Screen Gems | Release Date: January 3, 2020
4.3
USER SCORE
Mixed or average reviews based on 58 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
18
Mixed:
9
Negative:
31
Watch Now
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
3
imtheonlytyeJan 4, 2020
It seems like I got cinematically click baited lol. This movie took the name of the grudge, the sound of the grudge and mentioned the old grudge once, but never gave us the actual grudge LMAO It was so far down that cringe paranormalIt seems like I got cinematically click baited lol. This movie took the name of the grudge, the sound of the grudge and mentioned the old grudge once, but never gave us the actual grudge LMAO It was so far down that cringe paranormal Hollywood crap and the jump scares were terrible. At least with the old American version of the grudge, they stuck with THE ACTUAL GRUDGE. This one was unbelievably horrible. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
5
camxschumacherJan 3, 2020
Exceptional acting, impressive shot composition and a solid score are not enough to combat the unearned jump scares and messy pacing of this mystery horror film.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
0
KuNg_FuGeJan 4, 2020
This movie sucked ass!! I love the Grudge series and this just ruined it! This **** Pesci needs to do drugs next tine he writes a script because this was an utter mess!
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
5
GinaKJan 3, 2020
I can’t give this film high marks, which is a shame since it has such an excellent cast. My best guess is that the film, as originally shot, had all the makings of a very good (or even great) horror film, but some klutz got hold of it andI can’t give this film high marks, which is a shame since it has such an excellent cast. My best guess is that the film, as originally shot, had all the makings of a very good (or even great) horror film, but some klutz got hold of it and edited it into a dud. There’s not a weak actor in the cast and the film itself is not dull for that reason alone, but the pace is glacial. The plot is also interesting and not as derivative as you would think since it is based on a Japanese original, which many of us (including me) has seen. My thumbs halfway down are for the editing, pacing, and overall gloom. Note I said gloom. Doom would have been more interesting, but anything other than murkiness was beyond the resulting film here. Expand
4 of 6 users found this helpful42
All this user's reviews
7
SerengetiJan 3, 2020
This is not a bad movie! I expected far worse from the scores it was being given. The story itself was very engrossing, if a bit confusing at times due to the shifting timeframes. But, My friend and I enjoyed the characters and the actorsThis is not a bad movie! I expected far worse from the scores it was being given. The story itself was very engrossing, if a bit confusing at times due to the shifting timeframes. But, My friend and I enjoyed the characters and the actors who played them. Even an Oscar nominee shows up! Jackie Weaver. The story picks up from 2004 with a woman who stayed in what I guess was the original house where The Grudge got started. I don’t remember much about the first one, so I can’t verify the accuracy of the backstory that propels the movie forward. But, it is certainly very creepy in places and we really enjoyed it. Expand
4 of 6 users found this helpful42
All this user's reviews
7
RuizJan 3, 2020
The grudge delivered. Director Nicolas pesce gave this amazing haunted ghost story a great twisted with some jump scares . Producer Sam raimi kept his word about the whole formula regarding with the grudge on how is going to be a differentThe grudge delivered. Director Nicolas pesce gave this amazing haunted ghost story a great twisted with some jump scares . Producer Sam raimi kept his word about the whole formula regarding with the grudge on how is going to be a different take from the original is still a great scary film that kick off the new year with some good scares. Take a moment go out for the weekend and go watch the grudge . It well surprised you . Expand
4 of 7 users found this helpful43
All this user's reviews
3
veritas2884Jan 4, 2020
There was one well done scare that was something unique I haven't seen done with a horror movie, so that earns it a 3. The rest of the movie is a perfunctory rehash of The Grudge but inferior in every way. In fact it is such a rehash thatThere was one well done scare that was something unique I haven't seen done with a horror movie, so that earns it a 3. The rest of the movie is a perfunctory rehash of The Grudge but inferior in every way. In fact it is such a rehash that there is a sequence toward the end of the film that shows you all the death scenes you’ve already watched once in this movie. Disappointed Sam Rami put his name on this because he is a film maker I have a lot of respect for. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
3
Jonath1984Jan 5, 2020
Utter garbage, not even worth a free stream, predictable scare moments. felt all over the place by trying to explain multiple stories
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
8
VinieJan 5, 2020
very good movie. I think the people didn't like it much because of the ending. All in all it's a good movie.
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
3
ChrisMizerakJan 4, 2020
I remember seeing the 2004 American version of this story in theaters when I was a kid with my dad, who is an avid horror fan. Believe me, that was indeed a rarity for me as I hardly see horror films, because as I firmly believe in myI remember seeing the 2004 American version of this story in theaters when I was a kid with my dad, who is an avid horror fan. Believe me, that was indeed a rarity for me as I hardly see horror films, because as I firmly believe in my adulthood, they’re mostly the same old thing. I remember the creepy girl with the dark hair. I recall Sarah Michelle Gellar starring in it. And…. that’s about it. And that’s exactly the same fate I feel that this “Grudge” is going to fall under. I remember the little girl with dark hair again, which is sort of a clone of the girl you saw in “The Ring”, wasn’t it? I recall that Jacki Weaver of all people accepted a supporting role in this for some reason. And…. history is surely going to repeat itself, I’m sure. The problem with this new “Grudge” that Sony Pictures is bestowing upon us is not in terms of the actors not trying or giving it their all. In fact, the cast does the best it can to make what weak material they all have to work with lift off of the ground. The real symptom infecting this poor creature is a rather common complaint you’ll come across with many horror films, especially those released within this specific timeframe. This symptom I’m referring to is its severe lack of spontaneity. And this abundant absence of unpredictability is a major crime, especially for a horror film. You would think that a film within this genre would take better advantage of their natural spontaneity to get more scares from the audience and further catch them off guard. And yet here we are still successfully picking up the inevitable jump scares a good many seconds before they even unfold. This is another modern-day example that proves once again that if you’re going to do an effective horror film, then maybe it should be labeled under a different film genre to get the desired effect. Maybe that’s why horror flicks usually don’t work for me. Whenever I go into a horror flick, I already know what is going to happen because it’s spoiled by the simple labeling of it being a horror film. Now this wouldn’t be as big a problem if the film had anything original or distinctive within this story. In recent years, we’ve seen the emergence of horror films such as “Get Out” and “Us” that still tell interesting stories in between all of the scares that are bound to pop up. What I mean by this is that you can make a horror film work even without the trademark scares you want for a film from this genre. In the case of “The Grudge”, however, there isn’t a single unique bone or organ in this highly conventional and lifeless body. I could try and put in effort to describe the basic plot behind this story. Unfortunately, no matter what I do to make it sound like its own unique thing, I promise you that everyone reading this will think it’s the same horror film being regurgitated a billion times. Don’t believe me? Here’s my own brief summary in two sentences. An unusual disease that affects an American woman in Japan is carried over back home to wreak havoc on multiple lives. This includes our main lead, played by Andrea Riseborough, who is a police officer trying to uncover the mysteries surrounding these tragedies and unsurprisingly put a stop to it. Yes, you can swipe out the names of the characters or the locations for that matter, and it still wouldn’t change a thing. You see, it’s not that this new “Grudge” is incompetently put together or sabotaged by people that didn’t want to be there in the first place. This is clearly not what’s taking place here. What is evident here was that there wasn’t much material here to begin with. At best, it is heavily uninspired and leaning heavily on what has been done effectively before in far superior works. At its worst is a dull bore fest that doesn’t justify its existence in any way, shape or form with what it brings to the table. And you know, the standards for horror films have really been raised as of late by the likes of “Get Out”, “Us”, “Hereditary” and “A Quiet Place”. Films within this genre are getting better at becoming their own unique thing to better please folks who usually aren’t into this specific film genre. And a film like this new version of “The Grudge” may have been somewhat passable as an average time waster about 10 to 15 years ago. Now however, this kind of structured and manufactured run-of-the-mill horror flick with its dependence on the bare minimum jump scares is just not enough anymore. For a film ironically titled “The Grudge”, this outdated horror flick isn’t even worth getting that steamed over. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
2
tropicAcesJan 3, 2020
You don’t get scared or entertained for 94 minutes and then the credits roll.
4 of 10 users found this helpful46
All this user's reviews
1
1v4NJan 3, 2020
Un mierdon de peli, trama repetitiva y sustos previsibles, id a ver Star Wars antes que esta cosa.
2 of 6 users found this helpful24
All this user's reviews
1
clintvinderJan 3, 2020
Let me start by saying that I am not usually the one who writes reviews, first and foremost because English is not my native language. And I think everyone should form their own opinion.

With that said let's get this going. The grudge 2020
Let me start by saying that I am not usually the one who writes reviews, first and foremost because English is not my native language. And I think everyone should form their own opinion.

With that said let's get this going.

The grudge 2020 is a bad movie and a cheap cash in on the name and legacy of the Grudge franchise.

It is not scary, it is not moody, it is not gory.

But what it is is boring.

So boring infact that one of my mates almost fell asleep in the movie theater.

With a lack of focus, and complete disrespect for the cultural and original source material, it is hard to find anything that can save this movie.

The acting is okey at best, but lack of direction in the script and scene progression makes it hard not to see the characters as bumbling idiots that have no idea or clue on why they are there and what they are supposed to do.

Music is minimal to none existing and the sound department is lacking over all.

One sound that was right though was the iconic grudge girl breath? Asthma? Allergies?
The sound she makes.

Problem is that they over use it, everyone is breathing like that and that is taking the creep factor out of it. So in the end the movie is a messy cheap confused movie that doesn't really know what to do with the rights and legacy it has been given.
Expand
1 of 4 users found this helpful13
All this user's reviews
6
mrc_brnJan 6, 2020
Can't give it a negative review as it was made with care and real effort. But the story has significant plot holes and inconsistencies that you don't want to think about too hard. Beyond the jump scares it's not terribly scary as much as itCan't give it a negative review as it was made with care and real effort. But the story has significant plot holes and inconsistencies that you don't want to think about too hard. Beyond the jump scares it's not terribly scary as much as it is depressing. The timeline jumps don't do anything for the suspense. I'd hoped it would have been better as I enjoyed the grudge with Sarah Michele Gellar. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
6
Meth-dudeJan 5, 2020
While it is predictable and it relies on jump scares a bit too much, "The Grudge" is a fairly entertaining horror movie supported by decent acting performances, good cinematography and a surprising ending. While it is definitely not as goodWhile it is predictable and it relies on jump scares a bit too much, "The Grudge" is a fairly entertaining horror movie supported by decent acting performances, good cinematography and a surprising ending. While it is definitely not as good as the Japanese movies, it's not nearly as bad as what critics seem to think. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
1
88888888888lqzzJan 3, 2020
Disgusting. Horrible piece of trash. Has no meaning at all, no biased film review here at all and/ or no super tiny detail of and/ or, spoiler. Sam Raimi should be only doing a film of "Spider-Man 4" instead of doing this disgrace this allDisgusting. Horrible piece of trash. Has no meaning at all, no biased film review here at all and/ or no super tiny detail of and/ or, spoiler. Sam Raimi should be only doing a film of "Spider-Man 4" instead of doing this disgrace this all disgrace ever since in earlyish - and or in mostly likely in middle-ish January 2010. Expand
0 of 5 users found this helpful05
All this user's reviews
7
MarcDoyleJan 7, 2020
I was pleasantly surprised by this film - had rock bottom expectations based on the critical reaction to it. No idea what they were watching, or whether they're just a little jaded with respect to this type of horror, but the acting in it isI was pleasantly surprised by this film - had rock bottom expectations based on the critical reaction to it. No idea what they were watching, or whether they're just a little jaded with respect to this type of horror, but the acting in it is top notch. And it's creepy as hell. Also LOVED the ending. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
3
zmgalen2000Jan 13, 2020
After watching this movie, the only grudge I have is against myself after having wasted 90 minutes of my life and a perfectly-good movie ticket seeing it. Overflowing with predictability, weak writing, and a virtually-nonexistent plot (if youAfter watching this movie, the only grudge I have is against myself after having wasted 90 minutes of my life and a perfectly-good movie ticket seeing it. Overflowing with predictability, weak writing, and a virtually-nonexistent plot (if you can even call it that), The Grudge is a cauldron whose baren contents are nothing shy of a hodgepodge of mediocrity and inconsequential plot points. The entire film lacked a central conflict from which the story could branch out and evolve. Rather, the movie frivolously, senselessly, and non-chronologically, skips from timeline to timeline, with each time chunk being permeated with overly-disturbing images to both discomfort the audience and deter from the film's scariest aspect: its inability to call itself a story. It pains me to degrade Screen Gems, the studio behind this movie and many acclaimed films (such as Searching). Unfortunately, the studio entirely missed the mark, which they usually surpass with ease. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
1
estonismJan 12, 2020
God awful. Cheap scares of a spooky house. Very one-dimensional plot. I would have given it a 0 rating except for Tara Westwood who I thought gave a good performance. I should have known better then seeing this movie. I saw it at AMC25 atGod awful. Cheap scares of a spooky house. Very one-dimensional plot. I would have given it a 0 rating except for Tara Westwood who I thought gave a good performance. I should have known better then seeing this movie. I saw it at AMC25 at 42nd street to boot. One of the worst theaters in all of New York. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
1
Jay_RosieJan 12, 2020
A horror movie is supposed to be scary right? The Grudge is not scary and relies on ineffective jump scares. The story and plot are tragic. It isn't even so bad it is good. It is just bad.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
3
JLuis_001Jan 8, 2020
There was nothing new to revisit with this film. It was known and still they moved on with it. Its failure is its reward.

And I say this because it's extremely tiring to see how film studios believe it will be enough to recycle their
There was nothing new to revisit with this film. It was known and still they moved on with it. Its failure is its reward.

And I say this because it's extremely tiring to see how film studios believe it will be enough to recycle their franchises after a few years completely neglecting the desire and interest to do something new or with more quality for that matter.

They're cheap to make, no doubt about that, but this kind of cheap and hollow attempts will get you cheap and hollow entertainment.
I mean we're onto a new decade and we start like this?

Pitiful attempt and as I said a deserved failure.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
BradMorganJan 12, 2020
An exciting film with the well-known scary moments. The story unfortunately has no depth at all. Nice to stream or to watch TV later on.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
1
313btfuJan 10, 2020
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The Grudge in name only - the film has all off the negatives from the original three American films and none of the positives. Kayako and Toshio, the buoys keeping the original films from the depths of absolute mediocrity, are absent and instead replaced with generic horror movie ghost-zombies. A nonsensical and at times confusing plot, unoriginal scares, and an ending that leaves the audience scratching its head (in a bad way) make this movie nothing more than a Hollywood cookie-cutter horror movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
2
BatMiteJan 8, 2020
The movie starts out fairly solid but delves into mediocrity quickly. There are bits and pieces of interesting ideas but are never followed up or forgotten about entirely. A few good performances can't keep this movie afloat mainly due to theThe movie starts out fairly solid but delves into mediocrity quickly. There are bits and pieces of interesting ideas but are never followed up or forgotten about entirely. A few good performances can't keep this movie afloat mainly due to the choppy editing or lack of story. The original films this movie attempts to build upon leave behind the lore and history and replaced with jump-scares and predictability. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
0
cassiejcJan 10, 2020
seems like they tried to mesh together 15 different stories to make 1 scary one, and girl, it wasn’t pleasant to see. the jump scares weren’t even good! the plot construction was the real horror. total disgrace to the original grudge movie.seems like they tried to mesh together 15 different stories to make 1 scary one, and girl, it wasn’t pleasant to see. the jump scares weren’t even good! the plot construction was the real horror. total disgrace to the original grudge movie. terrible movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
1
TextualfallsJan 13, 2020
Jump scare film with little to no good story developement to boost the suspense between scares.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
1
balzocJan 17, 2020
I am confusing....how we can call this movie 'The grudge' or 'horror'. This movie is a total insult for the japanese version.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews