Focus Features | Release Date: January 8, 2016
6.7
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 198 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
106
Mixed:
48
Negative:
44
Watch Now
Buy On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
calebowensmallJan 23, 2016
This movie was SCARY. The trailer looked scary, and the movie made me never wanna go into the woods ever again. One of my favorite horror films of all time. Don't get why the critics don't like it, but then again, like hate everything that's good
2 of 4 users found this helpful22
All this user's reviews
10
AussieTEKJan 9, 2016
I loved this movie but I can understand low rating. This movie was more about mental scary not horror scary. Most of the critics that viewed this movie with low rating just didn't have the mental capacity to understand this movie. So ifI loved this movie but I can understand low rating. This movie was more about mental scary not horror scary. Most of the critics that viewed this movie with low rating just didn't have the mental capacity to understand this movie. So if you love a good mental scary movie when will probably enjoy this one. Expand
10 of 23 users found this helpful1013
All this user's reviews
10
RustCohleFeb 28, 2016
I really loved this movie! First of all my real rating would've been 8 but I want this movie to get the love it deserves. So off we go!

The trailer was really **** but the movie turned out to be great. Actually the first half started
I really loved this movie! First of all my real rating would've been 8 but I want this movie to get the love it deserves. So off we go!

The trailer was really **** but the movie turned out to be great. Actually the first half started really bad and boring for me. Yes the story was intriguing but i really thought that I was ready to agree with the critics. Then it started to grab me with the psychological horror as the movie starts to mess with your mind. There are some jump scares and yes they are mostly predictable but some of them still managed to scare the crap out of me even though I was prepared for it. The ending twist was really good in my opinion. As in overall the last 30 minutes just nailed me to my seat.
Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
8
lelefoxx00Jan 30, 2016
I really liked this one. I have known about the "suicide forest" for many years after researching it and was excited to see a horror movie based off of it. They stayed true to the legend and many ways and some parts were pretty chilling. TheI really liked this one. I have known about the "suicide forest" for many years after researching it and was excited to see a horror movie based off of it. They stayed true to the legend and many ways and some parts were pretty chilling. The only reason I did not give this a 10 was because I felt it had one too many jump scares. I feel there needs to be an even balance between jump scares and actually scary moments to make a perfect horror movie. Overall, though, I loved it and would definitely recommend it. Expand
2 of 7 users found this helpful25
All this user's reviews
9
GinaKJan 10, 2016
I enjoyed this film, and I don’t understand why it got such terrible reviews. One of my fellow user reviewers was absolutely right (after giving it a 10) – it is “mental scary” and not “horror scary.” What I would say is that it isI enjoyed this film, and I don’t understand why it got such terrible reviews. One of my fellow user reviewers was absolutely right (after giving it a 10) – it is “mental scary” and not “horror scary.” What I would say is that it is psychological horror (that is, something like Hitchcock’s Psycho – the horror is Norman’s mind) instead of “place-based” horror such in Insidious. In some great horror films like The Haunting of Hill House, both types of horror appear – one of the characters is deranged but the house is also haunted. In The Forest, I thought the situation was interesting, the actors, especially Natalie Dormer (who seemed to get a good review no matter how much a professional critic hated the film), the locale was fresh and interesting, and the pace and direction was very good. To me the reviews of this film are another example of critics disdaining the horror genre simply because they don’t understand it. Expand
0 of 4 users found this helpful04
All this user's reviews
8
Meth-dudeJan 12, 2016
The movie is actually better than what the trailer shows.It was entertaining at best and the acting was actually good.The premise was interesting and the movie was well written.Sure,a lot of the decisions the characters takes are frustratingThe movie is actually better than what the trailer shows.It was entertaining at best and the acting was actually good.The premise was interesting and the movie was well written.Sure,a lot of the decisions the characters takes are frustrating but still. I would not recommend this movie but you should still give it a chance. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
9
meydianarizki21Oct 17, 2020
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Not too bad movie, at least you can watch it. I'd recommended it. The visual isn't dark and also the location is not too spooky. But my question is, Is the forest really at Aokigahara?? Why not record the movie at the real Aokigahara forest?! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
JLauSep 27, 2020
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Twin goes to Aokigahara forest to find her missing sister, realises her father murdered her mother years ago and then dies whilst her sister leaves the forest. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews