Netflix | Release Date (Streaming): May 27, 2016
4.6
USER SCORE
Mixed or average reviews based on 107 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
42
Mixed:
19
Negative:
46
Watch Now
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
7
JoeWilliamsMay 30, 2016
Adam Sandler's movies are bad nowadays and that's the reason why my expectations to this new outing from our favorite comedy actor Adam Sandler,was so low but because my expectations are low,this crap was not that bad,it has it's moment andAdam Sandler's movies are bad nowadays and that's the reason why my expectations to this new outing from our favorite comedy actor Adam Sandler,was so low but because my expectations are low,this crap was not that bad,it has it's moment and the story is okay but uninteresting,all the characters are fun to watch because it's so corny.I won't recommend you this but if you have a time to watch a fun bad movie this will try watching this. Expand
4 of 5 users found this helpful41
All this user's reviews
7
Elliott945May 29, 2016
Alright, I made an account because I felt this movie is unfairly rated. I'm no sandler fan, nor have I watched any of his movies in like 5 years. but I actually thoroughly enjoyed this movie. Sure, at times the writing wasn't there, but I gotAlright, I made an account because I felt this movie is unfairly rated. I'm no sandler fan, nor have I watched any of his movies in like 5 years. but I actually thoroughly enjoyed this movie. Sure, at times the writing wasn't there, but I got a lot of laughs, and had some enjoyable moments. I think you can give this a watch and really enjoy it, Expand
3 of 4 users found this helpful31
All this user's reviews
7
magszinovichMay 31, 2016
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Adam Sandler really toned down his usual annoying arrogance for this movie, and it worked! Apart from some very confusing plot developments, David Spade and Adam Sandler really work well together. My favourite scene was were the flare gun was shot at the women laughing at David Spade's small weener... yeah, just watch it. All in all, much better than Sandler's previous 5 or 6 movies to be honest. The movie did drag on a bit, as it seems all of the best material was reserved for the first 30 minutes. This movie is perfect for Netflix. Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
10
BryanVetJun 5, 2016
It goes without saying that Adam Sandler is guilty of putting out some low quality movies in the recent years, but this is not one of them. It is becoming painfully obvious that hating Adam Sandler is a trend that needs to stop. I feel thatIt goes without saying that Adam Sandler is guilty of putting out some low quality movies in the recent years, but this is not one of them. It is becoming painfully obvious that hating Adam Sandler is a trend that needs to stop. I feel that the majority of these negative reviewers went into watching the movie wanting it to be terrible and it just wasn't. This movie does not deserve the low rating people are giving it, and it's detracting people from seeing a good movie. Reviewers also need to stop cutting comedies into a million pieces like they're meant to be some elaborate piece of art. It's a comedy!!

Onto the movie:

A friend and I decided to watch a movie out of boredom and chose The Do-Over on Netflix, mainly because it was the first option and not because we're Adam Sandler fans. Within a few minutes of the movie starting, we were glad to have put it on. The movie was refreshing and outside of Adam Sandler's norm. We found it well written, the story line was interesting, and it made us laugh many times.

For the movie type it was, it did what it was supposed to and we found it very entertaining. It is difficult for me to sit through an entire movie, but not with this one. In fact, I showed it to my fiance later that day (who loved the movie as well) and sat through it again no problem. The first thing my friend did after the movie ended was call his wife and told her to watch it, and she also thought it was great.

This Adam Sandler hate needs to stop fueling bad reviews. This is a good movie and if you don't think so, you shouldn't be reviewing movies. Every person I know who has watched it thinks it's great and immediately recommends their friends/family to watch it.
Expand
3 of 5 users found this helpful32
All this user's reviews
7
TheQuietGamerMay 27, 2016
One of those rare R-rated Sandler outings. There are some typical Sandler gags here that will still elicit laughs from his fans. Despite the added F-bombs and raunchiness, this isn't anything too far out of the Happy Madison wheelhouse. GoodOne of those rare R-rated Sandler outings. There are some typical Sandler gags here that will still elicit laughs from his fans. Despite the added F-bombs and raunchiness, this isn't anything too far out of the Happy Madison wheelhouse. Good news for fans, bad news for just about everyone else.

It's no secret that Sandler movies have definitely begun to resonate just as well with audiences as they always have with critics. This one isn't going to change any of that. What works with it is that it isn't quite as lazy as some of Happy Madison's latest efforts. For starters Sandler actually seems to be having some fun here. It's clear that in some of his more recent efforts he is unmotivated and just there for the money. Here we get some life from him which is good.

The problems with the movie lie in two areas. Three if you aren't the type who enjoys the sense of humor Sandler movies contain. The first is that it occasionally goes overboard with the freedom R-rated movies allow for. It never quite reaches the level of nastiness That's My Boy achieved, but there are still moments completely out of good taste. So much so that it gets in the way of the humor.

The other issue is that there's quite a bit of misogyny on display. The movie either treats women like objects. When they aren't meant to be screwed by the characters, they're meant to stab them in the back. Its shallow and another big flaw with the Sandler style.

So is the movie garbage? Technically. But it's the type of garbage that can still brings laughs. It's a Sandler movie. Not his brightest moment, but it will still please fans. Some extra added effort some Sandler, David Spade sharing the spotlight, and a so-so attempt at a more action-comedy plot do help it stand out from the rest of Sandler's offerings. It's not high art, but it's still pretty funny.
Expand
11 of 20 users found this helpful119
All this user's reviews
10
AngusJun 5, 2016
Best movie from Adam Sandler in a while. Good buddy comedy and decent action flick. Check it out if you have a Netflix sub, you are already paying for it anyway. The finale is excellent and without giving up too much there is an awesomeBest movie from Adam Sandler in a while. Good buddy comedy and decent action flick. Check it out if you have a Netflix sub, you are already paying for it anyway. The finale is excellent and without giving up too much there is an awesome fight between a wife and a widower. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
7
Saman_TepesJul 16, 2016
Not too shabby.It's worth watching once or twice but after that you'll probably forget about it. As an Adam Sandler movie it's definitely one of his better ones since Happy Gilmore. Watch it if your a fan of Sandler and Spades past films.
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
10
DanteCarterDC32Jun 13, 2016
Great movie! Good story and hilarious all the way to the end! In the couple of weeks it has been out, I have already seen it 10 times. Once by myself and each other time with friends or family. Everyone who I have seen this movie with,Great movie! Good story and hilarious all the way to the end! In the couple of weeks it has been out, I have already seen it 10 times. Once by myself and each other time with friends or family. Everyone who I have seen this movie with, enjoyed it all the way through! Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
7
TheDude-May 28, 2016
it doesn't matter how much detail I go into as to why I enjoyed this film the meta users will click not helpful because they disagree with me. P.S learn to respect different opinions.
7 of 16 users found this helpful79
All this user's reviews
8
A7sus4May 31, 2016
Adam Sandler and David Spade; of course I'm gonna check it out despite Sandler's latter day record for not-so-good movies. Having said that, this one was pretty damn funny.
2 of 5 users found this helpful23
All this user's reviews
8
DeathnoteadosMay 29, 2016
this is the best adam sandler movie since a lot time. We must promote this type of movie and not the garbage movies like Pixels. I know this movie doesn`t deserve a 10 but less than 5!!! No way!!
3 of 10 users found this helpful37
All this user's reviews
7
LeZeeMar 16, 2017
Reborn to face even bigger troubles.

It's true that Sandler had lost his Midas touch, but last few films suggest he's back. Still, he's not the same old what he used to be. The time has changed, so he has to adapt to it and I think he's
Reborn to face even bigger troubles.

It's true that Sandler had lost his Midas touch, but last few films suggest he's back. Still, he's not the same old what he used to be. The time has changed, so he has to adapt to it and I think he's doing okay. Only haters/film critics keep hating him. This is a Netflix production and Sandler in a mysterious role. He teams up with his old school friend and they fake their deaths to begin a new life. But the identities they have borrowed ones are even in the bigger troubles which begins to haunt them as well. So coming out of it is the remaining film to tell.

The storyline seems just okay. Since it is not fresh enough, they did not even overuse the concept to build plot with clichés. Kind of guessable twists, but it will work for most of the people. Better stunt sequences for such a comedy flick. Good performances and it was a smooth sail according to the film's pace. The director and Sandler had given a few good comedies back then, and this fresh collaboration was decent. So don't believe the film critics (Rotten Tomatoes & Metacritic), elsewhere it is rated much better, but still somewhat underrated. If you are seeking a decent action-comedy, this is worth a try.

7/10
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
RalfbergsAug 23, 2016
I don't know why all this hate again for Adam Sandler movie - yes, he gets some one dimensional characters sometimes and all that, but here the movie itself is actually pretty funny and Sandler fits right in, plus Spade's comedy is fun andI don't know why all this hate again for Adam Sandler movie - yes, he gets some one dimensional characters sometimes and all that, but here the movie itself is actually pretty funny and Sandler fits right in, plus Spade's comedy is fun and interesting and the movie's plot is quite interesting too. I mean you are watching comedy not some high level thriller or drama. I think people slack this movie just because they see Sandler and some people even think all Sandler movies are bad because they have seen some like that, similar to Nicholas Cage nowadays. Yes, Sandler has had many bad or average movies lately, but this is quite good Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
jlsabellaSep 13, 2016
Primera reseña EN ESPAÑOL... si bien NO es digna del OSCAR a Mejor Película.. es una de las mejores de ADAM SANDLER hace tiempo.. Buen reparto ..no es de humor SOEZ..se deja llevar y hace reir en ocaciones..es buena para pasar un rato en elPrimera reseña EN ESPAÑOL... si bien NO es digna del OSCAR a Mejor Película.. es una de las mejores de ADAM SANDLER hace tiempo.. Buen reparto ..no es de humor SOEZ..se deja llevar y hace reir en ocaciones..es buena para pasar un rato en el sofá.. Buen Reparto de actores y trama animada.. Me gustó... Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
Panda81Jan 6, 2018
I thought the film was funny and I liked it. Adam Sandler brings together his friends again to make us laugh.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
RenzyNov 6, 2019
Not really sure where all the hate comes from for this movie?
Absolutely slammed by critics but if anything its Classic Adam Sandler back at his best doing the kind of films that he was famous for rather than some of the cheap laughs Happy
Not really sure where all the hate comes from for this movie?
Absolutely slammed by critics but if anything its Classic Adam Sandler back at his best doing the kind of films that he was famous for rather than some of the cheap laughs Happy Madison has been serving up in recent years. David Spade is great as the straight man in this comedy duo,playing the unwitting accomplice to Sandlers winging it criminal
Great support cast and a who's who of cameos make this a very watchable fun film that will have you in stitches if you are a Sandler/Spade fan I loved it and thoroughly enjoyed this little piece of escapist
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
DeMantisApr 14, 2020
This comedy is great to watch and unwind. It's funny and has heart, which can't be said about a lot of serious movies nowadays.
Don't know what's up with the bad reviews on Adam Sandler comedies, I also enjoyed 'The Week Of'. Some people just
This comedy is great to watch and unwind. It's funny and has heart, which can't be said about a lot of serious movies nowadays.
Don't know what's up with the bad reviews on Adam Sandler comedies, I also enjoyed 'The Week Of'. Some people just don't know how to have a laugh I guess.
Watch it, you will laugh.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews