Sony Pictures Classics | Release Date: July 29, 2011
7.2
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 135 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
97
Mixed:
29
Negative:
9
Watch Now
Buy On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
6
makrtik2Sep 12, 2011
What a new and surprising plot... Old jaded slightly corrupt but with a heart of gold cop, gets put in harness with a dedicated up and comer UK-FBI type who he hares, and they get on badly until ... amazing switcheroo folks... in the finalWhat a new and surprising plot... Old jaded slightly corrupt but with a heart of gold cop, gets put in harness with a dedicated up and comer UK-FBI type who he hares, and they get on badly until ... amazing switcheroo folks... in the final scenes they go up against impossible odds together... I know your as surprised as we were :-( And then folks, the clever old double-switcheroo... which leaves you with a plain oatmeal flavored D. B. Cooper style ending... WOW! Author, author ! It was good to see Mad-Eye Moody (Gleeson) actaully does have another eye... which he should have used to have a good look at this script before he signed on). Don Cheadle is an excellent actor, completely wasted on this script as his characters main motivation is apparently to express ineffective resentment at racist slights from Gleeson's over the hill loudmouth character. To sum up, this is a script that leaves the actors high and dry, and the audience wondering why the ads on the popcorn bag are so interesting. It's an OK movie... but just barely. If there isn't anything good on TV, you might go... but, don't expect to be on the edge of your seat. Unfortunately, this film is not greater than the sum of it's rather pedestrian parts. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
5
StPaul1Aug 20, 2011
Considering the generally glowing reviews, the movie was a disappointment. The title character, played by Brendon Gleeson, seems contrived. He is sort of a mass of contradictions thrown together in desperate hopes that a quirky protagonistConsidering the generally glowing reviews, the movie was a disappointment. The title character, played by Brendon Gleeson, seems contrived. He is sort of a mass of contradictions thrown together in desperate hopes that a quirky protagonist will emerge. He is secretly brilliant and highly competent, but casually drops acid found at a crime scene, consorts with hookers, ignores basic rules of police procedure, and "hilariously" slings racial stereotypes at a stiff Don Cheadle (isn't he aware the rat pack was doing this 40+ years ago, and it wasn't all that funny back then?) . Speaking of Cheadle, after emerging as one of the most interesting young film actors of the '90s, this film is something of a low point for him. He's supposed to be the stuffed shirt to Gleeson's loose cannon, but he just doesn't connect. This is just another inter-racial buddy cop movie, this time with a sometimes unintelligle Irish accent. Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
5
CitizenCharlieAug 26, 2011
The Guard has been guarding a tiny village outside of Galway, Ireland for a long time. He has his routines and his eccentricities and he knows everyone elseâ
2 of 5 users found this helpful23
All this user's reviews
6
rnnbrwnJun 4, 2012
Not quite as funny as I'd hoped, but great in places. Fantastic performance from Brendan Gleeson and it's always good to see Mark Strong. Don Cheadle wasn't bad, either.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
TVJerrySep 11, 2011
Brendan Gleeson stars as an cheeky police officer in a small Irish village. A huge drug deal brings an American FBI agent (Don Cheadle) to this fish-out-of-water comedy. While an irreverent spirit pervades the police procedural and providesBrendan Gleeson stars as an cheeky police officer in a small Irish village. A huge drug deal brings an American FBI agent (Don Cheadle) to this fish-out-of-water comedy. While an irreverent spirit pervades the police procedural and provides gentle chuckles, the plot is pretty ho-hum. This is the kind of genteel, mildly amusing comedy that the older, "cinema" crowds soaks up. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
TyranianNov 9, 2019
Fairly entertaining black comedy with good performances and very dark humour.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
Compi24Aug 19, 2019
John Michael McDonagh's directorial debut, "The Guard" -- much like his younger brother Martin's early efforts, I might add -- succeeds heavily on its usage of black comedy and its lead performance from Brendan Gleeson, but beyond that I wasJohn Michael McDonagh's directorial debut, "The Guard" -- much like his younger brother Martin's early efforts, I might add -- succeeds heavily on its usage of black comedy and its lead performance from Brendan Gleeson, but beyond that I was left feeling a little disappointed by it. There was just something about the pacing overall that really hampered things for me. I suppose I'd call it a decided lack of urgency. Don't get me wrong. Everything you're watching has an eventual point. It's just that the events leading up to that point feel a little too pedestrian for my tastes, with most of the comedy making me smile, but not laugh out loud much, unfortunately. A quick, worthy watch, but not one I feel will be sticking with me for too long. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
LeZeeNov 23, 2016
An ordinary cop, enjoying his single life, gets into a real cop business!

I won't say it is an overrated film, but it simply did not work for me. The same director who had made 'Calvary' directed this one as well with Brendon Gleeson in the
An ordinary cop, enjoying his single life, gets into a real cop business!

I won't say it is an overrated film, but it simply did not work for me. The same director who had made 'Calvary' directed this one as well with Brendon Gleeson in the lead, but that was an earlier project to this one. I loved that film, not this one, though I consider it an average, because I did not find it bad. The theme was very familiar, and too much wasted scenes with the slow narration spoiled my mood. There's no clear perspective of the storytelling, just it concentrated on a small town cop and his single life, and rarely he fights the crime.

When an FBI agent comes looking for some international drug dealers, a cop in a small Irish town braced to assist the American officer. Though he never cared to involve in it. He follows his usual lifestyle, enjoying every moment of his life. After a woman comes asking to find his cop husband gone missing, he now gets into the action. How serious he makes progress in the case and its result is the rest of the film to disclose.

It's not as funny as I anticipated. But watchable film for its quality narration. The actors were just okay. The characters were really weak, particularly the villains. They occasionally appear and gone for forever, and then there comes the final battle. Did not sync well between them and the cop, especially what they were fighting for, other than they are. Especially the FBI agent played by Don Cheadle casting was worthless. For a fine theme like this, the plot should have developed with at least a couple of twists and maybe a grand action sequence. It does not matter though, at least engaging plot needed, but failed on that part. Sorry to say that I'm not in favour of it to suggest it to anybody, though you might it better than me.

5/10
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
amheretojudgeSep 17, 2018
fixated in its self-created hallucination of updating the mockery..

The Guard The Guard is a plot driven comic thriller about two cops of different personalities working together in order to catch drug smugglers that results in a chaos. It
fixated in its self-created hallucination of updating the mockery..

The Guard

The Guard is a plot driven comic thriller about two cops of different personalities working together in order to catch drug smugglers that results in a chaos. It is flat out hilarious on every single uncouth line of it, that is not only amusing to the core but is deeply honest and is quoted humorously too by the cast. The primary reason why the humor works so smoothly in here is because it doesn't rely upon forcibly imputed sketchy sequences nor the gags in here are repetitive or futile. The structure of the script is familiar considering the "buddy cop" genre, it is fixated in its self-created hallucination of updating the mockery. The background score isn't up to the mark but the sound effects are sharp, cinematography isn't that impressive and neither is camera work and editing; accounting all in, makes it short on technical aspects. Gleason's behemoth hearty performance pumps this tale louder and harder than it ever could where the key to its instant connection is the innocence that his portrayal dwells on. Cheadle is sensible yet equally funny with a decent supporting cast like strong Strong and cunning Cunningham. The writer-director McDonaugh's world may be funny and skeptic but is accurately practical that helps ground these characters of such range and offer this lighter bubble the appropriate gravitas. The investigation followed in here isn't rudimentary at all, it is just a breath of fresh air. As the screenplay enfolds, it gets more intense, personal, gritty and sharp that offers the apt cathartic experience to the viewers. The slick whimsical tone of each character that defines them, three dimensional characters and brimful of tiny smart notions that ups the ante of the game are the high points of the feature. The Guard adds their name to the richest of those "buddy cop" genre features with its busy font.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
FilipeNetoAug 23, 2018
This film is, at least, controversial and difficult to judge. The plot is based on a crime and the difficult collaboration between an FBI agent and a very unorthodox Irish police officer, played by Brendan Gleeson. The work of this actor isThis film is, at least, controversial and difficult to judge. The plot is based on a crime and the difficult collaboration between an FBI agent and a very unorthodox Irish police officer, played by Brendan Gleeson. The work of this actor is excellent and gives strength to the film. No one can doubt it. He can fit his character in that sensitive gap between the comic and the grotesque, giving him a lightness worthy of a comedy full of black humor. He is a cop who does everything a cop should not do, and yet we feel empathy for him. Don Cheadle plays the conventional American cop but has funny dialogues, such as his Irish colleague, who seems to despise his methods and way of working, as well as not being able to say a sentence without causing embarrassment to his own force. In fact, dialogues are something to emphasize here. The use of slang is plentiful, so it's best to prevent younger ones from watching, but it was also the first time I ever heard Gaelic in a movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews