Warner Bros. Pictures | Release Date: December 26, 1973
8.7
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 384 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
346
Mixed:
24
Negative:
14
Watch Now
Buy On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
MovieGuysSep 19, 2013
A horror film known to shock people so much that they vomited in the aisle of the theater and/or fainted. Only a movie with shock value and horror moviemaking genius can do that. Even for 1973, this movie is scary as hell!
5 of 5 users found this helpful50
All this user's reviews
10
VidsRuleOct 27, 2012
People are really simple: we are evil by nature. I mean REALLY evil. So evil, in fact, that we crave the destuction of everything around us. Do you think the devil exists because we are some great being? No, the devil exists because that isPeople are really simple: we are evil by nature. I mean REALLY evil. So evil, in fact, that we crave the destuction of everything around us. Do you think the devil exists because we are some great being? No, the devil exists because that is largely hat we are. We are terrible. We are horrific. We wish others evil because that's what we are. We are all possessed. We are all supernatural beings that wish the worst upon the world. We are evil. We are all demons. We want all of the world to experience our terror. We are all the devil. We are satan. We are destorers. We will kill. We will destroy. Everyone around us wishes for our death. We want everyone dead..... that is Reagan. Or is it all of us? Expand
4 of 4 users found this helpful40
All this user's reviews
10
VanessaL.Mar 12, 2007
This movie is sooooooooooo scarey that I had to sleep with my parents for a whole week. Just the thought of being in a bedroom creeps me out due to the fact that most of the film is shot in Ragen's room. The effects are brilliant, and This movie is sooooooooooo scarey that I had to sleep with my parents for a whole week. Just the thought of being in a bedroom creeps me out due to the fact that most of the film is shot in Ragen's room. The effects are brilliant, and the film itself does its job as a horror flick; it lets our imaginations run wild without our control. If you like extreme horror movies, you should definetly consider watching this. Otherwise, KEEP AWAY UNTIL YOU CAN TAKE IT!!! Expand
3 of 3 users found this helpful
10
edlitz36Apr 1, 2011
One of the most artfully crafted, yet entertaining, horror films of all time, if not THE most. It's too bad that filmmakers today don't realize that the horror genre isn't exempt from Oscar-calibre directing, acting and writing. 4-star classic!
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
10
JohnnyStephensAug 31, 2013
A classic horror film. It's without any doubt the best horror film in cinema history. Must see!! Watch it and enjoy it!! Brilliant, brilliant and brilliant!!
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
8
jimmytancrediJun 27, 2011
One of the few horror films that still make me afraid. Some scenes are bone-chilling! Magnificent performances, excellent special effects (even today because nowadays everything is based on the CGI), interesting story, screenplay and aOne of the few horror films that still make me afraid. Some scenes are bone-chilling! Magnificent performances, excellent special effects (even today because nowadays everything is based on the CGI), interesting story, screenplay and a fabulous voice acting superb from the wonderful Mercedes McCambridge as the voice of the devil. What strikes me most in this movie is not the horror of the possession of a child of 12 years but the fear of a mother who desperately tries to find a solution to save her daughter. The performance of Ellen Burstyn is simply heavenly. She got through all the despair of the character. Rare to see a horror movie with a performance like hers. Linda Blair also devastating in her operations. This film, regardless of whether or not original is so good it managed to make the Academy (which clearly leaves no room for horror movies) plunged and made it being indicated along with some number of Oscars. This really is a fact that should be taken into consideration. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
9
TheNewSpielbergMay 2, 2011
One of the most disturbing films I have seen so far in my movie-watching hobbies, Some scenes are incomprehensible if you haven't read the book, but apart from that a classic for its time.
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
9
moviebuff_420May 12, 2012
Ingenious,thrilling,intense and Superbly acted Horror thriller. I was watching it as it is 39 Year Old movie. and i enjoyed watching it. but i felt as it as more of a thriller. Some scenes are very disturbing and horrifying,i must say well,iIngenious,thrilling,intense and Superbly acted Horror thriller. I was watching it as it is 39 Year Old movie. and i enjoyed watching it. but i felt as it as more of a thriller. Some scenes are very disturbing and horrifying,i must say well,i am a modern boy and not used to a classic horror but i quite liked it. the best part of the movie is Climax,I loved it. If you 're looking for Horror-Thriller flick with a soul and good script.you'll definitely like it Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
8
ryanMoriarityFeb 9, 2013
Despite all the eagerness of the film, and the lack of sensitivity, The Exorcist is unsettling and gruesome. You won't believe your eyes when you watch a little kid creep the living hell out of you. It might just be the most haunting movie ofDespite all the eagerness of the film, and the lack of sensitivity, The Exorcist is unsettling and gruesome. You won't believe your eyes when you watch a little kid creep the living hell out of you. It might just be the most haunting movie of all time. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
10
alonzoOct 28, 2011
Vi esta película cuando tenía 9 años de edad, solo en la sala de mi casa, a escondidas de mi padre. Me impactó demasiado, me pareció fascinantemente terrorífica, además me parece que se puedeVi esta película cuando tenía 9 años de edad, solo en la sala de mi casa, a escondidas de mi padre. Me impactó demasiado, me pareció fascinantemente terrorífica, además me parece que se puede analizar desde muchas perspectivas, una es la de los límites de la medicina, del pensamiento mágico y desde lo simbólico; habría que ver qué le sucedió a Reagan para que iniciara con los síntomas. Para ser de su época los efectos y la ambientación es perfecta. La mejor película de terror de todos los tiempos. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
RegOzJan 25, 2012
Fantastic...a classic, but not any classic, a brilliant horror film! Either if you are religious or not, atheist or theist...this is definitely one of those movies that are made for every different taste. I have watched many times, and I willFantastic...a classic, but not any classic, a brilliant horror film! Either if you are religious or not, atheist or theist...this is definitely one of those movies that are made for every different taste. I have watched many times, and I will definitely watch it many more... Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
theahsanhaseebSep 10, 2012
The Exorcist is clearly one of the finest horror films ever made or I should say it is one of my top favourite horror films. Some films aren't supposed to be just watched and forgotten after a while, but should be remembered by everyThe Exorcist is clearly one of the finest horror films ever made or I should say it is one of my top favourite horror films. Some films aren't supposed to be just watched and forgotten after a while, but should be remembered by every generation for decades and centuries, The Exorcist is one of those films that fit the second definition of films as it is still considered as a benchmark for most of the horror films and is admired for incorporating such a conservative topic (if you think about how things were in 1973) which turned it into a masterpiece. Whenever I think of the word "horror" or even just watch it written somewhere, this films is one of a few things that come to my mind. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
devanshu257Sep 6, 2017
A Classic. A tale of belief in faith and fight between pure evil and good , the tension created by actors and score made this very chilly and horrified experience and the realism also made it more genuine and gripping, unexplained events madeA Classic. A tale of belief in faith and fight between pure evil and good , the tension created by actors and score made this very chilly and horrified experience and the realism also made it more genuine and gripping, unexplained events made it tricky too. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
7
JacobparkerMay 21, 2013
Well this is the best possessed makeup ever!
Some scenes are really shocking and disgusting, I really liked this movie, but it is not my favorite horror movie. In the 70's there were some better horror movies: Carrie!
But this movie should
Well this is the best possessed makeup ever!
Some scenes are really shocking and disgusting, I really liked this movie, but it is not my favorite horror movie. In the 70's there were some better horror movies: Carrie!
But this movie should be in every top 10 horror movie list! A must see!
Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
KivaJun 11, 2013
Maybe on of the best horror movies ever made. I liked all the things that happened to the girl and the end was magnificent. It did scare me a little though how old the film is. I liked anyway and if you haven't seen this one, you can't sayMaybe on of the best horror movies ever made. I liked all the things that happened to the girl and the end was magnificent. It did scare me a little though how old the film is. I liked anyway and if you haven't seen this one, you can't say you are a horror movie fan. So watch it Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
ugisupriatnaJul 30, 2014
"The exorcist " is a very very extremely perfect horror film on called one of : the best, the greatest, the scariest, the most successful and the most gaining Oscar Nominee and Winner". You should see how some supernatural stuff is managed"The exorcist " is a very very extremely perfect horror film on called one of : the best, the greatest, the scariest, the most successful and the most gaining Oscar Nominee and Winner". You should see how some supernatural stuff is managed and ridden to a magnificently remarkable effects (both sound and visual) with the superb performance especially from Linda Blair who makes the eerie atmosphere is for real. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
lukechristianscJun 27, 2014
" Its the shocking most suspense , bloodcurdling movie ever to be created".........................................................................................................................................................
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
jools123Aug 4, 2014
this movie is scary, but a little dated. It's not the scariest movie ever, but is has a nice plot and great acting by Ellen Burnstyn (Oscar nominee for this) (may be misspelled, sorry), Linda Blair (Oscar nominee) and Jason Miller (alsothis movie is scary, but a little dated. It's not the scariest movie ever, but is has a nice plot and great acting by Ellen Burnstyn (Oscar nominee for this) (may be misspelled, sorry), Linda Blair (Oscar nominee) and Jason Miller (also Oscar nominated). Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
robertoiglesiasOct 14, 2018
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Scary, suspenseful, and well made is what the Exorcist is to me. I felt sad for Reagan and her mom and the film sets an astonishing tone. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
darthhelixxOct 31, 2010
This movie is the scariest of all time! Gave me nightmares as a kid and the Blu Ray 2 disc set doesn't disappoint... The documentary and making of additions are A+.
8 of 9 users found this helpful81
All this user's reviews
10
barnet42Oct 5, 2012
The Exorcist One of the best horror movie's 0f the 70's The Exorcist (1973). The Texas Chain Saw Massacre (1974) . The Omen (1976). Carrie (1976). Halloween (1978) ,
4 of 5 users found this helpful41
All this user's reviews
8
grandpajoe6191Oct 5, 2011
"The Exorcist" is a blood-rushing horror movie that will genuinely scare your ass off with its A grade makeup and a chilling performance by Linda Blair. It will remain as one of the true horror movies throughout the history of films.
8 of 12 users found this helpful84
All this user's reviews
10
MDFeb 4, 2006
Miles ahead of its time and fully deserves the title of 'classic'.
2 of 3 users found this helpful
9
aaronpaul121May 25, 2012
One of the best horror films of all time, and this is also one of the most believable horror movies ever, I must say. The scenes are super scary that you need like 10 persons watching the movie together........
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
7
RikiegeJan 12, 2013
Terrifying.
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
10
Amberdog03Dec 29, 2013
The Exorcist is awesome! Probably the funniest horror movie I've ever seen. It wasn't what I call scary but really just an amazing story. Most people do say it's the scariest film of all time but I don't think that's true. Of course, I am aThe Exorcist is awesome! Probably the funniest horror movie I've ever seen. It wasn't what I call scary but really just an amazing story. Most people do say it's the scariest film of all time but I don't think that's true. Of course, I am a paranormal investigator myself and am not really afraid of demonic entities. WATCH!!! IT'S A TERRIFIC MOVIE! Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
8
MarcD.Oct 27, 2006
The original film never frightened me. What it did went much deeper. Friedkin's original film adaptation of the Blatty novel was a landmark in cinematic horror because it was constrained by the limitations of its medium. Instead, it The original film never frightened me. What it did went much deeper. Friedkin's original film adaptation of the Blatty novel was a landmark in cinematic horror because it was constrained by the limitations of its medium. Instead, it used them to provide the most while showing you as little as possible. Emotions like horror, and its close cousins suspense and tension, don't need to be created within the audience. They need to be brought to the surface. This is why 'The Exorcist' remains compelling viewing after 33 years. The concepts and themes within the film isn't anything we haven't seen before. It's always been there. The fear works because the fear is real on a primal level which we can't truly explain. We fear what we know. Subjecting the audience, the false sense of safety within that dark theatre is now revealed to be a silly misguided illusion. Friedkin knew this. As does fear. This version simply shows the same thing. And it's scary. Not as much though. We see a little more than we should. Ultimately, the best horror told is the one which leaves more to the imagination of the audience. Give us more credit Hollywood. Highbrow horror works. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
raphaellap.Sep 1, 2005
This is a great film, this excelent!!!!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
TonyB.Sep 26, 2005
For non-believers, a brilliantly conceived and executed horror classic. For the rest of us, it's all that and more, a tale awesome in its implications.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SFNJan 8, 2011
this scared the s**t out of me, excellent plot of a movie and the whole entire movei will keep you scared to death even thou it can get boring at some parts and also alil confusing its still one of the best scary movies i have ever seen in my life
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
SpangleMay 5, 2015
Holy cow this one is terrifying. Literally sitting here in a coma after watching that. Fetal position from the night, for real. Incredible special effects that really send chills down your spine and hold up quite well for being 42 years old.Holy cow this one is terrifying. Literally sitting here in a coma after watching that. Fetal position from the night, for real. Incredible special effects that really send chills down your spine and hold up quite well for being 42 years old. The acting, led by Jason Miller and Linda Blair, is great. Ellen Burstyn and Max von Sydow are also brilliant. The directing and writing are also great and really work well. The story was told well and though the first half is a bit slower, that second half was truly horrifying. This one is an absolute classic in every sense of the word that holds up well and truly provides bone chilling scares that will leave you feeling petrified for long after the film fades to black. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
manofthemoonJan 11, 2015
It may seem slow to modern audiences, but stick with it for what is. Rightly called a "horror classic". A portrait of the breakdown of a mother and daughter as the child becomes possessed, "The Exorcist" director William Friedkin chose topIt may seem slow to modern audiences, but stick with it for what is. Rightly called a "horror classic". A portrait of the breakdown of a mother and daughter as the child becomes possessed, "The Exorcist" director William Friedkin chose top actors at the top of their game and was rewarded again and again. Chilling, thought provoking, and still genuinely uncomfortable viewing. One of the best. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
Bradyboy12Feb 5, 2014
The Exorcist is very slow at first, but at about halfway through the movie, a disturbing scene shakes things up. From there it gets creepier and more disturbing. There are not many jump scares, but the whole sight of this little girl horriblyThe Exorcist is very slow at first, but at about halfway through the movie, a disturbing scene shakes things up. From there it gets creepier and more disturbing. There are not many jump scares, but the whole sight of this little girl horribly possessed by a demon and the actions she does. The "Crucifix scene" is perhaps the most disturbing scene you will see in a movie. Overall, a very scary film that holds its own even after 40 years. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
CherryxldNov 23, 2014
The Exorcist es una delirante y emocionante película de terror que no solo es una obra maestra, si no que también tiene bien merecido el título de la "Mejor Película de Terror de todos los Tiempos".

La película en sí, no se enfoca en un
The Exorcist es una delirante y emocionante película de terror que no solo es una obra maestra, si no que también tiene bien merecido el título de la "Mejor Película de Terror de todos los Tiempos".

La película en sí, no se enfoca en un terror de hacerte saltar del asiento o algo por el estilo, pero si se enfoca en un terror que el director lo hizo de una forma inteligente e interesante, que te puede hacer sentir sensaciones de angustia y sensaciones sorpresivas, además de algunas sensaciones crudas o impactantes, de tal forma, que te dejan con un impacto fuerte.

Sin dudas, The Exorcist es un gran clásico del cine de terror.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
Meth-dudeOct 30, 2015
Ah… The Exorcist.Without a doubt one of the most recognizable horror film ever.Great characters,great visuals with special effects that still holds up quite good today and a terrific atmosphere,The Exorcist is a great movie and we can easilyAh… The Exorcist.Without a doubt one of the most recognizable horror film ever.Great characters,great visuals with special effects that still holds up quite good today and a terrific atmosphere,The Exorcist is a great movie and we can easily see why it became a classic. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
timrichieOct 8, 2014
Quite simply, the greatest movie of all time.if that's over pushing it for you, it is undeniably one of the greatest. with superb acting from Blair, Burstyn, and Miller, The Exorcist stays at the top of horror film classics and within the topQuite simply, the greatest movie of all time.if that's over pushing it for you, it is undeniably one of the greatest. with superb acting from Blair, Burstyn, and Miller, The Exorcist stays at the top of horror film classics and within the top in general. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
moviescriticnetDec 8, 2015
Yes, this is the best horror movie ever made and it's almost a certainty that no other horror movie in the future will even come close. It's not that Linda Blair got nominated for oscar for best actress in a supporting role in the age of 15,Yes, this is the best horror movie ever made and it's almost a certainty that no other horror movie in the future will even come close. It's not that Linda Blair got nominated for oscar for best actress in a supporting role in the age of 15, nor the terrifying (but at the same time a bit ridiculous) scene that she walks down stairs upside down or the head spinning scene, but the fact that director William Friedkin builds up tension agonizingly slowly.
It's one of those good old movies that didn't hurry up revealing everything right from the start like modern movies do, trying to scare you with all possible impressive but cheap tricks. The exorcist is mainly a psychological horror film (the most succesful modern film that comes to my mind in that department is "It Follows"). The slow but engaging progression of the possession, the step by step lose of faith by the priest and the emotional breakdown of the poor mother all are means to the end of engaging the spectator to the realm of the film. After that the final 5-10 minutes of the movie are just the shocking end that finishes the work. Like Rocky features the fight between the hero and Apollo Creed just in the final minutes of the movie, the exorcism itself actually lasts a few minutes and it's only a secondary part of the plot. All in all this one is a classic horror film that like "Night of the Living Dead" noone should have missed.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
NlalicJun 26, 2016
Impressive film, truly asks many questions about life, and our very existence. The characters are impressive, and the ending is worthy of this good a film. I would advise watching it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
reviewfrom19842Dec 29, 2016
The Exorcist is one of the best horror movies of all time a classic. Amazing Writing, amazing acting, and a amazing cast makes The Exorcist an amazing movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
Titanic21Apr 8, 2017
The Exorcist. An absolute classic. The movie which caused three heart attacks, mass panics, thousands of people running out of cinemas to empty their stomaches and - according to rumours - also an early birth during a session. And even ifThe Exorcist. An absolute classic. The movie which caused three heart attacks, mass panics, thousands of people running out of cinemas to empty their stomaches and - according to rumours - also an early birth during a session. And even if confirmed, I didn't feel anything similiar when I watched this. But still... This movie really deserves a high rating. Because if you think of when it was made, it's the more frightening. The effects, the makeup, the acting, the general setting... Of course I can comprehend how scary this must have been back in 1973 and it's not only that. I guess that "The Exorcist", despite it's length is an interesting movie all until the end. Especially if you have in mind that similiar things truely happened. Anyways... Let me explain my rating:

The movie is a must-have-seen within the Horror genre and it has been called one of the scariest movies ever. It's well made and fascinating all the time you watch it. So why do I give a "9" then? The reason is as simple as the fact how easily I fell asleep after having watched this one (the first time):

We are out of 1973 and nowadays the movie can't unleash (at least that's what I think) it's full potential of scaryness anymore. If it wasn't such a film, called scariest oft all time, I probably wouldn't have watched it until know. But if I had, although not knowing how they use to handle "The Exorcist"; I'd rated it a pretty harmless and in a way calm Horror movie. To the guys behind it: Respect. You deserve it.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
JPKJul 2, 2019
A Horror Masterpiece
The Exorcist is by far one of the best and scariest horror movies ever made.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
amheretojudgeDec 19, 2018
Professional Or Personal.

The Exorcist Friedkin's medicinal procedure is a masterpiece on paper and an arguably a decent one on screen. But this can easily be excused by the limitations of technology and the cheesiness of 70's. Having said
Professional Or Personal.

The Exorcist

Friedkin's medicinal procedure is a masterpiece on paper and an arguably a decent one on screen. But this can easily be excused by the limitations of technology and the cheesiness of 70's. Having said that, it doesn't suggest that the concept is a mere old testament read from an infamous book. The concept that it attempts to achieve is ahead of its time, since despite of the horror being animated for the most part of the film, the sinister ideology of it that keeps you at the brisk of your seat, is thought provoking. The various tactics it uses to push the characters surrounding the protagonist to a cornered position is a smart-smart act. The entirety of the sequences brimmed with awe struck violence is the last bit of shock that impresses you, a girl at such an age crossing line on social margin is what amps up the charge.

The literal head spinning remedies that the protagonist's caretakers bring in and the counterargument that she has, feels like a flat out brutal war weaved out with meticulous eye. As anticipated the mythological aspect that denses characters' perspective may feel mechanical but in its latter stages punches its way out with a knockout. Personally, Blair seemed much more convincing in a brutal antagonist's cape than an illuminating adolescent teenage girl.

The irony of her pulling off a grin like a leader of an outlaw group is enough to give you the chills. Von Sydow in his brief period as a supporter elevates the momentum much more than Burstyn, Cobb or Miller ever could. There are few weak moments where the makers do take things too far that shucks away the integrity and raises questions. But, all in all, The Exorcist Friedkin, conjures over the horror genre with a large margin than it does on drama.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
FilipeNetoJun 28, 2018
This film was one of my first contacts with horror because I watched the first time with some school friends. Boys' things, which I strongly advise against, although they happen when boys pressure their friends to show their courage. At theThis film was one of my first contacts with horror because I watched the first time with some school friends. Boys' things, which I strongly advise against, although they happen when boys pressure their friends to show their courage. At the time, of course, I was super scared. More recently and a lot older, I saw the movie again and found that age has caused its damage. When it was released, the film quickly became a hit and made crowds rush to the movie theaters and then run in fear. Today, however, its difficult to have this impact, although it remains intense. Its an exceptional film, made with attention to the smallest details. It bases itself very lightly on a real case of demonic possession, starting from that basis for an engaging and strong fiction story. The tension is permanent and the several visually and sonorously shocking scenes are what most contribute to make it truly scary. The transformation of that girl (played brilliantly by Linda Blair, in the single decent film work of her life) is horrendous and the exorcism sequence are really hard, despite almost no resemblance to a real Catholic exorcism. Ellen Burstyn (Regan's mother) was excellent and Max von Sydow did one of the greatest works of his career, as did Jason Miller (both in the role of priests). The film is enormous and terrible from start to finish and is strongly discouraged for all minors and anyone impressionable or very religious. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
benskylerhillMay 3, 2018
I would not consider The Exorcist to be among the scariest movies of all time, but definitely among the most unsettling. It is a film that does not shy away from disturbing dialogue, visuals, or themes but rather embraces them and weaves themI would not consider The Exorcist to be among the scariest movies of all time, but definitely among the most unsettling. It is a film that does not shy away from disturbing dialogue, visuals, or themes but rather embraces them and weaves them together to tell a tale that may not cause any fright-induced jumps, but will certainly leave a lingering sting of anxiety.

Where the true mastery lies in The Exorcist is in the storytelling. It is a landmark achievement in plot development from the opening scene to the final fade to black. It perfectly paces itself, provides subtle moments of clever foreshadowing throughout, develops moving character arcs (particularly those of Chris and Father Karras) and never ever loosens its grip on the nerves. Jack Nitzsche's musical score is absolute perfection here. It stops when it's not needed and comes in at the perfect moments to back up the right scenes with just the right amount of needed tension.

There is not a single scene or line of dialogue that feels out of place in The Exorcist. Every spoken word and every shot serve their purpose in advancing the plot, establishing the characters and making them real, and adding symbolism to the narrative. Every single actor in this film gives an authentic performance that brings their character to life in the most distressing sort of way. The biggest flaw in the movie is that not all of the characters are as developed as they could be. But despite this, each actor knows his/her role and they play it with strength and passion, and they are helped by a script that's equally well-balanced and genuine.

I love watching old films, particularly old horror films, because every visual trick is done so skillfully through makeup without computer assistance. The Exorcist's horrifying makeup design was truly groundbreaking and is still visually spectacular and grotesque by today's standards. Not only that, but all the stunt work and other effects are beautifully produced, as well.

The Exorcist is not just a great film, but one of the greatest films of all time. I'm not the first to say that, and I certainly will not be the last. It boasts powerful performances, sharp writing, hair-raising visual effects and music, and above all it's perfectly directed and edited to tie all the strong elements together into a cohesive, flowing narrative that becomes more appreciated with each consecutive viewing.

Story: 10
Acting: 10
Script: 10
Visuals/Sound: 10
Entertainment Value: 10

OVERALL SCORE: 10/10
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
SWEEPtheLEG175Aug 12, 2019
First time I saw this film was in a theatre in 2001(I was in college). This is in my top 5 horror films of all time, which is amazing since it was made in 1973. A lot of the old films don't hold up sometimes, this one does.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
JokerloccoJul 8, 2019
[English]
When I was little, any nonsense terrified me, but my biggest fears were: Chucky and Regan (the exorcist's girl). Today, I have overcome all my fears, and now I love terror.
So, one day I decided to read the book of the exorcist,
[English]
When I was little, any nonsense terrified me, but my biggest fears were: Chucky and Regan (the exorcist's girl). Today, I have overcome all my fears, and now I love terror.
So, one day I decided to read the book of the exorcist, written by William Peter Blatty (which, I loved), and see also, this great movie, to overcome my fear.
The movie terrified me, but in turn, I loved it.

So, if we talk about adapting to the book, it is enough, because it is extremely faithful to it.
And, if we analyze the film as such, I must say that it is one of the best horror films of all time (how well it indicates its slogan).

It's amazing that although nothing audiovisual scares me anymore, and that, moreover, I do not believe in religions or anything like that, this film manages to transmit a bad feeling and constant discomfort.
That shows, how really good it is.

My rating is 10. Highly recommended.


[Español]
Cuando era pequeño, cualquier tontería me aterraba, pero, mis grandes temores eran: Chucky y Regan (la niña del exorcista). Hoy en día, ya he superado todos mis miedos, y ahora me encanta el terror. Por lo que, un día decidí leerme el libro del exorcista, escrito por William Peter Blatty (el cual, me encantó), y ver también, esta gran película, para superar así, mi miedo. La película me aterró, pero a su vez, me encantó.

Entonces, si hablamos de la adaptación al libro, cumple de sobra, pues es extremadamente fiel al mismo. Y, si analizamos la película como tal, debo decir que es una de las mejores películas de terror de todos los tiempos (cómo bien indica su eslogan).

Es increíble que aunque ya nada audiovisual me de miedo, y que, además no crea en religiones ni en nada por el estilo, ésta película consiga trasmitirme un mal rollo e incomodidad constante. Eso demuestra, lo realmente buena que es.

Mi calificación es de un 10. Muy recomendable.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
MoviezNPAug 4, 2019
*** Minor spoilers, may be. But, it's a 47 year old movie. ***

I have said this in my reviews of X-Men and A Fistful of Dollars. Some movies are f**king landmarks. This is one of them. . . Good : There are a lot of goods that I can talk
*** Minor spoilers, may be. But, it's a 47 year old movie. ***

I have said this in my reviews of X-Men and A Fistful of Dollars. Some movies are f**king landmarks. This is one of them. .
.
Good : There are a lot of goods that I can talk about this particular film. First off, every gothic horror, for example, The Conjuring, are inspired by this film in one way or the other. But, none of them are as good as this one. I love Conjuring 1 & 2, but that might have never existed if it weren't for this movie. So, what makes it so good? We are given a mysterious introduction to an old priest who would play a prominent role later. It gives layers to the character of young priest, which is quite interesting. The set up is done quite well. The story is being told quite well. And it has the most important aspect that most horror films today lack - the dread and actually terrifying scenes. Right from the opening credits, it feels uneasy. It tries to give us a really terrifying vibe. And it just intensifies further and further. Even the scenes having no tension don't feel like so. And, it cuts to some terrifying scenes so suddenly but smoothly that we will be exclaiming "holy s**t!". That's some true horror film. It was 1973. You had absolutely no technology or CGI. They still made an entire bed shake which looked so scary and realistic! The 180 degree turn is still an awesome effect. They did it way better and all of it looked more realistic than CGI! It had some ideas involving Ouija board and exorcism, which are now termed as "clichés". Having watched so many horror films before watching this, it should've felt corny. But it felt real good. There is probably no horror movie, in particular a supernatural or gothic horror movie, that has not been inspired by this movie in some way or the other. And the ones which got as many things right as possible as in this one, were respectively better. This movie is a f**king masterpiece!!
.
Bad : It has sequels. Damn those pathetic sequels!! But again, good God almighty, only few people know about those stupid movies. .
.
Conclusion : It is a must watch for every horror fan. Some parts may feel clichéd to some, but that's where those "clichés" started. Go with a fresh mind and examine how it all started. I am optimistic that you will love it. .
.
Rating. .
Score : absolute 10/10
Grade : A+
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews