Warner Bros. Pictures | Release Date: September 13, 2019
7.6
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 25 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
17
Mixed:
4
Negative:
4
Watch Now
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
Nado97Sep 14, 2019
SHAME ON YOU CRITICS! We will never get these “prestige” films made by Hollywood. Attacking the film like this is pathetic; childish and down-right selfish. This shows again how vestigial you guys are and actually calling death to well madeSHAME ON YOU CRITICS! We will never get these “prestige” films made by Hollywood. Attacking the film like this is pathetic; childish and down-right selfish. This shows again how vestigial you guys are and actually calling death to well made films. Re-think about the ambitions and dreams of the people who worked tirelessly to make the film; then post your ill-advised and hopeless reviews online. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
RenderlessSep 14, 2019
Once again the critics have it wrong and the user reviews have it right. This movie isn’t really about the plot and it’s a slow roll to the finish, but the story told is really one of the best this year so far. If you feel like watching anOnce again the critics have it wrong and the user reviews have it right. This movie isn’t really about the plot and it’s a slow roll to the finish, but the story told is really one of the best this year so far. If you feel like watching an artistic movie this will not disappoint. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
Cap5677Sep 14, 2019
123453645335475467865urtynhdrnyjr67nytdeeysrw645yhjn7jkry8kio89u70p0-=oikumjyytehwt45hg345qgqera4hg54twhrthrt
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
10
OlbeaverSep 13, 2019
Everything about this movie, from the visuals to the acting, is superb! This adaptation is everything and more than what I was expecting!
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
dallasonlineSep 13, 2019
I loved this movie. Suspenseful Thriller. Not sure why it’s getting such bad reviews?
0 of 3 users found this helpful03
All this user's reviews
5
LamontRaymondSep 18, 2019
It's certainly not a terrible movie, but it's just big and bloated. Tough to know what to take away from this film other than the eternal power of art and beauty. What I will say is this: the film's use of "Your Silent Face" by New OrderIt's certainly not a terrible movie, but it's just big and bloated. Tough to know what to take away from this film other than the eternal power of art and beauty. What I will say is this: the film's use of "Your Silent Face" by New Order was better than any other film or TV show in history. And that's one incredible song. Lastly, I don't think that they needed Nicole Kidman in that role - she's so austere - any number of actresses cold have done that. It dind't play to her strengths. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
duanewilliamsSep 17, 2019
Ignore the professional critics. This is a good film. Perhaps a bit too long, but not by much. All the parts do fit together in the end. The acting is very good.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
moviecritic68Sep 19, 2019
Sometimes you come upon a screenwriter who tries to throw too many twists & turns in a story. I felt this way as I tried to follow the path. I see some found this film worthy of a 10 rating but I hardly agree. It's watchable but I could haveSometimes you come upon a screenwriter who tries to throw too many twists & turns in a story. I felt this way as I tried to follow the path. I see some found this film worthy of a 10 rating but I hardly agree. It's watchable but I could have waited for a TV release Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
gym33019Sep 16, 2019
Critics are being way to harsh on this movie! This is my favorite book. Furthermore, the audiobook is over 30hrs of narrative perfection. A tall order to live up to when adapting for screen. They did an excellent job! Follows the bookCritics are being way to harsh on this movie! This is my favorite book. Furthermore, the audiobook is over 30hrs of narrative perfection. A tall order to live up to when adapting for screen. They did an excellent job! Follows the book pretty exactly. Sequencing is different, but works well for the screen. I can't imagine that if you like the book, you would be disappointed in the movie. Like any adaptation from book to film, there is a lot more detail in the book, which is very long. However, they did a great job keeping the story together while compressing some scenes fit in the 2.5 hour time frame. A friend went with me to see this, having no knowledge of the book or story....had not even seen a trailer. We were obviously watching from 2 different perspectives. At the end, he said "I LOVED THAT", one of the best movies I've seen. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
LizRSep 14, 2019
I loved this movie and I'm surprised at all the low ratings. The acting was great. The cinematography very nice. Having read the book I especially liked it. Which is usually the reverse. I felt the movie captured the spirit of the bookI loved this movie and I'm surprised at all the low ratings. The acting was great. The cinematography very nice. Having read the book I especially liked it. Which is usually the reverse. I felt the movie captured the spirit of the book very well. I'm all for it! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
3
JoshuaaraSep 14, 2019
Excruciatingly boring. Most of the film's characters are unnapealing and dull. The dialogue is sloppy and awkward for most of the film. The interactions with young Boris and Theo are the only scenes that feel genuine and interesting. ThisExcruciatingly boring. Most of the film's characters are unnapealing and dull. The dialogue is sloppy and awkward for most of the film. The interactions with young Boris and Theo are the only scenes that feel genuine and interesting. This film was a waste of 2 hours and 20 minutes of my life Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
doritagkSep 16, 2019
It was not as good as the novel but it was pretty good. The actors were great. The kids did a great job
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
evelaSep 18, 2019
I greatly enjoyed this. I read at least 20 highly negative reviews- & agree with them all! But it's still a good movie! The critics overdid it. And killed it before anyone even saw it! For my negatives, read the reviews.

But it has smooth,
I greatly enjoyed this. I read at least 20 highly negative reviews- & agree with them all! But it's still a good movie! The critics overdid it. And killed it before anyone even saw it! For my negatives, read the reviews.

But it has smooth, realistic dialogue, good casting & acting- Kidman is always a joy; young Pippa a delight; & all the kids- and Finn is worth the price of admission!

(Ansel IS Theo, just not quite fully brought to life). Jeffrey Wright is so warm & real, you'll like him (-altho- if you read the book- not Hobie).

If you like a literary feel, if you like kids in movies, if you like atmospheric beauty & color in movies, & atmospheric music;
creative cinematography & settings (such as aerial view of a desert community of foreclosed houses), & nice acting; or, if you read the book (I did)- you'll prob like this.

The (admittedly, problematic) faults do not break it. The movie works. There is much pleasure there. The critics graded as if it broke.

I read that Warner Bros thinks it's the audiences that don't like literary movies. Why don't they realize, it was the critics that killed it, before it was out of the stable. Tell Warner Bros. we like these movies. See it, rate it & help raise its score!
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews