Fox 2000 Pictures | Release Date: June 30, 2006
7.5
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 285 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
218
Mixed:
48
Negative:
19
Watch Now
Buy On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
2
MarkS.Jul 6, 2006
Beautifully shot, and a great performance by Streep, but this movie is predictible tripe. And I'm shocked that not a single critic even noticed that Hathaway is playing essentially the same part as her roles in the two "Princess Diary" movies.
2 of 2 users found this helpful
6
BarryR.Jul 16, 2006
The movie is a formulaesque story about a fashion magazine and those who write, edit and supply its pages. Women will no doubt love the fashions, the styles and the clothes but all will probably find it simply OK but not really great. It
1 of 1 users found this helpful
2
NeilK.Jul 3, 2006
Wow... what a long dull waste of time. Yes, if you're fan of fashion and/or Paris... you will most likely enjoy this film. If your girlfriend or boyfriend MAKES you go to this film, make sure you are repaid well.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
0
VictoriaD.Aug 1, 2006
The obsession on weight in this film is disgusting. While some jokes are funny. Some moments in this movie caused me physical pain, and left me wondering how much I'd offend my friends if I walked out and left them there.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
5
StuartS.Oct 21, 2006
Silly, is the only word I would use to describe a film that had no point and no plot.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
1
CameronJ.Jul 18, 2006
This movie failed to transcend to people uninterested in fashion, and failed to satisfy the eye-candy requirements of someone interested in fashion. The movie was a bad fashion movie, rather than a good movie that happens to take place in This movie failed to transcend to people uninterested in fashion, and failed to satisfy the eye-candy requirements of someone interested in fashion. The movie was a bad fashion movie, rather than a good movie that happens to take place in the fashion industry. The movie relied on brandnames to interest me for the whole length of the movie. Needless to say, it didn't work. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
0
RuwaniH.Sep 25, 2006
Stupid chick flick about stupid fashion.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
6
annbdJul 2, 2018
I would describe 'The Devil Wears Prada' as decent movie. Not particularly interesting, but funny, instructive and also Meryl Streep. Streep is reason enough. But the movie is definitely overrated.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
MarioJ.Aug 23, 2007
Meryly Streep, perfection.
5 of 7 users found this helpful
6
[Anonymous]Jul 5, 2006
Too predictable. I couldn't wait for it to end when it was only about a quarter of the way through the movie.
2 of 3 users found this helpful
3
NathanW.Jul 26, 2006
There's nothing that worthwhile (or funny) in this vapid film geared to people who watch project runway. It's barely even passes for a movie about fashion with a plot runs predictably to a predictable end.
2 of 3 users found this helpful
8
MeiH.Feb 21, 2007
A witty movie and great performances!
1 of 2 users found this helpful
4
EldonDec 21, 2006
Sara M and Mark C are nicely telling you the truth about this film. NICELY, I say. In the end, it's lame. Love Streep, but not even she could have saved this from what it is.
1 of 2 users found this helpful
7
VaiKellyMar 24, 2011
The first thing to notice about THE DEVIL WEARS PRADA is that it is precisely what it offers - fashion and its cut-throat business. An adaptation of Lauren Weisberger's 2003 novel, it is neatly directly by David Frankel, which is surprisingThe first thing to notice about THE DEVIL WEARS PRADA is that it is precisely what it offers - fashion and its cut-throat business. An adaptation of Lauren Weisberger's 2003 novel, it is neatly directly by David Frankel, which is surprising since most of his work usually comprises of the light-hearted family genre. Frankel does one thing particularly well, he lets Meryl Streep, that iconic of all actors, room to breathe life in her character, Miranda Priestley, the ruthless editor in chief of the Runaway magazine, who has scant respect and patience for people, especially those she considers to be incompetent and unprofessional. I was fascinated with Streep's portrayal, she has something that makes her so powerfully alluring, almost hypnotic-like, and she lives and breathes Miranda every scene, every little nuance. Anne Hathaway is no less powerful as Andrea Sachs, the aspiring small town journalist with some impressive literary credentials, who clearly is a misfit in the Runaway scheme of things. Emily Blunt's Emily Charlton, Miranda's senior assistant, clearly doesn't give Andrea much hope, or even encouragement. Emily Blunt is wonderful as Emily, but I didn't get it - considering how particularly precise and impatient as Miranda is, how could she suffer Emily's British accent and her unconvincing work performance is just beyond me! Stanley Tucci is another actor who rises above his material and truly lends solidity to his roles - I especially enjoyed the final scenes when Miranda deftly puts the new charge of leadership to her rival Jacqueline Follet, and Tucci's Nigel responds as Nigel truly would. His mannerisms and emotion, that he tries subtly to hide and disguise even in the face of such a tumultous storm, is just a sight to behold. "I know she'll pay me back" is his response. Just what you'd expect from Nigel. Andrea learns lessons about life, not just in the fashion world, but in her own life. Her personal life takes a hit, her boyfriend cannot believe that she's changing as rapidly as she is, her own two best friends think the fashion world is swallowing her. No doubt, she is Miranda Priestley's assistant, doing a job that 'millions of girls would kill for," but Andrea is pleasantly unaware of and even contemptuous of this reality. It is gratifying to see that Hathaway's character is so absolutely unlike Streep's....Andrea's easy-going, carefree lifestyle, her choice of words in the most unpleasant of situations, is the exact opposite of all that Miranda Priestley lives and breathes in. The scene where Miranda talks to Andrea, after Andrea had been witness to Miranda and her husband's fight, Miranda's lines and the pain across her face and her emotions....that is Streep at her finest. A vortex of emotions and intricate, subtle gestures of the face, hands, true inner emotions, Streep portrays them all as easily and as beautifully as anyone has ever done on celluloid. In conclusion, this movie's not particularly boring or dull. It is fast-paced, but has ample show of Streep, Hathaway, and Tucci's characters. I gave it a 7 out of 10, not out of necessity, but because I think it's just good enough for it. And that isn't hurtful at all! I only hope Miranda Priestley doesn't confront me about it! Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
0
Chrislake94Jun 3, 2011
Overrated, terrible, boring. I do not know how this got 'generally favourable reviews' I bet the people reviewed this positive despise shows like White Chicks. Basically if you call this show 'perfect' you are boring and I suggest somethingOverrated, terrible, boring. I do not know how this got 'generally favourable reviews' I bet the people reviewed this positive despise shows like White Chicks. Basically if you call this show 'perfect' you are boring and I suggest something worth your term because seeing this film in the Cinema was a waste of my life. Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
3
csw12Aug 19, 2012
The film felt like i was watching an ABC show on a wednesday night. A typical chick flick with a little taste of fashion. the movie seem to go way off course in the final 30 minutes. Didn't laugh once in this film. disgraceful.
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
9
MichaelL.Jul 1, 2006
A really great, spot-on film about fashion publishing--the world where I reside. Streep was perfectly understated as the thinly disguised Anna Wintour. Stanley Tucci was wonderful, as was Emily Blunt. I also loved Anne Hathaway; I don't A really great, spot-on film about fashion publishing--the world where I reside. Streep was perfectly understated as the thinly disguised Anna Wintour. Stanley Tucci was wonderful, as was Emily Blunt. I also loved Anne Hathaway; I don't understand her negative reviews. As someone who as been in her character's shoes, she was real and honest, not a stereotype. "The Devil..." is a perfectly accurate portrait of life at Conde Nast Publications. If it seems absurd--try working there! Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
8
HoneyJul 1, 2006
I was really surprised at how entertaining this movie was. Meryl Streep was wonderful and hilarious and Anne Hathaway is a delight. Ever since her amazing turn in Brokeback Mountain, she's proven her talent.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
9
SamD.Jul 30, 2006
I quite enjoyed this film, one of my Top 15 ever. I really liked watching Emily Blunt, and Anne Hathaway was pretty good too. Grenier did really well, but if you watched Entourage once you already knew he'd be amazing. Streep, oh I quite enjoyed this film, one of my Top 15 ever. I really liked watching Emily Blunt, and Anne Hathaway was pretty good too. Grenier did really well, but if you watched Entourage once you already knew he'd be amazing. Streep, oh Streep, you take my breath away. Perfect role for her. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
8
ScottB.Sep 7, 2006
Predictable and unenlightening - but, oh, so much fun!
0 of 1 users found this helpful
7
DomL.Jul 3, 2006
Props to Adrien Grenier for his brilliant acting in the Devil Wears Prada. Meryl Streep and Anne Hathaway also star.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
9
MaseJul 5, 2006
There's no doubt Streep is perhaps the best actress of the past oh say 3 decades.... But as "the devil wears Prada" proves Dark Comedy is Streeps strongest Suit. Simply brilliant here. Hands down the best female performance all year. There's no doubt Streep is perhaps the best actress of the past oh say 3 decades.... But as "the devil wears Prada" proves Dark Comedy is Streeps strongest Suit. Simply brilliant here. Hands down the best female performance all year. Easily carried this flick to the top of the summer films with just one performance. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
9
StephanieC.Oct 9, 2006
The best comedy I've seen in a long time. Meryl Streep was wicked as Miranda.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
9
PaulK.Jun 29, 2006
Going into this film, I was really apprehensive, especially since the trailer was compromised of an extended scene of the movie. I had also heard some negative buzz, but I enjoyed this immensely. It was super funny and didn't get bogged Going into this film, I was really apprehensive, especially since the trailer was compromised of an extended scene of the movie. I had also heard some negative buzz, but I enjoyed this immensely. It was super funny and didn't get bogged down in drama at the end. I love Stanley Tucci and didn't even recognize him as Nigel. Anne Hathaway who I've never enjoyed that much before, excelled here. Meryl Streep was perfect, as always. If you have an interest, definitely catch this in the theater. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
7
BillyS.Jun 30, 2006
I went into this movie hoping it was the next great leading role film for Meryl Streep that would bring her an Oscar nomination for Best Actress at next years Oscars, but alas, it turns out her record 14th nod will come in the supporting I went into this movie hoping it was the next great leading role film for Meryl Streep that would bring her an Oscar nomination for Best Actress at next years Oscars, but alas, it turns out her record 14th nod will come in the supporting category as "The Devil Wears Prada" is actually Anne Hathaways faintly disguised "Pricess Diaries 3" and if it were not for Meryl Streep as the Queen B of Fashion, Miranda Preistley, this would be like a dozen other of the Lindsay Lohan-Hilary Duff teeney bop Saturday matinee movies. But then there's Meryl in yet another tour-de-force role completely unlike any thing from her long career of brilliant performances making you wish from the first time she's off screen that the whole film should be about Miranda and not Andy. I rated this movie a 7, with 6 of them being for Ms. Streep. You do the math. "That's all" Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
9
MichelleC.Jun 30, 2006
This movie was way better than I expected. I wasn't too sure about seeing it and ended up loving it. Anne Hathaway was great, a big surprise for me cuz I am not a fan. Streep and supporting cast was awesome. Wardrobe and fashion were This movie was way better than I expected. I wasn't too sure about seeing it and ended up loving it. Anne Hathaway was great, a big surprise for me cuz I am not a fan. Streep and supporting cast was awesome. Wardrobe and fashion were amazing. This movie was truly entertaining and very witty/funny. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
7
SangheeC.Jul 12, 2006
The movie was amusing, but oddly predictable. I loved Meryl Streep's performance, but Anne Hathaway disappointed me a little bit. The only complaint I have to make is that it seems to follow the same pattern of fashion films. DOwdy girl The movie was amusing, but oddly predictable. I loved Meryl Streep's performance, but Anne Hathaway disappointed me a little bit. The only complaint I have to make is that it seems to follow the same pattern of fashion films. DOwdy girl meets fashion world. Dowdy girl has a make-over. Dowdy girl is glamorous. Glamorous girl begins falling apart. Glamorous gil has a break-through. Glamorous girl gets her life back. It was too...generic. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
6
MeinradB.Jul 19, 2006
Meryl Streep made the movie! Otherwise, it was typical Hollywood summerfare.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
9
DonP.Jul 2, 2006
There's one scene where Miranda (Meryl) has a personal setback and Andy witnesses her breakdown. With any other actress, you'd feel as though the filmmakers were just trying to throw in some drama. With Meryl, you really feel her There's one scene where Miranda (Meryl) has a personal setback and Andy witnesses her breakdown. With any other actress, you'd feel as though the filmmakers were just trying to throw in some drama. With Meryl, you really feel her pain, and her anguish at trying to control her handling of it. It's thoroughly believeable and in one short moment thouroughly humanizes her character. This is why she is a great actress, and you must see the performance. The writers deserve kudos for not keeping the supporting characters as a two-dimensional joke. What starts out as funny/bitchy with Emily Blunt's or Stanley Tucci's character gets a chance to develop so that you can really feel for where they are coming from and how they cope. That saves the movie from being yet another tired Hollywood farce to actually having some bones. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
8
AndrewR.Jul 30, 2006
I really enjoyed this movie and couldn't give a damn about fashion. Funny and smart and Meryl is great.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
7
TonyB.Jul 3, 2006
Our finest actress give another outstanding performance in this sharp and clever, if somewhat over-the-top, comedy. Anne Hathaway deserves far more credit than many of the critics gave her, and Emily Blount and the always dependable Stanley Our finest actress give another outstanding performance in this sharp and clever, if somewhat over-the-top, comedy. Anne Hathaway deserves far more credit than many of the critics gave her, and Emily Blount and the always dependable Stanley Tucci are excellent in roles that probably would have been stereotypes in the hands of less accomplished performers. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
9
CynthiaM.Jul 4, 2006
Just a really fun and respectable flick - with wonderful acting and a sweet story. (Reviewers don't seem to be spending much time on relatively unknown Emily Blunt, but I thought she was as great as the stars!)
0 of 1 users found this helpful
8
AlessandraS.Jul 4, 2006
If you like fashion this is a must. Anne Hathaway and Meryl Streep are a dream team. Go see it!
0 of 1 users found this helpful
8
CurtisD.Jul 4, 2006
Not a lot of substance to this movie, but what was there was terrifically entertaining. Meryl Streep is at her whispery best with every scathing line she delivers. I don't think you have to love fashion to appreciate the humour here. If Not a lot of substance to this movie, but what was there was terrifically entertaining. Meryl Streep is at her whispery best with every scathing line she delivers. I don't think you have to love fashion to appreciate the humour here. If you've had a boss that makes you feel like an idiot you can relate to everything that's going on! Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
9
SamM.Jul 6, 2006
This is a funny, intelligent movie that is not about fashion, but about what it takes to reach the top in many American industries: brains, ruthlessness, ego, and hard, hard work. One of the best Hollywood movies in ages. Stay away if you This is a funny, intelligent movie that is not about fashion, but about what it takes to reach the top in many American industries: brains, ruthlessness, ego, and hard, hard work. One of the best Hollywood movies in ages. Stay away if you love mindless junk. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
DonnD.Jul 7, 2006
not a dull second, wonderful cast and acting.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
GeorgeB.Aug 10, 2006
This near-perfect summer sleeper (at least it was a sleeper to me) provides a tour de triumphe performance by the one and only Meryl Streep, and good fun, and a few heartbreaks, in between. Sad evening.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
B.TaylorAug 30, 2006
If you love the 'fashion world' -- this is the movie to see. Meryl Streep was the perfect 'Devil Wear Prada - Diva'
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
DanielT.Sep 16, 2006
Simply the best of 2006!
0 of 1 users found this helpful
7
JohnM.Nov 8, 2006
A poorly written book becomes an appealing film. I work in magazines and found it at once perceptive, irritating and funny. (Believe it or not, all that backstabbing does go on. And the high heels are true. So is the way the girls are judged A poorly written book becomes an appealing film. I work in magazines and found it at once perceptive, irritating and funny. (Believe it or not, all that backstabbing does go on. And the high heels are true. So is the way the girls are judged by the way they dress. Boys are generally exempt.) Anne Hathaway's character is a complete drip and so is her boyfriend. The film is Streep's and Blunt's. In Emily Blunt, I think we have a screensensation. Watch "My Summer of Love" if you don't believe me. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
8
DBS.Dec 17, 2006
Entertaining but a bit predictable. A mirror to those who lose their way in trying to succeed. Streep does a perfect job with her role.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
5
SaraMOct 22, 2006
Amusing but essentially lightweight and insubstantial. Nothing wrong with that really - and there are some good performances. But there
0 of 1 users found this helpful
9
OlafG.Oct 24, 2006
Its not simply a film about fashion. Its a great film about power, goals in life and about the conflicts that emerge when you have to hurt other interests in order to create a part of the world according to your ideas (Miranda).
0 of 1 users found this helpful
9
GeoffB.Jul 1, 2006
I had very low expectations for this film, but went to see it because it was my date's choice, and I was pleasantly surprised! Streep was awesome (as usual!), and I was captivated by the film from beginning to end. It's comedy and I had very low expectations for this film, but went to see it because it was my date's choice, and I was pleasantly surprised! Streep was awesome (as usual!), and I was captivated by the film from beginning to end. It's comedy and satire with enough drama to make a thoughtful viewer ask himself/herself a question or two about personal values vs. career development. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
9
ClintM.Jul 15, 2006
Meryl Streep was incredible as always, Anne Hathaway won my newfound attention, and the comedy was great. This is one of those feel good, high fashion, laugh out loud movies you need to go see now!
0 of 1 users found this helpful
9
MaryL.Jul 19, 2006
Don't go to this film in the belief that you are going to see a great story brought to life. You already know the story. This is about Meryl Streep and some of her colleagues. The acting is really fine, the movie is well put together. Don't go to this film in the belief that you are going to see a great story brought to life. You already know the story. This is about Meryl Streep and some of her colleagues. The acting is really fine, the movie is well put together. The story, such as it is, moves right along. This is good entertainment. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
5
PaulF.Jul 2, 2006
The acting is saved the whole movie. The plot was over all not very dramatic and predictable. I knew what the protagonist was going to do within the first twenty minutes of the movie. Kudos for Streep and Hathaway. Great acting but next time The acting is saved the whole movie. The plot was over all not very dramatic and predictable. I knew what the protagonist was going to do within the first twenty minutes of the movie. Kudos for Streep and Hathaway. Great acting but next time find a better script. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
7
MarkB.Jul 22, 2006
While reading Lauren Weisberger's semi-autobiographical account of an ambitious, impressionable young would-be journalist laboring for The Boss From Hell, I mentally pictured demon employer Miranda Priestly as not being pictured at all While reading Lauren Weisberger's semi-autobiographical account of an ambitious, impressionable young would-be journalist laboring for The Boss From Hell, I mentally pictured demon employer Miranda Priestly as not being pictured at all in the inevitable movie version. Like Niles Crane's ultra-high-maintenance first wife Maris on TV's Frasier, Miranda's evil seemed so completely unbridled that any actress, no matter, how good, would seem to merely trivialize it. Then comes Meryl Streep's delicious, stunningly effective minimalist interprestation of a powerhouse who changes lives, fortunes and fashion lines with the merest head nod or eyebrow flicker to show me how gratifying it can be to be wrong every now and then! Streep has compared her approach to much of Clint Eastwood's deceptively soft-spoken but deadly screen persona, but I'd liken it more to Anthony Hopkins' Hannibal Lecter; both the Runway magazine editor and the mass murderer are at their most seemingly placid right before chowing down on your liver! The Silence of the Lambs analogy holds up in more ways than one: both films deal with young professional women in danger of being completely absorbed by the monsters they must deal with in order to move up in their chosen fields, but Anne Hathaway's Andy Sachs is in far greater danger of beeing completely tainted by the encounter than Jodie Foster's neophyte FBI agent Clarice Starling ever was. Unfortunately, Devil (the movie) flinches a bit and compromises Devil (the book) by humanizing Miranda in one scene and having her perform a genuinely decent act in another, but this is still good, glossy fun, also largely due to excellent support by Stanley Tucci and Emily Blunt, the latter pulling off the small miracle of really getting you to care about her character even though she treats Andy with nothing but condescension. Wisely, the movie deemphasizes Andy's virtuous but dull friends from the outside word, knowing that the Runway workplace is really where the action is, but its message is clear: there's definitely something wrong with an employer and work environment that convinces any woman with Anne Hathaway's body that she's "fat"! And while it's impossible to imagine the lovely Princess Diaries ingenue as unattractive no matter WHAT she's wearing, it's obvious that Andy is infinitely cuter, more natural looking and a far nicer person in the blue cotton sweater she wears in her opening scenes than the chic designer attire she's later pressured into stockpiling. The Devil Wears Prada asks a lot of pertinent questions about QVC America's willingness to allow itself to be manipulated into burning out its Visa cards year after year by such nasty, manipulative "style-makers" as Miranda and her ilk, but one could, to be completely fair, equally question the ethics of Andy's working-girl togs, which most likely were made in Indonesian swaetshops where the children employed there make barely enough per hour to get a Butterfinger bar out of an American vending machine. But then, that's material best left to Wal-Mart: The High Cost of Low Price documentarian Robert Greenwald, not Prada director David Frankel, to deal with! Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
TerraV.Jul 2, 2006
I'm giving this movie a 10, because I haven't seen such an intellegent coming of age movie with a girl in so long. And this is that and a whole lot more. Adrian (from Entrourage) is soo hot, Meryl Streep is astonishing in her role I'm giving this movie a 10, because I haven't seen such an intellegent coming of age movie with a girl in so long. And this is that and a whole lot more. Adrian (from Entrourage) is soo hot, Meryl Streep is astonishing in her role as the fashion goddess of the world, and Anne Hathaway gives an incredible performance in this story about career, love, and the snobby, cutthroat upper class of New York. But for anyone who wants to see a good movie with a lot of style, this is it! Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
MarilynZ.Jul 22, 2006
Thoroughly enjoyed it. Meryl Streep is wonderful to watch. Even my husband said he enjoyed it.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
9
BrettG.Jul 2, 2006
This one really suprised me. It had sharp, witty dialogue, dry humor, and style for days. Meryl Streep put on an extraordinary performance and the whole cast was drop dead perfect. A must see.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
6
CarolynM.Jul 29, 2006
Anne Hathaway may be on screen for virtually every second of this film, but it is Meryl Streep's performance that transforms this from an ordinary uninspired film to a really watchable movie.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
8
RobertI.Jul 3, 2006
Delicious summer fare. Streep is spot-on, holding back the fireworks underneath a velvet cloak. Hollywood goes to Midtown.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
JoseG.Jul 30, 2006
Great movie. Meryl Streep is great.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
6
AustinW.Jul 5, 2006
Fluffy, mindless fun, with great costumes. Streep and Tucci steal the show. But wow, what a TERRIBLE message. Streep doesn't do even anything that bad - I've had worse bosses personally, and the main characters friends are Fluffy, mindless fun, with great costumes. Streep and Tucci steal the show. But wow, what a TERRIBLE message. Streep doesn't do even anything that bad - I've had worse bosses personally, and the main characters friends are moralistic prudes. ignore that, and you'll enjoy it... Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
JaclynW.Aug 11, 2006
This movie made me burst with laughter! I left the movie theater without tearing the door of of it's hinges like I could've done if I had chose to watch Garfield! Me, caring much about fashion, thoroughly enjoyed watching this This movie made me burst with laughter! I left the movie theater without tearing the door of of it's hinges like I could've done if I had chose to watch Garfield! Me, caring much about fashion, thoroughly enjoyed watching this film, and it probably will remain in my top ten for a long while. Even if you don't care about fashion, you will enjoy this movie...if you do care about fashion, it's especially good! Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
7
GerronK.Aug 16, 2006
This is a flawed, but sometime hilarious and twisted comedy about the world of fashion. But Meryl Streep is simply amazing in this movie. I enjoyed it a whole lot.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
TimW.Aug 19, 2006
An unbelievable performance by Meryl Streep and an unbelievably entertaining film! Everyone else is right on the money run to see it!
0 of 1 users found this helpful
8
ChadShiiraSep 22, 2006
"The Devil Wears Prada" had the potential to be a superior, instead of a good mainstream film if only its gatekeepers possessed the balls to make Andie (Anne Hathaway) a truly unlikable character before returning her to the audience's "The Devil Wears Prada" had the potential to be a superior, instead of a good mainstream film if only its gatekeepers possessed the balls to make Andie (Anne Hathaway) a truly unlikable character before returning her to the audience's good graces. A best friend and beau tell her that she's changed, but Andie never truly picks up that condescending tone her colleagues must indeed practice on people outside their industry. She's too nice. At some point, she should've turned into a Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
AlvaroL.Sep 23, 2006
Very enjoyable, a movie you just have to see!
0 of 1 users found this helpful
9
JonathanK.Sep 7, 2006
Just a fun, well acted movie. Meryl is amazing as usual.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
5
MartinS.Jan 13, 2007
Typical Hollywood half step. We're supposed to believe Anne Hathaway is a fat ugly frog who is transported into a fashionista. It's rare that a TV knock off tells the story better than the movie but "Ugly Betty" does a far better Typical Hollywood half step. We're supposed to believe Anne Hathaway is a fat ugly frog who is transported into a fashionista. It's rare that a TV knock off tells the story better than the movie but "Ugly Betty" does a far better job. The only thing that makes this movie worth renting is Meryl Streep who resists the temptation of mimicing Cruella Deville. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful
8
ReidF.Jan 27, 2007
It
0 of 1 users found this helpful
4
NeletK.Mar 27, 2007
It was predictable, with no real obstacles for the caracters. A bit boring, but still enjoyable.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
SarahDec 12, 2006
Terrific story and acting!
0 of 1 users found this helpful
9
BilB.Dec 10, 2006
The cast was exceptional. Acted out very well. I liked it.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
6
JimG.Jul 11, 2006
A movie as predictable but enjoyable as any of Meryl Streep's performances. Meryl Streep is, well, Meryl Streep--I always seem to watch her thinking, "There is Meryl Streep playing this character." And so, the story is, well, the story. A movie as predictable but enjoyable as any of Meryl Streep's performances. Meryl Streep is, well, Meryl Streep--I always seem to watch her thinking, "There is Meryl Streep playing this character." And so, the story is, well, the story. [***SPOILERS***] Protaganist spreads wings; relationships get neglected; protaganist has to choose between new and old; protaganist chooses new, gets burnt, learns lesson, returns to old, and the world is saved. Good supporting performances, particularly Emily Blunt as a co-worker whose stress-induced defensiveness and distrust is well played. While I thought Anne Hathaway did a fine job, the transformation that takes place was harder to see or accept. Perhaps it would have been a more powerful movie had they cast an unknown whose transformation from dowdy to dynamic would have been more of a wow (think the transferormaion of Toni Collette as Muriel from her first scenes to her wedding day in Muriel's Wedding). All said, definitely a movie worth seeing. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
SeanL.Jul 12, 2006
Very entertaining, great acting, and it was an improvement from the book. Streep was great! Those who say they seem to watch her thinking, rehash Katherine Hepburn too much.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
4
NathanM.Jul 15, 2006
Sure, there are some laughs and good lines. And my wife liked all the pretty clothes. Meryl Streep shows once again that she is a vessel waiting to be filled up by a character - and then nailing that character to a T. But the story is Sure, there are some laughs and good lines. And my wife liked all the pretty clothes. Meryl Streep shows once again that she is a vessel waiting to be filled up by a character - and then nailing that character to a T. But the story is absolutely formulaic, and it's tough for me to get over that. Plus, my wife read the book (and told me all about it), so I know that they deviated from the book a whoooole lot. Especially the second half of the movie. Made it all cutesy Hollywood. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
9
BrentR.Jul 18, 2006
Meryl Street is an absolute genius. She could read a dictionary and still win me over. There is something so irresistable about her performance that has you craving for more when she's not on screen. All the performances are equally Meryl Street is an absolute genius. She could read a dictionary and still win me over. There is something so irresistable about her performance that has you craving for more when she's not on screen. All the performances are equally good as well. It's a great film that makes the almost two hours go by just like that. The Devil won me over, what can I say. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
8
BitB.Jul 23, 2006
There's nothing too spectacular about this movie; typical feel-good summer comedy, although it is very well acted thanks to Meryl Streep in particular.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
7
MarkC.Aug 23, 2006
This moive wasnt as bad as i though it would be it was ok but the thing about haveing to be a size 2 and if u werent u where consider fat i that that was really really stupid over all it was a good movie.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
7
TerryR.Jan 21, 2007
A "must see" for at least 3 stunning performances, if not that of the lead. Actually better than the book.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
9
DanB.Jan 28, 2007
Yes, this *is* your typical Hollywood film. It's got a typical structure and typical conflicts and typical turning points and a typical ending. It also happens to very well made and acted--and that's *not* typical.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
6
ShawnJ.Dec 26, 2006
Nice to look at but it lacked bite; some roles were too broad and over the top. Even Streep
0 of 1 users found this helpful
6
jimmytancrediJul 28, 2011
"The Devil Wears Prada" is a master of witty humor and refined, fun to see. The film is also a full plate for anyone who loves fashion, but the most attentive to realize that the message goes far beyond that. Anne Hathaway acted very well on"The Devil Wears Prada" is a master of witty humor and refined, fun to see. The film is also a full plate for anyone who loves fashion, but the most attentive to realize that the message goes far beyond that. Anne Hathaway acted very well on the scene and the inspired performance from Meryl Streep waiver adjectives. She is such a diva, is another level. David Frankel's direction is swift and competent, the supporting team is luxurious. Everything in "The Devil Wears Prada" pleases. I'm not a fan of the movie, but I can say that Miranda Priestly is the most iconic female character in movies in the past decade. Meryl Streep didn't win the Oscar for one thing such as: comedy. The film has a certain status of comedy, so much that Meryl won the Golden Globe for best actress in a comedy. If producers weren't so worried about leaving the cute and funny movie, if they were more faithful to the book and the movie was serious, more dramatic tone, Meryl would have won the Oscar. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
analeeApr 22, 2011
I absolutely love this movie. It is one of my all time favorites. One, because I'm partly obsessed with fashion, but most importantly, it shows the vision of the American dream, similarly to the Great Gatsby, and how things never turn out howI absolutely love this movie. It is one of my all time favorites. One, because I'm partly obsessed with fashion, but most importantly, it shows the vision of the American dream, similarly to the Great Gatsby, and how things never turn out how you expect them to. The acting is amazing, and the fashion is stunning. This movie is a must see for all! Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
10
reviewloverOct 22, 2011
watched this movie last night and it was great hilarious but can't belive that blondie was simon baker hilarious movie can't belive that the boss was continouasly calling andy emily
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
7
eTurkeyFeb 2, 2012
Based on the book of the same name (not the Christian metalcore band), "The Devil Wears Prada" tells the story of a recent college graduate who takes up a position at a fictional magazine called Runway. Anne Hathaway is the lead but it'sBased on the book of the same name (not the Christian metalcore band), "The Devil Wears Prada" tells the story of a recent college graduate who takes up a position at a fictional magazine called Runway. Anne Hathaway is the lead but it's Meryl Streep who without question steals the show. Her acting in this film is flawless and no doubt elevates this movie to a higher level of awesomesauce! Prada may put off some viewers as it's rather predictable and some of the dialog is rather fluffy but it's still a good feature to see. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
8
talisencrwAug 4, 2016
Normally this sort of film wouldn't interest me, but I was fascinated by the cast (Meryl Streep, Anne Hathaway, Emily Blunt and Stanley Tucci ARE four of my favourite contemporary American actors) AND I liked the three previous films I'veNormally this sort of film wouldn't interest me, but I was fascinated by the cast (Meryl Streep, Anne Hathaway, Emily Blunt and Stanley Tucci ARE four of my favourite contemporary American actors) AND I liked the three previous films I've seen about the fashion industry ('Ready to Wear', 'Zoolander' and of course 'Death Wish 5: The Face of Death'). I was really pleased by the comedy caused by the **** pettiness and downright superficiality of everyone involved, which says SO much about contemporary civilization...and the climax and denouement, are both touching and so fitting. The strong writing and acting made this much better than it had any reason to be. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
0
BroyaxMay 14, 2018
Par où commencer avec cette... chose ? ah oui je sais, par Anne Hathaway la greluche ! c'est une grue et une bécasse horripilante mais ma foi, elle a la tête de l'emploi pour son rôle de ravie de la crèche qui fait l'assistante-esclave pourPar où commencer avec cette... chose ? ah oui je sais, par Anne Hathaway la greluche ! c'est une grue et une bécasse horripilante mais ma foi, elle a la tête de l'emploi pour son rôle de ravie de la crèche qui fait l'assistante-esclave pour le Diable en personne, à savoir une Meryl Streep qui semble bien s'amuser dans son personnage exécrable, hautain, méprisant, abject et tutti quanti...

Le ton se veut bien entendu léger et on sait ce que cet adjectif accolé à une "comédie" américaine implique en termes de "ras des pâquerettes" : c'est à la fois mièvre, d'un humour (?) inexistant (ou vraiment sans le faire exprès mais même là...) et d'une bêtise, d'une platitude... bref, au ras du plancher et encore, ça con-tinue de creuser sans s'arrêter...

Non, pour une vraie illustration de l'arrivisme et de la servitude -du servage plutôt- qui transforme les gens en infâmes crevards, voir du côté de Swimming with sharks. Ici, la "Prada" n'est qu'une connasse qui met sous sa coupe une bécasse qui se transforme peu à peu en connasse, puis tout-à-coup lâche l'affaire sans le savoir vraiment comme si son cerveau de blonde dans son corps "taille 40" venait de faire "tilt".

Mais elle est tellement bête cette bécasse qu'elle admire la peau de vache, car tellement vide elle-même -juste des courants d'air entre les oreilles, pas plus- que si on ne lui marche pas dessus 24/7, elle est toute perdue.

De toute façon, le film est entièrement bidon avec sa fin moralisatrice syndicale et se révèle d'un ennui stupéfiant et seule la si jolie Emily Blunt apporte un peu de talent dans cette pseudo-caricature du milieu de la mode, comme si d'ailleurs, on avait besoin d'un tel film avec ses gros sabots pour comprendre qu'il s'agit d'une caste de peigne-culs et de trous de balle.
Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
8
beingryanjudeAug 27, 2014
This one has divided critics. Yes, there is a bit of that trusty rom-com formula here. But The Devil Wears Prada extends far beyond. The laughs are warranted and the sentiment is genuine. You'll find yourself rooting for Anne Hathaway andThis one has divided critics. Yes, there is a bit of that trusty rom-com formula here. But The Devil Wears Prada extends far beyond. The laughs are warranted and the sentiment is genuine. You'll find yourself rooting for Anne Hathaway and wanting more and more Meryl Streep. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
Trev29Jun 9, 2013
The glue of this movie is Meryl. Such a great character that was made for her. The supporting cast was good and the story was actually not as bad as it might have seen. Lots of funny lines that also manages plenty of serious moments about theThe glue of this movie is Meryl. Such a great character that was made for her. The supporting cast was good and the story was actually not as bad as it might have seen. Lots of funny lines that also manages plenty of serious moments about the world of fashion. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
SpangleJul 8, 2016
The Devil Wears Prada is a chick flick through and through. It is not extraordinary. The story is nothing revolutionary. Yet, I really liked it. The Devil Wears Prada may not be transcendental, but is incredibly well acted and veryThe Devil Wears Prada is a chick flick through and through. It is not extraordinary. The story is nothing revolutionary. Yet, I really liked it. The Devil Wears Prada may not be transcendental, but is incredibly well acted and very well-written. Meryl Streep is phenomenal and both Anne Hathaway and Emily Blunt are very good alongside her. Stanley Tucci is also great in this film. The writing is very strong with each character not being solely good or bad, instead they are real human beings. Multi-dimensional and hard to put in a single box, the characters here act, walk, and talk like real humans, which is very hard to find nowadays. Additionally, the film just works. An interesting look at the inner workings of the fashion industry, a story of entering the workforce, and a story of trying to find the work/life balance, The Devil Wears Prada is very informative on all of those fronts. Even then, it also manages to be romantic and incredibly funny at times. All of these join together to make The Devil Wears Prada quite girly, sure, but also endlessly watchable and enjoyable. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
2
NecromusDec 6, 2012
I got stuck viewing this at a family get together. OMG what torment it is to watch this movie. It is the story about how a girl is hired by a women who is a MEGA B*TCH to everyone she comes into contact with. Nope, it's not even a funnyI got stuck viewing this at a family get together. OMG what torment it is to watch this movie. It is the story about how a girl is hired by a women who is a MEGA B*TCH to everyone she comes into contact with. Nope, it's not even a funny comedy in which case that plot might be enjoyable, it's a drama! If you are some freak of nature who likes MEGA B*TCHES or perhaps you yourself are a MEGA B*TCH then you'll love this movie! For everyone else, watching this movie will be less enjoyable than punching yourself in the face repeatedly. (+2/10 instead of 0/10 because I don't think I'm the target audience for this movie lol) Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
RikiegeDec 7, 2012
the devil gets to be good.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
JawsLaxerDramaDec 21, 2012
Understand this movie is not for the deep thinkers. Understand it damn well, because you get what you see. I enjoyed Meryl Streep in this film as well as the woefully unaware Anne Hathaway. While predictable, it does offer some outlook onUnderstand this movie is not for the deep thinkers. Understand it damn well, because you get what you see. I enjoyed Meryl Streep in this film as well as the woefully unaware Anne Hathaway. While predictable, it does offer some outlook on fashion versus being an actual human being in the sake of humanity. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
worleyjamersJun 2, 2013
The Devil Wears Prada is proof of how good a film can be with a half decent screenplay and solid actors that care about the project. The fantastic cast is able to find greatness in the material, making the film so much more than your averageThe Devil Wears Prada is proof of how good a film can be with a half decent screenplay and solid actors that care about the project. The fantastic cast is able to find greatness in the material, making the film so much more than your average coming of age story. Meryl Streep is insanely good and Anne Hathaway does more than hold her own in the lead role. Solid performances by the supporting actors Stanley Tucci and Emily Blunt as well. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
MeritCobaJun 22, 2016
So the devil wears Prada, which is an expensive brand of glasses I saw on the wikipedia with a revenue of four billion euros. I am a total illiterate as it comes to fashion, so I just assume that this implies he has good taste.. or is he aSo the devil wears Prada, which is an expensive brand of glasses I saw on the wikipedia with a revenue of four billion euros. I am a total illiterate as it comes to fashion, so I just assume that this implies he has good taste.. or is he a she? I gamble the devil is in fact Miranda Priestly, chief editor of Vogue.., eh..Runway, played by Meryl Streep in another excellent performance portraying someone who is an absolute #### but just human enough to not totally hate her and make you exit the theatre in disgust.

I wonder what makes such a person tick, operate in the human world and what life she must have had to develop into the nasty being she has become. "Everyone wants to be like us," Priestly says to Anne Hathaway with such absolute certainty that you know it is a setup for having that rug pulled from under her. And so Anne does. It might sound corny, but the thing to watch here is Streep. Instead of going for something obvious Streep looks back for a few moments when Anne walks out of her. She is a bit disturbed perhaps but she never gives in to feelings. We will get back to this in a moment. Incidentally I just call Anne Anne because her movie name doesn't really matter. She is after all a non-entity in the scheme of things, that is, she is the MacGuffin in the story and might as well be a briefcase.

Anne is the doe-eyed deer who walks into the hunting grounds of Priestly as a post-graduate from a prestigious school for Journalism and being the spineless damsel she is, she first looks down on her fellow doormats for being a doormat at first, but then proceeds to become a doormat herself willingly. Adapt or perish she is told. And so she adapts.
Anne is surrounded by an excellent cast of the likes of a young Emily Blunt(Blimey it is Blunt!) and Stanley Tucci. The first being that other doormat that gets surpassed by Anne in the hierarchy of doormats. And the second being a kind of reluctant mentor that sets Anne straight without becoming too cuddly.. I commend his acting for he plays a man in the fashion business that seems a bit fluffy, but he never goes for that obvious gay trick. Well acted there.

This movie perhaps could best be defined as an acting movie with a strong cast that keeps the whole going and avoids most of the obvious traps through acting. The weakness in this movie is however the script and Anne's persona(her being a briefcase). The script is so predictable that I actually expected that I would be proven wrong.But in the end it just follows the same path to an unspectacular end. I do not even bother to tell the spoilers for the spoiler is that there is nothing to spoil. You have seen it before and you know where it leads.

What probably is most disturbing is the moral bankruptcy of Anne, who basically offers up her whole life to serve Priestly and feels some kind of devotion to her that seems totally unwarranted and never gets explained. This is undiluted Stockholm syndrome. After Anne gives Priestly the middle finger in her spineless way(she just walks away), she gets back into the arms of her boyfriend whom she previously screwed over(literally). And her friends and family just accept her again as if nothing has happened.

Anne, in all her spineless ways, gets to escape the consequences of her actions and her year with Vogue.. ehhh Runway. Priestly remarks in one of her few intimate statements about Anne that Anne makes choices and that is such a hilarious statement coming from Priestly. This assessment of Anne's character by this high witch of Haute Couture is so of the mark that it made me laugh. And then the irresolute Anne for once makes a decision: she flees. But even that choice might not have been totally hers...it might have been Priestly's.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
dollarsignOct 21, 2014
Entertaining**************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************Entertaining************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************ Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
ThegodfathersonDec 14, 2013
Thanks to a sharp script and four perfectly cast actors, "The Devil Wears Prada" is fun and entertaining even if you're not a fan or slave to fashion. Women should appreciate the characters and all the fashion stuff, bt it's not the type ofThanks to a sharp script and four perfectly cast actors, "The Devil Wears Prada" is fun and entertaining even if you're not a fan or slave to fashion. Women should appreciate the characters and all the fashion stuff, bt it's not the type of movie that will leave guys in pain if they're dragged to see it by their wives or girlfriends. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
eagleeyevikingJul 18, 2018
Entertaining and informative, although melodramatic, "The Devil Wears Prada" is a fun escapist film.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
inaneswineNov 14, 2017
Equally hilarious and touching in all the right places, The Devil Wears Prada is a very interesting representation of the fashion and beauty world, and also poses some very poignant questions about the balance between our professional andEqually hilarious and touching in all the right places, The Devil Wears Prada is a very interesting representation of the fashion and beauty world, and also poses some very poignant questions about the balance between our professional and personal lives. It is also equipped with unspeakably fantastic performances from its cast, including Hathaway and particularly Streep - who manages to fill her seemingly monstrous character with depth and humanity. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
HotelCentralJun 25, 2018
I give this film a 7 because I did actually see it through to the end, so I must have been at least modestly entertained, though I didn't ever really laugh aloud. I would say the film is well described by the definition for the word "droll.I give this film a 7 because I did actually see it through to the end, so I must have been at least modestly entertained, though I didn't ever really laugh aloud. I would say the film is well described by the definition for the word "droll. It's curious or unusual in a way that provokes dry amusement.

What we have here is basically the same premise as the first half of Full Metal Jacket. It's about training for a job and discovering how terribly ill-prepared one is for the job. In place of a drill instructor showering recruits with obscenities, we have Meryl Streep flaying her underlings with a sigh and dismissing them with the flick of a manicured fingernail. I'm personally still wondering how Anne Hathaway's character snared the "job that a million girls would die for" when she apparently has no interest in fashion, but my guess is that most of the audience is primarily interested in the wardrobe. I've read that over a million dollars of fancy clothes are on display in this film (most of them borrowed from various fashion houses) and if that's your cup of tea then by all means enjoy. But if action flicks are your thing then take my advice and run, run as fast as you can, and do not return till the closing credits have faded from the screen.

There are "subplots" involving friends and a boyfriend, but the scenes devoted to these are so fleeting that they fail to engage at all.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
kat267Aug 7, 2015
Anne Hathaway is the real star of this movie. She makes any outfit look trendy, she rocks at her job (no matter what her prickly boss says), and she can charm anyone with her infectious humor. Her acting was excellent and I hope she enjoysAnne Hathaway is the real star of this movie. She makes any outfit look trendy, she rocks at her job (no matter what her prickly boss says), and she can charm anyone with her infectious humor. Her acting was excellent and I hope she enjoys future success! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
avr50Aug 11, 2015
Meryl Streep continues proving that she can do everything. Her work as Miranda Presley is impecable. The movie is not the best film of the year, that´s clear, but is a good film, enjoyable, to watch with friends that complain about theirMeryl Streep continues proving that she can do everything. Her work as Miranda Presley is impecable. The movie is not the best film of the year, that´s clear, but is a good film, enjoyable, to watch with friends that complain about their jobs. You can watches 200 times and never get bored Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
Pamuditha007Oct 25, 2016
Wow ! Meryl Streep .... just the perfection of acting ! What a performance ! Her expressions throughout the movie was priceless ... brilliant !
and young Anne Hathaway was really good !!!
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews