely different film. This is a pass, do not worry about missing this one.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
1
tanocapoSep 1, 2020
What a waste of time! I don't know how some of these actors could participate in this movie. It's a zombie movie diluted in solvent. Boring, dense, you can foretell every scene in the movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
treestandJun 17, 2019
The Dead Don't Die is my new favorite zombie film. That being said, it is not my favorite Jarmusch film. Still, I think it was great, the pace, the dialog the off kilter weirdness all worked so well in this small little film about the zombieThe Dead Don't Die is my new favorite zombie film. That being said, it is not my favorite Jarmusch film. Still, I think it was great, the pace, the dialog the off kilter weirdness all worked so well in this small little film about the zombie in all of us. The police dept team and the weirdo coroner absolutely stole the show, despite the ensemble cast doing a great job bringing sleepy Centerville to life. The only issue I had, without spoiling anything, is that the fim should have ended five minutes sooner. The final scene is a bit gratuitous in 2 respects, the sudden action and the final voice over. The film would have done better ending with the understanding that things weren't going to end well, without having to show HOW things don't end well so specifically. Also, the theme and message the film was trying to convey was already overly evident without needing to bash it over the audience's heads as heads were being bashed in. But that's it. Great film, but I wish the credits rolled after 'we have to give it our best shot.' Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
JLuis_001Jul 1, 2019
I don't know what the **** happened. I cannot believe that a film so simplistic and without passion was made by someone as constant and detailed as Jim Jarmusch.

I couldn't help but notice the simplicity of the story and the boredom of the
I don't know what the **** happened. I cannot believe that a film so simplistic and without passion was made by someone as constant and detailed as Jim Jarmusch.

I couldn't help but notice the simplicity of the story and the boredom of the actors and that's a huge weight for the film because perhaps under other circumstances it would not be criticized in the same way but considering the prestige of its director and all the famous names of the cast, it's pretty clear that this film ends up owing a lot.

And no, it's not funny and no, it's not, philosophical or metaphorical.
It's nothing but a simple comedy with horror tones that failed to provide successful results. And I'm disappointed, very disappointed, by the movie and by Jarmusch.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
GrantD243Sep 24, 2019
The Dead Don't Die is an extremely average zombie film with a clearly stated political message. It's also far more casual than most zombie films. And while I will say that it does have a few funny moments sprinkled throughout, by the end ofThe Dead Don't Die is an extremely average zombie film with a clearly stated political message. It's also far more casual than most zombie films. And while I will say that it does have a few funny moments sprinkled throughout, by the end of it I felt like the talented cast was wasted and the story never even got close to its full potential. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
FaxthtaxAug 31, 2019
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I love Jarmusch work overall. He tends to use the same actors over again like Tarantino. Iggy Pop, Tom Waits and Murray and Swinton have worked with him previously. A dream cast so to speak.
Waits is equally thrilling in movies as he is on stage with music. But he is buried behind everyone else in the cast beating the bush in the forrest. although he closes the narrative of the movie.
Probably the most freaky character here is Tilda Swinton. She looks like a gollum most parts. Totally nuts but controlled. She plays the oddball whackos so well.
Adam Driver plays his part well, but Murray seems to be a little bewildered uncertain what he wants to be in the movie. Buscemi is fun as usual. You also find Selena Gomez in a smaller role, that ends i half so to speak.
The worst part of the movie is the pacing. It is so horrible slow half the way trough with plenty of unnecessary dialogue. It does pick up some pace when the dead starts to rise though.
It has the typical deadpan Jarmusch humor. Once the bullets starts to fly, you will have a few chuckles. But sadly, the trailer shows too much of the best bits in the movie, so you are already spoilt if you saw it.
To me this movie was a hit or miss. It has its moments but certain elements just pulls at its feet also.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
3
bataguilaOct 18, 2019
Lo unico bueno es que se le ve medio nalga a selena gomez, todo es fatla y sin risa
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
qbaseSep 7, 2019
Διασκεδαστική μεv, αναπoφάσιστη δε ταινία, μετέωρη αvάμεσα στην αφηγηματική απόλαυση εvός κινηματoγραφικού είδους και την πoλιτικoκοιvωνική παρωδία τoυ.Διασκεδαστική μεv, αναπoφάσιστη δε ταινία, μετέωρη αvάμεσα στην αφηγηματική απόλαυση εvός κινηματoγραφικού είδους και την πoλιτικoκοιvωνική παρωδία τoυ.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
PhilipBlakeSep 8, 2019
This is by far the most strangest zombie flick that I've ever seen. I'm still very confused about this. Jim Jarmusch isn't Georges Romero for sure so it's probably not surprising to get a kind of comedy / horror / author weird mixed upThis is by far the most strangest zombie flick that I've ever seen. I'm still very confused about this. Jim Jarmusch isn't Georges Romero for sure so it's probably not surprising to get a kind of comedy / horror / author weird mixed up story. There's several great actors involved like Bill Murray, Steve Buscemi, Danny Glover, Adam Driver, Chloe Sevigny, Tilda Swinton, Larry Fessenden, Iggy Pop and a lot of others famous names so the acting part is really top notch. The direction and dialogues are also great and remind me Fargo on many aspect. But the story is really weird, the cinematography is lame and looks like a direct to video, there's some good score cues but for the most part is near to inexistant and the make up effects aren't amazing at all. That's definitely not for everyone. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
CristoParadoNov 15, 2019
In "The dead don't die" Jim Jarmusch delivers a zombie apocalypse movie that doesn't shy away from making obvious that zombies in pop culture have been for a very long time a quasi-perfect allegory for consumerism, self-infatuation, andIn "The dead don't die" Jim Jarmusch delivers a zombie apocalypse movie that doesn't shy away from making obvious that zombies in pop culture have been for a very long time a quasi-perfect allegory for consumerism, self-infatuation, and social alienation; in fact he celebrates his self-indulging in it. Besides the cynicism, the other aspect that makes the movie different from most other zombie movies is that its stance in the face of our self-inflicted demise seems vague, its up to each member of the audience to decide if the overall tone of the movie is optimistic or pessimistic.
It runs smoothly on very simplistic jokes on the impotence of human nature, references to cult movies, clichés, and pretty little details worth keeping an eye out for, in fact one of the characters recommends to be attentive to details for therein lies the beauty and "perfection" of the world. The dead that won't die aren't only the zombies, but their unquenchable appetites, the archaic notions they fight to keep alive, the lies they depend on to justify their willful ignorance and inaction, and their subconscious symbiotic relationship with authoritarian power.
Salvation from the end of the world is reserved to those who have denounced it either by retracting to its margins or by living in perfectly disciplined asceticism, thus emancipating themselves through individuation; and surely this salvation seems so impossible and uncharacteristic of the world and its inhabitants that it will necessarily come from out of it as the materialization of the sophisticated iteration of messianic help of our times. All things considered "The dead don't die" is definitely worth watching, and think about for a while afterwards.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
RedQuinnOct 3, 2019
Not an action movie so don't expect fast pacing. Lots of poking fun at itself, the zombie genre and dry humour. Random plot twists, cameos and fun off the wall style.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
hnestlyontheslyOct 7, 2019
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Bill Murray, left, Chloë Sevigny and Adam Driver in “The Dead Don’t Die.”

The deadpan is all-consuming. It seems to be a defining feature of the film and a political statement about the lack of urgency with which we confront our most pressing challenges. Tonally the film is rich in its austerity–the way that there are more shades of gray in a black and white photo than there are colors. This seems to be the major reason that reviewers and the Cannes audience fell in love with the film. The film script is a Gordian knot of one liners endlessly repeated for comic effect. The sparseness of the script seems designed to make it quotable, but at the same time it maybe also satirizes that quality of camp films in the process. The level of self-satire and self-referentiality leads one to constantly be asking themselves is this funny because someone’s saying it so calmy? Or because a famous person is saying it?

I might be too young and ignorant to have followed Jim Jarmusch’s career from the start, but I did recognize Only Lovers Left Alive when it popped onto my radar. I think I remember seeing that film in theaters two or three times.

I think after having read the the Rolling Stone interview with the director, I feel a lot more confident about the motives and soul behind the film. I vaguely remembered a headline I had scanned that snarkily described Jarmusch’s opener at Cannes as an elaborate decades-long prank that involved a beloved and seminal indie director casting off his credentials and taste to make a pulpy zombie film, but in search of that article, the only thing that’s really turned up was this NYT profile of the film from way back in May, which retains some of the spikiness of the movie’s debut, but doesn’t have quite the same sharp edge.

May need to see this again to make sure it was funny. Right now I just feel slightly confused and tense about this movie.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
VoidLordApr 4, 2020
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The best part of the movie was the comedy. The meta humour was okay at first but when Bill Murray and Adam Driver were disscusing the script it went to far. There were a few other decent jokes throughout the movie but not enought to save it. The worst part of the movie were easily the zombies. The zombies were really difficult to be intimidated by because of how easily-killed they were and they didn't look cool at all. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
0
WhisperingGhostFeb 24, 2020
I want to chop the head off this movie. I was really excited for it, but this is honestly one of the WORST movies I have seen in years. So slow and boring that it would put a zombie to sleep. You’re not hip, you are just a poorly written &I want to chop the head off this movie. I was really excited for it, but this is honestly one of the WORST movies I have seen in years. So slow and boring that it would put a zombie to sleep. You’re not hip, you are just a poorly written & directed film sputtering Star Fumes. Just lazy. Don’t waste your time on this one. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
ADEMOFeb 27, 2020
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Weird as f*ck. They say it's a comedie but i barelly blow from the nose. The scenario is interesting but it seems that it is weird just to be weird. Why is there aliens in there ??? I'm disappointed but i love bill murray and the movie is still beautiful. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
ezmApr 4, 2020
The decapitation of Selena Gomez scene is brilliant. I never knew she is such a good actress.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
0
ActmovielovMay 29, 2020
This is easily the worst movie I have ever seen. I stayed in the theater praying it would get better, and it always somehow got worse. Unless you're the kind of person that calls movies "films", this is not the movie for you.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
0
GormGravebornAug 3, 2020
This movie is pretty dull. Over all it felt like I was watching a rip off of Zombieland. This snore fest should be left at the bottom of the discount bin at Walmart to gather dust.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
0
PruneFaceJun 25, 2020
Oh my god this film is awful, just awful. I can only assume Bill Murray lost a bet to be in this film.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
LolaesJul 24, 2020
Para gustos colores y a mi me gusta mucho y el humor que hay en la película me encanta
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
JLauSep 18, 2020
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Polar fracking has caused the population of a small town to turn into zombies but the rest of the population don't seem especially concerned as they're too busy listening to the theme song. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews